Reviews by Avesomeofthat13

92

Injustice Is Awesome

Avesomeofthat13 | April 15, 2014 | Review of Injustice: Gods Among Us - Ultimate Edition

I bought this game with the complete intention of mashing my mates at a fighting game. Now on PC without a controller, this game isn't exactly easy - but as soon as you have a controller available, you'll find fighting a lot easier.

The maps are varied, and there are special moves you can initiate during a fight. This was made by NetherRealm studios and Warner Bros, the same people behind the new Mortal Kombat game, so you'll see some blatant similarities in gameplay.

85

Insane fun

Avesomeofthat13 | April 15, 2014 | Review of Hitman: Absolution - Professional Edition

This game reprises the role of Agent 47, the infamous assassin from the original Hitman game series. You take on a completely original story, continuing on vaguely from the previous game - with all new sets of kill moves and finishing techniques.

Definitely worth buying!

60

They've improved ultimate team, but that's it...

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of FIFA 13

As I said in my FIFA 12 review, between each year the actual differences in the game are minor. In FIFA 13 they've improved the graphics slightly, improved ultimate team and changed the impact engine slightly. Plus they've given us one more ball colour. It offers the same functions as FIFA 10,11 and 12; while adding a few newer players to keep up to date with current standings - which is a waste to just produce one game. They should make one FIFA game and regularly update it, instead of releasing an annual game with a few minor fixes. I enjoy FIFA games, so I can't complain - the only reason I buy them is because the servers for the previous games get shut down once a newer game comes out.

69

It's just another football game...

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of FIFA 12

As much as I enjoy playing FIFA games, not much changes between each year. The most that's happened so far, is the impact engine is more precise and they've given the player more ball colours to choose from - whoopee do. I enjoy the aspect of playing a football game, and controlling a player and team, but I don't really think the next game in line should be classed as a game - they're just upgraded models of the previous game with more colours and slightly improved anti-aliasing. Either way it's still enjoyable.

73

Total War games are good, but...

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2

I would have to say its not the best game the Creative Assembly have made in the Total War series, but its better than some seem to give credit for. At the same time, I don't agree with everyone handing out 5/5 and dismissing the complaints of others. Steam isn't a perfect platform to use it on and I sympathise with those out there who are unable to get good download limits who are then effectively forced to download it despite going out and buying the disk version, but by and large I've had no major issues with Steam; its easy to set up and use and a convenient place to get your games. The soundtrack and art style are excellent and the battle AI, both in land and sea battles, took me by surprise; of all the Total War games, it has the best land battle AI, a significant improvement over that of Empire and Napoleon, especially in siege battles, which was the Achilles heel of the previous games. I've watched the AI pull of some spectacular tactical coups, often working its ways out of well thought-through strategies and even overcoming superior numbers or better quality troops through careful management of its forces. Naval engagements are much better, as there is much more strategy required and it doesn't come down to who has bigger ships/guns. I feel though that ultimately, the real weakness of the game is the campaign AI and indeed the whole way the campaign works. Its a breathtaking map when you first see it, but I've been deeply disappointed by way the campaign works. The AI is rather consistent on all but the hardest difficulties and enjoys unfair advantages over the player on all difficulties such as suffering no unrest in newly-conquered provinces. The realm divided mechanic makes late campaign play ridiculously hard and unpleasant and put me off playing another campaign. Unless you can expertly carve your way across the country and win every battle you fight, you are likely to fail before the campaign time-limit expires. Like the last few games in the series, the pace of the campaign is mandatory aggressive and the AI still completely uncooperative, willing to betray you at a moment's notice, even when it is disadvantaged and unwilling to accept even generous terms, making unrealistic demands when it is not in a position of strength. To date I've had tremendous problems with multiplayer and I've still not had a session that didn't end in connections failing, despite having a strong connection.

Overall its an above-average game, but the key area (for me), the campaign, still hasn't been improved compared to the previous games.

89

Phenomenal

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Atlantis 2

It is not possible here to describe how great Atlantis 1 and 2 are, but let's just say that I have been buying everything around and these adventures beat everything else. The music alone for a start is delightful, the graphics really bring you to Atlantis and new universes, the realism and story lines are really impressive. It is very simple, you only wish to live in the game and forget going to work. When I had installed this game and did my first test run, I could feel my heart starting to beat faster, and I felt excited at the prospect of many hours in front of the PC, which I have not felt for a long time. The actual game has the same basics as Legacy of Time. You move around in different worlds, looking for clues to take you further. You will find different pieces to complete the puzzle and it is not a game that you buy, play for two hours and then have to start again. This game will last you for a long time.

