Reviews by Jray264

64

Mediocre but decent

Jray264 | Jan. 23, 2013 | Review of Dead Island

Dead Island is nothing like it's trailer. There is (basically) no story in Dead Island. The entire game is a meaningless grind. There's fetch quest, escort missions, and kill all the zombie missions and not much else. Ammo is very scarce so you'll have to rely on melee weapons for most of the game. The combat system is pretty dull. You swing your weapon until your stamina runs out and then you kick them because kicking doesn't use any stamina. Graphics are decent and the sound effects are good, but story and gameplay wise it's pretty mediocre.

86

One of the best sandbox games

Jray264 | Jan. 23, 2013 | Review of Just Cause 2

If you find yourself trying to pull off stunt jumps in GTA or passing time by killing random civilians in Saints Row, then this is a game you want to look into. This game is all about making up your own gravity defying stunts as you play around in the ginormous map. You can spend hours just screwing around in the game and that is what a sandbox game is supposed to be like. The story and voice acting are laughable bad, but everything else about the game is superb.

67

It's no RE4

Jray264 | Jan. 23, 2013 | Review of Resident Evil 5

If you've played Resident Evil 4, then you are going to be disappointed with the latest game in the series. RE5 doesn't want to be a survival horror game. Instead, it wants to be an action game. Problem is that RE5 still has the clunky controls from RE4 and a terrible new inventory system. Gunplay is still fun but the puzzles are easy and boring. The game does well in the graphics and sound department but the story and dialogue in this are laughably bad. If you have someone to play with then by all means try it.

70

Not quite the game we wanted

Jray264 | Jan. 22, 2013 | Review of Hitman: Absolution - Professional Edition (NA) Overflow-

Here's the problem with Absolution: it wants to be an action game. It really, really, wants to be an action game. Sometimes the game pretty much forces you to shoot your way through the level. These are the low points of Absolution and sadly there are a few of them. Don't get me wrong, the game can really shine at points in the game (literally because someone went nuts on the bloom slider), like the Chinese New Year level where you blend into the crowd after poisoning your targets food, but most of the time it doesn't feel like a Hitman game. Another downside of this game is the story. It's stupid right from the get go. Not to mention the level near the end of the game that puts you against 7 or so rifle totting nuns. Yeah, nuns. If you need something to scratch that stealth itch then you could take a shot at this game. Maybe you'll like it. But don't count on loving it.

86

Fallout 3.5

Jray264 | Jan. 22, 2013 | Review of Fallout: New Vegas DNS

Have you played Fallout 3? Did you like it? If so, you can now buy the expansion pack, Fallout New Vegas, for $20! Okay, so it's not an expansion pack but it kinda of feels like one. It honest to god is Fallout 3 with an orange tint instead of green one. It does fix some of the issues that Fallout 3 had. For example New Vegas has way better voice acting and a more balanced leveling up and combat system. Regardless, it's an amazing game and I had a lot of fun with it.

80

Good game bad port

Jray264 | Jan. 22, 2013 | Review of Saints Row 2

I played Saints Row 2 after I played the third one and I have to say that I preferred 2 over 3. The amount of customization is staggering and the story is engaging and interesting. The game manages to be humorous and serious at the same time. One moment I was walking around with my pimp cane that doubled as a shotgun, and the next I was killing one of the main antagonist in a very vindictive and cringe worthy fashion. It's a heck of a time and everyone should play it. Just not on the PC. This is a terrible port of an amazing game.

79

Silly, goofy fun

Jray264 | Jan. 22, 2013 | Review of Saints Row: The Third

This is a good example on how fun video games can be. What other game lets you jump out of a flaming plane, belly flop the side walk, sprint to the nearest civilian, slam his or her face into the cold hard earth, and then proceed to crotch chop. I forgot to mention you can do all of this in your birthday suit. And I've just scratched the surface. The story missions aren't as fun though. Some are actually fun and hilarious, like the first mission where you rob a bank dressed up as yourself, but some missions are just boring filler. Overall, the game is worth a purchase because of the sheer amount of fun you'll have terrorizing the city of Steelport. Oh, and there is a button dedicated solely to punching people in the crotch.

82

The best and the worst Max Payne game

Jray264 | Jan. 22, 2013 | Review of Max Payne 3 DNS

Let me explain the title. Out of all three MP games, Max Payne 3 has the best gameplay, sound, and graphics. But what I really liked about the Max Payne games was the story. Unfortunately, MP 3 has a weak and muddled story. Sure, Max Payne is still himself, but the story is not nearly has good as the other two. Max still goes through a lot of hardships during the course of the game, all while he talks to himself and makes up witty analogies, but like I said it's not nearly as good, What IS good about this game is the stunning graphics and gunplay. Bullettime never looked better as Max dives into the air shoots a baddy in the head. The game put a lot of detail into the game has Max carries whatever weapon he had in the cut scenes and you can see the flesh rip as the bullet exits the victim's skull. Fans of action games and Max Payne games should try the game out.

