Reviews by DonVercetti

85

Fan of the Lego Lord of the Rings Series? This is a must-have!

DonVercetti | May 24, 2014 | Review of LEGO® The Hobbit™

Ever since falling in love with the Lord of the Rings Lego franchise from the same developer TT Games. This has been an instant buy for me. And after about 20-30 hours in to the game now, I can say it hasn't disappointed. It has the same charm and funfactor as it's predecessors. Even if you're just a Tolkien fan, get this game. It's Amazing!!

94

Greatest Simulation Game since.. ever!

DonVercetti | April 1, 2014 | Review of Goat Simulator

This game had me in tears for hours. Honestly, the amount of randomness and free choice of whatever you want to do.. It shows you dont need the greatest graphics, the best story or the best sorted character development. It just needs a lot of fun, possibilities and imagination. Goat Simulator puts you in the skin of a goat. That's where the summary kind of stops.. You're put in a world as a goat. Have fun. I would recommend this game to everyone, it's really faaaantastic!!

91

Happy this finally made it on GMG/Steam

DonVercetti | Jan. 21, 2014 | Review of Hitman: Contracts

Up until this date Hitman: Contracts is still one of my favorites in the Hitman Saga. Some might not/no longer be attracted to it due to it's outdated graphics and mechanic, but for me as I try to put aside nostalgia this is still one in the Top 10. Somehow this way of being the Silent Assassin 47 really intrigued me, it's contract after contract. Knowing the Hitman storylines and history, this would be a perfect portrayal of "The Life of a Hitman" as you spend all your time completing various contracts

85

Great to have in Sleeping Dogs

DonVercetti | Jan. 21, 2014 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Wheels of Fury

This is a small DLC for the game Sleeping Dogs, but certainly not a wasteful one. When starting your Sleeping Dogs savegame it grands you the DZS-90 in your garage. Now this car is not matched by any other one in the game! It might not be your taste of car, but it has machine guns. Get this and unleash your terror upon Hong-Kong!

89

Great sequel in the series!

DonVercetti | Nov. 30, 2013 | Review of Bioshock Infinite

Usually around the third installment a game series is starting to slightly lose it's touch. This is not the problem with Bioshock infinite as it is a stronger game than it's predecessor. The series is still growing strong and a joy to play. This Bioshock is also in a complete different environment which is always a very strong and important part of a bioshock game. Although the surroundings changed, the developers did a great job still getting the great and sometimes creepy atmosphere!

85

The better Assassin's Creed Game

DonVercetti | Aug. 16, 2013 | Review of Assassin's Creed 2 Deluxe Edition

I feel the spirit of the AC series is slightly decreasing after around this game. I found Assassins Creed 2 to be a great refreshing game to play and still a game which felt sort of innovative to it's core. As the games that came later on didn't fill me with excitement much. Assassins Creed 2 is around 4 years of age at this time, but isn't dated at all in my opinion. It's still very enjoyable and I still play it once in a while. A must get!

89

Silent Assassin, THE Hitman game!

DonVercetti | Aug. 16, 2013 | Review of Hitman 2: Silent Assassin

This is by far my most favorite Hitman game to this date. I don't know how many hours I've spend in this, if not my entire childhood. The complete freedom in your assassination missions are great and do add great replay value to a game that does have a clear storyline you have to follow. I've found myself playing this game quite recently aswell, so this is a real recommendation to those who are still doubting to get this!

93

This is a must buy!

DonVercetti | Aug. 16, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto III: Trilogy

With GTA V around the corner and the hype that brings it along, this is one pack you should have in your own collection. These three GTA titles started the big hype for the GTA franchise, with GTA Vice City to this day still being my all time favorite. Even though gameplay and graphic might be a bit dated these days, they're still a heck of fun to play in weekends when you have some spare time!

72

Fun little action Game

DonVercetti | July 6, 2013 | Review of Dogfight 1942

Dogfight 1942 is one of those flying games where you simply gun down your enemies out of the air. It has a wide range of aircrafts and a nice arcady feeling over it. The overall look of the game is charming, as it's not realistic but has a bit of a animated look to it. Next to the very small bugs at times, its a great game and worth a pick up!

81

Great DiRT Game and Good Racing Game

DonVercetti | July 6, 2013 | Review of DiRT 2

DiRT is undoubtedly one of the greater racing series. The name DiRT has a reason, it has a lot of offroad/dirt track races. The racing element is done greatly as the tracks you're on have impact on your handling of the car. The summary, it's the greatest offroading 'simulator' out there, and its lots of fun!

81

Charming game for all ages

DonVercetti | June 11, 2013 | Review of LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7

The charm of Legos are meant for all ages in my opinion, and this certainly applies to their Lego videogame series. As expected from the Lego games they were split into two games, just like the two trilogies of Lego Star Wars games. But somehow this doesn't bother me too much because both the Lego games are fantastic. In this one you play through the year 5 to 7, the mature HP movies. The option to play offline with your friends and a sort of free roam opportunity makes this just an overall great game!

