Reviews by ADUAN

80

Funny Point and Click adventure

ADUAN | Oct. 19, 2013 | Review of Deponia

While I am not the biggest fan of point-and-click adventure games, I found this game to be a funny and interesting one. The characters are memorable, with funny lines and traits, and the world of Deponia is quite the unique one.

The point-and-click nature of this game can sometimes mean that the solutions for puzzles will require some very out-of-the-box thinking on how to solve them. However, I found most of the puzzles to be manageable to solve.

Overall, for those who like point-and-click adventures, they should add this one to their library of games.

88

Good Third Person Shooter with Good Story

ADUAN | Oct. 19, 2013 | Review of Binary Domain

As a shooter, Binary Domain is probably a serviceable one. I had fun playing through it, and the enemies and bosses that I fought were all a fun challenge to take down. The voice command system was a unique mechanic, although I rarely used it as the AI was quite competent in taking down the enemies by themselves. The trust mechanic was also a nicely implement gameplay mechanic in my opinion.

The story of Binary Domain, which involves a multinational spec-ops team going into Japan to arrest a man who is suspected in making human-like robots was at first glance, seem to be a generic story, although the plot twists that is revealed makes the story actually more complex than it looks.

If you want a good shooter with an engaging storyline, then you should get this one.

80

Fun Hack and Slash for the PC

ADUAN | Oct. 19, 2013 | Review of Ninja Blade

While there are certainly better hack-and-slash games for the PC to get, this one is no slouch either. The gameplay is solid, although the usage of Quick-Time events can get rather aggravating at times. The three swords, as well as the shuriken projectile, are feel unique, and each weapon are used for different situations, so the game does not feel to repetitive. The graphics are serviceable, and overall, I had a fun time playing this game.

90

A good story, as well as a new area to explore

ADUAN | Oct. 19, 2013 | Review of Fallout: New Vegas Honest Hearts

The DLC storyline of the Burned Man, as well as the people who are living in Zion Valley was a story I enjoyed. The character are once again, unique and memorable, and the Valley was a place that I enjoyed exploring in order to learn more about its tale. The new weapons and armor that the game provides are also fun to use, and the increased level cap as well as new perks are also an added bonus. This is the a DLC I recommend getting.

96

An indie game that you must have

ADUAN | Oct. 19, 2013 | Review of The Binding of Isaac

I am a fan of Rougelike games, and when I saw this, I was initially skeptical, but after I bought and played it, I changed my mind.

This game is hard. The levels are randomly generated, so each time you play will be different. The enemies can either be trivial or frustrating to deal with. The items yo can get can both help or hinder your progress, as each item will give a unique feature which might help your current play style.

The art style, while initially nauseating for me, is unique and helps the game to set its rather grim and black humor and horror. The enemies you encounter all seem to each tell their own tale, so to speak. The music is also memorable, with the level themes giving the game its atmosphere.

Overall, The Binding of Issac is a game that you should definitely get.

80

Explore the Wasteland

ADUAN | Oct. 19, 2013 | Review of Fallout: New Vegas

Fallout: New Vegas is a game that I enjoyed playing. Like any Bethesda game, you have the choice of following the storyline, or exploring the world while doing whatever you want. Anything goes; you can be a negotiator or an aggressor, and you can build your character in whatever way you want. The characters are also interesting, with the companions all having unique personalities and the named NPC's all having mostly unique quirks that make them memorable. Get this game if you enjoy the open world experience.

87

More action oriented that the first, but still as good.

ADUAN | Oct. 19, 2013 | Review of Alan Wake's American Nightmare

The original Alan Wake was a Psychological Action Thriller, which had more of an emphasis on the Thriller part. This game, while still having some surreal and bizarre elements, is more action oriented, with new automatic weapons that make you feel like you are in an action movie.

The gameplay remains largely unchanged from the first, and the story is still engaging. The characters that Alan meets, as well as Alan himself, are all unique and memorable, and the storyline is also a neat concept. For those who enjoyed the original Alan Wake, they should get this one as well.

88

Great Psychological Action Thriller

ADUAN | Oct. 19, 2013 | Review of Alan Wake

This is a game made by Remedy, who made the first two Max Payne games. I enjoyed the storyline of those two game, and I found the storyline here to be quite engaging as well. The manuscript story mechanic adds a unique and interesting twist in the story, and I found myself wanting to know how it will all turn out.

The combat is reminiscent of most third person shooters, particularly like in Resident Evil 4. The flashlight mechanic can be quite challenging, although I can be sometimes quite irritating, but fortunately for me, that was few and far between. The weapons are okay, although I felt that the lack of a automatic weapon was a little disappointing, although understandable as it would have taken away from the atmosphere.

