Reviews by AkiMatti

84

Old but stylished

AkiMatti | Aug. 18, 2014 | Review of Anachronox

The Quake 2 engine makes this game hard to look at because of the clunky models and blurry textures but underneath that rough surface lies a cold cyberpunk heart.

A new and interesting world is shown in this RPG that will capture you with its characters and imagination. If you are willing to stand the old graphics, that is. It is a bit hard when you are accustomed to new games like The Witcher 2 and so on, and having so many new games and a great backlog might make it hard to get to this one. But once you get the time, give this a chance. You just might learn why they call this game a "gem".

74

Unpolished but worth your while!

AkiMatti | May 28, 2014 | Review of Dark Void

Back when there was only hype to be heard of Dark Void, the game was set to be superb and the plans for it were big. Unfortunately, not nearly everything could be implemented into the game that was scheduled so that is why the game has some problems.

But I'll get to the good bits first!

Graphics: The game looks pretty good, actually. Not stunning or anything, but good enough for me at least. There is some good level design seen throughout.

Controls: I cannot say anything about keyboard and mouse controls since I only played with my Logitech F510. But with the controller I felt like the player character responded to my commands quite nicely. Flying with the jetpack especially feels amazing! If only there was more of it. Walking, running and gunning on the ground is not well made as flying but works. I was able to get enemies in my aiming reticule pretty fast while still being able to move about like I wanted.

Sounds: As the most easily neglected portion of any game, sounds can play a significant role in how much a game can be enjoyed. Poor sound design can ruin otherwise capable game. Fortunately, nothing ear-breaking could be heard even if nothing remarkable was either. If it doesn't feel like it needs fixing, it must work!

Overall: Seems like a hidden gem a bit like Spec Ops: The Line. I don't mean that the story would be as good but it is at least as good average third person shooter. The jetpack brings nice flying gameplay to the mix and keeps it interesting.

Bonus: A lot of the enemies are robots so you don't have to feel sorry for them.

94

Possibly the best Civilization to date

AkiMatti | May 23, 2014 | Review of Sid Meier's CivilizationĀ® IV Complete

While Civ V has received lots of adoration after its launch and subsequent dlc's, Civ IV has standed the test of time well. There are lots of mods available that alter the game experience to anyone's taste, and the dlc that comes with this package will give hundreds of hours of gameplay already!

And everything well polished! The ultimate strategy game for those who want to conquer the world!

80

Like MegaMan on 'Roids!

AkiMatti | May 23, 2014 | Review of Megabyte Punch

Remember how MegaMan used to get the powers of his enemies? Well, in this game the same happens but more frequently! You can build your own fighter dude from the parts you gain during the game. There are a lot of parts so you will likely make changes to the combinations often. And there is no harm in that, the discovery of new parts is exciting.

FIghting is done well, the music keeps the beat (pun intended) on and the controls are responsive. If you want a nice beat'em-up-fighting game, look no further!

84

The Indie that Shanked Me

AkiMatti | May 23, 2014 | Review of Shank 2

Like the screenshots and the video probably will already tell you, Shank 2 is a sidescrolling platforming action game where you will shoot and kill more enemies than you thought possible. The genre is very old and you would think not much more can be added to it, but Shank 2 is so well executed that it will entertain even the genre veterans. It doesn't provide anything new to the genre itself, but what it does, it does very well.

For even more fun, it is possible to play as a team in the coop mode. Yeah, you can guess that is makes the game even more entertaining!

A solid addition to 2d sidescrolling action games. Well worth the money!

87

It'll fly to your heart!

AkiMatti | May 23, 2014 | Review of Fly'n

This amazing game flew under my radar until the recent humble sale. I had it on my sights many times, but I just acquired it and can say that it is well worth the price it is asked here!

I've played quite many indie games and while most of them have been of high quality and entertaining they have been pretty much one trick ponies. Fly'n is almost like the little brother of Rayman Origins, and this should be seen as a huge compliment!

The world is unique, artistic and pleases the eye. The music fits the aesthetic mood and the pace of the game, making it easier to delve into the world. You will face new areas constantly, wishing for the trip to last just a bit longer still. Some of the puzzles will indeed lengthen the lifespan of the game since they are so challenging. However, a thirst for more is left when all is said and done. This is why I would call it the little brother of Origins.

Top notch quality that will leave you wanting more.

89

Zombieworld Drama

AkiMatti | May 19, 2014 | Review of The Walking Dead

Make choices as you navigate through a story of people trying to survive in a world where zombies have taken over. Do not expect as much zombie killing as relationships, speculation and tension.

This is an adventure game. A modern point-and-click. And well executed.

82

Hello, detective!

AkiMatti | May 19, 2014 | Review of LA Noire

Ever seen one of those noir detective movies of the old? Well, this game let's you play a movie like that! You can search the crime scenes, interview witnesses and suspects and make conclusions. Drive around the town, even.

All of this is made immersive by having a facial animation system that copies the actors expressions. It really adds to the realism.

The concept and the execution are good.

But I will give the game some negative feedback for handling so sluggishly on lower spec machines. This game need a beast of a GPU to run well.

61

A Platformer with too high tempo

AkiMatti | May 18, 2014 | Review of Rush Bros.

I know some people like platformers where you have to control the character with superb reflexes because of the high speed it moves. I am not one of them.

Rush Bros. is a descriptive name because these guys sure seem to be rushing forward all the time. I hate it I much prefer Rayman Origins.

Save your money for that.

79

Mucho Machismo

AkiMatti | May 15, 2014 | Review of F.E.A.R. 2: Project Origin

Even though the FEAR series is a horror shooter at heart, it is quite a different breed to for example the Dead Space series. The scares are different in kind and being an FPS game your control is more nuanced and sharp.

It is also put to the test since there are definitely levels and stages which will get you killed and try and try again. The challenge certainly exists.

FEAR 2 has the problem of any sequel where the setting is already familiar to the player from the initial game so not everything is new and unknown anymore. This takes away some emphasis from the game but not all.

Judged separately, FEAR 2 is a decent shooter for FPS fans, but not to everyones liking. I suggest trying the game as a rental or with a demo if you can find one. Or trying it at a friends house. Some let's play videos will give you a good impression, too. Then you can decide whether this is for you or not.

A good effort, anyhow.

86

Sequel to Dead Space

AkiMatti | May 15, 2014 | Review of Dead Space 2

Usually when people use the term "more of the same" it is used negatively. But when the same is high quality, it is hard to complain.

DS2 hits the same terrifying spots in the players psyche as the first one and makes playing the game in the dark an endeavor not many are willing to try. The story is quite gripping as are the spawns of terror that Clarke will encounter.

There are some nice additions to the first like Zero G movement which feels nice. The weapons are widely varied and create sort of a Aliens movie feeling where you know the enemy is terrifying but you also have the armaments to deliver brutal punishment if necessary. Being alone, though...that is nerve-wrecking.

There is also a multiplayer component but I cannot say anything about that since I haven't tried it. I think Dead Space games are primarily Single Player.

Recommended, if you liked the first.

84

Simple run'n'gun with some additional mechanics

AkiMatti | May 15, 2014 | Review of Crysis 2: Maximum Edition (EU)

The gameplay in Crysis 2 is top notch. Although there is not as much terrain to use for flanking the enemy as in the first Crysis and the players path is more linear it does not detach from the immersion too much. The environment is believable not only in the graphics department but also in the level design department.

It is easy enough to use the nanosuit powers and they work quite well. The AI of the enemy soldiers is pretty good and reminds me of the Half-Life 1 eras soldiers who would throw grenades at your feet. Marvelous!

You can also upgrade the graphics with patches, but the game looks superb still without them. And works also with a bit older hardware which is a big plus in my book.

Don't expect this to be any Bioshock in story departments and you will enjoy your stay in the world of Crysis quite nicely.

