Reviews by AkiMatti

97

The RTS game I have played the most

AkiMatti | April 15, 2014 | Review of Ground Control + Dark Conspiracy Expansion

Another RTS game I seem to have. But this is actually the only one I've played extensively. And that is because I don't have to worry about the tiresome resource management! ARGH! I hate that in RTS games! Hate it! Having to run around the map and the base and here and there and do research and always be in a hurry! NO! THAT IS NOT FUN IN MY DESCRIPTION!

FORTUNATELY Ground Control is a different breed. In this game you can concentrate on the tactical department as the direction from which you attack the enemy matters, so flanking is actually a strategy here. Differences in how high you are positioned versus the enemy is also vital. You get units from dropships and you can easily set up your own groups from the troops. You cannot control a single troop, though, but that is not something you would miss, either.

THIS IS GREAT RTS WITHOUT THE MICROMANAGEMENT!

IF THAT DOES NOT GET YOU TO BUY THIS GAME; I DON'T KNOW WHAT WILL! Oh, yeah... IT IS ALSO VERY CHEAP FOR THE VALUE!

77

Make your own Avengers!

AkiMatti | April 15, 2014 | Review of Freedom Force vs. the Third Reich

I've always liked superheroes, so buying a game about controlling them was a non-issue. I dove in it straight and started playing. The game had some humor to it, and the ability to use some of the environment in fighting is awesome.

There are plenty different powers to control, too. Unfortunately, there is no way to customize your heroes like in City of Heroes, for example. But at least you can name them the way you like.

The game is pretty hard, too. After getting stuck in a mission pretty early on, I've all but given up with the game. I've moved along to other games. It could probably give good enjoyment still, but I just haven't been able to pick it up again.

Worth a try but only if you don't have other games on the side. And you like superheroes.

88

Destruction Derby again!

AkiMatti | April 15, 2014 | Review of Flatout

Gentlemen, start you engines and get out of here, because this game is not for you! This game is for rude, tough and dirty drivers that are willing to do anything it takes to win the race!

Plates of metal will fly, tires will scream and shacks will shatter as you circle around the race tracks wreaking havoc along your way. A little rubber banding shatters the game a bit, but not too much. Just enough to make it more challenging. And challenge you will get!

But along with it, lots of fun. There are many bonus game modes that are often relying on sending the driver flying towards different goals. You will need a certain mindset to enjoy a laugh out of them, but if you do, it is great.

Recommended to share the experience with a friend.

72

It can be fun, but not always

AkiMatti | April 15, 2014 | Review of FUEL

The point is to race in different open environments with different vehicles against other racers. The fun part is pretty much the same as in Insane; you can choose your own way to the next waypoint. Big jumps are possible and the feeling of freedom is imminent.

The game is pretty hard, though, or I am just not good at it. Or it could be because of the rubber banding, too. Anyway, it takes away some of the freedom.

Once you've seen what Fuel has to offer, it is likely you won't often return to this game. There are other games that are much better than this. so...

87

Didn't care about F1. Tried this game. Loved it!

AkiMatti | April 15, 2014 | Review of F1 2013

Haven't played the previous F1 games, actually have hardly played any other F1 games. Maybe some game on the 386 a looong time ago but that was almost another lifetime.

Went in not expecting much, played with Logitech F510 gamepad. Left impressed and hooked. I didn't do very well, handling the car is very challenging in the corners and the KERS and whatever, it is all new to me. But the learning process is very satisfying!

Graphics are breathtaking, especially the cars. Also the weather effects. I have a pretty low budget computer so it was a great surprise how well I could run this game and how good it looked. With a GT440! Wow!

Buy it!

83

Kill Duke. With guns gas guzzling.

AkiMatti | April 15, 2014 | Review of Death Rally

The game knows its predecessor. I was waiting so much for this game when it was announced and oh the disappointment when I heard it was going to be only for tablets. But NOW IT IS ON PC, TOO! YES!

As fun as it ever was, you still have to race that. ONE. RACE.

Getting new cars and upgrading the one you have is intoxicating. Oh, and racing against Duke? It is as legendary as in the first one. You feel you have accomplished and mastered the game when you leave The King to eat your dust.

Hail to the New King, baby!

85

Better than Oblivion

AkiMatti | April 15, 2014 | Review of Two Worlds: Game of the Year

Crashes less than Oblivion, the world seems more atmospheric and authentic, running around the world feels better and the battles feel also better.