91

Great Value for a sort of Game of the Year edition

DonVercetti | June 11, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Legendary Edition dns

As a huge Skyrim fan this is a fantastic deal, I've bought Skyrim on the PS3 on release and the PC version now recently. If you buy the vanilla game with all the DLC seperate you quickly hit quite a high price, but now here there's a full package with all DLC and the base game. These DLC packs arent just a little additio, but all three of them are big game changers which is fantastic!

92

Remains one of my favorites

DonVercetti | June 1, 2013 | Review of Sanctum 2

I am a huge fan of the Sanctum series and I was excited to see this sequel. Compared to the first Sanctum game this is a whole new game, they kept the concept of the game where you defend your core as a tower defense game, but also as a FPS game. From there on out they have redesigned the game completely. You can now take damage and die during waves, there's a whole leveling system in the game now. I could go on for hours, It's just a fantastic game with a very innovative and original concept! I really recommend this!

50

Maybe the shotgun, Nothing more.

DonVercetti | March 10, 2013 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - Z-Style Pack

The one thing in this pack that actually got me to take a look at it was the retexturing of the Shotgun. I think that looks pretty nice. I myself dislike the Zimos character, plus the whole stereotype 'pimping' lifestyle that we all know bits about. My Saint would never wear such a outfit, but the gun is alright. So get this in a sale, just a little addition to Steelport

68

The Ball is just ballin'

DonVercetti | March 10, 2013 | Review of The Ball

The Ball has a fairly high productionvalue for an indie game, It looks great and is a decent puzzle game with a quite original concept to it. However The Ball being the main-thing in this game, it does bring it's limit to the game. Puzzles and levels seem to get a bit repetitive after a while, It wouldve been a lot more awesome if there were different puzzle elements to this game. Nevertheless, it's a great game to toss some spare time into when bored!

82

BioPhenominal!

DonVercetti | March 7, 2013 | Review of BioShock (RoW)

The one thing that really pops to mind in this title is the atmosphere, you can really get into easily. This atmosphere is further emphasized by the phenomenal sound. Surround sound is rarely used as well and the old-fashioned soundtrack you will hear is fantastic. There are always sounds present, making you feel like you're living in a city. Besides the growling of the Big Daddy's and the conversations between the Splicers there are many background sounds to finish it. Additional kudos should be given to the great voice acting, because this quality is not often achieved.

80

Amazing and highly enjoyable!

DonVercetti | Feb. 8, 2013 | Review of Dead Pixels

Firstly, you have to admire these guys for their amazing price-quality ratio. This little indie title came in at the very low price and really was a big bunch of fun hours in gaming. The game comes with a single player and co-op mode, which attracted me to the title at first as I was looking for a nice Co-op gaming experience for when a friend came over. The bit graphics are very charming and fun to look at. I absolutely love the upgrade and sort of leveling idea to it. There are merchants to which you can sell and buy items. Further more, it's just blasting down Zombies. Which ofcourse is highly enjoyable!

74

Enjoyable simple Strategy Game!

DonVercetti | Feb. 2, 2013 | Review of Swords and Soldiers

This title has everything it should have. It looks amazing, has humor and a solid build. It also has a very charming graphic style, one Romino is famous for as seen in they're other games aswell like Awesomenauts. There's a little storyline in the game, which has some variation and is worth playing!

78

Great in it's Genre.

DonVercetti | Feb. 2, 2013 | Review of Just Cause Capsule

In the first game of the Just Cause franchise, you play Rico Rodriguez, an undercover CIA agent who enjoys overthrowing governments. His next destination: San Esperito. This South American island is busy storing WMD, and that's something the CIA does not enjoy, nor does Rico! I remember when this game came out back in '06. I've spend a lot of hours in this title, more than I have put in the follow up title Just Cause 2, and that says something!

78

The well succesfull return of the 2D Worms

DonVercetti | Feb. 2, 2013 | Review of Worms Reloaded: Game of the Year Edition

Worms: Reloaded GOTY is Team 17's great comeback to the 2D Worms World and uses the famous turn-based gameplay. The game includes an extensive single player and multiplayer for up to four people, where you compete against friends or worms controlled by computer and comes with both classic and new weapons. This includes all the DLC, which is quite alot and it's for a worthy price. This is a definite pick-up for the Worms fans.

77

Quite enjoyable and casual game.

DonVercetti | Feb. 2, 2013 | Review of Worms Crazy Golf

This is one of those games you play in your spare time, and the thing that makes this game way better than other little casual golf games is that this really is a crazy, crazy golf game. I think it's more of a Ipad/Ipod/Android game but it's quite fun as a PC game aswell. Try this game once. Trust me, it doesnt get more crazy then Worms Crazy Golf!

80

Great addition to Sleeping Dogs.

DonVercetti | Feb. 2, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Nightmare in North Point

I really like the concept and I have spend an hour or two in this DLC. A big downside in my opinion is that you do not transfer any of your cars or clothes from the main game into the Nightmare in North Point. You start off with a Kung-Fu garb, and during the entire story around North Point you unlock other clothing and vehicles aswell. But in the end it's not very much to keep you playing for hours and hours.

78

Quite a solid game, Had lots of fun.

