Reviews by Exostenza

85

An absolute fantastic follow up to the original

Exostenza | May 24, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 (NA)

I had a blast with the original playing through with 2 friends, but felt the PC version was lacking and Borderlands 2 really makes up for that. The missing PC options and optimizations in Borderlands 1 are all present in Borderlands 2 which is very nice from PC only game player. The game is a riot playing with friends (not so great solo, but you can always find people online) and is the an awesome synergy of FPS and loot finding delight.

I love ARPGs and especially love them because you get to not only upgrade your character, but also constantly search out new loot which this game takes and puts into an absolute blast of a 4 player co-op FPS.

There is much to do in the base game which took my buddy and I 52 hours to complete and in the new game plus the game is so much harder (which is way better IMO) and still more levels for your character to progress and more and better loot to find.

We bought the season pass which adds 4 more DLC to the game to play in the new game plus mode and I am looking forward to it extremely considering the quantity and quality of the base game.

Another thing is that the music is fantastic and if you pump up the volume when the music kicks in during the battles it really gets you going. Apart from that there is a lot of grinding and very similar missions, but having lots of classes to choose from and endless amounts of loot it doesn't have the feeling of grinding for the sake of grinding like a lot of other games.

There are many areas in the base games, a few types of vehicles and lots to do. I am extremely pleased with the quality of the PC version and support it has got post launch and am looking forward to playing the DLC through on the new game plus mode.

This game is the latest of a series that you shouldn't miss if you are an FPS fan as it really brings FPS together with the wonder lust of so much loot you could die just thinking of it all.

There is a lot of DLC which might turn some people off, but if the first game is any indicator they all add enough content to warrant buying them if you are looking for more Borderlands, so I would say in the context of this game the DLC is all worth it and not just a cash cow like some games seem to be. Gearbox cares about your experience and it shows.

I love it.

82

A great strategic platformer for 3 players!

Exostenza | May 24, 2013 | Review of Trine

Ok, so this game looks fantastic and plays just as well. It is made to play with 3 people which is an absolute blast as you all have to work together in order to get through everything. It has all the classic elements of a great platformer, a great puzzler and a great action game with a half decent plot as well. The game provides a lot of fun for the price and the developers clearly put their hearts into the game as the game-play is smooth and mechanics are done quite well. This is a fantastic game for anyone wanting a perfect synergy of the types of games I mentioned above and this game is best played with at least one other person as it is really made for co-op play. There is also a slight RPG element to it where you get to upgrade each character which adds some more to the game which is always nice and keeps you looking forward to your next upgrade.

All in all a very good game that synergizes platforming, puzzle solving and action into a fantastic game best played with other people.

78

Great twist on TD

Exostenza | May 24, 2013 | Review of Unstoppable Gorg

I got this game because it looked like a very good twist on traditional tower defense and it delivered. It has all the major marking of a good TD game, plus it has the "twist" of being able to twist your towers around your planet you are defending. A lot of strategy and careful planning is needed to do well in this game and that is exactly what I want from a TD. Also considering it is a TD the graphics are fairly nice and the 1950s comic style of the plot is pretty hilarious albeit as cliche as it gets.

All in all this is a competent TD game that will give you a new dynamic to play with. All lovers of TD this is one you shouldn't miss.

96

Finally... been waiting since escape velocity!

Exostenza | May 24, 2013 | Review of Space Pirates And Zombies

I have been waiting for a game like this since Escape Velocity and EV: Nova waaaaaaay back in the day. I love games like this where you start out with a crappy ship and slowly build up any way you want from trading, mining, being a pirate, doing all types of missions and end up with a fleet of awesome.

This game bring everything to plate that used to love about the old EV games and more. It has extreme replay-ability as there are so many routes of building up and so many choices of how to deal with things and what sides to take. The variance in types of ships and their abilities is staggering and having a sick fleet with you is super bad@#$. If you are a fan of space games with action, economy, allegiances and extreme variability in the manner that you can do anything this is the game for you. Think of is as a top down, very accessible, X game (you know like X2 and X3).