83

The less you know beforehand, the better the experience

AkiMatti | May 15, 2014 | Review of BioShock

This game title is one that has gained a lot of praise for it execution and art style. I assume most of it is from gamers who have not necessarily experienced System Shock 2 to its glory since having played that puts BioShock in a different light. Quite frankly, BioShock is in many ways like System Shock 2 put in an underwater kingdom.

The mechanics are pretty same with wandering threats going through the hallways and impending doom creeping in from the facilities that are on the road to destruction. "Cryochambers" that will revive you. Moral dilemmas. Notes left here and there. Also, deep ocean layers are as uninhabitable to man as deep space is.

But if you are going to copy from someone, copy from the best. BioShock delivers an atmospheric adventure that is able to keep you on your toes through the story. There is not much replay value but as an experience it will leave a lasting impression.

Word of warning, though, the graphics are somewhat dated already.

83

Want more Doom? Here is your best bet!

AkiMatti | May 15, 2014 | Review of Painkiller: Black Edition

Painkiller hits pretty much the same vein as Doom, Doom 2 and in some extents Doom 3 did. There are demons from Hell that the player has to defeat with his firearms.

And what firearms they are, indeed. The selection to use is excellent, with possibly the spike thrower being the favourite among players which impales the enemies and leaves them hanging on walls. The difficulty is also very tight especially on the harder settings and will provide plenty of challenge to FPS veterans across the board.

Today the graphics might seem a bit dated but on the other hand all the bells and whistles can be set to max along with the AA. Environments and aesthetics have been successfully developed to bring the correct mood for each stage.

Basically, this is a grim version of Serious Sam. If that strikes a soft spot in you, grab the game.

74

Great environment, good gameplay, some tedious elements

AkiMatti | May 15, 2014 | Review of Far Cry 2

I was honestly expecting quite much from Far Cry 2. A lively representation of the African environment, modern graphics and clever gunplay. I pretty much got all that, I have to say. But I also got something I did not expect which was not so positive.

First of all, I got malaria. In the game, I mean. And it seemed to be too hard to get any medicine for that. I know there are directions for it, and I know it brings some more realism to the environment but it just isn't fun gameplay wise. I was also looking forward to sneaking a lot more, but there are quite a lot of environmental obstacles like cliffs and whatnot that make it impossible to make bigger rounds to the other side of the enemy, to discover a better angle to engage them. I would've expected Africa to give more diversity as a playground for this.

Also, it is nice how the player character takes away bullets from his legs and fixes the car and so on, but since they have limited the animation variation so much it becomes tedious to watch.

Overall, I'd say this game can be enjoyed but with caution. There are good elements to it, but there are also bad. It varies depending on the person playing whether the good outweighs the bad. In my case, they hardly did.

80

Interesting setting

AkiMatti | May 7, 2014 | Review of The Dark Eye: Chains of Satinav

I've played my fair share of adventure game for the duration of my gaming career. Still, Chains of Satinav is something different. The art style and the way the game presents itself and the communication with characters are all somehow unique to this game.

The lore/story is a lot to take in and there are a lot of discussions in this game. That can be good or bad depending on your preference. In my eyes, Chains of Satinav offers a world worth delving into, if you have the time and the patience for it.

85

Easy to have fun, hours just go by

AkiMatti | May 7, 2014 | Review of The Sims 3 (EU)

The Sims 3 is a game where you can create virtual people that will live with each other and lead their lives by your command. It is possible to even plan and decorate their houses!

The whole game is like a virtual dollhouse but instead of a house it is a city. Watching the sims go by their lives and trying to get them fulfil their life goals or just goofing around is rewarding and a nice way to kill time.

What makes the game funner is the possibility to (of course) create yourself and your friends and anyone you know with the character editor and pretend to control them. What fun!

A big downside however, is that the loading time are reaaaaaaalllly looonng. Otherwise The Sims 3 would be the ideal game to play just a few minutes every now and then.

17

Be a Murderer

AkiMatti | May 7, 2014 | Review of Hitman 2: Silent Assassin

Okay, first of all, as you can probably see from other reviews here, this game is pretty good at what it tries to achieve. I won't argue that.

But what I do argue with is the main point of the whole series. Being an assassin? Really? Could you somehow be more immoral? Well, maybe you could, but you don't have to be. This is murder in cold blood where you plan how you will take another persons life and probably end up killing many other people too. Morally outrageous. Would not recommend.

80

Red Alert got Redder

AkiMatti | May 7, 2014 | Review of Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3 Uprising (EU)

So first of all I'm not an RTS player per se. I'm really really bad at them. But C&C and Red Alert have been enjoyable for me, too. Especially the first ones.

But this is a new one. How does it fare? Pretty well, actually. Of course the graphics have developed quite much and the UI is enhanced. The units have developed too, and have great imagination in them.

I haven't tried the multiplayer at all because I would just get my butt kicked but the single player and skirmish keeps me company. I liked playing this and will likely return to it again.

I recommend it to you as well, whether you are an RTS gamer or not. But not without a sale in place.

92

Death is.

AkiMatti | May 7, 2014 | Review of Darksiders II

When I played the first Darksiders I thought it was truly a great game and that the sequel would be hardpressed to do better than the first. Well, it succeeded anyhow!

As Death you are trying to help your brother War, but the road to that is not easy. There is a long way to go before everything will be right in the world again and many epic battles and environments to see. And how nice they are to see!

The combat is even more fluid than in the first and the weapons a lot more interesting. I think even the animation is better since watching Death swing his mallets is truly breathtaking and the hits seem to have a lot of weight to them. Controlling Death is rewarding, too, because of the tight control scheme that just works. The lore is also expanded and very good.

Might be the best Hack and Slash game I know!

94

SimCity is better than I imagined

AkiMatti | May 7, 2014 | Review of SimCity 4 Deluxe Edition (EU)

I always heard praise about the SimCity series and especially that SimCity 4 was the best of the bunch. When I finally got the game I was perplexed at first. How does this game work? How do I do everything when there seems to be so much to do?

However, there are good tutorial levels that teach what is necessary to know and grab the player firmly in their grasp. Soon you will look the world with different eyes, with eyes looking for new routes and how to fulfill the needs of the people.

Building your own city can be very rewarding when you get the infrastructure to work. It is like your helping the little sims who live their lives in my city. Of course, there are some challenges like catastrophes that make the game more intense at times but all in all this game gives a very good impression of itself.

Recommended.

80

Cemented its position into the wall of gaming history

AkiMatti | May 7, 2014 | Review of Quake III Pack

This game took what Quake multiplayer had gotten to and ran with it. Impeccable attention to gun balance, variations inside maps, top notch animation and amazing graphics for its time.

Quake 3 was multiplayer only, excluding the bots for single player training. And even the bots were hard to beat.

Try this game and you understand why QuakeLive is a thing.

81

Free your inner sadist

AkiMatti | May 7, 2014 | Review of Bulletstorm

In this game you get the more points the more various ways you invent to kill the enemies. Sound like fun? Then this game is absolutely made for you!

But if you have any moral quandaries about killing virtual characters in a computer game, do yourself a favor and stay away from this game before it takes your innocent heart and tosses it into the trash.

For the FPS veterans this is an exciting romp through a variety of environments and with good graphics and inventive gunplay.

82

Intense and moody

AkiMatti | May 7, 2014 | Review of Medal of Honor

Right from the start, Medal of Honor takes you to a ride you cannot easily forget if you let yourself be immersed. The environments and the situations in Afghanistan feel very authentic and the feeling of being there is spectacular.

War is cruel, it acts on you unexpectedly and you don't know who to trust. You are on foreign soil. Throw safety out the window.

I think this game captures fairly well the feeling that you do not want to be a soldier. For a soldier has to kill. And you don't. Not really.

91

Pinnacle of the series

AkiMatti | May 7, 2014 | Review of Worms Armageddon

Armageddon took everything Worms 2 had done and raised it up to eleven! More weapons, more everything! Intense multiplayer over network!

Truly the apex of the series as new iterations of the franchise have failed to add anymore fun into the game.

This is it. The most fun you can have with digital worms.

