Reviews by DanJamesStone12

92

Perfect

DanJamesStone12 | Oct. 19, 2013 | Review of The Wolf Among Us

Although only Episode 1 has been released, I am loving this game. The gameplay style is similar to that of The Walking Dead, but of course the story is completely different. Already your decisions are starting to have an impact- and I'm sure that as the story progresses they will make a huge difference.

So far, the story is intense and mysterious, with great references to fairytales and fables, adding an awesome touch. Get it now!

71

Something different

DanJamesStone12 | Sept. 21, 2013 | Review of Real World Racing Cap

This game is pretty cool, but quite different from what you can normally expect from a racing game. Firstly, you do view the game from a bird's eye view- which takes some getting used to, but once you do, it's fine. Secondly, the maps are exceptionally detailed, almost as if they are from google earth, which is pretty cool. All in all, an awesome title.

88

Lovely, mindless violence!`

DanJamesStone12 | Sept. 21, 2013 | Review of Dead Island

I absolutely love Dead Island, for it's gameplay mechanics, graphics and ungratuitous violence! You can craft and customize weapons, drive and travel around this beautiful free roam world- and slice zombie heads off! Great fun, definitely recommended.

100

Amazing storytelling

DanJamesStone12 | Sept. 21, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead

I'll just start off by saying that this game has some absolutely amazing storytelling. As a long time fan of The Walking Dead TV series, I was thrilled when I heard that a game was being made for it!

The unique art style is awesome, the gameplay is nice and your decisions really do count, could not recommend enough!

61

Different

DanJamesStone12 | Sept. 14, 2013 | Review of The Binding of Isaac

This game certainly is Indie, that's for sure. It's different, with a unique graphic and gameplay style, it genuinely is unlike anything on the market. It's quite a tough game to beat, and the levels are randomly generated- so there is pretty much endless replayability. I'd recommend it.

74

Bit weird but...

DanJamesStone12 | Sept. 14, 2013 | Review of War of the Human Tanks CAP

This game is still pretty decent. It is a strategy game and it takes some getting used to, but once I did- I found that it was actually a really nice game. Hours upon hours of gameplay and still going strong, I'd definitely recommend it!

59

Alright

DanJamesStone12 | Sept. 14, 2013 | Review of Bastion Cap

This game wasn't for me, but I can see the appeal to a lot of people, the narrative, the art and the action were quite good and a lot of my friends absolutely love this game. Even though I didn't like it- lots of people do, so it is worth a try.

84

Sweet

DanJamesStone12 | Sept. 14, 2013 | Review of Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons

This game is mindblowing- stunning visuals, great story, but unfortunately the controls are a little hard to master, but not too bad once you get the hang of it. The game can be completed very quickly though, and there is not much replayability, which is a bit disappointing. All in all though, 100% worth getting.

100

WOAH!

DanJamesStone12 | Sept. 14, 2013 | Review of Tom Clancys Splinter Cell Blacklist

Blacklist is just perfect, it's dynamic, fun, extensive and just pure awesome. The graphics are phenomenal, the story is awesome and the multiplayer is amazing, with a really great community. Would recommend without hesitation!

80

What can I say?

DanJamesStone12 | Sept. 14, 2013 | Review of Total War: Rome II Emperor Edition

At first, I thought this was a great game- and I still sort of do. The graphics, well they're something out of this world, and the gameplay mechanics are good, but it does require a pretty awesome rig to run, especially on large battles. I'd recommend it, but with caution.

100

One of the best

DanJamesStone12 | Sept. 14, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of The Year Edition

Morrowind was the first Elder Scrolls, and indeed Bethesda games I had ever played. Immediately, I was blown away- I've spent hours upon hours on this legendary game- and I can honestly say that it is 10 times better than a lot of games on the market today!

94

An absolute classic

DanJamesStone12 | Sept. 14, 2013 | Review of RAGE

I love RAGE, I first played it on PS3, but when I sold my PS3- the games went with it... I started to regret that until I bought this game on PC. The graphics are swell, the story, gameplay and atmosphere are top quality- I cannot recommend this game enough. One of my favourites.

100

Amazing games, even better price

DanJamesStone12 | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider Pack

I absolutely love the Tomb Raider series, absolute classics. Any gamers, new and old should definitely play these games- and the price offered here is just amazing.

74

An emotional journey

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 30, 2013 | Review of Spec Ops: The Line

This game is phenomenal, it certainly more than surpassed my expectations, despite what some say, the graphics and physics are actually pretty awesome.

There are moral decisions to make along the way, and your character develops throughout. Really good game.

