Reviews by Coolicy

95

Nostalgia expanded

Coolicy | April 21, 2014 | Review of Age of Empires II and The Forgotten Expansion

This is the ultimate AoE2 HD pack. For old time fans who loved AOE2, this is the pack you'll want to buy. You'll get to relive the old time fun of Age of Kings and Conquerors, as well as 5 (used to be four, but they added a free one) new campaigns based on historical events! The Forgotten used to be the work of awesome modders, but is being re-released in HD as paid DLC.

Part of what Hidden Path did here was a fantastic job optimizing an old game for modern machines. Textures did not improve, but the increased resolution still makes the game look great.

As of now, there are two more campaigns in development that are coming soon. What's unclear is whether they'll be patched in for free for owners of The Forgotten or would they be sold separately as DLC. But it's good to know that the game is still being supported.

The new civilization and tech are nice additions, and fit perfectly with what's already in the game. Considering the already massive amount of civilizations and tech in the game, balancing the new additions must have been a massive undertaking. The modders (authors of The Forgotten) did an amazing job with this mod. The only criticism I could think of would be the lack of voice-over for the pre- and post- game scenes. Nitpicking, sure, but it doesn't seem to be the same AoE experience without some good voice acting with awful accents.

All in all, the Forgotten expansion adds much to the game that I didn't know I wanted. The game is good, but the expansion made it awesome. As a kid I loved AoE2, and with this expansion I get to play even more of the game in new settings, as new civilizations, and use new units to conquer the battlefield.

Get this game already.

85

Endulge in Awesome Nostalgia!

Coolicy | April 21, 2014 | Review of Age of Empires II HD Edition

Do you remember Age of Empires 2 fondly? Do you like Conquerors over Age of Kings? This pack contains both of those games, but remastered to run on modern machine and in HD!

If you're anything like me, you'll find the graphics to be a bit worse than you remembered. However, the graphic actually didn't change, the dev up-ed the resolution so now you'll see much more of the screen than before. This allows for better tactics coordination and better micromanagement.

All the campaigns are still better than ever, with awesome (read: cheesy) voice acting accompanying the opening and closing scenes. It sets the mood well, and makes the journey all the more epic! Refresh your history knowledge of Joan of Arc, Genghis Khan, Montezuma and more!

Perhaps the most underused feature this edition features would be the Steam Workshop integration. You'll find a lot of nice textures/model replacement, but unfortunately there isn't many mods that's ambitious or really worth your while. That said, if other modding communities taught me anything, is to give modders time, and they will deliver amazing content.

However, you're not really getting the full experience. You should definitely be investing in The Forgotten Campaign (which ISN'T included in this pack) as that packs in a couple of tightly scripted and designed campaigns and civilizations. The new additions fit perfectly with the existing content, and even perfectly balanced so not one civilization is overpowered.

This HD version is very well done, and will run very well on modern machines. And if you recall playing (and loving) AoE 2, you won't regret reliving your childhood with this HD pack!

90

Amazing Expansion to an already robust game.

Coolicy | Dec. 27, 2013 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Within (NA)

This Expansion Requires the base game XCOM Enemy Unknown to play.

XCOM Enemy Unknown is a fabulous turn-based + base management strategy game, and Enemy Within is an amazing expansion adding to that awesome package. The expansion contains an optional "operation" similar to Operation Slingshot, and adds lots of new options for you to manage your resources on. There are three biggest changes to the basic formula, the addition of Gene Mods to your soldiers, a new Mech Class, and the introduction of a new human enemy that uses different tactics from the aliens. Both Gene Mods and Mech Troopers have their pro's and con's, and really encourage careful resource management.

This fundamentally changes the game even for veterans of Enemy Unknown. I breeze through Classic Ironman in EU, but I struggle on just regular Classic in EW. Especially on harder difficulties, the new additions requires more thinking and planning on both the field and at base.

This also adds many added elements from the old XCOM game that old fans will appreciate. I'm sure that this expansion will please new and old fans alike. GET IT!

90

Old School Fallout Fans Rejoice!

Coolicy | Dec. 22, 2013 | Review of Fallout: New Vegas

Fallout 3 was a great game in my opinion. In fact, it brought me so immersed into the Fallout universe and lore. I bought Fallout 1 and Fallout 2 on gog just for the story, and can see how FO3 deviates from its predecessors.

Fallout New Vegas is developed by Obsidian, where many developers came from FO1 & 2's Black Isle Studio, so the game's writing and lore feel just right at home for FO1 & 2 veterans. If you didn't like FO3, however, you won't like FNV.

If you liked FO3, however, you'll be right at home with FNV. The writing is superb, and the choices feel important. As per Fallout tradition, you'll get to see the consequence of your actions in an end game slide show. Decisions will range from which faction will ultimately come out on top (there are 4, only 3 will be obvious though) to a companion's personal vendetta.

Perks and SPECIAL are back of course, and how you select your character ultimately dictates how your game will play out. It's the freedom that makes Fallout unique, and FNV doesn't disappoint in this regard. Obsidian's games are notoriously known for being buggy, and some parts of the game feel empty. This is undoubtedly a result of not having enough development time, so this may sometimes be a little rough around the edges.

It is more important to note that the PC version of FNV is vastly surperior to its console counterparts, and I speak with no hyperbole. The modding community literally makes the whole world different and much more interesting. If you can think of something that would make FNV better, someone's probably made a mod for that.

Don't like the armors of a faction? There's a mod for that! Don't like how FNV only ultilizes 2GB of your ram? There's a mod for that! Don't like how little amount of guns are in the vanilla game? There's a mod for that! Don't like to manage (install/uninstall) all these mods? There's even a mod for that too!

Even today, years after this game's release, the modding community is still highly active. There is a generous amount of content in the base game. If you like it, purchase more DLC's is optional but definitely check out what you can do with your game by installing mods!

85

BF3's attempt to draw in CoD players

Coolicy | Dec. 22, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 3: Close Quarters (NA)

and CoD players should try BF3. This offers an experience very similar to Call of Duty as the maps are more tight and relatively smaller. BF3 has awesome shooting and graphics, this DLC serves as a good stepping stone to draw in some new players. The existing content for similar experience in the base game could use some refreshers as it may get boring quicker.

I like this pack because it helped a friend of mine to transfer into BF3 easier, playing this DLC he got used to traversing around obstacles, the recoils of different guns, and sticking closer to teammates just because he plays more. Now he performs better and enjoys the game more simply because it made it more accessible.

BF3 and its DLC has been on sale many times. For those who don't want to make the dive into BF4, this would be a good point to start. The PC community of BF3 is still very much alive (eventhough it's smaller than before now), so the cost of entry is much lower now. Happy Fragging!

70

For Fans Only.

Coolicy | Dec. 22, 2013 | Review of The Sims 3: Monte Vista (NA)

Sims 3 churns out expensive DLC at an amazing rate. I'm amazed at how many there are and how expensive there are. I enjoyed both Sims 2 and Sims 3, and this DLC lets you interactive with one of the more memorable families in one of the Sims 2 maps.

The rest is really the normal overpriced stuff: new items, clothing, and some new people for you to meet or torture.

It's fun, but it's because Sims 3 is fun, not Monte Vista itself. Know what you're paying for, and don't expect it to change your game fundamentally.

60

Solid game mechanics piggybacking on a licensed property.

Coolicy | Dec. 22, 2013 | Review of Chivalry: Deadliest Warrior

Chivalry Medieval Warfare (CMW) is amazing. You can read my review on it in GMG's page, but this game is not really the same despite their many similarities. CMW veterans will be right at home with Knight, as it's essentially the same thing ported over in one class. The rest, IMO, are more gimmicky than meaningful improvements over the base game.

You get to play as a Ninja, Samurai, Pirate, Vikings, (aforementioned) Knight and even a Spartan. If that sounds awesome, you're being sold on the gimmick or the Deadliest Warrior moniker. You're still using the very similar mechanics (slash stab chop) mixing with Ninja stars, Pirate's pistol or a Spartan's spear. It all sounds good on paper, but they're essentially reskins, with very minor tweaks, on existing weapons in CMW.

