Reviews by Hunork

75

Better with the new patch

Hunork | Aug. 3, 2013 | Review of Aliens Colonial Marines and Season Pass

Aliens are like Superman. You can't make a game about them without compromising the very thing that makes them so powerful. So the Man of Steel has a health bar and can be beaten up by Sub-Zero, and xenomorphs - described by Ash in Alien as a 'perfect organism' - can be killed in droves by a single Marine with a machine-gun. In the films they're cunning, merciless, and intelligent; here they're little more than dumb animals.You don't actually see a xenomorph in Aliens for almost an hour. In Aliens: Colonial Marines you're up to your shins in fluorescent green gore within ten minutes. This is because James Cameron understands things like pacing, storytelling, and tension - and because the devs don't. In fact, they don't even seem to understand Aliens. They think it's a film about guns, one-liners, and being 'badass' - a word you'll hear a lot here. But for all their bravado in the first act of the film, the Marines are absolutely terrified when they realise what they're up against. "How could they cut the power, man? They're animals!" The aliens are so unstoppable - so perfect that even an entire squad of highly-trained Marines can't survive an encounter with them.

95

Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hunork | July 31, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect 3 (EU)

So this week I decided its finally time to put out my review for Mass Effect 3, but why so late you ask? Well with all the fuss that surrounded this game at its time of release, I decided to look the other way for a while and let things die down, not to mention muscle my way through my backlog of titles that I haven’t finished yet. I figured it wasn’t worth playing the third title of this grand trilogy until I can spare the time to do the game justice, not just because I wanted to review it, but because I wanted to enjoy it, so here goes. Mass effect 3 has of course been with us since March this year, going from strength to strength in sales with its multi-format release, despite the controversy about its conclusions, re-released endings, patches and DLC packs, none of which I will be discussing beyond this paragraph, given that is already ground well trodden, because in my opinion, if you put 100+ hours (200+ in my case) into a trilogy that you love only to debunk it as rubbish because of the last scene, then I don’t know what to make of that. Love it or hate it, this game, its developers, or its publishers, you can’t deny the numbers, Mass Effect 3 is one of the biggest sensations of this gaming generation, a multi-million selling masterpiece of modern RPG, so lets take a look at what’s new in Mass Effect 3 and see how far Shepard has come in his many fights across the galaxy.

85

Bought it on steam for only 1,74€!!!!!

Hunork | July 31, 2013 | Review of Red Orchestra 2: Heroes of Stalingrad

If you’ve never played the original, you might be really confused. Your HUD is barren. No health count. No ammo count. No magazine count, no real clue as to what is going on unless you press your tactical map or full map…. And all of these decisions are intentional. You don’t have any magical displays in combat in reality, and you won’t on this battlefield either. This makes every combat decision a serious choice. If you’re squaring off against an opponent at medium range and an open field separates you two, and you both have 5 shot bolt-action rifles, when you hear the fourth shot, do you jump your cover and try to make a move? Reloading in this game is no laughing matter, and you are defenseless during it. But that last bullet could be fatal even if it isn’t a headshot. Getting hit in the heart is just as bad as getting hit in the head, and I cannot believe this is one of the few games to acknowledge that a heartshot is just as good for ending someone’s life as a headshot. Taking a page from some other shooters, a cover system is now in play and with it, blind fire. This is NOT your Gears of War blind fire system where you can somewhat aim it with a third person camera. If you are firing blind, you have no goddamn idea what’s out there. Yes, you can sometimes score kills with it if someone is charging down a hallway, but it’s a defensive panic method instead of a viable way to soften/kill players. The only unrealistic thing is how fast you respawn, but staying dead for more than 10 seconds in a FPS is a good way to make your game less fun than it really is. Note that there is a single player component to this game, but it’s…. somewhat lacking. With a Soviet and German campaign, each mission is prefaced by lots of war clips and some well done accents, but the gameplay itself is nothing more than a bot match of the multiplayer maps targeting specific objectives. The bots aren’t anything stellar either—they’ll bump into each other, charge headlong into a pair of soldiers behind cover and… you know, they’re just like your allies online, so never mind.

100

The perfect game!!!!

