Reviews by F4T4LV0iD

83

Expectations Exceeded

F4T4LV0iD | Aug. 8, 2014 | Review of T.E.C. 3001

This was a game I decided to give a try randomly in my library because the screenshots and concept had me intrigued. It's hard to put my finger on it as to why, but this game got me hooked quick and hard. There were some jumps I just could not make, but I still kept coming back for more and was determined to try and get further. I had somewhat low expectations for the game going in, but those expectations were soon exceeded. As I write this review it's on sale for $0.99, which is a total steal and I guarantee you will get your money's worth. Even at $3.99 I still got my money's worth. I don't even know what is best to describe or compare this game to... possibly a 3rd person perspective Bit.Trip Runner? Anyways it totally works and thoroughly enjoyed it.

90

Load Up Your Keyboards!

F4T4LV0iD | Nov. 2, 2013 | Review of Typing of the Dead: Overkill

Wow, this game is more fun than it should be! The Typing of the Dead: Overkill takes the zombie rail-shooter classic and gives it an interesting twist... you kill your enemies by typing in randomized strings of text. So if you're a horrible aim with a gun, but a maverick on the keyboard then this may be the game you're looking for to take out your frustrations on the legions of undead.

Even if your typing skills aren't up to par, the different difficulty levels make even beginners at using a computer keyboard able to enjoy this game, and with the promise of 2-Player co-op multiplayer in the near future as free DLC, go get yourself a copy and give a friend a copy so you can type some zombies to death!

79

2D Stealth Done Right

F4T4LV0iD | July 27, 2013 | Review of Stealth Bastard Deluxe

Stealth Bastard Deluxe offers some of the most fun 2D stealth puzzling yet to be offered. The only 2D game that uses stealth that I'd say would top this game is Mark of the Ninja, but that's like comparing apples and oranges, as Stealth Bastard Deluxe is more focused around the puzzle aspect and finding the exit while avoiding robotic sentries.

The premise is simple but effective. There is a door that you must open and escape. Sound easy? If only it were that easy. You typically need to find consoles which will unlock said door, and then you can make your escape. But what fun would that be without throwing puzzles in your path, and dangerous robotic sentries out to make your day a little more difficult?

I kept going back to this game time and time again and found it difficult to quit, I always felt like "just one more level". None of the puzzles are so painfully difficult that you'll throw your hands up with defeat and never play the game again, but you are presented with enough of a challenge to make you feel like you accomplish something meaningful each time you complete a level, and as the subtitle says, you feel like a total tactical espionage arsehole as you sneak through the shadows and avoid pesky security cameras.

I got more than my money's worth out of this game, and if you like fun platformers with a stealthy puzzle twist, I suggest picking up this excellent indie title.

60

Average game with a funny premise

F4T4LV0iD | July 26, 2013 | Review of DLC Quest

DLC Quest is a game that pokes fun at what everyone seems to have taken notice with the current generation of console games and PC gaming, that everything seems to have DLC for it now which nickel and dime you for every last cent it seems. The game really captures this concept by literally making everything in-game DLC, even the most necessary things such as moving backwards or jumping! Which adds to the hilarity of this title.

The game was a fun ride while it lasted, but the ride itself wasn't very long. The only places where the game falls flat is there is no real challenge at all, it's more or less "collect coins, buy DLC, progress, repeat". Let it be known though that all DLC in this game is bought with in-game coins you collect, nothing you actually pay for.

My final thoughts with this game is that it's a game you'd typically find on a website with free Flash games, and that's the feeling I get from this game. But with a $2.99 price tag I can't steam about it too much, because I still felt the laughs I got from this game covered the price of admission.

68

Mostly appeal to nostalgics

F4T4LV0iD | July 24, 2013 | Review of Altered Beast

Altered Beast is mostly going to appeal to gamers who remember the originals back in the arcade and on the SEGA Genesis. It might not be for modern day gamers unless if they enjoy the throwback to the classics.

