Reviews by Hardtarget

90

More Great Battlefield 3 Action

Hardtarget | June 3, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 3 Premium Service (NA)

This is a surprisingly great expansion pack for Battlefield 3. Now that all of the content from the premium service is out you actually get more maps than the base game had for half the cost!

Assuming you enjoyed BF3 this is really going to complete your experience. Almost every new map is great and there are a ton of new vehicles and weapons to use as well as lots of new challenges to achieve. It's definitely 'more of the same' but for me this is exactly what BF3 was missing. A definite buy, especially if you can get it on sale.

95

The Full Elder Scrolls Experience

Hardtarget | June 3, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Nexway

Skyrim is a proper Elder Scrolls game. That means a massive world, a massive adventure, and a massive amount of hours.

The main story is fun, probably a bit more interesting than the previous Elder Scrolls game (oblivion), but the side missions is where the real meat of the game is. Sadly the side missions are not quite as good as Oblivion's but they are still very high quality.

The combat is still a bit clunky but Bethesda are slowly improving things and graphically the game looks great. It's definitely a evolution from the past couple Elder Scrolls games but that is not a bad thing. There is almost an infinite amount of things to do in the game and you can level up your character in 30+ different ways.

If you like Big and and Massively Open RPGs than this will be a game that is for you, but for some people it could be too much as the game does not do a lot to keep you on a clear path to victory.

93

Crazy Whacky Fun

Hardtarget | June 3, 2013 | Review of Saints Row: The Third

This is a hell of a game. It hearkens back to GTA 1 and 2 when that series was less serious and more about fun. This is a open world driving game somewhat similar to GTA but with a much more care free attitude. You can do anything and there are really no repercussions. Want to blow something up? go nuts! Have the urge to beat a pedestrian with a giant dildo? You can!

But between all the whackeyness there is a great story that keeps you coming back for more. The Saints are a great crew and have managed to keep these series fresh for years, SR3 is by far the best of the series so far and I highly recommend it if you want a video game that blasts fun from every pore.

93

Fun!

Hardtarget | June 3, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Limited Edition

What a surprised. I absolutely loved this open world undercover cop game, much more so than I figured I would.

The game had a bit of a troubled development history but at the end of the day the developers pulled through and made something that I had fun with for hours. The driving mechanic is fantastic, the hand to hand combat is one of the first open world games that has delivered it well, and the shooting is totally adequate.

The story is absolutely fantastic and what I really liked about the game. It really feels like you are in one of those Hong Kong action movies from the 80s and 90s and I loved the undercover cop idea. The voice acting also really needs to be mentioned, it's all great and really makes you believe in the world. Give this game a try if you're looking for a open world adventure, it is a ton of fun.

72

A Sold Middle-Earth Adventure

Hardtarget | June 3, 2013 | Review of The Lord of the Rings: War in the North

This is a fun, but not amazing, game. It takes place concurrently with the movies and shows a different side of the adventures. All the high points of the series that you expect are represented just from a different group of character's perspective.

It's a action adventure style game that sort of seems like a single player MMO in many ways although the best way to play it is with a couple friends in co-op mode. It reminds me a lot of the old Baldur's Gate Dark Alliance games but a bit more modern.

It's a fun lark!

90

Good Clean Fun!

Hardtarget | June 3, 2013 | Review of Sonic and All-Stars Racing Transformed

What a surprise. I had heard good things about this game so I bought it on a lark and I'm so happy that I did.

The game is a old fashioned kart game but modernized a bit. There are still weapons and powerups but the tracks feel very fresh and are based on a lot of fun Sega properties. The racers themselves are also based on various old sega franchises and each one has their own custom kart that transforms into 3 different modes (water, air, and ground).

The game is just really fun and feels like a modern Mario Kart without all of the baggage that that franchise now has. If you enjoy Kart Racing than this is a highly recommended game for you.

93

Great Expansion!

Hardtarget | June 3, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization V: Gods & Kings

This expansion is practically mandatory for Civilization 5! It ads some great new features in both the early game and the late game (religion and espionage) and really just fleshes out the base game in general.

Gods and Kings doesn't necessarily bring Civilization 5 up to the level of features that Civilization 4 had but I think overall it's a much better game. We're still missing some features here and there (hopefully the next expansion can bring parity to the previous game) but everything just feels more modern and easy to use and play.

Very highly recommended.

87

Great Sequel, Maybe not quite as good

Hardtarget | June 2, 2013 | Review of Batman: Arkham City

What a great game. Arkham City takes all of the ground breaking ideas from Asylum and tries to upscale them. A bigger area, more missions, more bad guys, and more crazyness.

It doesn't always succeed but if you liked Asylum than You'll definitely like City. Highly Recommended.