Reviews by Jokin93

100

A truly Legendary eperience

Jokin93 | April 11, 2014 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim® Legendary Edition

Skyrim is possibly the best open world game I have ever played. It's actually a lot like Lord of the Rings. The graphics of this game are amazing, the environment is beautiful, with big snowy mountains, open plains and forests, beautiful cities and villages and a great medieval feeling floating in the air. You can do almost everything in this game and the 3 DLC(more like expansions) add a lot of new things to the game and make it even greater and more immersive. That's pretty great, right? Oh, WAIT, there are mods, mods for everything and those can help you customize the game a lot and play it however you want. I would definitely recommend this game to everyone as it is Legen...Wait for it...Dary.

68

Fun Basic TD Game

Jokin93 | March 30, 2014 | Review of Super Sanctum TD

Super Sanctum TD looks like it was made 20 years ago in someone's basement. Sound effects, UI & graphics are basic, but behind the mediocre facade it is a challenging & balanced tower defense game. Strategy is important along with your selection of towers & skills.

I would have liked to see some better high resolution support though; but it runs & looks ok in fullscreen windowed mode. There are probably around 10hrs of gameplay to complete everything & an infinite wave survival mode to add some replay value

All in all, this is a surprisingly fun & addictive casual TD game.

79

A TOTAL strategy game

Jokin93 | March 30, 2014 | Review of Rome: Total War

For those who have never played a Total War game, it has two distinct elements to it, the first is the campaign map, this is an overview map where you build your cities, train units, send diplomats and assassins to your enemies and friends and move your armies around in a turn based grand strategy style and while it has nowhere near the dept of a true grand strategy game it does the job well enough that you forgive it, especially once you start to touch upon the second, and the most important, major aspect of a Total War game, the battles.

The game is pretty, with a good amount of detail considering the scope of the battles, the soundtrack fits almost perfectly with the mood of the game and sounds of battle are utterly satisfying. Even the load screen are great, each one featuring a different quote from a period persona although a lot of mistakes were made by whoever typed in those quotes.

It is not all roses however, Rome has a big problem, one that has been plaguing the Total War series for a while now, and that is the AI. Add to it a few more minor bugs such as the way the campaign map looks and squalor "feature" and it will take some of the fun, but it won't ruin it.

All in all, Rome Total War is a great game, it set the standard for all Total War Games to come and despite a number of annoying bugs and problems it still remains a great game to this day.

67

Decent ARPG

Jokin93 | March 30, 2014 | Review of Avencast: Rise of the Mage

What is there to say about Avencast?

Well, the gameplay is definitely Action RPG, for one thing, as the player contends with room-fulls of enemies by making best use of a variety of spells, and survival depends mainly on staying out of the way of danger (By dodging. Dodging constantly).

You are given two different skill trees to draw from, one mainly dedicated to melee attacks, and the other to ranged (and a third set for summoning spells) and while you are free to invest in both, the damage of every spell in each set is governed by a separate attribute; therefore it seems most efficient to just pick one so as not to have to spread those attribute points too thin.

Overall, it's an acceptable game if you're interested in a straightforward, combat-centric fantasy title.

67

Pretty fun

Jokin93 | March 30, 2014 | Review of Post Apocalyptic Mayhem

As far as racing games go this is a pretty basic game… That being said, it is surprisingly fun to play! The vehicle choices are all well planned out, each having its own stats and weapon variety, so the diversity in the vehicles is there… The tracks are where things fall a little flat, because I think there is around 4 tracks and 1 festive track which is simply a re-textured version of one of the other tracks, so I feel there could have been more content in this regard. The handling of the cars does vary between the vehicles and at times it can feel quite flighty, believe me you will have a favorite car.

Overall it’s a fun game if you’re looking for a simple kart-esque racing experience! Unfortunately, the multiplayer does seem to be dead most of the time, so that is worth keeping in mind!

70

Tomb raiding and puzzle solving

Jokin93 | March 30, 2014 | Review of Tomb Raider: Legend

Legend is the first Tomb Raider title to be developed by Crystal Dynamics after the series stagnated at the hands of the series creator Core Design. Most of the Tomb Raider mechanics are all here, just freshened up a bit compared to previous iterations. There's no slowly pivoting tank controls to contend with and there is a more cohesive feel to level traversal overall compared to prior games.

You'll still run into annoying camera shenanigans at times when you're trying to line up a jump or tell Lara which direction to jump in while hanging off a ledge. Combat is limited to fighting generic soldiers and mercenaries as well as the occasional animal while supernatural elements are confined to cutscenes, quick time events and boss battles.

All in all it's a pretty enjoyable game, a few caveats aside, if you're looking for some adventure, light action and puzzle solving.