63

It's... different

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 30, 2013 | Review of Mars: War Logs

I think that the game studio was a little too ambitious and rushed development of this game, some aspects of it are far too easy, and there are quite a few bugs... it's worth a play but certainly not amazing.

94

Pretty awesome

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 30, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2: Captain Scarlett & her Pirate's Booty

This DLC provides loads more playtime to the original BL2 game, hours more fun and entertainment and adventure- along with more weapons and quests. If you love Borderlands 2, you need to get this.

80

Great look for your character

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 30, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2: Assassin Stinging Blade Pack

This skin looks really swish on your Borderlands 2 zer0 character, particularly the head.

100

Amazing game to co-op with

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 30, 2013 | Review of Payday 2

Payday 2 is an absolutely gorgeous, well engineered game. Although there are a few glitches, the devs work very hard to fix them. I would recommend that you play with real friends as your team AI is somewhat terrible.

However, I cannot stress enough how good this game is, I absolutely love it!

94

Open world zombie adventure

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 30, 2013 | Review of Dead Island Game of the Year

Dead Island is a super fun open world, free roam zombie adventure! Drive around, complete loads of sidequests, a great story- nice graphics and plenty to do. Craft and upgrade weapons to dismember, hack and blow zombies up!

A great game from great producers- and this version comes with all the amazing DLC!

93

Challenging game of tactics

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 30, 2013 | Review of The Bureau: XCOM Declassified

I couldn't wait to pick up my copy of The Bureau after playing it's predecessor: XCOM: Enemy Unknown, I absolutely loved both games as they provide several options of how to play the game.

The Bureau combines both FPS and Strategy very successfully into one immersive and awesome gameplay experience that you will not regret.

74

Hours of fun!

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 30, 2013 | Review of Gran Turismo 5

Lovely graphics, amazing game mechanics but the races become slightly less challenging after a while of playing, but I can't complain- as I managed to get several hours of entertainment and fun out of it!

89

Super fun, realistic driving game

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 23, 2013 | Review of GRID 2

GRID 2 is a really nice game, with a wide variety of cars to drive, which all feel different and handle uniquely. As you progress through the game, you gain fans and sponsors, unlocking fun and unique challenges.

There is an amazing amount of customisation options for your car, making them look even more awesome on the track than before.

Just get it, it's great!

92

A must have co op game

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 19, 2013 | Review of Portal 2

Portal 2 is a great game, with complex, challenging puzzles in the single player storyline along with a winning co op where you solve puzzles with your friends... it's a great game. A must have.

94

Endless fun and limitless exploration

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 17, 2013 | Review of Fallout 3

There is just so much to do in Fallout 3, with what seems like an infinite amount of completely unique side quests- and an awesome main storyline, this game has hours of entertainment and intense gameplay in it.

It may be from 2008 but it sure as hell beats a lot of new games nowadays. So pick Fallout 3 (and New Vegas) up, and purchase the DLC pack to expand your gameplay even further with some extraordinary missions.

You won't regret it!

89

Quality game, get it now!

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 16, 2013 | Review of Europa Universalis IV

If you love strategy/conquest games, you'll absolutely love EUIV, the gameplay mechanics, storyline and playability makes for an unbeatable experience. So get it now!

96

Hilarious and fun!

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 15, 2013 | Review of Poker Night at the Inventory

Poker Night at the Inventory is a great poker game, made even better by your fellow gamblers and their hilariously witty banter and jokes. Great game, great price, for a guaranteed great time!

90

Great

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 14, 2013 | Review of Dishonored®: The Brigmore Witches™

I recently completed my 4th playthrough of Dishonoured and I was getting a bit bored of it, so I decided to buy this DLC- I did not regret it! I've stacked up ages on it so far, it just adds so much more playtime to the original game, definitely worth buying.

99

The best CoD

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare

Modern Warfare is undoubtedly the single best game in the Call of Duty franchise, it set the standards for the rest of the series, but they unfortunately fell far short.

The single player is in depth and engaging in every aspect, with you made to feel for the characters. Whilst the multiplayer is great fun with friends over LAN or online.

The best in the franchise, definitely worth getting.

89

The last good CoD

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

Modern Warfare 2 is the last decent game in what is a dying franchise- after this game Call of Duty became repetitive and boring, with a lot of code quite obviously being copied and pasted from previous Call of Duty games and then rolled in glitter.

The campaign is good, and you form an emotional bond with some of the characters, adding an extra something to the gameplay. An excellent single player with a fun, fair multiplayer- one of the only CoDs you should get (along with Modern Warfare).

