Reviews by Gh0st233

20

Sadly, not really worth it.

Gh0st233 | Nov. 13, 2012 | Review of Awesomenauts - Blast from the Past Bundle

Like, pretty much, all of the other skins and skin packs for Awesomenauts, it's not really worth the price, and while the skins are decent, or even good, 6$ seems too much to ask for three skins. Because, for 6$, you can buy a fairly decent indie game, or a game on sale and have a lot more bang for your buck, than a skin pack.

40

A nice skin, but not worth it

Gh0st233 | Nov. 13, 2012 | Review of Awesomenauts - Ravishing Raelynn Skin

Raelynn is one of my favorite characters in the game, and I like the skin, but I do not think it was worth buying for the regular price. Buy it only if you love Raelynn and you're sure you won't miss those 2.50$ that you'd spend on the skin.

70

A good game!

Gh0st233 | Nov. 13, 2012 | Review of Cities in Motion

Cities in Motion is a very good simulation, which can be expected, since Paradox is the one publishing it. It will definitely pack some hours behind, as there are four cities, without the DLCs, and a lengthy campaign. Cities in Motion is worth checking out, especially if on a sale, if you love city-building/managing games, because this game is quite good.

90

A masterpiece

Gh0st233 | Nov. 6, 2012 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare PRE

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is a new medieval game on the market, and it leaves War of the Roses in the dust. It can be played in first and third person, the melee combat is MUCH better, which unfortunately can't be said for the archery, which is generic, to say the least, the graphics are very satisfying and shady to represent a dark time that the kingdom is in. There are a lot of weapons to choose from, siege weapons included. And on top of all of that, there are a few very fun game-modes that are quite innovative, original, and most importantly, very fun.

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is a game like no other medieval game. It may not be as good as Mount and Blade, in my opinion, but to be quite honest, for the price it's great! Recommended!

65

An okay game, but a high price-tag.

Gh0st233 | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Farming Giant Cap

Farming Giant is a farming simulator-strategy game. The game is quite fun, and it can be enjoyed for some time. The graphics are quite nice, surprisingly, and the game-play isn't bad. There are a lot of vehicles, and a lot of areas you can choose from to build your farm on. There are also a few different game-modes that should increase the fun factor that the game offers. However, while this game may be quite fun to play for a break from all the AAA titles, and what-not, the 30$ price-tag is just way too high, because, instead of buying this, you can add 20$ and buy a brand-new AAA game and have much, much more fun from it.

80

A good collection of old-school games

Gh0st233 | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Silmarils Collection

Silmarils Collection is a collection of 16 old-school strategy, RPG, adventure and arcade games. Most of them are very fun, and bring back a lot of memories of other similar games from way back, and this collection is definitely worth it. Even the full price, but if you can wait, definitely wait for a sale.

Great games, great price.

50

An okay over-priced game

Gh0st233 | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of MUD Motocross Championship

We haven't had a good motocross game in quite a while, and we still don't. I remember playing a motocross game some 9-10 years ago, and I loved it, but this doesn't come anywhere close to that. That game was so simple, and it was so enjoyable and great.

This is a game with good graphics, good audio and a lengthy campaign, which is about all. You can also do stunts, but most of them, especially the Whip, don't look that fabulous. I, myself, like dirt-bikes and motocross, and I loved that game I played 10 years ago that I can't remember the name of, but this has failed to bring me a lot of enjoyment, and I can't recommend it to anyone, especially at this price. Nail'd or MX vs ATV Reflex would be a much better purchase for a lot less, especially at a sale. If you have to get this game, wait a few years until the price drops enough so that it's worth it.

65

A game like no other, literally.

Gh0st233 | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of The Good Life

This game is one of the most different games I've seen in a while. We've had simulator games for quite some time, and we've also had games in a tropical setting for quite some time, but we never had a game that combines both of those worlds. While the result may not be great fun, the game is still not bad and is interesting, to say the least.

The Good Life tries to simulate a rich man's vacation, and the result is fun for a while. It's not worth the regular price, but you may consider picking it up on a sale if you're into simulators, and expensive vacations.

25

Another one of these?

Gh0st233 | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Remington Super Slam Hunting Alaska

What is up with the rail-shooters and the hunting games these days?

Remington Super Slam Hunting Alaska, is almost the same as Remington Super Slam Hunting Africa, except that it's in Alaska, and there's multiplayer now! The game still doesn't bring much fun. There are a few new weapons, and of course different animals to shoot, with the same principle and the same mechanics that were used in the previous game, which was a failure.

Stay away from the game. If you REALLY love hunting games and rail-shooters, you may enjoy this game, but it's highly unlikely.

20

Are we supposed to pay for this?

Gh0st233 | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Remington Super Slam Hunting Africa

I don't even know where to start with this game...

Remington Super Slam Hunting Africa, did I say it right? Yes, I did. Remington Super Slam Hunting Africa is a rail shooter where you, basically, shoot animals...in Africa. At the beginning, you start with shooting some deers, and as you progress, you get to shoot other types of animals, rhinoceros included, in Africa!

The game is quite horrible, and even if there is a local 4 player co-op mode, and the game does pack some hours behind it, if you want to complete it, it's just not fun playing it for more than an hour. Stay away from it.

65

A bit different than the usual AC gameplay

Gh0st233 | Nov. 4, 2012 | Review of Assassin's Creed Revelations: The Lost Archive DLC

The Lost Archive is a very different DLC than what we've had with the past 2 DLCs. They do add some multiplayer and singleplayer content, yes, but the main aspect of this DLC is the single-player "mission", much similar to those puzzles that you unlock when you find a certain amount of collectibles. The gameplay is not that fun, but if you're more into story, rather than gameplay, this may be just for you! It uncovers a bit about the series, and is quite interesting.

Other than that, which accounts for 80% of the DLC, which can be played-through rather quickly, you get 3 multiplayer characters, which were previously only awarded to pre-orders at certain game-shops, being the Crusader, Jester and the Doctor. As for the single-player goodies, you get increased crossbow, bomb and gun capacity, and also three new skins to use, being the Armor of Brutus, Altair robe and the all-new Assassin armor.

80

It paid off for me, depends on someone else.

Gh0st233 | Nov. 4, 2012 | Review of Assassin's Creed Revelations: Ancestors Character DLC

I will start of by saying that I usually dislike "cosmetic" DLC, but I will most likely buy some anyway, for the sake of it. This could be classified as a cosmetic DLC, as well.

You get 4 new characters that really look cool and have a lot of customizing options to choose from. My favourite character would have to be the Brigand. All of the new characters, when you use their specific weapons, have some quite gruesome animations, and in Brigand's case, the spear animations are very satisfying.

Is the DLC worth the 4$? That is for you to decide. I've played the multiplayer for a long time, and have stacked a lot of hours and progress in it, as I am actually through all the "ranks", so I can safely say this DLC was worth for me, because a fair share of the hours spent on the multiplayer aspect of the game has been using one of these characters.

However, I'd honestly recommend you to wait for a sale, especially because Assassin's Creed 3 is just around the corner, and the Revelations' multiplayer is, pretty much, going to be dead. For a dollar or two, it's definitely worth it. It's worth the full price if you like the multiplayer and, naturally, still play it.

90

Great game, not just for the DayZ

Gh0st233 | Sept. 18, 2012 | Review of ARMA II: Combined Operations

ArmA II: Combined Operations is a pack that includes the ArmA II, and the standalone Operation Arrowhead, but you probably already know that.

