Reviews by H4ZD4M4N

85

Doesn't Disappoint

H4ZD4M4N | June 11, 2014 | Review of Murdered: Soul Suspect™

I loved this game, it has a story that grips you and it's full of interesting characters that you can explore as much or as little as you want.

The only slight problem here is the length of the game. I was actively going out of my way to find collectibles and after getting most of them I still managed to finish the game in 8 hours. If you weren't somebody who bothers with collectibles you could finish it in about 6-7 hours. I'm not sure about replay value because it is largely story driven, I think I'll be going through to get the collectibles I missed though.

Having said that, I really don't know why professional reviewers bashed this game so much, I think it's well worth the money.

Overall, if you play for story, get it! If you play for mechanics, wait until it's on sale.

80

There And Almost Back Again

H4ZD4M4N | April 28, 2014 | Review of LEGO® The Hobbit™

If you played LEGO: Lord of the Rings - and I'm guessing if you're thinking about purchasing this game that you did - you will enjoy this game. It brings the same humour and charm from that game over to the beloved story of Bilbo Baggins and his great adventure with Thorin's company of dwarves.

Like the Lord of the Rings game, there are plenty of side quests and extra areas which allow you to get a lot of replayabillity out of the game, but you won't feel like you missed out if you just play the main story.

Sadly though for book readers, the game only goes up to where the second movie did. I expect the third film will be added as DLC later on but I can't help but be a little disappointed that it wasn't here already.

80

LEGO just can't go wrong!

H4ZD4M4N | April 28, 2014 | Review of LEGO Lord of the Rings

LEGO: Lord of the Rings brings the celebrated charm of the LEGO franchise to the series of Lord of the Rings films we all love so much. Crammed with extras and side quests, you can spend as much or as little time as you want in this game and feel completely satisfied either way.

This is the case with most games for me, but I felt that with this game in particular the experience is greatly enhanced by playing co-op with a friend. The humour that LEGO brings to the famous story is great for reminiscing about favourite scenes from the movies and it really captures the spirit of the LEGO franchise while staying true to the original content.

Overall, cannot recommend enough.

90

Time Vampire

H4ZD4M4N | April 28, 2014 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Unknown

I never played the original XCOM games, but I am highly tempted to do so after playing this one. Please note that I also have the expansion - XCOM: Enemy Within - which adds quite a lot of extra content.

I have spent so many hours in the single player mode of this game, time goes scarily fast when playing. I don't plan on stopping any time soon though, this game will be draining my free time for a long time yet.

The turn-based combat makes for exciting and strategic battles and you are harshly punished for your mistakes in the form of losing the characters you've put so much effort into creating. Both the combat sequences and actual management of the XCOM program are difficult enough to keep you on your toes, ('Ironman mode' really adds to this too) it took me a lot of learning from failed attempts before I actually finished the story.

The range of enemies are very diverse and each introduction to a new species of alien is very well done. You won't find yourself wondering how to combat an enemy upon meeting it, it's all about your execution of the tactics.

The multiplayer allows you to play as humans or aliens - or even a mixed team of both - but it certainly isn't the focus of the game. It's fun when battling a friend (although we did experience a few connection issues when trying to set it up). There is a very limited amount of multiplayer maps too.

If you want a thrilling single player experience, I can't recommend this enough. If you want a good multiplayer game, I'd say look elsewhere.

95

Simply Brilliant!

H4ZD4M4N | April 28, 2014 | Review of The Wolf Among Us

As a huge fan of both the 'Fables' comic series and 'The Walking Dead' series of games by Telltale Games, I was massively excited to get my hands on this game. I can confirm that I was not disappointed.

Following the now classic Telltale formula, you will play as a character who has to make many choices throughout each episode of the game and ultimately feel like your decisions are impacting the story in a big way.

This is a very stylish game and it recreates the Fables universe beautifully in that regard. The characters are all faithful to the originals too, but don't worry if you are not a reader of the comics, they are all introduced properly and fully here.

The episodes that have been released so far (1-3) have been fantastic and I have very high hopes for the next 2 and for a second season to be announced!

Highly recommended.

65

Weird, but good.

H4ZD4M4N | Feb. 2, 2014 | Review of Super Meat Boy

This game is basically a fast-paced platformer. I enjoyed it and am still unlocking more characters and extras within the game.

Like most platformers, it can be very frustrating when you reach a bit you can't do but it's equally as satisfying when you finally get through it. The controls are very responsive and after each death you respawn very quickly which creates a very addictive experience. There will also be gore left behind from previous attempts which can help you navigate your way through the level.

There is a story of sorts, it's more a stereotype of platformers but with out of the ordinary characters. You won't really be paying too much attention to this.

Overall, this game is about the gameplay, the story is not really anything to rave about. That said, I enjoyed it and I think I will continue to enjoy it for a while longer.

75

Good for what it is

H4ZD4M4N | Jan. 31, 2014 | Review of FIFA 13 (EU)

I think most people realise that with a new FIFA game, there won't be too many changes. The game in general is the same every year with some better graphics and engine features which qualify it's new release. But why fix something that isn't broken?

I bought this primarily to get back into the brilliant manager mode that I used to play on FIFA 05 on my PS2. I got into it instantly, I still recognise the features and gameplay from back then. If you are considering this game then I would say get it purely for this, it's always been my favourite part of the FIFA franchise.

Something I didn't recognise from way back then is the Ultimate Team feature. You can buy/sell virtual trading cards to build your team and this feature seems to be getting extremely popular.

Overall, it's almost the same FIFA you already know, but it's definitely worth the price for the improvements they have made.

100

Terrific Storytelling

H4ZD4M4N | Jan. 31, 2014 | Review of The Walking Dead

The Walking Dead is a game is based purely on story, the development of the characters and the bonds you form with them.

I've never bought a game from Telltale Games before but seeing all the hype this particular title was getting along with me being a fan of the TV show anyway convinced me to give it a try. I am so glad I did.

The storytelling in this game is nothing short of a masterpiece. By the end you'll feel like you know these characters inside out and you'll be dying to know what happens to them next. You really become immersed in this world and that is what it's all about.

You'll have some very difficult decisions to make through this game - choices that will affect how the rest of your adventure pans out. It's this personalised feeling to your story which I think really solidifies it as one of my all time favourite games.

That being said, The Walking Dead is primarily an interactive story. I've heard people say they don't even consider it a game. There is the occasional puzzle to solve (they're usually pretty easy) and you're constantly making decisions and interacting with the characters throughout, but I can see why some people may want to see more from the gameplay side. Luckily for me, I'm not one of those people.

Overall, this game surprised me in the most magnificent way imaginable and I cannot recommend it enough. Buy it!

80

An unlikely addition!

H4ZD4M4N | Jan. 31, 2014 | Review of Worms Crazy Golf

This game is a bit of an odd addition to the Worms collection but now that I've played it I can say that it is actually a great casual game to load up when you're just wanting something to jump in and out of.

The golf mechanics are well done, I don't have any real complaints about them. There's a good amount of customisation too so you can go crazy with your worm.

This game also manages to keep the charm of all the other Worms games that we all love so much. It's funny all the way through and oh so satisfying when you manage to smack another worm in the face with an overcharged drive (or, you know, get the ball in the hole).

Overall, I'd recommend it to anyone who just wants a casual game or who is a fan of the Worms series. This game definitely has it's place in my collection.