Reviews by CJV

92

Great fighting game

CJV | May 27, 2013 | Review of Super Street Fighter 4: Arcade Edition

This is probably the best fighting game on pc, we should really have more fighting games converted to pc, it's one of my favorite genres. I am not a fan of the previous titles in the series, but street fighter 4 really is a great fighting game and deserves to be played. There's not much else I want to say about this game, don't bother with the normal version of SF4, just buy this version instead. This one has a lot more characters, more attacks, gameplay tweaks and it is a better port than the last one (at least this one seems to run a lot better on my pc).

77

Competent plataformer with a lot of variety

CJV | May 27, 2013 | Review of Alice: Madness Returns (EU)

I have never played the prequel to this game and that may be why I didn't really care for the story. Like the story, the game has a dark tone to it but it plays like a colorful plataformer, where you have a lot of collectibles and hidden secrets. The game is in the most part a 3D plataformer with combat elements, but it has some sequences to mix things up a bit, like a scene where Alice is a giant and can smash the enemies or when you must control a doll's head. But what sets the game apart is it's beautiful art, each level has a particular style that makes them enjoyable to explore and prevents the game from feeling repetitive. And for a 12 hour campaign, avoiding repetition is kinda of important.

86

Great retro game with a Legend of Zelda feel to it

CJV | May 27, 2013 | Review of Anodyne

Anodyne is very simple in terms of design, there are only two actions buttons, one to attack (or interact) and another to jump. It really reminds of the Legend of Zelda games I used to play on my gameboy, except in this one there are no new item per dungeon or item oriented puzzles. Expect an handful of dungeons and towns to explore, and also some secrets and collectibles.

If you don't care about collecting all the cards and discovering secrets the game is short (about four hours long), but even so it is pretty enjoyable and if you have any interested in this kind of adventure game then I really recommend you give this one a try.

81

Gorgeous combat plataformer

CJV | Feb. 16, 2013 | Review of Dustforce

Dustforce is a 2D side-scrolling plataformer with some combat elements and absolutely gorgeous visuals. Is one of those games that it is easy to pick up but very hard to master, but to master it is a very rewarding achievement, not because you unlock something by doing so but because the game is at it's best when you are able to flawlessly complete a level. I recommend this game to any hardcore plataformer fans.

85

An improved Shank

CJV | Dec. 30, 2012 | Review of Shank 2 DNS

If you played Shank then you know what to expect of Shank 2, a side scrolling slash'em up with some crazy violence scenes. The graphics have a little more detail than its predecessor, but apart from that it basically looks the same. The gameplay is improved, feeling a more varied, but the core mechanics is the same, which means, it is a lot of fun to play. The single-player campaign is very short, about 3 hours long, but after that there are several achievements and survival mode, which can played online with a friend. A game worth your time, recommended.

70

Short but enjoyable campaign

CJV | Dec. 27, 2012 | Review of Homefront

I have not played the multiplayer for this game, only the singleplayer campaign, so I only going to talk about the campaign. The campaign is really short, about 4 hours long, so I don't think it's worth it to pay full price for such a short game. Apart from the length, I really have no other problem with the game. The game looks good. It has a lot of weapon variety, and the few levels offer some decent variety, never getting boring. But it's your standard military shooter campaign, don't expect any kind of innovation. If you don't mind any of that I say this game is worth checking out.

82

Feels like playing through a Stephen King novel

CJV | Dec. 24, 2012 | Review of Alan Wake

Alan Wake sets itself apart with it's great atmosphere. The game feels like a Stephen King novel, which for me means its not really much scary. You must use light as your weapon in order to defeat your enemies taken by the dark presence, which implies some nice light effects and some different ways to take your enemies out versus your standard third-person shooter. It has some great levels that by themselves are worth playing the game.

92

Great game in its own right

CJV | Dec. 24, 2012 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year -

Batman Arkham Asylum is probably the best comics adaptation to videogame yet (ignoring the sequel). A must-play for any Batman fan and highly recommended for any action/adventure fan. The story is pretty entertaining, though it may not please people who don't know the comics. The combat is very engaging and satisfying. The graphics look gorgeous. Bottom line, just play this.

