Reviews by EDGE1812

85

Awesome.

EDGE1812 | June 17, 2014 | Review of The Binding of Isaac

The Binding of Isaac is a great game. This is an arcade dungeon crawler packed with a ton of content, including collectables, secrets, unlockable cool characters. Every playthrough will be different, since the dungeons spawn random order, which adds a lot of replay value. The game has a great art style, as well as a sort of creepy feel to it.

I'd recommend getting the game along with it's DLC, "Wrath of The Lamb", for even more content, characters, etc.

Oh, and you will die alot. The game offers you a great challenge and i personally loved every moment of it.

65

Flawed but Solid.

EDGE1812 | May 11, 2014 | Review of Kung Fu Strike: The Warrior's Rise

Kung fu Strike is a 2d beat 'em up game. Though it's not a bad game, but yes it is flawed and riddled with a handful of poor mechanic choices by the developers.

The fighting evolves around quick reactions and countering and can sometimes be very statisfying but the mechanics cheat the player a lot. The game often makes you miss your big attack by having it go off in the wrong direction.It also has a tendency to fill the screen with lot of bad guys making some of the stages extremely difficult.

The plot is a mess of martial art stereotypes and goes from simply bad to hilariously dumb in a few cutscenes.You have the old master, the busty female assassin and of course our generic protagonist.

While there are many types of opponents, like the swordman, the kickmaster, the big guy, the backstabbing assassin and more which are quite interesting to fight against, you are stuck with the same old character who just develops very slightly over the course of the story which is very underwhelming for a game belonging to this genre.

Like I already stated, it's not a bad game at all, but I myself can only recommend it to people who are looking for a challenge and are not so much into co-op or storytelling, you can instead look at Castle Crashers or the Shank series for that.

92

Great platformer...but not for the weak of heart.

EDGE1812 | May 10, 2014 | Review of Super Meat Boy

Super Meat Boy is probably one of the best platformers I have ever played.The stages are well layed out and feels different and the soundtrack is pretty great and gels well with the gameplay.

But be warned the game is NOT easy, you will probably end up with a damaged keyboard or a chipped monitor with the level of difficulty the game has, but it never feels unfair, and you always respawn at the begining of the same level which is a good thing.

The game has unlockable characters which makes the game more enticing and desirable to actually go all out and actually complete those hard as hell levels.

Its is a fantastic platforming game with a high learning curve and if you are yearning for a challenge like in the good old days, look no further !

88

Solid on the eyecandy, Solid on gameplay aswell.

EDGE1812 | May 8, 2014 | Review of Skullgirls

This a great fighting game, honestly. I wish, I had more of excuses to play it.

Skullgirls is a 2d fighting game which combines a forgiving combo system (similar to MvC3) with a ratio system similar to Capcom vs. SNK (you can have up to 3 weak characters or just one very strong character). The gameplay feels solid,smooth and natural to fans of the fighting game genre.The graphics and sound are well-polished and the style is unique. It has the best training mode in fighting games i have seen as yet which will certainly make you better across all game in this genre. It also has the most sadistic last boss I have ever seen in a fighting game. Seriously, Omega Rugal and Magaki are shaking in their shallow graves.

But it if you are a fan of the fighting games genre.

78

Different take on a X-COM game.

EDGE1812 | May 3, 2014 | Review of The Bureau: XCOM Declassified

I am a fan of the X-Com franchise, So, I went into this one very skeptical due to its more action oriented design than the traditional titles and the switch from a RTS to a Third Person Shooter. Once I started playing, I was pleasantly surprised.

The plot is very well written and engaging , imo, than the one used for XCOM Enemy Unknown. While there is no strategy element to this, the way you handle your 3 man teams has an excellent amount of tactical play to it and is done nicely. The time dilation used in the game keeps the game going but allows you a certain level of precision for giving orders and using special abilities.

Despite the fact that the overall plot will be stangnant, there are multiple choices within the game that will affect how events play out. This gives the game a surprising amount of replay value.

80

Great Zombie Survival Simulation.

EDGE1812 | May 3, 2014 | Review of State of Decay

State of Decay as the titles suggest is a zombie survival game ala Dayz but lacks the multiplayer component of its successful nemesis.People criticize its visuals cause its more of the cell shaded variety, though the game is pretty gorgeous actually if you like the tone of that genre.

After getting your character you can start exploring the world.The main objective here is to survive the harsh world via creating a base and helping your AI mates with chores.The world is dynamic and keeps changing every irrespective if you are in-game or not.The guns feel okay but the melee is where the fun is at.You can perform takedowns and perform some slick/weird combos aswell.

