Reviews by HolyGigi

90

Fighting game with decent story

HolyGigi | Aug. 29, 2013 | Review of Mortal Kombat Komplete Edition

Since the PC is lacking on fighting games, this one really surprised me when it came out. Been a fan of the franchise since the 90s so I was really excited to play it.

The game is good, all the animations are smooth, the characters look really well and it makes you smile every time you land a combo.

Bottom line, if you are looking for a fighting game, this should differently be it.

What I hate though, is that the cut-scenes for the single player campaign are pre-rendered so they look like crap (they are the same as for the x-box or PS3). I hate it when game developers do this and I dont understand it. You update the graphics for the PC, they look really good, but then you let the compressed under-scaled bad cut-scenes in.

99

Best grand strategy game, now better

HolyGigi | Aug. 15, 2013 | Review of Europa Universalis IV: Digital Extreme Edition

Let's be honest here, there is only one reason why a grand strategy gamer won't play this: he is enjoying Crusader Kings 2 too much. But, on the other side, you can just import your kingdom and play it this new game, opening up a huge new world.

In EU4, you get to to control the destiny of a country and play with it in a sandbox. You want to play France and conquer Germany? You can. You want to play Poland and become a colonial power? Its gonna be hard, but you can. You want to be the Ottoman sultan and colonize the North America? Post a screenshot, that's gonna be awesome :)

The graphics have been improved since EU3, the sound is just as amazing as we've come to expect from Paradox and across the board the game has been improved.

Gave it a 99/100 since it still has some small bugs -nothing game braking

80

Company of heroes 1 - but better

HolyGigi | July 16, 2013 | Review of Company of Heroes 2

They went the "if it aint broke, dont fix it" route and they did well. The campaign is nice, although quiet easy even on the toughest level. Some find it brutal, but it really isn't. You need to keep in mind, this game simulates battles, not farming.

The graphics have been improved, but this at a huge cost in performance. I'd say that the worst thing about this game is the optimization - or lack of. Basically, playing a multiplayer game with all settings maxed out is a no go.

The audio track is just superb. First time I logged in, I didnt even went to play the game. Just stayed in the first screen waiting to hear the entire soundtrack - it's that good.

I would've given this game a higher mark if it ran smoothly.

92

Even more meety content for you to enjoy!

HolyGigi | July 16, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II: Sword of Islam

Are you bored of being a nice christian ruler? You wish the pope would just stop messing up your plans? Get this and enjoy a totally different perspective and style of play.

I know that must have sounded like a bad car commercial, but really, you get to play the "other" side, you get to experience a new set of challenges.

100

A must have if you enjoy CK2

HolyGigi | July 16, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II: Legacy of Rome

This expansion brings you the Byzantine empire, the last representative of the classical period. You get specific events that no other culture has and you get to change history. Maybe you will be able to resist the muslim invaders and after that, mend the schism between orthodoxy and catholicism. Or maybe you will fail and re-live history.

Either way, this is worth it.

70

Good for what it is

HolyGigi | July 16, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II: Hymns to the Old Gods

Since this is a song DLC, it doesnt bring any new content to the game. BUT, if you enjoy the music in CK2 and want even more immersion, I would suggest you get it, especially when it's on 75% sale. It's really great to be able to play different nations and have music in the background that actually suits them.

85

Gorgeous game

HolyGigi | July 14, 2013 | Review of Trine

This is one of the most beautiful games I have ever seen. The art is just amazing throughout the game, you can feel the passion that went into. The game is a 2d platformer, you have 3 characters, each with its own strengths and you get to solve different puzzles.

100

Great DLC

HolyGigi | July 11, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II: The Old Gods

Worth every penny, getting to play the Norse kingdoms brings you an entirely new game basically. Plus, you can raid Constantinopole.

If you love CK2, get this, NOW!