CMW has one of the best mode that is absent in this expansion - Team Objective. That mode gives the match a purpose, a reason for teamwork, and not just mindless running and slashing. Without that mode, this expansion just lacks the soul of what made CMW stand out so much.

If you're going to buy only one Chivalry game, definitely get the Medieval Warfare and not this one. The mechanics are solid for both, but Medieval Warfare definitely has the upper edge.

90

Revolutionizes First Person Melee

Coolicy | Dec. 22, 2013 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare

I can't go back into sword fighting in Skyrim anymore after playing this game. Skyrim was a fun game, but the sword fighting is very simplistic when compared to this game. In Chivalry, there are really only 3 attack moves: horizontal swings, forward stab, and vertical (overhead) chops. Combined with factors like Timing, Angle, Weapon Speed and Reach makes for a very complex system. You'll encounter situations such as being flanked, surrounded, and sniped by archers and must take them into consideration when fighting an opponent. When everything's combined, it makes for one amazing sword fighting game. This game has set such a high bar for me, I'm afraid of playing games that's really a game about slashing until the enemy health is out.

Even better: The developers have updated the game since launch with FREE additional content. You get more maps, more modes, and more weapons to expand to the already impressive set in the base game. The new maps are expansive and very detailed. The new weapons are well balanced into its existing arsenal, and adding weapons to classes (eg. polearms to Men at Arms, and flails to Knights) that will change up the way you typically approach these classes.

This game has a lot of support for the friends system by letting you see him clearer in the battle. Allowing easy access to quickly regroup (when allying) or allowing vendettas to be fulfilled sooner (when enemies).

I have sunk nearly 200 hours in this game already, you simply won't regret your purchase if you spend the time to learn its systems. Get this game! It's on sale now! Get it with a friend, it is worth it!

Hands down the best indie game I've played. I can't say the same for the Deadliest Warrior expansion, but that game is based on the solid mechanics of this awesome gem that I think deserve more attention.

90

Best Tomb Raider I've played. Lara Croft is awesome.

Coolicy | Dec. 22, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider

The old Tomb Raider is not known for its story, but focuses more on exploration and gameplay. This is where this reboot shines, the story is intriguing and really explores the beginning of the famous Lara Croft. She's not the battle hardened explorer that you've probably played in past TR games, but this vulnerable pretty girl that's caught in a bad situation.

Due to this conception of Lara's character, every threat feels real and imminent. Without spoiling anything, I felt scared when things go south during cut scenes/story plot points, and my heart paced during gun fights that aren't in my favor.

This is truly a brilliant reboot, and worth every penny I paid for it. The action felt nicely paced, the gunplay feels visceral, and the story was tightly knitted. It's not the Tomb Raider you remember, but it's better in every way.

90

Ultimate BF4

Coolicy | Dec. 21, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 4 Premium Edition (NA)

This bundle package is for the BF4 Fanatic AND the bargain hunter in you. Coincidentally, I am like that as well. At original price you don't "need" to buy this bundle as it's essentially the same price as just the base game + premium membership. But what we're really looking for is the discounted price on this bundle and further vouchers from GMG.

BF4 itself is a very solid game with an extremely robust multiplayer. And that's exactly what it is, a very fun multiplayer game (with an extremely lackluster singleplayer campaign). Even the dev's admitted it in an interview, "great storytelling doesn't come naturally to the Swedes". All the technical stuff are awesome. The gun handling, graphics, animations, teamwork, and oh. my. god. the sound! DICE has always been a master at delivering awesome sound quality (bars above any other games I've played). BF4 is the prettiest and best sounding game I've played on my PC.

If BF3's Premium is of any indication, I have extremely high hopes for BF4's DLC maps. Sure, new toys and assignments are nice, but it's really the diversification of the maps that really change the multiplayer matches. DICE has always been great at their level design and have always delivered with their map packs.

China Rising is the only released dlc on PC and it's absolutely gorgeous. Second Assault is coming soon, and I've heard nothing but awesome stuff from the XB1 players. I have high hopes for the rest of the map packs. If you have played BF3 and liked it, then BF4 is definitely for you. If you've played BF3 to death but haven't picked up BF4 yet, then get this bundle already!

60

Gets old quick.

Coolicy | Dec. 18, 2013 | Review of Typing of the Dead: Overkill Filth of the Dead DLC

As the description says, this replaces the words you need to type into seemingly random profanity. You're going to laugh, probably a lot, when you're "gunning" down zombees by typing Erectile Dysfunction, and there's a lot of variation and creativity in what you're typing.

I applaud the developer's creativity in this DLC, and really wonder how were they able to conceive such an idea. However, as you play through the game you get desensitized with what you're typing. You're no longer amused, and will be quickly reminded that you're just replaying the same game with the same cinematics and mechanics but with different typing prompts.

For its price, it's ok for what it offers. If you're looking for an excuse for replaying this game, definitely pick this pack up. GMG often has sales and/or vouchers available. If you don't see yourself playing the game again, you won't find any reason to come back with this DLC. Then again, for less than $3 USD you'll get some good laugh and some awkwardly tense moments. So value your money to time investment that way.

Hope this helps.

75

Go for Premium

Coolicy | Dec. 18, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 4 China Rising (NA)

If you're a BF4 fanatic, you likely already purchased BF4 Premium. If you're a casual BF4 player or looking for something different (and IMO more fun) from CoD, this pack is definitely of high quality.

As of this writing, the SUAV (gadget you get from this DLC) is ridiculously overpowered. Which is something I imagine DICE will fix pretty soon when they're done stabilizing the server code. Depending on your own taste in BF4 balance, the SUAV is something that made me LOL while using as well as feel bad for taking advantage of it. Make of this what you will.

The maps are all very high quality. Each of the four maps offer different play styles and tactics, offering very different experiences. You probably already know that BF4 is one of the best looking games out right now, and GuiLin Peaks is definitely a map that showcases the prowess of the Frostbite engine and is easily one of my favorite maps.

However, there is a big downside to this DLC (and all of CoD's map packs). I love this pack and the maps, but for $15 I think it's a bit steep. If you're planning to spend lots of hours in BF4's very robust multiplayer, definitely go for BF4 Premium. If BF3's map packs are of any indication, it's going to be a good investment.

88

Fall in love with the narrator

Coolicy | Dec. 17, 2013 | Review of Bastion

the art style is more cartoony, and the fighting isn't as robust as Torchlight, but these are all not reasons why you should be playing Bastion. The combat is slower paced, but takes a backseat to the story. You explore a charming world with a strong progression system, making you attached to your character. Moreover, it's the narrator that narrates your every move that makes the game so charming and endearing. His witty descriptions, comments and snark remarks is really what makes Bastion.

I have this on steam, and it's great to have this added to GMG's backlog. If you haven't tried this game, definitely give it a shot when it's on sale (and maybe even throw in one of GMG's vouchers).

IMO, this game really proves Warner Bro's as a solid publisher. This and the Arkham series shows to me that they invest in their game and want it to be good. This is an indie game, but the amount of polish really shows.

This game is highly regarded by gaming critics, you owe it to yourself to try it out.

85

Challenge map pack

Coolicy | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite: Clash in the Clouds

Don't expect any story elements in this DLC. bioshock's action packed moments is all in here. I personally loved the combat of Bioshock Infinite, and this DLC provides you the chance for more fighting in 4 different maps similar to Batman Arkham City's DLC.

My favorite moment would be the fighting in the sky. It breaks so many boundaries set by other shooters and is just so creative and exhilarating. It's a shame that the main game featured so few of those moments. This DLC definitely scratched that itch of mine.

90

Best Tomb Raider I've played

Coolicy | May 25, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider overflow 3

The old Tomb Raider is not known for its story, but focuses more on exploration and gameplay. This is where this reboot shines, the story is intriguing and really explores the beginning of the famous Lara Croft. She's not the battle hardened explorer that you've probably played in past TR games, but this vulnerable pretty girl that's caught in a bad situation.

Due to this conception of Lara's character, every threat feels real and imminent. Without spoiling anything, I felt scared when things go south during cut scenes/story plot points, and my heart paced during gun fights that aren't in my favor.

This is truly a brilliant reboot, and worth every penny I paid for it. The action felt nicely paced, the gunplay feels visceral, and the story was tightly knitted. It's not the Tomb Raider you remember, but it's better in every way.