85

Oh my, this game brings back the memories!

AkiMatti | May 7, 2014 | Review of Worms

This game became a classic real quick. Playing this with friends on a hotseat mode was the best. The best times were when the attempts of destruction failed horribly, either by ninja roping to a mine or some other fluke of the player's doing.

There were also adult themed maps for this available from users and of course I tried them. I was a teen, what else was I supposed to do?

The animation clips were pretty fun, too. Somehow, this game seems to have more character than its sequels. Maybe its just the pixels and the retro boom.

89

Noone can hear you scream (except the neighbours)

AkiMatti | May 7, 2014 | Review of Dead Space (EU)

In this game you are on a space station, most times alone and ambushed by creatures who want to suck your spine out of your neck.

Sometimes the lights go out, sometimes you have no room to manoeuvre, sometimes you just are too startled to react. But you will die in horrifying ways in this game. You will anticipate it, you fear for it but it will still get you. Those things are hideous.

Yeah, you can class this as a horror game, and a well executed one. That should tip you whether this game is for you or not.

88

Not bad, but requires a modern pc

AkiMatti | May 7, 2014 | Review of Battlefield 3 (EU)

So my pc is not top notch, really it isn't. I'm still able to play this game with good fps though it does not look phenomenal as it does in many gameplay videos across YouTube.

The game is solid, though. Controls are good, weapon loudout is good, the vehicle control is good enough and the maps are well though out. Even the single player is pretty good.

However, the real beef is with the Multiplayer aspect. And that is where this game can truly shine if you have friends to play with. Good friends who like these kind of games. Because on public servers the fighting hardly resembles a war situation at all.

So take it with a grain of salt.

88

Not as good as Sands of Time

AkiMatti | May 7, 2014 | Review of Prince of Persia Other

I had a chance to play this game not long ago. I was really looking forward to it, too, since this game always looked so cool. I'd loved Sands of Time, so this could be good also, or that was the thought.

But this game was a disappointment. The controls weren't as responsive or precise as I hoped and neither was the combat worthy of my attention. I even played this with a decent gamepad but it didn't help any.

It didn't take long to notice how hard it was to enjoy this game for not having as good controls as a platform would need. There just seemed to be some kind of lag between the button presses and the actions.

Anyway, whatever it was, this game left a bad impression in me. YMMV.

93

CHAINSAWWWWWWWWW!!!!!

AkiMatti | May 7, 2014 | Review of DOOM Classic Complete

This game really scared me as a kid. It seemed to be this ultra violent thing that I could never understand the appeal of. Those were more innocent times...

Today I remember another experience when I first encountered the chainsaw. How it was glimmering before me in light (at least in my imagination) and the sound when I picked it up. The power that seemed to be behind it, the sheer terror when I the screen started shaking once I let it bring awful destruction to enemies before me. It was truly an abomination of its time.

Doom and Doom 2 are legendary classics, there is no denying that. Chances are, you know a lot of them already even if you have never played them. But the main gist of it is this: Experiment gone wrong, demons attack, player destroys the demons.

To think that people still mod these games, play these games and enjoy them is a testimony on itself about these games and their place in gaming history.

Thinking of buying them? Go for it, at least to civilize yourself. To see what the ruckus is all about. I dare you.

89

Pretty hard for such an old FPS

AkiMatti | May 7, 2014 | Review of Wolfenstein 3D

Wolfenstein 3D can be regarded as the birth of the FPS genre, even though Marathon did the same thing before it, and better. Anyhow, Wolfenstein really brought this thing to popular gaming conscience.

I've tried to finish this game many times but never have I gotten to the end. There are lots of secrets to discover and the guards and the enemies as a whole are pretty ruthless, especially on the harder difficulty levels. I cannot remember how many times I've lost gunfight duels with them!

Not to mention the dogs! Those crazed canines! Always getting a bite out of me! Speaking of crazy, this game works crazy well still after all these years. There is just something that makes it work, maybe it is the simplistic nature of it, I don't know, or maybe it is the challenge. Somehow, this game that I have yet to beat has earned my respect. Much more so than Doom even though I've played Doom to the end.

At least try the demo, but don't blame me if you end up buying the full version. After all, Hitler is not going to kill himself, at least not in this game!

93

Possibly the best modern Prince of Persia game

AkiMatti | May 6, 2014 | Review of Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time

There are many PoP games, but this one is my favourite (after the original). It had parkour before parkour was a public thing, it had great 3D platforming before anyone else had implemented it well enough (except maybe Tomb Raider). It had great combat which had also combos. Big fights like Arkham games nowadays.

Worked well with a keyboard, too. Looked better than its sequels. Had better attitude, too. Just a lovable game.

91

Still Alive

AkiMatti | May 6, 2014 | Review of Counter Strike

Counter-Strike is half as old as I am. Feels strange. People still play this game and some think none of the newer versions is as good.

The gun balance, the skill-based shooting, the classic maps and the classic opponents. This game is truly hardcore, not for casuals. I mean it. You will hit the skill ceiling long and hard if you try this game. This game is dominated by the young that have great reaction time and steady aim.

Prepare to lose a sniper fight to a desert eagle.

86

Now I know why people like Trials

AkiMatti | May 6, 2014 | Review of Trials Fusion

I've read about Trials games a lot but not played that much. Recently I got Trials Fusion, though, and I have to say I understand the appeal.

Getting better at handling the bike is a great challenge, the environments are just crazy in a fun way and the game has a great sense of humor. Not to mention that the career is well made and there also comes a track editor with the game that enables you to do virtually anything with it. And people have.

Easily recommended.

92

Brilliant!

AkiMatti | May 6, 2014 | Review of Giana Sisters: Twisted Dreams

Captivating graphics, sharp controls, inspiring mechanics, intriguing world, awesome music and sounds. Challenging levels.

Not much can be expected from a platformer, but Giana Sisters goes ahead and exceeds them. A brilliant platformer and recommended for any fan of the genre.

82

Cute setting

AkiMatti | May 6, 2014 | Review of PID

Played this with a gamepad. Controls are responsive and exact. The graphics and sounds suit the mood. The setting is nice. Even kids can play this game until it gets too hard. Reminds me of Rochard a bit, which is a compliment. All in all, I recommend it over any mediocre indie platformer.

58

Being a thief, why would I want to do that?

AkiMatti | May 6, 2014 | Review of Thief: Deadly Shadows

So now I have a game where I can rob people, disobey the law and harm the officers that try to keep order. Great...

At least the mechanics of it are well executed in this game, if you have no moral quandaries against being a thief. Of course, there is more to the game than just robbing people blind, but I won't go into details with the story. I'll just say you will be doing many more morally questionable things during the course of this game for the sake of a so called greater good.

As a stealth game, the stealth parts are done well. You cannot play the game to finish without killing anyone, though. So not all stealth anyhow. But dark spots will help you being not noticed. You can distract people. Even bludgeon them or stab them. And take their possessions. You know, because you are a thief.

For a thief game, pretty good. For a moral game, miserable.

52

Click this and click that, is this whack-a-mole?

AkiMatti | May 6, 2014 | Review of Titan Quest

Ugh, I'm not sure why I bought this game when the genre really does not interest me much. I've never played Diablo, even.

The game consists of clicking the ground to command your character to go there. Then you click enemies to attack them, click on the loot to pick it up and click on npc characters to speak to them. You can also click around the inventory and menu system and so on.

To get what out of it? A guy that gets more and more efficient at killing? Yeah, that's deep. If you want to play deep games, don't play Titan Quest. Try To the Moon instead.

But if you liked Diablo, this is straight in your ballpark and you will enjoy this a lot. I didn't.

72

Another game I wanted to like but couldn't

AkiMatti | May 6, 2014 | Review of The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Game of the Year Edition

I went into this game expecting great things after all the hype. I tried it. I tried it with mods, too. Still, failed to captivate me.

It just failed to motivate me. Why should I run around in these forests when I could go out my apartment door and stroll in the woods myself?

