Reviews by BlockAgent

60

Steathiness required. Entertaining and tough.

BlockAgent | April 14, 2014 | Review of Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Chaos Theory™

This game is an xbox classic. If you remember playing and loving the splinter cell games back then, you will love reliving it again on PC. The graphics are not so great since this was on the original xbox. The controls are clunky and this makes the game very tough. The mission elements tend to get a little repetitive after a while also. The environments are very different from mission to mission and the game will give you around 10 to 15 hours of gameplay your first playthough. So if you have fond memories of this game on the original xbox, pick it up on PC. If you are used to playing modern day games and have never played the older splinter cell games, you might be disappointed with this one (pick up Splinter Cell Blacklist instead).

71

An artistic and engaging game, but very short.

BlockAgent | April 12, 2014 | Review of Shelter

Shelter has a very unique and enchanting art design. Little bits and pieces you will notice while playing the game will make you smile. The gameplay is engaging and the controls work well. This game makes you truly worry about your badger babies. The game is very short though. The first time I played through it I beat it with 2 out of 5 babies surviving and it only took me 1.3 hours. The game runs smoothly but has some weird flickering sometimes between levels and at the ending scene where you see your desktop for a split second a few times. Odd, but it never crashes the game.

96

A wonderfully fun game!

BlockAgent | April 7, 2014 | Review of Castle of Illusion

This is a great game, especially so if you remember the original.

The levels are all fun and have no boring parts at all. The graphics are great and it runs very smoothly. This is a great game for both kids and adults. It is challenging, but not too hard. Kids will be able to progress in the game just fine. The game has unlockables such as outfits for Mickey and statues that you can build. Earning those things kept me coming back after I beat the story. My wife and I played this together by taking turns on the levels and had a blast.

It is well worth the purchase.

70

Not as bad as IGN and others rate it as, decently fun

BlockAgent | April 1, 2014 | Review of Afterfall Insanity Extended Edition

From the first moment you start playing this, it is apparent that the creators of this game took alot from Dead Space...alot. From the camera angle to effects, to even the "life guage is on your body". Alot was copied. Because of that, this game isn't that bad. The melee can be clunky at times but the graphics are good, the controls work well and story is decent. The voice acting is terrible though and little bugs here and there result in some unintentionally funny moments. The game made me jump a couple of times so that is a plus. Would I pay $40 for this game? No way. Would I buy it if it was on sale for much less and I had played through all of my other games? Yes!

73

Best played online, an intense but sometimes buggy experience

BlockAgent | March 22, 2014 | Review of Payday 2

As an owner of the first Payday, I knew what to expect from Payday 2. It is suspenseful, but should only be played online with others. The AI is pretty dumb, so AI teammates are terrible. Even the enemy AI can be pretty dumb. You will often find police standing right next to you, yet unable to see you. They sometimes walk through walls as well. The graphics are decent, but not great. The depth of field is better than any game I have ever played. My one wish for this game is that the robbery's and heists should be a little more realistic, but I guess that would make them less action packed.

The shooting and gameplay is what this game does well. The guns handle and fire convincingly real and you feel like you truly accomplished something when you successfully complete a heist. Unless you are just a fanatic about levelling up characters, you will probably play this game for a total of about 10-15 hours before you have played all of the missions and start to feel it getting repetitive. A good weeks worth of entertainment.

86

Scary but in a good way

BlockAgent | March 17, 2014 | Review of Dead Space (NA)

This game is wonderfully scary. The kind of scary that makes you creep slowly through the hallways in it and afraid of what could be lurking around every corner. It also is a blast during the action scenes. The graphics are great and the gameplay is great as well. Using v-sync, there is some lag in the controls, but using a keyboard and mouse instead of a gamepad makes the lag alot more bearable. A very fun game and recommended by me.

96

Another amazing racing sim by Simbin

BlockAgent | March 17, 2014 | Review of Race 07: WTCC

Simbin always makes amazing sim racing games and this one is no exception. This is a must have to any racing game fan's collection. Use a wheel and pedals for immersion into the experience. The graphics are great, the sounds are beautifully realistic and the game is programmed wonderfully with no glitches or crashes. I very highly recommend this and Simbin's other racing games.

97

A amazing racing sim that will get your heart racing

BlockAgent | March 17, 2014 | Review of GTR 2 FIA GT Racing Game

Everything from the sounds of the tires on the pavement to the switches on the dashes are perfectly realistic in this game. The cars handle like they would in real life and the racing is exciting! Graphics are very beautiful too. The racing is fun as is just tooling around in the cars doing donuts and listening to the engines rev to redline. Everything in this game is perfectly executed. Very highly recommend this to anyone who likes cars or racing.

96

A great, authentic vintage racing sim

BlockAgent | March 17, 2014 | Review of GT Legends

This game is alot of fun because of how realistic it is. I get alot of thrill racing down a strait with 20 other vintage cars all around me. The cars all handle as you would expect them to and everything seems correct and in-place. This game is a sim, so the handling and traction of the cars is very realistic. That makes this game impossible to play using a keyboard and very difficult, but doable, using a gamepad. This is a game made for pedals and a wheel. But that is the best way to enjoy it anyway. That really brings it to life. That said, the graphics are wonderful even by today's standards and this game will not disappoint any car nut.

