Reviews by Fkpuz

58

These dogs have seen better days

Fkpuz | Sept. 11, 2012 | Review of Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days

I like Kane and Lynch. I think it's an original series with a lot of potential. Their characters are alright and the atmosphere is pretty good. What this game lacks is direction. The graphics and art styles are completely all over the board. The voice acting is chaotic and seemingly random. The gameplay can't decide on what it wants to be. And the story has very little rhyme/reason. So by saying this game lacks direction I really mean that in a literal sense.

The game feels like it had no real creative director who oversaw the project and as a result you just get a bunch of puzzle pieces that don't quite fit into the puzzle. However, if you can score this game at a good price then it's still worth a look.

73

Good story, generic mechanics

Fkpuz | Sept. 11, 2012 | Review of Spec Ops: The Line dns

First let me say that I highly enjoyed this game. It takes a genre which is generally known for cheesy and horrible writing and then flips that notion on its head. The story telling in Spec Ops: The Line alone is worth the price of the game. This isn't your generic RAH RAH AMERICA shooter, this is a game that will make you think more about war and the consequences that it has on everyone. You don't need to be American to appreciate this game.

Mechanically it plays like a generic shooter. If you're in it just for the gameplay then I would suggest looking elsewhere. The gunplay is average and the progression is average. Level design is average and the art is average. Story and writing is where this game shines.

80

Best things comes in 3's

Fkpuz | Sept. 8, 2012 | Review of Trine

One of the prettiest side scrolling games ever. The artwork is truly something magical. I could spend hours just looking at the environment, no joke. But this is not to overlook the gameplay. Trine is a physics side scrolling game. Each character has a use in solving certain puzzles and killing certain enemies. No character seems like it's lacking and all characters are a joy to play. One problem in Trine is that it is a perfect game to have online for, but there is none. But other than that Trine is a golden gem of indie games, you'd be hard pressed to find a game similar to it in style and aesthetics.

70

A dark game

Fkpuz | Sept. 8, 2012 | Review of Defcon: Everybody Dies DNS

There is something quite unsettling about this game. Just to imagine an all out nuclear war where the only thing that matters is the millions of people you kill is something that should stir up some concerning thoughts. And the background music which includes, very faintly, children laughing (or crying when you're under attack) adds to the feeling.

But you can't spend too long feeling weird or else you'll just get blown up immediately. They don't phrase this game "everybody dies" for nothing. You have to arm your nuclear silos to defend and attack at the right times, set up your nuclear war submarines, and get your aircraft carries ready. The game can be as fast paced as you want it to be or as slow as you want it to be (there is a mode that lets you play in pretty much real time, so a match would take days).

A great buy, especially at the low price.

77

Underrated and Overlooked

Fkpuz | Sept. 8, 2012 | Review of Jagged Alliance Crossfire

Simply this: If you're a fan of the Jagged Alliance series you will love this game. If you're a fan of interesting tactical games: you will love this game. If you're a fan of pretty much any interesting and unique game: you will love this game.

There are so many options you have while fighting, you can be stealth or just go complete berserk and everything in between. The characters are interesting and at some times, hilarious. There are so many approaches to winning each battle and beating the game itself that it is advantageous to beat the game multiple times (and it doesn't feel like a drag doing so either).

93

A game that doesn't hold you hand

Fkpuz | Sept. 8, 2012 | Review of Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition (NA)

The current generation of games usually suffer from chronic hand holding disease. Unlike most games which will take you on a tour this game simply says "go". And I don't mean this in a bad way. The art in Dark Souls may be some of the most original art styles in any game to date. The enemies look like they could be monsters right out of your nightmares without seeming to ridiculous.

You will die. But most of your deaths will be your fault, it won't be due to random chance. The combat is fluid and rewarding, especially if you can get some back stabs. Each boss battle will leave you saying "oh god oh god" and after you complete each battle you'll be saying "oh yes oh yes".

And if you're having problems on a certain boss you can make yourself human again (you'll see when you're in game) and then summon people who have offered their help to people needing it. Or you yourself can be summoned once you get a white soapstone. Throughout the game you will see certain messages like "beware of right" and "enemy weakness fire." Stuff like that. These messages are left by other players, they are not programmed into the game. Also you may see ghosts every once and a while, those are other players too. And if you see blood on the ground you can click it and you will see how some unfortunate person just died.

Dark Souls is a unique experience that I promise you will not find in any other game on PC.

86

A title that was perpetually overlooked

Fkpuz | Sept. 8, 2012 | Review of Freedom Force vs. the Third Reich

The Freedom Force series as a whole was overlooked even from the day it came out but they were (and still are) a BLAST. This particular iteration of the Freedom Force series is a little short but it is worth well more than what it normally gets charged for. The graphics are dated but the art style is not and the gameplay is very innovative.

Character customization in this game is in a world of its own as well. You can create your very own super hero with its own customized abilities. For instance, if you wanted to make a super juggernaut type of character who can punch someone to another block you can do that. If you wanted said character to throw a car from the world at an enemy, you can do that too (if he/she has enough strength).

75

A surprising amount of fun

Fkpuz | Sept. 8, 2012 | Review of Scania Truck Driving Simulator

Look, I normally don't play these type of games unless it's to be ironic or something but my buddy is HUGE on truck simulator games and I was over at his house. He showed me it and taught me the basics and to my surprise I was actually having a lot of fun. Since then I've logged many hours into this simulation.

The controls feel a little unresponsive at times, but nothing to affect your driving. The graphics are surprisingly good and the game runs pretty fluid.

I must say, this game made me a truck simulator fan.

80

Sleeping Dogs is a Sleeper Hit

Fkpuz | Sept. 8, 2012 | Review of Sleeping Dogs Digital Edition

The old phrase "let sleeping dogs lie" does not apply in this game. You play as Wei Shen, an undercover cop who seems to have trouble following him wherever he goes. The story is well written for what it is and it doesn't take itself too seriously. The characters are engaging, each having their own troubles and personality quirks. The only thing that may take you out of the immersion is the average voice acting.

Gameplay is where this game shines. The gun-play is very fluid and the melee combat is addicting. Every attack feels like it's from a martial arts action movie and everything from combos to counters flow very well. Driving is not a drag either.

Sleeping Dogs is a technically impressive game as well. The detail in the world is phenomenal even on medium settings. You'll be amazed at how well this game looks compared to how well it runs, especially if you're on a lower end computer.

A great game to just turn off your mind and have some fun.