Reviews by IDprofile

50

Outdated

IDprofile | May 2, 2014 | Review of Midnight Club II

Graphics - Looks decent for 2003 but highly outdated for 2014, runs smooth, native support for high resolutions like 5760x1080, HUD isn't centered for multi monitor displays, vehicles look similar to real vehicles but are not licensed with real names like Ford, Honda, Mazda, etc. and also no cockpit camera.

Controls - Barely supports the use of a wheel, no clutch, low resolution turning axis, very touchy, braking is violent, and no ability to counter steer.

Gameplay - Open world environment to explore and race around, voice acting, few short loading screens, police, destructible environment, no car customization other than single color paint, game avoids menus by having you instead interact with other racers ingame.

Verdict - Seems like it would have been an impressive game back in 2003. Not worth playing unless you really enjoy old arcade racing games.

81

Artistic Masterpeice

IDprofile | May 2, 2014 | Review of PID

Pid is a very attractive game in means of graphics. By this I don't mean that the game looks realistic, but that the game has a very good artistic appeal to it. The resolution of all the textures in the game are great, and I feel like as I play there is so much artwork to be enjoyed that has been put into the game. The controls are good, GUI is not lacking, and the game includes necessary features such as being able to map controls any way you want to. The gameplay is great, however the story does not go far into depth. But in my opinion, all that matters is that this game has great gameplay, good puzzles, and an amazing atmosphere with great sound effects and graphics.

97

Best in Genre, Great Game, Worth it

IDprofile | May 2, 2014 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization® V

Civilization V is one of the best (if not "the" best) turn based strategy games on PC. Civilization V is a game that doesn't really get old, and can be played day on end. I really enjoyed the Civilization series, and Civ 5 is the best of them all in my opinion. Loading screens may not be fantastic if you are running on high graphics settings, and I have had my fair share of issues with bugs. But the graphics are amazing, gameplay is perfect, and the game is actually quite educational (yet still remaining fun and comical). Civilization V has a huge modding community that introduces thousands of mods to try out and play around with.

If you ask me, this is one of the best games you could buy and is definitely worth playing. I can't imagine anybody being dissatisfied with this game.

80

Amazing Combat But Not Scary

IDprofile | Feb. 12, 2014 | Review of F.E.A.R. 3

If you are looking for a scary game than F.E.A.R. 2 is the scariest in the series. While F.E.A.R. 2 is one of the scariest games out there to buy, F.E.A.R. 3 is not at all scary. However the combat is amazing. The controls are fluid and work. The guns and the ability to posses AI enemies is very fun. The multiplayer in both cooperative and wave mode are extremely fun. If you are looking for an FPS game to play with your friends then this is it. The graphics are quite good and the game runs smoothly on low end computers. I really suggest playing F.E.A.R. 3. I also suggest playing all of the F.E.A.R. series.

95

Eye Candy and Fast Combat

IDprofile | Feb. 10, 2014 | Review of Crysis 3 (NA)

The first Crysis game made a reputation as being the most graphically intense game ever made and kept it's title for quite a while. As the video game industry progressed in technology, Crysis became outdated. Crysis is back with it's third installment taking back the title as the game with the highest graphics.

The story is future science fiction with aliens so it's of course quite interesting. The characters have amazing actors and top notch facial animation.

I'll be honest. The gameplay is not as good as the first Crysis. It's much more linear with smaller maps and less options as to how to approach your objective ingame. The combat is still very good. Constant fast paced action while always giving you the ability to slip into the shadows and take things slowly.

The online multiplayer gamemodes are very fun, fast paced, have good maps, and unique from other FPS title games.

The combination of extremely realistic graphics and great acting make this game very immersive. Even if it's not your type of game you could still get it to show of your computer's graphics or to stress test your computer's hardware.

Check to see if your computer has the horsepower to handle this game at it's highest. If not, at least at the minimum settings requirement.

55

Good story

IDprofile | Feb. 6, 2014 | Review of Tomb Raider Game of the Year

This game is not for everyone. There is a great story with great voice acting, amazing graphics, and great cinematography. The constant cutscenes, and quick time button mashing events can make it feel like you are barely even playing the game. Half the time you are just sitting back and watching a film. However if your are looking for an easy laid back game with an immersive story then this is what you are looking for. An example of one of the moments that really bothered me is that there are quite a few times where your avatar Laura is hanging onto the edge of a cliff and one of her hands slips, leaving her single handily dangling. You must quickly press a button to swing her dangling hand back onto the ledge or she will fall to her death and you will need to restart the event. However one of these moments happened again and so I started quickly pressing the button to save myself but no matter what I did she still fell and I discovered that it was all just part of the story as she fell and slid down the hill. This really broke my immersion making me feel like I had no control of the game and was simply watching already decided events take place. I got the game on sale so I still think it was worth it to play.

