Reviews by ExtinctThings

70

Good for its time, still decently fun.

ExtinctThings | Sept. 2, 2013 | Review of Warhammer 40000: Dawn of War - Game of the Year Edition

Warhammer 40k is a gigantic franchise and one that's great to jump into. This game is the best Warhammer 40k so far, as a fully-featured RTS. It has many unique features, like units having both ranged and melee attacks and infantry being squad-based. However, it is hurt by some physics and terrain bugs and poor AI, as well as a relatively short campaign. Furthermore, the balancing of the factions is completely off, making it very hard to play multiplayer without immediately being frustrated. Lastly, there is no campaign for my favorite faction, the Eldar; this is a personal con, but still, I would have liked to see that.

60

The game is good but has its problems

ExtinctThings | June 24, 2013 | Review of Rome: Total War

I know that this was what started the popularity of the Total War series, but I personally find the game a bit lackluster.

Strategies were limited by the large army sizes and the unwieldiness of having a giant block of units; while this is a common in Total War games, later games do more to mitigate this effect. There is some randomness in fights that comes down to how individual units attack - individual units that you cannot control. Battles take a ridiculously long time to occur, even at 3x speed, because most soldiers can for some reason take up to a dozen brutal stabs.

Campaign mode is nice, but it is usually very dry initially when you fight easy barbarians and rebels. The city planning aspects are sometimes annoying - it's not immediately clear what some policies and buildings do (e.g. benefit of order over happiness), but this gets better after a while.

Finally, I felt like there could have been more. I found myself building one type of unit repetitively because they were so effective, and one type of cavalry, and one type of archers, for every faction. There was no need to deviate except in a few instances.

Many mods mix up the unit types and solve some of the other problems listed above, but I found the base game lacking in some aspects. However, Rome: Total War was fun for its time and it popularized a great series of games.

65

It's fun but not something that would really keep your attention

ExtinctThings | June 14, 2013 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare can be described as a primarily medieval melee warfare game at the pace of Call of Duty. And it is fun; even dying can be fun depending on the situation. But it lacks a certain degree of polish and balance that prevents you from enjoying the game at a higher level like you would an eSport.

Big issues include weapon reach being deceptive, attacks not making sense (e.g. you poke someone who's hugging you and do full damage - momentum should not work this way), and Men-at-Arms dodging being too powerful when you do it right. In addition Archers have too many gimmicks to avoid or excel at melee (e.g. very fast, decently long swords).

That being said if you're just looking for a chaotic game with chaotic action Chivalry is for you.

92

It's a pretty great game.

ExtinctThings | Dec. 28, 2012 | Review of Mount and Blade Collection

Mount and Blade/Mount and Blade Warband Singleplayer: It's a sandbox world where you can be a random adventurer, to a lord, to a king. The combat is good and unique; there is real weight behind blows and archery is designed well. The learning curve is a bit steep but should be fine for most people who have played a third person fighting game before. If you like sandbox games the singleplayer of this game is pretty good.

Multiplayer: This is where the game really shines. With directional combat and blocking and archery where aiming is key, it's like a medieval deathmatch game in the vein of Counter Strike (albeit slower paced because you know... there's no automatic guns). There are also many hilarious moments and is well worth the time put into it.

Mount and Blade: With Fire and Sword: Singleplayer: Guns have been rebalanced and the game works pretty well now. However, it's still not as fun as Warband simply because of the way you recruit people and do quests. Other than that it's the original game except guns replace bows and crossbows to a large extent. Line combat also works well in this game.

Multiplayer: I don't even know anyone who plays this, now that Napoleonic Wars is out.

Mount and Blade: Napoleonic Wars: Multiplayer (there is no singleplayer mode): It's pretty amazing! Combat is once again hilarious, and now there's hilarity with guns! There's lots of good times to be had and if you're really into this sort of thing you can join a group that does line battles! There are lots of ways to play this game and I highly recommend it if you liked Warband even if you dislike guns because the charges are even more glorious.

