Reviews by JetShredz

95

Buy it. Now.

JetShredz | Oct. 26, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2

I played the original Borderlands on the Xbox 360, and doing a little research, I was disappointed after reading that the PC version of the game was just a horrible PC port. However, that has completely changed. They have taken time to actually create a PC version instead of a cheap port.

The sequel brings the joy with a huge amount of graphical options and tweaks, including PhysX support for liquids. This also is one of the first PC games I've seen that let you completely customize Xbox controls. Seriously, I don't know why ALL games, console or PC, include this option. There are a lot of little features like this that have surprised and delighted me throughout the game.

Sure, the game looks gorgeous, despite it's "simplified" cel-shading, but the real appeal of Borderlands 2 is the characters, writing, and most of all, the GUNS. The characters are often absolutely hilarious, and some of the dialogue and missions have just been outright wrong- in a good way! But the massive variety of guns are really what cause B2 to shine. In most RPGs, back tracking to past mission areas sucks, but in Borderlands 2 when you back track you're generally far enough along that you're doing so with a completely different set of weapons. This changes your experience dramatically. In fact, one thing that really impressed me about B2's gunplay is the fact that so many different fights require different gun tactics. You're going to have a tough time with different encounters if you always lean on one gun. I always found myself using my entire arsenal in different situations. It's this variety that really sets B2 apart from many other shooters, and especially from RPGs that tend to get very repetitive.

One tip though, the game really shines in multiplayer co-op with friends. You can choose to play it in singleplayer, but it isn't as great. If you have friends that are interested, buy it and play it. You will certainly enjoy it.

95

A great game

JetShredz | Oct. 20, 2013 | Review of Uncharted 3 Game of the Year Edition

Uncharted 3, the game I had been desperately waiting for since first putting Uncharted: Drake's Fortune into my PS3.

The single player was brilliant, the story is perhaps one of the best in gaming history. The gameplay felt more smooth and natural than the other two, which is a huge plus.

However, there were two things I didn't like. The multiplayer and what happens to Chloe.

The multiplayer just didn't feel right. Uncharted 2, which has one of my favourite multiplayers, was brilliant, it was just there for when you finished the singleplayer. However, in this one.. It feels like Naughty Dog put too much into it. It might just be me though..

Now.. I won't spoil it for other gamers, but after Uncharted 2, I didn't like what happened to Chloe, she was perhaps my favourite character in the series. Yes Chloe, we do miss that arse.

Other than those 2 points.. I was amazed at Uncharted 3. Naughty Dog have done such an amazing job and I urge people to pick this up.

100

Buy. It. Now.

JetShredz | Oct. 20, 2013 | Review of Uncharted 2: Among Thieves

Well.. What can I say about Uncharted 2? It is perhaps the greatest sequel of all time, it takes the Uncharted series to the next level in every single department. Better graphics, better characters, better game play and better action.

With many sequels they often disappoint, especially if they are following great predecessors, but Uncharted 2 was far from being a let down, it simply blew the first one out of the water. After replaying both games, there is certainly a difference, the second game feels much better and more natural. The main antagonist Zoran Lazarević provides a excellent performance as he and Nathan Drake race to find the lost city of Shambhala. The introduction of Chloe Frazer provides an interesting dilemma for gamers, do they prefer Elena, the good girl with the right morals or Chloe, the sexy teasing yet interesting character and whether or not they go better with Drake.

Now to the multiplayer.. For a game that isn't purely focused around it (looking at you CoD and Battlefield), it has done a brilliant job. In fact it is one of my favourite multiplayer experiences I have ever played.

Without a doubt it is one of the best games of the generation.

92

Part 1.

JetShredz | Oct. 20, 2013 | Review of Uncharted Drake's Fortune

What is there to say about this game as well as the Uncharted series, well, it is arguably one of the greatest gaming series ever made to start. Uncharted: Drake's Fortune provided the ultimate stepping stone for this series to achieve greatness.

You play as Nathan Drake, who is a descendant of the famous English sea captain Sir Francis Drake. He is essentially a treasure hunter of anything his ancestor was involved in and along with his best pal Victor 'Sully' Sullivan and Elena Fisher are lead towards a mysterious island with untold secrets. The action is amazing (and is enhanced further in the trilogy), it is a typical 3rd person shooter with basic weapons and standard cover system. It is easy to get used to and and is quickly enjoyable. An added bonus are the tricky for some puzzles that will get you thinking and may even force you for help online.

But what makes this game along with its sequels stand out of the rest is the main character Nathan Drake. His is in my opinion the greatest protagonist in video game history. He is incredibly witty, coming out with hilarious one liners during the cutscenes. He is almost impossible to dislike as his intelligence for treasure hunting simply makes you go wow.

Uncharted: Drake's Fortune ticks many boxes, great graphics, great gameplay, great story, great puzzles and an unsuspected twist.

90

Extremely fun, if played in co-op

JetShredz | Oct. 13, 2013 | Review of Payday 2

PAYDAY 2, the game where you and 3 friends can play as bank robbers and.. Well.. Rob banks and stores. The game is amazing, if you play it with friends. In single player, the bots are some of the worst AI imaginable. They cannot pick up loot, meaning you have to make trips back INTO the cops and swat teams trying to kill you. Not to mention they just stand there most of the time.