85

Great atmosphere and story

IDprofile | Feb. 6, 2014 | Review of Mafia II

The story is this game is great with good voice acting, immersive environment with amazing graphics, good looking and handling cars, and a true '40s/'50s feel. The guns sound and feel great with plenty of recoil and destructive environment you feel like you have a truly powerfully machine in your hands. Anytime in between objectives you can go where ever you like on a very well made map, stealing cars, robbing shops, running from the police, shopping for clothes, driving around at high speed, jumping your cars up ramps and over houses, going to your crib to eat a sandwich to refill your health, shopping for guns, finding collectables hidden across town, etc. You should play this game if you haven't already. It's own of a kind and a great experience. I've replayed the game three times so far.

85

Great ballance between simulation and arcade

IDprofile | Feb. 6, 2014 | Review of F1 2010

Good looking game menu works well. Graphics are amazing. Easy to control no matter the controller, keyboard, gamepad wheel. Handling feels realistic and can be difficult to control but easy to get the hang of. Optional driving aids for every player. Proper Nvidia Surround/AMD Eyefinity support. Force feedback for wheel users. Good AI drivers for single player races. Time trial race against your best time or other player's times. Multiplayer. Runs well on low end gaming PCs. Customize your car setup before races such as gear ratio, tires, wing, ride height, etc. Audio is great. If you enjoy racing games I suggest you pick up one of Codemasters F1 games. There are now newer Codemasters F1 games that are better but this is still a great game, if you don't own the newer ones and you can get F1 2010 cheap on sale, I suggest you do.

76

A must play.

IDprofile | Nov. 17, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim® Legendary Edition

Skyrim is one best in it's class. Everyone should try out this game. If you are new to video games then this is the best place to start. Easy learning curve and controls. The main story is short and not very good but the game is open world and built upon optional side quests that you can obtain by talking to characters you meet on the street or by joining guilds. The lore is a bit odd but it's enjoyable and immersive. Voice acting and dialogue is not great but perfectly fine and there is so much of it. Play how you want to play. Want to play as a soldier equipped with a war axe and shield, want to be thief that relies on stealth and steals from the rich, want to be a mage and cast spells on your enemies, or are you going to mix together the different skills to play as the character you want to play as? The game comes with the Creation Kit with which you can write your own quests and design custom NPC characters or even create your own game world to be used in game. Skyrim has a very large community of modellers, programmers, composers, artists, and actors that are always uploading new content for players of Skyrim to download and add to their game so that there is always a new quest to go on, a new house to live in or a new monster to slay. This game can be repetitive at times but with the constant community content being added you should be able to find hours of fun. This game is a bit of an unfinished product with poor optimization for varying computer systems and lots of bugs in the software. I'm quite disappointed in Bethesda for having released an unfinished game and not fixing their mess afterwards with updates. You should really give it a try especially if you haven't played many games like it before.

90

The #1 Trucking Game

IDprofile | Nov. 5, 2013 | Review of Euro Truck Simulator 2

I'm a big driving sim guy with a Logitech G27 steering wheel, three 1920x1080p displays and a killer gaming PC. If your a driving sim fan like me then this game is a must buy as it is the top trucking simulator out there. However some of you may not be much of drivers, but trust me you will still have a lot of fun trying your hand at towing a long trailer around a turn as you knock down lamp posts and plow through traffic. Whenever my friends are over they want to play the Euro Truck Simulator 2. It's fun to watch them drive really terrible at first but then progressively get better and better until they are backing up trailers like pros, that experience in game shows in the real world on the road. Ever wanted to tow a trailer in the real world? Start here in Euro Truck Simulator 2! This is a great learning tool. Get your practice backing up trailers in game instead of on the real streets.

80

The Most Fun I've Had In A Racing Game.

IDprofile | July 4, 2013 | Review of DiRT 2

Dirt 2 is an arcade offroad racing game. Although not a realistic simulation of driving Dirt 2 is purely fun and doesn't stretch too far from reality. If you are wanting to ease through the game without difficulty then you can set the opponent drivers to drive slow for you but if you're looking for a real challenge Dirt 2 will pull through and have you racing to the edge with a heavy sweat and a beating heart you will fight for the podium. Dirt 2 when paired with a force feedback steering wheel is a fast paced thrill. I highly recommend this game to anyone who enjoys the rush of a race.