One notable thing with Altered Beast was the difficulty. It wasn't that the game proved to be a noble challenge, it was that the AI and the controls could be extremely difficult at times, but as with any other game of this genre, repeated playthroughs and learning enemy patterns will aid you through this classic. And once you transform into one of the many beasts through the powerups you collect from defeating enemies, enemies will fall before you in droves.

To any SEGA enthusiasts, this is a great game to add to your collection. To anyone wanting to go back in the way-back-machine and re-live a classic they may have missed out on during its initial run, then this side-scrolling beat-em-up is a great start for the price.

87

Space combat brilliance!

F4T4LV0iD | July 24, 2013 | Review of Space Pirates And Zombies

S.P.A.Z. is a game that upon first glance I was unsure what to expect. Initial feelings were it looked mediocre at best. This is an instance where I was glad to be proven wrong. What I thought to be a mindless space shooter turned out to be a fun intergalactic experience with nice story progression and challenging missions to test even the most seasoned space flight veteran.

The game offers a large collection of ships to unlock, each with their own pros and cons, which you can outfit with your own selection of guns, reactors, shields, armor and other gadgets. You get to control a single ship, but as you progress you can add AI ships to your fleet which you can switch between on the fly to maximize your efficiency against your enemies.

You get to freely explore the randomly generated galaxy at your own pace, but each sector is marked with a certain level requirement so you don't get too in over your head and get decimated. There's main story missions to follow but the side-missions and collecting data is what will be your bread and butter for most of the part to upgrade all of your weapons.

I found the game to be paced nicely. It starts you out with baby steps to learn all the ins and outs and nothing too difficult, and as the game progresses you actually are faced with what seems near-impossible challenges that force you to unlock stronger upgrades. For an indie game this is true brilliance and I recommend it to everyone.

82

Your Music Library Is Your Ammo

F4T4LV0iD | July 24, 2013 | Review of Beat Hazard

The amount of senseless fun I've had with Beat Hazard is nearly criminal. Picture the old Atari classic 'Asteroids', fuel the gameplay with your own music, add in a bunch AI enemies that fight back and even random boss fights and what you get is Beat Hazard. What makes this game truly unique is that your .mp3 library determines the intensity of the levels. So if you pick a leisurely slow tempo song, the ferocity of your enemies will be lowered drastically, but also the intensity of your gunfire will also be limited. If you have a fast-paced crazy song the intensity of the combat will be equally fast-paced.

The only difficulty I had with this game is the onslaught of flashing colors on the screen at any given time when you're blowing up space junk or enemy ships can at times be overwhelming, and you don't even know where to look and sometimes a stray bullet can nail you and you didn't even see it coming. But a keen eye and sharp reflexes will soon remedy this.

The laundry list of things I love about this game seems never-ending. You can't complain about the soundtrack because YOU provide the soundtrack! (though there are songs included with the game if you are perhaps lacking in .mp3's), the randomness of encounters to keep things fresh, the bright fun visuals, and what I think to be the first full utilization of Steam trading card badges. If you craft a level 5 badge from the Beat Hazard steam trading cards you unlock a Golden Ship, and if you craft a foil badge, you will unlock the Dragon Ship.

As you progress though the game, your score will tally up and improve your rank, which will allow you to unlock perks that range from new weapons, added powerups at the start of the game and extra lives, so there is plenty to keep you coming back for more.

This isn't a game you need to devote a lot of time to, it's more of a pick-up-and-play sort of game to burn away 30 minutes and have fun doing so. Highly recommended.

80

A Fun Sci-Fi Roguelike

F4T4LV0iD | July 23, 2013 | Review of Sword of the Stars: The Pit

Sword of the Stars : The Pit is a sci-fi roguelike game that branches off from the typical hack-n-slash roguelikes and gives it a futuristic makeover with guns, blades, grenades and all those other goodies.

