Reviews by ExpiredJordan

88

Must Buy

ExpiredJordan | May 30, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II: The Old Gods

I own all of the expansion packs for Crusader Kings 2 and without a doubt I say that this is the most content packed expansion pack available. The first and most important thing it adds is an amazing option to start nearly two hundred years before the original games 1066 start date. This not only adds more replay ability but also more variety with more religions and different houses. The other important thing this DLC includes that doesn't come with the free update is the ability to play as the Nordic Pagans. This is completely game changing, and I never had as much fun in this game until this option became available. As a Viking warlord I have no moral compass or need for one, so I can do whatever I wish. This makes the game a thousand times more fun. Overall I give this expansion pack an 88, the only reason why it didn't get any higher is because of balancing issues that I am sure will be patched out in the next game update.

70

The Best Unit Pack

ExpiredJordan | May 30, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II: Norse Unit Pack

Out of all the unit pack DLC Paradox has released for Crusader Kings 2, I would say this is the best. This is mainly because of the amazing detail put into the characters, the armor, and even the weapon (axe). Also another major reason to buy this is because of the Norse likelihood to pillage your nation without declaring war. By having this DLC you will be able to set them apart with your Christian allies. Overall I think this is one of the best, if not the only unit pack that should be purchased for your complete game experience.

62

Not needed but nice for immersion

ExpiredJordan | May 28, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II: Hymns to the Old Gods

Like all of the other song packs for Crusader Kings 2 many people would consider it completely unnecessary and for the most part useless, which I could agree with. On the other hand though it completes the immersion of playing as a viking warrior. On the other hand you could always just mute the games volume and just turn on your own music or you could just change the games sound files. So if you can live without the music then I think it would be better to pass this downloadable content up. Overall because of the little need for the dlc, and the great immersion factor it brings if you buy it then I would give this DLC a sixty two out of one hundred.

90

Great Story Telling

ExpiredJordan | May 27, 2013 | Review of Fallout: New Vegas DNS

If you have ever played Fallout 3 you know what to expect, nuclear waste with robots and mutants all over the place. The thing is New Vegas is much more than that. It made me realize what Fallout 3 could have been if it was made by the original developers.

The story of New Vegas is pretty simple at first, you are shot in the head and you want to kill whoever was responsible for this. This is a great start because of the blank slate with your memory loss, giving you the ability to Role Play to your heart’s desire. As you go on the story brings up some major moral choices. The thing this game does great is how all of these choices are neither right nor wrong only your own interpretation.

The graphics and sound are the same as Fallout 3 which to say is getting pretty dated, but if you can look past these faults you will find a great game with a wonderful story.

Overall I give this game a 90 out of 100.

78

Madness

ExpiredJordan | May 27, 2013 | Review of Saints Row: The Third

When I played Saints Row 1 and 2, I knew this Grand Theft Auto clone had potential, it was always just a little bit more crazy then everything that came before it. Then Saints Row: The Third came out and any preconceived view I had on the series was thrown out the window. This game goes from implausible madness to mentally insane in a matter of minutes, but that is its greatest strength.

The gameplay of this game is much faster and more fluent than the clunky system in the previous two games. You can pull of headshots, groin kick a women, and then dive headfirst into a car to use as your getaway in a matter of seconds. Also their is a wide variety of upgradable guns that makes this game full of customization. Guns are not the only thing you can customize though, because you can quite literally make any person from any tv show or and person you know in great detail.

The graphics are not anything to write home about, they do their part just not as well as I was hoping. The sound is different on the other hand, the game has tons of licensed music that it uses throughout mission that add to the madness.

My only major gripe about this game is that the city looks the same all throughout it, just boring buildings as far as the eye can see. Because of this and the low graphics I am giving this game a 78 out of 100.

80

Great Medieval War Simulator

ExpiredJordan | May 27, 2013 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare

It is extremely rare to find a first person game that also blends with hand to hand combat and works well. Chivalry does all of that and more. When I first started the game I was slightly disappointed that it didn't include a single player mode, but I just shrugged it off and started the tutorial. The tutorial is beautiful well voiced and epic, and I just have to wonder what this game could have been if they would have expanded it out into a full fledged single player.