I just love this type of game so much and these developers delivered so well. I actually bought it twice because I wanted a friend to play it so badly and he is a cheapo. Guess what, he loved it.

Buy this game and have more fun and more game play time than several "AAA" titles combined guaranteed.

95

Trumps any mario cart game

Exostenza | May 24, 2013 | Review of Sonic and All-Stars Racing Transformed

I was absolutely blown away by this game. I was told it is fantastic, but was weary and got it on sale. I can now say after playing it for many hours that this game is the best cart racer I have ever played. It has many characters to play each with their own unique style and "star" mode. The levels are so different from each other which is fantastic as it gives massive variation to the game and each level has a non-cart mode whether it be flying or boating which again is super cool and adds variance to the game.

The online multiplayer is lots of fun and has many different modes to keep it fresh, but my favorite part of this game is playing it 4 players local on my HDTV with 4 wireless xbox controllers. We have such a blast and it is so much better than having a console it is crazy as the graphics (especially for a cart racing game) are just incredible and the game is made to use the 360 pad naively.

Speaking of the graphics I must say that SEGA really cares about the PC and makes sure their games have lots of support on this our platform of choice. The game has been updated many time to include new graphics options, balances and tweaks which shows that the developers not only care but are listening to the community.

As to expect the game has item pickups which can be used offensively or defensively and also has a start system which allows the player to get into all starts mode and each character has their own unique transformation and ability in this mode. The coins you collect also go towards being able to gamble for starting items in each race and there is just so much to unlock from characters, to different driving styles for each character to new races and racing modes.

This is the best cart racing game I have ever played and the variance is completely incredible which keeps the game fun and fresh for a very, very long time with incredible online and offline multiplayer. This game is worth every penny and more. Also it is incredible because you can progress the campaign in multiplayer with a friend - what fun!

90

My favorite stealth/action game since MGS 1

Exostenza | May 24, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

I did not know what to expect from this game because I feel most modern games are a bit too streamlined for me, but Eidos Montreal really knows how to put out quality games AND quality PC ports. The game-play is smooth and the graphics are great on the PC. The game mechanics are done very well and you have the choice to play either stealth or rambo although it awards you for stealth more.

I loved this game because I was finally able to play a great stealth game with a GREAT story line (plots in modern games seem to be very lacking). I have missed the quality of this genre for a long time as I am a HUGE MGS 1 fan and this game delivered so well. I loved every minute of it and slowly augmenting yourself throughout the game brings the RPG elements and you can really feel your power growing as you progress and it really ties into the story line just so well.

People complain about the boss fights, but really they are like 3 percent of the game so who really cares anyway and MGS had boss fights which I loved.

So, this game is a great PC port done with attention and care which has a fantastic story line and great game-play mechanics - it really should not be passed up and is one of the better games to come out in a while. I started to play it and just could not put it down until it was beat which rarely happens for me anymore.

Also this game goes on sale so much and GMG always has vouchers on which makes this title a steal of a deal and I really mean that. It is so good that for the price you get it on GMG it actually is like stealing the game it is so cheap and is such a good game.

Fans of 3rd person shooters and especially stealth fans you cannot get away with not playing this game. It is a must play title.

85

Great TD/FPS hybrid from a great developer

Exostenza | May 24, 2013 | Review of Sanctum 2

The first thing that needs to be mentioned here is the developers are absolutely committed to their games and update the games according to fan feedback more than most, if not all, developers. This immediately puts them in my great books. Aside from that the game has enhanced graphics from the previous game and a much better weapon system. Also there are classes in this iteration which makes the game, especially the coop, much better in terms of variation between players and play styles.

There are guns, towers and perks to unlock which is standard fair in most shooters and it really makes this game fun because like I said before there is much variation for every character/class you play.

The single player is fun and the co-op is an absolute blast. Taking time with your buddies or people you met over the internet to make cool mazes and figure out new strategies for each level is a lot of fun and in this iteration they have lots of options for each level to up the difficulty in specific manners (harder monsters, faster monsters, less resources etc...) resulting in more replay-ability of each level and the motivation to try new strategies on old levels.