DonVercetti | Feb. 2, 2013 | Review of Worms Ultimate Mayhem

The Worms franchise is of course more famous with it's 2D graphics and gameplay. Worms Ultimate Mayhem comes with a whole new twist to it, and in my opinion quite a good one. The now 3D worms are placed in a 3D world that's completely demolishable. Even if you're just a fan of the 2D series, this is one you really have to check out!

65

Not the best build game, but it looks nice.

DonVercetti | Jan. 30, 2013 | Review of Sniper: Ghost Warrior PRE

Sniper GW is basically just a sniper game, not much more. You eliminate your target from a distance. No extra missions that make you do all other things. The game itself looks quite nice I think, It has a certain charm when it comes to graphics. But this game is a worthy pickup when you feel like sniping some things when you have some spare time, it's not that expensive either most of the time!

73

Dead Island Upgrade

DonVercetti | Jan. 30, 2013 | Review of Dead Island Upgrade Pack

It's quite a good little DLC pack, Bloodbath and Ryder White are some real awesome content. The Ripper Weapon is a bit strange in my opinion, it's just one weapon and is kind of the outcast in this DLC-pack. Still a great pack, and certainly a must have!

74

Decent Zombie Game

DonVercetti | Jan. 30, 2013 | Review of Dead Island: Game of the Year (v1)

Lately the Zombie genre has exploded and we get new games thrown in our face from all angles. Dead Island is one that does it job quite well, The gameplay and experience is very fun. It has some minor glitches, but it's quite the zombie-smasher!

84

Dead Rising 2 Upgrade, for the fans.

DonVercetti | Jan. 21, 2013 | Review of Dead Rising 2: Off the Record

Basically Dead Rising 2 Off the Record is a big DLC patch for the original Dead Rising 2. For the fans of this franchise the great protagonist Frank West return to whack some zombies on the head. Some newer tweaks and extra fun things to do in the Fortune City make this game a must buy after spending several hours in the original Dead Rising and wanting to play something way more extended!

83

Very decent prequel.

DonVercetti | Jan. 21, 2013 | Review of BioShock® 2 DNS

Bioshock 2, the highly anticipated follow up game in the Bioshock series seemed to be a 'The same thing as his predecessor'. However after spending about 10 full hours in the game, while keeping yourself in-depth into the storyline you'll find out that it's quite a decent title and the storyline is pretty refreshing. I do honestly find this title a decent follow up and still have no regrets buying it at all!

82

Great Game, Great experience and Great Roster.

DonVercetti | Jan. 21, 2013 | Review of Virtua Tennis 4

To start off this Tennis game from Sega has some of my favorite professional tennis players, eg. Murray, Federer and Nadal. On top of that the game looks great and plays very well. For those who don't enjoy playing PC games with keyboard, theres also support for Xbox 360 support! Steam support for this game is very useful, on the downside there's G4WL peeking around the corner when you start up, however this does not affect any game experience! Which is great, great game!

73

Final Stand on the Watchtower.

DonVercetti | Jan. 20, 2013 | Review of Magicka: Watchtower DLC

Somehow this map gives me the Lord of the Rings vibe. This is by far one of my favorite Player vs. Player maps. It's small bridge-like passages and small plateau calls for up-close combat mostly, Which is very fun with lots op people in this map. A sure pickup for any Magicka fan!

72

Don't have a party, Start a party!

DonVercetti | Jan. 20, 2013 | Review of Magicka: Party Robes DLC

This DLC brings you a Tank Robe, which takes lots of punishment, a Rogue Robe which almost skips around the maps unnoticed and has fierce attacks from his shadowy goodness and finally a Support Robe, which keeps the group together and has your back whenever the situation seems unbearable. When online with three friends and these three robes equipped, I guarantee utter domination!

76

Fun Challenge map!

DonVercetti | Jan. 20, 2013 | Review of Magicka: Marshlands DLC

This Challenge map is a bit like the swamp before entering the town and castle of Vlad. It sure gives that freaky, dark swampy feeling when playing this. If you finished all the Challenges, this is a nice addition to add to your Magicka Collection. Have fun playing it, and watch out for the dangerous creatures luring out of the deep swamp waters!

70

High on Price but great to have!

DonVercetti | Jan. 19, 2013 | Review of Magicka: Horror Props DLC

As one of the higher priced Magicka Downloadable content, you'd expect it to be as full of content as for example The Stars are left. But when it's in a sale for a bit of a lower price, You would be smart to get this. It has several weapons and staffs which are a hell of fun online with friends. All 'props' have their own crazy strange reaction to your gameplay and all have their own perks in power!

74

Very enjoyable map!

DonVercetti | Jan. 19, 2013 | Review of Magicka: Lonely Island Cruise DLC

Another Magicka DLC named Lonely Island Cruise, This content adds a map for the player vs. player part of Magicka. When I got this and played it with friends, I had quite an enjoyable time. It's not the biggest map, it's also surrounded by water and there's a little pool in the middle. With alot of explosive spells and mines ready, I'll guarantee you'll have a very fun time with this little DLC package. Be sure to get it in a 50% off sale or something, because 2 euro's for just this map is a bit high in price.

85

Great idea by Arrowhead and Paradox.