91

Epic storytelling

Jokin93 | March 30, 2014 | Review of The Walking Dead & 400 Days DLC Pack

I absolutely recommend this game, even if you never watched the series.

When I started this game I was afraid that it was going to be one of those extremely predictable zombie games again, but it wasn't, it's far from predictable.

The character development is amazing, you really get to know everyone you meet in the game and get either attached to them or despise them, you will find yourself doing anything to help one character sometimes. The story often takes unexpected turns which keeps the game interesting, and near the end it gets pretty emotional..

..really emotional, I had to wipe some tears from my face when I saw the ending, sad but amazing, when the credits rolled after the last episode I cried, something I normally never do.

So yes, this is absolutely one of the best games I've ever played, maybe even THE best in terms of storytelling and the 400 days DLC brings a few nice side-stories from the lives of other survivors.

77

A good revival

Jokin93 | March 30, 2014 | Review of Mortal Kombat Komplete Edition

This may be one of the best fighting game from recent years.The game is fun,addicting and challenging.

The campaign is great and tells a pretty good story.Of course that it has some limitations and at times may seem awkward but overall it is a good experience and it is worth to go through it.

The game has everything you want from a MK game.Ladders,local/online multiplayer and many challenges.

The gameplay is smooth and it feels good,the fatalities are full of gore(which is cool if you like this franchise),and the new unique ability that you can do during the fights(X-Ray) is just spectacular.

I highly recommend this if you are into this particular genre.

64

I had some fun

Jokin93 | March 30, 2014 | Review of Aliens vs Predator

I’m not sure whether this game is honestly enjoyable or if my expectations going into it were were so low that I was able to enjoy it.

The story is based around 3 campaigns(that may or may not be interlocking, some parts seem that way while others don’t), one for each race and each with their own separate playstyles.

The human campaign started out really creepy, like something taken straight out of Alien, but then quickly became a really fun shooter.

The alien campaign was the least enjoyable of the 3, in theory it should have been really fun because it has you climbing up walls and running on the roof but it is really disorienting.

The predator campaign was also enjoyable but the stealth elements were pretty much useless good thing the melee combat was enjoyable. It flirts with outstaying its welcome and it is almost too tedious but it ends at a good point and it’s not too dragged out.

Overall I feel like this was a fun game, nothing close to amazing but enjoyable.

90

Amazing experience

Jokin93 | March 30, 2014 | Review of Fallout 3

This is one of the greatest games I've ever played. The game world is huge, and there are tons of places to explore and things to see.

It's hard to put into words how tightly the elements of character, setting, and plot are woven together. The controls are very easy to get used to, and what first looks like a complex inventory/ status menu turns out to be quite simple and logical once you get the hang of it.

The choices you make have observable consequences, and you will more than likely develop real feelings toward some of the characters you meet, unless your heart is made of stone.

Exploring post-apocalyptic DC is a fantastic experience and I would recommend this game to everyone, it's well-worth the money.

94

A fantastic fantasy world

Jokin93 | March 30, 2014 | Review of The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Game of the Year Edition Deluxe

I initially played this game when it first appeared, in 2006 and I remember that I loved it a lot back then, the game had me hooked instantly, with the epic story and beautiful scenery.

I had no mods back then. But now I do and I must say that thanks to those, this game is better than many games that were released in 2010 or later. There are mods for everything (better graphics, fun and content) and whereas the initial game keeps its extreme level of epicness, these spectacular mods improve the replay value and make it worth a lot more than its price.

This game is worth every penny and it will have you hooked for hundreds of hours, just like Skyrim.

100

The Supreme Game

Jokin93 | March 30, 2014 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: Vice City

I will begin by saying that I have played all of the 3D GTA games and I loved them all, but this one surely was my favorite and I finished it about 5 times without feeling bored once.

This game is 12 years old, yes, that's over a decade, but the experience is still epic and everything about this game is spectacular.

I absolutely love the missions, ALL of them and the city feels exactly like Miami in the 80s. And there are so many thing to do out there, it's a true open-world game.

Oh, and I had almost forgotten. The radio, no GTA to date has managed to beat it, I for one would spend hours in the car, listening to the great radio shows and music that are better than the ones broadcast by real-life radio.

This game is a must have and my favorite game of all-time.

64

A good idea that could have turned out to be much more

Jokin93 | March 30, 2014 | Review of Ace Patrol

Well, I should start by saying that this is a Sid Meier game( yeah the same guy who created the Civilizations series of epic turn-based strategy games). So yeah, I started playing it with high expectations and soon found out that it was not nearly as good as I though it would be.

The graphics are quite outdated and unsuitable for a TBS game and the gameplay feels unpolished, with a UI that lacks important elements.

