Reviews by Kradath

83

Back to the roots

Kradath | Aug. 9, 2013 | Review of Rise of the Triad

All in all, this game is what I expected it to be. The emphasis is, in every regard, on going back to what made old school shooters great and transporting those into the current generation with updated visuals and better controls. Is it perfect? Definitely not, but it's a good start and hopefully more games of this calibre will start to come out in the near future.

The controls are very tight and the level design rewards exploration. On the technical front the game could definitely need some more optimization and bug fixes.

Other than that, if you're looking for a blast from the past this game definitely will suit your needs.

87

For all the Germans out there: It's now uncut!

Kradath | July 16, 2013 | Review of Sniper Elite v2 DE

GMG still lists it as a low violence version, but that is no longer the case. The gore, as well as the X-Ray cam have been patched into all German versions of the game.

Be sure to play it in coop as that's where the fun lies.

Highly recommended.

87

For all the Germans out there: It's now uncut!

Kradath | July 16, 2013 | Review of Sniper Elite V2 + DLC Bundle Low Violence

GMG still lists it as a low violence version, but that is no longer the case. The gore, as well as the X-Ray cam have been patched into all German versions of the game.

As the DLCs are quite neat I'd recommend getting this complete bundle here for the full, uncut, experience.

Highly recommended.

86

Simply pure fun

Kradath | July 15, 2013 | Review of LEGO Lord of the Rings

The lego game series has always been extremely fun in all its iterations and settings used. The newest addition is simply great and does basically all it wants perfectly.

In coop the lego games are a pure blast and the humour nearly always succeeds, even though I'm quite critical concerning humour in games.

You can travel middle earth on a nice, nearly seamless big map to all the big landsites of Middle-Earth and do the many missions portraying, somewhat, scenes from the Lord of the Ring trilogy.

Highly recommended.

81

Not perfect, but tries something new

Kradath | July 15, 2013 | Review of Earth 2160 Capsule

The Earth series was always known for changing the gameplay formula slightly and trying out something new that wasn't done this way before in RTS games.

2160 is no different and in a few aspects it succeeds in bringing those new gameplay features. The whole product got it's flaws though, it feels sometimes like not all of the features work as intended for example.

Recommended.

83

Great sequel, could have been a bit more daring.

Kradath | July 15, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2

I think basically Borderlands 2 doesn't do anything wrong. It basically takes the first game and expands it in all areas. More weapon variety, better skilltrees, characters and levels.

But all in all it feels to much like the first game, as it doesn't try something significantly new. Some would say that's all they wish from a sequel, but I think it could have been much more.

Highly recommended.

65

Solid, but lacking.

Kradath | July 15, 2013 | Review of F.E.A.R. 3

I played all the FEAR games up to this one and sadly I'd say that part 3 is the weakest of all. I tried numerous times to get into it but it simply does not work.

It seems somewhat solid and works, but the levels felt extremely restricted and scripted, it wasn't really scary and worst of all: the gunplay is very lackluster.

Especially the first game was known for its extremely good gunplay and the great feal to the weapons and this is where FEAR3 fails for me completely.

Only recommended for hardcore fans.

65

Still not what expected

Kradath | July 15, 2013 | Review of Sword of the Stars II: Enhanced Edition

The game had its massive problems on launch, but those are mainly in the past now. It's still incredible how many problems still retain though and speaks for how much this game was rushed on released, even after so much time it's still not really finished.

But it runs now and despite all the patching the game simply does not live up to the expectations to it. It feels incredibly clunky and lifeless, the learning curve is extremely steep and even if that one is tackled the controls and menus are simply not innovative and simply frustrating at times.

I would only recommend it to those who are extremely interested in it.

92

A trip to the past

Kradath | July 15, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

This game certainly got its own problems but storywise and gameplaywise this game is quite reminiscent of older games and especially the first title in the Deus Ex series.

The art style is simply stunning and the gameplay is very solid, not as good as the original, but it's much more intelligent than most other games these days.

I really hope they continue on this great basis with more Deux Ex games.

Highest recommendation.

96

Blown away.