For some reason, in this game I was more interested in the characters, too, than in Oblivion. It just feels like playing the character since you can see it all the time. Bandits are something to be afraid of and so are the wild animals. Even gathering the flora and mushrooms and stuff from the environments is more interesting than in Oblivion.

This is entirely a subjective feeling since I cannot do a precise reasoning why it is so but Two Worlds just feels so much better. Try it, even the demo, if you don't believe me. And see for yourself.

89

Good looking action romp

AkiMatti | April 15, 2014 | Review of Kingdoms of Amalur - Reckoning

It is like a MMORPG without the online part but better. The combat is satisfying and versatile, the graphics are colourful and interesting, the world is imaginative and full of stuff to interact with.

Buy it in a sale if not else, you likely won't regret it. It is more likely that you won't be able to stop playing. That happened to me even in the short demo version (which you should try to know that you should buy this game).

82

Adventure in an interesting world

AkiMatti | April 15, 2014 | Review of Syberia

Benoit Sokal got me to get this game since I'd read the books about a duck detective written by Sokal before. Syberia doesn't really grasp the same way as the albums but that can be expected since they are totally different medias.

The game is represented as mostly static backgrounds with 3d characters placed upon them. The effect can be a bit jarring nowadays but you can get used to it. If you try enough or get immersed in the world.

The story takes the game far and so it should, because that is what matters in an adventure game.

Give it a chance and Syberia might surprise you.

87

Incredible at its time

AkiMatti | April 15, 2014 | Review of Far Cry

This was the first time that gamers were set loose in such beautiful and open environments in a game with the latest in graphics tech. Far Cry really set new standards to what can be expected of an FPS game.

The enemies are pretty clever, the troops almost on par with HL1 army men. The environment is believable and vast. There are vehicles you can drive around and very challenging battles (I'm especially looking at you, helicopter scene). Good basic array of weapons.

Some gripes exist, too, like sometimes the enemies spot you amazingly early and shoot too precisely.

It is still a good game and worth a look if you want to see what brought about the Crysis franchise.

86

The game that changed my view on JRPGs

AkiMatti | April 15, 2014 | Review of FINAL FANTASY VIII

I'd never played a JRPG game before I tried FF8. Actually, I don't think I had extensively tried any RPG game before FF8. I thought they required too much work or that I couldn't be so invested in computer characters.

Oh, how wrong I was! The game took hold of me fairly fast and at the end of the first cd I was floored and left wanting more. And even what I had experienced until the that would've been enough for the content of one game but the adventure continued for quite a while after that. Probably THE game that showed me how much games can affect my emotions through their stories and characters. Granted, I was a teenager at the time but the point still stands.

FF8 soundtrack was also something that left a lasting impression to me. Funny thing is, the intro song didn't really feel so majestic before I had played the game through. After that, though, it hit me like a doomtrain.

But enough nostalgia. Let's see how I'd review it today for someone trying it the first time.

Graphics: Dated, very dated. The CGI movies are still good quality, but the character models look very crude in the actual game. Artistic direction helps a lot, though. Static backgrounds are blurry but just good enough.

Sounds: Emotional, atmospheric, emotional. Though fight effects can get a bit repetitive since there will be many battles.

Gameplay: Talking to characters, reading the story, running between places and having battles from time to time. In the battles the actions are selected from a menu during a timer count which makes it turnbased but intense.

Story: Epic.

Overall: If you are able to look past the dated outlook and a bit of grinding in battles you will have a wonderful experience with this game.

85

Hard but fun

AkiMatti | April 9, 2014 | Review of Costume Quest

Costume Quest reminds me a lot of Psychonauts with the world design. Kids with big heads and a cartoonish world filled with humor. That is what CQ is about.

You go around in your rollerblades and your halloween costumes, gathering sweets and completing quests. Eventually you will save the town from the attack of some ogre monsters by using you costumes that will turn into awesome mechasuits,on combat. Combat is semi turn-based with some timing. Easy enough.

Cons: The map could be better, I got lost many times and didn't know where I was supposed to go.

Pros: Great world, great dialogue, sounds, and character design. Controls work great especially with a pad. Humour.

78

Pump it up as you go!

AkiMatti | April 9, 2014 | Review of Beatbuddy: Tale of the Guardians

Now this is a fun game! By combining the flow and rhythm of the game to the music Beatbuddy gives a new feeling to playing. Elements like enemies and projectiles within the game all move in rhythm, making playing easier if you get into it as well.

The colourful environments, the smooth aesthetics of the character and world design, the giddy soundtrack and wonderful animation all combine to a joyful experience. Pretty casual, sure, but sometimes that is not so bad.

