Reviews by Harry_276

90

A Lovecraft lovers dream

Harry_276 | Dec. 12, 2013 | Review of Call of Cthulhu: Dark Corners of the Earth

Date in graphics but solid in game play Dark Corners is a game that lets its mechanics speak for itself. Lovecraft lore is front and center in this romp through the village of Innsmouth with background detail so crafted that you swear you entered into one of Lovecraft's novellas.

The only downside I would say is how the game goes from a game about surviving and mystery solving to a shooter near the final act, but the shear amount of care they went to making this a quiet apt representation of Lovecrafts world is more then enough to pardon the creators for it.

If you are a Lovecraft fan you will love this game, if your curious about Lovecraft you will enjoy this game, you will be happy you did

90

Wonder the wasteland and never feel like your lost

Harry_276 | Oct. 25, 2013 | Review of Fallout 3

The Fallout games have never suffered from something I feel keeps Skyrim from reaching Fallout's level of quality, focus. Though both games are open world games where you explore and help people around you as your work on a central quest line. Fallout never suffers from Skyrims issue of focus, you always have an idea of what your doing and where your going at all times, and this I feel is very important for a large game such as this.

Though the story is nothing that will change the world it is still entertaining frames the world your exploring in very well, it works to help make a fun game even funner and in the end that is all that really matters. Get this game.

100

A world of wonder under the sea

Harry_276 | Oct. 25, 2013 | Review of BioShock (NA)

From the moment you enter Rapture to when you leave you are imprinted upon by a world you can't really believe. A game that has aged well and will continue to do so it, in my mind, can't be praise enough for its story, setting, originality, and over all experience that it has giving me that no other game to date has. The creators have seem to realize its the little things that matter and they get just as much attention as any major detail, leading to an experience that is refined down to its very nuts and bolts (pun intended).

Why are you still reading this review, get the game, that is all I can say, and you will not be disappointed.

80

An epic adventure that lacks focus

Harry_276 | Oct. 25, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim® Legendary Edition

Epic adventure abounds in the world of Skyrim, if you can focus on it long enough. The latest Elder Scrolls game boasted this huge open world with tons to explore and by god it did deliver, hours upon hours in and I have barley scratched the surface of what this game has to offer, but what could be its greatest strength could also be its greatest weakness.

Though the world of massive and full of adventure it lacks any real focus, sure its fun but its so easy to get sidetracked to such a degree that you may start out on one quest but end up doing something completely different on the other side of the map with 4 more quest added to your log. Don't get me wrong this game is fun and I have had a blast playing, but the environment this game provides makes it too easy to loose focus and ultimately get nothing done when it seems you accomplished allot.

I would still suggest this game to friends, but I would warn them that some extra focus on their part might be required.

85

A rocking adventure that stumbles occasionally

Harry_276 | Oct. 25, 2013 | Review of Brutal Legend

Do you like to rock, kick ass and fight...in RTS battles?

Brutal legend is a game I feel will become one of those little game gems that earn the right to be called cult classic. Play as Eddie Riggs the worlds greatest Roadie as he fights his way through a world of Heavy Metal, and my god is it amazing and full of secrets that will keep you searching for hours. Character is a huge part of this game from the world with designs that would fit on any Metal Album cover to the actual characters and people you interact with along the way, get ready to belly laugh at the game lighter moments only to clench your controller in adrenalin when things heat up.

The only thing I can say is wrong with the game is the main battles. Though most of the fighting is done with your Axe and magic (in the form of powerful guitar riffs) the major story battles take the form of simple RTS style fights. Though there is some strategic logic required and you can fly down to join in the fight it does present an odd shift in tone and can be jarring at first.

That being said this is still a great game and well worth your dollar, get it and get lost in the world of Brutal Legend.

100

Unique doesn't even begin to discribe

Harry_276 | Oct. 25, 2013 | Review of Bastion Cap

The first thing you hear when your character awakens is a soothing but gravely voice telling you the story of your life from that moment on, and you never want him to stop.

Bastion is a rare game that tries something new and chooses to do so in a minor way that works, and my god does it work. You would think having the game narrated the entire time would be annoying but the few moments your story teller is quiet you see just how empty the game feels without him, combine that with amazing visuals, easy yet rewarding combat, character customization through power ups for you and your weapons and you have an amazing game under the guise of a story about a boy and his hammer.

90

The return of greatness

Harry_276 | Oct. 25, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite (NA)

I am a huge Bioshock fan so needless to say I was super excited when I heard about the new entry into the series, let alone it was back in Irrationals hands. I was not prepaird for how amazing this game was, from graphics to story to game play, it almost brought me back to mind set I had when I first entered Rapture. When a sequel invokes feelings not seen since the original, yea you have a good game. My only complaint is they ditch the weapon wheel for a 2 gun limit ala every shooter our there now (sadly) and health kits for a shield with no visual representation of weapon upgrades on said weapons like the previous installments.

That being said these nit picks are not enough to tarnish what is a great game, I would gladly recommend it to a friend or three and let them get lost in the world that is Bioshock.

95

Tons of fun that only gets more awesome with friends

Harry_276 | Oct. 25, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 (NA)

I was skeptical about this game when it came out, considering my time with the original borderlands, but my friends kept pushing and now I don't know why I doubted them. This game is hands down a huge improvement over its predecessor with ever tighter controls and gun play, upped interface and quest dialog, all while retaining the franchises signature humor and introducing of my favorite guys to hate (Handsome Jack) I would suggest this game to anyone with hours to kill, then again when they want something they can play with friends.

Get this game