Reviews by Jericho417

50

No thanks.

Jericho417 | Aug. 9, 2014 | Review of Assassin's Creed III (NA) Other

The best part of this game was the sea battles. Beyond that, I absolutely hated it. Connor is the least interesting character in the series. Combat was cut and paste from the Ezio story line. The writing just felt lazy, I didn't want to continue. It's hard to judge the aesthetic choices because the architecture in the Americas was just ugly in that era. Building a town was alright, I guess, but I didn't feel invested in the act. I play Assassin's Creed to assassinate historic figures and enjoy the scenery, not play a "the Guild" knock off mini-game. So much of the map is forest. That's fine in games like Elder Scrolls, but not AC. This is hands down the worst game in the main series. The end of Desmond's story was just... I don't even know. Desmond's story has been getting stranger and stranger but... the end of his story made absolutely NO sense what so ever. It was poorly written and executed. Repetitive tasks and bad or boring plot killed this game. Still, the things Desmond does between Animus sessions are still better than playing as Connor.

75

Ezio's final story

Jericho417 | Aug. 9, 2014 | Review of Assassin's Creed® Revelations

I really loved AC 2 and Brotherhood, so I had high expectations for Revelations. It's the conclusion to Ezio's story, right? Well, unfortunately, it was a let down in so many ways. It felt really short, shorter than the previous games. Maps didn't feel as full and large as the other games. I had a difficult time getting multiplayer to work, nothing seemed to work. I had to tweak controls a bit because the default set-up felt a bit wonky. I liked all the added history, though. Presenting history in an enjoyable fashion, spurring curiosity and having an entry with more details worked well. Like the other AC games, the port was well done and didn't feel lacking. I liked Ezio and felt that his story could have ended better, though his after-the-game life seemed well enough.

80

Continuing Ezio's story.

Jericho417 | Aug. 9, 2014 | Review of Assassin’s Creed® Brotherhood Deluxe Edition

I really enjoyed Assassin's Creed 2 and there is enough content in Brotherhood to justify an entire game for it. It does feel a bit short, but we've seen shorter games with far less to offer. The detail in this game is much like AC2, absolutely fantastic. Scenery is beautiful and great to traverse. History notes are enjoyable to read. Combat is polished and effective, though countering constantly is a bit boring. The added mechanic of training and managing other assassins was quite interesting. One complaint I have about Brotherhood is that, while it's a fine port, why do I get 360 button prompts on PC? I mean, yes, the game is more suited for a controller, but I prefer keyboard and mouse. Everything else was fine for the PC port. Graphic options were nice and it met my expectations.

65

Poor execution

Jericho417 | Aug. 9, 2014 | Review of Assassin's Creed™ Director's Cut Edition (NA) Other

I felt that Assassin's Creed had a rough start The dual story between Desmond and Altair didn't really feel necessary. It was all focused on Altair, with Desmond seeming boring and useless. It was like intermission. The parkour mechanics were a bit glitchy and unpolished. Traveling between zones felt like a chore. Altairs story was interesting, though. Combat was rough, not working like I had wanted. Still, the Animus is possibly my favorite story tool ever. As an introduction to the series, I think it hurts the franchise. I just didn't enjoy most of the game.

90

New City

Jericho417 | Aug. 9, 2014 | Review of BioShock Infinite (NA)

Columbia is one heck of a city. Where as Bioshock 1 and 2 were underwater, Bioshock Infinite is up in the clouds. I loved the atmosphere and the aesthetics. The people of Columbia felt like they belonged there, natives, instead of being cut and paste generic NPCs. The story was great, with twists and turns that made me feel like a bit of a creep (Sorry, Elizabeth!). Combat felt great, especially when you could use rails to zip around the battlefield. Learning about Columbia and the work that went on there was quite fascinating. The bizarre outcome of that work definitely reminds you that you're playing a Bioshock game.

80

Back to Rapture

Jericho417 | Aug. 9, 2014 | Review of BioShock® 2

Bioshock 1 had this really great feel to it. It was unique and felt thick with it's atmosphere. Bioshock 2 is an enjoyable game, but it doesn't really add much to the first. The story is interesting and we learn more about what went on in Rapture, but a lot of what made the first game great comes out a bit stale here.

