Reviews by GeorgeStorm

80

A slightly different (but good!) take on the 'god game' genre.

GeorgeStorm | Feb. 20, 2014 | Review of Reus

Reus is an interesting 'god game' where you don't have any direct control over 'your people', but merely shape their world (through creating different biomes and resources) in order to help them progress, improve and develop.

The art style is good, with a drawn look to the game that suits it well, also meaning it doesn't require a particularly beefy computer to run well. The soundtrack is ok, suitable background music nothing standout yet from what I've heard though.

At the beginning you start off with a 'blank' world, which can't support any life, you can easily zoom in and out to see the whole planet, you then have to create biomes through the abilities of 4 giants (swamp, forest, water and rock) and then start adding resources to those biomes (either technology, food or wealth) so that people will settle there and create a village. The resources can be created through a variety of different 'tiles' you add to the world's surface, animals, plants or creating mineral deposits all have different affects depending which biome they're in, what they are situated next to, and in what ways you then 'upgrade' them by applying different abilities of the giants (called aspects). As the village grows it will start a project, where you must achieve a certain goal (normally a set amount of resources) and once this is done they'll provide an ambassador, which you can add to one of your giants in order to increase their abilities. Over time you'll get more ambassadors, giving you a wider range of aspects you can apply to different resources, giving you more options as to how you wish to upgrade them to tailor their benefits to suit your village.

The mechanic of combining and upgrading the different tiles means there is a decent amount of variety, along with the objectives for each game which then allow you to unlock more tiles and game modes should result in a decent amount of playability. A nice slow game on the surface, but which can become frantic at times as you struggle to meet the requirements for the next project, the ability to pause the game at any time goes a long way to help keep the general laid back feeling of the game, I'd highly recommend it if you like god or city building games and want something a little different that you get stuck into every now and again.

73

Worms back in 2D

GeorgeStorm | Feb. 6, 2014 | Review of Worms Reloaded

I can't really compare this game to the 'classics' since I have limited experience with worms. However I can comment on what I do know, this is a fun game :) It goes back to the 'basic' 2D style of the earlier worms games and looks great, with many weapons you'll recognise (and no doubt some you won't). Both new comers and old timers should be happy with this game, having lots of classic content, using the same voices you'll recognise but with plenty of new stuff, such as missions, game modes and a nice landscape creation tool to keep things fresh.

Playing on your own is pretty fun but it's playing with friends where this game shines, getting a couple of friends on Mumble/Teamspeak/Skype and blasting each other to pieces in worm form is just good fun :D

I picked it up on sale and would recommend you do the same, ideally as a 4 pack so you and your friends can instantly start playing together :)

76

Just in case the original wasn't difficult enough for you...

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 23, 2014 | Review of Commandos: Beyond the Call of Duty CAP

Beyond the Call of Duty is a proper expansion to the original Commandos: Behind Enemy Lines, adding new content both with missions and some new ways of helping you get the better of your enemies. Just like the first this is not an easy game, meaning whilst it can be very frustrating, the satisfaction when something goes to plan is wonderful :D

It uses the same art style which really shows off that you don't need a 3D rendered world to make something good to look at.

If you enjoyed the base game and want more torture... err I mean fun, then pick it up :)

74

A difficult but rewarding game

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 23, 2014 | Review of Commandos: Behind Enemy Lines CAP

Commandos was the first of its type that I played. It's a real time tactical game set in WW2, where you control a small team of 'elite' units in order to complete various objectives (blowing up Nazi camps etc). Each of the units have their own special abilities, whether they be being able to carry large items (like barrels), create traps, climb walls etc which you will need to utilise in order to complete the missions.

It has a classic graphical style, which works well, the sound is nothing to write home about. The gameplay itself can be very good, but I must warn you, it is not an easy game (at least not to me!), do not expect just to waltz your way through the missions or have your hand held/have the AI help you. It's a game that rewards careful planning and well timed execution, incredibly satisfying when you pull something off, but annoying when you (more often than not for me) don't.

If you have played Desperados then this is the game that is based off (I think). Well worth playing if calm and calculated is your style, just be prepared to die, a lot!

67

Good in theory, but didn't click with me

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 23, 2014 | Review of Portal

Portal made quite a big wave when it first came out, due to it's innovative gameplay, giving the player a gun capable of firing two portals, with whatever then goes into one comes out of the other. It's a first person puzzle game really, making you utilise the portals to traverse of large gaps, past turrets, reach otherwise impossible to reach places and move objects about in order to trigger various switches and buttons.