The gameplay is extremely fun, from warriors swinging their axes slicing off the man's head next to you, to throwing the perfect axe shot into someones head while following it through a stylized camera angle, the gameplay will not disappoint. Also the controls are easy to pick up so you will be bashing in skulls in no time.

The graphics and sound are beautiful and blend very well with the gameplay to form a great experience. Although you might get a slight performance hit because of the demanding graphics.

Overall I would give this game an 80 out of 100, because of the lack of single player but great gameplay.

85

One of the most polished Total War games

ExpiredJordan | May 27, 2013 | Review of Medieval II: Total War

When I first got this game, I got it with Rome so it was completely overshadowed by the conquest of ancient times. Months later I finished up Rome and I started to play this game. I realized my mistake of playing Rome first, because this game just completely destroyed it.

The gameplay of this game is pretty much the same as Rome Total War, a few small changes like merchants and princesses, but for the most part it should be easy to pick up if you played Rome.

The graphics and the sound of this game are amazing, they can still hold their own against many new games today. This is because everything was future proofed by the developers and it shows.

Because of the high level of polish and detail to an already great formula, and the great time zone to play in, I am giving this game a 85 out of 100.

88

Dark Mature Fun

ExpiredJordan | May 27, 2013 | Review of Spec Ops: The Line dns

When I first got this game I thought it was going to be a typical military shooter, a kind of Gears of War and Call of Duty blend. For the gameplay I got just that a bland shooter experience. The thing about this game is that it isn't about the gameplay, it is about the story. The story is dark, twisted and full of unexpected turns where by the end it makes you question your own morals, something very few games have ever made me do.

Back to the gameplay it is a over the shoulder military shooter which does its part to keep you going through the story. If I ever wanted to go back and play this game it is definitely not for the gameplay.

The Story alone is worthy of a full big budget film, but sadly the gameplay cant quite keep up. So I am giving this game an 88 out of 100.

75

When you just start thinking the game is getting stale

ExpiredJordan | May 27, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II: Sunset Invasion

First off, this DLC is completely unnecessary and if you haven't had basic history class then you will know that it is also not historically accurate. With all of that aside Sunset Invasion is a great DLC for near end game empires, because it gives them a true opponent. The Aztecs are coming by the thousands and they are pissed. As soon as they land it is a land grab, with Portugal and much of spain first to go. If you are fortunate enough to be in England or Ireland to be to quick to laugh, because shortly after the first invasion force a second one will steamroll its way through your lands. This is where all the surviving empires can hopefully make a pact to push back the Aztec invaders before it is too late.

For me Crusader Kings 2 has started to become a little stale especially late game, but this DLC changed that for me, and any DLC that makes me want to play the main game long after I have played it for its worth I would say is a good deal.

88

Completely Necessary

ExpiredJordan | May 27, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II: Ruler Designer DLC

Crusader Kings 2 to me has always been about building and maintaining a dynasty throughout the ages, and I often find myself completely attached to these characters. So this DLC is a must for me, and this is because of how it actually makes me want to come back to the game and try new countries and empires, just to see how my character will survive his environment.

If you are not playing this game for historical accuracy then this is a must buy DLC!

65

Useless yet nice to have

ExpiredJordan | May 27, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II: Byzantine Unit Pack

Like every other reviewer is saying this DLC is purely cosmetic, but if you are going to have to sit through 200+ hours of this game, you might as well make it appealing to the eyes. It is nice to have variety to the a game that seems like everyone looks the same.

If you are going to be in contact with the Byzantines often in your games then this is a must buy, but if you are going to be playing as somewhere further away from the Byzantine Empire like Spain or England then I would let this one pass.

93

This is a true strategy game!

ExpiredJordan | May 27, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II

This is one of the very few games nowadays that doesn't dumb itself down for a casual audience, and because of that it is deeply complex, has a huge learning curve, but an amazing payoff for even the simplest of things.