DonVercetti | Jan. 19, 2013 | Review of Magicka: Nippon DLC

An one dollar donation isn't really much. So I am sure you'll be able to miss that one euro/dollar from your wallet. Not only will you donate to help our Far-East friends in a time of need, You'll also receive some DLC for it. The idea of a donation is not to really receive anything in return, you donate to help the others in need, therefor this is great DLC. Even if it's only a robe, a weapon and a staff. Very noble by both developer and publisher, good job!

81

Great title but it's tension rising.

DonVercetti | Jan. 19, 2013 | Review of Dead Rising 2

Dead Rising 2 is one of those titles which is quite rare in it's kind. Both enjoyable single and multiplayer. The PC version is ported very well so its a quite good solid build. It gives you a lot of satisfaction killing zombies in whatever way you desire, and that exactly what a Zombie Game is expected to do! Only downside I'd say about this title would be the time limit in it's storyline. When you start the game you are obligated to give Katey her Zombrex every once in a while, which isn't that bad to do. But after each mission you do get a timer in the middle of the screen, saying how long it takes before the military arrives. Which kind of gives your game a timer, which I didn't really like.. However the game is fairly enjoyable and I have wasted lots of hours in this title!

79

Highly enjoyable, but needs skill to master.

DonVercetti | Jan. 13, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts

Awesomenauts for starters is an amazing title for a game. It's a newert title by Romino Games who also brought you Swords and Soldiers (HD). Which was also quite enjoyable, this new title by them is a real fun to play. It has an high variety of multiplayer option which is a big mark out in my opinion, Your pals could sit right next to you or at home. Romino Games sorted out all ways of multiplayer/coop, a large amount of playable characters and a very charming graphic style. Good job Romino!

50

What's the use of gaming with these packs?

DonVercetti | Jan. 6, 2013 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - Unlockable Pack

This pack is basically a cheatcode. To achieve a 100% completion in a videogame is something to be proud of. With getting this content you get all unlockables instantly. In my opinion that marks the same time to throw the title in the bin. You play a game like this to unlock all it's little perks and pieces, and you stop playing once you've gotten all things. I could play the Saints Row title for a week straight to finish it. Or I could just play for two days and get this pack to get my savegame to a 100%

71

Get this for Meteor Shower!

DonVercetti | Jan. 6, 2013 | Review of Magicka: Wizard's Survival Kit DLC

Some people who are criticizing this DLC have not really looked in to it too much. I've seen way higher priced content in other games with less usefull addition to that certain game. I picked this up in a 50 off sale, which made the content well worth it, Which even makes it worth it just for Meteor Shower. I usually play Magicka online, barely singleplayer. The funniest thing to do online is to strike out one big meteor shower!

71

Typical Monkey Astronaut

DonVercetti | Jan. 6, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts - Kosmonaut Yuri Skin

We have all once seen the testmonkey concept in movies or cartoons. This DLC gives an alternative costume for Yuri, to transform him from a 'regular' monkey, with armor and a tank on his back with a little laser gun on top, to a Monkey in a spacesuit, with a tank and a little laser. When I play with Yuri I do now always pick the Kosmonaut skin for Yuri, Good purchase for the additional content, although get it a in a sale. Regular price is a bit high!

68

Strange but enjoyable!

DonVercetti | Jan. 6, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts - Grandmaster Splash Skin

It wouldn't be my pick for an alternative look for Froggy G, but it does have little hints towards the original Froggy G character. He's hunting for gold, this time however as a professional swimmer in the Olympic games. But the whole look of him is pretty fun so far, I mean he's now a frog in a tight swimming trunk! Hilarious!

73

Awesomest DLC Skin so far!

DonVercetti | Jan. 6, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts - Expendable Clunk Skin

I love Clunk, even though he's a bit slow. He has got a laaarge amount of health! Clunk in the regular form looked quite awesome, big robotic machine with large guns as arms. But with this pack you get like a more buffed up version of him, like a sort of Clunk 2.0. A big machine killer baddy! Nice addition to the game, and certainly to Clunk!!

71

'70s Voltar the Omniscient

DonVercetti | Jan. 6, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts - Disco Voltar Skin

Voltar the Omniscient usually looks like a baddy villain, although he's a healer he has a bad guy look to him. But with this DLC pack he looks as he's been partying over night. Instead of his usual head in a jar thing, he now has a big discobal as his head, which looks fun. It's always fun when you have several comical versions of skins for your character, adds a bit of fun to the game somehow.

71

Fun DLC, bit high at full price.

DonVercetti | Jan. 6, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts - Coco Hawaii Skin

It really is a good little DLC, and if you haven't unlocked the character Coco yet, it automatically unlocks for you. Coco is one of the main characters I use online, She has some rather useful skills like Ball Lightning, Blaze and Shock. Another big positive side on her is that her movement speed is about 9, which is above average when looking at all the characters. In a sale this is a really fun pick-up, so don't miss it!

84

Utter demolition!