90

GTA with kung fu

Jray264 | Jan. 22, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs Digital Edition

Sleeping Dogs is more than just an average GTA clone. It doesn't do anything new or unique, but by god is it fun. Think of GTA with Batman melee combat and you basically have Sleeping Dogs. The game manages to spice up most of the action by adding things like the ability to ram your car in any direction instead of just steering into a car and by slowing down time whenever you vault over cover. The game encourages you to stay on the move while in a shootout, but that's not where Sleeping Dogs shines. It shines when you put down your gun and engage the enemy in hand to hand combat. It doesn't flow as well as Arkham City, but it still manages to be fun. The game also boosts an impressive sountrack and voice acting. Some aspects of the game feel rushed, but that doesn't deter Sleeping Dogs from being one of the most fun games of 2012.

95

Pleasent surprise

Jray264 | Jan. 22, 2013 | Review of Spec Ops: The Line dns

I really don't want to spoil anything at all. I just want to say "it's good" because saying anything else will spoil it. Everyone bashes the gameplay but I don't see why it was scorned so much. Maybe it's because I haven't played a third person shooter in a while but I thought the combat was decent. It was stupid of the developers to make the melee button the same button as the vault button which sometimes causes you to punch the waist high wall of concrete instead of leaping over it. Sound wise and graphic wise it's very good. Now go play it before anyone spoils it. And play it all the way through. Just trust me on this one.

88

A game that is actually scary??

Jray264 | Jan. 22, 2013 | Review of Condemned: Criminal Origins CAP

I feel as though this game didn't get enough attention. It should of because it's probably the only good modern day horror game. Condemned does a lot of things right. Every second manages to be tense and remotely scary because of the great atmosphere. It sucks you in and engages you. You can almost feel the impact as you smack the humanoid monster in the face with a 2x4 and watch as the teeth go flying across the screen. Condemned is very far from flawless though. The game requires you to go on fetch quests to find fire axes and sledgehammers, and the game could be a bit longer. Overall though it's a great experience that every horror fan should go through.

90

Get this game now

Jray264 | Jan. 22, 2013 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year -

I was taken by surprise when I played Arkham Asylum. It manages to blend action and stealth so well and manages to make them both equally as fun. But it doesn't end there, AA also manages to bring a good story, excellent voice acting, and thick atmosphere to the table. The only part this game doesn't do well are the boss fights. They are all the same boring fight. Heck, even the final boss is like the first boss. There are two other bosses that don't take up the same pattern, but are equally as bad. Overall, you need this game. Get it. Like it. Buy your friend a copy.

98

One of my favorite games

Jray264 | Jan. 22, 2013 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year -

Batman is back and better than ever. Arkham City manages to be better than it's predecessor in almost every way possible. The combat and stealth has been perfected, the boss fights are no longer uninspired and tedious, and the world is bigger and better. However, it is not entirely flawless. The story loses focus sometimes because there are so many villains. But that's pretty much the only flaw. It just falls short of perfection.

80

A good game with great atmosphere

Jray264 | Jan. 22, 2013 | Review of Alan Wake

There really isn't a game out there like Alan Wake which is why everyone should try it. The game is dripping with atmosphere which is a rare thing in games now a days. It's not really scary but very engaging and entertaining. The light effects are jaw dropping, and they should be because light plays a key part in this game. You use light to wipe out the shadows, which act like shields, on enemies and quickly dispatch them with a wide range of guns. The story is good and so are the characters. Try this game. You won't regret it.

95

Bring the pain!

Jray264 | Jan. 22, 2013 | Review of Super Meat Boy

Looking for a tough-as-nails old school platformer? Are you also looking for a platformer that has simple, responsive, and near perfect gameplay? Then you found the perfect game. SMB is as simple as they come; run, jump, and dodge your way to the girl. Each stage is brilliant designed and each mistake feels like it's your fault. The game never feels cheap. With a good amount of stages and characters, you can't go wrong with SMB.

95

Jolly Cooperation

Jray264 | Jan. 22, 2013 | Review of Killing Floor

So Left 4 Dead and Call of Duty Zombies had a baby. Does that sound appealing? If so, good. Because Killing Floor is this metaphorical baby. You and 5 friends (or random people) survive against waves of monsters on elaborate and well-structured maps. In between waves you can purchase new weapons such as the chainsaw or flamethrower. It should be noted that voice acting is beyond terrible. I found it endearing, but just a word of caution.