80

Vampire or Werewolf!

Coolicy | May 7, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Dawnguard Steam

Like the Imperials vs Stormcloaks storyline, you get to choose and dedicate yourself to one side in this Werewolf vs Vampire war. cough Both factions have their merits and are equally interesting.

Most people choose the righteous path when playing games. In this case, it's the Vampire Hunters, which expands the existing Werewolf part of Skyrim by adding a whole new dedicated Werewolf Perks tree. You also get a whole new weapon: the crossbow(!) to hunt vampires with! But it's really more of a novelty weapon than anything more useful than what you probably already have.

The vampires quest line is more dark, and allows you to become the mighty vampire lord. This is a very cool transformation that's very intimidating. Just look up videos of the Vampire Lord in action, you have your own perk tree and can fly (or float?) to your unsuspecting victims!

Overall, I find this content very enjoyable. My only complaint would be the same as my complaint for the Imperial vs Stormcloak questline: you visit the same places with slightly different motives and perform slightly different actions. I highly enjoyed my playthrough, but I won't recommend replaying this DLC choosing the other path just to see what happens. Enjoy your choices in Dawnguard and live by those choices!

Skyrim DLC goes on sale from time to time, definitely check for a GMG voucher before you snatch this up!

85

Standalone Expansion that's best played alongside GTAIV

Coolicy | April 22, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City

In case you didn't read it correctly, you DO NOT need a copy of GTA IV to play this standalone expansion pack. Yet, I would highly recommend that you DO get GTA IV and play that first before playing this.

The stories in TBOGT and TLAD are both self contained, and provides its own satisfying story arc. You can expect that usual Rockstar polish and content here, thrown in with GTA IV's solid mechanics such as shooting and driving.

The star of these two expansions however would be how it ties to GTA IV's story - the main reason why I recommend GTA IV as well. Expanding the stories of two seemingly usual NPC's that just passes by in Niko Bellic's life turns out to be increasingly complex.

The multiplayer requires Rockstar's Social Club, which I personally find a little cumbersome and not very intuitive. Yet, the multiplayer scene is still alive. I still jump in from time to time just to release some steam, but that wouldn't be a reason why I'd recommend Rockstar's Episodes from Liberty City. I recommend it because the single player campaigns are solid as hell and entertaining from star to finish!

95

Changes your perception of First Person Melee Fighting forever.

Coolicy | April 22, 2013 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare Overflow

I can't go back into sword fighting in Skyrim anymore after playing this game. Skyrim was a fun game, but the sword fighting is very simplistic when compared to this game. In Chivalry, there are really only 3 attack moves: horizontal swings, forward stab, and vertical (overhead) chops. Combined with factors like Timing, Angle, Weapon Speed and Reach makes for a very complex system. You'll encounter situations such as being flanked, surrounded, and sniped by archers and must take them into consideration when fighting an opponent. When everything's combined, it makes for one amazing sword fighting game. This game has set such a high bar for me, I'm afraid of playing games that's really a game about slashing until the enemy health is out.

Even better: The developers have updated the game since launch with FREE additional content. You get more maps, more modes, and more weapons to expand to the already impressive set in the base game. The new maps are expansive and very detailed. The new weapons are well balanced into its existing arsenal, and adding weapons to classes (eg. polearms to Men at Arms, and flails to Knights) that will change up the way you typically approach these classes.

This game has a lot of support for the friends system by letting you see him clearer in the battle. Allowing easy access to quickly regroup (when allying) or allowing vendettas to be fulfilled sooner (when enemies).

I have sunk over 100+ hours in this game already, you simply won't regret your purchase if you spend the time to learn its systems. Get this game! It's on sale now! Get it with a friend, it is worth it!

60

ARMA wannabe

Coolicy | March 28, 2013 | Review of Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising

This is perhaps the only competition to the ARMA series in the military simulation market. It's funny because the guys are Bohemia Interactive lost the license of Operation Flashpoint and went onto make ARMA and it excels in everyway.

Drawing out secondary gun takes time (unlike CoD) and mapping and calling in air strikes is much more complicated, but it's really clunky and unintuitive. Teammate AI is incredibly primitive, and enemy AI is extremely broken.

Authentic military simulation is not known for its accessibility, but this is far from being inaccessible because it's too complex or authentic. This is just a bad game because they lost the talent that made the name Operation Flashpoint.

The only redeeming quality of this game, IMO, is the coop aspect. Turning up the difficulty and playing with 3 friends in coop can be fun, and I won't recommend playing any other way. If you don't have any buddies to play with, however, I'd just recommend you to stay away.

70

Continuing the story, without continuing the game.

Coolicy | March 28, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Year of the Snake

Year of the Snake is a standalone DLC experience much like Nightmare in North Point. The content itself is enjoyable, even though the whole journey is a little short. The story picks up after Wei Shen's main story, but does not require you to finish the game before playing.

Year of the Snake's story is unrelated to Sleeping Dog's main campaign except that Wei Shen has done his undercover work. The enemy faction has no relation to the Sun On Yee or 18K, but is its own cult that lacks personality. You're just told that there are bad guys doing bad things and you have to stop them, and the mastermind is extremely one dimensional and boring.

You get allies for missions from time to time, but these allies suck and can barely help you. You get 2 new outfits in this game, the patrol cop and the SDU uniform, both of which can be unlocked for the main game after completion. That would be the only worthwhile thing that connects the SD base game with this DLC.

The formula is really more of the same, melee fights here, gun fight there, and throw in the occasional chase scene. It's really the well execution of these aspects that make Sleeping Dogs a fun game. I can really only recommend this DLC pack for fans of the game like myself. Those who liked the SD base game but aren't too impressed can skip this DLC.

75

Pimping Weapons!

Coolicy | March 5, 2013 | Review of Killing Floor: Golden Weapons Pack

As said, this pack gives you four weapons with golden plating. It's actually more impressive than it sounds. The golden weapons really help you stand out from the crowd or just give you bragging rights to your friends.

In the midst of chaos and splitting up with your friend(s), it's hard to know where they are and coordinate tactics. Those who are familiar with the game should know. Especially when you didn't bother to buy additional skins to make you stand out, you'll realize that vanilla characters share a very similar color palette as the zombies.

With golden weapons (and golden grenades for the M79!) this makes you stand out and adds a subtle layer of tactical advantage when playing with friends. You don't need any more skins and weapons to enjoy Killing Floor, but this one is one of those that'll enhance your gaming experience.

85

a more practical approach to role-playing in Killing Floor

Coolicy | Feb. 28, 2013 | Review of Killing Floor: Outbreak Character Pack

The default skins were mostly variants of soldiers and policemen, they serve the purpose well but can get boring quick.

This pack gives you 4 skins that's serve more practical purposes in a zombie apocalypse. Aside from "DJ Scully" (see above), all the other 3 are very well done models & skins that make you stand out from the crowd.

This pack is older in age when compared to the other character packs for Killing Floor, which explains the price of $2. GMG frequently has sales and vouchers, this pack can be snatched up for very cheap when purchased at the right time.

80

Very cool looking skin

Coolicy | Feb. 28, 2013 | Review of Killing Floor: Ash Harding Character Pack

Like the robot skin, this character is unique in the sense that it has her own voice module and look awesomely cool.

This is one of the best skins (on par with the robot skin IMO) as it beats the other more generic soldier, scientist or gimmicky skins also available for killing floor.

The multiplayer is very fun in Killing Floor, and the community is still very much alive. Most players are male characters, and this cool looking female skin will definitely make you stand out.