In conclusion, you should get this game if you want a good story, and some good gunplay. Getting the Collectors Edition is optional, as you might not need the extras, but it is also recommended if you have some extra cash to spare.

85

Guns, enemies, and fun.

ADUAN | Oct. 19, 2013 | Review of Painkiller: Black Edition

Painkiller is a throwback to the old shooter days, and I enjoyed playing it. Each gun has a punch and kick that gives a feel good feeling when taking out hordes of enemies. The only complaint I have is that the soul-system takes a little bit long to appear, and it is an instant-use mechanic/system. However, do not let that small nitpick prevent you from enjoying this fast-paced shooter.

85

Great shooter with Diablo-style loot system.

ADUAN | July 24, 2013 | Review of Borderlands Game of the Year Edition

Borderlands is one of those games where you can pick up and play, as there are many things to be able to do. After choosing from the 4 playable characters and completing the mandatory tutorial section, you can start getting quests to do, most of which just rewards you with money, but some will give you a sweet weapon. Alternatively, you can go around the wasteland shooting bad guys and monsters, and they might you some good weapons, or you can explore the wasteland and find chest that give you some weapon, although whether they are good or bad is up to your own opinion.

The Diablo-style random drops mean that maybe a gun you got of a dead enemy could serve you throughout a good portion of the game, and with the entire wasteland (mostly) out to kill you, you better be prepared for whatever that may come your way.

The multiplayer aspects means that you can team up with other friends and work together to fight the wasteland, and help or hinder each other whenever you are splitting the loot. Overall, its a good game that can get a tad-bit repetitive, but it is still good fun.

90

Like Tropico 3, but better.

ADUAN | July 24, 2013 | Review of Tropico 4: Collectors Bundle

For the most part, this game plays like Tropico 3. However, this game manages to expand on that and add in new features to keep the game fresh and interesting. With the new request system that allow you to earn extra cash or other rewards, to the new buildings that help the citizens of the game, as well as the humor in the radio broadcasts, and being able to rule over the masses, if you have not played a Tropico game before, I would recommend you getting this one.

90

Great addition to the Deus Ex series

ADUAN | July 24, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

Deus Ex: Human Revolution is the latest addition to the Deus Ex series. Like its predecessor, Human Revolution manages to create a world where you have a variety of options at your disposal, as well as many ways to interact with the people around you. Using stealth is always rewarding, and the firefights with the enemies are also fun. The only part where it lets itself down is in the bossfights, but that is just a minor issue when compared to the rest of the game.

85

Long Live Presidente!

ADUAN | July 24, 2013 | Review of Tropico 3: Gold Edition

I played the original Tropico, and while it was a fun game, I found it to be sometimes quite frustrating with the A.I and the people not doing as they are told. For the most part, Tropico 3 manages to fix those issues. In addition, the goals I need in order to keep the people satisfied are also expanded and explained properly, allowing me to keep the population happy, and allowing my population to be productive, as well as being able to continuously vote for me during the elections.

The myriads ways I can expand my empire is also fun, from making Tropico into a Industrial empire, or even making it into the best tourist destination, as well as issuing edicts to keep the population satisfied, it is fun to be Presidente of Tropico.

85

Good fun, although not as much content as the original

ADUAN | July 24, 2013 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - The Full Package

Saints Row The Third is a game that is once again, wacky and funny. The gameplay largely remains the same from Saints Row 2. However, one of the things I found to be disappointing is the fact that some of the activities that were in Saints Row 2 were removed in this one. In addition, the game is a bit too easy as I can access to high powered weapons and vehicles at the start of the game with a little bit of exploring.

However, I still found this game to be enjoyable and worth picking up, especially if you have played Saints Row 2.

90

A good classic from the Dreamcast

ADUAN | July 24, 2013 | Review of Jet Set Radio

I never played Jet Set Radio on the Dreamcast before, but I have heard of how good it was, so when I got this game during a sale, I had to try it out...and I really does live up to its praise.

The cel-shaded graphics is something that you don't see quite a lot in modern games today, and its look very good even by modern standards.

The gameplay is also quite fun, as you go around Tokyo-to spraying graffiti while avoiding the police, you feel the rush of adrenaline as you complete that last graffiti tag.

The soundtrack is superb, the original tunes by Hideki Nakamura, as well the various other songs fit the game very well, and they are fun to listen to by themselves.