You will find yourself realizing that one of the most valuable items in this game early on is ammunition. It's wise to dispatch weaker enemies with your bare fists or a blade early on and stockpile as much ammo as you can for the tougher baddies at a later juncture.

One thing I love about this game is how the success of your actions, such as lockpicking, computer usage, scavenging, etc, are all determined through your skills. If your lockpicking sucks, don't expect to get through a locked door too easily, and you may even trip an alarm that will permanently lock that door for good!

There's 3 classes to choose from at the beginning of the game, each with their own weaknesses and strengths. So while you may be a brutish marine with all the strength in the world, you may soon come to find out that your lacking mental skills prevent you from obtaining lots of needed items from locked storage containers and lockers.

As with most roguelikes, the game doesn't hold your hand through your adventure and pick you up when you fall. When you die, death is permanent, and expect it to happen often early on until you get the hang of things. Also don't make the same mistake I did and jump in head-first without browsing the tutorial. (plus completing the tutorial earns you a Steam achievement.)

Any fans of roguelikes should feel right at home with SotS:The Pit, and anyone looking for a nice place to start to whet their roguelike appetite should look no further than Sword of the Stars: The Pit.

89

Pleasantly Surprised

F4T4LV0iD | July 23, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts

Awesomenauts was a game I typically tried to avoid, because it was often compared to DOTA2 and other MOBA games, and I am not much of a fan of those genres. I happened to pick Awesomenauts up in a bundle, and sat on it for a good while before caving in and finally giving it a go. My low expectations were quickly put to rest by the result of quite possibly the most fun MOBA I've ever encountered.

The action is fast-paced, easy to get into, and most importantly it's FUN! And rest assured newbies, there is offline practice mode with bots to hone your skills and level up your character to unlock all of the characters and additional skills.

The characters are all zany and loveable, and each one gets 3 unique abilities, but you get to customize the effect of each ability. There are characters that meet everyone's unique playstyle as well. If you like being a tank of a character with a lot of health and brute strength but not very swift on their feet, then go for Clunk. He has a self-destruct ability that damages himself, but greatly damages all nearby enemies. Or if you prefer a more defensive approach, there's always Voltar with his area healing and boost abilities for teammates. Currently 14 characters to choose from, and always the chance of more being added to the roster is always nice.

If you enjoy MOBA's, get this game! If you don't like MOBA's for the lack of get-right-in-there action, or the amount of commitment required to level up in it and get anywhere, then get this game! You won't be disappointed.

70

Tower Defense FPS

F4T4LV0iD | July 23, 2013 | Review of Sanctum

I'll be the first to admit, I'm a huge sucker for tower defense game. I'm also no stranger to the field of FPS games. So what happens when you combine the aspects of both of these games? Sanctum.

Anyone familiar with tower defense games knows the basic model structure. -- Build up an impenetrable defense, unleash a wave of enemies, pray you survive before they hit their objective, repeat. This is a tried and tested foundation for tower defense games that seldom fails, and with a first-person-shooter aspect added to this, it adds a feature to tower defense games that some people find is lacking in some of them. ACTION! While your defenses pound away at oncoming invaders, you can run around and blast them with your guns as well. It's like you're a portable tower!

The game is pretty fun the first several goes, but the realization soon kicks in that the game is much more fun when you play online with some friends after you play through the same handful of maps over and over again. There's DLC to add new weapons and towers, but that luster wears off sooner than later and doesn't change up the gameplay all that much.

If you are a fan of tower defense games I say pick it up with a few friends and maximize the game's potential. If you're on the fence with tower defense games, it's a coin flip situation.

77

Dying has never been so creatively fun

F4T4LV0iD | July 23, 2013 | Review of Magicka

The concept of mixing and matching elements to create customized spells just for the right occasions in combat intrigued me, so I picked up Magicka as soon as I could. You will find recipes throughout the game to use unique spells, such as one of my favorites that creates an oil slick, which you can then set fire to with a fire spell and do insane fire damage to enemies.

