Reviews by Caputalis

87

One of my favourites.

Caputalis | Aug. 26, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Limited Edition

A lot of people may claim Sleeping Dogs is only another GTA clone, but this game brings a fresh new experience to the table. The stand out part of the game, besides its great story, is its amazing visuals. Whether you're cruising around downtown Hong Kong, or jetting through the mountains on a motorcycle, the art and graphics in this game are nearly breathtaking. The combat system is similar to that of Arkham City, but with more of a 'Kung Fu' vibe to it. You can also unlock new moves and combos, which is great. In this game, you mainly use your fists, but there are guns, if you prefer them, but they're rare until later in the game. The driving mechanic feels great in this game, especially for motorcycles. The competitive aspect of trying to beat your friends' records is pretty cool, as well. I'd highly recommend Sleeping Dogs to anyone that enjoys games with a vibrant environment to explore, as well as a solid story and great gameplay.

89

Basically an interactive novel converted into a video game.

Caputalis | Aug. 26, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead

The Walking Dead is one of the greatest games I've played in the last year, not only because of its unique, refreshing visuals, or even the brilliant characters and story, but for its amazing replay value. There are so many ways you can play this game; Good, Evil, Neutral, Angelical, Insane, or you can just be a dick to everyone. Its the way you can change the story through different decisions you make every other minute that sets this game out from the rest. Aside from this, the characters themselves have been given a great deal of depth, and will actually remember things you've told them. You find yourself growing attached to certain characters, and growing to hate some others. In all, this game is a great game, even to play just once, and I'd high recommend giving it a try.

86

This game is a refreshing experience.

Caputalis | Aug. 26, 2013 | Review of Bastion Cap

Bastion not only offers a great story, but also brilliant gameplay only matched by its music and 'live' narration. The combat is very fluid, and the controls feel highly responsive. As you play, you can unlock new weapons and weapon upgrades, which keeps the game feeling fresh while you bring the pain onto some baddies. Bastion is a great game which brings on a fresh, new sort of experience you won't want to miss out on.

88

I highly recommend this game

Caputalis | Aug. 26, 2013 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year

A problem you see now in a lot of action adventure games today is their lack of replay value. Some may have collectibles, but aside from that, zilch. In my opinion, this is where Arkham City shines. Along with its great main story, it also features side quests, collectibles, unlockables, and alternative modes to play on, as well as 'New Game Plus" which you'd reply the game on a harder difficulty, but with new batsuits and all of your gadgets unlocked from the start. The gameplay is phenomenal, whether you're gliding around Arkham City, or bringing the smack down on some of Joker's goons, it's always fun. The only criticism I have for this game is that the HUD could have been done a little better, especially the health indicator, as it can get confusing at times. Aside from that, I'd highly recommend getting this game, especially if you find it on sale.

87

Brilliant reboot to the Tomb Raider series.

Caputalis | Aug. 26, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider

When I first heard of a Tomb Raider reboot, I didn't know what to expect, but was hopefully optimistic. However, this game has not only met my expectations, but exceeded them. The gameplay is brilliant, as it's almost a blend of stealth, FPS, action, RPG, and adventure all in one game. The controls feel very responsive and fluid. The sound is really good, and the graphics are very appealing to one's eye. The only piece of criticism I have regarding Tomb Raider is its lack of replay value. Although there are hidden tombs and collectibles, I wouldn't considering it strong replay value after you've completed the game. Regardless of that, I'm excited what the Square has in store for the next game. I'd highly recommend giving this game a go.

76

A lot of things could have been done better.

Caputalis | Aug. 26, 2013 | Review of Mirror's Edge (NA)

Mirror's Edge would have been a pretty good game, if it hadn't been for a few flaws in its gameplay and controls. Firstly, the controls their selves are confusing and seemingly unresponsive. You'll go to wall run, and your character won't do it, and will simply fall down. Another thing is that looking around while holding onto ledges and poles is very frustrating, as you can only look left and right, and not up or down. There are times where your character should have been able to grab onto something, but then doesn't. As for the gameplay, Mirror's Edge features a unique free running style of play that'd be great, if it wasn't for the bad controls. This severely limits your immersion, as you know you should be able to make a jump, or you go to wall run, but then your character just doesn't respond to what you want to do. The combat system isn't very good either in this game, with enemies not flinching at all when you throw your whole body at them, or acting severely effecting by a simple punch. You cannot hide from enemies, either, as if they can see through walls, or have eyes on top of their heads. In all, I'd recommend getting Mirror's Edge when it's discounted, because I can't truly say I feel it's worth its full price.

