Reviews by 0aky

90

For those who want to see where it all began.

0aky | June 8, 2014 | Review of Grand Theft Auto III

To put it simply if you are buying it now then it will only really to be to look back at the history of the GTA franchise. By today's standards it is very outdated but that shouldn't be enough to put anyone off who is at all interested in the GTA franchise. It is still fun due to a nice open world that wouldn't seem to bad compared to what we have today, a great storyline and driving mechanics that although feel quite unrealistic are really quite fun to play with. It is a must own for those who like the franchise.

95

Best of the genre

0aky | June 8, 2014 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization® V

For me this is the best of the genre by far. I have spent far too long on this game because it is really addictive once you get the hang of it. For new players booting up the game it can be intimidating because of the amount of thing that are going on and the fear of messing up before you even get into the game but to these people I say don’t be intimidated it really isn't that hard to get the hang of because you are guided through everything by four different advisors and a number of other in game hints. It would be a great shame if someone were to pass up on this game just because at first it seems intimidating.

90

Great Fun

0aky | June 8, 2014 | Review of Borderlands 2

I will start by saying this game is great it really is. The game is really fun but unlike most games this outrageously fun it also has a decent story and amazing characters that really make the game but for me the thing that keeps me going back over and over is the loot all that glorious loot. The guns that are randomly dropped are so varied in design and characteristics that picking the ones that suit your play style becomes really fun a word that can also be used to describe the feeling of seeing that new gun on the floor and going over and hoping to get that new weapon that will replace your current one. This game is well worth playing so do just that.

70

For those who like the combat system

0aky | June 8, 2014 | Review of BioShock Infinite: Clash in the Clouds

The people who didn't like the combat in the full game are not going to like this at all but for someone like me who thought actually this is quite fun it may well be worth a play. Admittedly I got it as part of the season pass and probably wouldn't have gotten it on its own but now that I have it I actually quite enjoy it. Whizzing around on the skylines while you blow up your enemies with the rpg is really good fun but what really makes it worth while for me is the Columbian archeolegy society where you can unlock models, art and other things through the money that you earn through the battles. This kept me coming back over and over until I had unlocked everything there was to unlock. Considering how cheap it is here its worth a buy if you liked the combat in the full game if not, the season pass is worth it for the two story dlcs so it is worth playing this as well if you get the pass.

80

My dream has come true

0aky | June 8, 2014 | Review of Goat Simulator

It is what all gamers have always wanted a super realistic sim where you can be a goat as he lives his normal boring life as a goat.

Just kidding it is pretty much the complete opposite but you know what it is some of the most fun I have had with a video game since saints row 4 and that is saying something. It may be a buggy mess but it dose what it set out to do which is provide you with a great hilarious and fun experience.

95

Pure Fun

0aky | June 8, 2014 | Review of Just Cause 2

This is by no means a serious game but it never tries to be. It tries to do one thing only give the player an amazingly fun ridiculous time and it succeeds one hundred percent. It is just so satisfying to use you grappling hook to parachute across the island and then blow stuff up. It makes you feel like you are in your own action film. The island itself is great, it is very large and really varied from snow caped mountains to deserts it is all here and it all great fun. Everyone should get this game it really is that good.

90

The dlc we have always wanted

0aky | May 31, 2014 | Review of BioShock Infinite: Burial at Sea Episode 2

My review originally for Metacritic

This is the dlc that all Bioshock fans really wanted at six hours it is as long as some full games but unlike most other games at that length it is amazing.

The shoot everything you see game play from the full game and episode one has been replaced by a stealth orientated game play that is really fun thanks to small things like the looking through walls and invisibility plasmids and the new crossbow with different types of bolt that need to be used widely as would will other wise run out.

But the real reason you would buy this dlc is for the story and conclusion. The story leading up to the end is great taking you back to Colombia at one point and giving you more information on both of the world's and the things that inhabit those worlds. But the best part of the story is the end which I will let you experience for yourselves just know it is truly amazing and a great way to close the franchise.

80

Short, sweet and a little overpriced

0aky | May 31, 2014 | Review of BioShock Infinite: Burial at Sea Episode 1

My review originally for Metacritic

The dlc is great not as good as the full game but still great. It tell a short but sweet story with a very nice twist at the end that sheds new light on the characters we know and love from the full game.

As it is so short though the asking price is a little high if bought on its own but as part of the season pass it is well worth even if just so that you get the story leading up to episode 2 which is amazing by the way.

95

Just buy it now

0aky | May 31, 2014 | Review of Bioshock Infinite

My review originally for Metacritic

This game in my opinion is the best game of the best franchise of the generation. So just go buy it now it is well worth it. The story is amazing and complex but in a good way I don't know of any other games that touch on such deep and interesting theory and morals and then there is the ending which I won't go into because it is the best twist of any game story I know of it was worth playing it just for the ending but there is also so much more. Next up are the characters and the world. All of the main characters are amazingly deep and the best of these being Booker and Elizabeth both of which are amazingly voiced. Elizabeth in particular is astounding just the sheer effort and time put it her is amazing and all of this makes her one of the best and most likeable characters in gaming. Last but by no means least is the environments and world as a whole it is simply stunning, the concepts and the way it is presented in its unique graphical style just blend together to create one of the most beautiful alive world's of any video game. All of this is backed up by solid game play that is fun fast and unique thanks to the addition of vigors, sky lines and tears. I can't recommend this game enough as it is one of my favourite games I have ever played just go out and play it you won't regret it and it will change the way you look at video games forever.

95

Just buy it now

0aky | May 31, 2014 | Review of Bioshock Infinite

This game in my opinion is the best game of the best franchise of the generation. So just go buy it now it is well worth it. The story is amazing and complex but in a good way I don't know of any other games that touch on such deep and interesting theory and morals and then there is the ending which I won't go into because it is the best twist of any game story I know of it was worth playing it just for the ending but there is also so much more. Next up are the characters and the world. All of the main characters are amazingly deep and the best of these being Booker and Elizabeth both of which are amazingly voiced. Elizabeth in particular is astounding just the sheer effort and time put it her is amazing and all of this makes her one of the best and most likable characters in gaming. Last but by no means least is the environments and world as a whole it is simply stunning, the concepts and the way it is presented in its unique graphical style just blend together to create one of the most beautiful alive world's of any video game. All of this is backed up by solid game play that is fun fast and unique thanks to the addition of vigors, sky lines and tears. I can't recommend this game enough as it is one of my favourite games I have ever played just go out and play it you won't regret it and it will change the way you look at video games forever.