Recommended for some simple time waste when you want to take it easy and take in the beats. Gives you a happy feeling!

75

Surprisingly enjoyable, tough controls

AkiMatti | April 9, 2014 | Review of Avencast: Rise of the Mage

I went into Avencast pretty blindly, not knowing what to expect. I ended up in a mage college of some kind which seemed quite large. I felt like Harry Potter all of a sudden. This is a good thing.

The combat can get some time to get used to but it sure ain't just bashing head on! You need to learn how to dodge, aim and time your attacks. This keeps the fights interesting and challenging.

The graphics are good enough even if not top notch. One flaw in the aesthetics, though is that there is too much gray and brown colors, I'd like a little more color in my mage games, but it is a small gripe.

Works well with lower specs, too.

88

A cult classic RPG

AkiMatti | April 8, 2014 | Review of Alpha Protocol

There are not a lot of RPG games where you play as an espionage agent, even less those that are well made. Alpha Protocol delivers on ALMOST all fronts. While lacking some polish the core of the game is a solid RPG with some new ideas thrown into the mix.

You can customize and choose what kind of character you will be playing and this will really impact to the way you will be playing the game. A technician won't be as good of a shooter as a straight up commando. The interactions with the npc's also matter as the way you deal with them affects what kind of relationships you will end up having with them. Your decisions really matter!

Whether you are a stealth freak or a shooter fanatic, you can build the game and your character around your preference. The controls work well enough to lend themselves to either approach.

The graphics have also stood the test of time fairly well (I'm writing this in 2014).

Give it a chance if you are into RPG games. You likely won't regret it.

82

Great fun for Kids!

AkiMatti | April 8, 2014 | Review of Eets

I'm always on the lookout for nice little games for my kids to play. Eets is one that delivers well on that aspect!

The graphics and sounds are cute, the character is lovable, the interface is easy to understand and the game challenges the mind while still being fun!

What's not to like!?

89

A great take on a revolutionary game

AkiMatti | April 8, 2014 | Review of Tomb Raider: Anniversary

Anniversary is something I always thought would be bad because it was going to have these QTEs (Quick-Time-Events). I mean, none of those were in the original so why add them here?

After purchasing and actually playing the game, I noticed that yes, the QTEs were not a good addition but also, that it did not ruin the whole game. It does take some time to get used to the QTEs but once you get the hang of them they don't distract from the flowing gameplay too much. The focus is in the exploration of the unknown like in the original. The levels have been carefully redesigned so that they can be recognized but new variation and thought has been added into incorporating the new movement mechanics into the setting.

There are some amazing view and vistas to see and puzzles to solve. The places you will take Lara on this adventure give you butterflies in your stomach from time to time. The battles get pretty hard towards the end and you will likely die numerous times before getting forward but the feeling of satisfaction after that is just that much better.

Easily recommended for Lara fans, possible in the top three of all Tomb Raider games.

81

If you liked Rochard, here is some more of it!

AkiMatti | April 8, 2014 | Review of Rochard: Hard Times

Rochard was a very well made physics puzzle game at its core where especially manipulation of gravity was in a significant role. Hard Times is a dlc pack of four levels to extend the gameplay but the new levels are surely meant for people who already finished the main game. The challenge given in these levels demand that you are very accustomed to using all the assets available to you to defeat the challenges.

The aesthetics and sounds are just as good as in the main game, making this an enjoyable ride. With this cost, you'd be hard pressed to regret buying it.

96

Creative in more than one way

AkiMatti | April 1, 2014 | Review of Portal 2

Going to Portal 2 I was thinking I would basically be getting more of the same as in Portal. Boy, was I wrong. The different materials give a lot of room for creativity and the story is significantly better than in the first Portal. Characters and the world, the whole testing facility is opened up more to the player to delve into. The architecture of some levels is jaw-dropping, leaving impression of a vast complex autonomously in control of itself.

Co-op side is a welcome addition and boggles the mind at least as much as the single player if not more. Terrific fun all around.

94

Showed the Way Forward

AkiMatti | March 31, 2014 | Review of Half-Life 2

HL2 came around at a time when fps games where stagnating a bit. It showed us how to keep it fresh by adding physics, great lip-syncing for its time and a breathtaking world made alive by the new Source engine.

There were just so many things that went right with this game I don't know where to begin. The combine was an intriguing enemy that offered many variations of enemies. Many NPCs were met along the way and many weapons which were all useful in different situations. Not to mention Gravity Gun, which was just SO cool as it was the first of its kind in fps games.