When viewing it on it's own, it's an interesting game. You play as a prototype Big Daddy. One of the very first. Problem is, you died. Ten years later, you're revived by in a Vita-Chamber. I liked the plot and the twists. Gun play and plasmids were done much like the first game, with a few small changes. I never found myself bored with fights. I did notice some stability problems, though. A crash or two isn't a big deal, but I became a bit paranoid about it.

95

Worthy of the praise

Jericho417 | Aug. 9, 2014 | Review of BioShock (NA)

The atmosphere in Rapture is so good. It's a place that's decaying and falling apart, which you can see all around you. The story is really great, even messing with your head a bit. Combat feels well done and I really enjoyed the powers you unlock. Through out the game, you get the choice of how you treat the Little Sisters. It was always a bit unnerving having the little girls act as they did, when you were taking the adam from them. It paints a picture of just how brutal the others in Rapture may have treated them. Big Daddies were a hassle to deal with, when they just wanted to protect the little girls.

90

Great amount of freedom

Jericho417 | Aug. 9, 2014 | Review of Just Cause 2

I love this game, I really do. Whether I'm riding through the sky, on top of a place or tethering vehicles together and dragging them around. There's just a lot of ways to goof off. The story is enjoyable, as well. The game looks great, especially considering how unbelievably small the game files are. It's only about 4GB. You have access to several guns, which you can upgrade. Vehicles, as well. The black market lets you call down whatever you need. The guns kind of feel a bit lazy, though. They're fairly generic and don't have any real feel to them. But hey, you can dual wield SMGs so what the heck. The option of choosing what to dual wield is really cool. I personally went with an SMG and grenade launcher.

The game has a multiplayer mod, which I HIGHLY recommend. I played a lot of SA-MP for san andreas and it reminds me of that. You get an absurd amount of freedom and others to play with. You want the mayhem of having the ability to spawn nearly any weapon and vehicle and murdering each other with them? That's an option.

89

Hell of an end

Jericho417 | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of Mass Effect 3 (NA)

As the finale to a great series, everyone had high expectations. For the most part, they delivered. However, the endings caused a lot of drama. Understandably so, because they felt less polished than the rest of the game. The story had some rough edges here and there, but it's still deserving of it's praise. Side missions are a big part of the game, like they were in the second. You're trying to build an army to take on the Reapers, so you do a lot of running around. Combat was much like the second game, only a few small changes here and there. If it's not broke, don't fix it, I guess. The dialogue options were a bit more robust, but at times, it felt like your choice didn't really effect anything. I felt that this game was just a little inferior to the second game, but it's Mass Effect we're talking about here. The games are all awesome and this one is no exception.

90

Best in the series

Jericho417 | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of Mass Effect 2 (NA)

This is a very good sequel, exceeding the standards set by the first by leaps and bounds. I missed the planetary exploration with the Mako, though. Even without it, though, it's a big universe full of activities. The characters are more developed here, with the game promoting social interactions with them. The Normandy has been rebuilt and is better than before. The ship feels more alive, certainly not a cut and paste from the first game. The story adds a lot to the universe, introducing a lot of back-story. Over all, I really liked the direction they took here. The conversations feel more polished and the writing was top notch. They even explained away Shepard's death from the first game in such a way as to not treat the player like an idiot.

85

A good start

Jericho417 | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of Mass Effect (NA)

Mass Effect one was a good start to a fantastic trilogy. We're introduced to a great universe full of interesting races. The cast was great, certainly worthy of continuing on in to future games. One thing I really enjoyed was the planetary exploration. You could land on the planet and drive around to explore. You could encounter random baddies and various interesting things like crashed ships. The story was great, though the ending seemed kind of final at the time. It's a Bioware game so it has a lot of well written dialogue, though the choices seem a bit limited.

70

Worse in the series

Jericho417 | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of Dead Space 3 (NA)

Don't get me wrong, DS3 isn't a bad game. However, they completely gave up on what made Dead Space great. The first game had the atmosphere, the second had the story, this one has you fighting a freaking moon. I was so disappointed when I finished this game. The necromorphs became more of a chore to deal with, even in the new pretty sets. The game is pretty, certainly. You even get to explore the ruins of an ancient alien civilization. But pretty doesn't make up for the shortcomings. They did a cash grab with DLC and in game purchases. You collect resources with a bot, but you can gather so much more after purchasing the extra stuff. They were cool enough to leave a known exploit for gathering resources, but it takes quite a bit of effort to benefit from it very much. It's an enjoyable game, but far less so than the previous two. They left the ending open enough for the possibility of a fourth title, and that worries me. We already fought a moon, so how will they top that?