In principle I think it's quite a cool game, however I struggled with it, enjoying it for a while, but after getting temporarily stuck on a certain section I just lost the desire to continue due to failing for the same reason several times in a row without seeing what I should have been doing instead, not knowing if my method was right but I just wasn't quite doing it well enough, or whether my whole method was incorrect.

The graphics aren't bad, displaying the environments in enough detail to keep most users happy, and the sound affects are good, with lots of humorous little quotes throughout. The controls are pretty standard for anyone who's played a FPS before, with movement feeling fluid and

A game that having since played Portal 2 (which I thoroughly enjoyed) I will probably come back to and give another go. Good in theory but for some reason didn't quite click with me.

85

A great racing game

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 23, 2014 | Review of GRID

GRID was the first racing game I got on PC that I really enjoyed. It strikes a nice balance between an arcade racer and a realistic driving game, with a half decent physics engine, car damage and a range of cars across a variety of categories.

The sound effects are good, with lots of screeching of tyres and crunching of car bodies as the metal crumples on impact. The graphics for the courses and cars are decent, showing a nice amount of detail which helps with the damage engine. The damage engine itself adds a lot to the game, not only in how the cars looks, as they lose wing-mirrors, windows and even doors as they get banged about, but more importantly in how they drive. Depending how the damage is done, where the car is it, and how hard, it can have a variety of results from only being able to steer in one direction after losing a wheel, to sluggish performance if the engine has taken a battering. There are enough camera angles to keep most racers happy I would imagine, whether it be a floating camera behind the car, as though you're on the bonnet or actually inside the car all of which can greatly change the driving experience.

The main campaign is similar to other racing games, where you pick races, win money so you can buy better cars and enter better races, but you can also race for other companies, meaning you can drive some of the 'nicer' cars early on in the game despite not owning them, it's a nice feature because it means players shouldn't feel like they have to grind for hours to get anything worth driving.

One of the more unique features of GRID if its 'flashback' system, where you can rewind a small amount of time if you crash. This is a fantastic feature, especially for some of the longer races where you may have been in the lead all race, then on the 2nd to last corner you muck up making it all pointless, being able to rewind and have another go is great. It can also be used for when you want to set that perfect lap and you don't get a corner quite right, the number of flashbacks you have vary depending on the difficult setting you're playing.

If you like racing games then you'll like GRID, it's not a driving simulator but nor is it a completely arcade style racer. One of the only downsides for me is the lack of local multiplayer which would have been great so I could play with my brother when we got our xbox 360 controllers, but it's a small negative for what otherwise is a great game :)

85

A great revival of the series

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 21, 2014 | Review of Tomb Raider

This is the first Tomb Raider game I've properly played (I've had a quick go on the first and Legend I believe) and I have to say it's a very good game.

As far as I'm aware it takes a different angle on Lara Croft, her beginnings, focusing on where it all began, and so you start the game not as the Tomb Raider you may expect, and you see the character change throughout the game to become the character many know and love.

It's a very good looking game, especially on PC, capable of taxing most systems when you crank up the details, I was able to run it mostly maxed at 1440p using a GTX670 and 760k with some dips here and there but overall very playable and it still looked fantastic, with green forests, windy mountain passes, caverns and temples all shown in glorious detail. I better mention the hair, since it caused a bit of heat when it first came out, even on normal the hair is just as good as I've seen in other games, and when you try TressFX you can definitely notice the difference, although it does lead to some odd bugs with strands flying about all over the place, but it can look amazing, sadly my gpu wasn't up to the task so I settled for normal. The voice acting is top notch with a range of accents rather than it being full of the generic American army man type voice which was nice to hear.

The controls are pretty good, I played it using a keyboard and mouse without many issues, although I can imagine if you're half decent at aiming using a controller then it would also be a very good experience especially during some of the more platformer-esque sections.

At times it's almost like an interactive film, with control being taken away from the player a lot, some may not like this but I didn't have an issue with it and thought it worked well, keeping the player engrossed even if they had no control over what was happening on the screen. There are many quick time events throughout the game, some of which caused me issues due to either not noticing I needed to press a key (if it was just after a video sequence for instance) or either mashing the wrong button accidentally (both E and F are used at times and I'd often get the wrong one), I guess that's not really a fault with the game but it certainly annoyed me at times!