100

Great game, well worth it

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Burnout Paradise: The Ultimate Box

Burnout does exactly what it says on the tin and indeed takes you down to paradise city, providing you with exquisite graphics and bags of fun once in the race stages of the game.

Being a big Burnout fan, it was inevitable that I would make this purchase, only to find a different style to the way the game is played, almost creating an adventure for you to find the races and other types of mini-games such as hitting all the barriers around the city and performing stunts.

What would really put me off a Burnout game however is a poor soundtrack. This game did not let me down. Music from Alice In Chains',Airbourne', The Pigeon Detectives' and of courseGuns N' Roses' was enough to decide to myself that it is a great all round racing game, simply looking for new routes for it's predecessor games.

I would have like many other reviewers have suggested wanted a traditional style Burnout which attracted me to the Burnout franchise in the first place, as it is all action, action, action. However it is a very good racing game, with plenty of game play to attract you to the `boost-based franchise'.

Graphics: 9/10

Sound Effects: 7/0

Fun: 8/10

Overall: 8/10

77

Last Gen game

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of WRC FIA World Rally Championship

This game is in a bit of a time warp - the graphics are very last-gen-console level, and the gameplay is lifted from Colin McRae circa 2003. In fact, for comparison I fired up a copy of Colin McRae 04 (released in 2003) on my old original xbox. It's uncannily similar to WRC 2010 - the graphics are of a similar quality, and the whole structure of the game is remarkably similar. WRC 2010 is a little more arcadey than CM04 in terms of the driving skill required to do well.

Now don't get me wrong, I enjoyed CM04 and actually while Codemaster's more recent Dirt titles are in a completely different league in terms of graphics and playability, the straight-laced approach of the old CM games can be quite enjoyable. And so it is with WRC2010 - it's a really simple little game but still good fun and I find myself playing it regularly. You kind of get used to the graphics after a while, even if it feels odd at times to be playing a game that must be using a small fraction of the PC's power.

86

Movie to game, very good!

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Back to the Future: The Game

Ah Back to the future the game, a fantastic cinematic experience. I think that Back to the future the game could easily of been the next film, actually as I recall Universal were considering it before they turned their attention to the gaming scene. But I digress..

Back to the future takes place after the events of the original trilogy and plays out like a bttf film part. Telltale have thankfully revised the old click and point action and adventure game style so the gameplay in bttf is exactly like that of Sam and Max.

We begin the game during the events of the first film at the twin pines mall which I think was a great way, to get people back in to the bttf mood. The Delorean jumps in to time with Einstein however something is wrong. The car doesn't reappear and consequently because of a problem with time, Doc disappears out of existence...

Marty wakes up in his bedroom and realises to his relief it was a dream, his mum reminds him that he is to meet His dad at Doc's garage. Now the game is over to you.

I thoroughly have enjoyed this gaming experience and I recommend it to any bttf fans but here is why I have only given it 4 stars.

Graphically the game isn't stunning by far but the cartoony 3D style of it, suits the bttf look and graphics alone don't make a game!

Sound wise all the familiar sounds are there, the delorean sounds as it should, the back to the future score is of course present, as well as various incidental music in bttf style. The voice acting is top notch too, Christopher Lloyd Claudia Wells, and Michael J Fox were the only original actors that reprised their voices, and even then Mr Fox and Claudia were both guest actors. However most of the voice actors for the other characters including any of the McFly family are all very convincing and I can't fault them at all!

Story wise this is where the game shines the most, the writers of the game really bring the characters and story to life, the relationship between Doc and Marty is really pushed to it's limits, and Telltale have created some great characters one of which is by far even more wicked than Biff! From the word go you really feel like you're in a back to the future adventure.

Gameplay... Sadly this is where the game is the weakest. As I said above Telltale have succeeded in creating an amazing back to the future cinematic experience, with a great story and characters, but when it games to gameplay I'm afraid it isn't much of a game at all. In fact the gameplay alone could get repetitive, it's too easy, puzzles are next to none existent and it has a hint system that tells you what to do. That takes away what little challenge this game has, and once you have finished it there's no real replay value at all.

Don't get me wrong It's a fantastic experience and story and you can tell most of the development went in to that aspect; and to great success, but it isn't really much of a game.

90

Afterlight is part of the trilogy!

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of UFO: Afterlight Cap

The difficulty (which from Internet searches affected a lot of users) was that the screen was the wrong size and the button to alter screen size was off the edge of the screen. An internet search and some perseverance should see the problem sorted.

Once into the game what do you get ? A squad based combat game with very great significant production and research elements. There's a decent enough tutorial that teaches you the basics of the squad combat but the production and research system is subtly different enough from other X-Com games (technically this isn't an X-Com game although apparently the team that created the original were responsible for it) to have taken me a long time to master it. In particular none of the team I think are originally deployed in the building that builds other buildings so until you spot this nothing gets built.

