Reviews by AlbusDlx

93

Pure heaven,

AlbusDlx | Oct. 12, 2013 | Review of The Wolf Among Us

I really enjoyed this game. Like TWD the episodes could have been longer. But if you look past that this game is among the better story driven games to date. (imo) The cell shading works great and the new engine really shows off, Some textures are pathetically low res. But it did not bother me one bit, Compared to The walking dead this has a way better quicktime events, the controls cant even be compared. Zombies will be zombies. This game has The big bad wolf, Snow White, Beauty and the BEast, Woodsman and more to come. What other game will bring all these characters into to one action/horror game? 9/10 and if the following episodes are as good, the score will only rise. If you loved the walking dead, then perhaps you are a whiny fanboy who will give this game shit, if you likes twd you will like this as well. If you liked the style and bored by the dated zombie theme, then perhaps you will love this! Don´t get me wrong, I loved tws as well, but this is groundbreaking.

91

Super duper awesome!

AlbusDlx | Aug. 21, 2013 | Review of Tom Clancys Splinter Cell Blacklist

This is the best part yet. It looks stunning, only surpassed by Crysis 3 if you ask me. The Unreal engine still shows off what it can do to this date. I am lucky to have access to the American release. 2 more days of SC6 gaming then my fellow europeans!

You start off by unwillingly being paired with Grim and 2 other main characters. I´m not gonna ruin anything, but the intro is a playable level in it self. A group called the Engineers threaten the U.S with a blacklist attack every week for a year unless the U.S withdraw all their troops from all 151 countries, It is your job as Sam Fisher to put a stop to them and save the day,

Like I have said, it looks really really good. a solid 8.9/10. I would give Crysis 3 a 9.3 as comparison. The controls are very similar to Conviction, So is the actual gameplay. The weapon and tools upgrade system is extensive. The MAJOR difference between the 2 games are optimization. I can still not max out Splinter Cell Conviction, putting this game in the "bad port" category. Blacklist runs like a well greased engine, a well greased Unreal engine =) I max Blacklist out @ 1080p with v-sync and 4xMSAA enabled on my PC.

(AMD 8320/HD7950/8gb RAM @1866)

The only thing I can complain about is the fact that they switched out the voice actor for Sam Fisher. But the new guy is not bad at all. Just a downer to a dedicated SC-fan. Grim and Vic are the same. The 5.1 surround sound works great, I love sneaking around and being able to hear enemies behind me.

All in all. Super fun game.

9/10

93

One of the better games out there.

AlbusDlx | Aug. 18, 2013 | Review of Max Payne 3

With a sharp look and awesome controls it´s your job to protect a wealthy brazilian family. Stuff happens, you shoot some ppl. Sounds like a generic shooter? Well, it is far from generic. This is, BY FAR, Rockstars best title. Pistols, rifles, grenade launchers and so on is your tools by trade, The story is well written, well told and the actor playing Max is supreme. I love this game, and have still not found all easter eggs in the form of golden gun parts. If 3d person shooters is your thing, this game should be on the top of your to get list,

83

Super in the title says it all.

AlbusDlx | Aug. 11, 2013 | Review of Super Meat Boy

Razors, killing salts, deadly fans. And so much more stuff that can kill you, The controls are flawless so every death is the players fault,. Almost every death at least. I love that fast little meat-cube. With 300+ levels, the content is extreme and easily worth every penny.

87

Good amount of content for 2.80£ (with 20% voucher)

AlbusDlx | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of RAGE: The Scorchers

I was surprised by the amount, easy 2-3h of hardcore RAGE gaming. The girl who shows you the way has among the better game-rumps on the market. =) If you want a reason to keep playing RAGE. This is it.

87

A really good game.

AlbusDlx | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of RAGE

Let me start by saying this. 87 is a low score in my opinion. But the texture glitch is annoying. It pops in every time you turn around. Well, I found a solution to this on the steam forum and has since then not been bothered by this.

The game itself is a FPS with a big piece of racing in it. There are online racing as well. In game the car upgrades are generally bought with race certificates witch you get by winning races in the game. There is a good variety of weapons and gadgets, almost like a post apocalyptic Batman of some sorts. The wingsticks are the best melee weapon in the history of gaming. Like a throwable 3 edged boomerang, sharp as a razor. Voice acting is top notch, besides the story line you have side missions and minigames. Mutant bash TV is a show you can participate in to earn some cash and have some fun at the same time. I would recommend this to anyone.

77

My first MMO, need to look no further.

AlbusDlx | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Defiance

This is an actionpacked game, the weapons remind me of borderlands with an ingame modifier. The series and game co-exist so if you like the tv series and are a gamer, well. This is for you. Some half baked voice acting, some minor bugs, not the fastest rides in town but still a good game. All character presets are ugly as h*ll so be prepared to make ur own guy. But I guess everyone does that anyways. =)

87

Not my favorite part but it´s up there.

AlbusDlx | July 17, 2013 | Review of F.E.A.R. 2: Project Origin

Perseus mandate is my favorite f.e.a.r. But this is still an awesome game. It has been 4 years now and it still looks pretty good. Something to know, you can´t map mouse button 4, 5 etc. Only 1-3 works. F.E.A.R 3 might have some tessellation but this game still beats it visually. Hell of a lot scarier. So, if anyone reads this and only have played the last installment and if you happened to like it. F.E.A.R 2 Project Origin will buy the game for you and you should but it immediately. MP is pretty much dead by now, but SP well worth the 10 quid.

87

Mega-kill with alot of skill.

