Reviews by AppleMuffin

90

Amazing

AppleMuffin | Dec. 24, 2012 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Nexway

Skyrim, as expected, delivers, though there are some things I feel should be pointed out:

The AI is still about the same - enemies block and counter, some stay far away and fire off arrows or spells. I did enjoy the town life, however. NPCs actually did things and lived out their lives instead of just standing around waiting to give quests away. The frozen conversation thing is gone too- people are active and move around even when you are in an conversation, something not seen in oblivion.

Huge, awesome world, plenty of exploring to do.

I still hate the combat though. Take a swing at someone's face and blood leaks out at their feet. Seriously, someone needs to fix the combat.

Overall, still a great game. Highly recommended.

75

Like Gothic 3 but better

AppleMuffin | Dec. 24, 2012 | Review of Risen (Capsule)

This game is like what Gothic 3 should have been but never was. The clunkiness of the original was removed, the useless bits were taken out, and it was really just polished into a better game. No bugs I found in the game, at least so far.

The graphics are not very good - the character models are like stone dolls - but you don't have to waste your time staring at them as you'll be out and about adventuring.

The AI is better, but not amazing - they can trick you into lowering your guard in combat by simply calling your shot. But you can also just button mash and usually win.

The plot is more interesting than G3 in my opinion. I won't ruin it, but the island itself has importance in the story, and it's good enough to keep you playing. And of course the RPG elements are basic but still good.

60

Buy the original.

AppleMuffin | Dec. 24, 2012 | Review of Dragon Age 2 (NA) DNS

Honestly, DA 2 is much more fast paced than DA:O. This is both a good and bad thing. I liked the combat much more, as it was way more exciting than in DA:O where you sort of just hack at each other in slow motion. But DA:O has charm, and DA 2 doesn't. It's clear how much more love was put in DA:O.

DA 2 often has you revisiting the same locations over and over again - in fact the entire game takes place around a single city. While this feature supposedly brings the player to a certain familiarity with the character of the city, I thought that was bull and the devs got lazy.

One nice thing about the game is that the main character Hawke actually speaks in the game. But that's about the only redeeming quality I can think of. There is drastically reduced customization - allies have fixed armor sets, Hawke MUST be a human, everything is much more streamlined.

The dialogue is good as the first, and you do have to take some strategic point towards the game at times, but seriously, avoid this game and play the first one, which was loads better.

87

Well Made Game

AppleMuffin | Dec. 24, 2012 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

Finally an FPS RPG that works. I never played the original but I heard it was a legendary game, and that this one followed in its shoes.

One thing you should know is that this game is quite challenging. It's not advertised as an FPS gunner where you shoot anything that moves- though you CAN play like this if you want, which is the beauty of the game. The great thing about it is the versatility of the game - stealth, speech, force - it almost reminds me of the fallout series.

The story in the game is great, and it's good enough to drive you forward to see the conclusion.

As there is choice in your style of play there is also some choice in morality - spare the prisoner, execute him, that kind of thing. TBH I didn't find many of the choices particularly story changing, though it was still a nice touch. Very fun game.

80

Play this with friends

AppleMuffin | Dec. 23, 2012 | Review of Magicka

Seriously, this game is meant to be played with friends. It's not even about the story or how much you progress in the game but how much chaos you cause when, say, your friend fires a beam of explosive ice at a monster and you bring up a shield at the same time, and the beam instead reflects off the shield and back at you, exploding both you and your friend. Hilarious fun. The visuals are colorful and nice, though the enemies leave something to be desired for. Still, most of the time you'll be reducing them to chunks of meat so not a big deal. The magic system is really cool. You can combine up to five different types of magic, (fire, wind, ice, beam, rock, etc) all available to you from the start, and for the rest of the game it's like a fun experiment - what kind of combination can I think of next?

This game is meant to be played with friends and as such you shouldn't get the game if it's only you playing.

65

Meh

AppleMuffin | Dec. 23, 2012 | Review of Alice: Madness Returns (NA) dns

I heard the first game was a cult classic so I bought this on Origin - it's not bad, but It's not good. It's mostly I think the lack of originality in the combat system - block, dodge, attack, quick melees and strong ones, and a long range attack - very basic. I did like the idea of insanity though, and the Alice in Wonderland thing is cool. The story is not that good but interesting in its own. It's a linear game with collectables scattered around the level. There's also some light puzzles, but I mean light. Like pull a lever, shrink yourself and crawl through a hole, etc. A forgettable game.

80

For the patient

AppleMuffin | Dec. 23, 2012 | Review of Red Orchestra 2: Heroes of Stalingrad

let's get this straight: This game is good, but it's good for the non COD boys (and girls). HoS 2 is a 'realistic shooter', meaning, you get shot, you're probably going to die. It's not a run and gun kind of game, so anyone who assumes so is not going to like it. That being said, camping is sort of okay in the game. The graphics are alright, and the gun mechanics are quite good for the game - for example, there's a cover system where crouching near an obstacle and aiming will cause you to pop out of cover. it's also realistic in the way that, say, if you have mounted a gun, you can't aim vertically downwards at an enemy. I would say the one turn off for most is its difficulty - again, one shot is death most of the time, so lone wolf guns blazing doesn't work in this case. I personally think the game is god in small increments.