Why are so many characters hostile towards me when I don't even know them? It feels pointless. I guess I just expect being able to talk my way out of most situations after Torment and that affects my opinion.

At least the world is huge and there is a lot to discover. I guess. Didn't have the patience to wander everywhere.

The game also expects a lot of time from you, but that comes with the genre. So my review is for those who want to get quick enjoyment out of their game. To people who don't have much time to play. The guys who used to be hardcore gamers but who have been sucked into family life and work life.

If you don't have the possibility to put tens of hours into this game in a short time frame, I doubt you will get much enjoyment out of this. But if you can, it'll probably be a blast.

77

A huge desert but not much more

AkiMatti | May 6, 2014 | Review of Fallout 3

First of all, I loved Fallout 1. Some people might guess my opinion based on that already. But here it comes.

I tried to like Fallout 3. I did. But it just felt too empty, the characters too shallow, the world not immersive enough. Not enough text, perhaps? Not enough room left for imagination?

It is hard to say exactly why, but for some reason Fallout 3 just doesn't grab me as well as the original. If you are born to the 3d era, you probably get much more out of this. I'm afraid I'm just an old coot and that affects my review too much.

89

Just like Asylum, but with a broader experience

AkiMatti | May 6, 2014 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year

I played Arkham Asylum first, so getting to Arkham City felt at first like "this just more of the same". Good, but still the same. However, the ability to traverse bigger open environment makes you feel more like being Batman who guards the night of Gotham City.

Cannot say much of the story as yet, still haven't gotten very far. But so far it seems to be on par with Asylum and there are prospects that have me expecting it being better towards the end.

The combat, the graphics, the feel, they are all top notch like they were in Asylum already.

Did you finish Asylum already and want more? Just buy this! You likely won't regret it.

86

A Titillating Adventure

AkiMatti | May 5, 2014 | Review of Another World: 20th Anniversary Edition

I still remember the first time I saw Another World. It was on an Amiga 500 and on a friend's machine. Just seeing the intro made it seem so interesting and mysterious and atmospheric to the young kid I was then.

Later, I was an adult, with my own family and a steady income. And I saw this game again, this time in an internet game store. Wooosh! I was instantly a child again, wanting to try this game.

Needless to say, I eventually bought this and haven't regretted it a bit. It is as atmospheric as it used to be, as mysterious and hard as it used to be. I have yet to finish the game but I can tell you this:

The game has tough controls but not too unfair, iconic I'd say. The game has an interesting and unrelentless mysterious environment to explore. The game has challenges that will make you gnash your teeth like few games nowadays will. You Will Remember This Game. It will leave a mark in you.

Just try it.

92

Nightmare fuel in seventh heaven

AkiMatti | April 23, 2014 | Review of FINAL FANTASY VII

For those who prefer their games as short and simple as themselves should not bother to waste their time playing one of the first oriental role-playing games that was successful in conquering Western market. Deep story, lots to do, unique style, long game, easy to play but tinkering for those who wish to succumb into it, humor and being damn playable are the reasons this game hasn't aged much in two decades. Go buy, this is common knowledge in gaming.

The 3rd person game has a kick of a Juno Cannon, able to throw back any weapon. It will infuse your cells with extra strength and your eyes will get a strange glow. You can wonder around as much as you like and do sidequests for all your appetite and go on with story whenever you feel like it. You cannot do everything in one take, so replayability is the kind of which leaves you divorced and homeless, which actually makes this game more dangerous than a sack full of drugs as both cause the same amount of addiction but Final Fantasy VII does not kill you. As a matter of fact the cruel game keeps you alive to play it again.

The graphics are naturally outdated, and the kinda childish look can repel some of the audience. If you can look past that, then there's a game with more symbolical reference and deeper meaning than most of the games nowadays combined. It is a subtle cry for nature and a hint of warning for worshipping technology. All wrapped up in one heck of a nice package of time well spent. As a bonus, included is probably the most controversial scene in all gaming that will drop your gum (about K-12, for those wondering).

On a side note, a warning for those who have already tried and liked the successor of FF VII: your family will be harshly neglected. There are no return tickets from the Gold Saucer. Nor Sunken Gelnika.

97

The RTS game I have played the most

AkiMatti | April 15, 2014 | Review of Ground Control + Dark Conspiracy Expansion

Another RTS game I seem to have. But this is actually the only one I've played extensively. And that is because I don't have to worry about the tiresome resource management! ARGH! I hate that in RTS games! Hate it! Having to run around the map and the base and here and there and do research and always be in a hurry! NO! THAT IS NOT FUN IN MY DESCRIPTION!

FORTUNATELY Ground Control is a different breed. In this game you can concentrate on the tactical department as the direction from which you attack the enemy matters, so flanking is actually a strategy here. Differences in how high you are positioned versus the enemy is also vital. You get units from dropships and you can easily set up your own groups from the troops. You cannot control a single troop, though, but that is not something you would miss, either.

THIS IS GREAT RTS WITHOUT THE MICROMANAGEMENT!

IF THAT DOES NOT GET YOU TO BUY THIS GAME; I DON'T KNOW WHAT WILL! Oh, yeah... IT IS ALSO VERY CHEAP FOR THE VALUE!

77

Make your own Avengers!

AkiMatti | April 15, 2014 | Review of Freedom Force vs. the Third Reich

I've always liked superheroes, so buying a game about controlling them was a non-issue. I dove in it straight and started playing. The game had some humor to it, and the ability to use some of the environment in fighting is awesome.

There are plenty different powers to control, too. Unfortunately, there is no way to customize your heroes like in City of Heroes, for example. But at least you can name them the way you like.

The game is pretty hard, too. After getting stuck in a mission pretty early on, I've all but given up with the game. I've moved along to other games. It could probably give good enjoyment still, but I just haven't been able to pick it up again.

Worth a try but only if you don't have other games on the side. And you like superheroes.

88

Destruction Derby again!

AkiMatti | April 15, 2014 | Review of Flatout

Gentlemen, start you engines and get out of here, because this game is not for you! This game is for rude, tough and dirty drivers that are willing to do anything it takes to win the race!

Plates of metal will fly, tires will scream and shacks will shatter as you circle around the race tracks wreaking havoc along your way. A little rubber banding shatters the game a bit, but not too much. Just enough to make it more challenging. And challenge you will get!

But along with it, lots of fun. There are many bonus game modes that are often relying on sending the driver flying towards different goals. You will need a certain mindset to enjoy a laugh out of them, but if you do, it is great.

Recommended to share the experience with a friend.

72

It can be fun, but not always

AkiMatti | April 15, 2014 | Review of FUEL

The point is to race in different open environments with different vehicles against other racers. The fun part is pretty much the same as in Insane; you can choose your own way to the next waypoint. Big jumps are possible and the feeling of freedom is imminent.

The game is pretty hard, though, or I am just not good at it. Or it could be because of the rubber banding, too. Anyway, it takes away some of the freedom.

Once you've seen what Fuel has to offer, it is likely you won't often return to this game. There are other games that are much better than this. so...

87

Didn't care about F1. Tried this game. Loved it!

AkiMatti | April 15, 2014 | Review of F1 2013

Haven't played the previous F1 games, actually have hardly played any other F1 games. Maybe some game on the 386 a looong time ago but that was almost another lifetime.

Went in not expecting much, played with Logitech F510 gamepad. Left impressed and hooked. I didn't do very well, handling the car is very challenging in the corners and the KERS and whatever, it is all new to me. But the learning process is very satisfying!

Graphics are breathtaking, especially the cars. Also the weather effects. I have a pretty low budget computer so it was a great surprise how well I could run this game and how good it looked. With a GT440! Wow!

Buy it!

83

Kill Duke. With guns gas guzzling.

AkiMatti | April 15, 2014 | Review of Death Rally

The game knows its predecessor. I was waiting so much for this game when it was announced and oh the disappointment when I heard it was going to be only for tablets. But NOW IT IS ON PC, TOO! YES!

As fun as it ever was, you still have to race that. ONE. RACE.