DonVercetti | Jan. 5, 2013 | Review of Red Faction Guerilla

This is an aged game by now, It's not expensive anymore and is a definite must-get! I got this game just for one single reason: Demolition. You're placed upon Mars, and you have the ability to absolutely demolish everything that is build upon Mars. You start off with the best tool to do so, a big sledgehammer! Later on in the game you unlock things like explosives, big rifles, big explosive gun, vaporizing weapons. I for one enjoy this title more than it's follower Armageddon! And even if you are a huge Red Faction fan and already have some hours into Armageddon, I do advice you to quickly look in to this title!

79

Great game, Highly enjoyable.

DonVercetti | Jan. 5, 2013 | Review of Tropico 3 DNS

This game is one that gives into the players wishes. You're left with an island you can build your society on and become a leader of your own taste of your own tropical Island. You choose how your towns and cities look, you set up your own rules and make your own decisions when it comes to problems that occur on your own little island. This is a title that has quite some replay value, I keep on coming back to it to get a little island, name your own dictator and ruin a lovely little island to bits!

86

This game needs more hype

DonVercetti | Jan. 2, 2013 | Review of Metro 2033 PRE

Metro 2033 is without a shadow of a doubt an amazing game. The atmosphere is amazing, Graphics look amazing and Characters are amazing, Voice acting is done amazingly. This is one title that came from THQ which didn't get promoted well or didn't get through promotion well, as a friend of mine recommended it to me and I had never heard of the game before. I think this is a game that has a bit in it for every gamer. If you're really a fan of games like Amnesia for the atmospheric feeling, like if you're really there and blend into the situation. This is your game. You really get sucked into the deep underground systems and the dangerous landscapes above grounds!

78

Sega Fan Must Have

DonVercetti | Jan. 2, 2013 | Review of Jet Set Radio

This is one of those hits from Sega, and in my opinion one of my favorites. Due to the fancy graphic style it doesn't age that quickly and this game always had a solid build, that's something games these days seem to have a problem getting hold of. I've spend alot of time in this title when I was way younger, I just recently got it from GMG and loved playing it on steam. It's a great port to pc!

85

If a fan, this is a must!

DonVercetti | Dec. 30, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - The Full Package dns

Fun thing is, this title full priced is honestly a well priced collection. However since the fall of THQ this year, this package has seen some unbelievable low prices! The Saints Row series has always been famous amongst gamers, and this game doesn't disappoint at all. This is a game you can play for hours without even starting the storyline, It's lots of freeroaming fun! A good things SR series has compared to others is Character Creation, and later on dressing your character up the way you want. By the way, There's even a mode in which all pedestrians turn into zombies and you have a Zombie survival-like game. Get this title!!

90

Yet the Greatest in TT's Lego Series.

DonVercetti | Dec. 30, 2012 | Review of LEGO Lord of the Rings

I am a huge fan of the series and followed them from the start with the Lego Star Wars games. Kudos must be given to TT for keeping up to innovate the Lego genre. The Star Wars games were awesome and so were the Harry Potter ones that followed. Now we're finally placed in Tolkien's famous world, in Lego Style. This is yet another great, if not their best title so far. Compared to the earlier games there's a little lack of characters, as the Star Wars universe for example had lots more characters. However this title is way better improved, greater looking graphics and smooth running. The levels are extremely fun and the experience is one you can not miss! Get this game!!

75

Just Bejeweled

DonVercetti | Dec. 25, 2012 | Review of Bejeweled 3 (EU)

This is one of those games which is perfect for spending some spare time on, When at school and you have a little break. Every new game doesn't take long to complete, so you can always take a little time to play a quick game of Bejeweled. This title is ofcourse quite famous amongst people who have done casual games over the years, so every one is familiar with it. What I love about this version of bejeweled is the tank to the left of your game, which is a very fun thing that is added to this version. The game isnt expensive at all, why not get it?

82

Real Gamer Bundle for Gamers.

DonVercetti | Dec. 24, 2012 | Review of Magicka Gamer Bundle

I honestly picked this content up just for the Half Life inspired robe. Yes it was worth it. There's also something satisfying about completing your wizard robe wardrobe. Aside from that, this DLC introduced me to the Ray-Gun. If not a Half-Life fan, do it for that weapon! It will provide you with some hilarious playtime! Get this content if you own the original Magicka!!

88

Cthulhu's Menace

DonVercetti | Dec. 24, 2012 | Review of Magicka: The Stars are Left

I have spend several hours in this specific content with a friend in co-op. This is an aboslutey amazing added storyline. I'm either not very good at Magicka or it is decently hard to finish. The bosses are quite a hard mountain to climb, I bow to those who would finish the game without dying. The Story itself is completely different from the original Magicka story. All new sorts of puzzles and levelbuilds, which is great! Great DLC, Arrowhead!

68

High price, but highly enjoyable!

DonVercetti | Dec. 24, 2012 | Review of Magicka: Frozen Lake DLC

The pricetag is obviously a tad to high on this content. However leaving the price to the side, the map itself is very entertaining when playing online with friends. The big icy lake is affected by elements summoned by the robed wizards. When online with friends it is hilarious to shoot fire around to defeat your contenders in a easy and stylish way!

82

Great little addition to the World of Magicka

DonVercetti | Dec. 24, 2012 | Review of Magicka: Final Frontier DLC

I must say this DLC adds an enjoyable map for Versus and Challenge modes. I took my time to review this as this is one of my favorite maps when online with friends, and it would be usefull for people not to accidentally skip this content. The full three dollars might be a bit much for some, so it might be smart to get it in a 33% or 50% off. But if you miss this content in your list I do advice you to pick it up any time soon!