Character development is very significant. The main difference in this game from previous games is that there is no way to recruit new soldiers. If you lose any I anticipate that the game will make new soldiers available eventually but...

The game is a real challenge. All three Trilogy titles (Aftermath, Afterdark, Afterlight) are tricky at the outset when your squad is untrained, undermanned and poorly equipped. Other than three very nasty essential battles in Aftermath both Afterdark and Aftermath eventually had your team, if equipped and deployed correctly, enabled to massacre the opposition, sometimes without gaining a scratch. Afterlight is different in that I found that for a large section of the game getting your team healed to meet the next alien attack was a major challenge - the lack of any reinforcements being a major issue. You can build droids to join your team but until you develop armoured turrets they are ridiculously vulnerable. The battles remain very hard indeed many hours into the game. Some of your opponents are very difficult to hit, resistant to many forms of damage, and are armed with highly lethal weapons that they shoot accurately. Production is also an issue because until your team develops the capability to use your main enemy's weapons a good 80% of production time goes in producing ammunition and grenades.

I was going, with a spoiler alert, to give detailed tips but the game's surprises and developments should be enjoyed without spoilers. Just to say (1) Research heavy armour, produce it, and train your soldiers to use it as soon as you can. You won't survive long without it (2) Capture and exploit all unoccupied terrain as soon as you can (3) Be careful about swapping crews on your construction vehicles otherwise you'll end up with a partially manned vehicle that never returns to base. The only way to select build operations is to click on each zone individually - easy enough when you have six territories - not so easy when you have 40+ (3) Always have a production line running and researchers working on a project (although swapping team members out to train when you have enough is a good idea) (4) It is better to lose one territory that one experienced soldier.

Have fun. And kill the alien scum.

93

Wonderful

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of BioShock

What a wonderful game I loved the story line very unique compared to other games that I have played. This game is one to keep and play again very eerie at times. I won't go in to the storyline as I believe it will spoil it for others who may or will purchase this game. I love the sequels, but this game is what got me into the Bioshock games, it really is great! I recommend this to anyone, as it is amazing.

96

I think its decent

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Aliens: Colonial Marines

This game doesn't deserve all the rubbish reviews it has got, I would recommend any alien fan to get this game it has a great campaign with a good story to tell. the multiplayer is great but it did take some time to get used to, playing as the alien in multiplayer could of been handled better, the graphics I would give a 3.5 out of 5 because there not great but not bad, sound 5 there taken straight from the movie, gameplay 4 marine is very good and takes time to get used to the alien. Don't get put off by bad reviews.

94

great

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Aliens vs Predator Classic 2000

From the verity 'game for games sake' Aliens vs Predator 2 is one of the best, it has it all, 3 species, many, many weapons and lethal ways to kill, an attractive story line, somewhat straight forward but very entertaining missions and for the first time a game which scared the hell out of me! But Aliens vs Predator 2 is not just a game for me, the reason i hold it in such high esteem is because it has stayed so faithful to the films. The movement of aliens, predators and marines is all very well structured, the graphics are impeccable, and the sound is incredible. All sound in the game, across all 3 species are EXACTLY the same as off the films, the pulse rifle, motion sensor, hissing of the alien and the strange sounds of the predators machinery have been mastered perfectly to fit the game.

The single player is great, the marine is incredible, its like your thrown straight into the film, from beginning to end you will catch yourself hugging the walls and topping your clip up in the (frequent) event that the corridors will fill with Xenomorphs and predators, it is simply thrilling and is an experience which is truly great, especially if you are a film lover.

The aliens single player is interesting as much as entertaining, be an alien, from face hugger to chest burster to a fully grown perfect killing machine! You can run at super human speed, leap across the screen to an innocent marines throat, and scale the walls and ceilings of the game to find the perfect alien behaviour, something which has kept youths pondering through and since the alien trilogy (+ resurection). Finally the predators single player mode is very fun, his main weapon is that he can cloak and attack with surprise, he battles against his former foe Rykov, a mad ex marine and his army of corporates to retrieve his lost mask, and ultimately to claim his bare skull, into his collection.

The multiplayer truly is a great experience, barricade tunnels with marines equipped with mini guns and flame throwers or patrol the overhanging air vents with a xenomorph, there is so much scope for creativity when playing with 3 species and up to 20 players across many multi player maps that it is made the best game currently for the PC. Not as scary as the single player but way more entertaining, make friends and fight to see which is the superior of the three species.

All in all a GREAT game, my favourite for the past year, the choice of three species across single and multiplayer gaming will keep you entertained for a long, long time, i guarantee, for game lovers a must, for the film lovers it is epic.