Getting new cars and upgrading the one you have is intoxicating. Oh, and racing against Duke? It is as legendary as in the first one. You feel you have accomplished and mastered the game when you leave The King to eat your dust.

Hail to the New King, baby!

85

Better than Oblivion

AkiMatti | April 15, 2014 | Review of Two Worlds: Game of the Year

Crashes less than Oblivion, the world seems more atmospheric and authentic, running around the world feels better and the battles feel also better.

For some reason, in this game I was more interested in the characters, too, than in Oblivion. It just feels like playing the character since you can see it all the time. Bandits are something to be afraid of and so are the wild animals. Even gathering the flora and mushrooms and stuff from the environments is more interesting than in Oblivion.

This is entirely a subjective feeling since I cannot do a precise reasoning why it is so but Two Worlds just feels so much better. Try it, even the demo, if you don't believe me. And see for yourself.

89

Good looking action romp

AkiMatti | April 15, 2014 | Review of Kingdoms of Amalur - Reckoning (EU)

It is like a MMORPG without the online part but better. The combat is satisfying and versatile, the graphics are colourful and interesting, the world is imaginative and full of stuff to interact with.

Buy it in a sale if not else, you likely won't regret it. It is more likely that you won't be able to stop playing. That happened to me even in the short demo version (which you should try to know that you should buy this game).

82

Adventure in an interesting world

AkiMatti | April 15, 2014 | Review of Syberia

Benoit Sokal got me to get this game since I'd read the books about a duck detective written by Sokal before. Syberia doesn't really grasp the same way as the albums but that can be expected since they are totally different medias.

The game is represented as mostly static backgrounds with 3d characters placed upon them. The effect can be a bit jarring nowadays but you can get used to it. If you try enough or get immersed in the world.

The story takes the game far and so it should, because that is what matters in an adventure game.

Give it a chance and Syberia might surprise you.

87

Incredible at its time

AkiMatti | April 15, 2014 | Review of Far Cry Capsule

This was the first time that gamers were set loose in such beautiful and open environments in a game with the latest in graphics tech. Far Cry really set new standards to what can be expected of an FPS game.

The enemies are pretty clever, the troops almost on par with HL1 army men. The environment is believable and vast. There are vehicles you can drive around and very challenging battles (I'm especially looking at you, helicopter scene). Good basic array of weapons.

Some gripes exist, too, like sometimes the enemies spot you amazingly early and shoot too precisely.

It is still a good game and worth a look if you want to see what brought about the Crysis franchise.

86

The game that changed my view on JRPGs

AkiMatti | April 15, 2014 | Review of FINAL FANTASY VIII

I'd never played a JRPG game before I tried FF8. Actually, I don't think I had extensively tried any RPG game before FF8. I thought they required too much work or that I couldn't be so invested in computer characters.

Oh, how wrong I was! The game took hold of me fairly fast and at the end of the first cd I was floored and left wanting more. And even what I had experienced until the that would've been enough for the content of one game but the adventure continued for quite a while after that. Probably THE game that showed me how much games can affect my emotions through their stories and characters. Granted, I was a teenager at the time but the point still stands.

FF8 soundtrack was also something that left a lasting impression to me. Funny thing is, the intro song didn't really feel so majestic before I had played the game through. After that, though, it hit me like a doomtrain.

But enough nostalgia. Let's see how I'd review it today for someone trying it the first time.

Graphics: Dated, very dated. The CGI movies are still good quality, but the character models look very crude in the actual game. Artistic direction helps a lot, though. Static backgrounds are blurry but just good enough.

Sounds: Emotional, atmospheric, emotional. Though fight effects can get a bit repetitive since there will be many battles.

Gameplay: Talking to characters, reading the story, running between places and having battles from time to time. In the battles the actions are selected from a menu during a timer count which makes it turnbased but intense.

Story: Epic.

Overall: If you are able to look past the dated outlook and a bit of grinding in battles you will have a wonderful experience with this game.

85

Hard but fun

AkiMatti | April 9, 2014 | Review of Costume Quest

Costume Quest reminds me a lot of Psychonauts with the world design. Kids with big heads and a cartoonish world filled with humor. That is what CQ is about.

You go around in your rollerblades and your halloween costumes, gathering sweets and completing quests. Eventually you will save the town from the attack of some ogre monsters by using you costumes that will turn into awesome mechasuits,on combat. Combat is semi turn-based with some timing. Easy enough.

Cons: The map could be better, I got lost many times and didn't know where I was supposed to go.

Pros: Great world, great dialogue, sounds, and character design. Controls work great especially with a pad. Humour.

78

Pump it up as you go!

AkiMatti | April 9, 2014 | Review of Beatbuddy: Tale of the Guardians

Now this is a fun game! By combining the flow and rhythm of the game to the music Beatbuddy gives a new feeling to playing. Elements like enemies and projectiles within the game all move in rhythm, making playing easier if you get into it as well.

The colourful environments, the smooth aesthetics of the character and world design, the giddy soundtrack and wonderful animation all combine to a joyful experience. Pretty casual, sure, but sometimes that is not so bad.

Recommended for some simple time waste when you want to take it easy and take in the beats. Gives you a happy feeling!

75

Surprisingly enjoyable, tough controls

AkiMatti | April 9, 2014 | Review of Avencast: Rise of the Mage

I went into Avencast pretty blindly, not knowing what to expect. I ended up in a mage college of some kind which seemed quite large. I felt like Harry Potter all of a sudden. This is a good thing.

The combat can get some time to get used to but it sure ain't just bashing head on! You need to learn how to dodge, aim and time your attacks. This keeps the fights interesting and challenging.

The graphics are good enough even if not top notch. One flaw in the aesthetics, though is that there is too much gray and brown colors, I'd like a little more color in my mage games, but it is a small gripe.

Works well with lower specs, too.

88

A cult classic RPG

AkiMatti | April 8, 2014 | Review of Alpha Protocol

There are not a lot of RPG games where you play as an espionage agent, even less those that are well made. Alpha Protocol delivers on ALMOST all fronts. While lacking some polish the core of the game is a solid RPG with some new ideas thrown into the mix.

You can customize and choose what kind of character you will be playing and this will really impact to the way you will be playing the game. A technician won't be as good of a shooter as a straight up commando. The interactions with the npc's also matter as the way you deal with them affects what kind of relationships you will end up having with them. Your decisions really matter!

Whether you are a stealth freak or a shooter fanatic, you can build the game and your character around your preference. The controls work well enough to lend themselves to either approach.

The graphics have also stood the test of time fairly well (I'm writing this in 2014).

Give it a chance if you are into RPG games. You likely won't regret it.

82

Great fun for Kids!

AkiMatti | April 8, 2014 | Review of Eets

I'm always on the lookout for nice little games for my kids to play. Eets is one that delivers well on that aspect!

The graphics and sounds are cute, the character is lovable, the interface is easy to understand and the game challenges the mind while still being fun!

What's not to like!?

89

A great take on a revolutionary game

AkiMatti | April 8, 2014 | Review of Tomb Raider: Anniversary

Anniversary is something I always thought would be bad because it was going to have these QTEs (Quick-Time-Events). I mean, none of those were in the original so why add them here?

After purchasing and actually playing the game, I noticed that yes, the QTEs were not a good addition but also, that it did not ruin the whole game. It does take some time to get used to the QTEs but once you get the hang of them they don't distract from the flowing gameplay too much. The focus is in the exploration of the unknown like in the original. The levels have been carefully redesigned so that they can be recognized but new variation and thought has been added into incorporating the new movement mechanics into the setting.

There are some amazing view and vistas to see and puzzles to solve. The places you will take Lara on this adventure give you butterflies in your stomach from time to time. The battles get pretty hard towards the end and you will likely die numerous times before getting forward but the feeling of satisfaction after that is just that much better.

Easily recommended for Lara fans, possible in the top three of all Tomb Raider games.

81

If you liked Rochard, here is some more of it!