85

Love it

AppleMuffin | Dec. 23, 2012 | Review of Dead Island

This game had it troubles at launch, but it has since been fixed. It is mindless fun. I'm a zombie fanatic and this game is perfect for those like me. The AI is good, mostly because the majority of the time you're fighting zombies and it's not exactly hard to predict what their behavior will be. There are plenty of weapons and guns, and every single one delivers. It's really awesome to take a swing at a zed and watch it spin round from the force of your blow.

Don't play the game for the story. It's awful and I could write a story loads better. It's obvious all the attention was put into the gameplay, and for good measure. There's also a skill tree you can invest points in, and it is interesting to watch your character verbally change from a scared survivor to a powerful zombie killer.

The animations for NPCs are bad - the whole brick face thing going on, but really you're there for skipping cheesy missions and bashing zombie heads, so it's not that big a deal.

If you want a gory zombie game, Dead Island is your pick.

55

Hilariously bad.

AppleMuffin | Dec. 23, 2012 | Review of Two Worlds: Game of the Year

This game makes me laugh. Honestly the game isn't that bad, but the animations and cheesy voice acting really take it to another level. The story about rescuing your sister is bland too. Oddly enough I sort of enjoyed the game, even through the bugs and crap AI. I don't recommend it but if you want a laugh, have a go at this.

82

Solid Game

AppleMuffin | Dec. 23, 2012 | Review of Mass Effect 3 (NA) dns

The gameplay is a solid third person cover shooter, but I didn't really see anything particularly interesting about it. The story is pretty awesome, thanks to Bioware. I highly recommend playing the two prequels before starting Mass Effect 3. It allows for many interesting paths, though they usually all end in similar destinations. The ending was bad though. Very bad. Still, all in all, I recommend it.

45

Unplayable

AppleMuffin | Dec. 23, 2012 | Review of Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition (NA)

First things first. The game itself looks awesome, and I'm sure it is on console. But on pc it is virtually impossible to play. Terrible controls, wonky mouse movement, awful button arrangement...who uses the end button for the menu screen? Seriously. Whoever ported the game to pc did a horrendously bad job. I understand the game was petitioned to be on PC, but if the devs agreed to this decision it should have been done with more grace. And effort. I can't play the game not because the game is bad, but because the PC port version is unplayable. I mean the control scheme is still shown with xbox buttons. Come on.

70

Definitely a step up

AppleMuffin | Dec. 23, 2012 | Review of Two Worlds II Cap

I bought this game with low expectations due to the hilariously bad Two Worlds 1. I was surprisingly content with what was offered.

Though the HUD, inv and crafting screens are messy, there is a lot of possibility in the combinations you can make in the game. The gameplay itself is odd but strangely satisfying, though the shooting (archery) mechanics leave something to be desired for. Do not play this game for the story. It's cheesy.

Overall, a huge improvement over the original, but if it's a debate between this and Skyrim, I think we know the answer to that.

86

Arkane Still Has It

AppleMuffin | Dec. 23, 2012 | Review of Dishonored Nexway

These guys are the makers of Dark Messiah, a game that was surprisingly disliked by most. I loved that game, and I can still see some of its influences in Dishonored. In DM you had the choice of playing stealhy, with magic, or as a warrior, and in Dishonored it seems like Arkane took the stealth part and revamped it to epic proportions. The game is very fast paced and exciting, and allows for flexible ways of achieving your goal. For example, after assassinating a target, I jumped off a roof to my certain death, but managed to land on a passing guard underneath several stories below me and survive. certainly a great game that deserves your attention. Glad to see Arkane is finally getting the attention they deserve.

65

So far not a good buy

AppleMuffin | Dec. 23, 2012 | Review of Borderlands 2 Season Pass [NA]

So far two of the four DLCs have beem released, and I can't say I enjoy either of them. The first one (Pirate's Booty) is bland and predictable, and though there are indeed new weapons in this game I already surpassed the power of the weapons in terms of level requirement, so it was pretty pointless to play. The same goes for the second DLC (Campaign of Carnage) although the writing was a lot more amusing. I recomend Borderlands 2 but not the DLC - so far. Hopefully the last two will redeem themselves.

86

Arkane Still Has It

AppleMuffin | Dec. 23, 2012 | Review of Dishonored Nexway

These guys are the makers of Dark Messiah, a game that was surprisingly disliked by most. I loved that game, and I can still see some of its influences in Dishonored. In DM you had the choice of playing stealthy, with magic, or as a warrior, and in Dishonored it seems like Arkane took the stealth part and revamped it to epic proportions. The game is very fast paced and exciting, and allows for flexible ways of achieving your goal. For example, after assassinating a target, I jumped off a roof to my certain death, but managed to land on a passing guard underneath several stories below me and survive. certainly a great game that deserves your attention. Glad to see Arkane is finally getting the attention they deserve.

90

Excellent Game

AppleMuffin | Dec. 23, 2012 | Review of Borderlands 2 (NA) DNS

Borderlands 2 is, simply put, an excellent game. Whereas Borderlands 1 was sort of funny, had lots of randomized weapons and had good game-play, Borderlands 2 improves on every single aspect. Few times have I ever laughed out loud at a game, but thanks to Anthony Burch (lead writer of Borderlands 2 and co-star of Hey Ash Whatcha Playing), Borderlands 2 is one of the truly funniest games I have ever played. The weapon randomization is much more broad, and with the new features added to the engine like Physx, the action is simply awesome. Highly recommended.