Reviews by ElitistCuisine

77

Very Decent Defense Game

ElitistCuisine | June 14, 2013 | Review of Killing Floor

This game, despite its poor voice acting, and somewhat outdated feeling movement, is a great jaunt in zombie games. It is regularly updated, be it by the game developers or fellow gamers' mods, and has a great system that rewards specializing in a class for a long period of time. Not only this, it rewards you with a very satisfying slow-down (for all of your teammates as well) when you make a tricky headshot.

72

A decent first-person slasher

ElitistCuisine | June 14, 2013 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare

This game has some truly enjoyable combat, reminiscent of Mount & Blade but more fleshed out. The variety of classes, as well as their weapons, help create a very vivid battlefield that leaves you on the edge of your seat, what with all the arrows, pebbles, bolts, and greatswords flying over your head.

While it may be very fun to play online, I felt the movement in the game (moving around, not slashing/hocking arrows) felt somewhat slow and cumbersome. Even as the lightest class, it never truly feels like you can make it to someone in time to help, nor do you feel like you can run away from a hostile.

Furthermore, the game can be very difficult to get into, like many multiplayer games, when you are first starting. The reason is simple: Most people who play online are seasoned veterans who will easily, and gladly, chop you into little cubes.

All in all, it is more than decent, especially for its price. The animations feel smooth in combat, and the immersion of screaming soldiers and arrows is extremely enjoyable.

94

Unbelievably Impressive Story

ElitistCuisine | June 14, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite (NA)

As I stated above, the story is beyond impressive. While it can feel rather drawn out in the first half of the game, what with all the running around, it quickly ramps up into a florish that leaves your mouth open throughout the ending sequence.

But story isn't everything. The gameplay deserves a fair share of praise as well, due to its wonderful variety throughout it. Whether you want to be a sniper raining fire from above, a guerrila fighter who runs in and obliterates an enemy than retreats, or an unstoppable tank who can absorb bullets, it will cater to your urge to play as such.

Not only this, but the way how they provide a companion is excellently executed. You never feel like you are doing an extended escort mission, and you may even feel like you are being escorted yourself (and that is not a bad thing at all).

All in all, great story and very solid gameplay leads to a great 15+ hour jaunt that will leave you speechless and focused for days after you are done with it.

76

A decent idea that can help break up game-fatigue

ElitistCuisine | June 14, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 3: Close Quarters (NA)

Calling this map a step in the direction of becomign a Call of Duty clone is more than a little harsh. While the new maps are very reminiscent of other infantry-based games, with the constant threat of someone attacking from behind or quick recovery from death, they help shine some new light into Battlefield's massive firefights and maps.

Not only this, but the addition of several new, exciting weapons adds a larger variety for further play sessions within the Battlefield 3 multiplayer.

Simply put, the new maps are exciting, if not uninspired, but rarely make it worth the 15 dollars necessary. Thankfully the new weapons help make up the disparity.

84

Great Introduction to the Battlefield Series

ElitistCuisine | June 14, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 2 Complete Collection (NA)

As other reviews state, this game truly gives you a great sense of scale with it's online 64 player matches. While the engine has shown some wear and tear in time, there is still awe-inspiring moments created by fights with human players. Be it the cohesiveness of squads in massive firefights, the scream of jets soaring over you, or the artillery ordered by player-controlled commanders, you will undoubtadly have loads of fun within these hectic, all-out battles.

82

A Solid MMO Romp

ElitistCuisine | May 19, 2013 | Review of Guild Wars 2: Digital Edition (NA) -

This game, when I played it, was a very well thought out MMO. It's combat felt unique, due to the dodge system, and the lore/missions were well thought out. The system that steals the show, however, is the event system that often brings many players together to complete an objective for, mostly, the same reward. This mechanic really kept me engaged.

The crafting system feels swift, imaginative, and very fun. I have lost countless coins just because I was immensly curious in what I could discover.

However, once reaching the highest level, I swiftly lost interest. I have never been a raiding sort of person, more enjoying the environment and general chaos of event battles.

All in all, a wonderful, beautiful game. It just appears to be difficult to stay engaged after a pro-longed period of time.

70

A rather clumsy, but very fun simulation

ElitistCuisine | May 19, 2013 | Review of Grand Ages: Rome DNS

I bought this game a while back, mostly due to the fact that I love city building games. This game of course sated my love of city building games, but it often felt incomplete, especially in the combat portion of the game.