Now, the idea behind this game was great and I personally enjoyed playing a few games, but it gets dull quickly and it doesn't have the same replay value as Civilizations V for example.

I would still recommend this game for any TBS fans as it is not that bad and it has a very low price( and Steam trading cards)

86

A fine piece of gaming history

Jokin93 | March 30, 2014 | Review of DOOM Classic Complete

I must begin by saying that I have played all the DOOM games and I enjoyed ALL of them and this pack includes THE BEST of the series.

Sure, you can say that they are old, with pixelated graphics, but these games are 20 years old. They are responsible for the evolution of PC gaming and they stand as standard of evolution for the FPS genre. Had it not been for DOOM, FPS's wouldn't have been as good as they are today.

The gameplay is old-school, yet fluid and very enjoyable and the whole experience is hardcore. So if you are into those, you should definitely get this fantastic collection of classics.

84

This game is great

Jokin93 | Jan. 20, 2014 | Review of Just Cause 2

I bought this one because of a sale and I didn't have very high expectations, another GTA wannabe, I said. But luckily I was wrong.

Despite being 4 years old, this game still has good graphics and the story is amazing. The world is brilliantly designed and there are so many things that you can do that this game has huge replay value.

I had a blast playing it and you know what's even better?! They released a multiplayer mod for it, and it's FREE! The multiplayer is not yet bug-free, but it's still an amazing experience with tons of options and enjoyable chaos.

This game is well worth the money and I would definitely recommend it to those who enjoy GTA games.

98

Must-have DLC

Jokin93 | Jan. 18, 2014 | Review of Borderlands 2: Tiny Tina’s Assault on Dragon Keep

If you asked me what DLC you should buy for Borderlands 2, I would probably tell you to get all of it, but since money can be a problem and choices need to be made, then I would definitely go with Tiny Tina’s Assault on Dragon Keep.

This is more than just a piece of DLC, this is pretty much an expansion, considering how much content it adds to the game. I could say more, but you would have to see for yourself as this DLC is a must-have.

90

The first was great, this one is better

Jokin93 | Jan. 18, 2014 | Review of Borderlands 2 (NA)

I personally loved the first Borderlands and played it for many hours both with friends and alone, but this one is so much better.

Right now this is my favorite game on Steam and I must say that playing it with friends makes is even greater than playing alone. This game is in my honest opinion the only good casual shooter out there, it's also the only one where I don't get angry when I get killed. And looting makes everything worth it.

Borderlands 2, despite being over a year old, is still one of the greatest gaming experiences on the market.

93

A legendary franchise and an extraordinary game

Jokin93 | Jan. 18, 2014 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization® V

I got this game as part of a promotion a while back and due to not having enough time, I had to postpone playing it until recently.

I personally have always preferred real-time strategy games over their turn-based counterparts and I still do to a certain extent, but I must say that this game is a blast. Not only is it enjoyable, but what makes it great and well worth the price is its great replay value that makes it a long time investment.

Thus being said, I already have approximately 30 hours played and I am considering buying DLC for it. This is a must-have for all the strategy fans.

81

Plain fun

Jokin93 | Dec. 29, 2013 | Review of Safecracker

Safecracker, or as it is dubbed The Ultimate Puzzle Adventure, is not among the best games of this generation, at no point did it even intend to be like that, instead, it is one great and challenging puzzle game that can be a great time-killer. And there is another element that this game has and makes it even more amazing: it is unaffected by time, no matter how old this game has become, it still provides the same amount of fun.

For the ridiculously low price tag that it comes with, this game will keep you entertained for hours and will be more than worth the investment.

78

Worth it

Jokin93 | Dec. 29, 2013 | Review of Doom 3

The Doom franchise is very well known for its essential role in the history and evolution of the FPS genre.

Well, DOOM 3, despite being considered by many to be the weakest link in the franchise, is a great game(although a bit old), and it does its predecessors proud, by keeping on the right track.

It might be true that it is quite short and it doesn't bring many improvements over DOOM 2, but it is nevertheless and great classic shooter that should be present in any gamer's library.

73

A good strategy game

Jokin93 | Dec. 29, 2013 | Review of King Arthur II

King Arthur II, as you may figure from it title, is the direct sequel to the 2009 gem: King Arthur: The Role-playing Wargame and it does its job right.

The RTS strategy platform is well polished and the RPG and TBS elements are properly integrated, creating a very fluid gameplay overall. The UI has also improved since the last game(although it will still take a while to get used to) and the graphics are perfectly fine for a strategy game.

Of course, King Arthur II isn't as well polished and homogeneous as the games in the TOTAL War franchise, but it succeeds in what it promises and comes at a price, so ridiculously low that you can't be disappointed.

94

More content. More fun.