83

A good sonic game

CJV | Dec. 5, 2012 | Review of Sonic Generations

Sonic Generations is the return of a fun sonic game. The game revisits the best levels of previous sonic games and gives them a 3D and 2D remake, because now you can play every act as classic sonic (from the genesis era) or as modern sonic. They both play fine but classic sonic levels are usually more fun (there are some exceptions). Overall it's a nice game for any sonic fans.

90

Worth it for the campaign

CJV | Dec. 5, 2012 | Review of Spec Ops: The Line dns

Spec Ops: The Line may seem like a shallow shooter at first sight, but it's far from it. It has a awesome campaign that I will not spoil but I do really recommend this game for that alone. The graphics are great, with some awesome set pieces and some gorgeous views. The gameplay is solid with some nice touches like using sand to blind your enemies. Overall it is a damn fine game!

88

Awesome sonic game!

CJV | Nov. 19, 2012 | Review of Sonic Adventure™ 2

I remember playing this on a dreamcast, oh good old memories. It was a time where sonic still was expected with some excitement, before the series went downhill. Now it seems to be right on track with Sonic Generations but Sonic Adventure 2 was the last good sonic 3D game before that. It probably didn't age that well but I'm still going to play it and enjoy the hell out of it!

70

Dated but enjoyable

CJV | Nov. 6, 2012 | Review of Hitman: Codename 47 Capsule

It's hard to think that the hitman franchise started about 12 years ago. It is one of the best stealth game franchises and with the new upcoming Hitman Absolution many of you may be trying to get into the series. Well, the game didn't properly aged well, it's mechanics feel a little dated, but the core concept and levels are still fun to play, and for such a low price I recommend anyone interested to give a try.

86

Simple yet great adventure game

CJV | Nov. 4, 2012 | Review of Botanicula

Botanicula is a very gorgeous adventure game from the creators of Machinarium. It does have in fact a lot of similarities with Machinarium, the story is told through on screen action, without any dialogue, the puzzles are in general very simple but still satisfaying and the soundtrack is great. Personally I think I prefer the friendlier approach of Botanicula and it's a game I would recommend to anyone.

84

Worms it's back

CJV | Oct. 31, 2012 | Review of Worms Reloaded

After trying to innovate with some (not so successful) worms titles in 3D, Team 17 it's back to its roots with Worms Reloaded. The gameplay it's about the same of Worms Armageddon with some subtle changes and updates graphics. The highlight goes to new online support, a needed feature and that makes this game worth buying.

93

One of the FPS

CJV | Oct. 31, 2012 | Review of BioShock DNS

Bioshock is a great FPS, in all regards. With a lengthy campaign (about 12 hours) and a great story, with great gameplay mechanics such as the plasmids, with a great setting and atmosphere, with memorable and charismatic such as the famous Big Daddies, it's hard not to recommend this game. Give it a try.

89

Awesome game, not very stealth

CJV | Oct. 31, 2012 | Review of Assassins Creed

Assassin's Creed is a sandbox action game with a great 10-12h campaign and a lot of collectibles and sidequests. There are various types of missions, some requiring stealth, others climbing, eavesdropping, stealing and so on. The story is open ended, leaving some hooks to all the following sequels. A highly recommended game.

80

A more oldschool aproach to stealth

CJV | Sept. 30, 2012 | Review of Velvet Assassin DNS

Velvet Assassin distinguishes itself thanks to it's great atmosphere. It has some great graphics and shadow/lightning effects that really great with the game's tone. In terms of gameplay it is a fairly trial and error stealth game, you'll have to learn the enemies paths in order to succeed, so it might not be a good game for less patient players. If you are into stealth games, so you should definitely give Velvet Assassin a try.

82

Cute puzzle plataformer

CJV | Sept. 30, 2012 | Review of Quantum Conundrum

At first sight Quantum Conumdrum may look like a Portal clone, and in some regards, that's a far comparison but in terms of gameplay they feel entirely different. Unfortunately I didn't feel the puzzles to be quite so well design like they might have been and they're fairly easy to figure out, the tricky part is to actually do it since most puzzles require some precise plataforming. Overall it's a fun game, but it could have been a great game.