Now, to co-op. Without a doubt, it is one of the best games I have played on Steam with friends. If you have friends that own this game, buy it. You will not be disappointed.

80

Quite a fun game.

JetShredz | Aug. 25, 2013 | Review of Guild Wars 2: Heroic Edition

I have been playing Guild Wars 2 since it's release, the game is still enjoyable. The best part of the game is the use of dynamic events throughout the playable areas. In one area, you protect a convoy, another you're fighting a dragon. It's an amazing sight seeing you and at least 100 more people taking on a dragon during the same dynamic event. Not to mention that there are monthly events going on, sadly they have dipped in quality since Halloween which was without a doubt, my favourite event in an MMO game. Give Guild Wars 2 a try.

85

Time to rage.

JetShredz | Aug. 25, 2013 | Review of Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition

Dark Souls is an action RPG which takes place in the kingdom of Lordran. You start the game off as an undead, a hollow. For online, you need to be human, but you have to be careful because in human form you can be invaded by other players. The online is very unique, but I do wish that there was a proper co op mode, having your friends disappear after each boss or death is quite disappointing as inviting someone can be problematic.

The game is difficult, you can be killed by by a rat in 2 hits. The game, even though it is hard, is enjoyable and if anyone is interested in this game, pick it up. It's worth it.

80

Brilliant game.

JetShredz | Aug. 14, 2013 | Review of LEGO Lord of the Rings

The LEGO games have always been known for their funny, laid back approach to gaming. Mix that with Lord of the Rings and you have an enjoyable experience of Middle Earth.

The cutscenes in the game are hilarious, no other word for it. Certain favourites include Boromir's fight against Lurtz and Gimli, people who have played the game know what I'm talking about when I mention the dwarf.

Sadly though, I came across a couple of bugs while playing which did ruin some of the fun. Such as in Osgiliath, Frodo managed to get stuck inside a piece of rubble and I couldn't progress to the next area without him. A shame really.

Even though a few bugs exist, I do recommend this game for lovers of LEGO, Lord of the Rings, or to someone looking for a nice, casual game to have a laugh on.

100

Mindblowing.

JetShredz | Aug. 10, 2013 | Review of The Last of Us

The Last of Us. One of the final games on the PS3, and what a game. Being a huge fan of the Uncharted series, I was excited when I heard Naughty Dog were working on this game.

You play survivor Joel after a viral outbreak has destroyed the United States and society has collapsed. You team up with Ellie, a young girl that looks a lot like Ellen Page.

The characters are likeable, something that games these days cannot grasp. The graphics are astonishingly beautiful, the game world is stunning.

Naughty Dog have created one of the greatest games I have ever played, the only flaw to this game is that it ends. Well done Naughty Dog.

65

Tower Defence. FPS style.

JetShredz | Aug. 10, 2013 | Review of Sanctum

I had never heard of Sanctum until my friend talked to me about it over Steam. Interested, I brought it. Before I say anything else, this game is hilarious fun when played with others, on your own however, it is fairly boring. If you're a fan of tower defence games, you won't be disappointed by the game's sequel, Sanctum 2. Save your money and buy that in my opinion.

100

The best Assassin's Creed game.

JetShredz | Aug. 10, 2013 | Review of Assassin's Creed 2 Deluxe Edition

Assassin's Creed 2, developed and published by Ubisoft was released back in 2009. The story follows Desmond Miles voiced by Nolan North and his ancestor, Ezio Auditore da Firenze and his rise to becoming an assassin. Ezio is one of the most popular characters in video game history, and with good reason. He is the definition of badass, and a womanizer.

The game, set in Italy during the Renaissance period, is delightfully colourful and fun to explore. There's even an appearance by famous artist Leonardo da Vinci.

The gameplay is amazing. The parkour is easy to grasp and the combat is fun. There are new counter moves and attacks to fit Ezio's fighting style and you feel like awesome after finishing off a whole group of guards that have chased you through the city.

This is without a doubt, the best game Ubisoft has ever created and you're missing out on something spectacular if you haven't played this game.

95

Amazing game. A must buy.

JetShredz | Aug. 10, 2013 | Review of Left 4 Dead 2

Being a huge fan of zombie games, I decided to try out the Left 4 Dead games. I was not disappointed, in my honest opinion, these are the best zombies games I have ever played.

The game contains 4 characters that you can choose to play as, Nick, Ellis, Rochelle and Coach. Unlike the survivors from the first game, the 4 protagonists have just met at the start of the game while trying to board a helicopter to escape the zombie hordes. However the chopper takes off without them leaving them stranded in a zombie filled building.

There are a huge variety of levels in the game, from a mall to a swamp. There are more weapons that are available to the player, even melee weapons such as a katana and a frying pan.

On Steam, it is supported by the Steam workshop, allowing players to easily add mods to their game to increase the fun factor. From the Benny Hill theme for the Tank, to changing the Jockey to Diddy Kong, the mods are a great addition to an amazing game.

If you haven't got this game, get it as soon as possible. The only criticism I have with the game is the bot AI, but that is sorted by playing the game with 3 friends. Buy it now.