Reviews by Kalmado

70

While attempting to be different, it's the same old thing

Kalmado | Nov. 17, 2013 | Review of Call of Duty: Black Ops

Just as the title suggests. Add some new skins, some new maps for multi player, and a few other things and you have the year's iteration of Call Of Duty. I understand most play for multi player, but even that felt bland and boring. Also, the level of frustration peeked as on numerous times I unloaded full clips into people only to have a knife kill me instead of 20+ bullets kill them. Graphics were what you should expect. This game is nothing to buy on day 1 unless you must have the new game.

81

Ok, but not as good as the hype made it

Kalmado | Nov. 17, 2013 | Review of Crysis 2: Maximum Edition (NA)

A few hours in I see this game being a decent fps and action game. It's graphics are lush and there seems to be a lot going on. Unfortunately at the end of the day it's another FPS. I found the intro and how you wear the suit somewhat annoying and bland. The intro CS was your typical "something is happening and the armed forces are called in" blah blah. nothing unique or interesting. I found myself not caring about the character or why some doctor was blabbing in my ear to go this way and that. This title left me with zero interest to pick up Crysis 3. I have not tried multi player, but I'm sure it's Crytek's version of CoD.

98

Once again Max delivers

Kalmado | Oct. 26, 2013 | Review of Max Payne 3

When teasers and trailers first arrived for Max Payne 3 I was extremely skeptical. I, like many others, said, "What did you do to Max?!". What Rockstar did was continue his legacy as being one of the most memorable characters to ever be in a video game.

Excellent story with stunning graphics and fantastic game play. Yet again Max delivers the action as only he can. The twists and turns in this story grip the player and do not let go.

Multi player could have been better, but let's be honest, this is not why we bought this game.

Is Max gone? Or will he be resurrected again? If the former, Max has left us remembering why we listened to his story from start (Max Payne 1) to finish.

97

Just as good as the first

Kalmado | Oct. 26, 2013 | Review of Max Payne II: The Fall of Max Payne

Max Payne 2 delivers just as much as the original. Going through his struggles again gives the sensation of living through a man that cannot catcha break but will always fight for what he believes in. Voice acting is amazing and on point as is the music. Visually this was a great achievement for it's time. The story again is top notch and completing it will leave the player satisfied. If you owned the first and enjoyed it, this is a must have.

98

Changed action games forever and still holds weight today

Kalmado | Oct. 26, 2013 | Review of Max Payne

Max Payne started slow motion bullet dodging etc which led to many other games having similar mechanics. While this feature makes Max Payne memorable, the story and character building of Max is what makes it legendary.

The noir comic book feeling while playing is remarkable. Players can and will feel Max's struggle in this tragic story. Even in 2013, this 2001 game is amazing for what it is and will always be in the upper echelon of action games.

95

Much more than the Asian GTA

Kalmado | Oct. 26, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs Digital Edition

From the beginning to the end this game is action packed with a story that pulls you in. Graphics are excellent and player interaction is extremely fun. Combat is very refreshing since you don't just grab an automatic gun and blast everyone.

There are many side quests to do and lots to achieve that will keep you playing while not becoming repetitive and boring. The music is also an excellent feature. A great game worth the money spent.

85

My first and last MMO

Kalmado | Oct. 26, 2013 | Review of FINAL FANTASY XI Ultimate Collection: Seekers Edition (NA)

I am a big fan of the Final Fantasy series and when a coworker introduced me to this game I fell in love with it instantly. Similar to past FF games, the job system is what really makes this game fun. Graphics were good for when the game was released, but have gradually fell behind. Music is top notch.

After playing for some time I grew disenchanted with playing. Not because of the game, but because I couldn't base my time around others to play a game. Being new to MMO I didn't understand how this worked and when I realized the time needed to try and be the best at the game I was disappointed. I do not dock points off of the game for this, but I feel it's needed to be said. After some time game play was dumbed down a bit and made more "solo player" friendly, but by this time I had enough of MMO style gaming and put it down.

It's a great experience if you have the time to play and great bang for your buck.

95

A game that has lived up to the hype

Kalmado | Oct. 26, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim® Legendary Edition

After numerous recommendations from friends to purchase this I declined. All of the positive reviews on the net couldn't get me to buy this game. Why? Fallout 3 was a huge disappointed for me, but that story is for another review.

After being disappointed by other rpg's I finally broke down and bought it and so far it's everything you wish for and more. Graphics are top notch with smooth game play and character interaction.

My only gripe thus far, and I'll chalk this up to being new at The Elder Scrolls games, is the combat system while in third person is a bit of an annoyance. The easy answer is to switch to first person when in battle which I have done, but I'd rather play in third person. I'll need to adjust to it I suppose.

This is definitely a game that justifies the price tag which is a rarity in the gaming world currently.

90

Excellent game for it's time

Kalmado | Oct. 26, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas

I have never been a huge fan of the GTA series but this game really delivers. Take into consideration when it was released and just enjoy what San Andreas has to offer and you will immerse yourself in it's world.

One gripe is the known stutter problem. It can be very irritating until you find just the right settings for your pc to make it work correctly.

Overall this is a great game to add to the library.

95

My first experience with Deus Ex

Kalmado | Oct. 26, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

I purchased this game originally on 360 when it was first released and loved it. One thing that drove me to this game was it being set in Detroit. I live in Michigan and worked in Detroit and always get excited whenever anything is released in entertainment regarding the city.

After recently building my first gaming pc I was gifted Deus Ex from a friend and so far am in love with the pc version. Graphics are amazing. Game play is solid. I'm not very far in yet, but I'll assume it's as amazing overall if not more than the 360 version. The story is extremely unique which garners it a standout in the gaming market of today. Highly recommend purchasing this.