As far as the game goes, the graphics and the sounds are amazing, and the same goes for the vehicles, animations and everything else. The game is trying to be as realistic as possible, and it succeeds in doing just that, and the result is quite fascinating. The game, both Arma 2 and OA, have a lot of multiplayer gamemodes to choose from, so pick your poison. The only problem with it is, the actual vanilla gamemodes are very, very rarely played. The campaign is also fun, and there is an "armory" mode, where you can test out your newly unlocked weapons and vehicles in a series of different missions, like the assassination missions.

But, most people bought it, or want to buy it for its DayZ mod, which is truly amazing, and very immersive. It's unforgivable at first, but once you get into it, and once you start understanding how the game works, it will be a blast. It's especially fun with a friend or two, or even a squad of survivors. Be a bandit, a mere survivor trying to get around, or hunt bandits. You can, honestly, do anything you want, and you will finish the day off with a few stories to share with your friends. I haven't tried out the new two maps, but I've been told that you can now play the Takistan map, and the Utes map, so kudos to that!

Definitely worth the money, even the full price.

50

This is better as an iPhone game

Gh0st233 | Aug. 25, 2012 | Review of Tiny Troopers Cap

Tiny Troopers came out originally on the iPhone some time ago, and got ported to PC now, and it clearly shows.

The gameplay is very simple, the graphics look cute, like most iPhone/Android games. There are 30 missions, but they aren't all that different, and the game gets repetitive and boring quite quickly. It has no replay value, and I wouldn't recommend this one yet. It may be worth buying on a sale, but for the full price, it is just not worth it.

45

Condemned to fail

Gh0st233 | Aug. 21, 2012 | Review of Men of War: Condemned Heroes cap

Men of War: Condemned Heroes is very repetitive, uncreative and uninnovative. While the idea is not bad, it fails to turn that idea into a playable experience. The controls seem very lacking, and so does the user interface, which can be hard to navigate. The missions are repetitive, the units are pretty much the same like in the original Men of War, and the game is riddled with bugs.

The idea of the game may not be bad, but it's execution is very poor, and has made this game an experience that is better to avoid, than embrace.

70

A good faction pack!

Gh0st233 | Aug. 21, 2012 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2 - Fall of the Samurai - Saga Faction Pack

The Saga pack (sounds a lot like Sega), adds another faction with some quite interesting traits, to be quite fair. Among those traits are an increased artillery accuracy, increased industrial growth, less upkeep for ships and units, and an established trade with the Western powers.

Like all the other faction packs, get it on a sale, it will be worth it 100% then.

75

A good faction!

Gh0st233 | Aug. 21, 2012 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2 - Fall of the Samurai - Sendai Faction Pack

The Sendai faction adds, like the other three faction packs, a new faction with new units, and new traits. But this faction pack has, in my opinion, the best traits of the 4 faction packs. The traits are less unhappiness (more happiness), 2 turns less for an enemy to surrender when a castle is besieged, increased diplomatic relations and a higher respect (less chance that occupied cities will riot).

A good faction pack, but like the other 3 packs, it's not really worth 5$, and I would wait for a sale and get it then.

70

Worth on a sale.

Gh0st233 | Aug. 21, 2012 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2 - Fall of the Samurai - Tsu Faction Pack

Tsu Faction, much like the Obama and the other 2 faction packs, bring in a new faction (Who would have guessed?), with new units and traits for each of those factions. Also, all of the new factions from the faction packs are usable in both multiplayer, and singleplayer, depending on what you prefer.

5$ for a faction, however, may be a pretty steep, or it's just that I am cheap, but I would wait for a sale, and get it then.

65

Adds some variety, wait for a sale

Gh0st233 | Aug. 21, 2012 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2 - Fall of the Samurai - Obama Faction Pack

Obama Faction pack, while it has nothing to do with Barack Obama, is a DLC worth checking out on a sale. It brings an all-new faction to the Fall of the Samurai, with their own units and traits. It is also usable in both singleplayer and multiplayer, which is great if you like playing multiplayer, as it makes you stand out a bit.

Verdict: Worth it on a sale.

70

Worth it! Oldie, but goldie!

Gh0st233 | Aug. 21, 2012 | Review of Panzer Elite Action Gold

Panzer Elite: Fields of Glory is an amazing tank game. It was first published by Psygnosis in 1999, but was taken over by JoWood in 2001, and things only went better from there. The multiplayer was very buggy before, but it's all fixed now and is an outstanding experience. There are 3 campaigns in total, German Panzer Elite, Russia and the Allies. First tank for the Germans was a Panzer II, for the Russians it would be the T-34, and the M4 Sherman for the Allies.

Panzer Elite: Gold is DEFINITELY worth checking out, especially if you don't mind old games. The game is over 10 years old, but it still delivers a very fun experience. And, it also has a modding community.

75

Nice content, but a bad price.

Gh0st233 | Aug. 21, 2012 | Review of Napoleon: Total War - Heroes of the Napoleonic War

Heroes of the Napoleonic Wars brings some very, very nice content in Napoleon: Total War. Among other units, that are usable in both singleplayer and multiplayer, there is the 18e Regiment d'Infaterie de Ligne, also known as "The Brave". There is a total of 10 new units, for different factions. There are Hussars for the Austria and Great Britain, French Lancers, Musketeers, Prussian Grenadiers and many more.

Like I said, Heroes of the Napoleonic War brings a lot of nice content to the game, but the price may not be that good, however, definitely get this on a sale.

5

One of the biggest failures...

Gh0st233 | Aug. 21, 2012 | Review of Legends of Pegasus

Legends of Pegasus is a strategy/simulation and a little bit action hybrid. But this game is unplayable. It is riddled with bugs and glitches, crashes, lost savegames and what not. If you're thinking of playing a good space strategy simulation game, do not think of this game at all.

Possibly the worst thing about this game is it's price. This wouldn't be okay, even if it was 10$, let alone 40$. For 40$ you get crashes and bugs, and it doesn't matter how far, or how long you play it, because in the end, your savegames may actually dissapear.

This game is definitely not worth it. Nobody should even think about paying 40$ for this game, it is a complete failure that is not worth your time, or your patience.

50

Bad...

Gh0st233 | Aug. 21, 2012 | Review of Need For Speed: ProStreet

Need for Speed: Pro Street has took a huge leap from their previous game, and I can respect that, but the outcome is not that good. What you have is a repetitive racing game filled with bad driving physics and steering. The only gamemode that I have found to be fun, is the drag (so called "Grip") races.

Other than that, the game fails to deliver. The online mode is present, but it's nothing special, and the game hardly stands out. If you're looking for a legal racing game, you should check out Race 07, or even SHIFT for that matter, which is a lot better.

Pro Street is not recommended to anyone, especially not to the fans of the old Need for Speed games.

80

Worth it on a sale

Gh0st233 | Aug. 21, 2012 | Review of Hearts of Iron III: Collection DNS

Hearts of Iron III: Collection is a collection of the base game, the two expansions (Semper Fi and For the Motherland), and all the spritepacks for the game.

Hearts of Iron III is a strategy game of war, diplomacy and economy, set in World War 2, published by Paradox, and developed by the same. There are a lot of countries (factions) to choose from, and get a different point of view on one of the biggest wars of human history.

Hearts of Iron III: Collection is definitely worth checking out, especially on a sale, and knowing Paradox, it will be pretty cheap on the next Paradox sale. Worth getting!

15

So, this is what they charge for nowadays?

Gh0st233 | Aug. 21, 2012 | Review of Defenders of Ardania: The Conjuror's Tricks DLC

The Conjurer's Tricks is a, what we call today, DLC for Defenders of Ardania, but you knew that much. So, what does it add?