87

It's good, but..

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Defiance

I got this on launch and battled to get to play the game for the first week. 3 Patches later and it works well. Great fun but once you have completed it twice like me and you've tired out the will to chase Ark falls it gets boring real quick. The guns all look the same and have the same stats with the various colours having a few extras added on. Just not enough to keep the interest up. I really like how other players can help you on mission (10,000+ other players) Don't have to follow the campaign Really worth £20 But it took me a while to put the game on my Xbox (probs cos I have the worlds lostest Internet lol) And when there too many players at a arkfall the game can become laggie but its only happened to me once

85

So good!

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Beat Hazard

Absolutely amazing, especially with the bonus exclusive 20-music track to enhance your game play! Its such a good game that uses your music collection to it's fullest. Worth buying - it's a good timewaster.

80

Hugely Entertaining

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Painkiller: Black Edition

Painkiller is back. This edition includes both the original award-winning game and its expansion pack “Battle out of Hell”. Now is the time to discover the thrilling game acclaimed by all journalists and players during the last major international tournaments. Pure adrenalin and awesome graphics: the perfect adrenalin shoot of this year!

Features: A fantastic single player mode: over 30 levels of fierce action, dozens of different enemies in completely unique and varied environments. Even greater graphics, thanks to the PAIN engine and the Havok 2.0 physics engine: destroy hyper detailed enemies & blow everything up. Adrenalin rushed gameplay: non-stop action, hundreds of enemies to be decimated and gigantic final bosses.

90

Will you survive the night?

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Don't Starve

This game is brilliant, but infuriating. I survived a grand total of 3 nights, I didn't even grow a beard. Its very creative and requires initiative to survive, you have to keep a light burning the whole night to repel the other enemies - it's got a nice theme and it's pretty good though.

90

Mindless fun

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Dead Rising 2

This game is so much fun, even though it is basically a mindless killing game. The graphics are great and the coop is awesome, with an entertaining levelling up system and so many weapons to create, you'll have hours of fun. This is the cheese of cheeses, the game of games - it tops off the zombie genre and puts a mass of cherries on it. It's definitely something I recommend.

90

Not half bad...

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Duke Nukem Forever

This game is so wacky and odd, that the story is hard to follow. It cuts and chops between different areas, with little detail on what's happening. I love the comedic aspect to this game, and the idea that Duke is a 'roid raged' Arnold Schwarzenegger with an attitude. The game isn't brilliant, and I expected more from it - which was due to all the hype the adverts were causing. It's fun, but there's no story to follow and mindless killing can become boring after a while.

90

Movement and combat - Excellent!

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Assassins Creed III

The movement and combat in this game surpasses that of the previous games. After AC: Revalations, I wasn't sure I wanted to play Assassin's Creed games any more; which was due to the poor story and the extension of Ezio's life that wan't needed. Everything has been redefined in Assassin's Creed 3, and both movement and combat are amazing. You now have more fluid movement over objects, and the ability to cut through peoples' houses is very clever. The combat is also more fluid and counter attacks are easier to perform. All in all, this game has a better story and a better soundtrack than any of it's predecessors. Brilliant!

95

Better than the first Assassin's Creed

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Assassin's Creed 2 Deluxe Edition

This game is so much better than the first Assassin's Creed. There are more acrobatic moves available and the combat is more fluid. The graphics look brilliant and the story is more involving! I love the Italian renaissance theme and idea of involving Leonardo DaVinci is brilliant. I prefer this to some of the later sequels and I really do enjoy this game even in 2013.

85

It's great, but a little cack-handed

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Sniper Elite: Nazi Zombie Army

This is an awesome follow-up game to Sniper Elite V2, and has some brilliant coop modes. The graphics are brilliant, the multiplayer is very entertaining and the zombies are bloodier! The downfall for this game is that the zombie theme is fast paced, and the actual game itself is meant to be sneaky, so trying to take out hordes of zombies with a sniper at short range is pretty difficult. It is definitely something to try and I think its absolutely brilliant!

89

Masterpiece - if Mass Effect had met Splinter Cell

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Alpha Protocol

This game feels like a very creative merge of Mass Effect and Splinter Cell, due to the tactical espionage theme and the Mass Effect style graphics and controls. You can chat with the AI and by choosing different dialogue options, you can alter the storyline of the game. This can result in the next objective being a high velocity, explosive gunfight, or it can result in a sneaky approach to a target. This is a very nice game and for £9.99 you can't go wrong!