93

The first in a series of legends

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Borderlands

Both this game and Borderlands 2 are legendary, Borderlands delivers loot, adventure and humour in this crazy, action packed RPG shooter.

Alongside a great single player experience, with plenty of side quests to keep you busy in this vast, free roam world, there is a great co-op mode so you can play the Borderlands experience with your friends- great fun!

Play this alone or with your mates for a guaranteed amazing time.

90

Great stealth game

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Dishonored

Dishonoured is something different, it certainly makes a nice change from the Call of Duty type games that are all too common in the games market nowadays.

In this game you can choose your approach, whether you want to go stealth or straight in and you have the ability to cleverly use your objects and surroundings to complete your objective.

Dishonoured requires a fair bit of skill, tactics and forward planning, it encourages you to think- which is a great thing in my opinion.

The game is set in a moody, steampunk world, which looks great- with partial free roam and plenty to do, you can't go wrong.

90

Great game

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of LA Noire The Complete Edition

L.A Noire is an amazing detective game, with engaging dialogue and intriguing cases for you to solve. With a mixture of puzzle solving, observation skills and some shooting- this game has it all, combining loads of great features into a must have game.

92

A crazy, wild hell of a time

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2

Borderlands 2 has everything you could possibly wants from a game, loot, adventure, great characters, unique graphics and a hell of a load of fun.

Just get it, it's amazing.

100

Must Buy

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Bioshock Infinite

I had played Bioshock 1 and 2 and was absolutely thrilled when I saw that Infinite was being released- I couldn't wait.

The storyline is out of this world, but engaging and at points emotional. The world in which Booker Dewitt finds himself is dynamic and dystopian but at the same time beautiful and awe inspiring, much like the worlds in the previous two Bioshock games.

I cannot stress enough how good I found this game, with stunning visuals and breathtakingly amazing characters and voice acting, the game makes the player actually care about Elizabeth (the girl)

I simply can't praise this game enough.

88

Certainly worth playing

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Assassins Creed III

This game is refreshing after the disappointment that was AC: Revelations, the movement has been significantly improved and the story is second to none.

One thing I didn't like was firing weapons, of course the reload time is slow- as they are flintlock, but the aiming and firing was just weird and awkward. Aside from that, good game, worth buying.

74

Focus on story

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Alan Wake

This game is definitely focused very heavily on the story and not so much on the actual gameplay.

I found the controls to be quite lackluster and confusing at points, with it being hard to actually control the character on screen, this said- you do eventually get used to it and begin to appreciate the beauty of the game and the phenomenal storyline to go with it.

There are certainly new, interesting concepts in this game- such as fighting the darkness with light, like some previous reviewers mentioned this does make you feel as though the game is good vs evil, which is certainly different.

Whilst the game is a huge contrast from a lot of games on the market today it definitely is worth a play.

93

A Legend

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Nexway

Skyrim is an amazing game, from an amazing developer; Bethesda: creators of classics such as Fallout New Vegas and Fallout 3. I can safely say that Bethesda has outdone themselves once again.

Combat was well thought out, allowing you to use bows, swords, axes, magic and so much more- with the ability to level up all your skills to make them deadlier and more effective. It's great fun, and not a walk in the park, unlike some games, Skyrim offers immersive, challenging gameplay that has proven to be hours upon hours of fun.

As an open world, free roam game you are not limited to a linear storyline, you can choose to complete the main questline or you can do many side quests to extend your gameplay experience.

It is a must buy, and will one day be a classic.

100

One of my favourite games

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Fallout: New Vegas DNS

I absolutely love the Fallout series, I started off by playing Fallout 3, then played through all of the older games- before eventually playing Fallout New Vegas.

There are just so many quests and things to do in this game, I have never got bored from playing- so far I've racked up 160 hours on it and there's still plenty left to do.

One of the things I found to be most... interesting in this game is the moral system. You can decide whether you want to be good or bad, and your actions determine this, and it's not like in Fable where you can be 'evil' and nothing happens, the people of the wasteland actually react differently to you and more opportunities are unlocked.

Many people complain about the game, saying it constantly crashes and that it has loads of bugs- I do not find this to be the case. I am running it, admittedly on a high spec PC, but you don't need to, I ran it on one of my older computers and it very rarely crashed. Sure there are a few bugs, but the HUGE modding community has sorted the large majority of them out.

It's an amazing game with endless hours of fun, hundreds of available mods and just a great game to play.

96

Just one problem

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Payday 2

This game is great, and it is clear that the developers put a lot of time into making it. The gameplay mechanics are amazing, the graphics are good, and it's just hugely entertaining.

