Reviews by 13th

78

Interesting Little Platformer

13th | Nov. 23, 2013 | Review of Cloudberry Kingdom

If you are buying this expecting it to be something like Super Meat Boy, you might be a tiny bit disappointed because whilst it does have the same sort of idea as Super Meat Boy: Get through each level whilst avoiding everything on screen that wants to kill you, that is where the similarity ends,

But saying that, this is a clever little platformer as well as once you are done with the Campaign mode, which may take you a while. You can play the Arcade mode which is where the replayability lies. As each level is completely randomised so you will never know what you are going to get unitl you get it. And every level in the game can be done no matter how impossible it might look at first.

It makes a welcome change to some easy games out there, but it does have it's moments where you will want to tear your hair out, but worth the money I feel

82

Typing Has Never Been So Fun

13th | Nov. 23, 2013 | Review of Typing of the Dead: Overkill

This is one of those games that people are either going to love or hate. I'm leaning more towards the love side of the scale for this. Just when you thought there wasn't enough zombie related games out there, 'Typing of the Dead makes it's return. First appearing on the Sega Dreamcast all those years ago, it makes it way onto the PC and brings along 'House of the Dead Overkill' for the ride, so you are getting two zombie games for the price of one. One which teaches you to type, the other to use your mouse and shoot things.

The words you will type are completely randomised each playthrough, so whilst the sets and the zombie encounters will be the same, the words won't so that adds some life to the game.

I do suggest you watch others play this 1st before deciding whether to buy this or not. As only then can you decide if this is a game you would like to play or not

97

Simply Stunning

13th | Nov. 23, 2013 | Review of Bioshock Infinite

If I was to pick my fave game of 2013, this would be it hands down. Everything about the game is just done so beautifully it is hard to find any faults with it. It is truly an amazing game to play and one of the best FPS games I have ever played, You don't need to have played the 1st two Bioshock games to fully enjoy this, though a simple undertstanding of them is needed a tiny bit to really enjoy the ending to this simply stunning game. Just buy this game already and see why so many people love this game as much as they do

93

Fantastic Racing Game

13th | Nov. 22, 2013 | Review of Sonic & SEGA All-Stars Racing

Sega brings their take of Mario Kart to the PC and if I am honest... I love it. They have taken some of the good things about Mario Kart and have given it some extras goodies to keep any racing fan happy.

There is a healthly selection of characters right at the start, with more to be unlocked as you progress through the World Tour mode. Which can be seen as a challenge mode but it is a perfect time waster as you look to get an 'S' rank on all of the challenges. Which are also varied so you won't be bored anytime soon.

The races themselves are nice and varied. With plenty of areas from Sega's past to keep any fan of them happy. The graphics are spot on for the game and the music is just superb. And the difficulty of the CPU is perfect so it will give you a challenge.

It is one of those games you can pick up and time will just fly by and you won't notice, nor will you actually care

95

Superb

13th | Nov. 22, 2013 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

Arkham Asylum is simply put: a superb start to the Arkham series of games. It also brings back Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamill who were the voices of Batman and the Joker respectively in Batman: the animated series and they both bring their 'A' game to this game.

The combat system is nice and fluid and also perfect for the PC for keyboard and mouse users. With a few clicks of the mouse you will end up taking down groups of enemies like they were nothing. The boss encounters are also varied with appearances from several of Batman's enemies and plenty of gadgets to keep any fan of the bat happy.

Very few games actually make you feel like you are playing the Superhero of the game. And this is one of those games that will make you feel like you are batman like everyone who has played this

94

A Brillaintly Told Storyline In a Brilliant Game

13th | Nov. 20, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead

I'm not a huge fan of point and click games in general. But I am a fan of the Walking Dead series so I was happy when I found out about this. And even happier that I played it.

This is one of the most immersive games I have played in a very long time. I felt for all the characters in the game and this is also one of the very few games that has ever made me cry because of the storyline as it was just so well told.

Every choice you make as you progress through the game also have a part to play in the game. The decisions you make could be as simple as deciding who should get what to eat or who should live or die. Might sound easy but when you really get into the game and develop feelings for the characters in the game, you will soon learn it isn't as easy as you might think.

Everything about the game is just done to perfection and it is one game I feel everyone should play at least once so they can experience a brilliant bit of storytelling

92

Who Needs Superman?

13th | Nov. 20, 2013 | Review of Saints Row IV

The silliness of Saint's Row knows no bounds. Straight from the start this game had me in stitches. I had to pause the game at one point as I really needed to laugh and I didn't want to miss any of the action in the game. Saint's Row IV put's you in the shoes of the President of the United States. And that is pretty much as serious as the game gets before the silliness that we have come to love the Saint's Row games for takes over. Pretty soon you will find yourself being given super-powers to wreak havoc on aliens, civilians and pretty much anything else you can get your hands on. But if you get tired of using your super-powers, you can steal a car and speed around the city and play some of the cracking mini-games that it has to offer. One of my personal favourites is being given a UFO and told to destroy as much as I can. The silliness is also included in the weaponry as well. I couldn't stop giggling when I was given a gun that can create black holes and suck unsuspecting civilians, cars and aliens into the black hole I had created. There is so much packed into this game it is hard not to give you a reason why you shouldn't buy it.

94

Still One of Sonic's Best Outings

13th | Nov. 20, 2013 | Review of Sonic the Hedgehog

Even though this is Sonic's very 1st outing, it still to me remains as one of his best games. it's hard to pick a single moment that really stands out in this game. Though the fights against Dr. Eggman (who at that time was called Dr. Robotnik) are the moments in this game that I do enjoy. Not to mention the Special Stages which can only be accessed by having 50 rings as you cross the finish line in the 1st two acts of each stage. The music has also stood the test of time, I find myself sometimes humming out the tune to Green Hill Zone or Marble Zone every now and again.

It may not have all the bells and whistles of other Sonic games, but that is why I like this game so much as well. And it's has stood the test of time very well

83

Fun & Relaxing To Play

13th | Nov. 20, 2013 | Review of Euro Truck Simulator 2 Gold

This is one of those games that I can't believe how much time I have sunk into as it just such a relaxing game to play. Though not to relaxing as you do nned to concentrate on the driving side of things, which can be engrossing at the best of times. Though at the same time it can get to the point that you wonder why you are playing it. But when you can just sit in the comfort of your own home and drive around various roads in Europe whilst listening to your own music, it can sometimes not get any better. There is also a nice management side to it as well. You can choose what trucks you wish your company to have, what drivers you want and decide their training. Whilst it is basic, it does the job as most of your time will be spent driving. I would suggest picking this up if it is on offer as I do feel the standard asking price is a bit much for what you are getting. But even then it is a rather engrossing sim to play

87

Interesting concept makes an interesting game

13th | Nov. 17, 2013 | Review of Huntsman: The Orphanage

Huntsman: The Orphanage is one of those very rare games that has an interesting idea for a game, and it works pretty well. It is one of those games that whilst you can watch people play it, the only way to really get the full experience of the game is to play it yourself. I also like how they take the sound of a ticking clock and make it something that you will learn to fear. I have lost count the amount of times I thought I heard it in game and breathed a sigh of relief when I realised it was the clock on my wall that I heard, Which to me shows how atmospheric the game is if they can make me get scared by my own clock. The stories that each of the characters have to tell also add to the games atmosphere. And they have gotten a Ripley's Believe It or Not master to create the maze that the Huntsman calls home. This is a rare gem of a game, with so many games out there going for the jump scare tactic. It is a nice refreshing change to play something that goes for atmospheric horror