Reviews by Azralynn

71

Good story game with some puzzles...

Azralynn | Jan. 24, 2014 | Review of Nihilumbra

As you play through the worlds of Nihilumbra, you gain colours to change the world around you. You need to solve the puzzles using the colours to progress through the story. The puzzles aren't overly complicated, and in some cases there was more than one way to progress through them. The graphics are fairly simple, but well done overall. The best thing about the game is definitely the narrative throughout the story. From start to finish, the narrative was my favourite aspect of the story, followed by the puzzles. It's a short game, but enjoyable nonetheless.

86

Overall great game, only one downside...

Azralynn | Jan. 24, 2014 | Review of Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons

It's a very touching adventure story. It has some puzzle aspects throughout the game, but none of them are very difficult, as the game is more about the story. The game auto-saves frequently, so you won't lose any immersion by having to save manually. It has really nice animation and backgrounds to help immerse you in the world as you live the story of Two Brothers.

One of the downsides of the game is that you really SHOULD use a controller instead of a keyboard. It's playable with a keyboard, but feels really, really awkward. The game also doesn't recognize PS3 controllers, so I had to change my drivers to emulate an xbox 360 controller. After that it worked perfectly. It was well worth the effort of setting it up though! Short and sweet, the game only takes about 3 hours, but it was 3 hours that I truly enjoyed.

78

Short and sweet

Azralynn | July 23, 2013 | Review of Q.U.B.E.

Overall, Q.U.B.E. is an enjoyable puzzle game. It offers some more complex features like gravity, rotating rooms, playing in the dark rooms, and painting balls. The puzzles themselves aren't that difficult, and there seems to be only one way to solve each puzzle. The gravity mechanic can become frustrating on a couple of the levels because of the twitch timing to make the blocks stop in the EXACT spot and if you miss, you have to start over. I did have fun playing minus a couple of the gravity levels, but I wish the game was longer.

73

Great Story, but the concept of "Choices" is a Little Misleading

Azralynn | July 22, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead

So, I'll start off by saying I loved the game throughout my entire first play-through. The characters, the story, and the dialog were great. The adventure was awesome - it's a point and click adventure style game, so there's a lot of cut scenes, which I enjoyed.

The idea of the choices was really appealing to me and I thought carefully for each decision that I made. However, after completing the game, I went back and started a new game, only to realize my decisions weren't as important as I had thought they would be, so much so that it wasn't worth completing a second time. The game is enjoyable, and well worth playing once. It was a worthwhile purchase, and I will for sure be buying the next one when it comes out.

75

Challenging Platformer with Pretty Graphics!

Azralynn | July 22, 2013 | Review of Giana Sisters: Twisted Dreams

Think back to the days where games were actually challenging, and it took some effort and practice to beat a game. That is Giana Sisters: Twisted Dreams! The game looks great, the music is well done, and most importantly the game is challenging! If you are looking for a game that is easy and will beat itself, this game is not for you. However, if you are looking for a game that will not only give you a challenge, but the sense of satisfaction when you finally beat each level, then this game is definitely for you! Don't worry though, the game eases you into the difficulty, as you become more familiar with the playstyle.

93

Great Adventure!

Azralynn | July 22, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider

This is the first Tomb Raider I've ever played, and I came in expecting a great adventure, and I was not disappointed at all. From start to finish, everything from the story, the atmosphere, and the characters were all amazing. I love exploring, and finding all the little relics and documents that add to the main story, and make you understand and care about the characters even more. I also really enjoyed the action - everything from jumping and climbing to sniping and brawling. This game has it all! There are also some puzzles to solve the side tombs, they were fun, but I wish those would have been more challenging. Overall though, a wonderful experience, everyone should play!

84

It's not perfect, but it's fun!

Azralynn | July 6, 2013 | Review of Magicka

The Good: This game gave me a lot of laughs. The characters and dialog in the main story are entertaining. Using whatever spells you want HOWEVER you want to is really great - you can make some pretty wicked combos once you get a feel for the spell buttons.

Playing single player was decent, but certainly there is a lot more fun to be had in co-op mode. The friendly fire, and the "accidentally" killing my friends in co-op mode was funny (but thank goodness for revive). The challenge modes are fun too, again, the co-op is more fun than the single player challenges.

The Bad: While I love the game, it does have it's flaws. Mainly, it can have some lag/stuttering issues on some PCs (even ones that more than meet the minimum requirements). These issues seem to be hit and miss though, so don't let them discourage you from trying this game because you might not even experience the bad!

68

Don't Expect Too Much...

Azralynn | July 6, 2013 | Review of Alan Wake's American Nightmare

After playing the original Alan Wake, I had high hopes for this stand alone DLC. To say the least, I was very disappointed. The feel and story that I loved in the original just wasn't there anymore. I actually found myself being bored with the "story" and it's repetition, and actually was glad when it was over.

I mean, it's not the worst game I've played, but it's certainly not anywhere near the best. Still, it's worth a play through if you have the time and are a fan of the franchise. Just don't go in expecting a whole lot, and you won't be as disappointed as I was.