For the most part, I avoided combat due to the fact that I never enjoyed it. The true meat of this game is in the city planning. It is always a joy to manage in this game, and the trading system is very well thought out.

All in all, it is a good game. I just wouldn't recommend it for its military campaign alone.

80

Solid Hours of Fun

ElitistCuisine | May 19, 2013 | Review of Borderlands

Gameplay: While often considered very Diablo-esque, what with the main aspect being looting, gameplay is pretty decent. The fights are very varied, the abilities are wonderful, and the dialogue is consistently funny.

Graphics: While many loved the comic-style graphics, I personally never was very engrossed in them. They never truly seem to get in the way, and there are genuinly beautiful moments in the game. It is merely me having a different taste for realistic rendering.

Sound: The audio is fantastic in this game. There is no shortage of entertaining dialogue, as I stated before, and the guns all have a certain variety in between.

Main gripe: The story is virtually non-existant. You will often find yourself nodding off to the borish main story and enthralled in the secondary quests. Not only this, but the ending will often make you feel somewhat ripped off.

Overall: This is a wonderful game that I have spent countless hours in co-op. However, all this considered, I would recommend Borderlands 2. It is basically the same game, only with a lot more flavorful meat.

84

Solid Graphics/Gameplay/Sound - Even Now

ElitistCuisine | May 19, 2013 | Review of Medieval II: Total War

As stated, this Total War is an excellent starter point to the Total War series.

Gameplay: It has an incredibly detailed Campaign play. Often times, you will find yourself just wanting to take a step back from the chaos of battle, and management. However, this is only half the fun. Said battles are, still, a treat to watch and listen to. Nowaday machines can easily render/process up to 10k+ units per battle. So, lucky us, it is a joy to control these armies.

Graphics: It is unfair to truly stack these against modern-day graphics, but even then, they still hold strong against todays contenders. While you won't be wowed by Crysis-level graphics, the absolute scale and art of everything will easily draw you in.

Sound: Zoom in, and you have a panoply of sound coming your way. Be it the screams of a Scottish Highlander, or just the clinking of a sword, you will easily become immersed into the environment.

My major gripe: Often times in melee combat, you will have a platoon (legion, force, however you call it) of soldiers charge into battle, and just stop short of the main force. So, often times this platoon will have only 5 men fighting the horde at a time. The same goes for the AI, but this is a nasty issue that can make battles drag on.

Overall: I highly recommend this game, especially if you are into mods, or you have never played a Total War game. Altogether, I believe you will thoroughly enjoy every aspect.

93

My Favorite Total War

ElitistCuisine | May 16, 2013 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2

As I stated, this is my favorite Total War in the series. It is one of the most polished, I have observed, out of the rest of the series. The sieges are fantastic, defending and attacking, the campaign mechanics are engaging and rewarding, and the game is downright beautiful. When you look upon a whole castle burning, it doesn't just feel like a pretty screensaver that gleefully makes you feel like an excellent commander.

78

Thrilling and engrossing romp down the insane rabbit hole

ElitistCuisine | May 9, 2013 | Review of Spec Ops: The Line dns

Spec Ops: The Line has a rather disappointing first half, due to the stereotypical "We are soldiers! We fight bad guys!" bravado that is exhibited constantly. Still, I pressed through and got to the halfway point, when the story really picked up. The story is an excellent exploration of soldiers and their dreams, and nightmares. It explores tough subjects like PTSD, as well as Dissociative Syndrome, and fleshes them out excellently. I cannot describe how well they do this without spoiling the game, but just remember to hold on, mostly for the story.

Gameplay: The gameplay leaves some to be desired. The guns feel very nice and weighty, and the enemies crumple in realistic ways when you shoot them. Not only this, but you are constantly running out of ammo, so it forces you to keep modifying your behavior in the middle of combat. And the sand mechanic does allow some creativity, other than the "blow up barrel next to bad guy" cliche.

Of course though, the controls are severely wonky. Tapping space sets you into cover, as well as starts you sprinting, and shift makes you vault over objects. I discovered on my first ride through, on normal, that half of my deaths were due to confusion in the controls, and jumping into the enemies bullets/grenades.

Simply put, The Line is a thrilling adventure, and will leave you feel mildly shellshocked when you finish. But just remember, this adventure is very difficult to maneuver.