Reviews by InsaneHien

90

Another CS game that you'll like.

InsaneHien | Jan. 5, 2014 | Review of Counter Strike: Global Offensive

The Counter-Strike games have been known to be competitive. They are a series of tactical first person shooters in which the games pits terrorists against counter-terrorists. The goal is to complete the mission objective or kill the opposing side.

Counter-Strike: Global Offensive is a major redesign of the series. It has new weapons, redesigned maps, new models, new sounds, new game modes, and new graphics. As like the other CS games, you earn money for winning and killing and that money can be spent on weapons and other equipment.

This is one of the top 10 most played games on Steam right now, so there's plenty of players and servers to play in. A definite buy for anyone that's into Counter-Strike.

93

Better than playing Call of Duty.

InsaneHien | Jan. 5, 2014 | Review of Battlefield 3 (NA)

For a game focused on multiplayer, I could say the Battlefield 3 may be the winner. I've personally only played CoD up until Black Ops II. I wanted to play a CoD competitor, so I got Battlefield 3 when it was on sale for $5. Man, that may be the best $5 I have spent. So much better than the same old Call of Duty.

This game has huge maps. I'm not used to playing maps that big, so I had to adjust to it. What else is there? 64 player battles on PC, that's the first I've seen. The game itself looks very nice. I put it on max settings @ 1080p. It looked so nice that I couldn't play the game until I had to turn down to medium settings for playability. I have an almost 5-year old GPU (Radeon HD 5750), but I'll be playing this again when I build a new gaming PC.

Overall, Battlefield 3 seems to be your average FPS with a focus on multiplayer. Way better than CoD. Most people have already probably moved to Battlefield 4, but if you haven't played BF3 yet, get it.

88

Another level cap increase.

InsaneHien | Jan. 5, 2014 | Review of Borderlands 2: Ultimate Vault Hunter Upgrade Pack 2

Gearbox recently released the second level cap increase add-on for Borderlands 2. As with the first Ultimate Vault Hunter Upgrade Pack, this add-on adds 11 more levels and more awesome loot. You will also gain access to the Raid on Digistruct Peak map, offering a decent challenge for the players. If you've been looking to get back into the game, this add-on may pull you back in especially if you already have went through Ultimate Vault Hunter mode.

77

FIGHT!

InsaneHien | Jan. 5, 2014 | Review of Mortal Kombat: Arcade Kollection

3 games in one package. You get Mortal Kombat, Mortal Kombat 2, and Ultimate Mortal Kombat 3. Great games, I say.

This brings back memories. I used to play these games on my SNES all the time when I still had it out. I had some very good times playing with my friends. With the Arcade Kollection out, I can play on my PC. without pulling out the SNES.

Now back to the Arcade Kollection. These games are based on its original arcade versions. It's a port, so expect some flaws. The addition of online play was enough for me to purchase this, but the inclusion of GFWL is annoying. A good buy for the old school fans. The full price for this package is $10. It usually goes on sale for $2.49 so for that price, I can't complain much.

95

Waiting for a complete edition? Then this is it.

InsaneHien | Jan. 5, 2014 | Review of Borderlands 2: Game of the Year Edition (NA)

One of the best games of 2012 returns with a (sort of) complete edition. This package grants you Borderlands 2, the 4 DLC campaigns, Mechromancer and Psycho pack, the first level cap increase (Ultimate Vault Hunters Upgrade Pack), Collector's Edition pack, and the Creature Slaughterdome add-on. The add-ons that were not included are the second level cap increase, Headhunter packs, and the extra cosmetic skins. Not all of the DLC is in this package, but it includes the most important ones.

If you have not bought the game yet, get it. Even better when it's on sale.

83

Less horror and more action

InsaneHien | Jan. 5, 2014 | Review of Dead Space 3 (NA)

Dead Space 3 is not a bad game, but it isn't the best in the series. For a series known for it's survival horror elements, I thought this one was disappointing to the fans, but I did find this one as fun as the first two games. If this is your first time playing the Dead Space games, you will most likely enjoy this one.

The gameplay hasn't changed much, but it adds crafting and scavenging for parts. These part are used to create new weapons. I thought this was well done by Visceral, so good job on that. They also added co-op which is also a nice addition, although I've never tried it yet. The graphics look great as usual although it doesn't look like it hasn't improved.

Although it's not the best in the series, I would say Dead Space 3 is worth playing.

98

Very fun co-op shooter with friends.

InsaneHien | Jan. 5, 2014 | Review of Left 4 Dead 2

Valve did a great job with Left 4 Dead 2. You play as 1 of the 4 survivors and their job is fight against the Infected as you and your buddies find an escape in each campaign. L4D2 has 13 campaigns, with 6 of them coming from the first game.