There are countless customisation options for your masks, guns and equipment which can be unlocked through completion of heists and missions. You can choose to play the game with other, real people or you can go single player with AI- when you join a multiplayer game it does pause the game for the other players for a considerable amount of time whilst you wait for them to join.

Now this is a great game, no mistake about it, but there is one huge problem that has been annoying me a lot. The game randomly closes mid-game. This is not an isolated problem, many players have had it, but there are fixes available which makes the game run smooth as ever.

This game is DEFINITELY worth picking up, hours of fun and replayability.

98

At first I was skeptical

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 12, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs

I must admit, I was at first slightly unsure about this game, but soon my assumptions were proved completely wrong.

Sleeping Dogs is an open world game based in Hong Kong which seems to incorporate all manner of features from games such as GTA and Saints Row.

The graphics in this game are good, the story is first class, and there are plenty of side missions and favours to complete- and as it's a free roam, the fun still continues once you've finished the main quest line. The combat in Sleeping Dogs is great, you can use a whole variety of martial arts moves which you can learn throughout the game, and combine them to take on a whole group of enemies with deadly precision and accuracy. This, along with the counter/blocking system, makes for responsive, fun combat.

One of the only bad things I have to say about this game is the driving, don't get me wrong, it's not too noticeable- but with most cars you do find it quite hard to maintain control, and often drift into other cars or people.

With that being pretty much the only drawback, this game is a must buy. Would 100% recommend it.

86

Better than Blood Money

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 12, 2013 | Review of Hitman: Absolution

Now, I'm probably going to annoy a lot of people by saying I enjoyed Absolution a hell of a lot more than Blood Money, or in fact any of the other Hitman games. I did play Blood Money on the 360 though, that may be part of the reason why I didn't like it.

Anyway, the graphics on this game are great, the story is nice and it's just a great game to play. I also like that you can choose how to play it, you can go stealth (which I recommend) or you can go in and shoot the place up (this will result in a low score and is not as much fun)

However, there is one thing in particular that I really didn't like about this game: the disguise system. EVERYONE wearing the same outfit as you gets suspicious of you. Say, for example, you had stolen a cop's uniform, and were disguised as a Chicago Police Officer, every single cop in that level will see through your disguise if you get too close, not every cop in Chicago knows each other, and once they've blown your disguise, they stay hostile throughout the rest of the level.

There are hours of playtime in this game, even once you finish the main storyline, you can play through other player created contracts and even make your own to earn (in-game) money to unlock special items.

All in all though, it's a great game. I've found myself replaying through it several times to get the highest score I can on each level. I would definitely recommend it.

92

Amazing

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 12, 2013 | Review of Far Cry 3

I first got into the Farcry series a while back, when I played Farcry Predator on the Xbox 360... I was, at first, slightly unimpressed- but gradually it grew on me and I started to play the other Farcry games, only on PC.

Fairly recently, I downloaded Farcry 3 and I was pretty much blown away, the graphics and gameplay dynamics were just amazing, and I found the game to be relatively bug free.

So far, I've managed to rack up countless hours on this game, taking time to explore the island and appreciate the beauty of the Farcry world, collect plants and hunt animals.

Great graphics paired with a good storyline, it's a winner.

75

Can't take this too seriously

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 12, 2013 | Review of Call of Juarez®: Gunslinger

At first I saw this game and expected it to be a lot more like Red Dead Redemption, with a serious story and such, but when I played it I found it to be completely different from what I expected.

Although I was, at first, slightly apprehensive about this game- after a few hours of playtime I really got into it and realised it wasn't all that bad, and I started to really get into it.

However, I did find certain elements to be somewhat similar to RDR, such as concentration (where the game slows down and allows you more time to take down enemies) this was quite similar to 'dead eye'.

All in all though, I'd say this game is worth the price.

87

A great game to get into Poker

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 12, 2013 | Review of Poker Night 2

I was a little unsure about purchasing Poker Night 2, I thought it looked slightly too similar to Poker Night at the Inventory, and in some ways I was right.

There's not much you can change about a Poker game, but Telltale Games managed to iron out some previous problems found in the first installment of the Poker Night series.

There is no option to change the difficulty of the game, but I didn't find this to be a problem, the gameplay was fun and challenging at points- I've managed to get a great load of fun out of it. The four other characters you play with all provide some amusing banter and jokes, but they do repeat themselves after a while, I found this repetitive, but still a nice feature. All in all, for the price, I think it's definitely worth picking up.