Reviews by Funtaine

85

Better on console, but a must have experience

Funtaine | May 6, 2014 | Review of Grand Theft Auto IV

When I first played GTA IV, I played it on my Xbox 360. I was absolutely blown away by the engaging story and characters. It had taken the already great features from the older GTA titles and improved upon these.

I recently replayed it on my PC and I was not disappointed. Of course, the control are better fitted for a console but the story was just as engaging as when the game came out. The gameplay isn't it's strong side, but the story more than makes up for it.

I would certainly recommend this game to someone who's new to the GTA franchise or who just likes sandbox games. Buy it if you haven't played it!

97

Beautiful landscapes, engaging story and a top notch RPG

Funtaine | April 27, 2014 | Review of The Witcher II: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition

The Witcher II was a game I had a lot of high hopes for. I was not disappointed at all! I played the first one, where the story was the carrying element, which translates into the sequel. The story is simply genius and if you're into the franchise, you'll be spell bound. If you're a newcomer, this is a great place to start out with your Witcher adventures.

The graphics are really beautiful, but it can be a problem with low end computers, as the games requires a lot of resources. But fear not, there are fixes out there on the internet for it, just google 'em!

The voice actors and soundtrack are also top notch. I was not disappointed by this as I am by many RPG games.

Last but not least, the story is well crafted and your choices actually matter.

Very highly recommended!

90

Living the fantasy of being a criminal

Funtaine | April 27, 2014 | Review of Payday 2

Have you ever considered what it'd be like to live the high-octane lifestyle of a bank robber? Now you can know! With up to three of your closest accomplices and you can now team up and rob banks, shops, night clubs, produce, transport and sell drugs and much more!

Payday 2 is certainly a game that begs you to play co-op. Playing it alone is fun but it doesn't reach the extreme levels of explosive fun you can have with your friends!

Highly recommended.

96

Brilliant successor to Tropico 3

Funtaine | April 27, 2014 | Review of Tropico 4

Did you love Tropico 3? Are you new to the Tropico series but you like city builders or political games? If you can answer yes to one of those (or both) this is a game for you!

Tropico 4 is a big improvement on Tropico 3. The gameplay has been adjusted, there are more buildings and a brand new story to play through! Oh, and did I mention all the wonderful DLC which can add many hours of gameplay? Buying Tropico 4 will give you a lot of enjoyable hours, where you manage your island paradise (or dystopia, if you're into that). Like Tropico 3, the soundtrack is a bit repetitive, but so what! You can always just turn it off and listen to your own music. It barely detracts from the game and it'll only be a problem if you despise latin american music.

Highly recommended!

90

Autocratic city builder with a political aspect

Funtaine | April 27, 2014 | Review of Tropico 3

You're El Presidente, the sole leader of Tropico! You can become a dictator, refuse elections and rule with an iron fist. Or you can become a beloved leader elected by the public, who brings wealth and joy to his citizens.

Tropico 3 is one of the few city builder games I return to once a year or so. I love the humour in it and the graphics are charming. The only true downside is the repetitive nature of the soundtrack. Because for a game with nearly endless hours of gameplay, the amount of music doesn't match up.

You should buy this game if you're into city simulators, especially on sale. No excuses! You'll love it, I'm sure.

80

Charming but no true God game

Funtaine | April 25, 2014 | Review of Reus

REUS is a charming and fun game, exploring a territory which has been left untouched for many years: God games! However, it has some drawbacks such as the puzzle elements being too linear, meaning that you have follow a certain path to reach end game. It does not reward exploring different playstyles as much as it forces the players to complete tasks to gain crops and upgrades through different playstyles.

The graphics are beautiful and the music mesmerizing. I would certainly recommend this game, just don't have too high expectations, it won't re-invent the god game genre.

95

World War II RTS at its finest

Funtaine | April 25, 2014 | Review of Company of Heroes

This world war II RTS is simply amazing. It manages to capture the right atmosphere without sacrificing story or gameplay. It's an older game, dating 2006, but playing it is like drinking a fine aged wine: It has only become better!

Because of the declining quality of RTS games, Company of Heroes stands out as a gem inbetween coal. The graphics are charming, the story engaging and the gameplay is top notch with a brilliant AI for its time. The only drawback is some exploits and bugs in the online co-op, but those are so minor that it's still one of the best RTS games of the decade.

81

A handful of stressful fun-time with buddies!