Jokin93 | Dec. 14, 2013 | Review of Sonic and All-Stars Racing Transformed: Metal Sonic Pack

I bought this DLC pack during a big sale and I honestly wasn't expecting much since most of the time DLC brings so little to the main game that you could as well not get it, but that was not applicable for this one.

Metal Sonic is a great addition to the game, he's a new character, with a unique set of features that don't make him overpowered and dumb down the game, they only make him really fun to play or compete against. Furthermore this pack also adds a great new track that certainly improves the replay value of the game and since the developers didn't forget about us, Steam users, emoticons are included.

For its extremely low price(even when not on sale) and great quality, this DLC pack is a must have for any owner of the base game.

94

One of a kind

Jokin93 | Dec. 14, 2013 | Review of Sonic and All-Stars Racing Transformed

I am not a huge fan of racing games, but the Sonic franchise will always have a special place in my gamer heart.

Despite the disappointment brought by its predecessor(Sonic and Sega All-star Racing) this game is wonderful and offered me hours of fun. It's not just a racing game, it is a brilliant fun-packed arcade racing game that could compete with Mario Kart anytime and the only alternative for PC gamers.

The graphics are great(yes, they are cartoonish, but that's what Sonic is), the gameplay is fantastic and the multiplayer is spectacular and it represents the best way the game can be played.

All in all, this game is on my list of top games of 2013 and it is a worthy addition to any gamer's library.

70

Rockstar doesn't disappoint

Jokin93 | Dec. 3, 2013 | Review of Max Payne 3

I personally bought a product called Max Payne 3: Complete Pack back in October. It included both the game and the Rockstar Pass DLC pack, but since the said product doesn't seem to be available in the store anymore, I will be reviewing each part of the pack separately.

Max Payne 3 is an excellent addition to the franchise and one of the best games of 2012. Yes, it is a shooter, like many others, but at the same time it is not "just another shooter", it's a unique game with a spectacular gameplay(many aspects which cannot be found in any other shooter are well-implemented in Max Payne 3), amazing graphics and a great story.

Now that I am done listing the great aspects of the game I will present its biggest flaws, I call them "the interrupters". One one hand, there are the long cutscenes that make the overall experience less immersive and furthermore, the game tends to take control of your character and do things that you might not have intended to do, such as opening a door before you found all the collectibles.

Overall, the game is a great addition to the franchise and a great shooter.

83

Great bundle, awesome franchise

Jokin93 | Dec. 3, 2013 | Review of Max Payne Complete Bundle

I bought this bundle during a sale back in October and having not played any of the Max Payne games before, I did not know what to expect so I just went with the flow while also being guided by the name of the developer.

I must say that I was impressed, the story of Max Payne is great and the gameplay is exceptional. The first two games are already classics and regarding the third, take negative reviews with a grain of salt.

Max Payne 3 is different than its predecessors in many ways, but at the same time it is an innovations, a great game and the multiplayer is good and enjoyable.

Overall, I recommend this bundle to all the shooter fans out there, it's a great franchise, with a great story and an awesome gameplay.

80

Great game that needs more fame

Jokin93 | Dec. 3, 2013 | Review of Overlord Complete Pack

I bought the Overlord Complete Pack for a very low, discounted price back in October and I must say that this is a great franchise.

Despite the fact that the game is quite old, it is very enjoyable and the graphics are fine, the story is nice and this game has an unique aspect to it: You are the bad guy, you are no hero, you are the Overlord, you rule! This aspects come forward as a nice combination between strategy and classic RPG combat.

All in all, this is a great bundle, for a great price and it's worth every penny.

70

Good shooter

Jokin93 | Dec. 3, 2013 | Review of F.E.A.R. 3

I got my copy of this game back in October, when there was a big discount and I must say that it was worth every penny, it's nothing spectacular or very innovative and it's not as good as its predecessors, the multiplayer is quite lacking, but it's a very good game overall, especially if you are a fan of single player FPS.

The horror element from the previous installment has diminished, but it is still present.

All in all, this is a game that I would recommend for all FPS enthusiasts.

85

Surprisingly enjoyable and very affordable

Jokin93 | Dec. 3, 2013 | Review of Dead Pixels

I got this game for free with the purchase of another and I must say that had it not been for that promotion I wouldn't have purchased it and I would have missed a ton of fun.

On one hand, this game looks like one that you would play in the 80s and its name isn't trying to hide that in any way, it's the pixels that make the game unique and enjoyable after all.

On the other hand, this game manages to surprise by adding the use of the mouse and combining it perfectly with the pixelated zombie survival 2D gameplay. Other great additions include upgrades, an inventory and the possibility of entering houses, for the rest you will have to see for yourself and considering the price, you won't regret it.