Reviews by Jorgel

90

Solid fighting game

Jorgel | Dec. 26, 2013 | Review of Skullgirls

From it's roost, Skullgirls was developed in order to offer a very solid fighting game experience. Every aspect of the game is well thought, from the inputs to the combos and mechanics. I am not a very good fighting-game player, but Skullgirls still offers me a great game experience. In addition to the great gameplay the game also offers beautifull graphics and nice characters along with a great soundtrack. If you are looking for a competitive fighting game or just want to have fun with your friends, Skullgirls is one of the best choices nowadays, in terms of both gameplay and art.

85

Innovative god game

Jorgel | Dec. 26, 2013 | Review of Reus

Reus is a very welcomed god-game. With very simple graphics the game delivers a fun experience in a much inovative gameplay. You are given the role of elemental gods, who must help humanity in it's way to development, in order to do that you must combine different elements of nature in a puzzle-way of distributing resources. The game offers different challengs to the player, who must progress in a different way in each playthrough, what is great in terms of replay value. In summary, if you are looking for a simple but not boring gameplay, Reus is a great choice with at a very honest price

90

Great comeback

Jorgel | Oct. 11, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider

Lara Croft is back in a outstanding performance. Leaving the all-strong Lara from previous games, here we start with a fragile but determinate
researcher, that has to fight with a lot of enemies and situations in order to survive. This element makes us evolve along with Lara and her skills and personalities, bringing a great charismatic element to the plot. The gameplay is great and brings a lot of weapons and tools you have to use in order to advance. The graphics are also great, and helps to have you immerse in the game's atmosfere. The only downside I can see is that the game forgets it's origins since the real 'tomb raiding" is just optional, but this doesn't make it a bad game at all

80

Great gameplay

Jorgel | Oct. 11, 2013 | Review of The Showdown Effect

Reviving the action movies theme from the 80's and 90's, Showdown Effect brings a good gameplay and nice characters. The game is multiplayer only, but is very competent at this: the gameplay is very nice and funny, especially if you are playing with your friends, each charater has i'ts own special ability, and you can choose one depending on your playing style. The scenarios are very beautifull too, evokingold movies from our childhood. The bad side of the game is the very few choices, mainly scenarios, and if you want some new weapons you will have to pay for it. Even with it's problems, Showdown Effect is a funny and fun game to play with your friends, so give it a chance and you will like it.

75

Beautifully innovative

Jorgel | Oct. 11, 2013 | Review of Ion Assault

Althought there a lot of shooting games out there, Ion Assault innovate bringing an element of gameplay I haven't seen in any other game: there are a lot of "ions" in the scenario, and in order to shoot your targets you must collect them. This ions, beyond just affecting the gameplay gives the game a very beautifull aspect, of particles flying and ricocheting around the scenario. Unfortunately the game can become pretty boring after some time, since your only goal is to destroy some asteroids in each stage, while defending yourself from enemies. But, if you want a fun shooting game to play in you free time, Ion Assault can be a very good option

90

Great game

Jorgel | July 28, 2013 | Review of They Bleed Pixels

Imagine Super Meat Boy with combat elements, that is They Bleed Pixels. The game combines a very good 2D pixel art with a great combat system with combos and various attacks, that test your skills and makes you want to get better and better at the various stages. The game also brings horror elements, from Poe to Lovecraft to create a mysterious and good history as background of the frenetic and difficult(in a good way) gameplay. As an addition, there are a lot f bonus contents, from videos to beautiful illustrations that are unlocked as you play, what can be annothe incentive for you to play this fantastic game

85

Great Kart Racing game

Jorgel | July 28, 2013 | Review of Sonic and All-Stars Racing Transformed

In lack of Mario Kart on PC, Sonic and All-Stars Racing Transformed fill the gap in a great way. With a lot of characters to choose(some of them really weird to be on this kind of game) and scenarios to play(all of them very beatiful), this is a great game if you like kart racing games, with a lot of itens to use. The controls are good and the game is very fun to play, and the graphics in general are very good. The only con in this game are some very annoying bugs that sometimes can get you mad, but that doesn't affect the overall experience.