AkiMatti | April 8, 2014 | Review of Rochard: Hard Times

Rochard was a very well made physics puzzle game at its core where especially manipulation of gravity was in a significant role. Hard Times is a dlc pack of four levels to extend the gameplay but the new levels are surely meant for people who already finished the main game. The challenge given in these levels demand that you are very accustomed to using all the assets available to you to defeat the challenges.

The aesthetics and sounds are just as good as in the main game, making this an enjoyable ride. With this cost, you'd be hard pressed to regret buying it.

96

Creative in more than one way

AkiMatti | April 1, 2014 | Review of Portal 2

Going to Portal 2 I was thinking I would basically be getting more of the same as in Portal. Boy, was I wrong. The different materials give a lot of room for creativity and the story is significantly better than in the first Portal. Characters and the world, the whole testing facility is opened up more to the player to delve into. The architecture of some levels is jaw-dropping, leaving impression of a vast complex autonomously in control of itself.

Co-op side is a welcome addition and boggles the mind at least as much as the single player if not more. Terrific fun all around.

94

Showed the Way Forward

AkiMatti | March 31, 2014 | Review of Half-Life 2

HL2 came around at a time when fps games where stagnating a bit. It showed us how to keep it fresh by adding physics, great lip-syncing for its time and a breathtaking world made alive by the new Source engine.

There were just so many things that went right with this game I don't know where to begin. The combine was an intriguing enemy that offered many variations of enemies. Many NPCs were met along the way and many weapons which were all useful in different situations. Not to mention Gravity Gun, which was just SO cool as it was the first of its kind in fps games.

As much as could be said about the base game, there is also the side of HL2 that must be mentioned and that is the moddability. A huge array of mods have been released for the game, some as good in quality as AAA games.

But the main game has also very good replayability factor in it, still. If you have not experienced HL2 yet, I suggest you try it, if only to see where many of the tropes in this days video game genre originate from.

92

Through the Looking Glass

AkiMatti | March 31, 2014 | Review of Portal

Portal shows a new side to fps games. Can this even be called fps? It would be more like a first person puzzle platformer aka fppp.

The player uses a portal gun which fires two different "doors" or "holes" in supportable surfaces that are connected like a wormhole through space. An AI will guide the player through different test rooms and quips against human intelligence. Soon enough, it becomes evident that there is also something else than testing going on in the facility...

The puzzles are not too tough but they are creative. Portal physics are fun to play with but it feels like the game doesn't get going until two thirds to the game and could indeed pressure the brain a bit more to my tastes.

Anyway, recommended to anyone.

89

The Pinnacle of the Series - So Far

AkiMatti | March 31, 2014 | Review of Half Life 2: Episode 2

The old Source engine has been taken to new lengths again as Gordon goes through totally different environments compared to the last episode. Cityscapes have changed to rural countryside and forests.

The gameplay is paced very well and the player feels like making progress all the time. Some new enemies are also introduced and some old ones are also reacquainted.

Vehicles are in a more prominent role and they work well enough, though for my tastes there could've been less of them.

The plot goes forward a lot, but I won't tell anymore of that in case you haven't played this gem yet. The ending leaves us at a cliffhanger like no other. Episode 3, pls?

82

Run to the hills!

AkiMatti | March 31, 2014 | Review of Half Life 2: Episode 1

Episode 1 is a logical sequel to Half-Life 2 which begins exactly where the last game ended. The G-Man again shows his extraordinary powers over time and space but even he does not have everything in control as he soon discovers.

Gordon, our lovable protagonist, gets to follow Alyx through City 17 and beyond. A great cataclysm is about to happen as the Citadel is crumbling down to its core and City 17 is not a place to be when it happens.

The mechanics are familiar from HL2, but everything has been taken up a notch. The fights are harder, the atmosphere is more pressing and all in all Gordon does not seem to be at the top of the situation at all times.

The game has suspense and great fps gameplay, only the plot does not go forward as much as one would like. Still, a necessary part of the game series and worth checkin out.

95

The Game That Started It All...

AkiMatti | March 27, 2014 | Review of Half Life

...and by all I mean story elements and excessive scripting in fps games.Those were really the new things that Half-Life brought to the table after Quake and its pals had laid out the control scheme for fps games.

The famous beginning of Half-Life created a wholly different atmosphere to the game along with the varying color schemes in different parts of the levels. The 3D effects were also used consistently to add authenticity to the game instead used only as eye candy.

What also stood out was the soldiers and their AI against the player. I remember the first time when I nearly pooped my pants having to actually take cover and still getting a grenade land near my feet. The enemies were actually using effective tactics which was unheard of before this game and rarely seen even today.

92

The Dark Knight Himself

AkiMatti | March 27, 2014 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

This game makes you feel like you're the Batman. You have his gadgets, his martial arts skills and the game portrays well even the attitude.

The game does so many things so well it is hard to know where to begin. Hand to hand combat works impressively well; countering attacks, switching targets, stunning aggressive foes and throwing batarangs are all easily accomplished with the controls.

Between fights, the detective part of being Batman is played out as you use the "Detective mode" to see vulnerabilities or alternative routes in the environment. Using different gadgets to traverse like grappling hook, exploding gel or the batclaw all add to the immersion.

I could go on and on, and you can look at other reviews too or the metacritic points this game got, but the bottom line is this: you should try this game if you haven't already.

90

Revolutionized 3D Gaming

AkiMatti | March 27, 2014 | Review of Tomb Raider I

What this title did with 3D gaming was something new, something that had not been experienced before. Being able to climb and traverse and move the 3D obstacles in the environment made the environments feel much more "real" in a sense.

Of course, by todays standards, the graphics and the environment look very blocky, but with thanks to good art direction and your imagination you will start to see it as the world it was meant to convey.

The game really feels like "tomb raiding", exploring the caverns and secrets and caves long lost to men. The enemies are challenging especially when they come in packs. Controls are good enough even if using only the keyboard. I much prefer the old pixelated graphics but you can use a Glide wrapper to add some basic 3D effects like bilinear filtering to make it look smoother.

Puzzles, traps, story and gameplay are all well polished here. Great nostalgia factor for those that played it back then, and good amount of fun still for the new generation wanting to see where we started from.

89

Action sidestep from the Original

AkiMatti | March 24, 2014 | Review of Alan Wake's American Nightmare

While the original Alan Wake series (the main game + dlc) was a fairly slow paced 3rd person horror adventure, this game takes a step to the side and offers you a more streamlined experience. The controls have been made a bit better and faster so that it is easier for you to dispatch loads of the shadow people.

American Nightmare is made in the spirit of B-list splatter movies or something similar, or at least gives away that impression.

There is also a possibility to play a sort of "From Dusk Till Dawn" game where you have exactly that long to survive in a chosen environment where more and more enemies will come for you while you run away and try to gather ammo and stuff to keep them away long enough. I actually liked this survival mode pretty much, the night doesn't last too long but just enough for there to be good tension.

Recommended for friends and newcomers of Alan Wake.

77

From FPS TD to the Traditional TD

AkiMatti | March 22, 2014 | Review of Super Sanctum TD

Sanctum is mostly known for its FPS take on the TD genre. Ironically, this traditional TD version of the Sanctum world comes last.

Compared to other TD games, SSTD manages to hold its own. There are plenty of different tower types, enemy types and possibilities to upgrade the towers. You can make labyrinths for the enemies to get the most out of your towers and basically all the tropes of the genre are represented here.

The graphics are fairly good, if somewhat retro. Music sets the mood nicely, but the sounds are otherwise just good enough without leaving any lasting impression.

Everything works like it should in a TD game, and the UI is well done to make playing easier to access. If you have some time to kill, SSTD can do the job.

92

Better than GTA

AkiMatti | March 21, 2014 | Review of Omikron: The Nomad Soul

In the game, you first take on the role of a cop. Ultimately, you have to save the world. NO, DON'T LEAVE YET! There is more to it than that! Besides, the way the game is structured makes the unfolding of the story feel like it is your doing.

