Reviews by DragosLoL

64

a bit overrated...

DragosLoL | July 16, 2014 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim®

Don't get me wrong, Skyrim is a amazing game with its vast enviroment and RPG aspects. But if you're not into the lore aspect and just want to level up and kill enemies, then this isn't really the game for you. Skyrim is one of the best single player RPGs out there but it isn't the top. The game is graphically and gameplay mechanically beautiful and a true sequel to its predecessors. But this isn't a game where you play it to try it out. Once you're immersed into the game, you'll need to and want to grind out those levels and try to complete each quest thrown at you, whether they be side or main questlines. Skyrim is definitely for the hardcore RPG/Elder Scroll player but for someone just jumping into the series, then maybe not the best option for you to start out at.

92

Just as good as any Devil May Cry game

DragosLoL | July 16, 2014 | Review of DmC: Devil May Cry

DMC is a revamp of the Devil May Cry series and does a amazing job. A lot of people complain that DMC "isn't" a Devil May Cry but don't let that bother you. If you hack n slash and killing demons, you'll definitely enjoy this. The story dives a bit deeper into dante's past than the previous games and gives him a more "human" view on things. There is a vast variety enemies available to kill and the bosses are extremely enjoyable. Each boss fight forces you to use the tools you unlocked for your demon blade and make you learn to combo them. The only drawback I have to the game is that the game is a bit "too short" in my opinion. But it makes up with DLC content, vergil's fall and Bloodly Palace, which is actually free. If you enjoy hack n slash, then you'll definitely like DMC even if you are a die hard Devil May Cry fan.

64

Fun, exciting, adventurous but....a bit overrated

DragosLoL | July 16, 2014 | Review of Borderlands

Borderlands has become a popular game among FPS RPG fans but it wasn't what I expected everyone was saying it was. The game definitely holds onto its RPG standards with damage counters and skill trees but I felt really limited due to slow leveling and not enough enemies to grind in one zone before I moved onto a higher level zone. It kind of bored me out and the quests weren't as exciting since most of them were go collect this or go activate this beacon. Boss fights were fun though as it actually put a challenge in the game. But other than that, I wouldn't say this game is for RPG fans. I would recommend this game to anyone who's looking for a good FPS game but not the combination of two. If you don't like grinding exp, then probably not the game for you.

90

Amazing, Beautiful, just a Must Have

DragosLoL | July 16, 2014 | Review of Bastion

I enjoyed Bastion a lot. The narrative story can give you the chills and excitement of searching for each shard in each unique zone. The art style is beautiful too. You won't be able to take your eyes off each animation because of how interactive each artwork is. The combat style is fun too and challenging. Your loadout is a bit limited to 3 specific weapons at a time but each weapon is customizable using mods and combinations. The game also lets you customize your difficulty to your liking using the idol system. New Game + is a nice challenge too if you're up to it. I would recommend this game to anyone looking for a good and decent length game to enjoy.

35

Cool but a bit disappointing

DragosLoL | July 16, 2014 | Review of Darksiders II

Darksiders 2 journeys into the story of Death, one of the four horsemen and his quest to free his brother War. If you've played Darksiders before, you should know the story. If you're new to Darksiders, then it might be a bit confusing. However, Darksiders 2 offers a vast adventure and puzzles to quest through. The only issue is that, there are TOO MANY puzzles. Darksiders 2 can get really repetitive and a lot of the puzzles start looking more similar after the last puzzle you've just completed. I sometimes got lost and confused which zone I was in because the puzzle environment looked so similar. I want to say that its predecessor had more variety in puzzles and challenges than this one. The storyline is long and gets tiring easily. NPCs will make you do quest after quest after quest until you just become lost and confused. Also it doesn't help that each environment doesn't have much variety compared to the other zones. The combat style though is fun and doesn't get bored easily. If you're a Hack n Slash fan, you'll enjoy this. But I would say get the game on sale, because it isn't really worth at full price.

90

Fun and Competitive

DragosLoL | July 16, 2014 | Review of Counter Strike: Global Offensive

First of all, this isn't your "average FPS" such as CoD or Battlefield. CS:GO really brings competitve FPS to its glory. For someone just picking up the FPS genre and is competitive, then you might like this game. It's helpful to know each weapon and map strategies to dominate the game but if you're just playing for fun, casual modes are perfect. Also Valve is quite generous when it comes to in-game items. Sometimes you might get lucky and get a rare drop after a game or you can unlock a chest to get a cool gun, custom knife, or sticker for your loadout. Everything is fairly priced and for a great shooter, this game is pretty cheap. It might feel awkward but if you give this game a try, you won't regret buying it.

40

Challenging and Fun but....not as good as the first

DragosLoL | July 16, 2014 | Review of Dark Souls II (NA)

I love the dark souls/demon souls series. It's a long, difficult, and learning experience. Dark souls 2 does bring back some core elements of its predecessors but some of the changes really impact the gameplay in a slightly negative way. Firstly, I found the boss fights to be epic but.....not as challenging as dark souls 2. It probably took me average 5-6 min a boss because of how easily they were to read. Second, From Software nerfed some of the classes and made it "harder" to level up because the amount of souls required was at such a high scaling. Third and last, the game just doesn't have that "dark souls" feel. It feels like you're just browsing through free souls when killing enemies, rather than knowing that each enemy could kill you. If you're just stepping into the realm of dark souls, then you might enjoy this but if you're a hardcore dark souls fan, then unfortunately, you might be disappointed.

80

Not easy but FUN

DragosLoL | July 16, 2014 | Review of Street Fighter X Tekken

Street Fighter x Tekken's gameplay style ties more closely to its brother, Street Fighter IV. However it's tag team system makes it unique and gives a sort of difficulty. You have to time everything carefully. Arcade mode is a lot of fun and I enjoyed playing through each duo's storylines. Challenges are helpful when it comes to learning each character and the move commands between tekken and street fighter characters is unique. However, when it comes to multilplayer on the PC, it's a bit disappointing. There aren't many players due to the PC port not being as popular and servers are kind of buggy and disconnects quite a bit. I wouldn't recommend this towards a tekken fan because of the gameplay style but if you're a big street fighter player and don't mind the tekken characters, this might be the game for you.

50

Fun for a few hours then...pure stupid

DragosLoL | July 10, 2014 | Review of Goat Simulator

Goat Simulator will entertain you for a while with its stupid and crazy mods and environments but after a few hours, it really dies down. I attempted to 100% the current updates, doing the achievements and finding all the mods and easter eggs. But you start seeing the same things over and over again. Not to mention that the intentional bugs make you realize how terribly developed the game actually is. Plus, there isn't much variety in the steam workshop for this game. Most workshop mods are just skins and it's hard to dish out content because of how buggy this game is to work with. It's a fun game, don't get me wrong. It just won't last you more than a week.

75

You NEED a Controller!

DragosLoL | April 1, 2014 | Review of NBA 2K14 (NA)

The PC port isn't too bad and one of the best sport games out there right now. But to really get immersed into the game on PC, you're going to need a controller to play it. Keyboard controllers are too clunky and not consistent. Using a controller makes it a lot easier to play. Other than that, the game is awesome.