As much as could be said about the base game, there is also the side of HL2 that must be mentioned and that is the moddability. A huge array of mods have been released for the game, some as good in quality as AAA games.

But the main game has also very good replayability factor in it, still. If you have not experienced HL2 yet, I suggest you try it, if only to see where many of the tropes in this days video game genre originate from.

92

Through the Looking Glass

AkiMatti | March 31, 2014 | Review of Portal

Portal shows a new side to fps games. Can this even be called fps? It would be more like a first person puzzle platformer aka fppp.

The player uses a portal gun which fires two different "doors" or "holes" in supportable surfaces that are connected like a wormhole through space. An AI will guide the player through different test rooms and quips against human intelligence. Soon enough, it becomes evident that there is also something else than testing going on in the facility...

The puzzles are not too tough but they are creative. Portal physics are fun to play with but it feels like the game doesn't get going until two thirds to the game and could indeed pressure the brain a bit more to my tastes.

Anyway, recommended to anyone.

89

The Pinnacle of the Series - So Far

AkiMatti | March 31, 2014 | Review of Half Life 2: Episode 2

The old Source engine has been taken to new lengths again as Gordon goes through totally different environments compared to the last episode. Cityscapes have changed to rural countryside and forests.

The gameplay is paced very well and the player feels like making progress all the time. Some new enemies are also introduced and some old ones are also reacquainted.

Vehicles are in a more prominent role and they work well enough, though for my tastes there could've been less of them.

The plot goes forward a lot, but I won't tell anymore of that in case you haven't played this gem yet. The ending leaves us at a cliffhanger like no other. Episode 3, pls?

82

Run to the hills!

AkiMatti | March 31, 2014 | Review of Half Life 2: Episode 1

Episode 1 is a logical sequel to Half-Life 2 which begins exactly where the last game ended. The G-Man again shows his extraordinary powers over time and space but even he does not have everything in control as he soon discovers.

Gordon, our lovable protagonist, gets to follow Alyx through City 17 and beyond. A great cataclysm is about to happen as the Citadel is crumbling down to its core and City 17 is not a place to be when it happens.

The mechanics are familiar from HL2, but everything has been taken up a notch. The fights are harder, the atmosphere is more pressing and all in all Gordon does not seem to be at the top of the situation at all times.

The game has suspense and great fps gameplay, only the plot does not go forward as much as one would like. Still, a necessary part of the game series and worth checkin out.

95

The Game That Started It All...

AkiMatti | March 27, 2014 | Review of Half Life

...and by all I mean story elements and excessive scripting in fps games.Those were really the new things that Half-Life brought to the table after Quake and its pals had laid out the control scheme for fps games.

The famous beginning of Half-Life created a wholly different atmosphere to the game along with the varying color schemes in different parts of the levels. The 3D effects were also used consistently to add authenticity to the game instead used only as eye candy.

What also stood out was the soldiers and their AI against the player. I remember the first time when I nearly pooped my pants having to actually take cover and still getting a grenade land near my feet. The enemies were actually using effective tactics which was unheard of before this game and rarely seen even today.

92

The Dark Knight Himself

AkiMatti | March 27, 2014 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

This game makes you feel like you're the Batman. You have his gadgets, his martial arts skills and the game portrays well even the attitude.

The game does so many things so well it is hard to know where to begin. Hand to hand combat works impressively well; countering attacks, switching targets, stunning aggressive foes and throwing batarangs are all easily accomplished with the controls.

Between fights, the detective part of being Batman is played out as you use the "Detective mode" to see vulnerabilities or alternative routes in the environment. Using different gadgets to traverse like grappling hook, exploding gel or the batclaw all add to the immersion.

I could go on and on, and you can look at other reviews too or the metacritic points this game got, but the bottom line is this: you should try this game if you haven't already.

90

Revolutionized 3D Gaming

AkiMatti | March 27, 2014 | Review of Tomb Raider I

What this title did with 3D gaming was something new, something that had not been experienced before. Being able to climb and traverse and move the 3D obstacles in the environment made the environments feel much more "real" in a sense.

Of course, by todays standards, the graphics and the environment look very blocky, but with thanks to good art direction and your imagination you will start to see it as the world it was meant to convey.

The game really feels like "tomb raiding", exploring the caverns and secrets and caves long lost to men. The enemies are challenging especially when they come in packs. Controls are good enough even if using only the keyboard. I much prefer the old pixelated graphics but you can use a Glide wrapper to add some basic 3D effects like bilinear filtering to make it look smoother.

