Reviews by CoillyZ

90

Best LEGO Game Yet

CoillyZ | Oct. 28, 2013 | Review of LEGO Marvel Superheroes (NA)

I was blown away by last years LEGO Batman 2. It had good graphics, a funny script, and a decent open world. I really wasn't expecting that from a LEGO game, given the series's track record. Since then, the game have been getting better, and this is no exception. This game puts you in control of all your favorite heroes and some villains in a virtual NYC made from LEGOs. I had a lot of fun with this, and the quality hasn't dwindled at all from the last three installments. The combat was more brutal than I expected from a LEGO game, but that isn't really a complaint. At $30, this game is a steal. Buy it ASAP.

90

A Decent Return for the Bat

CoillyZ | Oct. 28, 2013 | Review of Batman Arkham Origins

All of the reviewers of this game are handing out low scores left and right. This is not a bad game by any means. This game isn't as good as Arkham City, but it is still better than Arkham Asylum. There are a good variety of villains, a decent amount of upgrades, and there is a new combat rating system. The graphics are still great and I had a blast with this game. The multiplayer is fun too, but there is only one mode, so it got boring fast. If you are a Batman fan, or just a fan of video games in general, this is for you.

80

Fun with Friends

CoillyZ | Oct. 23, 2013 | Review of Dungeonland

I had a lot of fun with this game... sometimes. When I played co-op, this was a very fun game, but when I played alone, it was average at best. There wasn't much motive to keep playing after a few hours, because all of the items you can buy are for cosmetic purposes only. They don't upgrade your character. The only character upgrades are different versions of your character, of which there are only 2. I had fun, but get it on sale.

80

Out of my Kingdom

CoillyZ | Oct. 3, 2013 | Review of Kingdoms of Amalur - Reckoning - US & Canada

This is a good game. I had fun, but I felt like it wasn't the best RPG out there. It made me think of a single-player version of TERA mixed with Diablo. That's not a bad thing, but I expected it to be better. It's still a good game, though. Buy it on sale.

100

Fire In Your Hole

CoillyZ | Oct. 3, 2013 | Review of Bulletstorm (NA)

Bulletstorm was an unexpected hit for me. I loved it. It was made by the creators of the Painkiller series, which never impressed me. The game itself is great. It emphasizes an arcade-like feel with it's point system and co-op mode. Even with that feel, it still has a great story that actually put me in tears. It also has a lot of humor. Get this now.

97

Take Earth Back

CoillyZ | Oct. 2, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect 3 (NA)

Greatness shines through in Bioware's Epic of a game. Play as Shepard and take Earth back from the Reapers. You recruit the toughest armies from around the galaxies and fight the Reapers. The gameplay isn't improved much from Mass Effect 2, but that's okay because Mass Effect 2 was near perfect. The story is well crafted, the characters are developed even more, and the final battle is the most emotional thing I've ever seen in a game. Play this now.

80

Gotta go Back in Time

CoillyZ | Oct. 2, 2013 | Review of Back to the Future: The Game

This feels like Back to the Future. The voice acting is impeccable and the atmosphere reeks of the 80's. I loved the Back to the Future movies and the game is no different. There are problems, however. The graphics sometimes look sloppy and the lip-synching is off sometimes. If you were a fan of the Back to the Future movies, try this out.

90

Destroy the World

CoillyZ | Oct. 1, 2013 | Review of Just Cause 2

This is one of the funnest games I have ever played. The story sucks. The Voice acting sucks. All of that doesn't actually detract from the fun of the game. Everything works so well together. You destroy stuff to get unlocks and new missions. You get a grappling hook to use at your whim. You can steal any vehicle. This is just so much fun

95

RPG of the Year

CoillyZ | Sept. 30, 2013 | Review of The Witcher II: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition

Wow. This is an amazing improvement over the first one. The combat in the first game was bad, almost to the point of unplayability. This improves it 100 fold. It still has a steep difficulty curve, but in a good way. The combat feels a lot more natural. And that's only the combat. The story is an amazing tale about Geralt hunting down an assassin.Pick this up.

95

Blast Processing

CoillyZ | Sept. 29, 2013 | Review of Sonic the Hedgehog 2

Sega's giant marketing ploy included touting a feature called 'blast processing'. While the existence of it is debatable, this game made you think it was real. It is a fast paced platformer with tight controls and catchy music. The graphics were innovative for the time. No one had seen anything like it except in arcades. It was a big step up from Sonic 1. This is one of the best Sonic game to date.

