Reviews by DBOT187

78

Didn't Grip Me In As Much As Oblivion

DBOT187 | Aug. 21, 2014 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim® (AU)

While I enjoyed this game overall, I felt that obilivion had a stronger story, better gameplay once tweaked and a stronger overall focus. While Skyrim is fantastic as an open sandbox game, it didn't really draw me into the world. I felt more like a visitor as opposed to an integral part of the world like I did in Oblivion.While the graphics are great and the music is awesome as always, for me it was just lacking that killer punch.

90

Gripping and Emotional Game

DBOT187 | Aug. 21, 2014 | Review of Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons

First off a few things, I would suggest that you play with a controller, while the dev has updated it to work with keyboard it works better with a controller. The story is very gripping and its the first time I have been genuinely sad about a game and the story since Aireth died in ff7.

Its about 4 hours long, but what you get is a game with a unique control system, stripped down to the core of what a game should be all about for me (mechanics and story)

Besides one bug where I had to restart the game after it wouldn't load my save (lost about an hours progress) I was thoroughly satisfied.

96

10 Years On, Still Fantastic

DBOT187 | Aug. 21, 2014 | Review of Half-Life 2

Half life 2 may be an old game, but it still holds up and even beats some of todays shooters. The gravity gun is freaking awesome and its fun to fling barrels at enemies. A great and enthralling story that leaves you wanting more (which is where the episodes come in) While graphically it isnt as shiny as todays shooters, the gameplay sets it apart.

88

A solid reboot

DBOT187 | Aug. 15, 2014 | Review of Wolfenstein: The New Order

I quite enjoyed this reboot. It made me laugh, the gameplay was solid and its nice to see for once a studio stick to a single player only game and not shoehorn in multiplayer in for the sake of it.

Be warned its a 50GB download though and some of the textures are a bit low res (plus the options menu for graphical tweaking could have really been improved as its too technical and doesn't really tell you what it actually does)

91

Oldie But A Goodie

DBOT187 | Aug. 15, 2014 | Review of Deus Ex: Game of the Year Edition

It's amazing to think that even though this game came out so long ago it still stands up today as a solid and fantastic RPG FPS shooter. For those of you living under a rock and have never heard of it, its a role playing shooter that allows you to upgrade your character and allows you to play the game your way (stealth or all in)

A fantastic story, and if you can forgive the graphics due to their age (the mouths not moving when talking is a classic) what you will find is a timeless RPG shooter that is like no other. There are mods available too if you wish to make it look a little better.

86

Kills Civ 5 In The One More Turn Stakes.

DBOT187 | Aug. 15, 2014 | Review of Football Manager 2014

Do you like football, do you like managing a team? do you like pouring over endless amounts of data, and tweaking until you get everything just right...well I have the game for you.

I have only played the classic mode so I can't say much for the full simulation mode. Overall it is an improvement from 13, but there are still a few errors (ie fans sad when you draw, messages say you lose instead) and sometimes the matches can produce some funny animations.

Can be slow to load too if you load too many teams or don't have a high quality CPU. I'd recommend hunting out skin packs for team and players so you can get the full experience as some players and teams don't have icons or faces.

Overall its a buy from me, until FM15 comes out.

81

Fantastic Game, Well Worth Your Time

DBOT187 | Aug. 15, 2014 | Review of Tomb Raider Game of the Year

Tomb raider is a fantastic reboot of the series, overall it is about 25 hours long, the story is good (if a little cheesy and somewhat of a disconnect between scared lara in the movie clips and then a murdering rampaging lara in the game)

Be warned some of the death scenes if you die can be a bit gruesome, but besides that a top game.

Don't bother with the single player extra tomb its 5 minutes long at best and not worth your money.

73

Solid But A Few Things Hold It Back.

DBOT187 | Aug. 10, 2014 | Review of Sniper Elite III

It's a pretty enjoyable and solid action game. The bugs and graphical glitches hold it back (i've been able to lodge myself into terrain, enemies have magically appeared in front of me when they were over the other side of the map, grenades have teleported to in front of me when I threw them 5 minutes earlier)

88

Better Than The First Solo

DBOT187 | Aug. 10, 2014 | Review of Borderlands 2 (ANZ)

Borderlands 2 is Epic, it is a solid game on your own that has an awesome story, great loot and leaves you wanting more (which is where the DLC and Ultimate Vault Hunter Mode) comes in.

85 hours later and I still go back to play more of it.

84

An Absolute Classic.

DBOT187 | Aug. 10, 2014 | Review of Sid Meier's Pirates!

The first and probably last pirate game (I haven't played AC4 yet) that makes you feel like a pirate of the seas.

The only thing that can be a pain is the sailing (against a headwind sometimes you cant get anywhere you need to go for the missions) but worth multiple playthroughs to either loot as many ships as you can or be the best pirate you can be..........arrrrrr

73

Not As Good As Dark Souls 1, Nowhere Near Demon Souls

DBOT187 | Aug. 10, 2014 | Review of Dark Souls II (NA)

I would recommend it as its an improved PC port over number 1, but compared to Dark Souls and Demon Souls it's nowhere near the calibre. I enjoyed Demon souls and finished it twice, got about halfway through Dark Souls but couldn't get into Dark Souls 2, it just felt soulless.

78

Not As Good As Season 1

DBOT187 | Aug. 10, 2014 | Review of The Walking Dead: Season 2

I disliked the fact that your choices no longer seem to matter and the same consequence happens regardless. The episodes feel less about character development and exposition and more a case of occasionally click here or click this dialogue to advance the story.

Compared to season 1 there is less exploration, less character development and you just don't care if the characters live or die. The gameplay while tighter and better in some cases can't make up for the lack of gripping story and characters.

90

Absolutely Awesome. Go & Buy It Now...

DBOT187 | Aug. 10, 2014 | Review of The Walking Dead

The game that started it all, and the game that put telltale on the map for new age adventure games (which is really a bad thing because season 2 has nothing on season 1)

Awesome characters, gripping story, decent length for each episode and you care about each and every one of the characters.

80

Great Story, Reasonable GamePlay

DBOT187 | Aug. 10, 2014 | Review of BioShock Infinite (ANZ)

Overall I quite enjoyed this game. They could have cut a couple of hours out of the game in the middle as it felt a bit long. The 2 weapon system sucked (something they improved in the DLC) and the vigors should have been a one time use thing ie find a bottle that's all you get. Story was great though.

87

Football, the game they play in heaven

DBOT187 | Dec. 11, 2012 | Review of Football Manager 2013 Steam

The good: an accurate, deep and time consuming simulation, the classic mode is awesome as the game becomes less of a time sink then the full blown mode. The match engine is pretty good overall, and it really is fun whether your managing your favourite top flight team or getting stragglers off the bottom.

The bad: The match engine can occasionally be inconsistent with results when the result should be a win to your side, and sometimes the game wont let you win a certain match regardless of players tatics etc. Players will demand more wages, sometimes double and then get annoyed because you wont pay them and either become free agents or sign at a rival club for less. Buttering up the agent or increasing additional fees helps.

The ugly: I've had a save game get corrupt randomly and lost a few months progress suggest with this you set rolling saves and a new save file every week or save often and backup, once bitten twice shy. Also had a xml file error making the mapping of the buttons/game unplayable, deleting the appdata/roaming/si/settings folder fixed this up.

Extra Bonus: If you love the game suggest you read football manager stole my life, great read and very funny too.

Overall: A few niggles but these don't detract from an awesome game...off to go and play it now.