The character change I mentioned before, from a frightened woman to a hardened fighter is a little quick for my liking, along with a couple of odd story moments only slightly damage an otherwise strong story. One of the most annoying aspects of the game for me, is consistency, it's a game that certainly seems to try and be realistic yet it fails in some very obvious ways, including Lara's bow appearing and disappearing before/after videos, then also when changing weapon the other weapons just disappear, merely a graphical issue as it doesn't affect gameplay at all but I found it very off-putting.

Overall I think it's a great game, not sure if you're a die hard Lara fan if you'll like it due to it being a bit different but if you want a game of the Unchartered/Assassin's Creed style of action RPG with elements of platforming then I highly recommend it :)

62

Didn't quite hit the mark

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 21, 2014 | Review of Frozen Synapse

I love the idea of Frozen Synapse, turn based tactical combat where you move troops, set fire orders etc. However it didn't quite hit the mark for me, I found the ui/way of controlling your guys a little cumbersome.

The art style is quite TRON-esque and I quite like it, thanks to its relatively simple nature it can run on low end PCs which is nice. The music is great, very fitting, I ended up getting the soundtrack as well as it's worth listening to some of it on its own.

I tried the multiplayer, and once I'd got a game I found I had the issue of the opponent taking an age, and there didn't seem to be any way to force him to take his turn/there wasn't a time limit. This may be due to the mode I played, but I wasn't really sure what I was doing and I found the game didn't really assist me in any way to find out what the modes were etc.

If you're a patient gamer then this game has a lot of potential, offering a nice slow paced tactical game with lots of planning and calculating needed, but it's not the friendliest of games to get into.

90

A must buy for HoMM5

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 21, 2014 | Review of Heroes of Might and Magic V Tribes of the East

Tribes of the East is the 2nd expansion to HoMM5 and is even better than the previous one. Not only does it add a new faction, the Orcs, meaning new heroes, items and units in the same high quality 3D we've seen already, but it also adds an upgrade system for all of the other factions.

This adds content and playability to the teams you may have thought you'd already played to death, adding new choices to how to build your army to get the best out of it, sometimes choosing between a melee or ranged unit where previously you had no choice is a great addition to the game.

The Orcs themselves are a very fun race to play, with their faction ability 'Battle Rage' rewarding you for taking and giving damage, allowing for a burst of extra power when you need it most as well as a nice range of units from your puny goblin to your giant Cyclops.

A must buy if you're wanting to play HoMM5 as it was meant to be played :)

81

A no-brainer if you're buying HoMM5

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 21, 2014 | Review of Might and Magic Heroes V: Hammers of Fate

Hammers of Fate is a direct upgrade to the base game of HoMM5, adding new units, new missions as well as items and maps. It also improves the performance and fixes some of the issues of the base game.

It is of the same high quality production wise as the base game, with the new race (the Dwarves) rendered in beautiful 3D and a nice soundtrack, there's plenty to see and do. The map generator is especially good for local hot seat games which me and my brother have taken full advantage of, meaning you don't have to play the same maps over and over again.

With the extra content and performance improvements there's no real reason not to get this expansion when you buy HoMM5 along with the 2nd, Tribes of the East :)

73

Ok on its own, far better with the expansions

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 21, 2014 | Review of Might and Magic Heroes V

Heroes of Might and Magic V is the first 3D version of the series, and it's a big step up, with fantastic looking castles and environments, sadly this comes at the cost of performance, with general slow down and very long turn times (these are massively improved via patches/expansions). This game without the expansions is still good, some of the units rendered in beautiful 3D are recognisable from previous Heroes games, others are new.

Me and my brother have spent a fair few hours playing local hot seat on this game but I would highly recommend getting the expansions as well, since not only do they add new factions and missions, they improve performance massively as well.

78

Not the best of the series but still good

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 21, 2014 | Review of Might & Magic Heroes VI: Gold Edition

Might and Magic VI is the latest in the long running Heroes of Might and Magic series, a turn based tactical RPG set in a fantasy world. I've been a fan of the series since the 4th game (often thought of as bad, but the first I played). The 6th isn't the strongest in my opinion, although I'm mainly basing my opinions from local multiplayer rather than the story since that's how I've played it the most. It's a pretty game, sticking mainly to the same core concepts as the previous games, with some 'dumbing down' of the resource system now only needing 3 plus gold. There's a good range of creatures across the different factions, each possible to upgrade to an elite version of the unit in theory adding more diversity, although they're always (from what I've seen) a direct upgrade, so there are no choices needed as to which unit you want to go for, as soon as you can afford it you just upgrade them.