70

Better than the first

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Two Worlds II Cap

This game has some pretty decent graphics and easy controls, but some of the classes are overpowered. The game introduced multi-player modes to it, yet you only have a small selection of maps, and the other players are very high levels - meaning that when you start out online, you're going to get killed a lot. The game feels a bit clunky, its rather hard to play if you're not the magician, who is incredibly overpowered. I like the aspect of the game, but I don't think its been portrayed correctly.

90

MAX IS BACK!

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Max Payne 3

I have awaited the return of Max Payne for a very long time. This game is a brilliant addition to the series and is a masterpiece of a game. Well done Rockstar! The graphics are amazing, the slow motion is great and the bullet wounds are so realistic! I absolutely love this game and cannot wait for more DLC for it!

90

Most advanced in the series

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of The Sims 3

The Sims games have always been a personal favourite of mine, I've always loved being able to build my own home and family - especially with the new addition of being able to travel around the map! I've got a little family of super criminals living in a dirty looking mansion; while across the road their neighbours are all the basic perfect families! Brilliant fun.

90

Classic. I love it.

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Columns

This was one of the first games I played on my MegaDrive and I must say; it's 2013 and I still play it today! It's simplistic, it's not violent or gory, it's calm and vivid and is a nice reminder of how games used to be. This is a great game and is very playable - I can be sat there playing for hours, totting up my score and trying to keep the columns as low as possible - it's brilliant. In some ways I prefer it to the more modern games, purely because of it's innocence and simplicity.

100

Combining GTA and Assassin's creed into a WW2 game

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of The Saboteur

This game is essentially Assassin's creed placed in World War 2, but instead of Ezio (an Italian assassin with an arsenal of renaissance weaponry), you are Sean (an Irish resistance member of WW2, carrying an arsenal of wartime weaponry). Just like GTA you can drive cars, kill pedestrians and cause havoc in the streets, and just like Assassin's Creed, you can climb buildings and leap incredible distances. It is a great combo of the two games and has a really gripping story - it's an incredible game!

90

Love the dynamic maps

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 3

Best multiplayer i have ever experienced, although it is hard to get to grips with at first. Also being team player is necessary; unlike many other fps games, where you're a single soldier who takes on everyone else - which gives it a competitive edge. I like the fact that EA have made the online passes free too, as you can buy a console version of the game without having to purchase the online pass. But that's not really applicable on PC anyway! It is very good, and a very competitive online game.

80

Tower defence redefined!

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Sanctum 2

This game has the aspects of a first person shooter, and a tower defence game, whilst upholding a free-running style of Mirror's Edge. I like the aspect of the game, but I think it could be better, possibly more types of mini-guns etcetera. The cooperative play is also very nice, requiring a more strategic approach to the game. It has very nice graphics though.

90

Black Ops just got better

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Call of Duty: Black Ops II

I bought this game thinking it would just be another "Call of Duty" game, but it really is different! The game is much more interesting and has a more delicate and exciting campaign set in the future - plus the game has much more to offer in terms of multi-player. The game really is more involving and has a better game engine than the original Black Ops.

85

Love it, prefer it to MW2

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Call of Duty: Black Ops

The game is very good, however in retrospect, it is pretty much the same as Call of Duty: World at War - except a different scenario. The game has a very long story, which is slightly tedious and can be irritating at times. The multi-player is the best aspect of Black Ops and is definitely something to try! I like this game, but I feel it's just another Call of Duty branded game.

80

Creative, but...

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Towns

This game has the identity to become something great, however the current customisation (or different types of blocks) isn't as large as I'd like. It's great don't get me wrong, but it could be so much better - it's just not intricate enough. I love the aspect of being able to craft houses and differentiate between different levels and using water, and the map is rather large. It is good, but there's more that needs to be added to it.

90

Classic fun on a newer engine

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Worms Revolution

I personally love this game, due to all of the aspects that have continued throughout the Worms series of games - the over-the-top violence, the comedic values (which are enhanced by the voice of Matt Berry) and the general chaos each move can cause! It has a very nice engine and it really is great - especially with the addition of dynamic water! The only real issue is that if you have a slightly slow internet connection, the time between your move and your opponent's move may be delayed by around 5 or 6 seconds. Other than that its amazing!

90

This is great, especially for an indie game

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Tiny & Big: Grandpa's Leftovers

When I first got this, I didn't know what to think - I was presented with a character that could cut rock and attach rockets to it, which is pretty darn cool! It's puzzle based in a way, as you have to use your laser cutter to progress through the level, and use your rockets to move heavier objects. I did however find that the story is very short, about 6 missions I think, that were reasonably long - I think I completed the game in about 5 hours. I was captivated by the graphics - it has the cartoon like feel of borderlands, except it's less anti-aliased and jagged, which is okay, but I like a sharper image. It is genuinely very good.