80

Good remake

Jorgel | March 25, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider: Anniversary DNS

It's the first Tomb Raider that I really played. First of all, it's a great remake: the grapphics are very good(for it's time), and there are some improvments in the game as a whole. The history is quite interesting, even though a little cliche. Despite the fact it's a good game in general, there are some issues, especially in gameplay and the controls that can be very frustrating, making some situations more difficult than they should be. I really liked this game, but because of some problems I stopped playing it. I hope to return to it and finish it some day

90

Grab your friends

Jorgel | Feb. 22, 2013 | Review of Magicka

This game is great. It mix a good RPG, action, comedy and coop game into an amazing combination. The gameplay is great and intuitive(use a game pad): you mix elements to create spells, and you can combine your spells with your friend's to create even powerful ones, what leads to an awesome coop game. The history is very nice and funny, and you will find yourself laughing of some situations. The graphics are also beautiful, with an nice 3D visual, with cartoon elements. If you want to have fun with your friends, Magicka is a great game, and the tons of DLCs can make it last a lot longer

55

Too complex

Jorgel | Feb. 22, 2013 | Review of Defcon: Everybody Dies DNS

I have been thinking on buying Defcon for some time, the strategic focus attracted me, but the visual always kept me from buying it. Finally I get the game, and I have to say I am disappointed. First of all, this game is complex, but this itself shouldn't be a bad thing. You will have to pass through the tutorial if you want to start to understand how the game works, and it can be quite boring. The interface and gameplay is very non-intuitive, and you will find yourself trying to remember how to do the most simple stuff. The game is also only multiplayer, what can discourage alone players(like me). I only recommend this game if you can grab it in a bundle, then you can try it and make your own judgment.

95

Awesome

Jorgel | Feb. 22, 2013 | Review of Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition (NA)

Ok, first of all, you will die. This game is hard, insanely hard, and you will find yourself trying desperately to beat an enemy, just to die in the next corner. But the game is so exciting and challenging that you will spent hours and hours just to advance a few inches in the game(and die just before the next save point), and it will not be frustrating. The combat system is great and intuitive, with rolling and parrying, and it will test your real skills, not just some character attributes. Besides that, the evolution and item system is nice, not letting the game to became too easy. The graphics are also great (although some minor optimization issues) and the history is quite interesting. If you want a really challenging game, that will test your skills, Dark Souls is an awesome game, but be prepared to die. A lot.

75

Simple great puzzle

Jorgel | Jan. 30, 2013 | Review of World of Goo

I think my first experience with the Indie game world have been with World of Goo, some years ago on an Ipod. Since them the game has been ported to any and every platform. The game is simple in it's essence: you build towers, bridges and ropes using little sticking balls called Goo. It's simplicity is also it's greatness: the puzzles are easy to understand but also hard to execute, and you continuously gain access to new kinds of Goos and experience situations like wind and rain. Everything is presented along with good graphics and soundtrack. If you haven't played it game yet and are looking for a good puzzle World of Goo is a good game.

95

Deep RPG

Jorgel | Jan. 30, 2013 | Review of The Witcher II: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition

First of all, the The Witcher was a great game. It brought a whole new RPG universe with aspects and innovations that was not explored before: the history was great, the decisions weren't merely manichaeistic and in some scale were more mature and deep than others RPGs, as well as some new mechanics or some others different from another games, the potions, for example. The Witcher 2 brings back all this elements but improved it even more: the graphics are great, the gameplay, especially in combate, is more fluid and the trama is still amazing and appealing. There are some problems in the interface and gameplay thought, but this not keep it from been one of the best RPGs in the last years

90

Beautiful

Jorgel | Jan. 30, 2013 | Review of Trine

Indie games are usually known for beautiful but simple graphics. Trine, on the other hand, has superb and eye-catching graphics, with amazing scenarios and beautiful characters. Trine is a puzzle game, remembering the old and classic Lost Vikings, and it's very competent in this aspect too: they are challenging but not impossible, what makes the game very fluid and fun to play, and the co-op option is very welcome, fitting very well in this game. With all this Trine is already a great game, but it also includes a very nice history, enriching the environment. If you are looking for a fun game to play with your friends, Trine is one of the best options.

85

The classic is back

Jorgel | Jan. 30, 2013 | Review of Super Street Fighter 4: Arcade Edition

Street Fighter has always been as always been a classic fighting game, with unique fighters and beautiful 2d graphics. This fourth edition of the game brings the old and good formula, but with new 3d cell-shading graphics, along with a good gameplay. As always, Sega launched a lot of versions to the game, and the Arcade Edition is the last one of SSF4: there are a few gameplay changes targeting balance to the fighters as well as new fighters, what makes it a very complete game. If you are a fighting game fan and don't have it already do it right always: it is the best fighting game on PC nowadays, and you won't be disappointed.