The Gold edition adds some new townscreens, along with a couple of adventure packs for more content.

If you enjoyed the previous games then I would think you'll enjoy this one as well :)

88

The expansions just add to an already great game

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | Review of Company of Heroes: Complete Pack

The complete pack includes both expansions, which add new teams, new campaigns and new features to an already good game. Whilst I might not recommend either on their own, as a collection they offer a great gaming experience.

The addition of the new teams mean new units which just add to an already good dynamic of the way different factions play against each other, the Brits and the Panzer Elite both play differently to the Americans and Germans available in the original. The new missions add hours of new gameplay and the addition of extra modes for multiplayer extend that even more.

Worth buying over the original for the extra factions and content :)

86

A very good fast paced WW2 strategy game

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | Review of Company of Heroes

Company of Heroes is a WW2 strategy game, I'm not very good at this game due to it's fast pace and quite aggressive style. Resources are gathered by controlling capture points around the map, rather than mining etc. This results in a very mobile game, not rewarding someone just wanting to sit in their base and build a big army but those who venture out to try and secure as much land as possible. There's a good variety of units allowing for different methods, with different abilities able to be chosen meaning no two game are alike.

The graphics are very good for the age of the game, and performance is decent, the mission are varied with a wide range of maps and objectives as you follow the Americans from D-Day, it's quite cinematic at times.

If you're a RTS fan then I would strongly recommend picking this up, the multiplayer is still relatively active despite the age and release of the sequel, although be prepared to lose!

93

Not quite as good as 1404 but still brilliant

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | Review of Anno 2070

Anno 2070 is the latest in the Anno series of games, it's an economic simulator/city building game which lets you build up cities across different islands, ferrying goods back and forth between them in order to try to meet the needs of your people. 2070 improves on the UI of 1404, streamlining the way production chains are built without over simplifying and losing some of the charm.

As the name suggests it's set in the future, which is a slight negative for me as I loved the ships of 1404, but it still looks gorgeous. It plays like the previous games, but with more factions meaning more buildings, more variety and plenty of replayability.

The multiplayer is great fun with friends, with more customisation than in the past allowing for full AI players as well as NPC type characters with limited roles.

Not quite as good as 1404 in my opinion but still a brilliant game well worth playing :)

94

A brilliant economic sim/city building game

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | Review of Anno 1404: Gold

Anno 1404: Gold is a fantastic game. It's an economic building/strategy game, focusing on building on islands, transporting goods between them in order to meet the needs of your people so they advance and demand greater and greater treasures. There is also some combat, and whilst the ship is OK, the ground based combat is relatively weak, and certainly not it's strength.

It's main strength is its depth, with a large number of building and goods you need to manage in order to keep your people happy you'll be busy sorting trade routes and adjusting production in order to get the balance just right. There are a wide range of missions with varying degrees of difficulty, or you can just play on a continuous game to see how far you can get, how big you can build your cities.

The gold version adds multiplayer, which is a brilliant addition, allowing for up to 4 players to play on the same map together over the internet, meaning me and my brother have managed to play this whilst I'm at uni and he's at home.

If you've not played any Anno games before then this is a good starting point, if the period doesn't appeal to you then maybe the sequel Anno 2070 will :)

81

A good fun open world action RPG

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | Review of The Saboteur (EU)

The Saboteur is an open world action RPG, similar to Assassin's Creed with hints of GTA but set in Paris during WW2. You play an Irishman who is out for a bit of revenge and ends up working for the Resistance as their goals align with his. One of the first things you'll notice is how large sections of the game world are black and white, this is to represent the German controlled areas, and once you have completed the missions in order to give control back to the Resistance they gain colour again, it's a cute system that doesn't add anything major but gives a nice image and mood to the game.

The graphics are decent, and performance is OK. The game itself plays pretty well, with the movement and combat feeling good as you leap from rooftop to rooftop gunning down the Nazis. Driving feels a little like driving on ice at times but overall is good and the missions don't get too 'samey', with a range of locations and objectives. However it's a relatively buggy game, whilst I didn't really get any issues with missions failing etc, there's a constant bug I have with the map meaning you can't actually use the main map, you just have to use the mini map which can be a pain if you need to work out where something is when it's not on your minimap because it's too far away so you only have a rough idea.