Puzzles, traps, story and gameplay are all well polished here. Great nostalgia factor for those that played it back then, and good amount of fun still for the new generation wanting to see where we started from.

89

Action sidestep from the Original

AkiMatti | March 24, 2014 | Review of Alan Wake's American Nightmare

While the original Alan Wake series (the main game + dlc) was a fairly slow paced 3rd person horror adventure, this game takes a step to the side and offers you a more streamlined experience. The controls have been made a bit better and faster so that it is easier for you to dispatch loads of the shadow people.

American Nightmare is made in the spirit of B-list splatter movies or something similar, or at least gives away that impression.

There is also a possibility to play a sort of "From Dusk Till Dawn" game where you have exactly that long to survive in a chosen environment where more and more enemies will come for you while you run away and try to gather ammo and stuff to keep them away long enough. I actually liked this survival mode pretty much, the night doesn't last too long but just enough for there to be good tension.

Recommended for friends and newcomers of Alan Wake.

77

From FPS TD to the Traditional TD

AkiMatti | March 22, 2014 | Review of Super Sanctum TD

Sanctum is mostly known for its FPS take on the TD genre. Ironically, this traditional TD version of the Sanctum world comes last.

Compared to other TD games, SSTD manages to hold its own. There are plenty of different tower types, enemy types and possibilities to upgrade the towers. You can make labyrinths for the enemies to get the most out of your towers and basically all the tropes of the genre are represented here.

The graphics are fairly good, if somewhat retro. Music sets the mood nicely, but the sounds are otherwise just good enough without leaving any lasting impression.

Everything works like it should in a TD game, and the UI is well done to make playing easier to access. If you have some time to kill, SSTD can do the job.

92

Better than GTA

AkiMatti | March 21, 2014 | Review of Omikron: The Nomad Soul

In the game, you first take on the role of a cop. Ultimately, you have to save the world. NO, DON'T LEAVE YET! There is more to it than that! Besides, the way the game is structured makes the unfolding of the story feel like it is your doing.

You really live in this world, use the hovering cars, talk to the citizens, transfer to their bodies (yes, this is possible and gives you access to their homes and information) and kick their asses on underground martial arts tournaments!

The game offers 3 different perspectives at different sections of the game: 3rd person adventure, beat'em'up and fps. The first two are the best while the fps part leaves a lot to be desired.

The whole experience just takes you in so wholly, you feel like a detective, trying to understand this world and how it works while unraveling the evil plot behind it all.

I think everyone should be able to try this and with that price, it is a great offer.

87

Simply the best Alien game so far

AkiMatti | March 21, 2014 | Review of Aliens vs Predator Classic 2000

The graphics will feel very dated to gamers nowadays but the core of the game is solid.

Intense marine campaign where you never encounter an alien lightly, awesome alien campaign where you really feel like you are a fast and deadly killing machine and finally the predator campaign where you really are the hunter and ready to kick ass.

sigh

Words cannot do justice to this game. You just have to experience it. The beeping sound of the echolocator. The horror of the dark corridors. The nerve-wrecking sound of the facehugger being in the same room...

If you can stand the old graphics, you won't be disappointed if you like fps games at all.

70

Oldschool adventure game with tough puzzles

AkiMatti | March 21, 2014 | Review of The Blackwell Deception

First of all, when you take the road to try this game, expect playing with low resolution and old graphics.

Second, the game is still good. It is reminiscent of old LucasArts games in that the game won't hold your hand when it comes to the puzzles. You really have to figure them out on your own (walkthroughs, begone!). And succeeding in that feels rewarding.

That the other controllable character is a ghost creates a nice dynamic to the game since a ghost cannot pick up objects a normal human can, for example.

Recommended for friends of adventure games.

82

War SMASH!

AkiMatti | March 21, 2014 | Review of Darksiders

3rd person action game done right.

The story is a variation on the Bible's Revelation theme where no God exists. War is an instrument of the Council that tries to rein in the realms of Heaven and Hell who battle for dominion.

Someone ignites the apocalypse too early and War gets the blame. Your job? Find the real culprit and reclaim your power.

This game can be played on a gamepad as well as kb + mouse. Using a gamepad can be more relaxing, though. All the fighting moves and sounds are really gratifying and the environment look authentically post-human civilization.

The story has many epic moments and you will notice your own skills getting better also in time as well as War's. Some of the fights are very hard and will require a lot of retries, which might put you off a bit, though. Every challenge is surmountable, though, it just takes enough practice.

For the fans of the genre, a must buy. Others, I recommend trying.