This game has a big focus on co-op play, so it's highly recommended to play with 3 other friends or other players. If you're bored of playing Campaign, there's also Survival, Versus, Realism, Realism Versus, Scavenge, and the Mutations. With the addition of the Steam Workshop, this makes the replay value pretty high. For a 2009 game, L4D2 is still one of the most played games on Steam today.

88

More leveling in Borderlands 2

InsaneHien | Dec. 29, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2: Ultimate Vault Hunters Upgrade Pack

Borderlands 2 is a great FPS/RPG hybrid game. If you are looking to add more play time, get the Ultimate Vault Hunters Upgrade Pack. This DLC adds 11 extra levels (level cap raised to 61), new weapons, and a new difficulty level. In this new difficulty level, you play through the game again and face harder enemies while earning better loot in return. If you feel like level 50 was not enough, then this DLC is for you. You should already have this if you bought the season pass.

87

2011's Mortal Kombat now on PC!

InsaneHien | Dec. 25, 2013 | Review of Mortal Kombat Komplete Edition

The 2011 reboot of Mortal Kombat was one of my favorite fighting games of the generation, alongside Super Street Fighter IV, Tekken 6, BlazBlue, and KOF XIII. Although I didn't purchase the game at first when it originally came out on consoles the same year, I did get the game eventually last year on PS3 when the Komplete Edition was released. I'm glad they went back to the 2D fighting style, but with 3D graphics which is awesome. I had difficulty playing this game when I first got it since I had not played a MK game since MK vs. DC Universe, but it took a while to get back into the series. Although I sucked at this game, and still do, it was fun game to enjoy.

Fast forward to 2013 and the Komplete Edition of MK9 returns for the PC. The game has everything from the original release of the complete edition including every piece of DLC for the game, only now ported to the PC. Side-by-side, it looks a lot better than when I played on PS3 due to anti-aliasing, higher resolutions, increased texture & shadow quality. Thumbs up to High Voltage for doing this.

In terms of online play, Mortal Kombat 9 was decent albeit with some noticeable lag although not a lot to make me forfeit in my matches. I had good connection in all of my matches, so I would assume the netcode for the PC version hasn't improved much. Either way, it might just be a hit-or-miss when playing online. Other than that, I just wish more people were playing this on PC.

To those who are fans of the series or fighting games in general, and/or have not picked up this game yet or for some reason wanted to play the game again on PC, go ahead and buy the game!

96

A much improved sequel to Borderlands

InsaneHien | Nov. 19, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 (NA)

I was very hyped about playing Borderlands the first time I got it. The gameplay, controls, graphics, and content were all spot-on. Then, overtime, I felt that the customization and story were its weak points. Lots of repetitive missions in which I got very bored and tired of doing, but its DLC makes up for in the story. Despite these shortcomings, it was overall a great FPS/RPG hybrid game.

With Borderlands 2 already out, everything taken from the first game has been improved. Gameplay and controls haven't changed a bit, with a new story, characters, and settings. It's nice to see Gearbox add humor to game, something that I haven't enjoyed in a while. Customization has been improved, along with plenty of content. I come back to this game whenever I get bored, and my fun never stops! There aren't many games like this.

Borderlands 2 is overall one of the best games of 2012, and with a GOTY edition recently released, it should be picked up by those who have been holding out on the game for a while or just waiting for a (sort of) complete edition to be out. Would recommend this to several friends. Thanks Gearbox for making a great game!

87

Excellent story

InsaneHien | June 14, 2013 | Review of Alan Wake

Alan Wake is all about fighting the Taken. You weld a flashlight, some guns, flares, and flash bangs, which are very useful in tough situations. The story is great, and is presented in a television show through episodes. Gameplay can get a bit repetitive. I'd say it is average. Great physiological thriller video game.

99

One of 2011's best RPGs

InsaneHien | June 14, 2013 | Review of The Witcher II: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition

To be honest, I have never heard of The Witcher and its sequel until last year. Since I had a big interest in Action RPGs, I decided to pick this up to see what made this game so great.

First time playing the game, I noticed the graphics looked absolutely stunning. Textures look detailed, and the whole world just looks excellent. Everything is lovely at 1080p.

The combat is very solid. Although it's hard to master and requires skill, there's a tutorial for newcomers of the game. From sword fighting to magic spells, it fits really well for a game like this.

The story is pretty interesting. You play as Geralt of Rivia, one of the last remaining witchers. He welds two swords and magic abilities. You'll also meet other characters like Triss Merigold as the story unfolds.

Overall, everything is wonderful. Plenty of hours can be spent on The Witcher II. If you are a fan of action RPGs, I would recommend this game.