The only complaint I would have is the camera can be wonky at some parts, but overall I had fun with it.

90

Sonic is back in action

ADUAN | July 24, 2013 | Review of Sonic Generations

Despite what some people would say, this game is fun to play with. With the ability to play as both Classic and Modern Sonic, the main gameplay has quite some variety; the side games are also quite fun to play with, some more than the others, and the bosses are fun to fight with. The music is top-notch, with remixes from the classic Sonic games, you will enjoy the music as you go through a level trying to ace it. Sonic and his friends are also quite funny in the cutscenes and even the antagonists are cool.

Overall, I would recommend anyone to buy this game for anyone who wants to play a good Sonic game.

90

A great addition to the Fallout franchise

ADUAN | July 24, 2013 | Review of Fallout: New Vegas DNS

Fallout: New Vegas is made by Obsidian Entertainment, most of which were involved in the original Fallout series. As a result, it feels almost like the original Fallout.

Even without the original games, however, New Vegas is very good. While I have heard that the game is buggy, for the most part, it has been patched, and I hardly experienced any game-breaking bugs while playing it. With weapons that are fun to use, characters that are both funny and interesting, locations that are fun to explore, and a modding community that can expand your game, this game is a fun experience.

86

Good Indie Zombie Shooter with Rougelike Elements

ADUAN | July 24, 2013 | Review of Dead Pixels

This indie game is worth 3 dollars. The fact that the game will randomly generate different type of city, this means that every playthrough can be different each time you play it. It also has a survival element that works quite well: do you take out zombies now and use up your ammo, or do you save up your ammo to take out a larger group of zombies later?

Overall, this game is great fun and is worth your time and money.

100

This isn't a just a game; it's an experience.

ADUAN | July 24, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Game of the Year Edition

Deus Ex is one of those games that seem way ahead of its time. I have played through this game at least 3 times just to see the myriad ways I could have accomplished my goals, as well trying different augmentations and weapons for each playthrough. The dialogue is also well written, especially certain conversations with J.C, the main character, and other NPCs, (even if some of the voice-acting is a little off centre).

If you have not played this game, get it. It is an experience you will not regret.

90

Great Sandbox Game let down by a bad port (that a game mods fix)

ADUAN | July 24, 2013 | Review of Saints Row 2

Let's get it out of the way first: The PC port for Saints Row 2 is bad, with overly sensitive controls and bad rendering all around. However, the Saints Row 2 Powertools as well as the Gentlemen of the Row mod manages to fix most of this problems. Once that is out of the way, the game is an absolute blast to play. With so many things to do in the game, from the main storyline to the side missions and diversions, to just exploring the City of Stillwater, I found this game to be a blast to play. I would definitely recommend anyone who enjoys GTA sandbox games to get this game.

80

Cathartic and funny game

ADUAN | July 24, 2013 | Review of POSTAL 2 Complete

Postal is one those games that make you go, "What the hell?", and then make you laugh as you play along. Playing as the Postal Dude, you spend a whole trying to do mundane tasks, like getting paychecks, getting groceries, etc. However, you can do it in whatever way you like, so you don't necessarily have to play like a saint. As a matter of fact, you can just play like a psychopath and attack or maim whoever who stands in your way of doing those tasks. At its very best, it is cathartic gameplay, allowing you to kill civilians in simple or gruesome ways, such as headshots, setting them on fire, or even giving them mad cow disease. The "people" you will meet in this game are funny, even when you are just ignoring them.

Get this game for some fun on a stick. I would also recommend get the mod for this game called A Weekend In Paradise, that adds more ways to play with the game.

85

Not a good as the Max Payne 1 and 2, but still fun.

ADUAN | July 24, 2013 | Review of Max Payne 3

Max Payne 3 is quite different from the original Max Payne as well as its sequel. That being said, I still found it to be quite a blast to play.

Gone is the hyperspace inventory of the original, which allowed you to store 10 guns on your person, and now it uses a more realistic weapons inventory of 2 small guns and 1 long gun, although the gameplay still remains largely unchanged from the original. A cover system has been added, although you can still do bullet time shoot-dodging to take out your opponents.

This game might not be as good as the originals, but I would still recommend it for it gameplay.

90

Good sequel for a good game

ADUAN | July 24, 2013 | Review of Max Payne II: The Fall of Max Payne DNS

I enjoyed the original Max Payne with its film-noir elements, and great gunplay and bullet-time mechanics, so this game is just as good as the original.

