Reviews by GordonFreechmen

89

Yep still a Thief game

GordonFreechmen | Feb. 2, 2013 | Review of Thief: Deadly Shadows Capsule

Unlike some stealth series Thief never turned into an action game. This game is at heart a stealth game, it plays like one. It isn't your Splinter Cell Conviction were instead of stealth you have an action movie. It is a stealth game. It may not do stealth as well as Thief II did, and it isn't as iconic either that is probably why. The game is still amazing even if it doesn't do stealth as well as the second, and the updated graphics are nice. I wish it was as easy for me to pick up games from the 90's and play them, but it isn't. I have gotten used to modern graphics, and while Thief Deadly Shadows may not be the best looking game, it does look visually a lot better than its predecessors. So if you are looking for an actual stealth game, with decent (not great but decent) graphics. Look no further.

85

Like GTA with decent combat

GordonFreechmen | Feb. 2, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs Digital Edition

If you have played GTA IV, and Arkham City. Image sticking the two together. That is essentially what you have here with Sleeping Dogs. Now of course it isn't an exact mix of the two, and even the elements it takes it changes. The story may interest some but I founds driving around the city, and getting into fights to be more entertaining as I do in most open world games. And in that regard it is certainly more fun than the recent GTA games. The city is a lot more fleshed out. There are more people, more cars. Some of the mechanics it introduces I don't really like. Such as the whole face mechanic, not allowing me to buy cloths because my rep wasn't high enough. Seriously who cares. All my grips with it are small though, and can largly be ignored. This game is pretty good. I wouldn't miss out on it if I were you.

51

An unfitting conclusion

GordonFreechmen | Jan. 7, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect 3 (NA) dns

While Mass Effect 2 took away from the first game, and was ultimately pointless, at least its story made some sense. In Mass Effect 3, you have to get new squadmates something you have already done three times. One of them is a prothean but looks nothing like the protheans in the first game. And despite Bioware saying otherwise none of your decisions really matter, and the ending to the trilogy comes down to a choice you make at the end of the game. I am not going to say more about the ending because that would spoil it.

Now as far as gameplay goes it is very similar to the second. You are going to want to raise your FOV because it is way too low by default. The gameplay more resembles Gears of War than Mass Effect 1, but then again you could also say that about the second game. At the very least they added back an inventory, it isn't as fleshed out as the first games but it is there, and I consider that a huge bonus.

The characters that were carried over from the second game seem to be the most interesting part as they were in the second game, the new characters don't really live up to them though, so there really isn't a lot of good added in that department.

The game may not be horrible, there are certainly worse games, but I had a lot better expectations for it when I first played Mass Effect 1, and found both sequels ultimately disappointing.

74

A step sideways from the first

GordonFreechmen | Jan. 7, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect 2 (NA) dns

This game changes so much, and keeps so little the same it is hard to really call it a sequel. That isn't too say it is bad on its one, but a sequel should still feel like the first.

The story is somewhat odd, they retcon several things from the first. You know use guns with ammo, even though the way they describe how guns work in the first in the index would make ammo pointless, and or cooling charges useless. The protheans have been retconned in appearance as well. Replay the first one and play this if you don't believe me. The worse thing about it though is it is pointless. After you finish the second game you are in exactly the same place you were at the end of the first, they could have just left this game out and the series would have been exactly the same. Why make a game if it doesn't matter story wise.

Now gameplay wise they removed the mako, and replaced it with probing which is boring in comparison. They really should have kept the mako. Also you no longer have an inventory. I guess some people had problems with the way the inventory worked in the first game (I didn't) so instead of fixing it they removed it entirely which seems really stupid to me. What is the point of an RPG with no inventory system?

The most redeeming aspect of this game is the characters, while no directly related to the story, a lot of the dialogue and conversations these characters have is very interesting, and makes them all very likable. If they had made a more coherent story for these characters to be in, it could have been great.

52

A horrible sequel to a good game

GordonFreechmen | Jan. 7, 2013 | Review of Dragon Age 2 (NA) DNS

The game is terrible compared to the first. If you haven't played either of them you might find some enjoyment in this, but if you have played the first you will a very lackluster version of the same game. Not enough was changed to really make the game feel new, but enough was changed to make it worse. They removed the tactical view from the PC version for some reason. You can no longer dress you allies. The types of builds you can make are far less varied. The story makes no sense. There are less areas than the first and a lot of them are reused. Bioware made it clear that the choices you made in the first didn't really matter at all, which I feel insulted by. There really is no reason to get this game, get the first instead.

84

The best way to play the game

GordonFreechmen | Jan. 7, 2013 | Review of Dragon Age: Origins - Ultimate Edition (NA) dns

This version include the first game along with the expansion and all DLC. This is the way Dragon Age should be played. The expansion introduces a new character a mage to the game, Anders. He is a rather interesting character, not really serious he likes to joke and carries around a kitten. The gameplay in the expansion is exactly the same as the normal game which is a good thing. The game feature diablo style loot, which makes buying items useless. Even so the thrill of findings good items is there. The combat is a little dull, but what it lacks there it makes up for in character building. You can build some pretty diverse characters from Arcane mages, to a bear summoner. And it has a decent story to boot. If you want to play Dragon Age get this version.

70

Pretty fun with friends

GordonFreechmen | Jan. 7, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 (NA) DNS

First off don't even think of getting this game if you didn't like the first. While it improves on a lot of things the feel is pretty much the same.

Now onto the review, the weapons are about as diverse as they were in the first game in terms of how much about things about them change, however the changes themselves are bigger. So while I wouldn't say there are more guns like they advertised, the games actually feel different which is a very good thing. It makes the game feel more rewarding. The gameplay is more of the same, though the classes are a lot different so you will have to get used to them. One thing about the game is it is easy to become overpowered. With any class using certain items, so you might have to limit yourselves to make the game fun if you find too powerful of items.

If you are a fan of the first you will definitely enjoy this.

65

Decent game but forgettable

GordonFreechmen | Jan. 7, 2013 | Review of Two Worlds II Cap

There is nothing terrible wrong about this game. I heard that the first game was pretty bad, and that was not the case with this game. It had a fairly large world to explore, the sailing made it fun though it was kind of disappointing how they did the final island. It was there the whole time you could sail to it, work your way to the middle when you were exploring but there was nothing there. The combat in the game is entertaining enough to get you through, and it has some decent minigames moneymaking. We know that every RPG now has to have minigames that are exploitable and easy to max out your money with. Okay they don't need them but most have them, at least this game does them well.

Unfortunately it doesn't really stand out in any category, and while entertaining is a game you could forget in a matter of weeks.