Conjurer's Tricks adds a new unit, tower and a spell each for human, nature and the underworld. It doesn't improve the gmae in any way, all it does is add a bit of variety, but this COULD HAVE been in the game, in the first place. So, why charge 2$ for something as small as this, that could have been in the game? Why not make something like this a free update?

Just another example of milking customers. Not recommended, since it is useless. If it was a free update, it would be a good update, but charging 2$ for 3 new units, towers and spells, is a bit too steep.

20

Horrible...

Gh0st233 | Aug. 21, 2012 | Review of The Expendables 2: The Videogame

The Expendables may not be a bad movie, but we all know what games made after movies tend to be, and it is quite true in the case of The Expendables 2: The Video Game.

What's this game about? This game is about 4 characters from the movie. You play with one character, while other characters follow you and help you around a bit with the firefights, other than that, they're quite useless, and they tend to run infront of you, which is annoying.

The graphics aren't that bad, but they aren't that good either, and I can't see how it justifies the requirements. The gameplay is pretty repetitive and boring. The perspective is from the sky, like most strategy games, which this isn't. There is also co-op, which makes your followers more useful, but still doesn't make this game that much more fun, or worth playing, for that fact.

This game is not worth getting, even if it is dirt cheap. It's best for you, and people around you, if you steer clear of it, in a wide arc too.

90

A great game

Gh0st233 | Aug. 20, 2012 | Review of Red Faction

Red Faction was one of the best action games of the time. It was played in the first person, so it could be called a first person shooter. The gameplay is a bit similiar to that of Quake. The game is fairly lenghty and the objectives are quite fun, and rarely repetitive. The weapons seem very balanced, and very fun to use.

It also has a multiplayer, which is pretty addictive. This game is definitely worth checking out.

80

Gold edition is worth it

Gh0st233 | Aug. 20, 2012 | Review of Titan Quest Gold

Gold edition has both the base game, and the Immortal Throne expansion. However, the price on GreenManGaming for the base game and the expansion is lower than the price on Steam. The price on GMG combined is the same as the Gold edition costs.

However, the Gold edition is especially worth it if you've played the game some time before and want to replay it, or you think you're going to like it. Otherwise, just buy the base game on GMG, and if you like it, buy the expansion later, since the price is the same.

70

A worthwhile expansion

Gh0st233 | Aug. 20, 2012 | Review of Titan Quest Immortal Throne

The Immortal Throne is, what we used to call things like this 5-6 years ago, an expansion, and a good one at that. What this expansion, or for you newcomers, big DLC, brings is an increased level cap, new classes with new mastery trees, new locations and, of course, monsters, and new equipment.

It is definitely worth it, especially on your first time playing it, and even if you've already had lots of fun with the original Titan Quest. Your character's level is maxed out? Worry not, because this brings 10 more levels!

Immortal Throne is a worthy purchase, tho you may want to buy the Gold edition, which has both the base game, and the expansion, which should cost 5$ less than what both of these cost combined.

75

A good strategy-RPG game

Gh0st233 | Aug. 20, 2012 | Review of Titan Quest

Titan Quest is a very good strategy-RPG "hybrid" game, from one of the Age of Empires developers. Now, Age of Empires is my favourite strategy game, and the plain fact that this comes somewhere to it, makes me like it even more.

The combat is pretty basic but fun, and the graphics are not that bad, tho the game came out some 5 years ago. The game is, actually, quite lenghty, and if you get into it, you may be in for a replay. Also, a great feature this game has, is definitely, the co-op functionality. Hop in the game with up to 5 of your friends, and enjoy the game at its fullest.

Titan Quest is definitely worth checking out, especially if you like strategy or RPG games.

85

Decent game

Gh0st233 | Aug. 20, 2012 | Review of Red Faction Guerilla

Red Faction: Guerilla is a decent third-person action game, with an interesting setting. Unlike the first Red Faction game, it is no first person shooter, but instead, an open-world action game with engaging combat and some good destructible environment, and vehicles to drive around the surface of the Mars. What it also features, is the multiplayer mode, which is not that bad. It certainly is a cool feature to have, and can extend the gametime by a fair amount.

Red Faction: Guerilla is, while different from it's predecessors, is not a bad game, at all. It is worth playing and checking out. Definitely recommended.

10

Another worthless DLC

Gh0st233 | Aug. 16, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - Funtime Pack DLC

They seem to keep delivering us these overpriced DLC packs, because everybody loves them...but not really.

Why am I ranting? I am ranting because, like plenty of other DLC packs for Saints Row The Third, it gives you a weapon, a vehicle, and an outfit. For 2,99$. Since when is it okay to pay 1$ for a single weapon/vehicle/outfit? Instead of adding mod support, they release tons of DLC to take its place. This could have been a free mod, but instead, it costs 3$ for the 3 items. How marvelous!

In case you didn't see what I was trying to say, my point is that it's not worth it, and not recommended.

85

Great game

Gh0st233 | Aug. 16, 2012 | Review of Saints Row 2 do not sell

Saints Row 2 is, indeed, a great game. It's whacky, it's cool, it's filled with crazy moments and characters, and it's totally worth it. Saints Row 2 is an open-world GTA-like game. It is fairly lengthy and the missions are pretty fun. The game has some replay value, and it's great to play on co-op with friends.

SR2 is definitely worth playing and checking out. Also, unlike it's sequel, it doesn't have tons of money-milking DLC.

65

Challenge only, again...

Gh0st233 | Aug. 2, 2012 | Review of Magicka: Peculiar Gadgets Item Pack DLC

This DLC is, like plenty of the recent item DLCs for Magicka, again, challenge only. I don't play challenge mode at all, and this DLC is not good for me, or anyone else who likes the campaign mode.

However, the items are pretty nice, and there are lot of them. So it's not just a matter of quality, but also quantity. If you like the challenge mode and spend a fair amount of time playing it, you may want to get this one.

50

Would be good if it wasn't challenge only

Gh0st233 | Aug. 2, 2012 | Review of Magicka: Heirlooms Item Pack DLC

This DLC adds a lot of new weapons and staves. They are quite a nice addition to the game, however, none of these can be found in the actual campaign mode. If you don't like the challenge modes that much, skip this one.

60

Not bad, but nothing special.

Gh0st233 | Aug. 2, 2012 | Review of Magicka: Mega Villain Robes DLC

This DLC is, pretty much, like party robes, but a dollar cheaper. It's not a bad DLC, but it doesn't offer much. This pack adds 3 outfits for your mages, and I believe they are electro, fire and a Coldarr robe. The robes are nice, but I doubt it's worth 2$.

65

Nothing special, but not bad.

Gh0st233 | Aug. 2, 2012 | Review of Magicka: Aspiring Musician Robes DLC

This DLC brings 3 new outfits and some weapons. Yes, it's a cosmetic dlc. The outfits are the Epic Sax robe, Tribal Drummer robe and a heavy metal robe. The epic sax and tribal look decent. It can be used in both campaign and challenge modes.

90

An amazing RPG

Gh0st233 | July 6, 2012 | Review of Gothic 3: Forsaken Gods - Enhanced Edition

Gothic 3 made a huge blast since it released. It had revolutionary graphics, great gameplay and combat, and tons of quests. The game itself is very long, and you may feel like re-playing it after you've completed it. And, this is the enhanced edition, which has some graphic, combat and gameplay improvements. Recommended.

65

Fun rally game, but not the best.

Gh0st233 | July 5, 2012 | Review of Xpand Rally Xtreme

Xpand Rally Xtreme is definitely not a bad game. It has fun elements, lots of tracks and lots of vehicles from our favourite car manufacturers. The gameplay is fun and smooth, and the graphics are good for the time, since the game came out about 5 years ago.