Great gun sounds, addicting gameplay, and a constant stream of new content every so often. What more do you want?

58

Jump-Scares: The Game

Jray264 | Jan. 22, 2013 | Review of Dead Space (NA) DNS

Looking for a horror game? Then look somewhere else. Dead Space is a third person shooter that tries to be a horror game. Tries. Doesn't succeed. Sure, I jumped when a giant white space monster with sword-like limbs played dead then grabbed me by the foot when I walked near it, but after the third time it really got old. It's a one trick pony in the horror department and offers nothing else but jump scares. As a third person shooter it's solid I suppose. There are better games out there that you can spend your money and time on.

69

Not for everyone

Jray264 | Jan. 22, 2013 | Review of Bulletstorm (NA) DNS

Bulletstorm seems to have an identity crisis. One one hand it wants to be like shooters of the olden days, and in the other hand it wants to be just like all of the other modern day shooters. It's a bit of a mess but it's possible to find some pleasure in playing it. The game encourages you to kill in the most violent and stylish fashion. At the same time, wants you to feel like you're playing a modern day shooter. So while you're in the middle of setting up an amazing kill, you have retreat and hide behind cover until your health comes back, slowing the game's pace drastically. It's lewd, crass, vulgar, gory, and self aware. If that sounds like something you'd want to play then go for it.

70

Decent multiplayer but terrible singleplayer

Jray264 | Jan. 22, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 3: Premium Edition (NA) dns

The title really says it all. The BF3 campaign is one of the most boring shooter campaigns in recent memory. But you're not here for the story right (I hope not at least)? You're in it for the multiplayer! And I can say that the multiplayer is pretty good. Instead of being a twitchy corridor shoot out like Call of Duty, BF3 focuses on large maps, teamwork, and vehicles. Is someone camping on that giant skyscraper over there? Get in a tank and blow it up! Since the game is focused on teamwork, it's better if you play with friends rather than random people online. Overall, Battlefield 3 offers a solid multiplayer experience and not much else.

95

Give me Deus Ex

Jray264 | Jan. 22, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

I'm a fond fan of the original Deus Ex, so I was expecting Human Revolution to fall flat just like how Invisible Was did. Thankfully, I was wrong in expecting this. HR is a beautiful game that fans of RPGs like this will rave about on the internet for years. Something Deus Ex does well is that every mission can be tackled in so many different ways. Do you want to shoot everyone up or sneak through the air vents undetected? Do you want to beat that guy up to get the password to the computer or do you just want to hack it? Deus Ex is far from flawless though. The boss fights are the worst I've seen in a game in a long time, the yellow filter would of been better if it didn't exist, and the AI is astounding stupid at times. If you like RPGs, stealth games, Fallout, or just good games in general, pick this up. Now.

95

Favorite Sonic game

Jray264 | Jan. 22, 2013 | Review of Sonic the Hedgehog 2

If you've been disappointed with Sonic's recent games, try Sonic Generations. In the meantime, buy Sonic 2 to remember why you love the blue hedgehog to begin with. Being my personal favorite Sonic game, Sonic 2 deserves a spot in everyone's library. Tight gameplay. Catchy music. This game has it all. It's a game that can be beaten in one sitting but it's so fun that will probably play it over and over.

60

Good but not my cup of tea

Jray264 | Jan. 22, 2013 | Review of Borderlands

If you're looking for a good co-op game to kill time with friends, then consider buying Borderlands. Stylish cell shaded graphics, tons of guns, and tons of quests means that you can sink hours into this game with friends. If you're looking for a good single game, then you might want to look elsewhere. The story is nonexistent, bar a few walls of text that explain whats going on, and the shooting gets old pretty fast. The menus are really cumbersome and it's a pain to see which weapon is better and which one you should take. Like I said, if you're going to play with other people then try this game. Pass otherwise.

75

Dead Rising 2.5

Jray264 | Jan. 20, 2013 | Review of Dead Rising 2: Off the Record

Off the Record is neither a sequel, prequel, or equal of the original Dead Rising 2. It's DR2 all over again with a new layer of paint and some new toys. When I say toys I mean new weapons, combo weapons, psychopaths, costumes, skill moves, and a semi new story. If you've played DR2 already, you probably won't be able to shake the feeling that you've done this all before. Still, if you're a die hard fan and can get this for under $20 then I'd say it's worth it.