80

A step back

Jericho417 | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of Dead Space 2 (NA)

Dead Space 2 took a step away from horror and a step towards action. I was hooked on the story, so I didn't mind as much. There's a part of the game where you revisit the Ishimura, which might be my favorite part of the entire game. I'd argue that the action in Dead Space 2 might be the best in the series, with dead space 1 being the better atmosphere. Still, what's amazing about Dead Space 2s story is that you're there as the necromorphs rampage through Titan Station. You're present when things go down the toilet and get caught in the middle of it.

85

Scary fun

Jericho417 | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of Dead Space (NA)

The game that started it all. Dead Space is a blast to play. The level design was great and the aesthetic design of the ship was really cool. Combat was intentionally frustrating. I mean, you play a miner and not a space marine. He specializes in mining tools, not assault rifles. The weapon selection was a lot of fun, with many different options for slicing up the necromorphs. The story was well put together, I was at the edge of my seat wanting to learn more about what had happened. I've replayed this game dozens of times and I still jump from time to time.

75

A lot of potential

Jericho417 | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of Dead Island: Game of the Year Edition

Dead Island started off with a controversial trailer that gave quite an impression. However, once you play the game, you're me with a whole lot of ugly. Everything looked like it belonged to a game from 2006, but it was released in 2011. I was also hoping for strong survival elements, but it was just sort of... ok. The combat was a problem. Guns don't make a regular appearance until a bit in to the game. That relief is quickly met with horror when you realize how bad they are, from feel to function. Besides not being terribly effective against anyone, they were awkward to use. They felt like they had no weight, just the usual badly execute gun play. I'm not saying that I didn't like the game, I played it heavily with friends when it came out. Overall, I wish it were grittier with a bit more realism. Still, a fun way to kill 20 hours.

80

Great Voice Acting

Jericho417 | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of Bulletstorm (NA)

Bulletstorm is a very bizarre shooter. You earn points by creatively slaughtering your foes, then use those points as currency. You're literally payed more to kick a guy in to a spiked fence than to shoot him in the face. Combat was pretty fun for a while, but it did get a bit stale after a few hours. The story was definitely good, but the voice acting won me over. Then again, I'm biased when it comes to Steven Blum. I was expecting this game to be short, but it was actually around 9 hours for me. As far as FPS games go, that's not that bad.

80

A good open world Zombie game

Jericho417 | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of State of Decay

State of Decay is part of the recent wave of survival games. You search for survivors and supplies while fending off the hordes of undead. I'm a huge zombie fan, so this game was definitely a must have for me. You get a lot of missions, sometimes jumping through a lot of hoops to earn someones trust. I liked the game, but it was unpolished. I had bugs galore.

Cars were a problem for me, in this game. Of course, cars shouldn't be indestructible. However, they felt far too fragile. Cars would sometimes start smoking after hitting just a few zombies, which would make it inconvenient to get back to base once it was on fire. Also, I would have loved character creation to be part of this game. As the player, you swap characters easily and often. It broke the immersion a bit, that I wasn't particularly attached to any one character.

70

Too much over-the-top

Jericho417 | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of Saints Row IV

So, the last bit of restraint goes out the window. The bulk of Saints Row IV takes place in a virtual world. Because of that, things tend to go overboard. I really enjoyed the super powered game-play, but I would have preferred it in a different game. It was a lot like Prototype, especially with how much power was at your disposal. Guns take a back seat to the powers here, even though they added some pretty colorful weapons. The cars? You'll probably rarely use them. They become obsolete once you can run faster than the cars and can jump over buildings. The story... well, it doesn't even matter. It's just another opponent for the Saints to take down. The writing is hard to judge because it's not even remotely trying to be serious. It was an ok game, with some fun bits mixed in, but I couldn't get in to it. I free-roamed a lot but doing the story felt like a chore.

75

Rise and Fall of the Saints. Then another rise...