However, as fun as this game is, my favourite rally games will still be Colin Mcrae's Rally and Dirt 2. But, this game is quite good, for what it is, and I would recommend it at a reduced price.

90

Great RTS game

Gh0st233 | July 5, 2012 | Review of Company of Heroes THQ

Company of Heroes is a realistic, immersive and quite big WW2 strategy game. It has great graphics for its time, the gameplay is quite good, and the campaign is quite long. And, also, there is a multiplayer mode, which will surely bring 50 or more hours of fun, easily. It is definitely one of the, if not THE best World War 2 strategy game. Recommended.

80

Great strategy game

Gh0st233 | July 4, 2012 | Review of Supreme Commander 2

Supreme Commander 2 is a great strategy game. It is set in a very interesting and futuristic world. The campaign is fairly long and will bring you lots of fun, and when that's out of the way, there's multiplayer, and when a game like this has a multiplayer, only the sky is the limit to how much hours of fun you can get from this game. Definitely recommended for all strategy fans.

60

Stick to Gothic 3

Gh0st233 | July 4, 2012 | Review of ArcaniA: Fall of Setarrif DNS

ArcaniA: Fall of Setarrif is a sequel to Gothic 4, which wasn't that great. The graphics are improved, the gameplay is changed and there's a new character, but that's about it. The quests are not all that great, and the game is not really long. It just won't keep you glued to your chair like Gothic 3 used to do. Gothic 3 still remains the best one in the whole series. But, for all it's worth, this game is not all that bad. It may be good for 5$, but for 15$ it just does not budge. Not recommended.

50

Nice DLC if you like whacky stuff

Gh0st233 | July 4, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - Horror Pack

This DLC adds a few nice costumes, that match the Saints Row 3 whacky universe. I mean, who doesn't like punching people with apoco-fists while being dressed as a werewolf. But still, one thing I don't like about this regular cosmetic DLCs type of thing is that they could have just added support for mods. That way, the community could really have what they want, and not have to pay for it. But still, the DLC is nice, but not really worth 3$.

40

Not worth it

Gh0st233 | July 4, 2012 | Review of Dead Island: Game of the Year (v1)

Dead Island: GOTY includes the main game, the Bloodbath Arena DLC, the Ryder White dlc and the "Ripper" blueprint.

Dead Island itself is a great game. I've had tons of fun with it, and it's definitely worth checking out. I'd recommend it to anyone who fancies slashing zombies in tiny bits, or even running them over with your armored impenetrable truck, or simply zombies. Especially with these sales around, it can't be a bad purchase.

Let's start with the DLCs. Bloodbath Arena is, in essence, a survival mode that COULD HAVE been in the game, in the first place, but for some reason, it wasn't. It has no story elements behind it, and it is just plain boring. Also, when you die, it takes 10% of your money, just like in the actual game. That could have been changed a bit, because you're most likely going to die a lot in the arena, especially the harder ones. Definitely worth 10$, or 5$, or 3$ for that matter.

Ryder White DLC does actually have a little story behind it. It follows a character that played a big role in the original game, and explains his story a bit more. But it is, just like the first DLC, repetitive and awfully linear. And even if you, for some reason, like games and DLCs linear, then you're about to be dissapointed. It's very, very short. And for 10$, it is DEFINITELY not worth it. I wouldn't pay anything for it, honestly.

The Ripper weapon mod was free to pre-orders, and the weapon itself is quite nice and the materials are very easy to come by, but you shouldn't pay extra for one weapon mod that can be used on, what, 3 types of weapons?

I'd recommend getting the original Dead Island, without the GOTY edition or any DLCs, if it's cheaper, on a sale, as it is highly worth 10-15$.

82

Funny and interesting little ninja game.

Gh0st233 | July 4, 2012 | Review of Mini Ninjas

Mini Ninjas is a really, really refreshing, unique, and innovative game that has appeared in a long time. It's cartoony graphics and art style are just plain beautiful, and gameplay is very fast and fun. The characters in the game, especially the main protagonist, are very funny and interesting. The game has some decent length to it, as well. It can be completed in about 10-15 hours. There are lots of different levels, and each one is quite different than the others, and very fun. Oh, and, boss battles are fun. Take that, Deus Ex. Oh, also, you have an ability to posses animals...HOW COOL IS THAT? I'd recommend this game to anyone who wants a different game than others. It's great fun.

59

Lots of content for the price, but versus and challenge only.

Gh0st233 | July 1, 2012 | Review of Magicka: Holiday Spirit DLC

This DLC adds quite a lot of staves, weapons and a magick or two. The in-game items are quite nice, but there is a little downside to all of it. All of these items can ONLY be obtained and USED in versus and challenge modes. If you don't play versus or challenge modes all that much, or at all, this DLC won't be good, otherwise, it's quite neat.

20

A single map for 2$, no thanks.

Gh0st233 | July 1, 2012 | Review of Sanctum: Aftermath DLC

Sanctum: Aftermath is nothing more than a single map DLC that could be free, in the first place. Like I said, it's just one map, with an okay design. The map, itself, is not bad, but it is, in no way, a must have, and a 2 dollar price tag is way too much. Not recommended.

20

Pretty much useless

Gh0st233 | July 1, 2012 | Review of Crusader Kings II - Dynasty Shields DLC

This DLC is quite useless, and while 50 may sound like a big number, and it certainly is, it still is not worth 2$. Truth is, you probably won't use half of them. They are worthless gameplay-wise, I wouldn't recommend, at all. A perfect example of milking customers, but still, the game is great.

70

A fun fluffy puzzle game from the Portal devs

Gh0st233 | June 22, 2012 | Review of Quantum Conundrum: Season Pass

Quantum Conundrum is a pretty fun little puzzle game, and it comes right from the developers of the original Portal. The game has very nice cartoonish graphics and the gameplay is amazing. At the start of the game, you get a sort of a glove that lets you change dimensions on the fly. You can change the dimension to one where everything is fluffy, and you can manipulate time.

Quantum Conundrum is a very interesting game, would recommend it on a sale.

30

Dissapointment.

Gh0st233 | June 22, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - The Trouble with Clones DLC

Trouble with Clones is the final story DLC for Saints Row 3. The previous two DLCs were, pretty much, a disaster. Both of them were very short, with very little interesting content. The first DLC was a load of minigames, the second was somewhat more interesting, but very, very short and overpriced. And then, here is the third and final one.

It brings a new story which is interesting enough, and brings Johnny Gat back, kinda. There are new weapons. But the most important aspect is that you can become a super-hero of a kind. You're able to run very fast and destroy everything with a simple punch, it's more powerful than the apoco fists. But, as far as the actual story and gameplay of the DLC go, it's very short. And the worst part is, after you've completed the DLC, you can't have your super-abilities anymore. The one thing that would make this DLC a somewhat good purchase, and it's left out. Wouldn't recommend it.

60

A silly little DLC

Gh0st233 | June 22, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - Witches And Wieners DLC

This DLC is much like the Warrior pack, but a bit nicer. It adds 3 outfits, the Witch, the Hot Dog and the Ninja one, and it adds a halo or the horns to attach above your head. The 3 dollar pricetag may be a bit too much, but it is still a very nice cosmetic DLC. Would recommend on a sale.

15

Not really worth it

Gh0st233 | June 22, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - Money Shot Pack DLC

This DLC is one of the nicer cosmetic ones, but still, it is nothing more than a retexture of the original outfit, weapon and a vehicle. The outfit was already in the game, paintable. The weapon and the flying jet-ski/scooter/bike hybrid was already in the game as well, non-paintable, though. The outfit itself is nice, and so are the bike and the sniper, and it's a bit more affordable than the purple vehicle retexture pack, but still, I don't think something as lazy as 3 retextures could be called a good DLC.