81

Great strategy game

CJV | Sept. 2, 2012 | Review of Frozen Synapse DNS

Frozen Synapse is a turn-based strategy game with a somewhat simply design but great gameplay. I don't really know how to explain the game mechanics, just that they are great and if you like strategy you should really try this game.

89

More Crysis

CJV | Sept. 2, 2012 | Review of Crysis Warhead

This game is a standalone expansion to Crysis and it's events are parallel to the events of the main game, told by the perspective of another character. Being an expansion, the graphics and gameplay are similar to crysis, only the levels are different. That said it is indeed as great as crysis and if you like FPS you should give both games a try.

91

Great FPS

CJV | Sept. 2, 2012 | Review of Crysis

This game was launched in 2007 and distinct itself due to the amazing graphics, the best ones anyone had ever seen. Even today the graphics are still pretty amazing. It is worth trying for the graphics alone but this game has more to it than visuals. The gameplay is also very solid and there is many approaches possible thanks to the several powers of the nanosuit and the fairly open levels. Even four years after release it stills stands as a great FPS, recommended.

86

An overlook gem

CJV | Sept. 2, 2012 | Review of Beyond Good and Evil

Beyond Good and Evil has a beautiful crafted world that is worth exploring. That's the thing that I like most about the game, but all the other components such as gameplay and story work very well too. Overall, it's a great game, maybe a little dated but still worth it.

72

Interesting concept, could be better used

CJV | Sept. 2, 2012 | Review of The Ball

In The Ball there's basically only two mechanics, you can throw and attract the ball. That's it. You will use that mechanics to solve puzzles and to kill your enemies. It seems interesting and it is, in fact, enjoyable but it gets repetitive. That's my main problem with the game, it's repetitive. But it you don't mind that it's a perfectly enjoyable game, with some interesting mechanics.

88

A good sci-fi horror game

CJV | Sept. 1, 2012 | Review of Dead Space (EU)

Dead Space doesn't really have much scares, it is all about the tension and the atmosphere. Isaac, the protagonist, is a silent character, which helps the immersion and the tension. It is not the best horror game but it manages to have an engaging story and gameplay while maintaining a good diversity. The campaign it's about 10 hours long and manages to never get too repetitive. A good game, with a nice horror atmosphere, recommended.

82

Decent adventure game

CJV | Sept. 1, 2012 | Review of A New Beginning DNS

With great visuals, a good story and clever (and actually logical) puzzles, A New Beginning has everything you come to expect from a point 'n' click adventure game. I really enjoyed it and recommend it to any adventure fans.

75

Fun space shooter

CJV | Sept. 1, 2012 | Review of Beat Hazard

As far as space shooting goes, this game does it's job. It is a fun and colorful shooter. Although in terms of music driven gameplay, I don't really feel it... the music mostly affects the visual effects, enemies and the actual gameplay most of the time don't actually follow the music.

87

A unique game!

CJV | Aug. 21, 2012 | Review of Mirror's Edge (EU)

Although many people seem to loathe first person plataforming I think it is very well implemented in this game. It gets some getting used to, but with the help of the visual cues it works very well. I didn't like the action sequences so much, the close combat is fine but didn't enjoy the shooter part so much, although it does its job. The graphics are simple but look great, the game has some very beautiful scenes.

Overall, I think it's a great game and it's definitely worth checking.

80

Crazy GTA-like game

CJV | Aug. 21, 2012 | Review of Saints Row 2 do not sell

Saints Row 2 is an open world game in which you play as a gangster trying to get the saints row gang to the top of the hierarchy. It's a GTA clone that is quite worth it, with an humorous story and a great world to explore with a lot of fun things to do. Recommended.

86

Beautiful environments

CJV | Aug. 19, 2012 | Review of Trine

I think what stands out about this game is the beautifully crafted environments. There are a lot of levels and a lot of different settings to explore, although they play the same. The puzzles and plataforms are different but you get the same feeling playing even in different environments.

Other than that, the graphics are pretty, the gameplay is good and no complains on the sound department. Recommended.

80

Great strategy game

CJV | Aug. 18, 2012 | Review of Defcon: Everybody Dies DNS

In this game you have to try to defend your territories from becoming a nuclear wasteland. And as the best defense is a good offense you might as well nuke your enemies first. But keep in mind that this is a slow game where every move must be carefully planned, if you try to play it like an action game you will lose, a lot.