AlbusDlx | June 19, 2013 | Review of Bulletstorm dns

Few games have me coming back year after year, but this is one of the titles I just can´t get bored with. And even if it has a few years on it´s neck, it still looks really good. The extensive skill menu is easy to navigate. Controls are easy to use. With the 360 controller, the skill factor grows even more. I have played this once a year for the last 4. And I will keep clearing it for alot of years to come. Since it is a UR3-engine powred game you can twaek the visuals in the cfg´s as well. =) A strong 8!

90

Ths could be an awesome series.

AlbusDlx | June 11, 2013 | Review of Remember Me

I had only seen this game just a few months before release and I was extremely excited for it. I was a bit nervous I was going to be let down do to the mixed reviews, but I followed my instinct and I was right. I loved this game. it has a beautiful flow to it, which you dont see to often in games. The remixes are evenly spaced out and work well with the story snd gameplay. Combat and Boss fights are very fun, not too tough on nornal mode. Creating your own combos with different "Pressens" (Damage, Health Regen, Special Cooldown, and One more) worked extremely well for me. BOTTOM LINE, Im extremely tough to satisfy when it comes to games, but the Story, Gameplay, Remixes, Collectables, and Graphics gave me truly an awesome expirience.

83

This should have been Resident Evil 6.

AlbusDlx | June 1, 2013 | Review of Resident Evil: Revelations

This brings me back to the good old days where Evil was part of the story, not just the title. It´s a shame that is a Nintendo DS game from the start. It shows all to well in he cut scenes with the horrible facial animations. If it had been developed as RE6, with the same budget, the comeback would have been a fact. Not to say this is a bad game, indeed quite the opposite.

Jill Valentine makes a comeback as a playable character teamed up with a new Latino partner Ricardo. Chris has a thing for the lady's, his partner Jessica wears the most ridiculous outfits you will ever see. Tight, purple, little porno-shorts in the middle of the winter high on top of a mountain. Come on! She is military, not Jenna Jameson. Hentai fans have no place in the Resident Evil production staff.

New mechanics are introduced, you get to swim. This is something new. Doors are back to being loading screens. Some of the bigger rooms look amazing. The hunters fall and rise like they did in RE1 & 2, sure it feels a bit dated, but for true fans this is what we want to see. The franchise taking a step back and bringing back the horror to the series. You get to open doors via panels that you hack, sure, this is not some great big riddle, but hey, we can´t get it all back at once.

I think Capcom made this port to see how the fans would react. From what I have seen, all die hard fans think the same. This should have been RE6! And now when they see this, perhaps they will re-think the action packed angle and move towards a darker world where you can´t kill a zombie with a dropkick.

This game is a big step back, a big positive step backwards,

80

Resident Evil? No this must be Resident Actiom?!

AlbusDlx | June 1, 2013 | Review of Resident Evil 6

I have been a true fan since the first creepy adventure in the Raccoon Forest mansion. From there we got to meet Leon for the first time in Resident Evil 2. This game was awesome as well. The third was Nemesis, it was here the changes started, Developers must have been thinking of ways to keep it fresh. Because when nr 4 came out, the fixed camera angles were gone and so where the zombies. Instead we had Las Plagas. Leon was back as the presidents own henchman. There to find the presidents daughter. Bare with me, there is a point.

Degradation!

In resident evil 6 we were told that they had listened to their fans, there would be no less then 4 campaigns, From horror to super packed action. Well, if you ask me there were no horror in this game, The scary one, they say, are the one with Leon. "Karate Kid Leon" I actually enjoyed this game. but when i started the third play-through, with Jake and Shelly. The fun had been lost along the way. Same cut scenes in all 3 main story lines. Different huds, one could shoot some cool weapon where one could do a karate kick. But still, nothing entirely new.

Nothing Evil about it!

The graphics on the PC is not stunning but the game looks good. I wish they had implemented DX11 lighting, it would have been a nice touch since the engine can handle it. The controls work really well, run ´n gun for the first time. About time! The acting is solid. The game is not bad. It is the direction this series has taken, toward mainstream action gaming. No riddles to solve, no chills down my spine, no real challenge. I remember when you actually had to think for yourself if you wanted that first shotgun and not get locked in a room.

I give this a solid 80. A pure DX11 remake of Resident Evil 1 & 2 in Cryengine 3. That is what I would call Resident Evil, not Resident Action 6,

Pros: Nice looking. Good acting. Length of the game in total (all 4 campaigns seen as one).

Cons: It nags the story. All Action, no Evil. No riddles. Even a small child would not frightened.

94

Prepare you eyes for a feast,

AlbusDlx | June 1, 2013 | Review of Crysis 3 (EU)

This is THE best looking game on the marked to this day. And not only does it strain your PC, it soothes your soul and feeds your eyes with real eye-candy. If your system is up to the task you will enjoy 5-7 hours of pure magic. The presentation is amazing, The Big Apple have never looked better. The acting is really strong. Psyco is actually belevible, beyond the voice acting, his eyes speak as well. The facial animations is top notch. Prophet makes prophecys come true. Cant wait for Nr.4.

69

Well, it´s not Dirt 3. =)

AlbusDlx | May 28, 2013 | Review of DiRT 2

I write this in 2013. Dirt 3 has been released, and Showdown, This feels sluggish and old, but that is probably just bacause I keep comparing it with the 3:rd piece, and I know, that´s not fair.

I bought this because I got a really good deal. And to you who are concidering it, don´t pay full price when you can get Dirt 3.

The thing that made it a 69 and not a 79 is the HORRIBLE intro and presentation, again, I KNOW, it´s like 0.005% of the game. But it made me so angry I sat and screamed at the poor guy who is oly trying to help.

It WAS an awesome game, not anymore I´m afraid. I will still play it thogh, and I will still enjoy it. The best when it came.