5

Nothing more than a re-texture.

Gh0st233 | June 22, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - Special Ops Vehicle Pack DLC

What this DLC brings you is nothing more than a retexture of three military vehicles, that were already in the game. The original vehicles could be added to your garage/helipad, so I don't see the point for something like this, and the original white/black carbon mesh looks a lot better than the shiny purple one. I see this DLC as nothing more than an attempt to milk money from the customers, and very lazy at that, as well. Wouldn't recommend it. Three dollars for something that could have been in the game, in the first place, is too much. It wouldn't be hard if they have just allowed us to change the colors of the vehicles, ourselves.

55

Not bad

Gh0st233 | June 22, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - Nyte Blayde Pack DLC

This DLC is actually quite nice. What you get is two outfits, the Cannoness one and the Altar Boy, and you get two vehicles, a bike and a decently armored sports sedan, which looks quite nice. 3 dollars for it may be an overkill, but it does bring some nice content to the game. Quality over quantity, in this case. Maybe it's better to buy the season pass, if you wanted to get the 3 story dlcs, as well, as it saves you about 4-5 dollars.

5

Little content for a high price

Gh0st233 | June 22, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - Z-Style Pack

In this DLC, all you get is a ridiculous outfit and a weapon. The outfit itself doesn't look all that good, it's simply ridiculous, and the weapon is not that special either. The pricetag of 2 dollars, for as little content as this, is way too much, and is a perfect example of milking customers. Not recommended.

60

A DLC with lots of content for the price, but is it worth it?

Gh0st233 | June 21, 2012 | Review of Magicka: Horror Props DLC

This is actually one of the Magicka "cosmetic" DLCs that has a lot of content, but it brings nothing new to the story, but just some new toys to play with. However, there is a twist to it. You can only use these in the Challenge modes and versus modes. That means, no, you can't use these fancy new weapons in the campaign mode, which is a bit of a turn-off. However, it does add some 10 or so new weapons for your wizard to use.

Not worth it if you're looking for something to enhance your story experience, as you can't use them in the story. However, if you're looking for new weapons to use in the versus or challenge gamemodes, and you play those frequently, then I'd say that the $3 pricetag may not be all that much. However, you should wait for a sale, as they drop below $1.

70

Good DLC, but pricey.

Gh0st233 | June 21, 2012 | Review of All Zombies Must Die! Scorepocalypse DLC

Scorepocalypse is a good DLC that adds a new type of gamemode, where all that matters is your Score. There are also a few new types of zombies, and a few new types of weapons, as well. The DLC is great when you have nothing better to do and just want to blow off some steam, however, the $4 pricetag may be a bit too high for the length you're getting. The DLC may get boring after 3 or 4 hours, so you may want to wait for a sale.

75

Great game.

Gh0st233 | June 21, 2012 | Review of Might and Magic: Heroes VI Deluxe-DNS

This game is a new installment of the Might and Magic: Heroes franchise. It still has the same old great combat system. Graphics are improved greatly, and the sound and the soundtrack is very good, as well. There are lots of interesting units to build.

The deluxe edition is worth it as it gives you the complete soundtrack, which is amazing, an artbook and a new skirmish map, 4 new units and 2 new weapons.

Would recommend if you've enjoyed the previous games, however, you may still want to wait for a sale.

50

Somewhat better than the map pack

Gh0st233 | June 21, 2012 | Review of Binary Domain: Dan Marshall Pack

If you've enjoyed the original game and feel like playing it through again, this may not be a bad purchase. Since all it adds is a weapon and a set of skills. It has no impact on the story or anything of that nature.

If you like cosmetic items and you've liked the Binary Domain, this may not be a complete waste. Otherwise, don't get it. Wouldn't recommend to anyone, only if you've enjoyed the game and want a second playthrough with new gadgets.

10

Nobody plays the multiplayer anymore

Gh0st233 | June 21, 2012 | Review of Binary Domain: Multiplayer Pack

The game itself wasn't all that fun to begin with. There were lots of problems with the controls, the gameplay was boring and the characters were very forgettable and the story was not engaging at all. And then, there's the multiplayer. The multiplayer itself was very generic, as well. There were a few gamemodes that are familiar to other games, like, for instance, Free-for-all, and there are 5 classes.

Even if all that sounds all fun and games, the multiplayer, and the game itself, is pretty much dead. It's very hard to find a decent online game to play. And the map pack? I am usually very sceptical about map packs, and this adds two weapons and a new class, but even if that does sound like it's worth 2 dollars, you will have no place to use the new class, or weapons, or the maps. Not recommended.

15

A bad dlc for a bad game, what more could you want?

Gh0st233 | June 19, 2012 | Review of Dungeons: Map Pack DLC

Let's start of by saying that the game is pretty...bad. And now, you get this 3 dollar DLC that adds 50 (fifty) new maps and 5 wallpapers! YAY!

I honestly doubt there are plenty of people who enjoyed the game, and would even want to see something like this, at this price. 3 dollars for a map pack, for a game like Dungeons is, let's be fair, a steal. What you can get by buying this DLC is just a bit thinner wallet and 50 maps that you don't know what to do with.

Of course, if you have enjoyed the game, completed it, and feel like this would be a good purchase, why not?

50

Don't really see the point

Gh0st233 | June 19, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - Invincible Pack

I don't really see the point for a cheats DLC. Alright, maybe you just want to go on a killing spree, jump off buildings with no parachutes and such whacky stuff that Saints Row: The Third usually is about. If you haven't completed the game, I wouldn't recommend it, at all. It would ruin the game because of the lack of challenge. But, after you've completed the game, and feel like doing things mentioned above, this DLC may be good for you.

It offers cheats like invulnerability, or infinite ammo (blowing stuff up with RPGs, anyone?). If you think this DLC will enhance your gaming experience, I'd say why not? But you may want to get it on a sale, as 3 bucks is a bit too steep.

80

Great standalone expansion

Gh0st233 | June 19, 2012 | Review of STCC: The Game

STCC - The Game is like a pack. It includes Race 07 and the STCC expansion.

The same old great gameplay is still present, with a new pack of cars and tracks. The formulas are very well done and very fun to drive. This is, in essence, improved Race 07, as it has everything that the original game has, and more, at the same price. The price is very reasonable for what you're getting. It feels you're getting more than you've paid for, which is good.

I'd recommend it to anyone who fancies a racing simulation from time to time, it's a great game.

95

Thief Gold is better.

Gh0st233 | June 18, 2012 | Review of Thief II: The Metal Age

This game is very similar to the original Thief in the series, but is still very fun to play. The graphics are pretty much the same, and the game still feels very atmospheric. The levels are very well done, and the voice acting is a bit better. Still the same old gameplay, which was very good. One thing I dislike about this and the original Thief, are the loud footstep sounds.

Other than the footstep sounds, I would recommend this game to anyone, but you may want to get the original one if you're on a budget.

98

Great game, totally worth it.

Gh0st233 | June 18, 2012 | Review of Thief Gold

This is one of the games that have made our childhood. Why is this game so impressive?

The stealth is amazing, graphics are amazing for its time, and the voice acting is just plain silly, which is a good thing, in this case, and the game environments seem very atmospheric, needless to say. Plus, you get extra gold content with this purchase, and it's on Steam. What a great combination.

I'd recommend this game to anyone.