80

Imaginative and creative use of a Gimmick

AkiMatti | March 21, 2014 | Review of Tiny & Big: Grandpa's Leftovers

This game has a certain gimmick in it, which is the possibility to cut terrain obstacles and then move the slices. The mechanic works very well and the player is left with his/her own imagination as to how to overcome the obstacles with it.

The gimmick is however only part of the game, another part is the humor. The humor reminds me a bit of Psychonauts and MDK, bizarre and childish. Just the way I like it :)

The controls are responsive and work even with a gamepad. I used Logitech F510 successfully. Keyboard + Mouse might work more accurately, though.

It is a nice adventure platformer which will give you a journey you will likely not regret taking.

77

A lot more fun than you'd think!

AkiMatti | March 21, 2014 | Review of Post Apocalyptic Mayhem

This game might not look like much from the screens but the gameplay is actually pretty fun! It is like Mario Kart but in a Fallout setting! Totally overthetop mayhem with easy controls.

There are 3 ways to attack with each vehicle, and each vehicle is different. You win by fragging other cars, not by finishing first. Powerups are gained often so there is constantly explosions going on.

Really entertaining for short periods of mayhem when you need it.

89

What many FPS games wished they were

AkiMatti | March 21, 2014 | Review of Hard Reset

Hard Reset is what hardcore fps games should be all about. Great graphics, works well on low specs, fast paced, top notch controls, weapons customization and as a bonus cyberpunk world!

For myself an added bonus is also that I don't have to fight people in this game so there is no blood. Shooting robots is kind of more innocent, I think, and harder to feel bad when you shoot them to junk.

The movement also reminds of Quake, which basically invented strafe-circling.

A great game, really. Oh, I almost forgot to mention how you can also use the environment to scorch your enemies! Blasts of electricity, fire etc. from different sources are available and can really change the outcome of the firefight.

Recommended.

72

Single player is a grind

AkiMatti | March 21, 2014 | Review of Borderlands

I bought this game thinking it would be good since everyone was praising it at the time. What I didn't realize was that this is a co-op game for the most part.

Since I haven't been able to play this in coop, I've been limited to single player only experience. The game feels mediocre in that regard. There is almost no story in the game and it is basically just shooting, shooting, shooting while upgrading your weapons from time to time. Some areas get very tedious for being so hard and running through them again and again feels like a chore. Not much is there to motivate.

But what does motivate to continue playing is seeing new monsters, new areas, and getting new weapons. The gameplay is solid and there are plenty of opportunities to use the environment as your cover. Different weapons give different kind of tactics to use in a firefight: for example poisonous bullets deal damage over time so you don't have to hit the enemy as often.

Mediocre game.

78

Modern rendition of a classic

AkiMatti | March 21, 2014 | Review of Aliens vs Predator

When I knew only the 1999 version, it was the ultimate Alien game for me. Especially the Marine campaign was very thrilling and scary. I had high hopes for this game, especially since the developer was Rebellion like with the original.

Unfortunately, this game didn't fulfil all my expectations. The aliens are not as fast in this new version, which made the first one so thrilling. I still hate the face-huggers, though. The game can be pretty demanding of you machine which is not good for a fast paced fps.

Still, it is pretty well done, all in all, and the campaigns feel like good takes on the characters. You can get a load of enjoyment out of this if you don't expect too much but take it as it is.

87

Slapstick Wizards!

AkiMatti | Feb. 10, 2014 | Review of Magicka

This game is a riot! It is amusing just by yourself in single player but it really picks up the pace in multiplayer! Conjuring spells and learning them as you go is part of the fun the other part is just messing around with everything!

There are plenty of funny references to other media in the game story and world. It does get pretty tough, too, so there is enough difficulty to be had with this game.

Enough about the game, just buy it already, or 4! Play with friends or play by yourself, fun is guaranteed!

89

Action Adventure that has great atmosphere

AkiMatti | Feb. 10, 2014 | Review of Alan Wake

Many people define Alan Wake as a horror game, but I wouldn't necessarily make that case. True, it has a lot of tension and there are many points where the mood builds very nicely. But its always more in a B level horror style, kind of like X-Files or the like.

It is not a bad thing, I'm not saying that. The story is told well and the game can keep you on the edge of your seat great many times. There's just some sort of tongue-in-cheek touch in everything, if you look closely.

The game runs fairly well on older hardware, but will need a beefy video card to run properly. My GT440 barely managed to run it on low settings acceptably.

If you like a good story, 3rd person action games and beautiful graphics with well working control scheme, this is your game.