This game is best enjoyed with a few friends tagging along, but prepare to experience more friendly fire than an online FPS deathmatch game, but rather than be angry I always found myself laughing it off, because the penalty for dying isn't that huge, so you just dust yourself off and try again.

A large portion of the fun from Magicka comes from trying to learn different elemental combinations and mastering them. The Shield element at first I thought was just handy for covering myself in a protective barrire, but found out with a few creative combinations with other elements I was able to set landmines and other nasty little treats for oncoming enemies.

Aside from all the zany magical combinations you'll be cooking up, the story itself adds plenty of humor which makes it an overall enjoyable experience, and with a ton of DLC to pick up, the hours for this game keep piling on. Pick this one up if you want a good laugh with some friends as you co-op your way through or battle it out in the arena with them.

95

This is just TOO FUN!

F4T4LV0iD | July 22, 2013 | Review of Just Cause 2

I cannot express the amount of fun I had with this game, and that's just from messing around and not even touching the main missions!

The grappling hook and parachute are what define this game and make it as great as it is. Grappling pursuing enemy jeeps to bridge supports and watching them veer off over the edge and into the water is SO satisfying, as is shooting out the tires of said vehicles and watching them barrel roll on the pavement and blow up. This is carnage at its most entertaining.

I paid full price for this game upon its original release and I regret nothing, I definitely got my money's worth from Just Cause 2, and I still find myself going back to it from time and time just to cause a little havoc and see what new ways I can utilize the grappling hook! I couldn't stop laughing when I grappled an enemy to a propane tank, and shot the propane tank and watched them both take off like a jet.

If you love carnage, if you love explosions, if you love open world shooters, then this is the game you so desperately need!

92

TellTale Games with another point-and-click winner!

F4T4LV0iD | July 22, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead

With the success of The Walking Dead TV series, it was only a matter of time before video games would capitalize on this, and thankfully Telltale Games got their claws into this series. With previous point-and-click winners such as the Sam & Max series and Monkey Island, I was a little wary of how they'd handle the gruesome and serious aspect of The Walking Dead world. They hit the nail on the head perfectly. The storytelling is great, the character progression is spectacular and the whole atmosphere is epic. It's games like this that are re-paving the way for Point-and-Click adventure games once again, and a bonus is you don't have to be familiar with the show at all to jump right in and enjoy this game.

You really click with the characters in this game, and there are times when you have to make some really tough choices that may or may not come back to haunt you. This is the epitome of modern-day point-and-click adventures and you should do yourself the favor of playing this excellent game.

84

Not Just a Puzzle Game

F4T4LV0iD | July 22, 2013 | Review of 10 000 000

10,000,000 caught my eye immediately when I saw a trailer for it, so I thought I'd bite. I love me a good puzzle game, and this throws an awesome monkey wrench into your traditional tile-matching puzzle game to the likes of Bejeweled by making the matched tiles have certain effects.

The ultimate goal is to amass 10,000,000 points to escape your prison. With your first try to do this, you will likely fall short, VERY short. But as you play, you gain materials which you can use to purchase upgrades that aid in your quest for 10,000,000 points. Each time you enter the dungeon you will fight random enemies, each one with their own strengths and weaknesses. Some are weak against melee attacks while other are weak against magic attacks, so you need to plan your tile-matches accordingly, as you only have so much time through each run of the dungeon, and each time you are attacked by the enemy, it takes a bite out of your time.

Do not worry if you lose in the dungeon, in fact expect it frequently. But each run through you will keep making progress, and the upgrades will keep assisting you and you will notice each run through the dungeon you will keep getting closer and closer.

If you are a fan of puzzle games, and want something new by adding an interesting twist I'd say give this game a look, you'll be pleasantly surprised and find yourself wasting away hours upon hours trying to get to 10,000,000.

