Reviews by Chack

96

Awesome game all the way

Chack | April 14, 2014 | Review of Half Life

Half-Life is a First Person Shooter, I thought it was amazing but quite difficult for me, the story is quite well done, graphics are good for the time, but the gameplay is what changed FPS in videogames, it's great, even the multiplayer is fun and still active after all this years, you should get this masterpiece and experience it for yourself.

85

An improvement over the original

Chack | April 14, 2014 | Review of Payday 2

Payday is a co-op FPS where you perform heists with help from other players, the first game was actually not bad, but this one is probably better in variety, graphics, gameplay, and replayability. You often get rewards after completing a heist, like a mask, or a weapon mod, etc. The bad thing about this game is that it's quite a hard game if you don't communicate wiht your partners, or if you play alone with bots, it's designed so you have to work together, so you better get some friends!

Also get the 1st game if you can't afford this one :P

89

South Park fans rejoice!

Chack | April 14, 2014 | Review of South Park™: The Stick of Truth™

I like South Park, I don't really watch it often but when I do I find it funny (sometimes), this is a turn-based RPG kind of like Paper Mario, the humor of the series is there, the gameplay is well done, the graphics make you think you are watching an episode of the TV show, I don't really have a bad thing to say about this game except that it may be a little too easy, I didn't die that often. Also something we should think about is if you don't like South Park you should get this game... and the answer is, it may be a little tedious but the gameplay won't affect you, so go for it if you like the genre.

72

Puzzle gamers are going to enjoy this.

Chack | April 13, 2014 | Review of Q.U.B.E.

The first thing you may think with this game is "oh great, a portal-like game", well actually is not really. This is a puzzle first person game, where you control different cubes and solve puzzles. The story is kinda not existent, although you could use your imagination, is a little like Portal, with the abandoned/broken laboratory. The graphics are quite nice to look at, very clean and polished, but it's too simplistic, although I don't mind that. One of the worst (if not THE worst) things about this game is the length, I beat it in about 3-4 hours, I kinda take my time playing games, so you can see is not a really long game, but I enjoyed it nevertheless. If you want to get it maybe wait for a little discount and go for it!

80

A great strategy game.

Chack | Jan. 27, 2014 | Review of Warlock: Master of the Arcane

Warlock is a cool turn-based strategy, sort of like Civilization V (actually a lot like Civ V) but in a fantasy world. It doesn't exactly do anything new, but what it does it's enough to entertain you for a while. Also this game is played better in multiplayer, with friends or with complete strangers it doesn't matter. although the AI is not bad as far as I could tell so single player is not bad either.

If you enjoy turn-based strategy games this is a good game to have, but beware, if you actually play Civ V and you are looking for something different, remember this game is very similar in terms of gameplay with a few new stuff like spells and some magical units.

82

Tower FPS at its finest

Chack | July 4, 2013 | Review of Sanctum

Sanctum is a nice mix between FPS and Tower Defense genre, works really well, the gameplay is fun, it can get a little challenging like every other Tower Defense out there, it's also more fun playing with friends. For $10 this is a great game for your collection.

90

A different take on GTA

Chack | July 4, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto IV

There are mixed opinions on this game, some people love it, some people hate it, personally I really enjoyed it, sure it's very different from the previous titles, but everything it does it's well executed. What a lot of people doesn't really like it's ther realism of the game, which for some of you it's too much for this game, I kinda like it. Even with that in mind, it still has everything GTA is known for, crazy gameplay, fun driving, and an open world to explore, you should at least give it a try and see for yourself :)

81

A crazy sandbox

Chack | Sept. 15, 2012 | Review of Saints Row 2 do not sell

Saints Row will probably be compared with the GTA saga, but they don't have that much in common, just that it's a sandbox in a city, and you do things that you normally do in GTA when you are not in a mission, but this game is even crazier. For the prize I'll say go for it, it even has co-op, so you can play with some friends. The bad thing is that it is a bad port, so there could be a few PCs that can't run the game so well.

70

Not bad.

Chack | Sept. 15, 2012 | Review of Homefront

If you enjoy CoD-like games, then this is a game for you, the campaign is interesting but short, and the mulitplayer doesn't have that much content but it's still fun. The graphics are nice, basically the entire game is "nice", so you should get it when there's a discount.

82

The perfect sandbox!

Chack | Sept. 12, 2012 | Review of Just Cause 2

If you are a sandox fan, this is the game for you. You can do practically anything, go everywhere, go shoot everybody (GTA style :P) steal an airplane in mid-air, and more. It does have a story, but in my opinion is not that interesting, and the voice acting can be bad sometimes, but this game doesn't shine because of the story. It also has great graphics (it uses DirectX 10, so no Windows XP).

Overall, great game, buy it!

88

Great game

Chack | Sept. 12, 2012 | Review of Borderlands Game of the Year Edition dns

Borderlands is a combination of FPS and RPG, which works really great. The graphics and art style are nice. If you play alone it can get a little boring, but playing with one, two or three more people, it gets better. If you like RPGs you will enjoy this game, it's quite long, so you will have hours and hours of fun, definitely worth it.