96

An excellent, fun, and original game!

BlockAgent | Feb. 6, 2014 | Review of LA Noire The Complete Edition

I loved playing this game from the beginning to the end. Never did it get boring or repetitive. The story is great and very intriguing and begs you to keep playing to find out what will happen next. The controls are great as well. You can tell that Rockstar Games went the extra mile to make the games environment as historically accurate as possible. I actually learned alot about 1940's LA by reading the descriptions of the landmarks when I discovered them. I highly recommend this game to everybody.

65

Fun game, but losing a community/servers to play on

BlockAgent | Dec. 30, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 3 (NA)

I'll start off by saying that this game is alot of fun and addicting. Action packed gameplay that is alot of fun in multiplayer. I have had a blast playing over the past few weeks. The bad part is, there are not that many servers still up (around 30) and they all play the same 6 maps. There are about 20 maps in the game if you don't buy any of the expansion packs, so there are alot of maps you will never get to play at this point. Unfortunately, with Battlefield 3, you can't create your own multiplayer game without buying or renting a server, so you can't just create a game on any map and just explore it by yourself. If you don't see it in the game server list, you can't play it. Provided me about 2 weeks worth of off and on entertainment before I got bored with playing the same 6 maps over and over again. The game is excellent though, so that's disappointing.

87

Action packed with fun and interesting levels

BlockAgent | Dec. 19, 2013 | Review of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

When I played COD4, I was disappointed, but this game, MW2 is a different story. I enjoyed playing this game. The action was intense, the environments of the levels were fun and interesting and the story kept you engaged from beginning to end. I recommend this game to everyone who enjoys first person shooters. I fun time is to be had.

56

A realistic sim racer or an arcade racer?

BlockAgent | Dec. 9, 2013 | Review of Shift 2: Unleashed (NA)

I'll start off with the good...good graphics, great effects, wonderful car interiors, fast and fun gameplay. If you like the need for speed underground games or carbon, you will love this game. However, if you are looking for a realistic racer, this might not be the game for you. The bad...arcade-like handling, the overall attitude and drifting section of the game is very teenager boy-racer, the host of the game is very annoying and EA cheaped out on the sound and made most of the cars sound the same. The cars handle great with a 360 controller, but are almost undrivable with a racing wheel and pedal setup which futher shows that this game was not made to be realistic even though EA markets it to be.

75

Fun, but definitely made on a low budget

BlockAgent | Dec. 8, 2013 | Review of Lucius

Lucius is a fun game and unlike other games I have played. Without wanting to give anything away, you proceed the game by claiming souls for the devil as a child who is possessed. The ways in which you do this are both gruesome and creative. But sometimes the games low budget shows through. I noticed several graphical and programming glitches while playing. None of them affected the playability of the game however. Sometimes the game doesn't give you enough instruction or help on what to do or where to go. A little more instruction or a hint feature would have been nice. The graphics are ok, nothing special, but nothing bad. Overall a decent budget game.

78

Fun gameplay, challenging puzzles, a great adventure

BlockAgent | Sept. 22, 2013 | Review of Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons

This is a great adventure game, but good eye and hand coordination is needed....and rewarded. Controlling the 2 brothers can be a challenge at first, but once you get the hang of it, you will love this adventure. There are so many unique things in this game that you have not experienced in a game before. The story is great, the graphics are pretty, and the adventure is real. Pick this one up, but make sure you have a controller with 2 control sticks on it, such as an xbox 360 controller. Otherwise it will be much harder to play. The game does have the option for you to use a keyboard if you have no other choice.

87

Horrifying, but I love it!

BlockAgent | Sept. 17, 2013 | Review of Dead Space (NA)

This game gives you chills while you walk your character down the darkened halls of the space station. You aren't sure if you want to continue down the hall because you are afraid of what might be around the corner..but you can't help but look anyway. That's when this game grabs you and scares the heck out of you! The game is alot of fun because of that. The game has alot going for it, great graphics (even by today's standards), great sound effects and creepy music, fun gameplay and good voice acting as well. The controls and functions take a little bit to get used to, but then they are fine and become second nature. If you are looking for an intense game that will keep you creeped out and on the edge of your seat, treat yourself to this one.

81

Few games get my heart racing, this is one of them

BlockAgent | Sept. 17, 2013 | Review of Condemned: Criminal Origins

This game made me jump quite a few times. When you least expect it, a bad guy will sneak up behind you, or pop out of a stairwell and scare you half to death. This game's combat focus mostly on melee fighting and it does that fantastically. Usually in games, when you run out of ammo and have to fight with melee weapons you get a sense of dread because the experience of is so bad. But with Condemned, you will actually find yourself preferring to use a fire ax or a crow bar rather than a handgun or shotgun. The graphics are good, but are starting to show thier age. This game is a definite must buy if you remember when this game came out and wanted to play it, but never got around to it.

