Reviews by Gwildor

85

Get this!

Gwildor | July 7, 2013 | Review of Silent Storm Gold Edition Cap

A great tactical combat game. The organic character development is great, and the destructive environments add a great deal to the combats. A few small complaints - lack of multiplayer, short campaign. My biggest complaint came from the "panzerkleins" found at the end of the story - not only do they take from the realism of the game, they add a clumsiness not inherent in the combat using only infantry

77

Overall a true Alternative with fresh aspects for TOTAL War

Gwildor | June 4, 2013 | Review of King Arthur II

Purchased this game on the Steam sales this last weekend, and have been hooked on this for a while now. For those of you who are familiar with the first King Arthur: The Role-Playing Wargame title, you won't find anything particularly new in this, in terms of core mechanics...which, for me, is a plus. I spent many hours playing the first King Arthur game. Drawn into the story campaign...and the fusion of Total War and Roleplaying Game elements kept me going for a long time, but never finished it since it was too much of a struggle due to the consistent barrage of the AI.

The game however, is riddled with problems to this day (Patch 1.1.07). Far too many bugs are being discussed on forums, as well as, instability of performance, and just general glitches in both, Campaign and Battles.

On a positive note. The inclusion of a narrator has improved the overall feel of immersing the player with the storyline in the campaign. Graphics are absolutely breath-taking (with some emphasis) to look at. Even though, I personally have performance issues on the highest settings, even if you set it to low, it still looks absolutely amazing...a joy to look at when ending your turn, moving from season to season.

Overall, I still think this game is worth a purchase when it's on sale next. People with 32-bit computers should stay away since it's currently not working at all (Should change in the future, so try and keep updated prior a purchase). I give this a 7 out of 10...would give it a 8 otherwise if it was more stable

80

In some ways better than Total War. Great Storytelling

Gwildor | June 4, 2013 | Review of King Arthur Collection

A really solid game with a fantastic atmosphere and setting thanks to the tasty audio and visual presentation. The unique take on the arthurian myth will leave you constantly wanting more, and the dynamic nature of the game world and the 4 possible orientations you may choose make sure you don't sit through the same game twice. There are some rough edges, mostly in overworld game balance when your enemies go through impossible technological advancements and just simply overpower you, or when you're showered with half a dozen random side quests all over the land every turn, but overall this is a very good game and the developer support has been fantastic so far, so it might very well become even better. If you ever wanted a crossover between Total War and Mark of Chaos, here you have it.

82

It is worth the money.

Gwildor | June 4, 2013 | Review of SimCity Amusement Park Pack (EU)

I enjoyed spending five hours playing SimCity with this new DLC installed. It does bring more to the game, especially if you enjoy playing the game with a focus on tourism. Is it worth the money I would say so. Considering how much time goes into playing and the amount of fun that I have, ten bucks is not bad at all. I do recommend this DLC, and if you go on to buy it, you will not be disappointed!

91

Fan of Red Orchestra? A must buy!!!

Gwildor | June 4, 2013 | Review of Rising Storm

A good addition to Red Orchestra 2: Heroes of Stalingrad. While some of the annoying things carry over from the earlier series, most notably the infamous is the going prone and unable to deploy your weapon issues. The teams are asymmetric so you really feel the play-style differences. This game is brutal on realism servers but that is part of the appeal. Bullets whizzing by, the strange lighting and shadows on Guadalcanal, the shouts of Banzaii charges, the terror of facing a flame thrower, it's here. Notable lack is no functional armored units at all. One could have expected at least dug in Japanese tanks and Shermans or Stuarts for the Americans. Perhaps in the future. A good buy for brutal WW2 combat

79

Its not so bad like the reviews said...

Gwildor | June 4, 2013 | Review of Aliens vs Predator Pre

AVP is one of those games that I go back to again and again, I'm not big on the multiplayer so i can't comment on that aspect of the game. Overall the game was enjoyable but there were a few annoyances.

While playing through the single player it becomes clear that the stories of the three species somehow interweave but the timeline of the various missions isn't clear. My only real complaint about the single player is that it was much too short but it does manage to keep me coming back to play it again and again.

The combat side of the game is where I found most of the annoyances. Grabbing enemies as a predator while other enemies are around is a guaranteed death, same with the alien. Alien sneaking with surface transition is very annoying because of the camera, I wish it would lock onto your prey or something.

Graphics are fine, but not spectacular, Sound effects are mediocre but I thought the voice acting was good. Overall its a Decent game

81

Ron Gilbert is back!

Gwildor | June 4, 2013 | Review of The Cave

The Cave is a great game and everyone that had a chance to play classic adventure games back in th 80s will immediately get it. It's part platforming, part puzzle solving, filled with dark (sometimes witty) humor. There are 7 characters, each with an unique perk and exclusive level. But I confess I was expecting (much) more. With such pedigree (I mean, this these guys are part of gaming royalty), I expected the Cave to deliver much more. By the end, I did not feel that much compelled to give another playthrough and, honestly, felt kind of disapointed with how the events are concluded. It felt lose, like something was missing. They should patch it, I don't know, give a free DLC or something. The Cave is not a complete game in my honest opinion. It's almost there... but not THERE yet

87

Dont hesitate if you loved the first Borderlands

Gwildor | June 4, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2

The Game is much the same like the first Borderlands. So in short : If u loved the frist one, you will like the sequel.

This Game is a great Singleplayer Experience but ten times better in Coop for 4 Players.

A lot of Farming, a Great Story, a lot Humor .. lovely Graphics.

I recommended this for fps or RPG Gamers.

89

Once upon Time in Juarez

Gwildor | June 4, 2013 | Review of Call of Juarez®: Gunslinger

Amazing, Call of juarez it´s back and it will win a lot of new fans. Perfect sound, more than decent graphics, plenty action, nice narrative, no multiplayer(becose this way the game it´s longer), and it is more than amazing, one of the best games i had ever played in a long time. Don´t wait more and make your self with a copy.