NOTE! Remember to diasble the HUD from the menu for the best experience!

92

You will know parkour

AkiMatti | Feb. 5, 2014 | Review of Mirror's Edge

I've been a traceur for several years now and had been even before this game was released. Some of the things done in this game are surely over-the-top but shown in a very realistic fashion. Everything Faith is able to do in the game has credibility to it, minus that she never gets so tired that she should stop to catch breath.

As the game is shown in first person, it is fun to play because you feel like you are doing the moves yourself. Everything looks great, too!

Even after completing it, it is a pleasure to come back to it and try different levels to find different routes and just have some super action FUN!

88

Now I know why some people are hooked to HoMM!

AkiMatti | Feb. 5, 2014 | Review of King's Bounty: The Legend

Because this game is a remake of the game that started the genre before HoMM was created and you can call me captured!

You control a royal treasure searcher who goes around the world doing quests and gathering armies while making sure there would be peace in all the corners of the land.

The skill trees are well made and the fights are challenging. There are a lot of environments to look around and many places where you will be challenged in your skill even later in the game. The graphics are a bit cartoony and very pleasant to look at. The quests are well thought out and don't feel like unnecessary chores. There are even quests which you can solve without using violence which is always a plus in my book.

Everything in this game is made to immerse you in its game world and if you like these kind of games even a bit it will likely hold you firmly in its grasp till the early morning hours.

Highly recommended!

98

PADded with emotion!

AkiMatti | Feb. 5, 2014 | Review of Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons

It is really hard to find the words to define this game. If you're not touched at anytime during the game, you have a heart made of rock.

The basic gist of the game is that two brothers will have to find medicine for their sick father and during their journey they will have to overcome many challenges and obstacles only counting on each other to survive. You control them both at once, which gives the game a really unique feel that is hard to grasp at first but will feel natural after a while.

The game offers beautiful vistas for you to look at and never rushes you into things so that you cannot appreciate the surroundings. The puzzles aren't too hard but they are refreshingly without violence. I was able to play most of the game while my 5 and 7 years old children were watching, only one scene stood out as not suitable for them I had to remove them from the room for its duration.

This game was like therapy to me. It gives you a world in a simpler time where the relationships seem more genuine than today's harsh world where everything seems to be weighed in money.

I strongly advice playing this with a pad for the extra effect it will give. One of the best games I have ever played!

95

A Solid Puzzle-Platformer ;)

AkiMatti | Feb. 5, 2014 | Review of Rochard

Rochard is a very entertaining platformer game where you can control gracity with your G-Lifter and also control the gravity in the whole room you are in. There are also other things, but I won't spoil everything here. Nevertheless, with these simple concepts a lot of fun puzzles are created in a beautiful space station environment made with the Unity engine.

The soundtrack is awesome, especially the title song. It really gets you in the mood right from the start. The story is pretty good too and it keeps you going since you want to see the end so badly.

Controls are responsive with mouse+kb, but work pretty well with a pad, too. Only the aiming is a little harder with the pad, so mouse+kb would be my recommendation.

Voice acting is also top notch and it gives the characters additional depth.

Easily recommendable to friends of platformer games. Also, it is made my a Finnish team, which give them 5 more points in my book! :)

84

A wonderful platformer

AkiMatti | Feb. 5, 2014 | Review of VVVVVV

I approached this game with pretty much no expectations. I do have a soft spot for retro games in my heart so there was something in favor of this game already.

The game shines with personality! The little guys in the game are so adorable, only animation they have are their facial gestures (basically happy/sad) but they really tug my heart strings! The game mechanics are simple, you slide sideways and you can reverse gravity, making you slide on the roof or on the floor. From such a basic movement repertoire a lot of different and challenging problems are created. The game even surprises the player many times along the way when you feel like you've seen it all.

Playing this game is a delight, you always seem to be in control of the character and the failures are pretty much always your own fault. Checkpoints are frequent enough so that when you die (and you do, lots of times) you don't have to backtrack a lot. Recommended!

75

Witness the steps of our civilization first hand!

AkiMatti | Feb. 5, 2014 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization® V

I had never played a civilization game before this. I had heard great things about it from my friends many years ago when they were playing Civ 2 and quite frankly, I couldn't help but feel a bit left out not being able to see what all the fuzz was. I had also heard on reddit many times that once you start playing Civilization, you won't be able to stop.

