Reviews by JohnySVK

70

B.J. Blaskowicz is back more 3D than ever !

JohnySVK | Aug. 2, 2013 | Review of Return to Castle Wolfenstein

I don'like the monster-everywhere games but Wolfenstein is a legend so i played it and the game is, well it is pretty ussual fps with a lot of monsters no stealth lot of guns and a bit of fear. Build on CoD engine by some of the people who actually did CoD. Starts with B.J. in a locked cell taking down the guard and letting you kill all the Nazi's and there is a lot of them, trust me. You will see the results of Nazi's experiments through the war and a creature that was buried for really long time and your only mission is to return to castle Wolfenstein, kill the monster and as always save the world in the skin of agent B.J. Blaskowicz. P.S.:Gameplay is pretty average but till funny. :D

98

Even better than the first one

JohnySVK | Aug. 2, 2013 | Review of Max Payne II: The Fall of Max Payne

Remedy's second masterpiece. Max Payne has changed his face from Sam Lake's to Timothy Gibbs but Max is still the same, bullettime is the same but now Mona Sax from the first game is playable character ! Max's story never ends when he is searching for Vladimir Lem a man who had helped him to take down Aesir corporation but he was and he still is a russian mobster and he's more threat than ever before. Brilliant story again written by Sam Lake is like in Max Payne 1 telled by comic-like cutscenes with the best dubbing actor James MacCaffrey as Max Payne. Worth every penny/dollar whatever you pay with.

94

One of my all time favourites

JohnySVK | Aug. 2, 2013 | Review of Max Payne

Max Payne in the time of it's release was maybe the best looking third person game. Sam Lake did his best in storywriting for this game, it's about a New York detective Max Payne who's wife and little daughter was murdered in his own house. Max starts his way to avenge them and clean his name in winter New York full of drugs mobsters and his own ghosts. This game machanics was based on the old John Woo's kung-fu movies. It has brought completely new feature called Bullettime like in the Matrix movies, when you can fly through the air in slow-motion shooting at enemies like crazy. It's incredibly funny to play and it has a moving stroytelling through comic-like cutscenes. You wont' regret any minute of this game I swear. :D

84

This is real open world !

JohnySVK | July 11, 2013 | Review of Just Cause 2

This is how the real open world game should look like. Great graphics with amazing explosions. Beatiful and large island to explore with a lot of things to do. In this game just, climbing the mountains with the best open-world game feature the hook is incredibly funny. Ok, maybe the story is pretty silly and a little bit boring, but it isn't the thing that this game stands on. Amount of vehicles like cars, racing or fishing boats or even the airplanes makes the game twice entertaining as Mafia II for example. You wish to land on airplane and fly to another city, go and do it. The game isn't just worth to try, it's worth to play for hours of causing chaos everywhere you come.

And the multiplayer is on the way !

Well 84 is satisfying i think.

58

Not an old-school, but not the new

JohnySVK | July 11, 2013 | Review of Duke Nukem Forever

I will start this review with the positives: Duke is back! On the newest Unreal Engine, with old enemies and some new friends. Duke hasn't changed at all he still looks the same, he still sounds the same and he is still kicking ass. Sadly that's it.

Now the time has come for negatives: The graphics are mostly bad, caused by the long time of development in different studios. Some levels looks really good, but the older ones from other studios aren't changed and the game looks schysofrenic in graphic way. Gameplay is just average, Duke's health(EGO) is automatically regenerated and you can carry just two weapons at the same time. These aren't the mechanics that I want to see in old-school game.

Verdict: There are more negatives than positives about this game, Duke is back, but for what cost. Duke Nukem Forever is not a bad game but it's too average for a franchise like Duke Nukem. So 50 for the game and another 8 because it's Duke.

88

Play it or the Dark Presence will come for you !

JohnySVK | Sept. 17, 2012 | Review of Alan Wake

It's really great piece of Finish work(no i'm not from Finland i just like their games). Alan Wake a game from one of the best games studios in the world Remedy Entertainment(Max Payne,Max Payne 2:The Fall of Max Payne). I never play horror games or just scary games but I tried it because of Remedy and...it was the best try of my life.The story from Sam Lake(writer of MP1,MP2) is excellent, the gameplay is little slow but made up for by the graphics which look really great after two years from the original X360 game. No i wont tell a thing about story except it's gripping and...it's about bestseller writer Alan Wake who move with his wife Alice (you will remeber her name after you'll finish the game) to a small city/village Bright Falls where he wants to write a new horror book,but he really chose a bad place. You have to play this.

97

What means humanity

JohnySVK | Sept. 17, 2012 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution Augmented Edition

First it's one of the best games i've ever played. Human Revolution is an action first person shooter with RPG elements(you can upgrade abilities). Cover system works perfectly in third person view. The gameplay is very classic but it seems innovative just because today's games are too simple but it's a plus for the game. The game tells story about some kind of bodyguard Adam Jensen who is almost killed in action and he's forced to be augmented(implanted). He's starting a new life. i wont tell anything else about the story but at the end YOU will chose the way that the world and humanity will go. And it really has the best soundtrack i've ever heard. In every mission you can choose between the silent stealth way, the "Rambo style" and something between but the ways are mostly linear and the way doesn't mean way like option but way like a path so the ways are really simple to find but it's a really great thing you can choose. So prepare for real movie like experience and one of the best game stories. Maybe the only bad thing about the game is that the main character has really weird cigarette voice.

88

NOTHING is TRUE, everything is PERMITTED!

JohnySVK | Aug. 17, 2012 | Review of Assassins Creed Revelations

The last part of Ezio's way and the fourth title in the series. There are two ways to do a review first as a new original game or as another in series. First way: The game offers a big city of Constantinopole , the assassin abilities like climbing buildings and silent killings and very interesting story about italian master assassin Ezio Auditore and the game is also the end for Altair of the first game. The second way:The game is still good as the previous but that's the problem because it's almost the same game just without horses. There is a hook as a part of the hidden blade wich almost replaces the need of horses and offers a new way to kill, to run away and to explore the big city. The game has multiplayer too, it's same as in Brotherhood but with oher characters from Revelations. In the game there is also some kind of minigame which reveals the life of Desmond it's not very funny but i can guarantee you will unlock all the parts of Desmond's way and you'll play it to the end. So goodbye Ezio Auditore Da Firenze, goodbye Altair Ibn La Ahad. So buy it live it enjoy it and prepare to the rise of the US in ACIII and for the biggest secret almost as good as from Dan Brown's books. The End.