95

Breathtaking, good old Lara

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider: Underworld

After purchasing the newest Tomb Raider game, I often like to reminisce and come back to a classic - this game. This is the most modern in the original Lara Croft series and so has a nice era and feel to it, especially when you want to take a break from Lara's roots in the newest game. The movement and jumping animations are truly astounding and the story itself is great - very "Nordic" themed, which suits Lara well! If this had multi-player, then it would be absolutely amazing.

90

Amazing, like the Sims if it were a dictatorship!

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Tropico 3

This game stands out from the crowd and has pulled out all the stops. Not only do you get to rule over your own city, but you have to protect it from other nations; while keeping your own people happy. This can be incredibly tricky if your low on cash, as people start to leave and you're left in poverty with a small workforce. Once you're up and running, you can begin to develop and protect your city - fighting off more developed areas, like USSR and the US. Great fun!

95

Best in the series - muy bien (very good)

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Tropico 4

This has got to be one of the most involving city building games to date. Take on the role of El Presidente, beloved president of many tropical islands. I especially like the role natural hazards play in the game, whereby you could have an amazing town, that's almost first world ready, but then a tornado or earthquake will destroy it, leaving tarnishes of the original city. It really is inspiring, and has caused me to take up playing Tropico 3 again!

75

Loving the bullet-time

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Sniper Elite V2

This game has redefined the sniping aspect of many games, due to the 'bullet-time' slow motion effect that occurs when you snipe. I especially like the intricacy and detail put into the organs for enemies, where a bullet impact will result in an organ from that area being punctured. The story is very nice too, especially with the addition of the "Kill Hitler" downloadable content. The only aspect I dislike is the multi-player, which could have been so much more.

75

Well themed

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Risen 2: Dark Waters

This game reminds me very strongly of the "Pirates of the Caribbean" movies, but that's probably just due to the pirate theme. This game is genuinely very good, and easy to play - providing you don't die. If you do have the unfortunate opportunity to die whilst playing, you'd better make sure you save! Every time you die, you don't respawn, or get healed - you have to load a save where you're not dead - so if you've pillaged a town and been killed just outside by a monkey - you're going to have to reload a save from when you were alive. I do enjoy the combat in this game, as everyone you meet seems to have some sort of weapon they can equip, weather it be large or small and will attempt to fight you with it if you initiate combat with them. The story tends to drag on a little bit, but isn't quite as good as the original story from Risen 1. It's a very enticing too - taking advantage of the large plot of available land to make some very decent towns.

100

Valve's best games are all together!

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Half-Life 2: The Orange Box

This is truly amazing. Team Fortress 2, Portal, Half Life 2 + Episodes 1 and 2. All of these games are Valve's greatest achievements, their best sellers have come together for an awesome bundle! Individually these games are great, but to see them in a bundle like this is brilliant. Team Fortress 2 is one of the most exhilarating online shooters I have ever played, and despite it's age, it is still teaming with servers and players - there's in excess of around 200 servers still up and running. It's fast paced action with non-stop comedy violence. Portal is an amazing puzzle based first person game. It incorporates the 'portal gun' which creates portals required to solve puzzles. It's hard to describe, but the game is very reliant on physics, which it uses to it's advantage - I recommend this game to anyone who has just discovered Valve. Half Life 2 + Episodes are also amazing. They revolutionised Valve, without it, Valve wouldn't be half as popular as it is today! It has a great story too, one that's managed to span across the title and 2 spin-off sequels! I really love this game and it is a wise investment - fantastic fun. Well done Valve. Well done.

98

Still great and its 2013

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas

This was a turning point in my gaming life. The first time I played this game, I looked into the game selection Rockstar had to offer and I was not disappointed. Everything you could ever want from an open world game is in here - especially if you have a mini gangster inside you that wants to be let out! This game is one of the reasons people are so hyped for any games Rockstar say they'll release - especially if its open world. That's why this game is so successful - Rockstar has a gift for making open world games. This game is involving and humorous at the same time. You take on the roll of CJ, who has returned to the 'hood', to find only 3 of his homies left - you spend the game re-recruiting to your gang, taking out anyone who stands in your way. You have an array of vehicles too. This stretches for BMX bikes to basic cars, to large vehicles, to aircraft vehicles and even a jet-pack! This is so much fun and I honestly recommend this game to you.

85

Love it, better than Forza

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of DiRT 2

I absolutely love this game, mostly the water and mud effects you gather whilst driving. You have a vast array of cars, hatchbacks, buggies and sand dune vehicles ready to destroy on the courses. You can watch as your vehicle accumulates dirt round the tracks, and loses it as you go through water - which I think is pretty nice. I don't really enjoy generic racing games, but this is one of those games that stands out from the rest. Even the menus are interactive - you walk around to choose your selection - for instance you walk out of your trailer and select the car to begin racing. It's the little things that make this game great.