73

Mo Money, Mo Problems!

F4T4LV0iD | July 22, 2013 | Review of Capitalism 2

For anyone seeking an in-depth business simulator that ranges from farming, to manufacturing to retail all in one game, look no further than Capitalism 2.

Be warned though, this game has a steep learning curve, and it is highly recommend to go through the tutorials of this game to make sure you soak in all the details to quickly and easily make money. If you go rushing in head first you will likely get frustrated and quit before you can fully enjoy the game.

Starting out as an entrepreneur with a small fortune, you look to further your fortune by investing in all sorts of businesses and playing a dangerous game of buying cheap and selling high. One major difference between part 2 and the original, is definitely the upgrade to the graphics, but you can also invest in real estate and rent out apartments as a side venture.

If there's high demand for certain products, you can build a factory and manufacture products for cheap, and sell them to retailers for a huge profit, but just make sure you meet demand or the retailers may jump ship for a different product, or a cheaper/higher quality product.

The safe route can just simply going into retail and selling finished goods. Profits are usually not as large, but as long as the supply is there you will usually see cash roll in slowly I'd say this definitely is not a game for everyone, but if you aren't afraid of a challenge, and you like a good in-depth business simulator I say check out Capitalism 2.

90

A Classic Reborn!

F4T4LV0iD | July 22, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's Pirates! Capsule

I remember picking up Sid Meier's Pirates! back in the mid-90's for DOS after hearing a lot of buzz from friends. I fell in love with this game instantly and sunk hours after hours into this game. This remake slaps a nice fresh coat of paint on this classic without stripping away anything that made the original great.

The game is totally open-ended and you can amass your fortune how you wish, though there is a story in the game you can follow at your own leisure, but be warned, your health will fade over the years and injuries will pile up after ship battles and swordfights.

If you want to sail around the Caribbean and sink trade ships and pillage their goods to sell at nearby ports, take up missions for your country to earn some gold and fame, or search for your long lost family members, it's totally up to you. One thing is for certain though, if you've ever dreamed of being a pirate of the high seas, this is the game for you.

50

Not for everyone

F4T4LV0iD | July 21, 2013 | Review of Dear Esther

Dear Esther is essentially a game of storytelling while you wander around on an island. Don't expect any action or any scary things to pop out while you explore the area, it's merely just a visceral experience as you see all the attractions the island has to offer and listen to the story from the narrator. Think of it as watching a book or poem being read to you, and rather than using your imagination to witness the events, it's right there before your eyes.

Rating this game is difficult, because it pertains to one's interests. If you go in expecting some action you will be let down. If you want to experience some storytelling you should find enjoyment in Dear Esther.

86

Challenge Accepted!

F4T4LV0iD | July 20, 2013 | Review of Super Meat Boy

I didn't know what I was getting myself into when I picked up a copy of Super Meat Boy a long while ago, but I soon found out that I was getting myself into one of the most frustratingly fun challenges an indie PC game has to offer.

The initial loading screen is probably one of the best disclaimers for a video game ever, and it strongly recommends a gamepad. While the game IS very playable on a keyboard, a gamepad will remedy a lot of headaches quickly by offering much more responsive commands, which are key in surviving this game's craftily created deathtrap rooms.

You guide meatboy through numerous levels through several themed worlds, all in an effort to rescue his girlfriend Bandage Girl from the captivity of his arch nemesis, Dr. Fetus. Each level requires you to guide Meat Boy through a gauntlet of traps to rescue Bandage Girl, only to be foiled time and time again by Dr. Fetus, resulting in level after level of increasing difficulty.

At the end of each world there is a boss battle that in a lot of cases will resort in A LOT of trial and error to learn patterns and emerge victorious. The game also has lots of hidden areas to explore and characters to unlock, each with their own unique playstyle that can vary from double-jumping, to gliding when falling.