95

Fantastic TBS

Jorgel | Jan. 29, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization® V

First of all, I was not a big fan of the Civilization series until this game. I tried Civ 4 once, but I found it very confused and complex(some may find it good), but when I give Civ 5 a chance I was immediately hooked. The graphics and sound are really good but the main point of the game is the gameplay. Remembering board games, Civizilation takes you to the lead of a nation in history, from Mayas to Americans, since the ancient times to the future era. The mechanics may seem a bit hard in the beginning, but as you play you get used to almost everything. Almost everything because Civilization is an infinity game: every single match is a whole new game, with new situations, scenarios and enemy or allies behavior, and you will find yourself immerse in the game during hours without noticing. Making it simple: grab this game, but be careful not to forget your life outside

80

Funny point and click

Jorgel | Jan. 29, 2013 | Review of Deponia DNS

I admit that I am not a genuine adventure game player, but Deponia attracted me by it's graphics and thematic. Gladly I was not disappointed. The two things that I was looking for didn't let me down. The cartooned graphics are beautiful and nice to see, bringing charismatic and appealing characters and locations. The theme, making a tribute to Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett parody worlds, is developed by a funny and interesting history with unexpected and a little mind blowing situations, along with good puzzle. Fans of adventures games may find Deponia a little boring or not innovative, but for casual games it is a very good game.

80

Nostalgic Tower Defense

Jorgel | Jan. 29, 2013 | Review of Unstoppable Gorg

Unstoppable Gorg is a tribute to the old and classic black-and-white sci fi movies. First of all, the history is developed with low-budgets cutscenes with real actors, bad effects and poor(and intentional) acting, remembering the movies it is based in, and the same occurs to the soundtrack. But Unstoppable Gorg is a Tower Defense, and in this aspect it is also very competent and fun, with some good inovattions like moving "towers" and enemy path. Although it's a very good TD game, the cost may be a little high for what it deliveries, but if you find it with a good discount you can grab it right away

85

Feel Fear

Jorgel | Jan. 3, 2013 | Review of F.E.A.R -

Despite the base FPS elements, FEAR is settled in a well constructed horror story, taking elements from different medias, from movies to other games. The history is intriguing and the gameplay has some innovative elements that take alway the boredom of other shooter titles. But the most impressive in FEAR is what it's name sugests: you WILL be scared. The game has an awesome atsmofere, where you don't know when the next enemy or suprise will come from, making you feel anxious all the time. If you want a scary and challenging game with an good story, you will not be disappointed with FEAR

90

Original shooter

Jorgel | Dec. 30, 2012 | Review of BioShock DNS

In the last times we have been bombarded by cliche shooters with just a bunch of weapons and frenetic gunfight, but fortunately Bioshock comes with an all new persepctive. From the original and amazing universe and ambience with misteries and a intriguing and superb mitology to the innovative weapons, habilites and combat system. If it's not enough Bioshock still amaze us with an intelligent and mind blowing history that surprise us since the very beggining until the last minute. If you are a fan of FPS but tired of the sameness of last titles, Bioshock is a great must buy game

80

Innovative Shmup

Jorgel | Dec. 27, 2012 | Review of Sine Mora

Lots of bullets, various ships and weapons upgrades. Those are the basic elements of almost every Shoot'em up game, but Sine Mora add some more new aspects that fit in it very well. With some very nice new ideas in gameplay, beatifull and immersive graphics, lots of enemies and a surprising good and quiet deep history (what is rare in this genre) Sine Mora is a very very nice and challenging game. The only con is the short campaing(about 2 to 3 hours), which is compensate by the others game styles, where you can spend many more hours trying to get some achievments.

95

Just Amazing

Jorgel | Dec. 26, 2012 | Review of Bastion Cap

I could simple say that this is amazing. Beautifull graphics, evolving history and a excellent and embracing sound track. Bastion is awesome RPG with a lot of innovative elements, from weapons and gameplay to the absolutely remarkable omnipresent narrator. You will be immersed in this world, and once you finish the game you will be willing to play it again, just to make different decisions and to remember this amazing universe. This, in addition to some challenges make it a game with a good replay factor. Bastion is a must buy indie game to every affectionate to both RPG and good history.

85

Excellent Challenge

Jorgel | Dec. 26, 2012 | Review of Super Meat Boy

One of the most difficults games of the last years. In Super Meat Boy you will die. A lot. But this is good, you will be willing to beat that level, you will be frustrated while you don't, but when you finally make it you will be extremely sattisfied, just to go to the next level and experience the same feelings again, and again.