92

Greatest Mafia Game

DonVercetti | Dec. 24, 2012 | Review of Mafia II dns

We're all known to the famous Grand Theft Auto franchise and I am one to absolutely adore those type of games. Mafia places you into the skin of a soldier returning from war, coming home to his hometown in the wintertime. Let me start of by saying Mafia 2 is the best game when it comes to a snowy season, people slipping on the ice, objects leaving marks in snow or react to ice and car handling being hard. I don't want to spoil the story so I'll keep it by saying, It's amazing. When it comes to driving and shooting, I'll say that it's not the best. But the way the game looks and the atmosphere in the gangster style era, is really breath taking. I'd buy this game only to look at the pedestrians walking around, doing there thing and have amazing scripted events!

92

Gold Trophy for Multiplayer Experience

DonVercetti | Dec. 24, 2012 | Review of Magicka

First off, this is the best title Paradox and Arrowhead made in my opinion. Next to funny and entertaining story, the singleplayer mode is lots of fun. However, when you make sure another friend of you owns the title as well, I'll bet you'll have the most laughs in a videogame ever. In the world of Midgård your robed hero will have his clumsy times when you try to create a spell that doesn't always end up being in your favor. In multiplayer, triple the fortitude. You and your friends will probably end up killing eachother more times than the enemies will. These moments ofcourse help you with creating the most fun gaming moments ever!

89

An amazing FPSRPG

DonVercetti | Dec. 24, 2012 | Review of Borderlands

If FPSRPG were to be a genre this title would without a doubt be at top of it. The shooting in the game is perfectly worked out, every gun you find has it's own mark, look differently and have good balance in varying stats. The cartoony look to things did come to a surprise to me if you would have shown me the concept first, but in the end it seemed to work out perfectly. The world Borderlands is set in does truly have character, the starting area really fits your characters and storyline. The perfect place to roam around savaging everything you find, explore the little desert like parts as you defend yourself from the attacking Skags!

79

Great Franchise for a Lego game

DonVercetti | Dec. 24, 2012 | Review of LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4 DNS

As a fan of Lego when I was young these games make dreams come true. You are set in a magical lego build world which resembles that of the Harry Potter books and movies. The thing about this game that makes it so more awesome than any other Harry Potter game is that you unlock your legofigures during the story, in the end after unlocking and/or buying all of them you’ll be able to run around as any Harry Potter character you wish to be, in any level you’d want. The charming graphics and typical Lego game humor make the game a real fun experience!

87

Dead Good Sequel

DonVercetti | Dec. 23, 2012 | Review of Dead Space 2 (EU)

In the last couple of years it seems rare for a follow up game to be as good or even better than his predecessor. I can honestly say Dead Space 2 has succesfully achieved to be amongst the select group of titles which are better. You still stand in the shoes of the protanogist Isaac Clarke, still geared up and weaponized to the max. As the first Dead Space was an amazing looking game, it was hard to top that in part 2. You can only expect a little improved graphics and slightly better audio. New weapons, gear, maps, enemies and storyline make it a great follow up in the franchise!

86

Must visit Dead Space

DonVercetti | Dec. 23, 2012 | Review of Dead Space (EU)

This is one of those titles which is unique in it's kind. I really adore this title, it brings not only great atmosphere and scary vibe but amazing gameplay aswell. It's amazing that in this game you'll still be scared out of your socks, even thought you’re amoured up with great arsenal. The game does present itself well as there are a lot of different enemies and enough weapons to keep you silent and sweet an entire playthrough long. This game isnt expensive at all on GMG, and I advice if you dont already own the title to pick it up!

68

Enjoyable to a certain limit

DonVercetti | Dec. 22, 2012 | Review of Miner Wars 2081

Miner Wars 2081 gives you the ability to roam around in outer space and enjoy a sandboxy-like exploration journey. However this is not an average triple A title, but still an Indie developed game. I will never say that you need a very high budget to make a game like this flawless, but when it comes to this concept, I do think you need like a big amount of developers on a title like this. Real space/sci-fi fans will miss the true feel of space they came to love over the years. No offense to the developers, Its just a real hard challenge to get this type of game perfect!

91

Rockstars greatest so far

DonVercetti | Dec. 22, 2012 | Review of Grand Theft Auto IV DNS

I really think this is Rockstars most atmospheric game so far. Niko Bellic, the protanogist of the story isn't even my favorite, but that only goes to show how powerfull this series is as it is still an amazing game. The new and improved Liberty City looks amazing, back alleys in the game are filled with trash, hotdogstands all over Liberty City. Everything you see around you really gives you that Liberty City vibe. The richer parts and poor parts of the city really differentiate from eachother which is a joy to see in the game. With several safehouses spread around LC, You’ll have yourself a great freeroaming time without even spending a single minute on a mission.