Worth playing though even with the bugs, there's plenty of fun to be had, either working your way through the main missions or just doing some of the side quests/generally causing destruction and killing Nazi soldiers, what's not to like :)

60

It's no KOTOR

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | Review of Star Wars: The Old Republic

I absolutely loved KOTOR I and II, two of my favourite games ever, I was bitterly disappointed when they released The Old Republic instead of KOTOR III because I didn't want an MMO where you had to pay per month etc. When it went free to play I thought I'd give it a go, sadly it was slightly disappointing for a couple of reasons.

Probably the biggest, I just don't think I want an MMO. Seeing lots of other people doing similar things to me just made it feel like I wasn't doing anything amazing at all, rather than making me feel part of something massive and epic. This obviously may be due to only doing the earlier missions, possibly once you get into the late game then things change, but it was a real downside for me. One of the amazing things about KOTOR was the amazing storyline, and that felt like it was lost with TOR due to seeing other people with the same secondary characters as you, going to the same places, doing the same things etc (apart from small sections which were solo).

If you're looking for more KOTOR then this may not be for you, but it's definitely worth trying, I still enjoyed my time with it, it just wasn't quite what I wanted. If you're into MMOs, and like Star Wars/KOTOR, then this may be ideal, since it went free to play I think the player base has increased which should be good. Despite the overall negative vibe of this review, and the mediocre score I think it's something I'll try and go back to to see if on a 2nd attempt I 'get' it.

91

Fun for all the family!

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | Review of Lego Star Wars: The Complete Saga

The LEGO games are just great. LEGO Star Wars is a lovely 3D platformer/action game where you replay some of the franchise's greatest moments through LEGO. It's a nice blend of action and puzzles, and with a huge number of playable characters, plenty of extra collectable items and bonus objectives, even once you've played through the story there's plenty more to do.

The art style works really well, and with a very strong soundtrack with music from the films it's any Star Wars fan's dream. With very visual humour throughout it's suitable for players of all ages, and the drop in/out co-op mode just makes it even better when you play with friends.

Highly recommended :)

83

Fun, but not easy.

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | Review of Super Meat Boy

Ever wondered what it would be like if you were a block of meat jumping around whilst trying to avoid dying? This is your chance! Super Meat Boy is a 2D platformer, where you control a block of meat as you have to try and make your way through a large number of levels, wall jumping your way trying to avoid a variety of obstacles in your path. It has a great visual style and great soundtrack, the controls are simple yet the game is very difficult. As well as the normal levels there are a selection of extras, along with challenges within the normal levels (such as completing them within a certain time limit).

One of the most satisfying and funny moments I've ever had in a game was after finally completing a level I had been stuck on, and seeing a replay of all of my lives all played out at once on the screen, which basically turned into a giant red splat as hundreds of little Super Meat Boys started jumping around and exploding as all but one came to their swift demise.

A great little platformer which can suck hours of your life, although I would recommend a controller as I found my fingers quickly disliked me playing it on the keyboard for long periods of time!

74

OK on your own, good with friends.

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | Review of Sanctum

Sanctum is a first person tower defence game, it's a great combination which I hadn't experienced before, mixing up the strategy and planning of classic tower defence games with the action packed fast pace of a first person shooter. The graphics are good, with a nice art style allowing for a decent amount of contrast, although at times it can get a little muddy with lots of enemies all packed together. There's a good range of weapons for your character, as well as the different towers you can build. Since you choose the route the enemies take by building walls, it allows for a good amount of replayability. It really shines when you play it with friends though, allowing for a really fun experience as you frantically try to help each other out as you try to hold back the waves of spawning enemies.

72

Not as good as the previous two

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | Review of Mount & Blade: With Fire and Sword

The latest in the Mount & Blade franchise is its weakest in my opinion. The addition of firearms adds a new dimension to the game, but sadly one I don't overly enjoy. The chance of getting one-shot at the beginning of the battle, whilst very small is present and is a flaw in my eyes. It still has the same idea, a nice open world to explore, quests to complete, baddies to kill, a nice range of items and weapons to keep things fresh and a solid melee combat system, so if you enjoyed the first two you'll most likely still enjoy this one, but if you had to pick one I would recommend Warband first.