Hunork | July 31, 2013 | Review of Bioshock Infinite

My favorite aspect of Infinite is the one about which I can say the least: story. The build-up is slow, but it works wonderfully thanks to the small ways other elements flow into the narrative. Elizabeth’s observations help you get to know her, and when she assists you in battle, it strengthens your connection to her. Opening tears keeps you thinking about the possibilities of other realities. Hearing the Beach Boys’ “God Only Knows” being sung in 1912 reminds you that you have a lot of questions that need answers. My only complaint on the narrative front is that the hulking Songbird is under-utilized; for such a cool concept, the beast is relegated to the role of screeching deus ex machina. Otherwise, Irrational ties the remaining story threads together to create one of my favorite game endings in years. Replicating the achievements of the original BioShock is a challenging goal (as 2K Marin’s sequel demonstrated), but series creator Irrational Games returns with a fresh vision and redefines what the BioShock name means. Infinite is more than a new setting, story, and characters; those elements are seamlessly integrated with complex themes, a mysterious plot, and entertaining combat to create an amazing experience from beginning to end. Familiar threads run through it – a lighthouse, a strange city, a charismatic antagonist – but they are homages to the past rather than attempts to recycle it. The core of Infinite is unlike anything else on land, sea, or air.

78

4 new missions

Hunork | July 30, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite: Clash in the Clouds

I love every DLC what contains missions and this DLC is contains 4 missions.Thanks god.Bioshock Infinite is awesome and now with this DLC,it's amazing!!

89

Good in her category

Hunork | July 30, 2013 | Review of Cities in Motion 2

This game is, by leaps and bounds, the best city simulation game to come out in a while. Great AI pathing, impressive graphics, persistent sims, so many choices for transit it boggles the mind, and I could go on. The initial learning curve is hard to get over, but it's well worth it. The tutorial wasn't done very well and doesn't really teach you how to jump head first into the first scenario. I recommend watching at least 1 youtube video on metros and reading up on reddit or another social media site to get past the curve. Be prepared to dream about placing bus stops, trolley lines, and underground metros after the initial 10 hours or so of gameplay. Collapse

70

Best after RE 4

Hunork | July 30, 2013 | Review of Resident Evil: Revelations

Revelation has some flaws - an imperfect controlling system, some short and too easy levels and really stupid story moments, that are typical for the Resident Evil series. Still, despite all this, the new RE is a great game. Episodic formula works great with telling a large, multithreaded story, the game has some real horror, great boss fights and a new game mode. It's definitely worth your time. It’s been so long since I could say, without any second guessing or qualifiers, that I like a Resident Evil game. I don’t just like Revelations — I adore it. Slower mechanics, scrounging for items, and marching headlong into the unknown are features not entirely lost in new RE games, but they’re rarely expressed as well as they were in pre-RE4 titles.

56

Syndicate is better than that!!!!

Hunork | July 30, 2013 | Review of Medal of Honor Warfighter (EU)

The story in Medal of Honor Warfighter might singlehandedly be the most tragic feature in the game’s entire package. Not only because it’s confusing, muddled, and all over the place, but because it’s a complete departure from the “band of brothers” style story that struck me in the last game, and personally, I see that as a missed opportunity. Where the last game was a genuine attempt at honoring military veterans and recreating modern missions normally confidential to everyone but black operations soldiers, Warfighter is more concerned with explosions, bullet-time breach-and-clear events, and acting on far-overused action-film clichés. It’s mainly a story about a man torn between his responsibilities as a father and a soldier – all explained through a handful of confusing, albeit visually stunning cut scenes that give you something to care about and nudge you through the campaign. It’s important to have that when every other thread of narrative is overlaid with yelling, explosions and predictable, nonsensical twists. My biggest beef with the story was the feeling of not knowing where I was, what I was doing, or who the enemy was. Each mission essentially trickled down to “shoot the people with the beards before they shoot you, they’re the bad guys after all.” At least in the last Medal of Honor, you knew who you were shooting, the game reminded you of the Taliban with a persistent passion – Warfighter just assumes you have a working trigger finger. As a whole, the story is far from cohesive, abundant in cliché, and anything but memorable. I think it says a lot that, by the end, I had no idea if I had won the battle or got the bad guy, or even did what I was supposed to do.

80

Sometimes i'm getting rage!!