90

Online is where you'll find the hidden gem

Coolicy | Feb. 15, 2013 | Review of Max Payne 3: Rockstar Pass

Let's face it. It's Rockstar, and it's Max Payne. We all know that Rockstar make stellar single player experiences. I am pleasantly surprised at the quality and the enjoyment Max Payne 3 brings me. I purchased the Season Pass at a discounted price, and was extremely satisfied with my purchase. The multiplayer is extremely challenging, the crosshair (it's really more like a dot) is frustratingly small, but kills get more and more rewarding as you get accustomed to the aiming in MP3. This season pass gives you all the available DLC's in one package. As of this writing, there is still a healthy amount of people playing, and it's relatively easy to find a game. The last DLC: Deathmatch made in Heaven is my favorite: featuring a coop mode where Max and Passo must stand off against hordes of enemy, and more game modes (my favorite is Run and Stun) that are very fun. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed MP3's multiplayer. I bought the game primarily for its single player campaign, as I'm sure I'd love simply for Rockstar's name alone. The multiplayer allows you to play as gangs in the game and customize your avatar. More and more customization options unlock as you progress up the ladder, bursts (think CoD perks) and weapons unlock make the experience addicitive, and customization options like shirts and accessories on your avatar makes the experience personal. You DO NOT need the Season Pass to enjoy MP3's multiplayer, so the full $30 is a little steep IMO. I've personally enjoyed the extra stuff very much, and was glad that I purchased the pass. If you can get the pass at a cheaper price, I'd say get it, you won't regret it.

85

Get it for the DLC's.

Coolicy | Feb. 15, 2013 | Review of Dragon Age: Origins - Ultimate Edition (NA)

Bioware games uses Bioware Points for DLC's. Bioware Points almost never go on sale, so you'll have to pay full price for their DLC's, and that sucks if you're a bargain hunter like myself. The base game (DAO) and the expansion (Awakening) are both fun and memorable games, but it's the DLC's that make this package shine. My favorites are Warden's Keep (originally a digitally deluxe content), Stone Prisoner (came with new copies of the base game) and The Darkspawn Chronicles. If you think about how much Bioware Points cost and how much it'll cost you to buy them separately, buy this and think of the others are added extras.

20

Good try. But no. Just no.

Coolicy | Feb. 13, 2013 | Review of Aliens: Colonial Marines

The campaign is incredibly short... took me just under 6 hours to finish. For a game has both the backing of Sega and Fox (license owner) AND a 5 year development time, this game just doesn't make sense. Everything about this game just doesn't make sense because everything was disappointing.

Gearbox had the liberty to write canonical story and invent aliens types just for this game. Yet the new aliens are extremely easy to beat, even on higher difficulties. Aliens animation are terrible and slow, are does not resemble anything like the aliens in the movies. AI is incredibly bad, I lost count how many times my teammates ran into a room and starred at the walls. The story is weak, despite being considered "canon". Lame cameos are inserted forcefully. And the difficulty is almost non-existent, which makes coop extremely pointless.

DO NOT think of this like Borderlands 2 but set in Aliens universe... Gearbox really screwed up. Best avoid this title.

60

Tailoring to the racing itch you may or may not have

Coolicy | Feb. 13, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs - The Street Racer Pack

I purchased all DLC's when they were on sale, and this is one of them that I regret.

It's not terrible, SD has decent driving mechanics, it's fun, it's just not really my cup of tea. United Front Games has members from Black Box, a developer that developed NFS before.

Many races are fun, but some are not designed very fairly imo. My favorite is the mountain race in Victoria Peak, reminds me of the manga-turned-(Chinese)-movie Initial D. Which is why I love SD, so many nods to the HK Cinema.

If you liked SD's racing diversions, definitely get this pack. For those more interested in the story and fighting, you'll find none here.

50

Preorder packs for sale.

Coolicy | Feb. 13, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs - Dragon Master Pack

This package gives you all the previous preorder exclusives in one pack. The GSP pack is the most valuable one IMO as it contains something that affects gameplay. You get an exclusive move that's apparently GSP's signature move. I'm not a fan of GSP, but the move looks very cool and is quite powerful.

The rest is really some cosmetic stuff that lets you role-play (wear cop clothes, dress as a monk, more than anything else. There are some repeatable missions, but they're repetitive and adds little gameplay value after playing through them twice.

Smaller things included such as you get a golden cleaver that's unbreakable, a monk costume that lets you punch harder, and other things that aren't very useful.

I am a big SD fan, I'd only recommend buying this if you're a fan like me.

85

NFS at a bargain.

Coolicy | Feb. 13, 2013 | Review of Need for Speed: The Run (NA)

BMW is known for being stingy with its license in video games. Few games can have it in their games, and EA's NFS is one of the few way you can virtually drive a BMW. AND this game has much more cars to choose from!

The game was heavily marketed as a story-focused NFS game, and features some Quick-Time-Events (QTE). Many were worried about the QTE implementation, but I can assure you that they are few in between and they are extremely well done.

The game's story is a little short, but was a very fun adventure. Normally I'd give it an 8/10, but +5 points for being able to snatch it up for only $20 with the possible addition of sales and GMG voucheres!

90

BF3 at a reduced price!

Coolicy | Feb. 13, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 3 (NA)

Even if you aren't a fan of First Person Shooters, you have definitely heard of Call of Duty and Battlefield. This is the fiercest competition CoD has faced, it doesn't top it, but comes the closest out of any shooter.

BF3 features a full-length campaign, which can be fun because all the mechanics are solid. The design however is a little lacking, and is rather linear and doesn't play to BF3's strength.

It also has multiple coop missions, the story links to the campaign loosely. You're put in the shoes of soldiers that were in the same missions or takes place in the same time frame. The missions have a lot of variety, the usual foot soldier fighting an onslaught of enemies, helicopter fights, sniper challenges and more to change up the pacing.

The gem is definitely the multiplayer. If you like Call of Duty, there are modes that play very similar. If you're bored of CoD, there are modes that BF3 excels in. Rush and Conquest are both my favorites. PC also has Large variants of the same maps that were scaled for 64 players. The mixture of infantry and vehicles are balanced perfectly.

I didn't enjoy the campaign and coop as much as I did with multiplayer, but I've spent over 150+ hours in it alone. The price is now reduced, making this a great deal. Wait for it to go on sale and use a GMG voucher and you just saved a TON.

There's still a ton of people playing the multiplayer. Have fun fragging.

60

Prices does not justify content

Coolicy | Feb. 12, 2013 | Review of Binary Domain Complete Pack

Binary Domain is a great game. Brings quite a bit of innovation to the squad-based third person shooter and is quite fun. A little overlooked by audience IMO. The game itself is solid, and would deserve an 85 score IMO.

This review is scored as it is because of the way it is packaged. Minus points for calling it the complete package when it actually contains less value than the base game itself.

The multiplayer pack is totally pointless. There is Not A Single Soul playing. The Dan Marshall pack is nice, adds more to the base game. However, the game is fine without it... so this doesn't really justify the increased price over the base game.

You're better off waiting for a sale on the base game and save the excess on another game.

80

RTS Gem.

Coolicy | Feb. 6, 2013 | Review of Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3 (NA)

It's been ages since we got an awesome RTS. This game is old, the graphics may seem dated by today's standards, but the gameplay is solid.

There are 3 full-length faction campaigns to choose from, and each just gets better and better. One of my favorite things from the C&C Red Alert series would be the girls. Yes, the ones from the cut scenes. They do a great job motivating you to win the war, both acting-wise and hotness-wise even when some parts can be corny.

Graphics are dated in 2013 standards, and is more cartoonish compared to Red Alert 2. I have no problem with that, it fits with the story and works well with the gameplay. Who plays an RTS game for awesome graphics anyway? That's not something you should expect from a 5 year old RTS.

The campaign is very fun. Even though I don't remember much about the story, I remember the plot twists and the creative liberty the developer has taken with the units.

The game is solid, it's cheap now ($10!) and if you can get it with a friend. The coop is VERY fun.

90

Blow some heads, Shoot some testicles

Coolicy | Feb. 6, 2013 | Review of Bulletstorm (NA)

yes, a game that rewards you for shooting off people's nuts. Bulletstorm is a game that's both fun and makes you say WTF? Visually it looks a lot like Gears of War in first person, but you don't fight Locust.

People Can Fly is an European Developer, so their understanding of North American culture shows in this game. Expect a lot of F-bombs and profanity in this game, which is really part of the humor IMO.

I played this game years ago, and have completely forgotten about the story. What I DID NOT forget about though, was the action and toys you get to play with. Shoot someone in the head, then shoot them in the balls, lash them onto you and then slide kick them.

Oh that just has fun written all over it. It's such a bargain when it's on sale!!!!

90

Be Commander Shepard.