90

Best of the series

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | Review of Mount & Blade: Warband

Mount & Blade: Warband is the best of the series in my opinion, improving on the original with added items, quests, characters etc, but keeping the same strong gameplay that made the original so good. The graphics haven't changed all that much, but the simple style is all that's needed, once again there is no main story, the game allowing you to choose your own path, which can at times feel a little empty, but if you manage to attach yourself to one of the nations, trying to become a knight or even King then it takes on a little more structure.

If you enjoyed the original then you'll definitely love this, if you've not played one before but like the sound of an RPG sandbox game with some strategy elements and a solid mix of long ranged and melee combat then this game is for you!

86

A great collection of games, simple but great.

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | Review of Mount and Blade Collection

Mount & Blade is a corker of a game, despite it's iffy looking UI, basic sounds and graphics, the gameplay more than makes up for it. You control a character, starting at the bottom, wandering about the map, able to do whatever you wish, build an army, become a knight, marry a Royal Lady perhaps? The two game modes are the one mentioned about, where you control your group on a map, able to see towns, other groups and the landscape, when you come into contact with another group, if they're hostile (which they often are) then you'll be taken to the 2nd mode, which is a 3D battle view. You control your character as you hack, slash or shoot your way through the enemy. It has a simple yet complex enough to make challenging and fun combat system, slightly customisable to allow angled strokes and blocks. With a wide variety of weapons, armour and other items allowing you to tackle combat multiple different ways., whether it be a mounted archer, a sword and shield bearing footman or even a lancer! The collection includes both expansions/sequels which add more items, more quests, more everything really whilst still keeping the core of the game the same. Fire and Sword adds in firearms which change the gameplay somewhat, and personally is my least favourite of the 3. It's also very moddable, with hundreds if not thousands of mods available doing all sorts of things, whether it be just changing the map, or a complete overhaul with custom units, quests, items, the whole lot!

89

Fantastic survival game

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | Review of Don't Starve

Don't Starve was the first survival game I ever had any desire to play, and it still is! With a lovely soundtrack and beautiful graphical style which fit perfectly together, it's a 2D/isometric exploration/survival game where you forage for food and materials in order to eat, create items and see how long you can last. One of the main features of the game is it's perma-death. Once you die, that's it, and you have to start all over again, meaning each game has a real tension that's difficult to replicate with other games. It looks relatively simple with 3 basic things to keep an eye on, your health, your hunger, and your sanity, however there's a bit of a learning curve due to the wide variety of ways that the world can end your life, but once you have the basics down you should be able to last long enough to start finding new things with each game.

It has fantastic support from Klei, with updates to gameplay and content having been regular since pre-release, fixing bugs, adding new items, areas and mechanics to the game.

I would highly recommend it :)

81

Desperados, in 3D!

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | Review of Desperados 2 - Coopers Revenge

Cooper's Revenge takes the same formula of the original Desperados, you control the same gang, and visit some of the locations you may recognise from the original but all in a 3D world and whilst adding a 3rd person viewpoint. This has both advantages and disadvantages, the simple art style of the original looked great, meant it had no problems running on low end machines, and played well.

The 3D world of Cooper's Revenge can look great at times, and the ability to turn the camera as you see fit can make a huge difference, allowing you to more clearly see the map, and the 3rd person viewpoint can make gun fights more fun and potentially easier. However it doesn't run all that well, and the movement in the 3rd person viewpoint often feels a bit clunky.

Overall still a great game, I don't think it quite matches the original on the tactical side of things, but the 3rd person viewpoint adds a whole new dimension to the game which can be great fun :)

87

A Western Commandos

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | Review of Desperados: Wanted Dead or Alive

You can think of a Desperados as a western version of Commandos, a tactical isometric game where you control a selection of characters as you would in a real time strategy game, but each character is individual, with specific abilities and items. Despite being an older title it holds up well with a graphical style and music, each character has a range of actions available to them, often allowing for multiple ways to tackle a problem, whether it be shooting your way through bad guys or being sneaky about it. The missions have a decent amount of variety, both in objectives and style, making you utilise everything at your disposal. Not an easy game, and one that you can easily spend hours on, analysing patrol routes of guards and their vision cones in order to setup the perfect escape, highly recommended! :)

75

Didn't quite live up to the hype, but still very good!