90

An amazing piece of art

Gh0st233 | June 18, 2012 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

I've just recently got the game, and I have to say that I enjoy it, a lot. The visual and the audio content of the game are amazing, and the gameplay is amazing as well. I like that you can complete a mission with different play-styles. If you desire so, you can be stealthy, or you can go in guns-blazing, up to you.

The game has a very interesting story and very interesting characters. The replay value is very high since there are different endings that your decisions affect. Also, the stealth takedowns are very well animated. You can complete the whole game without using any lethal, or any weapons, at all.

Augmentations are a great way to upgrade your character, as they either improve what you already have, or give you a new set of "skills".

However, as all things, it has it's downsides. The thing I dislike the most are the boss battles. They are done very poorly, and the developers themselves have said they should have put more effort into them.

Other than that, the game is very fun to play and I would recommend it to everyone who likes RPG and/or stealth/action games. This game is up to the standards.

95

Buy this, instead of getting them separated.

Gh0st233 | June 8, 2012 | Review of Dragon Age: Origins – Ultimate Edition

Dragon Age: Origins is one of the best RPG games I have ever played, because of the story mode and the storytelling itself, and the characters who you can get to know.

The length of the original game is about 50 hours on one playthrough, however, as there are tons of different decisions to be made to influent the game's storyline and three different classes, that offer different gameplay and playstyle, you may be looking at over 100 hours if you're dedicated enough. The Awakening expansion adds another 15 or 20 hours, not really sure about the length of that. And there are other mini-story dlcs, that should add another 5 or 10 hours to the mix, which then comes out as a great pack for a great price for a dedicated RPG fan, like yourself.

I rarely recommend getting games for the full price, but I have honestly enjoyed this game to it's fullest, and would recommend it, any time.

75

Great game, not bad DLC.

Gh0st233 | June 8, 2012 | Review of Dragon Age: Origins Awakening (EU)

Dragon Age: Origins in itself is a great game, in every way. The DLC is not bad, but it's not that great either.

What I love about the DLC is that you can import your character, as the game takes place after completing the main storyline. Otherwise, you can create a new character, however, you will be level 20 or so at the start of the DLC, which is a BIT of a downer, but it's most likely for balancing purpouses.

The gameplay and graphics are the same. The innovations are, other than the obvious story, some new weapons, new armor, new companions and an extra 15 or so hours in the game.

The story takes you to the city of Amaranthine. Just before you arrive, things get out of control, and only you can make it right.

I'd recommend getting the DLC if you've enjoyed Dragon Age: Origins, or if you still haven't got the game, the ultimate edition, which has all the DLC packs, and the expansion.

95

The best RPG experience ever.

Gh0st233 | June 8, 2012 | Review of Dragon Age: Origins (EU)

Dragon Age: Origins is my favourite RPG game, alongside Skyrim. However, with DA:O, it's pretty much a love or hate relationship. I will tell you all the things I loved about the game, and I will tell you about the things I didn't like that much, or at all.

The story and the storytelling is one of the main aspects of the game. It has an interesting enough story that will interest you, but the way the game takes you through the story is unbelieveable. In many games where it's possible, I find myself skipping some of the cutscenes or even dialogues, but not with this game. DA:O has amazing interactive cutscenes that, packed with nice graphics and over-the-top textures on the characters, make it seem like you're playing a movie, instead of a game. As for the classes in the game, there are 3: The Warrior, Rogue and Mage. Warrior is good in weapon and shield and two-handed weapons, rogue is good with daggers and bows, and can pick locks, and mages are good with staves.

Companions are one of the great features of the game. You can have up to 3 companions with you at a given time, but you can have a total of about 8 or 9. But it doesn't stop there. Each companion has a different story and literally TONS of dialogue options. As you progress through the game, and make different decisions, you will increase reputation with the companions who approve it, but diminish the reputation with the ones who don't. But it doesn't really all stop there. It is possible to have a romance with certain companions, four companions, to be precise.

The characters in the game look amazing. The textures of the faces are very well done, but the graphics, that everybody seem to look at first, are nothing special, but they can be looked over.

The combat in the game is, pretty much, autoattack. I did not like it at first, but with the ability to actively pause during the battle to think of a best strategy to proceed, and assign each one of your active companions who to attack, where to go, what to do and what abilities to use, make up for it by a longshot. There are some finishing animations which are very welld one, as well. The sound in the game is amazing. Especially the voice acting.

As for the length of the game, a rough estimate of my first playthrough was about 50-60 hours, which was just the first playthrough. I've completed the game over 3 times, with all the classes, and different decisions. I would honestly recommend this game to all of the RPG fans, who don't look at graphics as an important factor in the game, and don't mind the combat. Even for the full price, it seems worth it. 200 or so hours for that price, is as great bargain.

50

Very short and not that good.

Gh0st233 | June 8, 2012 | Review of Grand Theft Auto IV: The Lost & Damned

The Lost and Damned (TLAD) is one of the two expansions for GTA IV, the other being The Ballad of Gay Tony (TBoGT), and to be quite honest, it is nothing special.

The setting and the story of the game is not that good. You're a member of a metalhead biker gang, and things get serious. The story mode is very short, and the thought of driving Harleys for the whole game is not that appealing.

What's new in the game is the character, some weapons, 2 or 3 cars and some bikes, mostly Harley clones. The multiplayer is, just like in the TBoGT case, the same old, with the addition of the weapons, cars, and new clothes and faces for the characters.

The game, however, does have a new look to it. It has some sort of a different filter than the one used in GTA IV, which makes things look a little bit different, and actually, more lively.

I would recommend buying it if you have enjoyed GTA IV, want some more missions to play, and like the old harley bikes and metal music. In that case, you may enjoy it more than I did.

65

Not that good, but better than The Lost and Damned

Gh0st233 | June 8, 2012 | Review of Grand Theft Auto IV: The Ballad of Gay Tony

The Ballad of The Gay Tony (TBoGT) brings a decent amount of content, but a very short story mode.

It brings lots of weapons, much more explosive weapons, to the game, alongside with some fancy cars and features like the N2O boost. This may sound very fun, and it is quite cool, but only the first few times, after which it becomes tiresome and repetitive.

You're playing as a new character with a new story. The story mode is fun but very, very short. A new feature is the ability to replay missions you have already completed, if you wish to play it for a second time, or to get a better score. Missions have scores, yes. More objectives done equals better score.

Multiplayer is the same as in GTA IV, with the addition of new clothes and faces for the characters, the cars and the weapons. Everything else is, pretty much, the same old.

I'd recommend getting it on a sale IF you think you're going to enjoy a bit more of GTA IV. If you're buying it for multiplayer, however, which I doubt you are, it's pretty much dead. Rarely anybody plays it nowadays.

75

A very fun game

Gh0st233 | June 7, 2012 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum

Let me start by saying that I haven't watched any of the Batman movies, I did, but just a few minutes. However, this game can be very fun, even when the only thing you know about Batman is how he looks, like it is in my case.

The gameplay and the combat is very fluid, simple and fun. It needs almost no getting used to, and has some nice very nice animations.

The graphics and the visual part of the game is quite satisfying. The story was easy to follow, even with my knowledge of Batman, and the sounds are very well done. The length of the game is about 10-13 hours.

I'd recommend getting this game on a sale.

100

Best gaming experience ever.

Gh0st233 | June 7, 2012 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (NA)

This game had me speechless in November. This was my BEST gaming experience since the invention of hot water, literally. I have loved the previous TES games, and they are one of my favourites, but this is my favourite game.

As soon as I started playing, I've noticed that the game is very refined and very much alive. The world around you feels very alive, you can almost hear it breathing. A world, where everyone is doing something which is not triggered by your presence.