Jericho417 | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of Saints Row: The Third

Saints Row the Third starts off on a different note than the previous games. You're at the very height of the Saints popularity. Unfortunately, someone else wants in on your territory. This leads to the fall of the Saints, in ways than one. The cartoon-like journey is heavily focused on revenge. After all, getting even is a specialty for the Saints.

The pc port is done well, unlike the previous title. However, the ridiculous factor is dialed up quite a bit. I still found it enjoyable, but it was hard to care about what was happening in the story. I felt that they were emphasizing the ridiculousness over all else. I suppose that might not be a bad thing, for some. I just felt a bit off-put by it.

Combat is a bit old school, which is fine. You buy and upgrade weapons at your leisure. Some of them get unique bonuses once maxed. There wasn't anything remarkable about it, so I'd say they played it fairly safe there.

85

Fun stealth game.

Jericho417 | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of Dishonored

Dishonored is a great stealth game. Unless you go berserk, you'll spend a great deal of time sneaking around and plotting various distractions. One wrong move and you might end up overwhelmed and frustrated. The aesthetic choices made for this game really work well. The art style is strange and enjoyable. The game-play was very well done. I never felt frustrated at being unable to control Corvo as I had wanted. My failings were entirely on me, usually messing up when using various powers. If I had to complain about anything, it might be the AI. The AI felt a bit too dumb, at times. Moments where an NPC should have been alerted, but wasn't. Beyond that, though, I very much enjoyed the experience.

100

11 out of 10 all the way

Jericho417 | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of Fallout: New Vegas Ultimate Edition

New Vegas refined what I loved about Fallout 3. The combat was overhauled and done right. The exploration works better because the environment is a bit more varied than the Capital Wasteland. The story gives you some pretty cool choices to make. There's a bit more humor here than in Fallout 3, humor that is reminiscent of the original Fallout games. It's bizarre and I loved every minute of it.

85

Insane and Good

Jericho417 | July 31, 2014 | Review of Psychonauts

Psychonauts is a kind of psychic platformer. You enter various characters minds and interact with their subconscious. The main character, Raz, is voiced by Richard Horvitz. Once you hear the voice, it'll probably click. The game takes place at a psychic summer camp where you're being trained to use your abilities. Things start to get strange(stranger) when people start acting strange. You're tasked with solving the mystery and saving your fellow campers.It's a Tim Schafer game so expect some great weirdness.

I've played this game through quite a few times. I have to say, my favorite mind is definitely Linda's. Quirky platformer+Tim Schafer+ Zim? That's a yes in my book.

95

Deserving of all the hype

Jericho417 | July 31, 2014 | Review of Deus Ex: Game of the Year Edition

In one word: Amazing.

This game drags you in to a fascinating world. The story was great, the characters fit so very well with it. You get the option to play the non-lethal route from the very start. You can use tranquilizer darts or just blow everyone up. Your call. You can stealth your way through, hacking past obstacles. Alternatively, you can just go in guns blazing and slaughtering everyone.

The game is pretty old, but the graphics still work for me. They kept it simple, without trying to be one of those games that tries to push graphics to the max. As result, it ages well. I really can't recommend this game enough. It's one of my all-time favorites. I've replayed it over a dozen times and still intend to play it again.

80

Strogg 4 Life

Jericho417 | July 31, 2014 | Review of Quake IV

The Strogg are one of my favorite enemies. They capture enemy soldiers and "Strogify" them. The process is messy, painful, and full of gore. In Quake 4, you're a space marine who ends up going through the process. You're rescued before they could take control of your mind, but your body is Strogg. Faster, stronger, and able to use Strogg regeneration stations.

Some of the enemies are very bullet sponge like, but that's pretty typical in FPS games. The guns you acquire happen one by one through the various levels. Many weapons can be upgraded to add features, like homing rounds or ricochet. Combat feels great and responsive, instead of the lifeless hitscan gunfire of today's shooters.

You can find torsos laying around, hooked up to machines like they're just organic components for the building. What's not to love about that? Unfortunately, the game is too short. I beat it in 5-6 hours.

75

Not as good as Sims 2

Jericho417 | July 31, 2014 | Review of The Sims 3 Plus Supernatural (NA)

I was a huge fan of the Sims 2. I spent so much time perfecting my characters and their houses. I tried giving Sims 3 the same effort, but I just couldn't keep it up. They improved the interface, sure, but the direction the game took was just ... it felt like they were heavily focused on the idea to keep selling me stuff. The expansion packs have always been numerous, but Sims 3 takes it to the extreme. Even the main menu kind of makes me feel sick.