95

A masterpiece - Romero would be proud

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Dead Island

If this was a George Romero film, it would make billions in the box office; and as a game it really is amazing. The story is fluid and concise - it makes very clear sense; and has a dramatic feel that can get pretty intense at moments. The combat and enemy damage is truly remarkable. When you 'club' a zombie with something blunt, like a pipe, you have a chance to bruise the skin, break the skin, or break the bone. With something sharp, like a knife, you can break the skin, break the muscle tissue, or remove the limb. You can see a lot of work has gone into the zombies and their limbs, as there is such intricate detail when putting them out of their misery. My main concern with the game is that the boss fight is pretty poor. I'm not going to ruin the story, but let's just say that the boss is a little bit easy. Apart from that, this is a wonderful experience - in an apocalyptic, blood surged way.

50

Not my cup of RPG

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Two Worlds: Game of the Year

Originally I bought this because I thought it would be like Oblivion. I was wrong. I had already played Oblivion before buying this; which I believe is why I am so cynical about Two Worlds. In my eyes, it's a short sighted clone of Oblivion (obviously it isn't, but its how I see it). My reasoning comes from the poor movement and actions in this game. When you jump, your player moves into the air before doing the jumping animation - which doesn't look great. Plus movement is a little jumpy and haphazardly, not great in my eyes. I never actually got to do any combat, because the movement and inventory menu really did look and feel very poor. I think you have to be an avid fan of RPG games to enjoy this - so you should try it, but don't expect much.

90

Arguably one of Valve's best games

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Counter Strike: Source

This game redefined first person shooters for me, and I don't regret buying it. It changed the way I played games, this is my favourite shooter going - screw Call of Duty and Battlefield - a HD remake of this would sell ten-fold. It truly is one of those defining moments of gaming history - it got me into gaming. Another good point to consider with this game, is that the original Garry's Mod modification used this and Half-Life 2 while it was still in it's humble beginnings. The physics sandbox game we all know and love wouldn't be here without this game. It was, and still is, amazing.

100

Unmissable!

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Company of Heroes

This game is one of the reasons I play RTS games. I originally started RTS gaming when I played Halo: Wars and I really enjoyed it, so I picked up Company of Heroes. I don't look back. This game brings World War 2 to your computer in a mirage of unmissable RTS action. Most strategy games require repeated shooting of a building to take it down. Not this one. You can plough through it with a tank, and watch as the building dynamically collapses. You also have the ability to upgrade your units; giving them better weapons, or better suppression tactics - as if you really were commanding an elite squad during the war. With a tonne of maps and four different countries to play as, you really can't go wrong. Absolutely stunning.

90

Lost for words

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Borderlands

I have had Borderlands for a year and a half, and almost every time I turn on my computer, I end up playing it. It has everything a first person shooter should have; character customisation, levelling, weapons, and upgrades. It has very cartoon-like graphics, which when paired with anti-aliasing and anisotropic filtering looks brilliant! I bought this for the cooperative game-play, and I was not disappointed. The game tends to level the enemies in synchronisation with the game host, so someone who joins the game may be fighting enemies that are higher or lower levels than themselves. This isn't too much of an issue, as the game will adjust the experience points accordingly. It's definitely a game I'd recommend you buy and I assure you won't ever look back!

80

Almost like a Monty Python movie

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare

This game, in essence, is a Monty Python movie. It has the gore, the battles, and the humour! Now I love hack and slash games like this one, and the medieval theme completes it, I believe a lot of my enjoyment is a result of being able to play as realistic medieval soldiers, like knights and archers. It has a very comedic edge about it too; as during game-play you can taunt other players - which results in your character screeching at another player in a strong British accent! Most notably "That's a pretty big sword - you compensating for something?", which always makes me chuckle. Another thing to watch out for are the bar fights, which are absolutely amazing - you get drunk and fist fight other players around the local tavern! My only notable issue with this game is setting up a private server, for just yourself and friends. It isn't documented very well on how to set it up, so I had to use online video tutorials to do so. Other than that, this is an amazing game!

100

Awesome little game!

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts

This game is at the top of my favourite side-scrolling games, which is odd because I don't really like side-scrollers. Now I love the originality this game has to offer; and considering it's playability, buying it was a smart move. Playing online is a breeze; not only is there virtually no lag, and virtually no latency issues between players, but the game doesn't feel difficult online - there's nowhere for people to 'camp' or spawn kill and matches are very quick. Personally I think this game stands out very well from other side-scrolling games; with it's top-notch graphics and objective based game-play. One fault I have found with the game is that if you're playing on a low specification computer, then it does tend to have a low frame rate (even though its 2D). Thankfully my rig is pretty good and runs this like a charm! It's worth every single penny.

