Reviews by Kordas

93

The Witcher 2 - mature and dark RPG

Kordas | Dec. 14, 2013 | Review of The Witcher II: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition

The Witcher 2 is a bit like an oldschool RPG. But it's also influenced by how games look nowaydays and it's safe to assume that CD Projekt RED are very good at storytelling! Based on fabulous series of books from Andrzej Sapkowski the game really nicely shows universe of the Witcher and the adventure is awesome. Your choices matter, it's almost mandatory to play the game twice - because second chapter is almost completely different if you choose the other option at the end of the first chapter.

Skill tree is well-thought and although I was kinda disappointed by Alchemy tree that in my opinion was quite a bit weaker than Magic and Swordsmanship trees, it's really worth spending some time to think on how you want to divide the skill points. Gameplay is very good, combat is really intuitive and you have a lot of options: fighting with sword, magic, setting traps, throwing daggers and a lot more. Especially on the higher difficulty level you must always equip yourself probably: make and drink some potions and equip yourself with the best gear you have. It's just very rich game; world is a lot smaller than let's say Skyrim but it's really a lot more entertaining. Every hardcore RPG fan should check it out!

88

The best multiplayer FPS

Kordas | Dec. 13, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 3

Fans of multiplayer FPS were always divided into 2 main groups: fans of Battlefield, and fans of Call of Duty. While I have to give credit for both series for bringing FPS to a very high level, Battlefield 3 made me abandon Call of Duty for the sake of playing BF3!

Weapons, all the maps that actually differ between themselves, vehicles, a lot of different equipment tactics - Battlefield 3 is a lot more strategic game than CoD and it does its job perfectly. I almost always catch myself playing another few rounds just after saying "That's enough, I need to turn off this game". It's just so good that you can't stop! All the rewards and achievements really make you want to become better and better and gaining higher ranks.

Graphics are great with use of Frostbite engine. It's just pity that single-player campaign is really poor - it's disappointing after great Bad Company 2 campaign. Anyway, if you're looking for multiplayer experience this is the game right for you!

81

LEGO + Harry Potter = Extreme fun!

Kordas | Dec. 13, 2013 | Review of LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4

Do you remember playing with LEGO bricks? Or perhaps you're still playing with them? Maybe you or your kid loves Harry Potter? This game fuses two great things everybody loves! World created by J. K. Rowling built from LEGO bricks is something one cannot just pass by. Forget putting bricks together one by one to make a construction. Now all you need is wand (and perhaps spell book) and you can immerse in this fantastic LEGO world that recreates Hogwarts and everything that happened from Harry's birth and after years finding out of his supernatural skills all the way to rebirth of Voldemort at the end of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. It's incredibly fun to play, combat is pure joy and humour is here like in every other LEGO game. Every HP fan will easily recognize famous scenes from books and movies. It's something definitely worth checking out (not only for the younger players, but older ones can have a lot of fun too!) and if you have partner to play co-op mode I guarantee you'll sink in to this game for long hours!

92

Great game with some great additional content in this version.

Kordas | Dec. 13, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect 2: Digital Deluxe

Mass Effect is this series of game everybody heard about. It has great story, great original universe, rich history, culture and a lot of stories to tell. It should be no surprise that after wonderful 1st game, Bioware did even better with the second one. The story is as compelling as the original game, gameplay is 200 times better (yeah, that was only factor that annoyed me a little in the first game), graphics are much improved, as well, it's just a perfect continuation of the series. The dialogues are really something that gets you immersed into this world! Some new races were added to the game, and favourite characters from Mass Effect 1 are back to help Shepard agains a new threat. Everyone sci-fi fan or not should try this amazing experience (of course only after finishing the first one, since you can import your decisions to the second and then third game!).

81

Classic stuff is really worh it!

Kordas | Dec. 13, 2013 | Review of F1 2013: CLASSIC EDITION

This is definitely the best Formula 1 game out there. It has very nice graphics, engine sounds are incredible, and what's most important, racing is so much fun! In the addition the Classic content is something everybody was waiting for to get and in F1 2013 Classic Edition it's finally here! The game has its faults, like sometimes stupid AI (although it's definitely the best one in series history), Safety Car appearing almost as frequently as Yeti (yeah, everybody heard it's in the game, but nobody has seen it yet), but they can't in any way break one's joy from playing! If you are fan of F1, play F1 2013! If you are not, play it anyway, because it's simply very good game!