Super Natural was a good expansion, though. It added some fun elements to the game, including new customization options. I couldn't pry my nephew off my PC when he saw the wings.

80

Absolutely loved it.

Jericho417 | July 31, 2014 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim®

So many improvements over Oblivion, but it keeps what made it great. Skyrim offers a very rich world full of things to do without touching the main story line. The combat feels great, much improved from Oblivion. The story and history are enjoyable to learn. The overhaul of the magic feels right. Graphically, it's lovely, but mods make it gorgeous.

I loved my time in Skyrim... but it wasn't perfect. The PC port wasn't well executed at all. I had quest bugs somewhat often when I played, In order to get around them, I had to use console commands to help me along. Doing so blocked off achievements in Steam. Without them, some quests were impossible to finish. The interface also felt messy and irritating.

90

Refreshing RPG

Jericho417 | July 31, 2014 | Review of The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Game of the Year Edition

Oblivion has a lot to offer, even for new comers to the Elder Scrolls universe. I do think that there is a bit too much hand holding, though. The graphics don't age well, but you can use mods to help it look pretty.

The modding community did a lot with this game, since Bethesda released a toolkit. You could easily add spells, quests, and gear, customize them to your hearts content, then place them anywhere you wanted in the game. So much effort went in to this game, that it's hard to find anyone who recommends playing the game without any mods.

The combat feels nice, but it is a little stiff. Magic is extremely useful, with spells for nearly everything. The inventory system is a bit clunky, especially if you're at maximum capacity. Despite the flaws, the world of Tamriel is so much fun. You can join factions, even becoming the leader in each one. Oblivion gates pop up all over the map and you can choose to close each and every one.

I'd really recommend this game for anyone who enjoys a fantasy setting. You can play however you please, whether you want to be the savior, criminal, or just some guy who wanders through ancient Ayleid ruins.

80

Enjoyable Experience

Jericho417 | July 31, 2014 | Review of Fable: The Lost Chapters

You have the option of sacrificing your wife at the Temple of Shadows. Seriously, you have the freedom to kill off your spouse for a quest.That's all the information I needed to play this game, back in the day.

How you play is up to you, though with the typical good vs evil paradigms. Your karma is reflected in your appearance. Good gets you glowing and such, while evil makes you sprout horns.Additionally, your character ages as you level and by using magic. There are ways of regressing a few years, but not enough to stay young throughout.

Even if my character did turn out all white haired and old, I enjoyed the game. There is a good amount of freedom, though not nearly as much as other western RPGs. The story and quests were done well enough to keep me going. The combat, though, could feel... off. A bit slow at times, a bit awkward as well. As a port, it's well done. They added enough to it so that it doesn't feel like a cut-and-paste job.

90

Great Reboot

Jericho417 | July 30, 2014 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Unknown (NA)

The return of X-Com was very welcome. I played the original games when I was a kid and there's just enough nostalgia and updates. You can customize your squad, through upgrades and appearance. You can change their names, as well. You design and place structures in your base and research your finds to get better gear.

The combat is very well done. The graphics and aesthetics are beautiful. The mechanics are fleshed out and work. Took me about 35 hours to beat it and I never found the encounters boring.

70

Rigid and uncomfortable.

Jericho417 | July 30, 2014 | Review of Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition (NA)

Dark Souls takes the approach of old school games, being unforgiving and difficult. The main appeal seems to be finally overcoming a challenge after several failures. That sense of satisfaction is supposed to push you to the next obstacle. Many people praise this, I don't. The combat feels good and the story is interesting, but I find the lack of manual saving to be irritating. If you kill a merchant, they do not respawn. The game will auto-save and you'll be stuck without their service for the rest of the game. On top of that, the PC port was... disappointing. It's pretty much required to apply community made patches and such to make it the game it should have been.

60

A disappointing end

Jericho417 | July 29, 2014 | Review of F.E.A.R. 3

The first F.E.A.R game was amazing. The second was a lot of fun. This one... meh. They recycle a lot of the gimmicks, but implementation is poor. They absolutely abandoned the horror aspect, as well. It's a generic third person shooter with heavily implied co-op focus.