You really live in this world, use the hovering cars, talk to the citizens, transfer to their bodies (yes, this is possible and gives you access to their homes and information) and kick their asses on underground martial arts tournaments!

The game offers 3 different perspectives at different sections of the game: 3rd person adventure, beat'em'up and fps. The first two are the best while the fps part leaves a lot to be desired.

The whole experience just takes you in so wholly, you feel like a detective, trying to understand this world and how it works while unraveling the evil plot behind it all.

I think everyone should be able to try this and with that price, it is a great offer.

87

Simply the best Alien game so far

AkiMatti | March 21, 2014 | Review of Aliens vs Predator Classic 2000

The graphics will feel very dated to gamers nowadays but the core of the game is solid.

Intense marine campaign where you never encounter an alien lightly, awesome alien campaign where you really feel like you are a fast and deadly killing machine and finally the predator campaign where you really are the hunter and ready to kick ass.

sigh

Words cannot do justice to this game. You just have to experience it. The beeping sound of the echolocator. The horror of the dark corridors. The nerve-wrecking sound of the facehugger being in the same room...

If you can stand the old graphics, you won't be disappointed if you like fps games at all.

70

Oldschool adventure game with tough puzzles

AkiMatti | March 21, 2014 | Review of The Blackwell Deception

First of all, when you take the road to try this game, expect playing with low resolution and old graphics.

Second, the game is still good. It is reminiscent of old LucasArts games in that the game won't hold your hand when it comes to the puzzles. You really have to figure them out on your own (walkthroughs, begone!). And succeeding in that feels rewarding.

That the other controllable character is a ghost creates a nice dynamic to the game since a ghost cannot pick up objects a normal human can, for example.

Recommended for friends of adventure games.

82

War SMASH!

AkiMatti | March 21, 2014 | Review of Darksiders

3rd person action game done right.

The story is a variation on the Bible's Revelation theme where no God exists. War is an instrument of the Council that tries to rein in the realms of Heaven and Hell who battle for dominion.

Someone ignites the apocalypse too early and War gets the blame. Your job? Find the real culprit and reclaim your power.

This game can be played on a gamepad as well as kb + mouse. Using a gamepad can be more relaxing, though. All the fighting moves and sounds are really gratifying and the environment look authentically post-human civilization.

The story has many epic moments and you will notice your own skills getting better also in time as well as War's. Some of the fights are very hard and will require a lot of retries, which might put you off a bit, though. Every challenge is surmountable, though, it just takes enough practice.

For the fans of the genre, a must buy. Others, I recommend trying.

80

Imaginative and creative use of a Gimmick

AkiMatti | March 21, 2014 | Review of Tiny & Big: Grandpa's Leftovers

This game has a certain gimmick in it, which is the possibility to cut terrain obstacles and then move the slices. The mechanic works very well and the player is left with his/her own imagination as to how to overcome the obstacles with it.

The gimmick is however only part of the game, another part is the humor. The humor reminds me a bit of Psychonauts and MDK, bizarre and childish. Just the way I like it :)

The controls are responsive and work even with a gamepad. I used Logitech F510 successfully. Keyboard + Mouse might work more accurately, though.

It is a nice adventure platformer which will give you a journey you will likely not regret taking.

77

A lot more fun than you'd think!

AkiMatti | March 21, 2014 | Review of Post Apocalyptic Mayhem

This game might not look like much from the screens but the gameplay is actually pretty fun! It is like Mario Kart but in a Fallout setting! Totally overthetop mayhem with easy controls.

There are 3 ways to attack with each vehicle, and each vehicle is different. You win by fragging other cars, not by finishing first. Powerups are gained often so there is constantly explosions going on.

Really entertaining for short periods of mayhem when you need it.

89

What many FPS games wished they were

AkiMatti | March 21, 2014 | Review of Hard Reset

Hard Reset is what hardcore fps games should be all about. Great graphics, works well on low specs, fast paced, top notch controls, weapons customization and as a bonus cyberpunk world!

For myself an added bonus is also that I don't have to fight people in this game so there is no blood. Shooting robots is kind of more innocent, I think, and harder to feel bad when you shoot them to junk.

The movement also reminds of Quake, which basically invented strafe-circling.

A great game, really. Oh, I almost forgot to mention how you can also use the environment to scorch your enemies! Blasts of electricity, fire etc. from different sources are available and can really change the outcome of the firefight.

Recommended.

72

Single player is a grind

AkiMatti | March 21, 2014 | Review of Borderlands

I bought this game thinking it would be good since everyone was praising it at the time. What I didn't realize was that this is a co-op game for the most part.

Since I haven't been able to play this in coop, I've been limited to single player only experience. The game feels mediocre in that regard. There is almost no story in the game and it is basically just shooting, shooting, shooting while upgrading your weapons from time to time. Some areas get very tedious for being so hard and running through them again and again feels like a chore. Not much is there to motivate.

But what does motivate to continue playing is seeing new monsters, new areas, and getting new weapons. The gameplay is solid and there are plenty of opportunities to use the environment as your cover. Different weapons give different kind of tactics to use in a firefight: for example poisonous bullets deal damage over time so you don't have to hit the enemy as often.

Mediocre game.

78

Modern rendition of a classic

AkiMatti | March 21, 2014 | Review of Aliens vs Predator

When I knew only the 1999 version, it was the ultimate Alien game for me. Especially the Marine campaign was very thrilling and scary. I had high hopes for this game, especially since the developer was Rebellion like with the original.

Unfortunately, this game didn't fulfil all my expectations. The aliens are not as fast in this new version, which made the first one so thrilling. I still hate the face-huggers, though. The game can be pretty demanding of you machine which is not good for a fast paced fps.

Still, it is pretty well done, all in all, and the campaigns feel like good takes on the characters. You can get a load of enjoyment out of this if you don't expect too much but take it as it is.

87

Slapstick Wizards!

AkiMatti | Feb. 10, 2014 | Review of Magicka

This game is a riot! It is amusing just by yourself in single player but it really picks up the pace in multiplayer! Conjuring spells and learning them as you go is part of the fun the other part is just messing around with everything!

There are plenty of funny references to other media in the game story and world. It does get pretty tough, too, so there is enough difficulty to be had with this game.

Enough about the game, just buy it already, or 4! Play with friends or play by yourself, fun is guaranteed!

89

Action Adventure that has great atmosphere

AkiMatti | Feb. 10, 2014 | Review of Alan Wake

Many people define Alan Wake as a horror game, but I wouldn't necessarily make that case. True, it has a lot of tension and there are many points where the mood builds very nicely. But its always more in a B level horror style, kind of like X-Files or the like.

It is not a bad thing, I'm not saying that. The story is told well and the game can keep you on the edge of your seat great many times. There's just some sort of tongue-in-cheek touch in everything, if you look closely.

The game runs fairly well on older hardware, but will need a beefy video card to run properly. My GT440 barely managed to run it on low settings acceptably.

If you like a good story, 3rd person action games and beautiful graphics with well working control scheme, this is your game.

NOTE! Remember to diasble the HUD from the menu for the best experience!

92

You will know parkour

AkiMatti | Feb. 5, 2014 | Review of Mirror's Edge (EU)

I've been a traceur for several years now and had been even before this game was released. Some of the things done in this game are surely over-the-top but shown in a very realistic fashion. Everything Faith is able to do in the game has credibility to it, minus that she never gets so tired that she should stop to catch breath.

As the game is shown in first person, it is fun to play because you feel like you are doing the moves yourself. Everything looks great, too!

Even after completing it, it is a pleasure to come back to it and try different levels to find different routes and just have some super action FUN!

88

Now I know why some people are hooked to HoMM!

AkiMatti | Feb. 5, 2014 | Review of King's Bounty: The Legend

Because this game is a remake of the game that started the genre before HoMM was created and you can call me captured!

You control a royal treasure searcher who goes around the world doing quests and gathering armies while making sure there would be peace in all the corners of the land.

