Reviews by Bobafett2k6

90

Simply brilliant.

Bobafett2k6 | Sept. 10, 2013 | Review of BioShock® 2

(this review is also on my Steam profile - Bobafett2k6)

The sequel to Bioshock is equally as brilliant. The story keeps you going and the huge array of weapons and 'plasmids' which are essentially powers that you can upgrade with the collection of Adam gives you an almost unending list of possible ways to dispose of the crazy wild eyed drug addicts of Rapture. There are lots of customisation options to change 'on the fly' as you pound through each area that will keep you busy just trying each combination of plasmids and weapons. The locations all look good and help to build a sense of atmosphere in the underwater city and there is also a large amount of different enemies to keep you on your toes. All in all it's just brilliant, if you don't own it, buy it.

85

What is it?

Bobafett2k6 | Sept. 6, 2013 | Review of Alan Wake

(review also on my Steam profile - Bobafett2k6)

I'm not sure what to call this, I wanted to say survival horror but it's not quite that, 3rd person action game? No, it's more of a psychological thriller. It's a brilliantly written, story driven gem of a game. It's presented beautifully, visually stunning and the audio kept the blood pumping for those moments in the game where I actually found myself panicking! The music between chapters is great too, especially the end credits. The developer Remedy Games have gone to the trouble of bringing this game to PC and have continually communicated with the community, updating it with several patches to date. The 2 DLC from console will also be included in your purchase (haven't played them but fully intend to)

Short version? Buy it, you won't regret it.

50

Worth a go.

Bobafett2k6 | Sept. 6, 2013 | Review of Aliens: Colonial Marines

(Review also on my Steam profile - Bobafett2k6)

Not a great game but as a fan of the Aliens franchise I enjoyed it. It's nothing too complicated, a run and gun shooter with a flimsy story and short campaign which I did in a rather relaxed 8-9 hours. You carry a huge arsenal of weapons to take on the aliens and Weyland soldiers but I stuck with the awesome sounds of the pulse rifle for best part of the campaign purely for nostalgic reasons. Visually it's ok, dark and grimy, tense and atmospheric at times but finds itself lacking with shoddy things like your allies teleporting from place to place. Enemy AI isn't up to mucheither with mindless standing about while you empty a magazine into them.

I haven't played MP, doubt I will as I rarely play any MP games.

Overall it's worth a run through for fans of Aliens. Would have been disappointed had I paid full price, wait for a sale.

100

Simply brilliant.

Bobafett2k6 | Sept. 6, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead

(review also on my Steam profile - Bobafett2k6)

Right, what can I say? As a fan of The Walking Dead TV series, I was looking forward to playing this game and bought it on sale once all of the episodes were released. I'm glad I did because waiting between each episode would have killed me, I enjoyed this so much!

I'm not normally a fan of this type of game but It's a brilliant adventure, I used the Xbox 360 controller and it worked seamlessly, the art style is great, the voice acting is great, the story had me immersed in it from the start and every decision has its consequences, to the point where lives depend on your decisions.

10/10 and easily one of the most enjoyable gaming experiences I've had in recent years.

80

Linear shooter.

Bobafett2k6 | Sept. 6, 2013 | Review of The Darkness II

(Review on my Steam profile - Bobafett2k6)

A short but enjoyable linear shooter with some interesting and different mechanics to set it apart from competitiors. The story is ok, nothing too complicated. The game's visuals aren't bad, the carnival level stood out as a particularly good looking place, all grimy and wrecked. The darkness inside of you has some pretty gory attacks, ripping peoples spines from them, and you can rip out their hearts to replace lost health. There are 4 talent trees, but didn't make a whole lot of difference to the game.

In summary, a short linear shooter with enough gore and nasty attacks to keep you interested the whole way through. Took me 7 hours.

66

Decent cover based shooter

Bobafett2k6 | Sept. 6, 2013 | Review of Spec Ops: The Line

(review also on my Steam profile - Bobafett2k6)

Cover based third person shooter, short campaign of 7-8 hours kept me entertained. Not much new, the usual array of weapons and some destructible cover. The setting is pretty nice looking, it's set in an abandoned Dubai that is overcome by sandstorms and the story ain't anything great. The cover mechanics can sometimes feel frustrating overall aren't bad.

All in all, it's worth getting on sale to kill a few hours.

75

A new take on XCOM.

Bobafett2k6 | Sept. 6, 2013 | Review of The Bureau: XCOM Declassified

(review also on my steam profile - Bobafett2k6)

An enjoyable 3rd person take on XCOM in the 1960's. It plays well with a good cover system and 'in battle' squad management system, there are plenty of abilities available as you and your men level up to keep battles interesting for the most part too. Visually it looks good, and there are a nice mix of locations to keep things interesting. Unfortunately the story isn't believable and feels a bit like it's been cobbled together to fit and the technology available right from the start just doesn't make any sense, laser turrets available in the 60's? And that's before you encounter the aliens. You'll find yourself up against sectopods and mutons from early on in the game which unfortunately has the side effect of making it feel a little repetitive later on. The battles do feel a bit staged as there doesn't seem to be any alien resistance between areas of the mission, it's more like moving between battle areas that are nicely set up with lots of cover options.

All in all it's a decent game and I feel that some of the reviews out there are a little unfair as it's not what you would expect from an XCOM game.

100

Fan pleaser!

Bobafett2k6 | Aug. 23, 2013 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Unknown

As a fan of the original XCOM games from so long ago, I expected so much from this game, and I got it.

It captures the feel of the original even with modernised gameplay and the ever present risk of death for your soldiers, and in this game death means death. The tactical turn based gameplay is brilliant, send your assembled team of soldiers with different classes (support, assault, sniper, heavy) up against many different types of alien enemies, watch for them flanking and always, yes always use overwatch as death comes quick in this game. Back to base and everything is there that you would expect from interceptors and engineering to the science labs. Get researching quickly to make use of captured technology and get your engineers working hard to replicate it. Hire soldiers and promote them based on previous battles, unlocking some very handy skills along the way. Don't mess up or the council for each nation will pull their funding, leaving you with less finances each month.

An absolute must for old fans and new players alike.