The Pointman and Paxton Fettel return. That's the hook for this game. The Pointman went from being mysterious to being a psychotic hobo. Fettel? Yeah, we killed him in the first game. Then he was resurrected as a clone in the second. Now he's a ghost in the third with magic ghost powers.

If you loved the first 2 games, it might hurt to play this one.

90

Best in the series

Jericho417 | July 29, 2014 | Review of Hitman: Blood Money

Hitman is a game that involves a bit of planning and sneaking around. You take down people, steal their clothes, and plan your hit. Blood Money is a great deal of fun, especially when you're hanging out in a tree house trying to snipe your target. Then there's mowing down thousands of pedestrians during a Mardi Gras map (though they really cut back the quality of the NPCs there).

Each mission takes place on it's own map, but you spend time at your base between missions to prepare. You can explore the maps to find any number of advantages, even finding ways to use the environment to do the job for you.

The money you earn from missions can be used to bribe witnesses or customize weapons, but you get penalized for being sloppy. Killing NPCs who aren't targets, leaving your suit or weapons behind, and other various things hurt your score at the end of the map.

This is my favorite game in the Hitman series, even including the newest one. I might be biased because it was my first Hitman game, though.I thoroughly enjoyed planning every move, from the assassination to the escape..

75

Maddening and fun

Jericho417 | July 28, 2014 | Review of The Guild 2

The Guild II is one of those games that either has you ripping your hair out in frustration or laughing maniacally like a villain. You build your dynasty while trying to crush all others, and they do the same.

You can assassinate people, sabotage buildings, and even run for office. If someone does harm against your family, you can accuse them in court and gather evidence against them. They'll do the same if you decide to send a dozen of your goons to whack'em on their walk home at night.

Nearly every building you can build/purchase can be upgrade, some far more than others. Upgrades allow you to have more workers, or thugs if it's a house, and offers various functions. Upgrading a house can give you the ability to send thugs to plant bombs or spy on enemies. Upgrading a work shop can grant you more space for supplies and more employee slots, so you can make money faster.

One feature that is an absolute godsend is allowing the AI to manage individual buildings. Without it, you are required to micromanage every action. Also... ALWAYS buy more carts. At full speed production of a map wide dynasty, every street is covered in the color of your dynasty. The sheer amount of back and forth is impressive. Your success, however, will earn you enemies. Enemies that might come for you, your spouse, or even your kids.

95

Favorite GTA

Jericho417 | July 28, 2014 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas

The amount of hours I've dumped in to San Andreas is absurd. While it has a fairly standard rags-to-riches story, the world is a blast. I would regularly spawn a jet and just fly around area 69, dodging missiles and shooting down other jets and helicopters. I'd even just drive around town listening to the radio shows, trying to avoid getting the cops attention

Then SA-MP, a multiplayer mod, was released. I was dragged back in to the world of San Andreas for another few months of joy riding. The game was very easy to mod, though. You could adjust the stats on any vehicle, making an undrivable super-car out of something mundane. There were entire replacements for most of the vehicles, filling the game with shiny sports cars or just improved models.

The game also featured a skill system. The more you drove or used a particular class of weapon, the better you were. Improving these skills would do things like making it harder to get knocked off a bike or dual wielding many of the guns. Suddenly, those rampages actually helped you out.

Character customization was also present here. You had full control over your hair style, tattoos, cloths, muscle mass, and fat. If you wanted to be build like a tank and dressed in fatigues or a fat dude in sweats, it was your choice. You could stuff CJ so full of food that he just starts throwing it back up.

Overall, this is definitely my favorite Grand Theft Auto game. Between stealth killing people in the streets with a knife, getting in to an hour long police chase, or dog fighting in jets, I was thoroughly entertained.

80

Great fun

Jericho417 | July 28, 2014 | Review of Fallout 3: Game of the Year Edition

You're born about 200 years after a nuclear war. Humanity has survived in underground shelters called Vaults, or struggled on the surface. You can explore the vaults, discover how they failed, and what their true purposes were.

I really enjoyed learning the history of the world. It's set in an alternate timeline where things turned out quite differently. So differently, in fact, that everything looks like a 1950's science fiction comic. The aesthetic takes a little getting used to, but it grows on you. Vacuum tube robots give a very "lost in space" vibe.