92

If you didn't play it yet, what are you waitng for?

Kordas | Dec. 13, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect 2

Mass Effect is this series of game everybody heard about. It has great story, great original universe, rich history, culture and a lot of stories to tell. It should be no surprise that after wonderful 1st game, Bioware did even better with the second one. The story is as compelling as the original game, gameplay is 200 times better (yeah, that was only factor that annoyed me a little in the first game), graphics are much improved, as well, it's just a perfect continuation of the series. The dialogues are really something that gets you immersed into this world! Some new races were added to the game, and favourite characters from Mass Effect 1 are back to help Shepard agains a new threat. Everyone sci-fi fan or not should try this amazing experience (of course only after finishing the first one, since you can import your decisions to the second and then third game!).

83

New Hitman game, the same good Agent 47

Kordas | Dec. 13, 2013 | Review of Hitman: Absolution

Hitman was always one of the most recognizable franchises of video games. Return of Agent 47 in Hitman: Absolution is a good one. Square Enix knows how to do games and they showed it once again. A lot of things have been improved since Blood Money but it's still the same good, old, Hitman Everyone knows and loves. If you loved previous Hitman games, you shouldn't wait any longer, you just need to get your money together and buy it! The story is really good, and the possibilities of taking out your targets are countless! There is nothing better than the feeling when your target just dies in an unfortunate incident as you slowly walk off without being recognized. It's just pure joy. And although the game has some flaws (I don't really like disguise system) it's very good position to spend a few hours here and there.

97

The greatest story-driven game of all time and its awesome DLC

Kordas | Dec. 13, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead & 400 Days DLC Pack

You came here because you want to experience what all the fuss is about before Season 2 comes out? Whaaat? You didn't play it yet? Well, I guess you can still fix your mistake. It's definitely worth buying this pack. You not only get whole Season 1 where you as convicted criminal Lee Everett try to survive apocalypse where the dead came back to life and started to hunt for the living, while protecting little girl named Clementine, but you also get special "400 Days" bonus episode DLC featuring stories of 5 characters that are likely to appear in Season Two of the game. If you look for the story-driven game, with complex characters you care about, with moments that make you emotional, and with constant fear for the characters, this is the perfect game for you. It's not the zombie game. Because "The Walking Dead" doesn't refer to zombie that wait around every corner to feed on the living. It refers to the threat that's perhaps even worse than walkers - living people. They are the ones to be really afraid of.

78

Must-buy for Mafia hardcore fans

Kordas | Dec. 13, 2013 | Review of Mafia II DLC Pack

If you are a hardcore fan of Mafia II and didn't come around to play its DLC, this pack is your opportunity! It includes hours of new gameplay, and some new vehicles and outfits. While most of them (excluding Joe's Adventure) aren't really good enough to buy them, they are really great to purchase together. And although 30 dollars is a little too much, when it's on discount, grab it, cause it's really good!

79

Definitely the best DLC for Mafia II

Kordas | Dec. 13, 2013 | Review of Mafia II DLC: Joe's Adventure

DLC's for Mafia II were no success, really. They all were rather weak and not worth spending money for. This is really the only one that I can recommend. In some areas it even surpasses the main game. Maybe not in terms of story, but definitely in terms of variability of gameplay. There are stealth missions, chasing missions but it's a tip of the iceberg really. I also like the fact that the game counts your score for each mission: it's really easy to go back to a mission and play it one again to try to beat the score. Joe is definitely great character and it's great to play as him.

77

Very well-crafted game, but still in shadows of precedessor

Kordas | Dec. 13, 2013 | Review of Mafia II

Mafia was incredibly well-known game when it came out (especially on East). I remember that when I played it I was feeling like I was really one of them. That I was in mafia. Mafia II continues telling good story with of course a lot of technical improvements like graphics, gameplay and so on. The game is definitely fun to play and every Mafia I fan should try to play the sequel. Although it lacks so many shocking moments, it still has some great characters, big plot twist, and the ending that left my jaw dropped - it was that good. Shame that the game is quite short. Maybe it's because you don't really have a lot to do in the town between missions. It looks impressive, but in fact it's quite empty. It's definitely not GTA in terms of amount of content. That said, Mafia II really stands out as one of the games that can tell good story, and even though it is nothing that I'll remember to the end of my life, I still recommend it to everyone that wants to experience a good story in a world of mafia.

92

Not the best in trilogy, but still really good!