Did I mention you can nuke Santa? That's right, worth it for that alone!

87

Beautiful puzzle game

CJV | Aug. 18, 2012 | Review of World of Goo

A simple puzzle game with beautiful graphics. World of Goo puzzles are physics based, in most of which you have to build structures with goo and try not to collapse them as you build. It sounds simple and it is but it's also great fun. And the puzzles are all very well design. Recommended.

30

Useless DLC

CJV | Aug. 18, 2012 | Review of Magicka: Wizard's Survival Kit DLC

Magicka has so many DLC that is might be a bit overwhelming when trying to pick which one to buy. Well, just be warned that this one is not worth the money, the content added is pretty useless.

66

Only worth it for charity

CJV | Aug. 18, 2012 | Review of Magicka: Nippon DLC

This DLC does not add any significant content to justify its price, just some new items. The revenue from this was going to be donated to help japan, so there's that. Maybe if you want to help japan a little and still get some stuff back, I guess this DLC is worth it.

81

Finally, a Magicka DLC done right

CJV | Aug. 18, 2012 | Review of Magicka: The Stars are Left

If you had to choose from only one magicka DLC this would be the one. It adds a fair share of new content and a new campaign, so it justifies it's price. This new campaign is still a lot of fun, so if you completed the main campaign and want more magicka this is the DLC you are looking for.

75

A good DLC

CJV | Aug. 18, 2012 | Review of Magicka: Vietnam DLC

This is a very fun and funny DLC, though the missions do not last very long. I do not think this is worth the full price, but for 75% off, sure.

70

A good addition to the game

CJV | Aug. 18, 2012 | Review of Magicka: Marshlands DLC

This DLC adds some fun challenges to the game. If you want a new map to play with your friends I'd say this DLC is quite worth it.

40

Not worth the full price

CJV | Aug. 18, 2012 | Review of Magicka: Horror Props DLC

This is one of that DLCs that make me not like DLCs. They might as well have added this to the for free or at least made the DLC a lot cheaper. It adds some new toys to play it but not really worth 3€. I don't think it's even worth 0.50€...

83

A both fun and funny game

CJV | Aug. 18, 2012 | Review of Magicka

This game is very straightforward, with endless combinations for spells and endless victims to try them on. It can also get very chaotic when played with friends. And this game is meant to be played with friends, the campaign will become very hard to play solo from chapter 5 onward, like the developers themselves said, dying is part of the game, have a friend revive you. And without friends to revive you the campaign becomes much more harder and a lot less fun. And it is a very fun campaign, with various funny references. It's a shame it can not be properly enjoyed solo.

85

Great sci-fi RPG

CJV | Aug. 18, 2012 | Review of Mass Effect

The beginning of one of the most hyped sagas of this generation and with good reason. Mass Effect is indeed a very good game. The story is not brilliant or very original but is well-written and manages to engage the player until the end, with a well implemented choice system making it more worthwhile.

This game it's a cover-based third-person shooter RPG hybrid and although the shooting may not be as satisfying as another contemporary shooters, it gets the job done. The combat stills manages to be fun. And besides the game's main focus is exploration (afterall, this is an RPG) and it does very well in that department, with great environments to explore and also great characters to encounter.

Overall, this is a fine game. Recommended.

78

Old but still fun.

CJV | Aug. 18, 2012 | Review of Flatout

Ok, this game very dated. Afterall, it was released almost eight years ago! The graphics are dated and I wouldn't recommend it for the races, there are much better alternatives, but for the mini-games/bonus modes. This game has some crazy fun modes, most of which consist in crashing your car and propelling the driver far away, in some you have the throw as far as possible, in others you have the use him as a bowling ball, but they are all addictive and fun. My personal favorite is the demolition derby.

I'd say for the low price this game is worth it!

30

Poorly executed game.

CJV | Aug. 18, 2012 | Review of Twin Sector

The first impression you get is that this is an ugly game, not only the graphics are bad but also the design feels uninspired. Both the story and the acting aren't great but the worst it's the puzzles. They simply aren't fun to solve, it feels like a choir and it gets very frustrating when you die due to the clumsiness of the gravity gloves or due to the not very good physics engine.