The gun play is a big weak, but there is a good amount of variation. Everything from pistols to sticks to mini-nukes at your disposal. The base game has one or two alien weapons, but Mothership Zeta expands on that a bit. Operation Anchorage, however, gives you access to the Chinese Stealth Armor. Space guns and invisibility suits. Sneaking around and insta-killing enemies while stealthed is pretty fun. One wrong move and you're swarmed with angry bandits.

The modding community has made a number of amazing mods. Enhanced textures and lighting, custom companions and gear, quests, NPC/player beautification, and general tweaks. I installed a truck load of mods and the game still played very well.

A small amount of tweaking is required to get this game to run on modern computers and win7/8. It's very simple and painless, but it makes a massive difference in stability.

95

A Unique Experience

Jericho417 | July 26, 2014 | Review of FINAL FANTASY VIII

When discussing which Final Fantasy game is best, people tend to pick the one they played first. For me, it was 8. The game had a number of one-off features that never really reappeared in any other Final Fantasy game. Features like junctioning magic (attaching spells to stats for boosts) or having a salary based on rank (which could be raised through SeeD Exams). In most games, you focus all your efforts on to leveling your character. In FF8, it's far more important to level up the GFs (summoned spirits like Ifrit and Shiva) so that you can equip magic to your stats.You also have sections of the game where you experience the past and participate in some of the back story. I really dug the Triple Triad mini-game, a card based game with alternate rule-sets. You could even use a GF learned skill to turn cards in to incredibly useful and rare spells or items.

90

So much Nostalgia

Jericho417 | July 26, 2014 | Review of Legacy of Kain: Soul Reaver

I played this game years ago and recently replayed it. While it shows its age, I still loved it. The story and background are rich and dark. The game uses puzzles that often involve moving and flipping blocks, but they're not particularly difficult. You often have to shift from the material world to the spectral, which alters the environment and enemies. Flat areas might turn jagged and sections of the wall might pop out and become a platform. Boss fights all require specific actions, such as pulling levers or shooting windows. Each boss you defeat, you devour their soul and claim their special ability as your own. You'll have to keep the games age in mind when looking at the graphics. It was released around 1999, but it has a nice aesthetic design. Possibly the best part of the entire game was the great voice acting and dialogue.

70

Better than expected.

Jericho417 | July 25, 2014 | Review of The Bureau: XCOM Declassified (NA)

I heard a lot of negative comments about this game, but I just don't see it. Perhaps it's because it doesn't come close to Firaxis' X-com game, people might struggle to see it as its own thing. It's a squad based action third person shooter with the ability to issue strings of commands to your squad mates. You can tell your engineer to take cover, move along the wall to get behind the enemy, throw a turret down, and finally toss a land mind to finish them off when they try to find new cover. Not too complex, though. I would have preferred setting up combination attacks more. The best you usually get is lifting an enemy in to the air and everyone shooting them. The standard x-com guns are present, however, you pick them up during missions. There is absolutely no research and once a piece of equipment is unlocked, you suddenly have an infinite supply of them. Graphically, the game is fine, nothing really noteworthy either way. The story felt a bit forced at points. I think that pressure from Enemy Unknowns success ultimately hurt this game.

85

A truly South Park experience

Jericho417 | July 25, 2014 | Review of South Park™: The Stick of Truth™

You can really tell that Trey and Matt were heavily involved in this game. It was very well executed and hilarious as well. The combat is old school turn based, with timing related triggers. You have to actively block and sometimes follow prompts for special skills. Story wise, it really felt like it would be about equal to half a season or so of the show. With all the ridiculous twists and turns that come with that, you really have to be a fan of the show to appreciate it. On the other hand, the game play might keep your attention anyways. Some of the fights were absolutely brutal, until I got the hang of it all.

95

Favorite FPS

Jericho417 | July 20, 2014 | Review of F.E.A.R

I dumped so many hours in to this game back in the day. Today's games look better, but the guns feel ... lifeless. F.E.A.R gave the guns and bodies this amazing feel that I've yet to experience elsewhere. After killing an enemy, you could play with the ragdoll body by slide kicking it across the map. Even better, you had legs. Hard to believe, right? You could look down and see your own legs. Same with the kicks.