The skill trees are well made and the fights are challenging. There are a lot of environments to look around and many places where you will be challenged in your skill even later in the game. The graphics are a bit cartoony and very pleasant to look at. The quests are well thought out and don't feel like unnecessary chores. There are even quests which you can solve without using violence which is always a plus in my book.

Everything in this game is made to immerse you in its game world and if you like these kind of games even a bit it will likely hold you firmly in its grasp till the early morning hours.

Highly recommended!

98

PADded with emotion!

AkiMatti | Feb. 5, 2014 | Review of Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons

It is really hard to find the words to define this game. If you're not touched at anytime during the game, you have a heart made of rock.

The basic gist of the game is that two brothers will have to find medicine for their sick father and during their journey they will have to overcome many challenges and obstacles only counting on each other to survive. You control them both at once, which gives the game a really unique feel that is hard to grasp at first but will feel natural after a while.

The game offers beautiful vistas for you to look at and never rushes you into things so that you cannot appreciate the surroundings. The puzzles aren't too hard but they are refreshingly without violence. I was able to play most of the game while my 5 and 7 years old children were watching, only one scene stood out as not suitable for them I had to remove them from the room for its duration.

This game was like therapy to me. It gives you a world in a simpler time where the relationships seem more genuine than today's harsh world where everything seems to be weighed in money.

I strongly advice playing this with a pad for the extra effect it will give. One of the best games I have ever played!

95

A Solid Puzzle-Platformer ;)

AkiMatti | Feb. 5, 2014 | Review of Rochard

Rochard is a very entertaining platformer game where you can control gracity with your G-Lifter and also control the gravity in the whole room you are in. There are also other things, but I won't spoil everything here. Nevertheless, with these simple concepts a lot of fun puzzles are created in a beautiful space station environment made with the Unity engine.

The soundtrack is awesome, especially the title song. It really gets you in the mood right from the start. The story is pretty good too and it keeps you going since you want to see the end so badly.

Controls are responsive with mouse+kb, but work pretty well with a pad, too. Only the aiming is a little harder with the pad, so mouse+kb would be my recommendation.

Voice acting is also top notch and it gives the characters additional depth.

Easily recommendable to friends of platformer games. Also, it is made my a Finnish team, which give them 5 more points in my book! :)

84

A wonderful platformer

AkiMatti | Feb. 5, 2014 | Review of VVVVVV

I approached this game with pretty much no expectations. I do have a soft spot for retro games in my heart so there was something in favor of this game already.

The game shines with personality! The little guys in the game are so adorable, only animation they have are their facial gestures (basically happy/sad) but they really tug my heart strings! The game mechanics are simple, you slide sideways and you can reverse gravity, making you slide on the roof or on the floor. From such a basic movement repertoire a lot of different and challenging problems are created. The game even surprises the player many times along the way when you feel like you've seen it all.

Playing this game is a delight, you always seem to be in control of the character and the failures are pretty much always your own fault. Checkpoints are frequent enough so that when you die (and you do, lots of times) you don't have to backtrack a lot. Recommended!

75

Witness the steps of our civilization first hand!

AkiMatti | Feb. 5, 2014 | Review of Sid Meier's CivilizationĀ® V

I had never played a civilization game before this. I had heard great things about it from my friends many years ago when they were playing Civ 2 and quite frankly, I couldn't help but feel a bit left out not being able to see what all the fuzz was. I had also heard on reddit many times that once you start playing Civilization, you won't be able to stop.

With this information in mind, I was a bit hesitant to begin my first game. The first surprise was how long the game took to load. Clearly, this game was not meant to be played in small bits during coffee breaks. I started with Russia since it was the closest nation to Finland, which I would've preferred. At first I was a bit at loss with all the bits and pieces of the GUI and what they meant, trying to simply do some rudimentary things in expanding my city and my nations borders. The learning curve is peretty easy, though, and gradually I began to understand the options I had before me.

Although there seemed to be fairly little for me to do besides scouting, researching and building, the game managed to keep me occupied past midnight. I'm still not sure if that was because I wanted to advance more quickly or if it simply was so addicting. However, after a few days I got notice from my wife that I'm losing control over my gaming hours. So there definately was some addiction in this game, something that kept me in even though it is hard to pinpoint the reason.

Before Civ 5, my closest experience to this kind of game must have been the first Total War: Shogun game. That one really kept my attention and I had a great time with it, planning my strategy. Civ 5 seemed to get my time also, but it did not raise the same kind of enjoyment as Shogun had. Sure, playing Civ didn't feel exactly boring or like work, but I wasn't either as immersed into the game as I thought I would be. I guess it felt hard to step into the ruler's shoes in this game. I felt more like a player than a ruler or a general like in Shogun.

I've yet to conclude my first game of Civ. It seems hard to to go back to it, since if you only play for a little while or even an hour, you don't really advance that much in that time. And Civ games seem to last very long. If there were more indications of progress than just getting more cities and unlocking new parts of the research tree or the diplomacy options would be better I'm sure I'd return to it more eagerly. But as of now, I'll let it rest and wait for some other time. The time invested versus the progress gained just doesn't seem to be in balance or at least not suitable for a father of 3 small children.

Maybe this just isn't a game for me? It's impossible to get a "quick fix" of Civilization since even one game seems to take hours upon hours before finish. So, for me, this game is mediocre. Not boring but neither exhilarating. If I want my brain teased, I'll turn to Grimrock instead.

70

A decent part of RTS gaming history

AkiMatti | Oct. 11, 2013 | Review of Earth 2160 Capsule

Since you're already reading reviews for a RTS game, I assume the genre is already familiar to you and I don't have to explain everything from the beginning.

So, why would you get this game instead of, say, some game from the Total War series? Honestly, I cannot say there is such a reason. There are far better games out there in this genre. The graphics might have been good for its time but since it heavily relies on polygons instead of art direction, it looks mighty ugly nowadays. The battles work as well as you could expect, but there is nothing special in them. All in all, the game does everything decently.

But should you get an average game these days? I suggest Total Annihilation series, for example Kingdoms, if you want an older RTS game, or Supreme Commander. Also about any game from the Total War series gives more to the player than this. Time has moved forwards past this game. It can still entertain, of course, but like I said, there are other options.

79

This is "Toy soldiers" done right

AkiMatti | Oct. 9, 2013 | Review of Commandos 3: Destination Berlin CAP

You ever play with those little plastic toy soldiers as a kid, fighting with them in your room? This game is a lot like that, but instead of controlling an army, you'll be controlling only a few men who will have to survive and successfully complete dangerous missions while being overpowered in all fronts.

There are different kind of characters you can use and they have different skills and different items. The core of the gameplay comes from utilizing those talents and items in the right way to achieve your goal.

The game can be very challenging, especially if you are new to the game (series). It shouldn't take too long to get a grasp of things, though, and this game is hardly the most unforgiving of the series.

If you enjoy sneaking and infiltrating behind enemy lines, this is your game. Look also into other games of the series, they are great as well, although they are much harder.

83

Tower Defense with a twist

AkiMatti | Oct. 9, 2013 | Review of Unstoppable Gorg

If you are in any way familiar with tower defense games, you'd know that the basic principle in them is to prevent invading forces from reaching their target by building new and more powerful defense towers. Usually, these towers will stay in place. Here comes the twist of Unstoppable Gorg (UG): the towers are movable, albeit in a circle.

See, in UG you place the "towers" in orbits around the target the attacker is trying to reach. Once the towers are placed in orbits, they can be moved by dragging the whole orbit around. So you don't only think the placement of those towers once but you can and must change their places many times during the levels.

This new mechanic is pretty fast to adopt but it also brings a whole new level of gaming to the tower defense games. If anything, it removes a lot of the waiting that is usually a trope of this genre, since you'll most of the time have lots to do because the enemy will also change their path so you need to react to that.

In addition to that new mechanic, UG is made tongue in cheek by making top notch '50s references throughout the game. It brought at least a smile to my face, but to each their own.

Very enjoyable addition to the genre, all in all.