Hunork | July 30, 2013 | Review of RAGE: Special Edition (Europe)

A must have for both fans of FPS and sandbox games because it succeeds in both genres. An addictive and furiously violent videogame that will be breathtaking for every action fan. It may lack the open-world versatility of S.T.A.L.K.E.R and Fallout 3, the weapon diversity and sheer madness of Borderlands, yet it manages to provide thrilling corridor action and surprisingly well crafted racing that reasserts id's lofty position in the studio charts. Rage won't change the FPS landscape, but it's beautiful to see in motion and a bombastic delight to play.John Carmack has given one more winner.

95

Best Batamn game and the best Fighter-Adventure-Action game

Hunork | July 30, 2013 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year

Batman: Arkham City is getting a Game of the Year treatment and if you haven’t played the game yet then you need to do yourself a favor and run out and grab this, now. Arkham City is a rare bird in that it has been able to improve on an already near perfect foundation. Batman: Arkham Asylum was an outstanding adventure title that surprised a bunch of people. It was large in scale and story so much so that when the sequel was announced I thought there was no way it could be topped. Well I was wrong. In Arkham City you again take control of Batman but this time you find yourself in the super prison known as Arkham City. Arkham City is broken up into zones controlled by villains such as the Joker, Two Face, and Penguin. On top of that the prison is being controlled by Dr. Hugo Strange and his paramilitary goon squad. It makes for one giant powder keg situation and it’s up to you to keep a super villain civil war from breaking out.

69

Good concept but...

Hunork | July 30, 2013 | Review of Brink Nexway

It took about eight hours before Brink finally clicked for me. I’d levelled up, grabbed caltrops as a special secondary power and disguised myself as an enemy. Free-running, I was leaping from boxes to banisters and jumping off walls, doing so just for the pleasure of the movement, and heading to my objective: stop the Resistance stealing hydraulic fluid. I was playing on the Security side, Operative class – hacker, disguiser, all-round jerk. Players tend not to spy-check in Brink, so when I arrived at the hydraulic fluid store cupboard, the Resistance didn’t take any notice. Tee-hee! They were being pinned back by the rest of my team and focusing their attentions on the amassing forces. At least four of them were crammed in there. Their Engineer had dropped a turret inside. It was a stupid place to put it: it wasn’t covering the entrance, but was pointing at his own team. I reprogrammed the turret, and in doing so dropped my disguise, but surprise goes hand-in-hand with a sodding great turret. I tossed the caltrops to add to their misery, and the four foes in the room were ripped apart, all dropping to the ground and begging to be put down (which is actually an option). Now, to get to the fluid, they had to make it past me, their own reprogrammed turret and my shrapnel.

85

Bound in Wild-west!!

Hunork | July 30, 2013 | Review of Call of Juarez: Bound in Blood

Graphics have come along way these past three years and Bound in Blood barely shows any sign of age. The set pieces in this game do compliment the Wild West genre and ignites your imagination. Your surroundings fit just right without coming across as overbearing; everything looks natural as it should. Doesn’t matter if you’re free roaming or on a linear path; all that is around you is believable and as a result becomes immersive . My only criticisms graphics wise are that the “love interest” looks other worldly in comparison to every other character in the game. There is something about her that just doesn’t look right. I think it’s her eyes more than anything. Another criticism is that even though the graphics look great the moment you get a bit closer you can see the visuals begin to deteriorate. Admittedly this is something you’d purposely need to try in order to find out. Other sources on the web mention about graphical glitches and bugs, I believe these are now resolved with the multiple patches over the years. On the flipside my biggest praise is the voice acting and the dialogue. I love how the characters talk in this game; even during missions the brothers throw lines back & forth at one another. It’s great to see emphasise on the brothers chemistry which consistently contributes and develops to the situations they fall into. Ray McCall’s voice actor (Marc Alaimo from the original game) is my personal favourite, he adapts to the role incredibly well and makes Ray stand out as prescience not to reckoned with. Marc’s gravely vocals blend in very nicely to how Ray acts & looks. In my opinion he is the biggest star in the entire Call of Juarez series. The final aspect in the presentation to address is the soundtrack which fits the various moods more than adequately. Music is nicely utilised to magnify tension in the story and to fuel your adrenaline during the many insane gun fights you’ll encounter.

86

The rainbow is just awesome again!