88

Rockstars first Pinnacle

DonVercetti | Dec. 22, 2012 | Review of Grand Theft Auto III DNS

This title made their Grand Theft Auto franchise legendary. You play as Claud, a carstealing, gunshooting, peoplekilling maniac. I find the replay value on this game great, as there is no other game to play as Claud, roaming around in the 2001 version of Liberty City. This game, well the entire series to be honest is absolutely great when it comes to their characters and storylines. Speaking of Storylines, you are not in any way obligated doing missions in this game. You can just start up GTA III, have yourself a fun time in the city and not even do a single mission at all. That’s an absolutely great thing to have in a videogame. Classic!

88

Amazing, Charming and Enjoyable.

DonVercetti | Dec. 22, 2012 | Review of Bastion Cap

Bastion, a an action role-playing Indie-developed masterpiece, this game is wonderfully crafted. Every motion made by the protagonist is narrated by Logan Cunningham, which is extremely enjoyable. You seem to be creating your own story, and the narrator would be writing down every sentence. The way the game is built is amazing, the graphics are very charming and the concept of the game is new and fresh. You wont quickly find a title that has this sort of gameplay. Although the world you’re placed in is very nice to look at, I do get the feeling of repetitivity. This might also be the fact that every ‘landpiece’ is an island platform. However, this is surely a title to check out. An Indie you must have tried at least once!

76

A very musical Journey

DonVercetti | Dec. 22, 2012 | Review of Beat Hazard

Another game with a great concept. The gameplay is very arcady and lets you jump into it quite quickly and easily. The most enjoyable thing in this game is playing it with friends of mine, You take a song from your own library and invite your friends into a game. This feature however is only unlocked when getting the Beat Hazard Ultra DLC. But the title itself is amazing, In Single Player you can rock out to your own music while flying around, gunning down some enemies. The build in tracks deserve a listen aswell, they're quite enjoyable!

89

Just Cause it's Great.

DonVercetti | Dec. 22, 2012 | Review of Just Cause 2

I’ve owned Just Cause 2 for quite a while now, and still I wished I got to this game earlier. This title is still one of my favorites by far when I feel like roaming around in a large and beautiful world. For me the story doesn’t really seem like it’s biggest strength, but the world you are dropped in is absolutely gorgeous. The snowy mountains claimed alot of my gametime. When I feel like messing about in a game, riding through good looking landscapes, parachute or fly around the place in a jet. Drive a car of a high peak of a mountain, This game surely takes the medal and is surely unique in it’s ways!

81

Deadly Good Title

DonVercetti | Dec. 22, 2012 | Review of Deadly 30 cap

It really is a simple game with a simple concept. After several hours in this game, I found out that this is a quite solid game. It’s still a budget Indie title, You wont ever really expect too great of a voice acting cast. But dont take anything away from it. The game play brilliantly, runs smoothly and does not have a lack of things. It has that Zombie survival feeling with it and alot of credit is to the great textures done by the talented Gonzossm. Deadly 30 needs a hell of a lot more kudos, I hope to one day see this title come out of the shadows and revealed to a way larger audience!

80

Super Meaty

DonVercetti | Dec. 22, 2012 | Review of Super Meat Boy

The concept of Super Meat Boy really caught me, the idea with the very charming cartoony style does make it a lovely game to look at. As many other people I would recommend people to plug in a controller when playing this title. It is still possible to do great at this game while using a keyboard, some people just prefer the controller for it. I do find the game very frustrating, that would apply to me as I’m not the best at this game. Time challenges and extra objects in the levels do keep you playing the game, so this is a title you will always return to at points.

93

Beautiful Platformer

DonVercetti | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Trine

The first thing that came to my notice as I played this game is that it’s really beautiful, atmospheric and charming. It’s a brilliant platform game, with beautiful levels that you must venture through whilst solving little puzzles with the three characters. Three characters you can switch to any time are the Wizard, Thief and the Knight. They all have their own special skill. While skipping though all levels you’ll find phials that hold either life, mana or an experience point. With a certain amount of point collected you’ll be able to buy yourself a upgrade for one of the three characters. You are able to redo levels to collect all experience phials. This feature makes this puzzle game have great replay value. Further more it’s an amazing co-op experience and available on both PC and Mac!

79

Must visit the World of Goo

DonVercetti | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of World of Goo

World of Goo is a great puzzle game. There’s a nice variation of difficulty in the levels, some are as easy as blinking your eyes, other take quite some time to complete. The cartoony style of graphics are really fun and relaxing to look at. The challenges give you several different kinds of Goo to help you complete the level, you might see a way to use some of those extras to complete the level. But if you notice that you left some extra’s behind you have the urge to go back to that level atleast once to see what other ways there might be to complete the level and give you some extra score!

82

Great little game with some strategy

DonVercetti | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Plants vs Zombies Game of the Year Edition

Why wouldn’t you get ‘Plants vs Zombies’? Shootdown some zombies with your peashooters! There’s even a store system with ingame earning currency where you can buy new plants and such. Plus you have a merchant named Crazy Dave, which is just a hilarious guy. Funny how people find this game easy, If you play this game more and you really like it. Try out the Survival and try to complete the beat the 20 flag achievement. Took me some hard effort! This game isn’t expensive at all, and just a great way to spend some spare time in. And if you’re not to big of a fan of defeating zombies itself, you can just spend your time on your own collection of plants or spend some coins on the Tree of Wisdom!