88

One of my favourite games.

Caputalis | Aug. 26, 2013 | Review of Fallout: New Vegas Ultimate Edition

I found Fallout: New Vegas to be superior to its predecessor, Fallout 3. The character and world seemed a lot more immersive, and the main story was a lot better, as well. Bethesda added in a lot of new elements to New Vegas, most notably the ability to upgrade your guns with new parts such as scopes, or larger clips. In the game, you are made to choose where your loyalties lie between different factions, which is adds replay value if you decide to create a new character and join a different faction. Each faction has their own set of quests, perks, and settings, which adds more value into the game's core game-play and mechanics. The main story itself is a lot more versatile than Fallout 3, mostly due to its choice based system which molds the story to the choices you make, notable your allegiance and loyalties to certain factions and characters, In all, Fallout New Vegas brings a lot of game for your money, and you can expect to get at least 10 hours out of it on only your first character.

85

Was hooked on this game while playing.

Caputalis | Aug. 26, 2013 | Review of Mafia II

Mafia II is one of those games where you feel like the character have come to life, and you begin to find yourself angry at being screwed over, or relieved when your buddy comes to help you out. Although the driving could have been worked on a little, this game had very good controls. Aside from the story, my favourite part of the game was the music, whether it was the game's soundtrack, or some of the classics featured on the radio. If you're into the 1940s and 50s, I'd highly recommend, if only to stroll around in the beautiful setting modelled after the late 1940s New York City.

82

Great casual game.

Caputalis | Aug. 26, 2013 | Review of Super Meat Boy

Super Meat Boy is a great game to play if you've got a couple minutes to kill. Although the first couple levels are fairly easy, the game gets frustratingly hard out of nowhere, and it's great. As a platformer, Super Meat Boy feels very responsive, and the gameplay is pretty fluid. The game itself takes ~10 hours to finish, so you end up getting a lot of game for the price. In all, a pretty solid platformer, and I'd reccomend it to anyone looks for a casual challenge.

83

A must have for Mortal Kombat fans.

Caputalis | Aug. 26, 2013 | Review of Mortal Kombat Komplete Edition

A perfect reboot to the Mortal Kombat game series, Mortal Kombat combines elements from past games and adds in new ones, as well, such as its exceptional story mode, and updated graphics. The game features many modes to play with, such as the new 'Challenge Tower', similar to event mode in the Super Smash Brothers series. The controls feel responsive, the fighting feels fluid, and the sound is well-done.

The only criticism I have regarding this game is its laggy multiplayer mode, although that may be fixed in a future update. This game was only recently released to PC, after all.

Despite that, Mortal Kombat is probably one of the best games in the series so far, and a definite must have for any Mortal Kombat fans, or just anyone into fighting games, really.

88

A Rollercoaster of Feelings

Caputalis | Aug. 18, 2013 | Review of To The Moon Cap

I purchased this game a few days ago, and I still feel the need to come and write a review about it. To The Moon brings a lot to the table, and sets the bar high for future story driven games. With its unique 2D graphics, this game appeals to the eye, while still maintaining a feeling of realism mixed in with fantasy.

Only matched by its brilliant soundtrack, the game's story is its focal point. You take control of two scientists who jump into a dying man's memories in order to fulfill his final wish before death. Although this may sound somewhat bizarre, you learn things about this man's life along the way, and as you go through one memory to the next, questions arise, and connections are made by the player leading up the final moments of the game.

Like every game, though, To The Moon also has its shortcomings. Throughout the game, the controls felt a bit stiff. You have two options: Keyboard or Mouse. I found the mouse to be hard to control, and the movement with the keyboard felt like it could have been worked on a little more.

The gameplay itself may come off as somewhat repetitive, as you're tasked to search for certain objects to progress to the next memory. This sense of repetition is eclipsed, though, as each object holds significance to the story being told by this game.

Despite these shortcomings, To The Moon is one of those games you wish you could forget just to play it over again in ignorance. This game takes you on a rollercoaster of feelings, with ups as well as downs, and occasionally a loop -- and this rollercoaster is definitely worth waiting in line for.