Hunork | July 30, 2013 | Review of Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Vegas

Unlike the previous games in the Rainbow Six series, Vegas actually has an engaging single-player campaign that doesn't feel like a collection of unrelated missions loosely tied together by a threadbare storyline. The game also introduces a new leading man, as our old buddy Ding Chavez has moved out of the field and into the command center. Playing as Logan Keller, you and your team are tasked with taking down Irena Morales, an international terrorist who is determined to wreak havoc in Nevada's neon-lit City of Sin. Gone are the boring, static pre-mission briefings, as the story is instead told via in-game communications from your intel officer, overheard conversations, and during the helicopter rides on the way to the hot zone. In many ways, Rainbow Six: Vegas feels and plays a lot like the other games in the series. The combat is presented primarily from the first-person perspective, and many of the actions are mapped to the same buttons (clicking the right analog will zoom, tapping X will reload, etc.) they've always been tied to. However, Vegas features one new mechanic that completely changes the way you'll play the game. By holding down the left trigger, you'll be able to take cover against nearly any object or wall, and you can quickly pop out to fire a few shots or blind fire at any enemies that are advancing on your position. The cover system also comes in handy when you've taken damage, as characters now have the ability to heal when they're hurt (you can also heal your fallen teammates with a shot from a syringe).

65

This is Battlefield not Call of Duty

Hunork | July 30, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 3: Close Quarters (EU)

You no longer have to worry about that Battlefield 3 along with its Close Quarters has become a better copy of the Modern Warfare 3. Close Quarters brings a very different gaming experience that is not for everyone, but the fact that the game's massive multiplayer now possess more of its pleasant possibilities is undeniable. Those of you addicted to tanks and planes should pass Close Quarters and await more open-ended maps in the upcoming additions.

70

Terrible story,but a fun multiplayer and co-op

Hunork | July 30, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 3 (EU)

I've been gaming on the PC since the late 90s, and this is one of the best games that I have experienced. If you enjoy first person shooters on the PC, then this is a must. The game features stunning graphics, but it can still run, and look good on a mid range PC. This game goes above and beyond what other shooters have done in the past and has interesting and unique features (if you want to call them that) that other games simply do not have. These include realistic physics that affect all projectile objects (bulletts fall over distance), suppressive fire that blurrs the screen of the player being suppressed, lasers that blind you, flashlights that white out your screen in dark areas, and sniper's scopes show a glare in the sunlight. The game also features one of the best animation systems that I've seen. Characters transition naturally from animation to animation. Moving about the environment feels realistic, and it looks realistic when viewing other players. The game provides the opportunity to drive and fly all the vehicles in the game during multiplayer. This is what Battlefield is known for. The vehicle combat is fun, but it requires skill, especially when flying in jets or helicopters. Aside from these new aspects of the game, the recent trend of unlocks and leveling up in shooters is found in this game. You gain experience points for doing things in the game, and that translates into leveling up and unlocking goodies. Battlefield has 4 classes in multiplayer: Assault, Engineer, Support, & Recon. Each class has it's own unlock progression and own special abilities. The game encourages you to be a team player. When playing as a team and playing to the strengths of your class, you earn points faster. All in all, this is one of the best multiplayer shooters out there. The single player game is short, but enjoyable. It will most likely be finished up in under 10 hours. The story isn't necessarily ground breaking, but it is fun to play through. However, quick time events kind of take away from the otherwise good experience. Not to say they are bad, but they don't seem to fit with what this game is about. They feel like they were an afterthought. The story itself is not as well written as some others on the market, but it works just fine for the game. It doesn't detract at all from the experience, it's just not the most original story out there. There are some things which I don't like, but they aren't the game itself. They are Origin and Battlelog. Origin is required to play the game, no matter where you bought the game. The program itself is trying to be an alternative to Steam, but it isn't as user friendly, and it isn't as optimized. It will give occasional errors and crashes. For me, I haven't had too many issues, but others have had a great number of issues. It seems hit or miss. Battlelog is the web interface through which you access the game itself. It isn't too bad, but it is trying to turn the game into a social network, which some like and others don't. You track all your player stats through here, and this is also where you access the game and select serverst to play. You have a communication center in here where you can invite friends to join your game, create partys to play together, and use voice coms with your party.

65

The base game with new missions..