Kordas | Nov. 28, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect 3

Mass Effect Trilogy surely has been one of those game series that will be remembered for long. Mass Effect 3 is a great ending to the series.

Gameplay is definitely the best out of all three games, Shepard can now roll, go from cover to cover and fighting is smoother. AI is improved a lot as well, companions and enemies change their positions, try to flank you and make you get out of your position

Upgrading weapons is great addition too! Now not only you can upgrade weapons for credits but you can also install new viewfinder, lighter elements and a lot more!

Plot is very decent and has some incredibly moving moments! Ending was criticised by many, but in my opinion it is really good with addition of free Extended Cut DLC. Of course soundtrack is still amazing and it's definitely one of the best game soundtracks you'll find.

Overall, I recommend this game to everyone, doesn't matter if you're Mass Effect fan or not. If you aren't though, I highly recommend to play first two before this one, as they introduce you to the characters, plot and the whole universe, and they also let you influence the third game by taking into account your actions throughout Mass Effect 1 & Mass Effect 2 thanks to save import feature.

88

Excellent reboot to excellent series

Kordas | Nov. 28, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider

Reboots of the known brands are often just a cash-grabs. I was afraid of what this game will be because I've been fan of Tomb Raider series for a long time. Fortunately, Square Enix lived up to fans expectations and delivered a game so good that I'm sure new Lara has more adventures for us in the future.

New Lara is not as sexualized as the one from previous intallments in this series, we are seeing her as young, and still not so experienced archeologist. Plot overall is OK with some really strong moments, but it's not something that is the best in the game. The gameplay is! Fighting, sneaking, solving little riddles (especially raiding the tombs! It's awesome!) is fun and while the game doesn't do anything really innovative in gaming industry, still every game aspect is at least decent.

If you're fan of previous Lara Croft's adventures you should definitely try this one! If you've never tried Tomb Raider, you won't have better occasion to start than playing this reboot!

88

Fell like F1 Driver!

Kordas | Nov. 24, 2013 | Review of F1 2013

This is definitely the best Formula 1 game out there. It has very nice graphics, engine sounds are incredible, and what's most important, racing is so much fun! The game has its faults, like sometimes stupid AI (although it's definitely the best one in series history), Safety Car appearing almost as frequently as Yeti (yeah, everybody heard it's in the game, but nobody has seen it yet), but they can't in any way break one's joy from playing! If you are fan of F1, play F1 2013! If you are not, play it anyway, because it's simply very good game!

84

Good addition to a great game

Kordas | Nov. 13, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead: 400 Days

The Walking Dead: 400 Days is really good mix of 5 stories of different characters (who we'll probably encounter in Season 2). It's not that gripping as history of Lee and Clementine but it's because we don't spend enough time with these characters to really start to care for them. That said, characters are introduced very wisely and in about 15-20 minutes we can get a sense who this guy is and that's great job by writers in Telltale Games. They once again show that you can trust them when it comes to great story, so if you're fan of Season 1 you definitely have to play 400 Days. Although it's not that good, it's very solid!

94

The best story-driven game of all time

Kordas | Oct. 30, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead

When you hear about zombie game, you're probably thinking about Left 4 Dead or Resident Evil: games when you slaughter thousands of zombies and you have fun from it. But "The Walking Dead" is not another zombie shooter. It's not even zombie game. Yeah, it has zombies in it, but like the great comics the game is based of, they are just reason tu push story. They are not central focus of the game, human nature is. Mr Kirkman said when releasing Issue 1 of his comic series that he doesn't want to scare anybody (although if he manages to, that's great), but he wants to make people think who they'd be in the face of the extreme situation.

This game lets players find out even more if they would be able to hold on to humanity, or maybe pure survival would be only thing that matters for them?

5 episodes we are getting in this price are roughly 10 hours, but the experience is unbelievable with every minute. If you like happy endings, this game probably is not good for you. Very little things end perfectly in "The Walking Dead".

Story is amazing and for that alone, it deserves a golden medal. Artistic design, inspired by work of magnificent Charlie Adlard who draws for comic book, is beautiful, and although technically graphic engine is quite old, it still looks great, considering that the game is based on graphic novels. Gameplay in this game is very simple, it's combination of Quick Time Events, dialogues, cinematics and very simple riddles. Player can influence the story in every dialogue, and though most of these choices have very minor meaning, it still feels like it's your story. Voice acting is also outstanding - all cast memebers have done their job very well and gave the life to their characters.

Now I can't wait for Season Two!