Coolicy | Feb. 6, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect Trilogy (NA)

I would definitely recommend this package for new-comers to the Mass Effect universe. As you can expect from a Bioware game, the universe is diverse and extremely interesting. Each alien race has an extensive history, which can be either studied or ignored, as is with most of Mass Effect's lore.

The three games are all great in nature, and the decisions are carried over all the way from ME 1 to ME 3. Despite what some may rave about the decisions Bioware choose to tackle ME3's ending, I've had a great time throughout the whole journey, and was left satisfied with the ending after seeing the FREE Extended Cut dlc.

Mass Effect 1 was more about the story, as its combat is definitely closer to an RPG more than an action game. Mass Effect 3 feels like an action game with RPG elements. Mass Effect 2, however, is more like a hybrid between the two, combining the perfect elements of combat and RPG.

The story is absolutely amazing, creating moments and fights both memorable and challenging, and partnering your Commander Shepard with interesting allies and foes. Mass Effect 3 is actually my favorite of them all, bringing my encounters from ME1 and ME2 with a full stop. You will build attachments to characters, and will feel strong emotions as they come and go.

If I were to criticize this package, it would be because it doesn't include all the DLC's. It includes the DLC's for ME1, some DLC's (that come with new copies of the game) for ME2 and the online pass for ME3. The description tries to sell the multiplayer component for ME3 a lot, and deservingly so. The multiplayer is great, fun and has received a lot of support post-launch. It is very addictive, definitely give it a try if you own ME3.

The trilogy combines all 3 installments of the ME series into one convenient and economical package. If you're new to the ME series, this is a great starting point. If you've played one or two of the ME series, this is a good place to start revisiting the worlds you encounter, and make the meaningful decisions that you missed. If you've played all three games, then why are you still reading this? Buy it!

70

Get it for the Single Player, not the Multiplayer

Coolicy | Feb. 6, 2013 | Review of Crysis 2: Maximum Edition (NA)

The single player campaign is great, full of action of twists. Some may complain that it's too linear compared to the open-world Crysis 1, but I find it to strike the perfect balance. The map design still allows for different play styles, even if it's not as free as its predecessor. The action is fun, as you can expect from a Crytek shooter, and the nano-suit simply is the funnest thing I've used in a shooter for the longest time.

My main criticism is the story, the main character feels more like a puppet following orders from various people and less of a Hero saving the day. It's fortunate that the aliens are interesting and creates very intense fights, that makes up for the weakness in the story.

The Maximum Edition simply means it has all the multiplayer content included... which is nice but there simply isn't a large enough player-base to justify the content anymore. There are still people playing, but definitely not in the area that I live in. I usually have to join servers with higher ping to have more people in the battle. The gun play is fun as usual, but feels a little like CoD which it is obviously trying to compete with.

Compared to the Crysis 3 beta (which is available now), Crytek has made obvious improvements to the formula that makes Crysis unique. Which makes me much more excited for the Crysis 3 release.

As my title says: get this only for the story and the single player, skip the multiplayer.

85

The Best Sims Experience

Coolicy | Feb. 5, 2013 | Review of The Sims 3 (NA)

Sims 3 may look like Sims 2, but improves upon it in almost every aspect. The only downside is that it looks almost identical to Sims 2 graphic-wise, but the gameplay is much more deeper than before. As usual, there are multiple ways to achieve success. I'll let you define success yourself. Let it be: career success, romantic success, or just success in torturing your own sim... this game lets you have at it however you like.

Whether you want to help your sim get the perfect job, girl, or revenge, there are multiple ways to achieve that, and that diversity is the beauty of the Sims 3. Compare to the many (read: MANY MANY MANY) Sims 3 expansion pack, this one has the most value. If you're new to the Sims franchise, get this game. It's the most polished, and features the most content for your money.

Like the Sims social game, this game has full social support, which allows you to share your town and such with your friends. I'm not much of a social player in Sims 3, but I can see why some people would enjoy this feature. Like social games, you grow more attached and motivated in playing when your friends are involved. Fortunately, this game doesn't have any microtransactions, so don't be freaked out by the social elements!

When on sale, this is truly a great deal. It's 50% off now, or get it with a GMG voucher when it's available.

95

The ultimate package in one!

Coolicy | Feb. 5, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 3: Premium Edition (NA)

In practice, this is actually a great deal. A typical full price for a game but this one includes all DLCs, right now it's on sale for 50% off too! I bought BF3 when it released and subscribed to the premium edition when it was available, and I didn't regret it one bit.

This package includes a full length campaign and multiple coop missions, but those who know BF3 knows that its true value lies in multiplayer. Which is why this package has superb value, and even more so when on sale.

There are modes that is more tailored to the CoD crowd, and vehicle focused for the hardcore BF3 crowd, and maps that features the perfect balance between the two ala BFBC2. You will get all the DLC as said earlier, and each of them are all of great value. I loved all of the map pack EXCEPT the Armored Kill one, that one is slightly too big and too vehicular focused for my taste. Those who love the BF3 vehicular combat would feel right at home.

All in all, this package is a great deal, even when it's full priced at $59.99. It's on sale now, and GMG frequently has vouchers that you can apply. Definitely pick up this game to scratch your FPS itch.

85

Great RPG with very polished combat

Coolicy | Feb. 4, 2013 | Review of Kingdoms of Amalur - Reckoning - US & Canada

Many RPGs excel in story telling and customization, and this one is no different. What this does differently from other RPGs is how fluid and polished the combat is designed. The animations are top-notch, and the mechanics are innovative. Fighting is exciting and gets even more rewarding as more skills are unlocked. I don't think I've ever seen combat in an RPG so polished and rewarding. IMO it drew the perfect blend between traditional RPG and a hack-and-slash game.

The pacing of the game is perfect, even the stealth sections are surprisingly well done. It's not an open world RPG though, and is structured more similar to MMOs with different zones... which can annoying when you have to backtrack for quests.

The world and its culture is very rich and detailed, although it can get confusing sometimes as so much information is poured at once. The story is solid, but I don't really feel my decisions having a meaningful impact on the world.

Overall, the game was very well designed. I have no idea why 38 studios and Big Huge Games had to close down. There may be other factors affecting that outcome, but it's definitely not because the game - because it rocks!

45

Be a celebrity. If that's your thing.

Coolicy | Feb. 1, 2013 | Review of The Sims 3: Showtime (NA)

This add on focuses less on building a life, and more on building towards STARDOM... which is actually less interesting than it sounds.

Unlike the Sims 3 base game, this one doesn't really encourage creativity where there are multiple ways to achieve goals. You can be a Singer, Acrobat, Magician or DJ (as described above), but the ways to get to the top is actually pretty linear, and gets boring quite fast.

Things world complimenting would be the new world where your Star sim will shine. That area is actually pretty interesting and visually pleasing.

I... regret purchasing this DLC when it came out. Another overpriced Sims 3 DLC IMO.

95

New Low Price for the awesome ME3

Coolicy | Feb. 1, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect 3 (NA)

ME3 has much controversies surrounding it, mostly surrounding Day 1 DLC, Multiplayer mode, and the ending. The other parts were mostly agreed to be awesome and epic. This review will focus on the criticisms you've probably heard of, and how this package ($20 for ME3!) is a great deal.

The Day 1 DLC stirred up a lot of trouble as it features a Prothean, a mysterious civilization that is mentioned throughout the entire trilogy. The DLC itself is integrated into the main campaign smoothly, and gives you a squadmate to bring around in your missions. Your new friend, like your existing crew, will provide unique insights at different points during missions fitting his background. It's $10 by itself, with the low price now, you should have lots to spare to purchase additional DLC.

Multiplayer mode is another criticism, but it's far from being just "tacked on" and lackluster. It is quite the opposite in fact. The 10 waves coop survival game mode + buying reinforcement packs with in-game credits is surprisingly addictive. There is a lot of support for the MP, Bioware released many free packs that add additional weapons, power-ups, and unlockable characters. Even today, it is still very easy to find a game online. Bioware also has weekly challenges where you can unlock exclusive N7 weapons (cannot be unlocked otherwise).

The ending has gotten the most hit since launch. The original one is ambiguous but allows imagination. Bioware has since released an free Extended Cut DLC that expands the ending. Showing more consequences of your actions and elaborating upon the original ending. I was satisfied with the original ending myself, and was even more pleased with this free DLC.