Hunork | July 29, 2013 | Review of Doom 3 BFG Edition Pre

I'm somewhat surprised Bethesda and id Software chose to market this release as DOOM 3, since the inclusion of the original two titles makes it far more akin to a full-on DOOM collection and, in my opinion, would have made it a lot more marketable. Nevertheless, this compilation of titles and additional content works most adequately in celebrating three classic shooters ... provided you're not a PC gamer, that is. The star of the show is, by virtue of name, DOOM 3. You've got at least ten hours of gameplay from the solo campaign, alongside a fully functioning online multiplayer mode, and while it's clear that the game has aged considerably since 2004, I still find it not only gratifying in its combat, but still highly effective as a scary horror game. Say what you will about "cheap" jump scares, but DOOM 3 had it mastered, and it can still make a player jump when it wants to.

90

Fallout in the Metro tunnels

Hunork | July 29, 2013 | Review of Metro 2033 PRE

If you are a casual gamer, you will absolutely not enjoy Metro 2033; only the hardcore need apply. However, those who enjoy games such as Fallout 3, BioShock, and (especially) Half Life, will love Metro. It's a very difficult game, and the progression feels almost exactly like that of Half Life. Almost the entire game is told from Artyom's first person perspective, much like Gordon Freeman. The only problems with the game are, one, a very poor shooting mechanic. Most of the monsters feel like bullet sponges, and good luck getting through a big crowd of them. For instance, the automatic shotgun a weapon that should feel heavy and visceral, and also do catastrophic damage, does not feel drastically different from a basic submachine gun. The other problem is some troublesome visual glitches. It has some really bad screen taring as well as some frame rate slowdown and texture popping. The bad, however, pales in comparison to the good. The atmosphere is stone cold amazing. You truly feel like you are living in a true to life post apocalyptic world. All of the little things are what bring it to life, the requirement to change out filters in your gas masks, the sounds of hustle and bustle in a market square, the rowdy guffaw of men drinking, the frenzied screams of a man getting attacked by a monster, a telltale bloodstain on the wall, the ominous bark of a monster calling its friends; it's all of these factors melded into one that makes Metro 2033 one of the most immersive games I've ever played. Definitely a should-not-miss for the hardcore crowd. Now, if your child wants Metro (which, odds are, he doesn't), here's what I've seen so far of the content. There is blood when you shoot a person or a monster. Bullet holes and wounds show up on enemies. Action is tense, but not overly bloody. In fact, the fights with humans are quite slow paced indeed. The one part that can get fairly intense is when a monster pins you down and you have to stab it in the head to kill it. This is rather graphic. There is a point where you are propositioned by a prostitute, who you can buy. The language is rougher than I'd expected. There's a good many f--k's and s--t's, but that shouldn't be too big a problem. All in all, you're younger kids probably don't want Metro, but if they do, the difficulty will drive them insane, so only mature older teens and adults need apply.

95

unbelievable

Hunork | July 29, 2013 | Review of Mortal Kombat Komplete Edition

You could say, that the PC version of 2011 Mortal Kombat wins the battle, but it's not a flawless victory. Nevertheless, you should check it out - your keyboard will suffer from a brutal fatality, but the amount of fun is satisfying. It's a great beat'em up for solo players - the game has lots of modes and challenges, but it's also great for parties - up to 4 players can play on one machine. The developers need to control some online issues and minor bugs, and the experience will truly be "komplete".

80

Dead Men are not long dead

Hunork | July 29, 2013 | Review of Kane & Lynch: Dead Men

In a year that has seen more than its fair share of outstanding titles in the action/shooter genre, Kane & Lynch manages to set itself apart with an outstanding compilation of levels that are a joy to play through. Therefore, it is all the more disheartening that at the same time, it manages to fumble some of the fundamentals, chief among them the broken hit detection. Eidos could have had a game worthy of the hype and its British Academy Video Games Award nomination

89

Great sandbox game with a great pack

Hunork | July 28, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs Pack

The Sleeping Dogs was the best suprise for me in the summer, I did not expect any extras and a really really enjoyable game I got in return. It is true that just a GTA clone, it is true that you can not really show anything original, but as I have often told you, stealing ideas is not a crime if it is done well. The players Loveables, the actors are really high-quality synchronization job, the story is captivating, the only problem with it might just lie in length. At the stílusnál are a little more meaningful story used to. With all faults, however, the end result is a really good game, which should you get?