The story of the game is very good, and the length of the actual game for me was about 150 hours for the first playthrough. Of course, I fancy doing all the side-quests and finding all the secret pieces of armor and weaponry.

The combat of the game is A LOT improved since the Oblivion, or even Morrowind. The combat feels a lot more fluid and intense, with the new addition of dual wielding one-handed weapons, and, of course, the brutal finishing moves. The one good thing is that the people and creatures around you aren't scaled to your level. If you go somewhere you shouldn't be at level 1, you can be sure you're in for a tough time. Whereas, in Oblivion, the world was scaled to your level, if you're level 45, everyone around you is about the same level.

The graphics and audio are quite nice, and the engine looks amazing. There is nothing else I can say on this, just amazing.

If you don't have it for some reason and think you're going to like it, I'd recommend getting it as soon as you get the chance. Don't skip a sale if there is one sooon. This game is a must have.

95

The best of the series.

Gh0st233 | June 7, 2012 | Review of Assassin's Creed 2 Deluxe Edition

Assassin's Creed 2 brought the most innovative Assassin's Creed game in a long time. The next innovative one is just coming.

Instead of doing everything the old way of the original Assassin's Creed, where you have to do the same thing over and over again, in order to get information on your target, in order to progress the game, but brings a new GTA-like free-roaming, open-world system, where you get to choose what mission to do next and where to go, at any given time. Each mission, instead of the same old beat-up missions or time trials, is a lot different than the one before. If you're familiar with Grand Theft Auto games, then you'd know what I'm talking about.

The gameplay is a lot like the original Assassin's Creed, which is not bad, at all. What's new here is the purchasing gear at shops, like weapons, outfit dyes and armor. The combat is very fluid and fun.

The game has 2 major cities, 2 minor towns and the Villa. The cities in itself, are very impressive, and they resemble the real-world cities of Firenze and Venezia. They are done extraordinary, and there are lots of similarities between the real modern cities, and the in-game cities of the renaissance era.

My rough estimate on the length of the game would be 20 or 30 hours, depending on your play style. The game has some replayability behind it, and I would recommend it to everyone who liked or even did not like the original Assassin's Creed. I didn't because I found it repetitive, but I loved this one.

95

Great game, great engine, great graphics, great fun!

Gh0st233 | June 7, 2012 | Review of Hitman 2: Silent Assassin capsule

Hitman 2 is one of my all-time favourite games. I, personally, find it a lot better than Blood Money. The engine was extraordinary for that time, gameplay and graphics were top notch. The story and missions in the game are very fun, and trying to do everything without getting detected is, while being very hard and challenging, very rewarding and fun, as well.

With many weapons at your disposal, and outfits you can take from the guards, this game challenged the concept of stealth. The one thing I did not like about the game, is that, even with the disguise on, you get spotted way too easily if you pass near the guards, while being in their sight. This has, however, made me look for alternative stealthy ways to get past them, and I've still had lots of fun.

This game is, simply, a must have. It is one of the best games of the decade, and that's that.

80

Quite a good DLC, but short

Gh0st233 | June 7, 2012 | Review of Magicka: Vietnam DLC

Magicka: Vietnam is the first story DLC for Magicka. However, the DLC itself is not very long, it can be completed in less than 30 minutes, which is a bit of a downer, since I loved the original Magicka, and was looking forward to playing some new campaigns.

Vietnam brings a lot of firepower, however. Apart from the M60, the heavy machine gun, that is present in the original Magicka, you get a bunch of other guns, grenades, and my personal favourite, the rocket propelled grenade launcher (RPG). There is nothing as fun as destroying everything in your path to success.

Vietnam also gives you a G.I. character with body armor, a combat helmet, and a US flag. The character, by default, has an M16 as a secondary weapon. Another new thing about this DLC is the new magick, which is the Napalm Strike that you can use in Vietnam and the original Magicka.

I'd recommend this DLC, which, even tho it's short, is very fun and brings a nice sum of content for the price.

85

A great game of it's time

Gh0st233 | June 7, 2012 | Review of Flatout

Flatout is one of my favourite racing games. The driving physics are quite nice, and it does have a bit of "destructible environment", like going through a shed and using it as a shortcut. The environment is very nice, and the racing tracks are done quite well. Cars are, if I remember correctly, not licensed, as in, they are clones of the actual real vehicles. May not be true, tho.

One of my favourite aspects of the game is a little game mode, where you have to launch yourself out of the car and fly up in the air as high as you can, before you fall down and break every single bone that you have. Priceless.

Would recommend it for this low of a price.

30

Worst semi-cosmetic DLC of Saints Row 3

Gh0st233 | June 5, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - Explosive Combat Pack

What does this DLC add? This DLC adds a fully-armored future soldier outfit and a fully-closed piece of headgear, similiar to that of Shazbot. Oh, there's a backpack you can wear, as well, full of useful items in combat, that you can't actually use, since it's cosmetic.

But that is not all, it also does add a piece of weaponry, that is the M2 Grenade Launcher. While I do not understand the need for a grenade launcher of it's own, since you can get one on your assault rifle by upgrading it, it does feel neat, I'll give it that. However, it uses the same slot as the RPG, and I find RPG to be much more useful, especially at long ranges, especially with the heat-seeking upgrades.

I would not recommend this DLC, while the outfit is not bad, and it does have some bad coloring, this DLC does not bring the bang for your buck.

80

The best cosmetic Saints Row 3 cosmetic DLC

Gh0st233 | June 5, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - Warrior Pack

This is, unarguably, one of the best cosmetic DLCs that SR3 has got. It adds some extra silliness into the silly city of Steelport, where everyone is out of their minds.

It adds 4 silly outfits, and in no way do they fit the universe, but this is a good thing, in Saints Row 3's case, as this game is not to be taken very seriously.

The Knight Armor is my favourite of the bunch. Who wouldn't want to be a medieval Knight and serve Steelport for a greater cause? But that doesn't mean that the other outfits are bad, at all. If Knight was the only good one, this would be a bad purchase. Whenever I purchase a bad DLC, there is that feeling of remorse, which is non-existant in this case.

While I do think that 3$ is a bit much for 4 cosmetic items, I didn't regret getting it.

30

Good game, but bad DLC.

Gh0st233 | June 1, 2012 | Review of Dead Island: Bloodbath

The game itself is very great and very fun to play, especially with friends. One of the best co-op experiences I've ever had. However, the Bloodbath arena DLC is one of the worst DLCs I have ever played.

As soon as it came out, a friend and myself gave it a try, since we got it for free as a bonus for pre-ordering. First thing I've noticed is that, to start the DLC "story", you have to go to one of the fast-travel stations, like the one in the Lifeguard station. I found that concept very dull. Let's leave that aside, once you fast travel there, you're greeted by, if I remember correctly, 4 different arenas, with a different setting, different waves, difficulties and enemies. We started the easiest one, for a start. We were bored in the first 5 minutes playing it. As far as Dead Island, the base game, goes, co-op is what makes is good, pretty much. That, and driving over zombies. As this DLC offers no vehicles to drive over them, and co-op certainly can't make it fun, no matter how hard it tries, I would not recommend it to any of the new players.