All in all, ME3 is an amazing game. You get to travel to many places previously only mentioned in ME2 and ME1. You get answers to questions raised in previous games. You get closure from your actions in the entire trilogy.

I loved ME3. I think you will too. Definitely get it now if you somehow missed it before. It's only $20 now!

90

Highly polished Simulation

Coolicy | Jan. 23, 2013 | Review of Euro Truck Simulator 2

I admit. I haven't played that many simulation games as they're usually unpolished and/or overly complicated.

I believe that this game has hit the perfect balance of realism and accessibility. The graphics are decent, sound functions very well and the controls are easy to get into. You can customize the HUD to display various elements and tailor it to your liking. I personally prefer having no displays and have to look "manually" at the GPS to know where I'm going for realism.

Having the ability to move your base of operations is also very cool, the landmarks are portrayed very well, and the traffic system (ie. driving on the opposite side of the road in UK) reflects real life.

Keeping in mind again that this is Simulation. I am very impressed. As of this writing GMG is also selling this for $10 cheaper than steam! I regret purchasing this game so soon, don't forget to apply any applicable voucher to get a even better deal!

90

Best Max Payne 3 DLC yet!

Coolicy | Jan. 22, 2013 | Review of Max Payne 3: Deathmatch Made in Heaven Pack

For the same price as the other DLC, this one offers significantly more.

This one finally offers a Coop mode for MP3!! You and a friend (can be randomly matched with a stranger if you wish) fight against waves of bots. Functions like a hybrid of GoW Horde Mode and CoD Zombie Mode, you kill enemies, earn points and unlock more areas for you to take cover in.

The other modes are also very entertaining. Run and Stun is essentially like a zombie mode, one player has a stun gun and must melee other players to infect them. Time Attack is essentially FFA but with a combo multiplier attached to a timer. Marked Man is also FFA but you get to assign Vendetta when killed by a player once, and you get more points for settling your vendetta or denying others vendetta in addition to normal kills.

Checkpoint Challenge is a little addition added to Arcade Mode where you can replay sections of the campaign if you find multiplayer too hard. Scores you get goes towards unlock in multiplayer.

If you're gonna get ONE DLC for Max Payne 3, let it be this one.

90

Nostalgia at its finest

Coolicy | Jan. 22, 2013 | Review of Sonic the Hedgehog Bundle Steam-

If you only remember Sonic from the Olympic games, then this franchise isn't for you. If you remember Sonic from his golden days, then this is for you.

This pack includes everything from Sonic released in the past. I can honestly say except for Sonic SEGA All Stars Racing, I have enjoyed each and everyone of the game, and can say that it's a revival of the classic games on your modern machine. There's nothing wrong with All Stars Racing per se, it's just that I don't associate Sonic with that kind of gaming -similar to how I don't associate Mario with Mario Kart, but the platforming games- and they're good games nonetheless.

They all run fine on my modern machine. I can't imagine new comers accustomed to modern games getting into this though. The mechanics are very punishing by today's standards. As my title states, this is Nostalgia at its finest, and I'm still enjoying running through the levels as Sonic and Tails <3

70

More of the same.

Coolicy | Jan. 21, 2013 | Review of Darksiders II: Abyssal Forge DLC

which may be a good thing, depending on your views on the Darksiders II base game. The Abyssal Forge opens some dungeons, and throw in a few puzzles along the way. It's enjoyable, but it offers nothing new to the experience.

it took me a little more than 2 hours to finish this DLC, it's a little short in length for $10, so it's good only if you have the Season Pass or buy this when it's discounted (and GMG usually has an extra voucher to go on top!)

60

Gorgeous maps, albeit too pricey.

Coolicy | Jan. 17, 2013 | Review of Medal of Honor: Warfighter - Zero Dark Thirty Map Pack (NA) dns

Both maps (and the base game) look gorgeous thanks to the Frostbite 2 engine and the talented artists at Danger Close. Both maps are well designed and balanced in my opinion.

The game also includes some new customization options like configuations and skins, which I'm not particularly a big fan of. I can, however, see how some completionists go crazy over every unlock.

It seems to me that they're riding the Zero Dark Thirty hype and hoping that the name itself sells the pack. I got it free with my preorder of the game, I can't imagine people paying $10 for two maps though. And I thought $15 for 5 maps is expensive, I guess EA has set themselves a new low for offering 2 maps for $10.

70

Fans only...

Coolicy | Jan. 16, 2013 | Review of The Sims 3: Monte Vista (NA) dns

Sims 3 churns out expensive DLC at an amazing rate. I'm amazed at how many there are and how expensive there are. I enjoyed both Sims 2 and Sims 3, and this DLC lets you interactive with one of the more memorable families in one of the Sims 2 maps.

The rest is really the normal overpriced stuff: new items, clothing, and some new people for you to meet or torture.

It's fun, but it's because Sims 3 is fun, not Monte Vista itself. Know what you're paying for, and don't expect it to change your game fundamentally.

86

Short yet enjoyable ride.

Coolicy | Jan. 15, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Zodiac Tournament

Sleeping Dogs has always drew inspiration from Hong Kong action movies, and this one is no different. You'll continue to see nods to movies if you're a HK Kung fu movie fan, most notably: Jet Li's Fearless. The story follows a similar arc and throws in its own twists and turns, so be prepared for the ride.

The combat is fun as always, adding new opponents into the fray so you can't just right click your way through. The new moves look brutal and really badass. Story wise, the main casing impresses me more, but this adds so much to your existing fighting moves I gladly paid full price for it.

70

Adds new faces (literally) to the game

Coolicy | Jan. 15, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II: Mediterranean Portraits

If one of your criticism of the game is the lack of customization of faces and clothing, this is for you. $2 isn't too expensive for the amount of options added. It adds quite a bit of freshness to the game. This was actually a reason for me to return to a game I've put down for a while.

50

Premium Armor to show that you have more money

Coolicy | Jan. 9, 2013 | Review of War of the Roses: House of Lancaster Armour Set

because the armor themselves aren't that pretty... It fits the Lancaster design well and definitely makes you stand out in the battlefield because not many people bought it. Having no impact on the game otherwise, only buy this if you're a fanatic of this game.

55

In for the mediocre but interesting SP, nothing else

Coolicy | Dec. 30, 2012 | Review of Homefront

This game features a very interesting premise: the hypothetical invasion of North Korea and Americans losing the war in their own front lawn. In screenshots, the mood and setting is done extremely well, the delivery of story itself is lacking though.

The game begins with you on a prisoner transport bus being transferred to another location, and you see the aftermath of the North Korean invasion. It's done very well, but doesn't give you enough time to sink into the setting. You're set into an explosion before you really feel that these guys are evil oppressors.

You're then led through a series of Follow Me, Kill This missions, you have a good idea if you've played any recent Modern FPS. The characters are bland and are obvious archetypes. I find it difficult to care for them and there's really no bonds formed.

The only recommendation I'd give this game is the story, a very interesting take on modern warfare. The campaign is slightly short though, I recommend to play on a harder difficulty for it to be more challenging.

Just forget about the tacked on MP. No one is playing it. Get this if you're tired of the cliche CoD plots, give this a try!

75

Shows the PC's true power.

Coolicy | Dec. 23, 2012 | Review of Battlefield 3™: Armored Kill (NA) dns

PC players get to have 64 player servers whereas console players are only stuck with 32 limit cap. The 64 players game also features a bigger scaled map to truly feature the vehicles.

Armored Kill features the PC's strength and BF3's unique charm very well. Very few modern games handle vehicular battles so entertainingly and hectic at the same time. I've played the same dlc on a friend's PS3, but the performance and experience simply do not match up.

I'd personally recommend that you get BF3 Premium as this pack may come as a little pricey. This pack, however, is awesome for people who really love BF3's vehicles and don't prefer other game modes. Having separate options to purchase what you want (and ignore those that you don't) is awesome! Definitely get it!

85

BF3's attempt to draw in CoD players

Coolicy | Dec. 23, 2012 | Review of Battlefield 3: Close Quarters (NA) dns

and CoD players should try BF3. This offers an experience very similar to Call of Duty as the maps are more tight and relatively smaller. BF3 has awesome shooting and graphics, this DLC serves as a good stepping stone to draw in some new players. The existing content for similar experience in the base game could use some refreshers as it may get boring quicker.