90

Awesome story

Hunork | July 27, 2013 | Review of Assassin's Creed 2 Deluxe Edition

Assassin's creed is Ubisoft's best game series ever.Ezio is a great assassin with a great background stroy.I love to buy new clothes and armors.Spending two days finishing this game was well worth it, Playing through this game was very intriguing and fun but also very difficult to walk away from. The only complaint I truly have about the game are the controls. Sometimes your character dident exactly go as you intended and caused defeat. However, the saves were fairly close to where you failed and soon you were right back where you left off killling guards with your different techniques and weapons.I love Assassin's Creed series.

73

Far Cry 3 in the past future

Hunork | July 27, 2013 | Review of Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon

You know how good a joke is when you tell it to someone else. Turns out that Blood Dragon’s scattershot storm of references barely holds together in the cold light of a school run. It’s presented as if playing on a VHS tape, but the story is told through crude sort-of 8-and-16-bit cutscenes, and the game itself is modern 3D. It references 18-rated movies, while the trailer harked toward He-Man. Despite how incredibly hard it tries, it rarely raised much of a smile, although I loved Power Glove’s pitch-perfect soundtrack, which blends parody with homage so well it’s actually good to listen to.So thematically Blood Dragon’s a bit of a mess, but it’s still enormous fun because it’s actually just a tuned up, pared-down Far Cry 3 that’s even less willing to get in the way of uncomplicated mayhem. You start with its four core weapons: a shotgun, assault and sniper rifles, and handgun. You can run like the wind, jump like a kangaroo, and you don’t take fall damage. You’re a Cyber Commando, a resurrected soldier that crosses T-1000 with Robocop, and you’re out to wreak manly justice on your doublecrossing CO, who wears a chainmail vest just like Bennett’s in Commando. Action is pressed to the fore: the island is thick with battles between your faction, the Scientists, and the bad guys, and it frequently feels more than a little Serious Sam.

95

Great game,Great combat sístem and Great DLCs

Hunork | July 27, 2013 | Review of Borderlands Game of the Year Edition

t's that undeniable impulse that pokes at the pleasure centers of the brain when you're looking at that sleek and impossibly flat television at the front of the electronics store. How much better and brighter would life be if only you could bring it home? You consider what's in your wallet, what kind of space rests between credit balance and limit, maybe for a second what your family might think, and perhaps more importantly how jealous your friends would be. It's what drives economies that thrive on consumerism, and that urge to snatch up glittering new toys is what keeps the action energized in Gearbox's Borderlands, a first-person shooter title that caters to the thief, hero, and adventurer lurking in all of us.

For the uninitiated, this is a loot hunting game like Blizzard's Diablo. The action begins and you're flung out into an open world with a handful of quests and legions of baddies who'll do whatever they can to prevent you from killing their leaders, wiping out an arbitrary number of their compatriots, opening drain valves in their hideouts, snatching up important artifacts and documents, or collecting a large number of shiny objects. There's a tale of a secret vault and advanced technology and a snowy image of a female face that pops onscreen when important things are about to happen, nudging you forward and providing additional narrative context, but this isn't a choice and consequence game with morality systems and labyrinthine quest strings. It's the loot that's the real motivator here.

75

That's what i like

Hunork | July 27, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex Human Revolution: Explosive Mission Pack

This DLC for Deus Ex: Human Revolution unlocks a bonus mission (involving Tracer Tong) and features three new items: M-28 Remote Explosive, Automatic Unlocking Device and the The Linebacker G-87 MSGL grenade launcher. It was originally available as a pre-order bonus from certain retailers. The mission is called "You Scratch My Back, I'll Scratch Yours". It takes place during Jensen's second visit to Hengsha. You have to meet Tong's thugs, infiltrate a noodle factory where you rescue Tong and then you receive the Linebacker G-87 MSGL grenade launcher as a reward.

85

I waited so long to get back to the West!!

Hunork | July 26, 2013 | Review of Call of Juarez®: Gunslinger

Silas Greaves is probably full of shit, but that’s OK. He’s a bounty hunter with a million stories to tell, and happy to share them for a whisky or five. Like the times he rode with Billy the Kid, or when he won the praise of Injun magic men, or that shootout he had with Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (simultaneously). In short, tales of hanging out with just about every celebrity in the Wild West… and convenient excuses for why nobody can quite remember seeing him there.