I am still learning new features and I am nearly 150 hours into the game, that is saying something compared to other "grand strategy" games that get stale 20 hours in.

The learning curve is much higher that other games because of these added complexities, so do not expect to just jump into this game taking over half of Europe.

There are no set goals in this game for you to follow, so you need to set your own smaller goals like conquering Scotland or stealing your brothers titles and then build your way up from there.

Overall I would give this game a 93. The only reason why it doesn't get a full 100 is because of the time invested trying to learn how to play, but trust me it is time well spent.

93

This is a true strategy game!

ExpiredJordan | May 27, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II

This is one of the very few games nowadays that doesn't dumb itself down for a casual audience, and because of that it is deeply complex, has a huge learning curve, but an amazing payoff for even the simplest of things.

I am still learning new features and I am nearly 150 hours into the game, that is saying something compared to other "grand strategy" games that get stale 20 hours in.

The learning curve is much higher that other games because of these added complexities, so do not expect to just jump into this game taking over half of Europe.

There are no set goals in this game for you to follow, so you need to set your own smaller goals like conquering Scotland or stealing your brothers titles and then build your way up from there.

Overall I would give this game a 93. The only reason why it doesn't get a full 100 is because of the time invested trying to learn how to play, but trust me it is time well spent.

95

Warband Review

ExpiredJordan | May 26, 2013 | Review of Mount & Blade: Warband DNS

Pretty much every game claims to have large scale battles, Role Playing Elements, and an amazing combat system. The problem is hardly any games ever live up to this, so I was surprised when I played Mount and Blade: Warband and it actually delivered. If you have ever played the original Mount and Blade, Warband takes place in a fictional medieval world where war and killing are a way of life. Rulers always have knives up to each others necks ready to take the claim as the sole King of the land, and this is where you come in. You can choose to help anyone of the existing nations which each of their own unit benefits and cultures, or you can make your own claim on the lands and become the absolute king. Either way you choose to go, there are many features you can try out like city or town management, marriage, and maintaining a loyal army. Once you have an army you are ready for war. Which brings me to the combat. Warband is true to its predecessor and delivers the most realistic and fun combat system around. With all the constant fighting it is a good idea to start choosing a few weapons to master, and Warband makes this extremely easy by giving a wide range of death dealing weapons, such as the standard sword, axes, maces, spears, bows, crossbows, throwable axes and blades, and massive two handed weapons. Each one of these weapons have their own advantages and disadvantages such as the large two handed blades and axes which do massive damage, yet at the same time making the user open to attacks from its slow swing speed. The Mount in Mount in Blade shows just how much work was done to make the mounted combat enjoyable and balanced. Not only are you fast moving on a horse but you also get a massive speed bonus for damage dealt to anyone stupid enough to try stopping one of these beast. From using all the different weapons in the game on a horse or not you get points to level your combat skills up. The RPG aspect of the game is relatively normal with skills to level and weapons to master, but at the same time it is addiction to max out a combat skill just so you can become your armies powerhouse unit. Your character is not the only one who can level up, any named companion you recruit will also level up in the same way and can be given weapons and armour to use. The bulk of your army; the unnamed soldiers have different advancement trees. You could start out two of the same farmers and one could become a sword wielding knight while the other could end up a bow wielding ranger. Since the majority of your time will be in battles it is best that you decide what kind of soldiers suit your playstyle and upgrade accordingly. Now that the single player is out of the way its time to discuss the multiplayer. Warband's multiplayer has the large scale battles the single player is known for, with the combat system that is easy to pick up. Or you can download one of the many community made multiplayer Game Modules such as cRPG or Mount and Musket, with a good game module the multiplayer or singleplayer is turned into something completely different and often for the better. When it comes to singleplayer mods there are many great ones, some that are in well known fictional worlds such as Middle Earth or Westeros, or you can try one of the mods that take the game out of the medieval setting and put it into a modern day gun wielding one, such as The Old West or Star Wars. Warband does have a few problems like the low graphics or the occasional bugs, but overall it is an amazing game that deserves to be checked out. Overall Mount and Blade: Warband deserves a 95.