80

Trick or Treat

CoillyZ | Sept. 28, 2013 | Review of Costume Quest

Costume Quest is a fun, imaginative RPG with a few missing elements that would've boosted it higher. The lack of voice acting made it a little weird. The music was good, but it wasn't memorable. The game eventually got repetitive. The rest of the game was perfect. Collecting costumes and candy to upgrade your powers. The progression of the game felt just right. Pick this game up.

80

The Power of Metal

CoillyZ | Sept. 28, 2013 | Review of Brutal Legend

At first, this game seems like an action game. But you soon learn that is was meant to be a strategy game. While it succeeds in the action, the strategy feels kind of weird. Everything works, just not to it's full potential. If this game is ever on sale, pick it up.

90

Yes, Inquisitor

CoillyZ | Sept. 28, 2013 | Review of Warhammer 40000: Space Marine

This game surprised me with how good it was. I expected a mediocre title, especially because the franchise is known for strategy, not action. There is no cover system, but I love it. It makes you feel like you are actually wearing 1,000 pounds of armor. The lore is intriguing and the story is well put together.

90

What's Beneath Oblivion?

CoillyZ | Sept. 28, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Nexway

This game is great. I had a lot of fun. The controls are... they are Elder Scrolls controls. I didn't like the graphics. They seemed subpar. I also didn't enjoy the story. The rest of the game is pretty good. If you are just starting Elder Scrolls, play either Morrowind or Oblivion first.

85

Arkham Playhouse

CoillyZ | Sept. 28, 2013 | Review of LEGO Batman 2: DC Super Heroes

This is the Best LEGO game ever, hands down. The writing and voice acting made it for me. I actually laughed at this game. Being a LEGO game, it has a tonne of characters. Superman felt just as overpowered as he should be. The flying controls were kind of wonky, however. The graphics aren't great but they get the job done. The music cues were done well. I enjoyed this game a lot.

100

One More Turn becomes Ten More Hours

CoillyZ | Sept. 25, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization® V

This is one of the most addictive games I have ever played. When I first booted it up, I had no clue what I was in for. I ended up playing for 10 hours straight. It in itself is a pretty deep game that will have enough content for multiple playthroughs. The graphics are great for a Strategy game, and the music is catchy.

90

Work in the Shadows

CoillyZ | Sept. 25, 2013 | Review of Hitman: Absolution

This isn't the best Hitman game, but I had a lot of fun with it. The graphics were beautiful, the gunplay worked, and the stealth never failed. With many ways to complete each mission, there is a large amount of replayability. You might want to end up replaying a bit anyway, because the story is a little confusing. The Contracts mode kept me playing long after the campaign finished. I still play Contracts, working to get more money and upgrading my online hitman. If you are a fan of the stealth genre, you are doing yourself a disservice by not buying this.

95

Take to the Water

CoillyZ | Sept. 25, 2013 | Review of BioShock (NA)

Bioshock is the spiritual successor to the System Shock series. It already had a great basis, but it surpassed and became something more. The survival horror elements and the RPG mechanics made it more than a normal FPS.The twist is one of the greatest I've seen in any game. Now, would you kindly buy this game.

95

Sweet L.A.

CoillyZ | Sept. 24, 2013 | Review of LA Noire

This is one of the best games ever published by Rockstar. My biggest fear for the game (it feeling like GTA) ended up not being an issue. The graphics are amazing. The shooting gameplay isn't revolutionary, but the interrogations and the detective work are the best parts. Scouting for clues feels like a rush. The story is amazing, and the atmosphere is great. Play this if you haven't already.

75

The King is Back

CoillyZ | Sept. 24, 2013 | Review of Duke Nukem Forever

This is not the best game ever. Hell, it isn't even the best Duke Nukem game. But people treat it like it's a terrible game because it can't live up to 13 years of hype. What did people expect? A cutting-edge cawadooty shooter with amazing multiplayer and story on par with The Last of Us? Many reviewers gave this game a 6/10 or lower, but I researched and most of those reviewers weren't even 10 by the time Duke Nukem 3D released. They don't get the references and they don't have the attachment to Duke that makes the game special. But, I have to get to the game. It is a pretty solid shooter with decent puzzles and voice acting. Everything is good, but nothing is great. The game works without flaw, but there is a lot of space for improvement.

92

What a Return!

CoillyZ | Sept. 24, 2013 | Review of Shadowrun Returns

This isn't just a return for Shadowrun. This is a return for strategy RPG's in general. This is a great game. The gameplay is some of the best I've seen. The art is beautiful, the soundtrack gets the job done, and the story is interesting enough. The only problem is the dialogue. I felt like people wouldn't really say this. Even in the game's vernacular, it seemed unnatural. Still, if you like fun, get this.