I like this pack because it helped a friend of mine to transfer into BF3 easier, playing this DLC he got used to traversing around obstacles, the recoils of different guns, and sticking closer to teammates just because he plays more. Now he performs better and enjoys the game more simply because it made it more accessible.

95

How DLC should be made

Coolicy | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City DNS

Two mini, yet still lengthy, campaigns for the price of two overpriced CoD map packs. It's even cheaper when you buy it on sale!

This in addition to GTA IV base game tell very different stories. You've experienced Liberty City as a immragrant, now you're part of a biker gang that's falling apart or managing to survive managing a night club. Both are actually much harder than it sounds.

There are actually very distinct visuals for both these campaigns. The bikers storyline is more gritty and more about brotherhood, paranoia and betrayal, whereas the nightlife storyline is about dealing with controlling mafias, doing business deals, and protecting your friend Gay Tony (who's sometimes an idiot). One is more monotone, dirty where the other is more vibrant and colorful.

This is truly value in DLC, especially when other companies milk the crap out of DLC. Rockstar does an awesome job in putting value into their content.

77

Get it with a GMG voucher!

Coolicy | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Nightmare in North Point

Length-wise, this DLC is pretty short. For people who are not familiar with the whole JiangShi concept, this is an interesting take on the zombie/vampire genre. For those who are familiar with JiangShi, you'll appreciate the nods towards classic HK horror movies. You'll learn some new moves to fight the enemies and have A new weapon to play with, but none of these goes back into the main game with you. So for the regular price, this ain't really worth it.

It is worth noting to GMG has this cheaper than steam as of this writing, priced at $5 and $7 respectively. GMG also has its own voucher pretty regularly, so definitely get this on GMG if you're a Sleeping Dogs fanatic like myself!

11

Overpriced and pointless.

Coolicy | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Borderlands 2: Collectors Edition Pack

Skins for 4 characters and 1 grenade for $5 for an FPS game. Get this for free, nearly free or not at all. The skins came with my copy of BL2, and I rarely use them. The grenade is fun, an eye candy when used, but the novelty wares off quick. It's not worth your money.

80

For BF3 Fanatics only!

Coolicy | Dec. 14, 2012 | Review of Battlefield 3: Premium Edition (NA) dns

This package is really the "ultimate pack" for BF3. You get the base game + all the DLC's for a full game's price, and the package frequently goes on sale (like it is now on GMG).

The base game includes a SP campaign and COOP mode, both are extremely lackluster and not as entertaining as campaigns you can find elsewhere. However, the BF series was not famous for its campaign or its coop, its charm lies in the multiplayer.

That's where the value of the package comes in. At times where CoD map packs sell for $15 each (and they offer significantly less content), BF3's map pack offer much more value for your buck. As of this writing, End Game is still yet to be released, and there are already 4 map packs released.

Back to Karkand aims to attract the BF2 fan as it offers the old maps but reimagined in BF3's awesome Frostbite 2 engine. Close Quarters is targeted towards the CoD fans as the maps are designed for, as stated, "close quarters". Armored Kill is to please the fans who love BF3's vehicular combat with its abundant tanks and aircrafts + massive map size. Aftermath is really a mix of everything, but focused on the aftermath of an earthquake and showcases more on destruction capability in the maps.

If you love BF3, this is a great deal to get the complete package if you haven't already upgraded. If you're new to BF3, perhaps research on the game and try it at a friend's place first or something. Team Deathmatch plays very similarly to CoD and is very fun, but that is really one small portion of the whole package and this may not be for you.

96

Revolutionizes Sword Combat in games.

Coolicy | Dec. 13, 2012 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare PRE

I can't go back into sword fighting in Skyrim anymore after playing this game. Skyrim was a fun game, but the sword fighting is very simplistic when compared to this game. In Chivalry, there are really only 3 attack moves: horizontal swings, forward stab, and vertical (overhead) chops. Combined with factors like Timing, Angle, Weapon Speed and Reach makes for a very complex system. You'll encounter situations such as being flanked, surrounded, and sniped by archers and must take them into consideration when fighting an opponent. When everything's combined, it makes for one amazing sword fighting game. This game has set such a high bar for me, I'm afraid of playing games that's really a game about slashing until the enemy health is out.

Get this game! It's on sale now! Get it with a friend, it is worth it! There are problems with this game, nothing game breaking or particularly troubling, and I'm sure it'll be fixed in the near future.

80

A very fair price for what it offers!

Coolicy | Dec. 12, 2012 | Review of Dishonored: Dunwall City Trials

For those who loved the action of this stellar game, the maps are very well designed, allowing great creativity to the players for stealthly navigation and awesome assassinations.

Considering how games like Call of Duty charge $15 for a few maps, this pack only charges you $5 for 10 maps, which is a great deal. The length of each map, though, is a little short in my opinion. It varies greatly on how you play, and I prefer to play more recklessly when I get detected... which takes less patience as a flawless stealth run.

For those who couldn't get enough of what Dishonored offers, definitely get this pack. It has great value especially for the standard in the game industry nowadays.

85

Creatively Challenging!

Coolicy | Dec. 8, 2012 | Review of Scribblenauts Unlimited (NA)

I'm unfamiliar about any past iterations of this game or anything similar as this is my first time playing a game like this, but this game is very fun and imaginative. The visuals are cute, but serves the purpose of the game very well.

My favorite of the game is to "creatively challenge" the players, as the players that think out of the box will have the most fun. You're set into this world where you have to solve different quests/tasks, to bake a pizza (or a motorcycle) or to help a guy impress his girlfriend on a date. The obvious things are of course cheese + dough and flowers + suit respectively, but many other options work as well. This is where the imagination and the creativity comes in, as you can spawn things by literally typing in the words into the game, and they spawn. Add viking helmets, bow and arrow or spawn alligators or walruses, I'm amazed at how much the developers covered in terms of options - something definitely impossible to achieve without this game's simple yet effective visual approach.

Sometimes the control can get slightly sketchy, like giving the item to the wrong person, or attaching the pair of wings to the wrong animal, and that can get a little irritating at times, but nothing that takes longer than a few seconds to fix.

I'm surprised at how much I am impressed by this game as I normally don't play games like this. If you're tired from all the explosions and kills from the other games you play, this game is definitely a good one to play to take a break from saving the world. Even though you do "kinda" save the world here too... but in a different way. Hmm.

90

Surprisingly fun combat!

Coolicy | Dec. 7, 2012 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year -

Hit, get combos, and counter when enemies flash, sounds simple right? It actually sounds more simple than it really is, the enemy variants, the amount of gadgets you get to use make the combat very fun.

I didn't understand all the hype from the Batman Arkham City, but if this game (the predecessor) is already so much fun, I can only imagine how fun the sequel is.

Normally games from licensed properties tend to disappoint, and Rocksteady (before this game) wasn't exactly a well-known studio. I am truly glad that this is an exception from the norm. Rocksteady is now a worthy studio on my radar, and I can't wait to buy the Arkham City at a bargain price (because I'm cheap!)

85

Play it with a friend!

Coolicy | Dec. 7, 2012 | Review of LEGO Lord of the Rings (NA)

If you're a LEGO game fan, you'll like this. If you're a fan of the LOTR movies, you'll LOVE this. Like all of Lego's previous games, this is a game that is designed for coop. I love this part the most as the dialogues are taken from the movies, so Gimli and Gandalf sound identical to their awesome movie-counterparts.

This game has a surprisingly deep unlock system, it takes a while to unlock every characters, and you'll need to be smart about which character to use to access all the secrets. This was my 2nd LEGO game played, and I'm surprised at how much I like this game. As a 25 year old male, I was concerned that this game would be too kiddy-focused for my taste. I came out pleasantly surprised.

Sure, being a huge LOTR fanatic helped this game's case. It was awesome to relive my LOTR nostalgia through a cute, funny and still epic journey.

The most important point to enjoy this game, however, is to play it with a friend. It adds much, much more enjoyment to the game.

50

Not Worth The Price.