It's a game I strongly recommend to anyone up for a decent challenge that will challenge your patience at times, but feels ultimately rewarding when you can best the game.

80

Guns For Show, Knives For a Pro!

F4T4LV0iD | July 20, 2013 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare

After seeing numerous videos of this game online, I had to bite and try this game out for myself. It's a nice change of pace from your typical online deathmatch first person shooter. There is little more satisfying than cleaving your opponent's head off their shoulders with a huge sword, or shattering their skull to bits with a big warhammer!

The game is a balance of luck, timing and skill. If you time your attacks or blocks wrong, you can expect to fall quickly. But with a little luck on your side (and teammates flanking the enemy) victory will be yours!

I don't really have much bad to say about Chivalry other than at times it can get frustrating when you die time and time again, but that's no fault of the game, and is something that can be cured with lots of practice.

It's a game I'd highly recommend to everyone who wants to get a few friends together and have a hack-n-slash good time and want to take a break from the typical shooters.

86

A true classic in hacking simulators

F4T4LV0iD | July 20, 2013 | Review of Uplink

I remember when this first came out and I got my hands on it right from Introversion's website, with all the promises of a hacking simulator I salivated at the possibilities. This game has aged beautifully and it's still as fun as the first day I ever played it.

You start out as a lowly freelance hacker, and take on jobs you obtain from a job board website that range in difficulty. These range from logging into fileservers and fetching valuable data, to bringing down entire networks with virus'.

There's a bunch of handy software and hardware to purchase in the game which make your efforts a lot more simple and headache-free, such as a trace-tracker which lets you know how close a network is to tracing you, which if that happens, expect a possible game over in the near future unless if you nuke your gateway so you have no incriminating evidence.

The learning curve at first can be a little tricky, but soon enough you'll be a pro and all the actions and missions will almost come to you like second nature, as you roll in some serious cash to further your upgrades.

Although there are side jobs to take and even a storyline mission at some point you can take on, you get the freedom to do as you wish. If you want to hack a bank and move someone's bank account to your own, go right ahead! Though be warned, the security on a bank server is pretty tight!

I highly recommend this game to anyone who likes simulator games as a whole, or wants a safe and totally legal outlet for hacking in the form of a game. Two thumbs up!

88

An interesting take on a God-Game

F4T4LV0iD | July 20, 2013 | Review of Reus

Reus was one that got my attention the first time I saw it and knew I'd fall in love with it. It's a 2D God-Game where you utilize 4 different giants to make a barren planet fertile, each with their own unique abilities. At first it may seem to be very simple in gameplay, but deep down it offers many strategic ways to accomplish your tasks and meet certain conditions to gain achievements, which in turn unlock new upgrades to plants and animals, furthering the replay value of this title.

I paid full price for this game upon release and have zero regrets, it's on sale now as I write this and everyone who enjoys a classic God-Game with a twist should find hours of enjoyment in this title and I strongly recommend it.

91

Money Well Spent

F4T4LV0iD | July 5, 2013 | Review of The Binding of Isaac

This is one of the rare instances where I went in to purchasing a game with low expectations, and coming away totally happy. For anyone who played the classic 'The Legend of Zelda' for NES will be right at home with this game. The game plays a lot like the dungeon levels of the original Legend of Zelda, but the map layouts each time you play the game are randomized, as are the enemies in each room, and the items in the treasure rooms.

The number of items you can unlock and gather through your adventure are absolutely mind-boggling, as well as characters to unlock, each with their own unique attributes. The game kept besting me time and time again, yet I always kept coming back for more, with over 120 hours clocked and counting. For anyone such as myself that likes to 100% complete a game, this is the game for you to keep you busy for a good while.

This game is hands down the best value I got for my money ever with an online game purchase and I have zero regrets. My only warning would be that the game may have a disturbingly graphic and gory imagery for some sensitive to that kind of thing, but aside from that you shouldn't be disappointed.