65

Don't play this game looking for teamwork and strategy.

ExtinctThings | Dec. 28, 2012 | Review of Battlefield 3 (NA) dns

The best moments in Battlefield 2 were the one where the team really came together - squads operating together in order to achieve a larger goal, with armor and air supporting. However, those moments rarely happened.

I guess EA realized this as well, because they decided to make the shooting in this game like Call of Duty, and vehicles operate in that vein as well - everyone and everything is basically a one-man army that has the ability to take on the entire enemy team by itself. Not by great skill, but by sheer luck and the other team's blindness. Now, this is fine and all, but it feels too much like BFBC2 except with CoD levels of health and less recoil, and not like an actual Battlefield game.

Instead, I decided to pop on an SKS with a 1x scope and am having a pretty good time. Although this is a silly loadout and won't get me the score other loadouts would I have a pretty good time playing like this. Teamwork and strategy are still lacking but so long as I ignore the K/D ratio I can have a pretty good time.

95

The vanilla scene is dying, but the modding scene is strong.

ExtinctThings | Dec. 28, 2012 | Review of Battlefield 2 Complete Collection (NA) dns

I'm not going to write this like a typical review. Battlefield 2 used to be an amazing game, but the way people play it now - hiding behind walls and tossing grenades repetitively - and the amount of hackers have ruined it a bit. Instead, I'm going to write about two mods I play, as that's what's still keeping the game going.

Undoubtedly the largest mod is Project Reality. It's a military simulation game that has a large and dedicated community. Some people buy this game exclusively to play this mod, as it's cheaper and easier to grasp than Arma II and its mods.

There is still a (mostly European) community playing Forgotten Hope 2. It's a great World War II mod that has good gameplay and avoids a lot of the problems vanilla BF2 has by rehashing equipment (of course, it's a World War II mod!).

I've played Battlefield Bad Company 2 and Battlefield 3, and honestly while they're pretty good games in themselves they won't last nearly as long as this game will, simply because EA decided to do away with modding tools.

60

It's pretty good for its time but could do a lot better.

ExtinctThings | Dec. 28, 2012 | Review of Earth 2160 Capsule

This game is pretty unique. It tackled the RTS genre packaged with features that more modern RTS games now have (although I don't think it invented a lot of them). The campaign is also pretty good, with a somewhat compelling storyline and missions. However, my gripe with this game is that it didn't fulfill its potential. Everything felt like it could have been better; controls could have been smoother and more intuitive (big one), plotline could have been better, setting could be more varied, and AI could also use a good deal of work. Also, online play and games against bots outside of the campaign are not very enjoyable. Overall it's not a terrible game especially considering when it was released, but it's definitely a stretch to say it's a good game. "Decent" is the adjective I would use for this game, in almost all aspects.

97

My favorite game so far - period.

ExtinctThings | Dec. 7, 2012 | Review of Bastion Cap

Where to start? Bastion is an amazing game. People complain about gameplay not being quite unique enough - well, if you feel the same way, turn on some idols at your local shrine and prepare to think, "Why can't I press these buttons fast enough?"

Moving on to the story. Summary: it's great. It moves as you do, and while you don't have much control over it, the few choices you do have to make alter the story considerably, including the end meaning.

Graphics: hand-painted tiles are quite the thing. Everything feels authentic, and despite the dark setting, there are deep colors and moving objects everywhere that creates quite the visual experience. One problem with the graphics is that in many places the ground falls into place - quite dizzying for many players, although most should not have this problem.

Audio: everything feels pretty good. Sound is intuitive and unique, nothing you wouldn't expect from a well-designed game. Music is extraordinary; Darren Korb really outdid himself with the soundtrack. I still hear Bastion tracks being player all over the place - in videos, with dubstep remixes in montages, and even as party music occasionally.

Overall: this game is amazing. Story and gameplay and visual and audio all come together to create a great play. The one gripe I have with this game though is that the PC port does not come with very many options, and default controls for the PC are not that good.