Reviews by Jonot86

90

One of my favourite TW games

Jonot86 | Oct. 17, 2013 | Review of Medieval II: Total War

I love the medieval age and this almost is a perfect overall representation of the time. While having the same basic outline on most of the TW series, but with added events.

The battles are huge and the amount of destruction is intense with siege equipment. The game is fun but it definitely takes a lot of time out of your social life!

85

Ignore the negative reviews

Jonot86 | Oct. 17, 2013 | Review of The Bureau: XCOM Declassified (NA)

The reviews on the internet can be sometimes right but most of the time it can be definitely wrong. This game is fantastic, I love playing every moment of it because of it's style and storyline.

The gameplay is fairly basic and almost a copy of Mass Effect but x 3 harder. Cover isn't the perfect solution as even when you're under fire your enemies can still hit you as you can hit them, it's like they have the same advantage as you do with fine tune aiming.

Conversation works the same with the conversation wheel but it's not necessarily a bad thing, it's the same gameplay but different storyline (kinda) that involves aliens.

Overall the experience in this game isn't perfect but it's definitely worth while to play!

85

Why the Hate?

Jonot86 | Oct. 15, 2013 | Review of The Bureau: XCOM Declassified (NA)

I was looking forward to the game but I was surprised on the reviews it received. The "Ok" or the 60-75 rating but honestly I think it deserves to be on the upper 80!

The game story seems basic but it honestly is more compelling as you go and the gameplay is amazing! Intense action battles with great tactical features that isn't to indepth but light enough to not take you out of the action while you game!

I definitely have to rate this 85 as it's not PERFECT but man, I hope they do a series on this as I love the era, love the look, love the characters and love this style of XCOM!

80

Shame it was too short

Jonot86 | July 25, 2013 | Review of Zombie Driver

While it was fun and great with fun driving mechanics, it didn't feel long as it should be!

Upgrading and racing against time is fun but I do like to take my time to explore! Shooting guns, racing random cars while annihilating zombie hordes is fun.

I would definitely suggest to pick this up and hope for a sequel!

90

Homage to the old days

Jonot86 | July 25, 2013 | Review of Super Meat Boy

While this game is made in the current trend of amazing Indie Games, it plays like an old school games with it's insane difficulty but it's clean cut graphics and amazing controls.

While being hard and amazing it always gives you a rewarding feel after you have completed a level after the 100th time.

This is definitely a must play game!

95

As good as it gets

Jonot86 | July 23, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 3 (NA)

High end graphics, fast furious gameplay with the ability to drive multiple different kinds of combat vehicles.

What else can you ask?

I play many FPS games and the battlefield series has always put a smile to my face with it's intense action but with these graphics it can easily make you feel like you're really there!

While there are some moments with other players finding the little exploits the overall experience is positive, this is a must game to play on the PC.

85

Max Payne with a Face Lift

Jonot86 | July 23, 2013 | Review of Max Payne 3

Max is still a brooding mad son of a B*tch and I love every second of it. This is why I love playing Max Payne, for the noir storyline with heart pounding gun fu fighting.

The gameplay has been updated with some more interactive battles. this allows for more fluid action scenes just like in all John Woo movies.

The graphics are beautiful and finally some colour but what can you expect with is being in Sao Paul!

Pick this up and get rocking dual gun style!

95

Must Play Title

Jonot86 | July 23, 2013 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2

I've been playing Creative Assembly games for years, ever since the first Shogun Title on the PC and even the 3rd person combat game (which was awesome too) on the console.

This game is not for everyone thou with it's tactical turn base thinking on politics with real time strategy elements in the battles. While most players want the action right now and thinking they can plough through everything with overwhelming force will be in a sudden surprise.

If you like some slow pace planning with quick thinking leadership in battle, pick this game up for one epic journey.

95

Rockstar does it again

Jonot86 | July 23, 2013 | Review of Bully: Scholarship Edition DNS

Rockstar is a great game, that has great elements and dives deep into the life of North America education in a very exaggerated way.

I've never had to run this much in a GTA game Rockstar produced but I doubt that you would be open for cars driving around on school grounds. Keeping with basic actions and commands the game delivers an amazing experience also hilarious situations.

Definitely worth a pick up when you need to kill some time.

74

Fast pace action but lacking everywhere else

Jonot86 | July 23, 2013 | Review of Defiance

I picked this game up with the girlfriend as she was starting to get into MMOs and thought this would be a great place where we can play together as we both like fast FPS games.

The storyline is somewhat interesting also as it ties in the TV Show it made it more appealing.

The gameplay is fairly basic when you get through and look at it thoroughly but it has your basic style missions that boils down to either "Go A to B" or "Go A to B while killing everything".

Pick up the game for some fun but don't expect a detailed walk through explaining all the features, I definitely felt lost in some areas.

95

Hopefully not the Last Light

Jonot86 | July 23, 2013 | Review of Metro: Last Light

I remember playing the first Metro 2033. The game was had the triple D factor, Dark, Dirty and Depressing but definitely loving it.

The first thing you will notice about the game is the unbelievable graphics as it feels like the entire game is a cute scene, and quite frankly the animated pre-rendered cut scenes look crappy in comparison to the in game look.

The game is fantastic and finally you can keep upgrading your gun for more things, it feels good and more attachment to your favourite gun.

The storyline is great and keeps me coming back for more! You should play the first one before playing this one thou but the in game dynamics and play style is similar!

Pick this game up and you won't regret it!

95

I wish it would never end

Jonot86 | July 4, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto IV

Rockstar, they take their time but you can see it at the end result.

Graphics, storyline, sound, interactive environment and combat seamless mesh in together beautifully. They don't just do one thing right in this game, they did everything right.

Only thing I could complain about this game is that it ended, the storyline got me attached and the potential of having two different endings help give it a bit more of a reply value but still having a similar ending.

The combat was fantastic as I was able to finally cover and fight "bad guys" with an array of awesome weaponry. Driving was great as many people would complain but with the realism, this is how a car typically feels and drive.

Multiplayer is the cherry one top, playing with a group of players with many similar modes will get your heart pumping with a ton of close calls and epic firefights. Cops and Robbers takes the essence of a childhood game but now able to fly helicopters, drive cars and ride boats while riding with a group of friends.

Pick this game up and don't worry about it being "old" in the videogame world. You'll definitely be satisfied and playing it for years! (until GTA 5 comes out)

75

Big on presentation but lacking in memorable story

Jonot86 | July 4, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite: Columbia's Finest

I like the Bioshock, not love unless you are talking about the first one.

They put a big budget on marketing and advertising which made the release a big deal. I do wish they put more money and emphasis on the combat as it feels intense but it felt overall a basic shooter with two weapons in each hand. The magic was great but it felt like it just adds to the fighting and you can't overall dominate your opponents with it.

The storyline had the potential to be great but without a good/bad ending it like the others, it felt like it was missing something and made you think way too much. I do like games with a complicated storyline but this one felt like they had it all mapped out but to make it a bit interesting they would take chunks of it and make you find "recordings" to fill in the gaps.

The game is fairly decent but don't expect to finish the game with the same point as the first one with a lasting and memorable experience.

70

Has potential

Jonot86 | July 4, 2013 | Review of Remember Me

The game has potential and for a first game it does things rather well, it has similar elements with Assassin's Creed with the platforming but a fighter with custom combos.

You'll have awesome epic fight moments but it overall lacks a great memorable punch as the story line is somewhat predictable but has some sudden twist.

Graphics are great but with he environment lacking interactive it feels like you're simply looking at a picture!

Pick this game up for a first run in a hopeful and better sequel.