Also you should get the GOTY edition, every DLC is also worth it :)

78

Nice spin-off

Chack | Sept. 12, 2012 | Review of Alan Wake's American Nightmare

American Nightmare is not a direct sequel to Alan Wake. This game doesn't have a solid story or atmosphere, like the previous game, it focuses more on the combat, which has been improved with more guns and enemies.

This game has an Arcade style, which is why is cheaper and doesn't have a great story, but is still fun as a standalone. I think $15 is enough for this game, buy it if you like Alan Wake's gameplay.

92

A thrilling experience

Chack | Aug. 30, 2012 | Review of Alan Wake

Alan Wake is an awesome game. I should tell you, this is NOT a horror game, it's more of a thriller adventure, the game has an exciting story, great narrative, beautiful graphics, and nice gameplay. If you are looking for something dark, but not something to scare you, this game is ideal for you, it's simply amazing.

89

Must play!

Chack | July 20, 2012 | Review of Deus Ex: Game of the Year Edition DNS

Deus Ex is an old game (year 2000) but it's still a game worth checking out. It is an awesome game that you can compare with Half-Life (in terms of originality). If you like FPS with a little of RPG elements, or if you just want to try something different, then this is for you.

Buy it, you'll get 15 or more hours of fun for less thank 10 dolars.

78

I actually like the game

Chack | July 16, 2012 | Review of Warhammer 40000: Space Marine (THQ)

Some people say that this game is not that good, but it is a cool game, although is not like the other Warhammer 40k games (RTS), is a completely different genre (TPS). I'm not a big fan of this series, but I enjoyed this game, the story is not that great, but is enough to make you want to play it. The multiplayer is good, but kinda laggy sometimes. It'd be better if you have friends that want to play with you. Overall, if it's on sale, go for it!

90

Masterpiece

Chack | July 16, 2012 | Review of World of Goo

This is one of the best indie games I've ever played, is one of those games that I can't find anything wrong with it, everything about it is perfect: the gameplay, graphics, soundtrack (well... maybe that the game is kinda short). Is a puzzle game, where you have this cute little Goo balls that you use to build bridges, towers, and more, to complete the level. It's a little hard to explain, but it is actually a simple game, but it can get challenging. You should definitely get it.

81

Killing thing with friends!

Chack | June 1, 2012 | Review of Killing Floor

This is a coop game, basically you and other 5 people have to survive waves of zombies and weird monsters, it's really fun, and it has a lot of gore. The graphics are great, everything looks like a real zombie apocalipse. The gameplay, simple, shot and kill, pretty cool, although is not that fun if you play alone, at least play with one of your friends.

I'll have to say that this game is the best in its genre, so if you are interested, get it.

89

Expect frustration...

Chack | May 22, 2012 | Review of Super Meat Boy

Super Meat Boy is a platform game that revives the 80' and 90', not just in graphics and sounds, also giving us and extremely difficult game, it may seems easy at first, but it gets really challenging. If you are a hardcore gamer, from the old days, like me, you would enjoy this game so much (and you will get angry too sometimes). Casual gamers, you better stay away, this is too much for you ;)

99

Adventure awaits...

Chack | May 22, 2012 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (NA)

I haven't played the other Elder Scrolls games, but I decided to give it a try. Now, after beating the game I can say that is an incredible game, if the other ones are as good as this, I'll better try them out. You are the Dragonborn, a hero that has the duty to save the world from all the Dragons that are coming back to life. You can be a strong warrior, or maybe a intelligent mage, or a sneaky thief, or a combination between those (like I was :P)

The story is interesting, dragons, heroes, weird creatures, and more. The graphics are awesome, the game looks beautifully stunning. Also the music in the game is epic.The gameplay is a First Person (or Third Person if you prefer) kinda brawler, which is really fun.

What I really like about the game is that it feels like a new experience, is not like every other RPG, Rol game, and that makes it worth every dollar you spent on it.

93

Awesomeness

Chack | April 7, 2012 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum

This has to be the best super hero game ever. I'm not a very fan of Batman, but this game made me love him, fan or not, this is a must have. Graphics are awesome, gameplay really cool, story great, all great. If it wasn't by the fact that uses GFWL, it'll be perfect. So if you liked the trailer, you will definitely love the game.

91

One of the Best Indie Games

Chack | Nov. 6, 2011 | Review of World of Goo

World of Goo is one of those unique games, that does everything right (almost), from graphics and art style, and level designs and gameplay.

Your main objective is to use some weird creatures called Goo, so you can reach a pipe, where you must fill with Goo, as much as possible (that's the best explanation I can do).

If you want to try some new puzzle game, this is it! Look no further.

88

A big world for you to explore

Chack | Aug. 17, 2011 | Review of Assassins Creed

This game is a sandbox, which reminds me of Prince of Persia, because you can climb buildings, and go wherever you want. You have te mission to kill certain people in the story, and the storyline is really interesting. Although this game is really cool, there is something, I don't know what, that is still missing, nevertheless, it's a great game