75

Get Stuffed

CoillyZ | Sept. 24, 2013 | Review of Don't Starve

Don't Starve is a good game. Don't let my review score throw you off. I had a lot of fun, but I have to review it objectively. This game is seriously lacking in explanations. I had to spend hours with my friend online trying to figure out exactly what a science machine did. But, if you like these kinds of things, then get this game. I had fun, but I can imagine a lot of people hating it.

90

The Mind of the Bat

CoillyZ | Sept. 24, 2013 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

This is a great game, though it is greatly overshadowed by the sequel. The voice acting and story are great. This game introduced the wonderful combat system that has been passed on to many games. The gameplay has a lot more layers, however, with the puzzles and the unique detective mode. The stealth is also top notch. The only reason this gets knocked is because of the final boss fight. You fight the Joker, but it's not REALLY The Joker. He fights just like a normal titan, which takes out all the fun and creativity they could've put in to this final boss.

100

The Dark Knight Truly Rises

CoillyZ | Sept. 24, 2013 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year

This is it. Superhero games literally can't top this. The gameplay is improved from the first game. The voice acting and story are just as good, if not better. This is Batman. The combo system is easy to learn, but difficult to master. They have even put it in other games like Spider-Man and Sleeping Dogs, but none do it quite like this. The voice cast consists of Kevin Conroy, Mark Hamill, and many other famous voices. Mark Hamill is the Joker. This is his final farewell to Batman, and it was one hell of a farewell.

95

Inflitrating GTA's Territory

CoillyZ | Sept. 23, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Limited Edition

This game has some of the best open-world gameplay I have seen in a long time. It gives GTA a run for its money. The story is great with a great voice cast to back it up. The characters are deep and they are all integral to the story. I actually teared up during this game. There is also tons of content that will keep you occupied for hours upon hours.

100

Game of the Year, Every Year

CoillyZ | Sept. 23, 2013 | Review of Binary Domain

This game was amazing. It was the perfect mix of Mass Effect, Gears of War, and Terminator. The gameplay is tight, the boss battles are epic, the soundtrack is inspiring; everything fits perfectly. The voice acting is believable, with a story to support it. All of the characters are lovable and the story blurs the line between man and machine. Pick this up now.

85

Hack and Slash Your Way Home

CoillyZ | Sept. 21, 2013 | Review of Bastion Cap

This is how to do an indie game. The only other indie game I have seen that hit the nail on the head was Cave Story. This game was fun, and I can see all the replay value that lies ahead. The graphics were charming and the aiming mechanics for the ranged weaponry were great. The soundtrack was absolutely amazing. I listen to it on my iPod. There is so much to love about this game, but there are a few negatives. The story can be a little bit hard to follow at some points. Also, the melee combat can be problematic and lead you into a situation you don't want to be in. Other than that, the only thing that should be improved on is the length. I want a 12-hour Bastion game, or even longer!

100

Journy to a Virtual L.A.

CoillyZ | Sept. 21, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas

I don't know where to start with this game. It is one of the most finely crafted experiences that I have ever had in my entire life. Just the amount of things you can do in this game is mind-blowing. You can buy real estate, work out, buy food, ride bikes, spray paint, take part in gang wars, and fly cars(with cheats). That is only touching the surface of this. The graphics weren't revolutionary for the time, but it doesn't matter. The gameplay is spot on, and I have never had a technical problem playing this game.

92

Rising Above the Rest

CoillyZ | Sept. 21, 2013 | Review of Dead Rising 2

This game is really fun, even more so in co-op. This improved on the predecessor in every way. The biggest improvement is the crafting system. It was fun collecting the cards, then creating wacky combinations. My personal favorite was the PaddleSaw. The graphics weren't amazing, but they got the job done. The save system is improved dramatically. That was one of my major problems with the last game. I recommend picking this up ASAP, especially if you have a buddy to play with.

95

A Survivor is Born

CoillyZ | Sept. 21, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider

In short, this game is amazing. In long, this game is amazing. It is a very moving experience with great gameplay, character development, and graphics. There was no aspect of this game that I didn't like. This reboot of the Tomb Raider series has been hyped for a while and it surpasses every expectation I had. The gameplay is tight, with a deep upgrade system and some worthwhile stealth sections. The story is great and feels like a Tomb Raider game. It is realistic for the most part, while introducing some supernatural elements as the game progresses. Even though this game is amazing, there is no game without flaws. The only flaw I see in this game is that the characters other than Lara are a little underdeveloped. Even with that, the game is still deserving of a 95/100.