Kradath | July 15, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Game of the Year Edition

I have to admit that I am quite the latecomer to this game and just played it recently. The more it hit me how extremely good this game still is despite its age and despite never having played it before.

The story is just gripping from the get go and the gameplay is top notch.

If you're on the fence and not sure whether such an old game can still be fun: get it, it's totally worth it and I really consider it the best PC game available.

Highest recommendation.

72

Good DLC, but rather short

Kradath | July 15, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution – The Missing Link

I enjoyed the DLC quite much and there's also not much to criticise about it other than its short length.

One thing which is important though is the time the DLC is played. It takes place within the base game itself so it's connected to the main story and it's not recommended to play this DLC without having the base game's story in the back of your mind.

It's best to play the base game first and then continue directly with the DLC.

Recommended for fans of DXHR.

94

My Multiplayer favorite

Kradath | July 14, 2013 | Review of Natural Selection II

This game is currently my favorite teamplay oriented online game. It's very complex and hard, which makes it also hard to get into. Being a player of NS1 (which was a HL1 mod back then) it was easier to get into but to all new players: don't get frustrated or scared by the first hours!

As soon as you understand how the game works you will simply have a blast playing this title.

You should bring a quite powerful machine though and the game still got its problems, but you should always keep in mind that this was not only done by an indie studio, but the whole engine was built by themselves from scratch!

Get it if you love teamplay.

Highest recommendation

87

For Agatha!

Kradath | July 14, 2013 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare

This game is currently my favourite 'hop-into' multiplayer title. It's not really a teambased game, but simply a lovely slashing fest. All the weapons have such a realistic and powerful feedback that swinging a sword really makes you feel powerful. The combat is fast and gory and it's always great to hop into it for a short round.

Highly recommended

87

What an expansion has to look like

Kradath | July 14, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization V: Gods and Kings

Civ5 by itself already is one of the strongest strategy titles of the recent years, but with Gods and Kings they simply improved basically every aspect of this game and expanded on the already great features of the base game.

Religion adds another layer to one's expansion and features like espionage gives you newer tactics in dealing with your neighbours.

65

Not as bad as some say, but also not as good as others say

Kradath | July 14, 2013 | Review of Aliens: Colonial Marines

This game is purest mediocracy. And that is simply not enough for the studio that made Borderlands with the Alien licence. The Alien franchise absolutely deserves better and for the time it took Gearbox to produce this game the result is simply a shame. The Aliens are purely dumb, walking on rails and everything is scripted. It's neither scary, nor challenging and that is really a great shame.

It could have been so much better.

87

Complex, but still easy to play

Kradath | July 14, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization® V

I think the strong point of this game is how complex the whole game it's still easy to be played. The diplomacy could be a bit deeper, but expanding your empire is just addicting. Building new towns, developing new techs and conquering other nations gets never old and this game simply brought it to near perfection.

Highly recommended

88

Extremely good 'sequel'

Kradath | July 14, 2013 | Review of Bioshock Infinite

Bioshock Infinite is not really a sequel, but a remake. It takes the basic idea of the first game and goes in a different direction with it. The end product is great, but not without flaws.

The strongest point of the game is, again, the story as well as your sidekick. The gameplay is really great, fast and fun, but I think the atmosphere is a bit lacking. The style is very well done, but it simply does not capture as Rapture did.

Highly recommended

93

Still the best of the series

Kradath | July 14, 2013 | Review of BioShock

I still think this game is the best in the Bioshock series. Infinite is really, really great, but it's still not as good as this instant classic.

The atmosphere of rapture is just as beautiful as it is scary and the whole story felt a bit more thought through. The weapons handle extremely well and I absolutely love the sound design.

Highest recommendation.

70

Decent DLC

Kradath | July 14, 2013 | Review of Sniper Elite v2 – The St Pierre DLC Pack

Sadly, the DLCs for V2 are not massive, but good enough. The St. Pierre mission is quite short, but the ambush is quite entertaining. The first time you don't really know where the target is supposed to arrive at so it's very hard to build up a good ambush.

The weapons are neat, especially the garand which is a nice alternative to all the bolt action rifles in the game.

Recommended.