All in all this is a fantastic game from excellent developers who love to listen to their community and exact quick changes to their game on a regular basis. The game is so much fun I am absolutely sure I am going to pick up the season pass as I am sure it will provide a lot more fun to a game that already provides more than most "AAA" titles for 15 bucks.

FPS and TD fans you are in for a great game if you go ahead and grab this and with the constant GMG vouchers you know you'll always get a good deal on this awesome website.

82

A great reboot of a series

Exostenza | May 24, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider Steam -

This game has a lot going for it and the first thing I would like to say is that the people complaining about to man QTEs is that I don't like QTEs and do not think this game suffers from the amount that most people are complaining about over the internet.

The game has a solid story line and takes you into the world unlike like most games today which is really nice. The game progresses fairly linear in terms of leveling up and upgrading your guns, so there is not much freedom there although there is the freedom to go back and fourth between areas to finish challenges and get all the items, relics etc... in a region. Some of the regions are small, but some are quite big and you never feel like the game is too restricting, One thing that really makes this game stand out is that I normally hate to go around getting every little thing and accomplishing every little task, but for some reason this game compels me to do it - this adds a good amount of game play time which is very good in this day of very short AAA games.

The game play mechanics are fluid and solid, even if jumping around is sort of strange some times, it does for the most part play very well. I like how it has different sensitivities for looking around and aiming - a great feature. There is not much variance to types of weapons but they evolve throughout the game making them very different in each step and Laura's abilities slowly get better and better giving the a slight RPGish feeling which most people like.

Another area that needs to be talked about is how good of a PC version this is. The graphics are absolutely fantastic considering this console era we are stuck in at the moment - you can see Crystal Dynamics really put effort into the PC graphics which makes this game one of the best looking games to date and it runs very well on my AMD 7970 sticking to 60fps most of the time and rarely dropping (I have an i7 3770k @ 4.4ghz). Even though, you can tell this is a well optimized game. .

The major drawback is that the tombs are all extremely small and super easy to figure out which kind of goes against the idea of the previous games and the name of the game, but the whole experience makes up for it in my opinion.

This is a great game and no one will regret purchasing it at any price who likes these types of games and at the time of writing this review it 66 percent off which is a super crazy deal as this game is worth every single penny plus GMG always has a 20 percent off voucher which make the game dirt cheap. How you couldn't pick up this game I have no idea.

I was weary to buy the game and ended up buying it, albeit at a nice discount, and do not regret it for a second.

But this game - you will love it!

85

Over the top action

Exostenza | May 21, 2013 | Review of Saints Row: The Third

If you like GTA style games, but want something completely over the top and well done then this is the game for you; craziness at the height of insanity and so very much fun. With co-op to boot this game (despite the ridiculous amount of DLC) is so fun/ridiculous it kind of hurts.

70

The "Call of Duty" of stealth games

Exostenza | May 21, 2013 | Review of Dishonored

This game was fun, but extremely easy even on the hardest setting. It was fairly mindless entertainment and I feel the best way to describe it is "the Call of Duty of stealth games" as it is extremely streamlined for mass consumption. It had just enough to keep me going to the end, but not a game I will ever think about again once the experience is over.

82

Fantastic, polished god game - fun for everyone

Exostenza | May 19, 2013 | Review of Reus

A really fun god game that is quite polished out of the "box" (it is a digital game) which is nice to see as so many games (especially AAA titles) come broken and need lots of fixing. This game is reasonably easy to pick up and hard to master which I like a lot. it has many aspects to it and picks up on the god genre which has not been developed much. For 10 dollars you are going to get more fun and a lot more play time than most of the 60 dollar "AAA" titles out there. It seems like for the people who want to keep it simple they can and for the people who want to go more in depth and unlock everything there is enough content to keep most of us going for a while. The devs also said that if they game is popular enough (thus allowing them to work on the game more) they will be adding more to it so I really hope people take the plunge and play this awesome 10 dollar game. It is so crazy how it seems lately that 10 dollar indie games just wipe the floor with 60 dollar "AAA" games.

tl;dr Fun, polished indie game that gives depth and great bang for the buck buy it and have tons of fun!