Coolicy | Dec. 7, 2012 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Unknown – Slingshot Content Pack

The game itself is EXCELLENT. Hands down best turn-based strategy game I've ever played. This pack, however, is extremely overpriced. All you get are some new helmets, 3 new "council" missions and a new asian heavy-class squad member.

The council missions add some freshness to the games as, if you're like me, you're bored of the existing maps by now. The maps added are fun, mostly because they're novel though.

I dislike that the new missions are council missions, as they don't happen very often. I'd much prefer adding new random maps into the mix. XCOM itself is an extremely fun game, this game adds some freshness to a stellar game. Get it only if you're a dedicated fan. Otherwise, this price of admission is a little too steep.

20

Still think that it should be named "Payneful Memories"

Coolicy | Dec. 7, 2012 | Review of Max Payne 3: Painful Memories Pack

but jokes aside! This dlc adds more value to the Season Pass (because if you bought it already, this comes free! duh!) but is extremely overpriced as it is.

Scorpy is extremely right about this game's multiplayer, you do have to play at certain hours to have more players in a game. If you haven't bought any MP3 dlc's, I wouldn't recommend getting this pack because you'll be getting it mainly for the customization options and guns. The maps from this DLC rarely gets played due to low buying population.

I liked what's offer in this pack, but I'm also glad that I bought the Rockstar Pass and this came free. There's just not enough player-base to justify the price of this pack.

80

Get it for the DLC's.

Coolicy | Dec. 3, 2012 | Review of Dragon Age: Origins - Ultimate Edition (NA) dns

Bioware games uses Bioware Points for DLC's. Bioware Points almost never go on sale, so you'll have to pay full price for their DLC's, and that sucks if you're a bargain hunter like myself. The base game (DAO) and the expansion (Awakening) are both fun and memorable games, but it's the DLC's that make this package shine. My favorites are Warden's Keep (originally a digitally deluxe content), Stone Prisoner (came with new copies of the base game) and The Darkspawn Chronicles. If you think about how much Bioware Points cost and how much it'll cost you to buy them separately, buy this and think of the others are added extras.

85

Fans of the classic FO1 and FO2 rejoice!

Coolicy | Dec. 3, 2012 | Review of Fallout: New Vegas DNS

Fallout 3 was a great game in my opinion. In fact, it brought me so immersed into the Fallout universe and lore. I bought Fallout 1 and Fallout 2 on gog just for the story, and can see how FO3 deviates from its predecessors.

Fallout New Vegas is developed by Obsidian, where many developers came from FO1 & 2's Black Isle Studio, so the game's writing and lore feel just right at home for FO1 & 2 veterans. If you didn't like FO3, however, you won't like FNV.

If you liked FO3, however, you'll be right at home with FNV. The writing is superb, and the choices feel important. As per Fallout tradition, you'll get to see the consequence of your actions in an end game slide show. Decisions will range from which faction will ultimately come out on top (there are 4, only 3 will be obvious though) to a companion's personal vendetta.

Perks and SPECIAL are back of course, and how you select your character ultimately dictates how your game will play out. It's the freedom that makes Fallout unique, and FNV doesn't disappoint in this regard. Obsidian's games are notoriously known for being buggy, and some parts of the game feel empty. This is undoubtedly a result of not having enough development time, so this may sometimes be a little rough around the edges.

It is more important to note that the PC version of FNV is vastly surperior to its console counterparts, and I speak with no hyperbole. The modding community literally makes the whole world different and much more interesting. If you can think of something that would make FNV better, someone's probably made a mod for that.

Don't like the armors of a faction? There's a mod for that! Don't like how FNV only ultilizes 2GB of your ram? There's a mod for that! Don't like how little amount of guns are in the vanilla game? There's a mod for that! Don't like to manage (install/uninstall) all these mods? There's even a mod for that too!

Even today, years after this game's release, the modding community is still highly active. There is a generous amount of content in the base game. If you like it, purchase more DLC's is optional but definitely check out what you can do with your game by installing mods!

90

Online is where you'll find the hidden gem

Coolicy | Dec. 3, 2012 | Review of Max Payne 3: Rockstar Pass (Capsule)

Let's face it. It's Rockstar, and it's Max Payne. We all know that Rockstar make stellar single player experiences. I am pleasantly surprised at the quality and the enjoyment Max Payne 3 brings me. I purchased the Season Pass at a discounted price, and was extremely satisfied with my purchase.

The multiplayer is extremely challenging, the crosshair (it's really more like a dot) is frustratingly small, but kills get more and more rewarding as you get accustomed to the aiming in MP3. This season pass gives you all the available DLC's in one package. As of this writing, there is still another DLC coming (Painful Memories), so there is really a lot of value in the Season Pass.

I was surprised at how much I enjoyed MP3's multiplayer. I bought the game primarily for its single player campaign, as I'm sure I'd love simply for Rockstar's name alone. The multiplayer allows you to play as gangs in the game and customize your avatar. More and more customization options unlock as you progress up the ladder, bursts (think CoD perks) and weapons unlock make the experience addicitive, and customization options like shirts and accessories on your avatar makes the experience personal.

You DO NOT need the Season Pass to enjoy MP3's multiplayer, so the full $30 is a little steep IMO. I've personally enjoyed the extra stuff very much, and was glad that I purchased the pass. If you can get the pass at a cheaper price, I'd say get it, you won't regret it.

90

3 stellar game for one game's price.

Coolicy | Dec. 3, 2012 | Review of Mass Effect Trilogy (NA) DNS

I would definitely recommend this package for new-comers to the Mass Effect universe. As you can expect from a Bioware game, the universe is diverse and extremely interesting. Each alien race has an extensive history, which can be either studied or ignored, as is with most of Mass Effect's lore.

The three games are all great in nature, and the decisions are carried over all the way from ME 1 to ME 3. Despite what some may rave about the decisions Bioware choose to tackle ME3's ending, I've had a great time throughout the whole journey, and was left satisfied with the ending after seeing the FREE Extended Cut dlc.

Mass Effect 1 was more about the story, as its combat is definitely closer to an RPG more than an action game. Mass Effect 3 feels like an action game with RPG elements. Mass Effect 2, however, is more like a hybrid between the two, combining the perfect elements of combat and RPG.

The story is absolutely amazing, creating moments and fights both memorable and challenging, and partnering your Commander Shepard with interesting allies and foes. Mass Effect 3 is actually my favorite of them all, bringing my encounters from ME1 and ME2 with a full stop. You will build attachments to characters, and will feel strong emotions as they come and go.

The trilogy combines all 3 installments of the ME series into one convenient and economical package. If you're new to the ME series, this is a great starting point. If you've played one or two of the ME series, this is a good place to start revisiting the worlds you encounter, and make the meaningful decisions that you missed. If you've played all three games, then why are you still reading this? Buy it!

75

In for the gameplay, not for the story.

Coolicy | Dec. 3, 2012 | Review of Dead Island: Game of the Year (v1)

Dead Island gives me mixed feelings. The gameplay is extremely fun, all swings and kicks feel powerful, but smartly balanced with a well-designed stamina bar. Each attack can be aimed at specific body parts, Sharp weapons can cause bleeding and chop limbs (and heads) off, whereas blunt weapons will break the bones. Enemy variants are gradually introduced as the story progresses, making combat very exciting. Throughout the game, whether you're high or low leveled, a few zombies can make the fight go south, making the combat extremely exhilarating when you make a mistake. And you will.

Finding weapons is also exciting, as well as modifying them to suit your dismembering needs. But the customization really only goes so far: fire, poison, and lightning damage, and that's it. The elemental enhancements are fun, useful, but get boring as you play more and more.

The story, however, takes a backseat in this game. It lacks interesting characters, allies, and protagonists, even the ending is extremely predictable. The voice acting in the game is terrible. I've even had a greater time playing with the VO off and just read the subtitles. The story feels like a B zombie movie, if you're just in it for the gore (or in this case, the combat) then this game is definitely for you.

And of course, this game is, quite obviously, designed for coop play. You don't even need a full party of 4, just having one buddy at your side makes a big difference. The game is constantly on sale these days anyway, definitely snag one (and some for your friends too?) at a discounted price. For $10 (which it's on GMG now) it is definitely a good buy. I don't regret buying this game at all, just make sure you know what you want and what this game offers.