80

Fun game with lots to explore

BlockAgent | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Just Cause

So much to explore! This game has a story that is nice in length and does a good job of not being repetitive. Think of it as Grand Theft Auto set in an third world latin country and you will have a sense of it. Plenty of adventure to be had here.

98

Excellent racing simulator, perfect for any car guy.

BlockAgent | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of GTR Evolution

I love this game. The graphics are amazing, the physics dead-on perfect. I highly recommend a steering wheel and pedals for this experience, but it is still very playable with a gamepad. This is like the real deal. The cars, the tracks, the sounds, all are life-like and true to real life. Gotta pick this one up if you like cars or racing, or both.

98

Still to this day I can't stop playing

BlockAgent | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 2 Complete Collection (NA)

I love this game. Great graphics, great gameplay, great sound, great everything. I very much enjoy playing on single player with the bots. This game never gets old, stale and boring...never. Worth every penny.

65

Great pack of duke history

BlockAgent | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of The Duke Nukem Platformer Pack

Fun, challenging and chock-full of kicking alien butt! For the cheap price, it's totally worth playing these, especially Manhattan Project.

76

Fun game even if it didn't live up to the hype

BlockAgent | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Duke Nukem Forever

This is a Duke game through and through, make no mistake. A victim of too much hype prior to release, possibly. This game is very fun and humourous just like the original. Any duke fan will have a good time playing through it.

95

Great game, a blast to play!

BlockAgent | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Operation Flashpoint: Red River

This game looks great and plays wonderfully. I had an absolute blast playing through it. It is challenging, yet not overly hard on the normal difficulty setting. This is one of the few games where, for the most part, your AI squad mates actually are intelligent and help you fight the enemy. This game has exciting and never repetitive missions that you embark on. This game feels very realistic. Especially so in the viability of the enemy in the terrain and the amount of damage your character can take before being knocked down and needing medical care. I highly recommend this game to everyone.

87

Even better than the original

BlockAgent | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Shank 2

The equal to Shank took everything great about the original and made it even better. This was a very fun game to play through. The character unlocks and medals to earn kept me playing beyond the first play-through as well. I love the art design in this game.

74

Fun Little arcade-like button masher

BlockAgent | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Shank

This game is a fun brawler with great art design. It's challenging, fun and humorous. The action is non-stop and that makes me happy.

98

What can I say, fun in chaos.

BlockAgent | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto IV: Complete Edition

If you love the Grand Theft Auto series, you will love this game. With the original game and both expansions, you have alot of entertainment ahead of you. A blast to play through the story and a blast to just tool around the city causing trouble. This is a game you will be coming back and playing after beating it for the next 10 years. It takes everything great about the series, pumps up the graphics to a whole new level and never disappoints.

95

Beautiful graphics showcase...that's a great game as well!

BlockAgent | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Crysis Maximum Edition (NA)

This game was built as a graphical showpiece, that's very obvious from the very first scene of the game. But what's also obvious is that this is a great game. The gameplay is fantastic and fun. The objectives and story are never boring. Neither is the action. Its fun and hair-raising at times. I find myself going back and playing through this game again and again for, if anything, to go sight-seeing. A must for any gamer.

88

Great game with great new features

BlockAgent | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of BioShock® 2

First off, play the original first. You can play this without playing the first bioshock, but you won't truly appreciate #2 without having experienced #2. With that said, #2 takes all of the great elements of the first game, improves upon them, and then throws in new very cool features. Weapons, plasmids, the graphics, the level destructiveness, etc are all improved and freshened in this sequel. All the same great gameplay and storywriting skill are present in this one and that makes it another must have game for any gamer.

84

Great game that lives up to its legendary status

BlockAgent | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of BioShock (NA)

Bioshock is a game that immerses you in it's world. It gives you choices to make that you really are torn on what to do. From the period correct music to the visuals, it really draws you in. Only problem I had with the game is that at times it can become a little repetitive in it's gameplay. It is very fun gameplay though and the game concludes before it becomes overly stale. Great game that every gamer should have in thier library.

89

Great adventure game for those who are used to AAA games

BlockAgent | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of The Raven: Legacy of a Master Thief

As a player of alot of AAA games, I find adventure games hard to get into and enjoy because most are made on a low budget...and it shows. That's not the case with The Raven though. Great graphics, great scriptwriting, great gameplay, etc. This game is the AAA of the adventure genre. I bought this game for my wife and ended up loving it myself as well. Ran into 1 glitch that occurs in a single scene, but that's all. Otherwise, it's great.

87

Very fun mario kart style game

BlockAgent | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Sonic and All-Stars Racing Transformed

The game runs very smooth and is alot of fun to play. My wife and i enjoy playing 2 player split screen alot. The graphics look as good as promised and the everything from the sound effects to the tracks throw back to memories of sega past.