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | Review of Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons

This was probably the game that made me finally buy a 360 controller for my PC, it's a single player co-op game where you control two brothers (one which each analogue stick) on their mission to save their father. It's a game with no dialogue, and a simplistic graphical style that suits it well. Mechanically speaking it's unique, allowing for some very neat sections utilising both brothers each performing different tasks, it can be confusing, I can't count the number of times I thought I was controlling the other brother and getting confused as to why he was going the wrong direction before clicking I had my analogue sticks mixed up!

It was hyped up a massive amount by a couple of friends, and it didn't quite hit the mark for me, due to the lack of dialogue I think, which I felt detached me from the characters, but it still struck an emotional chord. It's not a very difficult game, nor is it long, but it's an enjoyable experience that's worth playing.

85

Co-op makes this game

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | Review of Portal 2

Never really got into the first portal game, so wasn't keen on this either, but I saw it had co-op so picked two copies up when it was on sale for me and my brother. Co-op really makes this game fantastic, forcing you to work together to achieve goals which would otherwise be impossible, lots of humour throughout and some nifty mechanics make this a great experience.

I haven't played the single player at all, but if you enjoyed the first game I can only assume this will be just as good if not better for you. With custom levels available to extend the playability further.

92

Good on your own, even better with friends

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | Review of Magicka

Magicka is an isometric style game where you control a wizard who has control over the elements to destroy those in your way as you set off the save the world (well of course). What makes Magicka special is the ability to combine said elements however you wish, with 8 elements you can easily imagine there are plenty of different spells to keep you entertained.

I played through the main story with my brother and it just got better, with friendly fire always on the fights turned into hilarious situations with poor aim often having disastrous consequences for the other player, and sadly rarely for the enemies!

It's a very funny game as well without various references and jokes about itself as much as anything, there's a ton of DLC as well which as far as I'm aware is jut more of the same, which is no bad thing!

73

Another great game from Klei

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | Review of Shank

2D scrolling games aren't normally my kind of thing, but since I really enjoy Don't Starve I thought I'd give this a go. It's a fast paced (to me) "beat'em up" cartoon game, with a nice vibrant art style, a range of weapons and combos to dispatch your foes with a loose story thrown in to tie it all together (one of revenge). I haven't tried the co-op mode yet but I can imagine it would be fantastic.

Not sure how it compares to other in a genre due to my lack of experience, but if you want a bloodthirsty 2D action game then you could do far worse than picking this up.

82

A very pleasant suprise

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | Review of Call of Juarez®: Gunslinger

I was slightly worried after watching a quick video of some gameplay, and knowing that it wasn't based on the characters I liked from the first two games, but I picked it up at the same time as Bound in Blood regardless, and I'm very happy I did!

First off the graphics/art style is fantastic in my opinion, almost looking cell shaded at times it has nice vibrant colours with a decent number of locations (considering it's a western and so is somewhat limited), the voice acting throughout is pretty decent, with the main narrator being the 'star' of the show through one of the game's 'funnest' mechanics.

The narrator is Sylus Greaves, a renowned bounty hunter retelling his various exploits to a group in a bar, and as he's telling the stories from memory, every now and again he would forget something, or double back on himself, and so the level changes as he does so, with cowboys being replaced with Indians, and sudden exits appearing from what looked like a dead end. It's a fun mechanic allowing the writers to play around with scenarios in ways they might not be able to in a western whilst trying to keep it relatively realistic, and doesn't feel cheap.

If you liked the previous games I'd highly recommend this one, the duel system has had a bit of an update, making them slightly more challenging (I personally struggle with them now), and the updated weapon/skill system expands on the previous iterations meaning this is well worth your time and money :)

75

Not as good as the first (after patches) but still enjoyable :)

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 19, 2014 | Review of Call of Juarez: Bound in Blood

I loved the first Call of Juarez game straight out of the box, there is a severe lack of decent FPS western games on the PC, and it scratched that itch. This is the second in the series, and is set before the first, focusing on the McCall brothers, letting you choose which of the two (Ray or Thomas) on almost all of the levels, allowing for slight variety in the gameplay due to different routes and weapons available to each. There seems to be some amount of auto aim which is a pity since I don't remember the first having any (although I could be wrong!), the story helps fill in some of the questions raised by the first game, and generally keeps you entertained.

The graphics and sound are good, looking good without needing a monster PC to play it is always nice. The 'boss' battles are handled relatively well, with the duel mechanic, rather than just making some magic baddie have lots of health which is nice to see (although can be frustrating at times!)

If you like FPS games and you like westerns I would highly recommend, although you should definitely play the first one as well!