The game is fairly buggy and has plenty of glitches,though I didnt come through any game breaking ones.The game has a huge co-op/multiplayer potential and you get the feeling the developers always to wanted to add a multiplayer facet, infact Microsoft has already planned its sequel as a Multiplayer MMO.

Alas, State of Decay will remain a single player game(with a slight hope of a multiplayer patch or mod someday).

Still its a fairly enjoyable zombie survial simulation and totally worth a buy.

100

Just amazing.

EDGE1812 | May 2, 2014 | Review of Max Payne II: The Fall of Max Payne

Max Payne 2 is the sequel to the first Max Payne game (One of the best PC games of it's time).

Max Payne 2 is truly an improvment over the first one.Max is back as the titular character and so are the voices.This time he is working for the NYPD and investigating murders where Mona Sax (read fatal attraction) makes an appearence and all hell breaks loose which isn't surprising for our guy Max, after all he has a knack for finding trouble.The iconic bullet time is back with elan, it is done with much more panache and feels tight as ever.The gameplay is just top notch, gunfights feel solid and and nails the definite thumping sound for each weapon.

Max Payne 2 is the successor to one of the best PC games of it's decade and it improves on it.You cant ask for much more, grab 1 and 2 instead of 3 for the real Max Payne experience.

71

Insane Goat Fun.

EDGE1812 | May 2, 2014 | Review of Goat Simulator

Goat Simulator began as a test prototype from Cofee Studios (The creator of the Sanctum Series) but after they posted it on Youtube the video went viral with requests of a an official full release and boy did they oblige.

Onto the game...well you are a Goat and you wreck havoc on stuff by eh, licking it? The game plays in third person perspective and motivates you to fill certain objectives, it should be pointed out here that it dosent really follows a narrative but presents the player with challenges instead.The game is crazy and asks you to be aswell i.e. there are plenty of glitches and it actually feeds on it and so should the player.

The game is fun for a playthrough of 8-10 hours and with the new maps, more goat models and a co-op multiplayer for 4 players coming up in may there is plenty of fun still to be had with the title.

90

Totally worth it.

EDGE1812 | April 23, 2014 | Review of BioShock 2: Minerva’s Den

Minerva's Den is dlc done right for a change.The DLC is separate from the main plot of the game and follows the exploits of Subject Sigma.Its a solid 3 hour story campaign and the plot is better then BioShock 2.

I myself am not a fan of Downloadable content but do not miss this one, it does truly expand the game and makes BioShock 2 a better game as a package.

80

Decent Arkham game but could have been much more.

EDGE1812 | April 23, 2014 | Review of Batman Arkham Origins

Ah, who dosent remembers the good old days of when Rocksteady brought us Arkham Asylum and four years later WB Montreal brings us Arkham Origins.In between we have had a full blown game in Arkham City and a plethora of dlcs to fill the Batman void.So how good is Arkham Origins and does it live upto the Arkham name?

Arkham Origins while not as good as Asylum or City explores the inanity in Batman life.It portrays a younger inexperienced Batman and does well as far as the story and characters are concerned but on the contrary he seems to have all the devices and skills he had in Asylum and City which were based after the events in Origins, thats serves as a slap in the face of immersion.

Gameplay follows the rule of "If it ain't broke, don't fix it" that means the combo system from City is back and the all the moves too.The combat is fairly solid with a few hiccups when your combobreaks for no reason apparently.

Pick it up if you're a Batman fan, while not being as good as its prequel the game is merits a one time playthough if not for anything but too see the portrayal of Joker and it nails it !

87

Play it for the story !

EDGE1812 | April 23, 2014 | Review of Spec Ops: The Line

Spec Ops is a decent run of the mill third person shooter cover based game.The visuals of the storm hit broken down Dubai are good enough.Voice acting is done well especially for the protagonist i.e. Captain Walker.

But its the story where the game truly shines.It takes a different route from all the hunky dory and gloriousness attached to the war by thousands of its counterparts and focuses or the dark truth of killing and being responsible for the death of innocent lives and how it can effect you on a personal level.The game makes you actually sit up and think about what you dont want to and we know it.

90

Truly a surprise...albeit a positive one !

EDGE1812 | March 22, 2014 | Review of Binary Domain

I bought the game here not expecting much from it but have to say this game totally sneaked up on me.The gameplay while being a little generic still is fairly enjoyable and satisfying while the boss fights feel grand in nature and deliver mass shots of adrenaline. The voice acting too is pretty decent which compliments its layered plot.Yeah, disabling mic is recommended as it isn't needed and can be done just fine through your controller/KB.

The game is way better than Inversion which came around its time (and which I bought on release instead of this which I now regret). Grab it asap is all i can say :)