70

Solid game in the series

Kradath | July 14, 2013 | Review of Commandos 3: Destination Berlin CAP

I'm a huge fan of the commandos series since the first title and the series is quite a strong one. Though, Commandos 3 lacks a bit in its control design and it could have been a bit more daring in its approach. It's more of the same for the series, which isn't a bad thing. But there could be a bit more new stuff in the game.

82

Currently the best Rallye game

Kradath | July 14, 2013 | Review of WRC 3

As the Dirt series diverted away from the core rallye gameplay I was on the lookout for an alternative. At first I thought there wasn't actually any to the dirt series, until I found this one.

It not only covers all the current WRC cars and drivers, but the atmosphere is simply great, the cars handle good. There are some minor issues with it like the lack of staggered starts, which are quite important, night races or changeable weather conditions.

Nevertheless, there currently is no better racing game and if they improve upon this title in WRC4 the series will flourish even more in the future.

85

Brutal entertainment

Kradath | Jan. 19, 2013 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare PRE

Being a great Mount and Blade fan I had to get something new in that area. Somehow War of the Roses didn't appeal to me that much, so I tried out this title and it was a good choice.

The combat is brutal but so extremely satisfying. The feedback of a hit is massive and every attack has to be planned in a split second which decides over life and death.

For medieval multiplayer fans it's a must get, very high recommendation.

90

So far, so great

Kradath | Jan. 19, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 Season Pass -

It's hard to give a final judgement to a season pass until all the DLC are released, so far it has definitely been worth it though.

In style of the DLC for the first game these ones are even better and definitely worth every cent.

A great addition to a huge coop game, highest recommendation.

80

Short entertainment

Kradath | Jan. 19, 2013 | Review of Oil Rush

It's definitely a fun game, though it lacks some lasting appeal. The singleplayer story is definitely worth one run and the multiplayer feels fresh by taking a slightly different approach than most RTS titles.

It's easy to control, but could definitely need a little more depth.

Recommended.

80

A bit disappointed

Kradath | Nov. 7, 2012 | Review of Battlefield 3 Premium Service (EU)

As a addicted player since the very first 1942 title I'm somewhat disappointed in which direction the series is going.

This title is still good, fun and addictive. It looks and plays wonderfully though I have the feeling it's forgetting its own roots.

It simply is too fast paced and not teamwork heavy enough for being a true Battlefield title and sadly you feel that they wanted to appeal to the CoD fanbase way too much.

I still have fun playing it but it's a rather disappointing title in the series.

80

For the Cthulhu cultists out there

Kradath | Nov. 7, 2012 | Review of Magicka: The Stars are Left

This DLC is quite decent especially for fans of the Cthulhu Mythos which is the basic setting for this neat little addon.

Sadly the base game still has it's edges which can lead you into bugs or connection issues when playing coop.

Other than that this DLC is quite fun even though it's also quite short.

Recommended.

95

A perfect coop title

Kradath | Nov. 7, 2012 | Review of Borderlands 2 DNS

This game is a blast, especially played cooperatively with friends. It's fast paced, funny and has a ridiculous amount of loot. This all makes it an addictive title and every coop fan should get it.

Highest recommendation.

82

A good continuation of Alan Wake

Kradath | July 4, 2012 | Review of Alan Wake's American Nightmare

This rather short and small game is a good continuation of the base game. While it improves on some flaws of the base game it is inferior in other aspects.

The gameplay is vastly improved, more various kinds of weapons, more enemies and tactics. The gameplay itself is much better than in the base game.

The aspect where this title is inferior though is the storytelling. It's still good but not as nearly as good as in the base game. The presentation of the story is again well done, maybe even a bit better. But the story itself lacks the punch of the first title and feels a bit too uninteresting, not much new comes to the "lore" of Alan Wake, it feels more like a stop on the way to the next big story.

Still it's worth the small price for those who liked or loved Alan Wake.

Recommended.

91

It's not a horror game, but an amazing mystery thriller

Kradath | July 4, 2012 | Review of Alan Wake

As a fan of Remedy due to their amazing Max Payne Series this was a must buy for me and I wasn't disappointed at all.