95

Arkham City meets Grand Theft Auto

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs

Sleeping Dogs is an incredible game that incorporates the open world styling of Grand Theft Auto, and the combat efficiency of Batman: Arkham City. As a fan of fighting games and open world games alike, this game brings the two together in an amazing way - the open world aspect draws me in so much, and the combat system is just pure excellence. In Sleeping Dogs, not only do you utilize an array of martial arts, but you have access to handful of police and gang weapons, which make the game very interesting. The game features an upgrade system, for both your police identity and your gang identity - giving you around twenty different upgrades in total. You also have a 'face' identity - which lets you unlock various clothing and 'flash' merchandise to show off. I literally love this game, and highly recommend it!

100

Eye in the sky

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Bioshock Infinite

Bioshock Infinite is easily a strong contender for Game Of The Year 2013, it has an enticing story, amazing combat system and an explosive lineup of powers to use. The story has a delay before you get into any combat, but the journey you take in the introduction is brilliant. Usually I dislike games that have a slow build-up, yet there's something enticing about Bioshock's introduction. Throughout the game, you'll see that your 'partner in crime' Elizabeth is of great use to you, not only passing you the occasional item-drop that she finds, but she also points out tactical locations. Her ability to open tears makes the game so much more involving, giving you the ability to change reality as you see fit - which is a brilliant tactic during combat. The soundtrack to this game is incredible too, but I couldn't name any of the songs. They really add to the perspective of the game, drawing you in at tense moments - which suites the atmosphere of the game so well. I can't express how much I enjoy this game, and I don't regret buying this game! Just saving up to buy the downloadable content for it now, which also looks awesome!

100

Over the top, boozed up, naughty action!

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Saints Row: The Third

The "Saints Row" series of games are known for their crazy missions and over the top fun, but this third installment tops it off. The only way I can describe this game, is to compare it to Grand Theft Auto IV, take away every sane memory you have of it, screw a cop chase - take the helicopter. Who needs a motorcycle, when you have a rocket fueled, high tech rocket-bike?! This is wacky, pumped up, ludicrous action that puts everything out of perspective. Cooperative modes on this game are awesome too, not only can you both partake in the crazy missions this game has to offer, but you can also fight waves of zombies, mascots and gimps in the all new "Whored Mode". Now who wouldn't want that? Character customization is incredible. Screw jeans and a t-shirt, why not wear a hot dog costume, or dress as a giant bottle of beer? Better yet, you could remove all of your clothes and set about causing mayhem in Steelport. With an overabundance of downloadable content for this game (in excess of around 15 items), including three all new additions to the story line and even more items to customize your character, you just can't go wrong!

90

Bethesda's done it again!

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Nexway

Skyrim is the latest game in "The Elder Scrolls" franchise, and possibly the most exciting one too. To start, the map is huge on this game, and I mean HUGE, it's 2013 and it is still one of the largest maps in any modern video game. The non-playing characters are more intricate too, with more dialogue options and side-quests available from every conversation. You'll find out so much just from talking to the local drunk! In all it's glory, this game is magnificent and one of the best role-playing games on the market - but it is not without it's flaws. For one, the textures have a tendency to blur out, as if there is not anti-aliasing, becoming a mass of grey on the character - however this has been addressed in game updates. Another flaw is the combat system. Blocking does very little on this game, and parrying an attack can be almost impossible using a keyboard and mouse; but never-the-less its a great game.

85

The fourth installment in an amazing franchise

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 5, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion

Bethesda has created an amazing lineup of games in "The Elder Scrolls" series, the best of which are Morrowind, Oblivion and Skyrim. Oblivion takes place in a similar medieval setting to the other games in the franchise, providing an enticing experience that is not to be missed. There's a huge range of quests; and a tonne of side quests to keep you entertained! The only downsides to this game are the glitches, such as missing limbs and bad textures (which can be fixed by re-launching the game) and there are a few parts of the story which can make the story feel a bit sluggish. Apart from that, this is an incredible game.

95

Absolute fun and mayhem

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 5, 2013 | Review of Just Cause 2

Everything you know about controlling vehicles in games goes completely out of the window in Just Cause 2. Mainly for the fact you can hang out of a helicopter, whilst keeping it stationary in the air! Everything a sandbox game needs is included in this game, and is a great way to bare the wait for GTA V and Saints Row IV. The story is rather long too, especially if you like to go hunting for collectibles, or scouting for weapon upgrades - it's over the top, on par with Saints Row 3's mayhem. It really is amazing.