This isn’t just a framing device for Gunslinger’s nine missions, but a big part of what helps this downloadable budget title wash away the foul taste of Call of Juarez: The Cartel. As expected, it’s a linear shooter set in a romanticised version of the Wild West (which the game itself at one point admits is complete balls). It’s also a shooter Greaves and his audience comment on throughout, the narration routinely changing the world to fit the story on the fly. At one point, for instance, you fight through a mine full of dynamite that only an idiot would go into with guns blazing. “That’s why I didn’t,” rasps Greaves, rewinding the story to tell it ‘properly’.

This doesn’t disguise the linearity, but it does make the straight path much more interesting. My only big complaint about the execution – aside from the fact that the dialogue was recorded as individual lines, and so usually fails to mesh into a smooth narrative – is that Techland didn’t use this gimmick on a full-budget game with scope for even bigger, more varied setpieces.

95

Epic game with Epic story and Contracts mode

Hunork | July 26, 2013 | Review of Hitman: Absolution

The Hitman series has always been aimed at the resolutely hardcore. And it's not just that the game's starring Agent 47, the most stylishly dressed killer in gaming, boasted finicky controls and punishing difficulty levels.

These titles demanded players give themselves over to its open-ended gaming structure where a combination of stoical patience and creative puzzle-solving were rewarded. Sure, you could blast your way through levels with twin-ballers if you played the games on the easiest difficulty settings. But unless you surrendered to the series' signature stealth gameplay, the Hitman games would prove an ultimately hollow experience.

This rule of thumb has been almost completely done away with in Absolution, IO's first Hitman game since 2006. Hints of it remain in the design of a couple of levels and the eye-watering challenge that's presented by the highest difficulty setting. But IO have made a number of design choices aimed at broadening Absolution's appeal beyond the core Hitman fanbase, and while there's still plenty to admire here, unfortunately not all of the changes work in the game's favour.

Absolution starts off with Agent 47 being sent to kill his former handler Diane Burnwood, who has betrayed the pair's shadowy employers, The Agency. After a mission that serves as the game's tutorial, Diane lies in a pool of blood and shower-door glass, begging 47 to protect a child named Victoria she has in her charge. He agrees, stashes Victoria in an orphanage in Chicago, and then sets out to find out why The Agency has put such a premium on acquiring her. Naturally, this investigation presents 47 with a ton of targets upon which to apply his death-dealing talents.

This rather decent plot setup unfortunately descends into a farcical mess rather quickly. Granted, the stories running through all the Hitman games are uniformly rubbish, but Absolution is silly by even their low standards. The main problem is that the game's outlandish plot developments jar horribly with the way it's presented as a darkly atmospheric thriller. It can't decide whether it wants to be Grindhouse or Noir and its attempts at straddling both camps fail miserably.

This is a story about a contract killer caring for a defenceless girl at the behest of the only person he ever formed a human connection with. It's also a story in which the protagonist fights a man the size of a brick outhouse while wearing spandex and a Lucha Libre mask in a barn that just happens to be a short walk from a top-secret subterranean science lab. As Agent 47 marches towards his final quarry, the player encounters a stream of increasingly outlandish characters, each one more depraved than the next.

80

Fun and good

Hunork | July 5, 2013 | Review of Ninja Blade

In 2011, in a tiny town, a few unusually bloodthirsty beast attacked the residents. The bitten victims could discover traces of a viral infection, but the symptoms have changed drastically in a short time.

Scientists have learned that it is not a virus you're dealing with, but barely visible microscopic worms that are each capable of thousands of eggs kispriccelni themselves, thereby rapidly increasing the chances of a possible infection. But even worse, the victims in a horrific changes over time, terrible monsters have changed completely losing their human being. Unfortunately, the government is too late to recognize the huge threat, so the final solution actually dropped the atom infestation. The media just say that my accident happened because they knew that if the truth were leaked to unpredictable consequences. I suspected that there's more, it founded a secret society whose GUIDE (Global United Infestation Detection and Elimination of Ground or United Infection Survey and destroys) was laughing. The world's best fighters managed to win the case, who is not only professional, but also very discreet. 2015, Tokyo. The capital of Japan napműholdak show familiar signs of infection but the risk is much higher than normal ...

79

Space and robots

Hunork | June 9, 2013 | Review of Strike Suit Zero

Fast-paced combat feels new and exciting

The ability to transform injects much-needed creativity into the old formula

Captivating renderings of outer space draw you into the world

Hard to acquire upgrades and multiple endings extend the game's replayability.