I tried this game for an hour and didn't enjoy it one bit. I do not intend to play it again.

80

Solid action/adventure game

CJV | Aug. 18, 2012 | Review of Darksiders

This isn't exactly a very original game, the most original part is the art by Joe Madureira. It's level design feels like a Zelda game, consisting of dungeons with various rooms, some of which are only accessible using the new item found in that dungeon and it alls ends with a boss fight that requires the item previously found. In terms of gameplay feels like a mix between Devil May Cry and God of War, you have to kill every enemy before advancing to the next room, you can finish them off with a finishing move, every kill gives you souls that can be used to unlock new weapons and attacks (or enhanced the ones you already have). Unfortunately the battle system does not have the depth of the two previous mentioned games and ends feeling like a button masher. You have access to various weapons but their attacks don't connect so you basically mash one button until the enemies are dead.

That said, the games manages to introduce some welcome variety and its ten-hour campaign is quite enjoyable, although the story is forgettable. Oh, and this game is best played with a controller. Overall, a fun game and well worth your time.

90

Addictive tower defence

CJV | July 27, 2012 | Review of Plants vs Zombies Game of the Year Edition

The zombies are coming to eat your brains and the only thing that stands between you and them is your garden. But don't worry, your plants will not let them pass. This is the premise of Plants vs. Zombies, a casual tower defence filled with humour. The soundtrack it's great, the graphics are lovely and the game mechanics are really simple and addictive. You have about nine columns each with six squares, and you must plant your defences in that squares to defence yourself from the incoming zombie horde. With a lot of variety of plants and various zombies which require different strategies to defeat, this is an amazingly addictive and fun game. With a lot of fun mini-games and various game modes this is a game that everyone should experience, even people who are not into tower defence games.

67

Good puzzle game

CJV | July 26, 2012 | Review of Q.U.B.E.

This game is a very simple puzzle game. The graphics, the mechanics and the puzzles, they are all simple. Most of the puzzles will not take more than one or two tries to solve it, yet I found this quite entertaining. Also, this game is just a sequence of puzzles, there is no plot connecting the rooms, just some scripted events. It had potential to be a great game, yet it felt short in terms of level/puzzle design, but still, it's a good game. If you want some not very challenging yet entertaining puzzles, Q.U.B.E. is the right choice, if you want something more there are other games for you.

90

Great atmosphere

CJV | July 24, 2012 | Review of Metro 2033 PRE

I really enjoyed Metro 2033. I wasn't expecting a great game, but well, I ended up surprised. This game takes place in a post apocalyptic Moscow, and its population it's forced to live underground due to the toxic air of the atmosphere and to the monster that live on the surface. There's a lot of nice touches, like you have to wear a mask on the surface and when enemies attack you it might break and you have to find another one before you suffocate. Also, the game currency it's military bullets, stronger than the ones used on the weapons and you can use it as a currency to buy stuff at merchants or you can use it against your enemies. Overall, the graphics are great, the sound is quite nice, the story is engaging and most of the levels focus on a stealth perspective, which I think it suits the game atmosphere very well. It's one of the best and more engaging fps I've played. Definitely recommended!

83

Fairly decent action game

CJV | July 24, 2012 | Review of Warhammer 40000: Space Marine (THQ)

A game that diverges from the strategic genre of the warhammer franchise but that still manages to capture the feel of the series and be a good action game. The graphics are great, the sound does its job and the plot it's not great but keeps the action going. In terms of gameplay the game is a lot of fun. There's variety as you can engage your enemies with melee or ranged weapons, with a lot of different weapons to chose from. I also found the jump pack sequences to be very fun, it ended up being my favourite parts of the game. If you like the warhammer franchise or just want a decent action game with fair amounts of gore then space marine is for you.

83

The good sequel to legend

CJV | July 23, 2012 | Review of Tomb Raider: Underworld DNS

This game continues the plot of Tomb Raider: Legend, featuring some of the same characters. If you liked Legend, you'll like this game. Unfortunately this game plays too much like Legend, I don't really see any way to differentiate the two, gameplay-wise. Maybe the graphics are a little better and the levels might be a little more fun, but overall it's doesn't feel like a distinct game from legend, more like an expansion. Bottom line, if you liked Legend and want to play more of it then buy this game.