Storywise this game is one of the best single player experiences you can get at the moment. The storytelling is simply amazing and breathtaking, as are the nice vistas and the very good graphics.

The gameplay is very action oriented but in a different way than it was with the Max Payne series. This time evasion is your tactic, not bullet time. The enemies can become a bit repetitive with the time but the story will simply catch you and you won't mind the gameplay flaws at all.

A must buy for Remedy fans and those of Twin Peaks and the X-Files.

Very highly recommended.

91

It's not a horror game, but an amazing mystery thriller

Kradath | July 4, 2012 | Review of Alan Wake: Collector's Edition

As a fan of Remedy due to their amazing Max Payne Series this was a must buy for me and I wasn't disappointed at all.

Storywise this game is one of the best single player experiences you can get at the moment. The storytelling is simply amazing and breathtaking, as are the nice vistas and the very good graphics.

The gameplay is very action oriented but in a different way than it was with the Max Payne series. This time evasion is your tactic, not bullet time. The enemies can become a bit repetitive with the time but the story will simply catch you and you won't mind the gameplay flaws at all.

A must buy for Remedy fans and those of Twin Peaks and the X-Files.

Very highly recommended.

95

Amazing Expansion for an amazing Base game

Kradath | July 4, 2012 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2 - Fall of the Samurai

This expansion is not only huge contentwise but also filled with many smaller improvements to the already amazing base title.

It gives you the option between going a more traditional samurai focused war or opening your clan towards various western nations which bring new technologies to the field of battle against your foes.

The atmosphere is simply astonishing and every Samurai Cinema fan will simply fall in love with this title. From sieges to normal battles and the campaign mode everything is simply well done and if you got a friend to play with the cooperative campaign will bring you hundreds of hours of pure fun.

One of the best strategy games of the last years and my personal favorite.

Very highly recommended!

88

Finally! worth recommending.

Kradath | July 4, 2012 | Review of Red Orchestra 2: Heroes of Stalingrad

It took some time but after intensive patching the game is now in a good shape and still improving.

It's a very hardcore game with the option for milder modes.Still the real fun is in the more realistic hardcore modes. The gunplay is amazing and a cover system in a First Person Shooter is something new and generally well implemented.

The engine could still use some improvement performance wise but the looks are great for an indie title.

If you like hardcore multiplayer shooters and the Second World War this game is definitely worth picking up and thus (now) highly recommended.

88

Finally! worth recommending.

Kradath | July 4, 2012 | Review of Red Orchestra 2: Heroes of Stalingrad - Digital Deluxe Edition

It took some time but after intensive patching the game is now in a good shape and still improving.

It's a very hardcore game with the option for milder modes.Still the real fun is in the more realistic hardcore modes. The gunplay is amazing and a cover system in a First Person Shooter is something new and generally well implemented.

The engine could still use some improvement performance wise but the looks are great for an indie title.

If you like hardcore multiplayer shooters and the Second World War this game is definitely worth picking up and thus (now) highly recommended.

86

A great title, though not as good as Mafia I

Kradath | July 3, 2012 | Review of Mafia II dns

Mafia one is still my absolute favorite concerning single player games. Mafia II lacks in some parts and is inferior to the first game but on its own still a very entertaining game to play.

The gunplay with the cover system is well done, even though I miss the ducking and rolling of the first game. But in this one the weapon variety is a bit better and you have many guns to choose from, but I don't like the fact that you can carry all guns simultaneously.

The strongest point of the title, besides the gunplay, are the driving aspects and the characters. The story is a bit lacking in some regards, but the majority of the characters are well defined.

With the right expectations any Mafia fan will like it even though it lacks behind the first game.

87

Great! (when played in Coop)

Kradath | July 3, 2012 | Review of The Lord of the Rings: War in the North

This game is great in many aspects, it captures the atmosphere of the movies while giving you a little wider scope of the whole lore or Arda.

Combined with an action-oriented gameplay and many many items to find it is really a blast to play.

BUT only in coop. I haven't played the game in SP and I don't think it's even half as entertaining as in coop. So my advice, play it at least with one, better two friends together and you won't regret your purchase for sure.

A highly recommended coop title.