89

As Hitman fan it's a must have

DonVercetti | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Hitman 2: Silent Assassin capsule

‘Hitman 2: Silent Assassin’ the game from the Hitman franchise that got me into playing this dangerous assassin called Agent 47. This title is ofcourse a little older now, but it sure holds it’s charm very well. It’s not the greatest looking game in the franchise anymore, but nothing gave me more pleasure than roaming around in that curchyard in Sicily. Having your own shed with your collected arsenal on those sacred grounds of Father Vittorio. This game already had the famous Hitman possibilities, dragging enemies around, wear their outfits to sneak around other guards and multible way to eliminate your target. The cold Russia level is still fresh in my mind, from when I played it for the first time a long time ago. This game is legendary for gamers who have been around fora bout 10 to 12 years. Plus for this price, it’s a must have!

92

Without a doubt my favorite Indie game!

DonVercetti | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Sanctum

This is without a doubt the greatest Indie game I have played in a while. The Concept of a Tower Defense mixed up with a first person shooter is brilliant. This game has great atmosphere, the strange looking maps you’re dropped in give you that feeling you’re really in a sort of Sci-fi location. So environments fit the alien attackers perfectly. The balance between the towers you’ve placed and the shooting you do yourself is mostly perfect. Unless ofcourse you are at that high of a wave you can no longer upgrade your weapons and keep on upgrading the towers, but that’s only really at the endless runs. With 60 hours in this game, playing with friends of mine, I have enjoyed every minute in it. If you do not have this game, go fetch the demo and try this one out!!

83

Great new DLC

DonVercetti | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Magicka: The Other Side of the Coin

Magicka being on of the funniest multiplayer experiences I had in a while, new storylines, characters and maps are always welcome! The Other Side of the Coin enables you to play Alucart the Vampire or one of his Necromancers. An new storyline, New challenge maps, Several new Achievements and more. You spend most of your time fighting among the good guys as you' re the robed heroes from the world of Midgård. Although in this DLC you're capable on walking in the shoes of the baddies. Get this and start slaying some elves and such!

84

Charming and great Replay Value!

DonVercetti | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Dwarfs!?

I bought the game 'Dwarfs!?' here on Green Man Gaming in a sale, Just for the overall look and screenshots posted on the storepage here. Not knowing this game was so much fun. Whilst doing a game of this you'll be able to spend an hour or so in just one game by choosing for a 60 minute game and still have lots of fun doing so. The graphics style in this game is also very charming, It really fits the dwarven style with their underground systems. The different Challenges, Skirmish and Arcade mode really keep you on playing this game. There's even a fun Summer Carnival Pack, which is like an entire new kind of minigame within 'Dwarfs!?', Let your Dwarf throw axes at enemy targetplates, but don't hit the obstacles!

This is an absolutely great game to spend some of your spare time on. Atleast try out the Demo for it and give it a shot. Might just be your kind of game!

83

Very decent game in the Lord of the Rings Franchise

DonVercetti | Dec. 9, 2012 | Review of The Lord of the Rings: War in the North

To my knowledge people are always a bit sketchy about Lord of the Rings titles and do not give to much kudos to them, whilst they do actually deserve some. I find War in the North a fantastic RPG. The story does not follow Tolkien's famous journey of taking the one ring to the dark land of Mordor. It goes a whole other direction, as Aragorn himself sends you up north to face the dark Numenórean named Agandaur, one of Sauron's high lieutenants. Agandaur appears quite soon in the story which is great, the story builds up without flaws and as you finish it you come to see that it blends in perfectly when it comes to the journeys in Middle Earth. The fighting style is quite enjoyable and the looting system is done very well. The characters look well, you're able to adjust their faces and their armor, when you loot new gear ofcourse. The one downside to it though is that your characters whilst in conversation, cant make any real good or bad choices. Whatever dialog you choose to say wont ever be a positive or negative one. Whatever is said will always be stuck strictly to the story and will seem to come over neutral and friendly. (You encounter a rather large enemy, there was dialog which you would think to enrage the enemy and smash you to pieces, whatever choices in dialog you would take. It will not harm you, just help you.)

87

Great follow up from the True Crime serie

DonVercetti | Dec. 9, 2012 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Limited Edition

For the last couple of years, Grand Theft Auto and Saints Row were the leaders when it came to freeroaming, car stealing, pedestrians killing games. Now Sleeping Dogs arrives and throws itself right into the genre and does a good job in presenting itself as a worthy alternative to the earlier named series. The city of HK looks amazing, the atmosphere there is absolutely stunning. Then combine that with quite the remarkable voice actors in this game and the great characters that are in this game. In my opinion a downside to this title is the strange DLC that is available for it, speaking of the Top Dog Gold and Silver Pack. This content gives you an amount of Triad Point, Cop points and a bit of HK valuta. Something you could easily get yourself by playing the game for an extra 3 or so hours. Then again, you are not obliged to buy it, so no real worries there. The fighting style in this game is amazing, it goes so fluently and is very enjoyable. At this time I am well over 40 hours in to this game and still enjoying it.