86

A good tomb raider game

CJV | July 23, 2012 | Review of Tomb Raider: Legend DNS

The Tomb Raider franchise hasn't always had a constant of quality in it's games, with some spin offs and some not very successful tries to innovate in the series (Angel of Darkness). But I think with legend they got it right. It manages to capture the feel of the first games very well. Some great locals to explore, some good puzzles and some animals to kill. I find that the gameplay in this one is an much needed upgrade to the old controls schemes that didn't make moving the character very enjoyable. This time around the gameplay is more action focused, and the whole game is more action focused instead of more puzzle focused like in the old games of the franchise. I found this game very enjoyable and it put the tomb raider franchise in a good direction.

72

Good adventure game

CJV | July 23, 2012 | Review of Lara Croft And The Guardian Of Light

I must say I haven't played co-op, only solo, so my opinion is based only on the solo experience. I'm pointing this out because this game looks like it is a lot of fun with co-op. Even playing solo I enjoyed myself with this game, the puzzles weren't very challenging but were enough to keep me entertained. The action parts were less fun than the puzzles, but they still managed to entertain, especially the boss fights. I guess it's a game worth a look, but not at full price.

58

Flawed but with fun moments

CJV | July 23, 2012 | Review of Duke Nukem Forever

Duke Nukem Forever it's not a great game, it's immature, has no plot or immersive atmosphere and get's repetitive. But even with this flaws it's still manages to have some fun moments, with some good boss fights and some funny moments. Its campaign it's about eight hours long, and it tries to have some variety, with vehicles, underwater levels, shrink ray levels and some very basic puzzles. Unfortunatly it doesn't have much enemy variety and some segments of the game like the vehicles sections are poorly executaded. Overall, it's a linear shooter with some good moments but forgetable.

96

Wonderful game

CJV | July 23, 2012 | Review of Bastion Cap

Right from the start you realise bastion is not like others games. It's unique graphics, great soundtrack and a great dynamic narrator make it very compelling. Mixed that with a great story and gameplay and you have bastion, one of my favourite indie games yet. What more can I say? Did I mention it's great? You have a lot of variety of weapons and special attacks as well as many enemies, each with a distinct feel to it. The game is not too long, it's about 6 hours, but I think the length it's just right, that way it never gets repetitive. You owe yourself to play this one.

89

Simple yet satisfying

CJV | July 16, 2012 | Review of Painkiller Black Edition DNS

Painkiller is indeed a very simple game, don't mind the plot, this is a game about shooting as many demons from hell as possible. You will kill hundreds of enemies per level and this may sound repetitive, and it is a bit repetitive but it manages no to be too much thanks to a variety of weapons and enemies. I think the main selling point is the fact that every weapon has a very distinct feel to it. You have the traditional shotgun, but also a lot of original weapons, such as a stake shooter and a lightning shuriken shooter! If you like tactical shooters this probably isn't your think, but if you want to face hordes of enemies with some of the most fun weapons in a fps then just buy this game.

83

Lovely retro style

CJV | July 16, 2012 | Review of VVVVVV

This game has a certain charm to it, not only because of how the game looks but also because of how the game plays. I find it quite original that this is a retro 2D plataformer in which you never jump. The basic mechanic here is to flip gravity, and it may sound odd, but the levels are all very well design and this works very well with the game. Overall, it's very unique and a lot of fun, I think everyone should at least try it.

94

One of the best 2D plataformers

CJV | July 16, 2012 | Review of Super Meat Boy

Super Meat Boy is a game about a boy with no skin that has his girlfriend kidnapped by a fetus in a jar, and so he must go through a lot of dangers, dying a lot in the process, to save her. But the plot is not the most important thing in this game, what I would like to point out is how fun it is. I have spent over 50 hours on this game, and loved every second of it. Many people say this game is hard, and sure, I died a lot, but didn't find this game to be that hard or frustrating. It may take dozens of deaths to finally beat a level but thanks to the instant respawn and to the very responsive game engine I never really felt frustrated. Bottom line, this is the most fun I had with a plataformer for a long time. You should really give it a try.