For the most part, gameplay is still the same, with almost the same arsenal of weapons as the original, with only maybe a few new weapons added to the mix. However, the gunplay is still solid and fun like the original, and the new weapons do not feel out of place in this game. The bullet is largely unchanged, and the new ragdoll physics makes the deaths of the enemies you kill all the more satisfying as you fill a mook with buckshot and watch him go flying across a room.

Overall, this game does not feel out of place in the modern gaming era.

90

Build a Civilization to last all time.

ADUAN | July 24, 2013 | Review of Civilization V: Gold Edition

Civ 5 is a game that you can get lost into. From starting a small settlement, you can then build a great civilization, with researching new technologies, finding other civilizations to befriend or go to war with, building great wonders and buildings as well as units to defend your territory, there is always something to do to keep things fresh and interesting. The Gold Edition adds all the DLCs (except the Brave New World DLC, although that may be subject to change later), and this adds even more civilizations and content to play with in the game.

In conclusion, anyone who want to play a fun 4X game should buy this, and experience the feeling of conquering the world with it.

85

Eviscerating opponents has never been so fun.

ADUAN | July 24, 2013 | Review of The Darkness II

The Darkness II is a game that takes ques from modern shooters, and adds some fun gameplay elements. Using the tentacles to grab items or opponents, and throwing them to other opponents, as well as doing gruesome fatalities on opponents, as well as the myriad upgrades you can add, the gameplay is fun and cathartic.

The story is also quite well done, exploring the character of Jackie and his life, dealing with the monster that lives within him, and dealing and interacting with the people he cares for.

Overall, its a game I would recommend getting if you want something different in a modern shooter.

84

Wizards with guns? Yes please.

ADUAN | July 24, 2013 | Review of Magicka

Magicka is a fun game with many ways to kill or get killed. With a variety of weapons, from arcane beams, to swords, and even guns, there are many ways to turn your opponent into gibs... or even get gibbed yourself. The multiplayer makes it even more fun as you can aid or grief your friends with your -possibly unwanted - help.

94

A tale that you will enjoy.

ADUAN | July 24, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead

A tale of a man who struggles along with a group of people, as well as taking care of a child he found might not sound like the greatest game, but Telltale's The Walking Dead manages to do it. They managed to capture the feeling of being trapped and forced to work together in a zombie apocalypse well. With characters that you will love and character that you will hate, this is one of the games that you will need to play.

80

Funny and fun game

ADUAN | July 23, 2013 | Review of DLC Quest

This game pokes fun at the trend of DLC in the gaming industry, along with various gaming references, while at the same time being a fun platformer. You can probably complete the game in 1 to 2 hours, but it is still worth playing and it is cheap at only 3 dollars.

85

The Turn-Based Strategy Game that one should play.

ADUAN | July 23, 2013 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Unknown

I liked to play turn-based strategy games, although having said that, I was a little skeptical of getting this, however I eventually picked it up, and I did not regret it.

Pros: The game is very challenging. While I am not a hardcore gamer, I do enjoy some challenge, and this game delivers it with enough style. The enemies that I encountered always keep me on my toes, and the risk of possibly losing a good soldier in the battlefield is always lingering at the back of my head.

The music by Micheal McCann (who also did music for Deus Ex: Human Revolution) fits the tone nicely, especially during alien encounters.

Gameplay is solid. I always try to varieties during different playthoughs of this game, trying to see whether a different strategy will work. Choosing what to upgrade in the GeoScape, be it weapons or armor, as well as trying to manage and optimise my output is also quite engaging. The turn-based combat is also quite fun, especially when one of your soldiers manages to land that shot that kills the threat.

Cons: The game still quite glitchy; sometimes aliens will just spawn directly in front of your soldiers, and sometime the game will not accept the mouse or keyboard input, although that seldom happened when I was playing.

In addition, the aliens can be quite a cheater, as they can sometimes land shots- and kill or injure your troops- in quick succession, while your own soldiers will keep missing, no matter how accurate the percantages claim to be.

Conclusion: Overall, I find XCOM to be fun, and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to play a good turn-based strategy game.

90

Great DOOM Bundle to pick up

ADUAN | July 23, 2013 | Review of Doom 3 BFG Edition Pre

Having never played DOOM back in its prime, I picked this up, and well, it does live to being known as one of the best shooters of all time. The original DOOM and DOOM 2 plays quite well, having weapons and powerups which make the game continuously fun and challenging. Meanwhile, Doom 3 and its expansions get a update that manages to address some the problems with the original (ie: the flashlight being a separate weapon in the original).

Overall, I had lots of fun playing this, pick it up if you want to relive some old-school memories, and even newcomers can enjoy this.