Funtaine | April 25, 2014 | Review of Sniper Elite: Nazi Zombie Army

When I bought this, I intended to use it for a gaming LAN, and only use it once. I was wrong! This game requires co-operation when you're swarmed by hordes of zombies and there's a learning curve to it. Though in the long run it feels repetitive, it's still fun with friends, because each sitting is different, because of how people play.

It's however a stressful game until you get a handle of it. I felt tired out after playing it, because it was such high tempo action, but I'm not complaining! In fact, it manages to be fun at the same time without seeming stressful and angering, it's stressful and entertaining.

Don't bother with playing it alone though, it's a lot more fun with friends!

75

Solid sandbox game

Funtaine | April 16, 2014 | Review of Mafia II Complete Pack

Very enjoyable sandbox game, although there is not much to do besides the main storyline. The DLCs bring a lot of worth though and wraps it all up nicely. I got roughly 15 hours out of the main game and then a couple more from the DLCs.

Worth a buy if on sale, the game fits the time setting very well and the storytelling is sublime.

85

The least best Mass Effect

Funtaine | April 16, 2014 | Review of Mass Effect 3 (EU)

With each entry in the series, the Mass Effect games have become worse. However, near-perfection becoming worse doesn't make it a bad game. In the science fiction RPG genre, Mass Effect 3 is a light in the dark.

Your choices from former games barely feel important. Others might criticize the ending but after the new DLC ending, it doesn't leave a bad taste in my mouth. The journey towards the ending is worth it all and the ending can be enjoyable if you do stay open minded.

Worth buying if on sale!

80

Good RPG, not for core gamers

Funtaine | April 16, 2014 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim®

Skyrim is a highly enjoyable game for casual RPG gamers, however, it is not an attractive game if you're a core gamer. It's like a dumbed down version of Oblivion only more beautiful. The game is not challenging and such features as armor has become simplified for more casual gamers.

It's beautiful, the voice acting is perfect and the story is engaging often offering you a few choices. However, at the end it doesn't feel like you've done anything or saved the world.

92

Heart wrenching

Funtaine | April 16, 2014 | Review of The Walking Dead

When you sit down to play The Walking Dead season 1, you either have no expectations or you base them on your knowledge of the universe. As a fan of the comics but a detractor of the television series, I had mixed feelings going into this game. I was not disappointed, in fact, the game went beyond my expectations and I prefer it even over the comic I have read for years.

The gameplay is not adrenaline pumping. It's mostly calm except for a few action scenes, it lets you enjoy the carefully crafted areas and keeps focus on the character interaction. You form your own playstyle as the lead character Lee, from who you side with to how you treat your deuteragonist Clementine.

Except for a few minor glitches and bugs, this game is fully enjoyable. I'm giving it a 92 rating, because it fulfils all my desires except one: It has some bugs and those annoy me, but do not ruin the game.

I would recommend this game to anyone interested in zombies or just adventure games.

60

Beautiful, gorgeous, but awful storytelling.

Funtaine | April 15, 2014 | Review of Bastion

This game is amazing, it's art. It's beautiful to the eye and to the ear. It's graphics are charming and the soundtrack enchanting.

However, I felt the way of the story being told, with our main character having little to no personality, was quite boring. The characters weren't given their own voices, but rather narrated by a single old man narrator. It could work but somehow him telling us every single piece of information grows trivial and annoying, making many of the characters seem one sided and boring.

I can't give it above 60 because of the storytelling. It is a beautiful game with fun gameplay but the storytelling is simply dreadful.

80

Great story, boring combat

Funtaine | April 15, 2014 | Review of Sleeping Dogs Digital Edition

This GTA clone, like many others, explores the criminal underworld. The story is highly enjoyable and there are many things to do other than just follow the main storyline, which makes it really enjoyable.

However, the combat is boring and repetitive. You just have to go through the same motions in every combat situation, with a few different factors such as environment. The gameplay of car races is also quite boring, making your driving skills less important than your "get first place right away" skills.

It gets a 80 though, because I fully enjoyed the game. The combat mechanic is keeping it from a higher score though.

95

Fun with Friends!

Funtaine | April 5, 2014 | Review of Borderlands 2

Borderlands 2 is a fun game filled with pop culture references. The graphics took me a bit time to get used to, but now I'm loving it! I play it with my friends every other Saturday and we always have a blast. It has a lot of replayability and with the amount of DLC available, you can end up clocking several hundred hours into it!