75

A fairly underrated game, best with friends

Gh0st233 | June 1, 2012 | Review of Dead Island

As soon as the game came out, a friend of mine and myself have started playing this game, and I must say, we were quite stunned by it. I was very surprised to hear such reviews of the game, as they seem, to me, quite low. What is this game about? This game is about 4 survivors, each with different skills and weapon proficiencies, stranded on a tropical island infested with zombies. The game offers very nice visual content, and the tropical island on daylight, with something as gory as chopping off the heads of zombies, proves to be a very interesting and good contrast. The voice acting is very badly done, however. As far as that is concerned, the game feels very low-budget, as if only 10 voice actors were used for the whole game, and not very skilled ones at that, either. Gameplay is VERY unique, satisfying, simple and fun. Dead Island offers a very nice set of weapon mechanics, with tons of different weapons that can be modified, all different to the core. The gameplay is top notch, and can hardly be improved. There's also an "analog", as opposed to digital control setting ingame, that requires an Xbox controller, but should make the gameplay more realistic and fun, since you swing the weapon around as you desire. I say should because I've never tried this, since I don't own an Xbox controller. The story of the game can be looked over, as it's very poor. The story will, surprisingly, not be the thing that will make you play it. However, this game is very good to play with (a) friend(s). The co-op is well-done, and helping each other in-game from being eaten alive, is quite fun. I would recommend this game if you have a friend, or a couple of friends, to play it with. Playing it solo is not as fun, and you may feel a bit lonely. If you're looking for a good story, however, this game may not be as good as a certain Valve product. But, this game, and the Valve game aren't at all in the same league. They're alot different, and can't really be compared much.

85

A pretty fun racing sim for the price.

Gh0st233 | May 26, 2012 | Review of Race 07: WTCC

This game is a pretty fun racing simulation. The price is reasonable for the content that you get. There's alot of championships and different vehicles for each of these. And, my favourite feature, is the cockpit view. It feels pretty realistic, maybe not as realistic as DiRT 2 or 3, but realistic, nonetheless. If you do have a steering wheel, be sure to try it with one, as the feeling is much better than with a keyboard. The cars are fairly textured and look pretty decent, considering the game is a few years old. I'd recommend the game, for the full price.

40

Pretty bad for a first "story" DLC.

Gh0st233 | May 26, 2012 | Review of Saints Row The Third - Genkibowl VII

I've enjoyed Saints Row 3 a lot. Really, a lot. I got this DLC after I've completed the game, to make sure I wasn't spoiled in any way. The harsh truth is, there is nothing that can spoil the story. Why? There is no story!

The main and only thing that you can do in this DLC, is Professor Genki's challenges. It sounded fun, at first. However, when you start playing, you'll realize it's nothing extraordinary. There are, however, some fun ones to do, like the Yarngasm thing. Other than that, not really. I don't think I've got more than 2 hours out of this DLC, which is pretty shameful for a first full price DLC. I've had more fun with the cheap 2$ cosmetic DLCs.

This DLC may be good for 3$, but 7$ is way too much for a 2 hour long DLC that is all about challenges, and 0% about the story. I wouldn't recommend getting it, especially not for the full price, since I enjoyed the game alot, but not the DLC. If you really want it, wait for a sale, or get one of the other two DLCs.

30

A dissapointment for the older fans.

Gh0st233 | May 26, 2012 | Review of DiRT Showdown

First thing you're going to notice when jumping in the game are the vehicles. No longer can you drive fancy rally cars like Subarus, Lancer Evos and so on, and so forth. Instead, you get beaten up cars that have been modified for Destruction Derby. Sure, derby is fun, but whenever it comes to racing games, I'm all about the reality. I loved DiRT 2 and 3 for the rally. The physics in the cars were amazing. Here? There is no old feel to the driving, it feels much more arcade-ish.

Also, one more thing that has really turned me off by a longshot, is that they have removed the cockpit view. I've expected more of a DiRT game, however, I've lost trust in Codemasters.

However, for what it's worth, the game is fun to play to some extent, especially if you like arcade racing games, but if you're an old fan of DiRT games, and racing simulations in general, this title shouldn't be looked that much upon.

85

One of the better DLC maps

Gh0st233 | Sept. 11, 2011 | Review of Magicka: Marshlands DLC

Most of the new DLC maps are versus-only, and I don't play versus at all, so they aren't used at all. This map, in my opinion, is one of the better maps, I don't know if it's worth 2$, but it's a much better map than the others. Since it's not versus, but challenge, not only that, if your friends don't play it, you don't need friends to play it, and if you do, it's much more fun than killing each other with spamming fireballs etcetera. If you have a passion for Magicka DLCs, or just want to buy a DLC and don't know which one to buy, this one is not a bad investment.

90

Great content for its price

Gh0st233 | Aug. 25, 2011 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2 DLC - Sengoku Jidai Unit Pack

One thing I don't like about DLCs is its price, most of the time, and do not add the content to match up with its price. This one, however, does add some pretty nice content for the price. It adds 10 units that behave like hero units, you can create only one of them, but it adds nice variety to an amazing game, and it's more balanced that way. If you enjoyed Shogun 2, and there is no reason not to, get this DLC, great content, great price.

90

A great game

Gh0st233 | Aug. 24, 2011 | Review of Tropico 3: Gold Edition DNS

When I saw this game on sale for really cheap, I just had to buy it, I heard great things from my friends, which turn out to be true. In this game, you get to choose one of many characters to be the 'El Presidente' and help them build their city and win the upcoming elections. This game offers very nice visual and audio content, nice campaigns and gameplay, and can keep you seated for hours at a time. The game is very simple, but is very fun. What you do reflects the results of the upcoming elections. Who will vote for you? It's all in your hands. I'd recommend this game to everyone, since it's been going on lots of sales lately, you can't skip it.

100

Help the Japan

Gh0st233 | Aug. 24, 2011 | Review of Magicka: Nippon DLC

This add-on adds 3 new items, which are the Kimono Robe, Katana and a Bamboo staff. The items itself are very nice, but what's much nicer is that all money made from this particular DLC are donated to Japan. If you didn't already do it, go ahead, there is nothing to lose.

95

Better than the first, definitely.

Gh0st233 | Aug. 24, 2011 | Review of Assassin's Creed 2

I remember that the original Assassin's Creed did not appeal to me very much. I would end up not knowing what I have to do now, the combat is repetitive, so is gameplay and the missions. In Assassin's Creed 2, all that changes. In AC2, we follow the path of the young Ezio Auditore, whose family was executed for treason, and he was wanted, as well. The graphics in this game are a step up from its predecessor, Italian towns are beautifully represented, I could just climb up to a high point and look at it, and not be bored. The gameplay is so much better, the combat is less repetitive, and of course, the missions, are less repetitive too. Instead of doing the same objectives to get intel on our target, we are doing missions, each mission different than the one before. And the story is just spectacular, it can keep you glued to your chair for hours. I would recommend this to everyone, even if you didn't like the first game, I know I didn't, you're gonna love this one.

95

Better than AC2, but, play AC2 first, for the sake of story

Gh0st233 | July 14, 2011 | Review of Assassins Creed Brotherhood

This game is pretty similar to AC2, but of course, there are some changes. The combat is much more fluid, and you can now execute 20 enemies in 10 seconds, which in AC2 would take a long time, and would be pretty hard. This game, however, is not any easier than AC2, especially if you want to achieve 100% synchronization. Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood continues the story of Ezio Auditore da Firenze, as he now has his assassin order and is much more experienced than he was in AC2. The game itself is really fun and intense at some points in the story. I would recommend buying the game when the new one comes out and the price drops. I think you should be able to wait a couple of months.

95

A must play

Gh0st233 | July 14, 2011 | Review of Magicka

Let's start by saying that Magicka is a masterpiece. Great graphics, funny story, great co-op modes (also co-op story), funny cutscenes, everything in this game is great, in my opinion. Now, the game has some bugs and can cause many rigs to lag, but I did not find that a problem, because the game just kept me literally glued to my chair, wanting to complete it. The game is worth the full price, and you could pick it up for a pretty low price.