With this information in mind, I was a bit hesitant to begin my first game. The first surprise was how long the game took to load. Clearly, this game was not meant to be played in small bits during coffee breaks. I started with Russia since it was the closest nation to Finland, which I would've preferred. At first I was a bit at loss with all the bits and pieces of the GUI and what they meant, trying to simply do some rudimentary things in expanding my city and my nations borders. The learning curve is peretty easy, though, and gradually I began to understand the options I had before me.

Although there seemed to be fairly little for me to do besides scouting, researching and building, the game managed to keep me occupied past midnight. I'm still not sure if that was because I wanted to advance more quickly or if it simply was so addicting. However, after a few days I got notice from my wife that I'm losing control over my gaming hours. So there definately was some addiction in this game, something that kept me in even though it is hard to pinpoint the reason.

Before Civ 5, my closest experience to this kind of game must have been the first Total War: Shogun game. That one really kept my attention and I had a great time with it, planning my strategy. Civ 5 seemed to get my time also, but it did not raise the same kind of enjoyment as Shogun had. Sure, playing Civ didn't feel exactly boring or like work, but I wasn't either as immersed into the game as I thought I would be. I guess it felt hard to step into the ruler's shoes in this game. I felt more like a player than a ruler or a general like in Shogun.

I've yet to conclude my first game of Civ. It seems hard to to go back to it, since if you only play for a little while or even an hour, you don't really advance that much in that time. And Civ games seem to last very long. If there were more indications of progress than just getting more cities and unlocking new parts of the research tree or the diplomacy options would be better I'm sure I'd return to it more eagerly. But as of now, I'll let it rest and wait for some other time. The time invested versus the progress gained just doesn't seem to be in balance or at least not suitable for a father of 3 small children.

Maybe this just isn't a game for me? It's impossible to get a "quick fix" of Civilization since even one game seems to take hours upon hours before finish. So, for me, this game is mediocre. Not boring but neither exhilarating. If I want my brain teased, I'll turn to Grimrock instead.

70

A decent part of RTS gaming history

AkiMatti | Oct. 11, 2013 | Review of Earth 2160 Capsule

Since you're already reading reviews for a RTS game, I assume the genre is already familiar to you and I don't have to explain everything from the beginning.

So, why would you get this game instead of, say, some game from the Total War series? Honestly, I cannot say there is such a reason. There are far better games out there in this genre. The graphics might have been good for its time but since it heavily relies on polygons instead of art direction, it looks mighty ugly nowadays. The battles work as well as you could expect, but there is nothing special in them. All in all, the game does everything decently.

But should you get an average game these days? I suggest Total Annihilation series, for example Kingdoms, if you want an older RTS game, or Supreme Commander. Also about any game from the Total War series gives more to the player than this. Time has moved forwards past this game. It can still entertain, of course, but like I said, there are other options.

79

This is "Toy soldiers" done right

AkiMatti | Oct. 9, 2013 | Review of Commandos 3: Destination Berlin

You ever play with those little plastic toy soldiers as a kid, fighting with them in your room? This game is a lot like that, but instead of controlling an army, you'll be controlling only a few men who will have to survive and successfully complete dangerous missions while being overpowered in all fronts.

There are different kind of characters you can use and they have different skills and different items. The core of the gameplay comes from utilizing those talents and items in the right way to achieve your goal.

The game can be very challenging, especially if you are new to the game (series). It shouldn't take too long to get a grasp of things, though, and this game is hardly the most unforgiving of the series.

If you enjoy sneaking and infiltrating behind enemy lines, this is your game. Look also into other games of the series, they are great as well, although they are much harder.

83

Tower Defense with a twist

AkiMatti | Oct. 9, 2013 | Review of Unstoppable Gorg

If you are in any way familiar with tower defense games, you'd know that the basic principle in them is to prevent invading forces from reaching their target by building new and more powerful defense towers. Usually, these towers will stay in place. Here comes the twist of Unstoppable Gorg (UG): the towers are movable, albeit in a circle.

See, in UG you place the "towers" in orbits around the target the attacker is trying to reach. Once the towers are placed in orbits, they can be moved by dragging the whole orbit around. So you don't only think the placement of those towers once but you can and must change their places many times during the levels.

This new mechanic is pretty fast to adopt but it also brings a whole new level of gaming to the tower defense games. If anything, it removes a lot of the waiting that is usually a trope of this genre, since you'll most of the time have lots to do because the enemy will also change their path so you need to react to that.

In addition to that new mechanic, UG is made tongue in cheek by making top notch '50s references throughout the game. It brought at least a smile to my face, but to each their own.

Very enjoyable addition to the genre, all in all.