Reviews by Lekes

82

Is a must have for JRPG fans

Lekes | May 25, 2013 | Review of The Last Remnant

Deep and complex, almost overly so. There are a lot of things to enjoy about the battle system if you are a turn-based nut like me. At first it will seem overwhelming, but once you realize the flow it becomes second nature. The story is a bit weak and generic but not so much to detract from the game play. There are a few weaknesses in the combat system with the aggregate HP of unions allowing a whole union to be crippled by one particularly fierce attack on a weak member. The system seems a bit arbitrary at times but it's not a game-breaker.

90

Metro: Last Light is a hugely atmospheric game

Lekes | May 19, 2013 | Review of Metro: Last Light

I think the best way to describe Metro: Last Light is that it's almost the same as it's predecessor. In most cases this might be considered a negative, but here it's actually a good thing, as the original had a great formula. What Last Light might lack in innovation it makes up for in polish, with an atmosphere that feels more immersive than ever and a story that is a little more personal. Stealth and combat are largely unchanged, with a couple of new weapons added. I feel it's worth mentioning that normal and hard difficulties are still sort of easy. Probably the most common complaint about 2033 was that it was sort of linear Last Light remedies that with some truly well done, open outdoor maps. If you enjoyed Metro 2033, you will like Last Light just as much, if not more.

80

Kill feels so satisfying

Lekes | May 10, 2013 | Review of Sniper Elite V2

Sniper Elite V2 is a definitly a worthy sequel to the first. The athmosphere is great, and each kill feels so satisfying. The story may not be very historical accurate, but I don't think thats what Rebellion put their view on. This is definitly the best WW2 game I've played in a long time. Only drawbacks I find is that its abit too short, and the levels are too scripted sometimes. It would be nice to have the option to go through a level totaly silent and undetected, which is sadly not possible in most of the levels in this game. I haven't tried the multiplayer features yet, but if Coop is similar to the first game, then its going to be damn fun!

75

A solid and entertaining game

Lekes | May 8, 2013 | Review of Brutal Legend

Brutal Legend is one of the few games where presentation and storytelling make up for the deficiencies in gameplay. It is essentially a hybrid games, with elements of an RTS (like in an older game, Sacrifice), 3rd person action-adventure, and driving/racing components. None of them stand out and all have weaknesses. The sum of the parts is still inadequate. What it does have is an engrossing tale with characters that are likable, and top of the line voice acting. Jack Black does a fantastic job. The hilarious dialogue and spoofs carry the game's first half, and by then you are genuinally interested in the characters and plot in the second half. There are numerous different environments that aren't simply repeated tilesets. The artwork is amazing. I would have liked to see the ridable animals better implemented, but really, this is a terrific game that while could have been better, stands on its own just fine.

65

Still fun

Lekes | May 2, 2013 | Review of Dead Island Riptide dns

Something very important is missing from this sequel; the setting of the first game. The Resort setting in the first game led to a great adventure. It made Dead Island stand out from other 'Zombie' games. There were other areas to explore in the game too but the Resort stood out. Riptide is missing that great set piece. Now you're on a random island that lacks any unique setting. When you take away that fun and unique set piece, you're left with an okay zombie killing game full of fetch quests on a largely uninhabited island. If you liked the original Dead Island game, chance is you'll like this one.

45

Disappointed

Lekes | April 28, 2013 | Review of Star Trek (NA)

Being a poorly done console port as well as a movie tie-in game isn't the issue which merits the game getting a poor score, it is the complete and total lack of working Online Co-op for the PC version that makes the game pointless and a waste of money. With so much emphasis placed on the Co-op component of the game, you'd think that would be the one feature they'd get right! Unfortunately the lack of working online, lack of polish, massive bugs, and dated visuals make it the total failure package it was sadly always assumed and destine to be.

70

Awesome but...

Lekes | March 7, 2013 | Review of Doom 3 BFG Edition Pre

Quite honestly, I am a little bit disappointed. I simply expected more. There are completely free (!) mods by the community, that offer better graphics than this. So for your bucks, you get slightly better graphics and wide screen support + some minor game tweaks that make it a tad bit faster. I really love the whole Doom series, but this seems to me like just like an attempt to milk players for some more money. Had this been free for people who bought the original Doom 3 + RoE, it would have been really awesome. But this way, its just the old good Doom 3 with some minor graphic additions and missions, that could have been easily added via a patch and completely free of charge.

83

A sequel that doesn't disappoint

Lekes | March 2, 2013 | Review of Hitman: Absolution PRE

A sometimes underrated game. Although changing from previous instalments, it is an enjoyable and complex game that allows you to go through levels in many different ways (if you are lucky enough to find them), often leading to me taking completely different routes after restoring checkpoints etc. The openness of previous games is taken from this Hitman, but it doesn't ruin the game, considering the story, and I'm not sure whether it's on purpose that levels get better and better on the way through, or whether it's you adjusting to each situation. It's complex, can be played as many times as we want and there are so many possibilities we couldn't ask for something better

78

Nice game

Lekes | Feb. 25, 2013 | Review of Tropico 3 DNS

This game is loads of fun for those who like any type of city builder game. It's a very stable game and a relatively well optimized one too. The scenarios are great but not always the most challenging. Sandbox mode is good for those who want to have full control over how they shape their island but it seems to be lacking something...The variety of pain and suffering you can inflict as dictator of your island could keep one occupied for hours. Users will get the most out of this game if they select a president and then govern with some role playing, as they probably would govern. The game has its flaws (reliance on XL parking garages, dead slow construction workers, limited map editing, needs more building variety and late game buildings) but it presents an incredible value at its current price and hours of entertainment.

85

Enjoyable gameplay

Lekes | Feb. 24, 2013 | Review of Faces of War CAP

This is a worthy successor to Soldiers: Heroes of World War II. Brought to you by the same team that made that fine game, this one is more polished and you have more commands at your disposal. It plays pretty much the same (if you haven't tried the other, go get it immediately!), but is deeper and richer due to new commands and maps that are better designed. A lot of strategy/tactical games have overly complicated controls and more of your game is spent trying to get the controls to do what you want them to. Not so here.

85

Unique story

Lekes | Feb. 23, 2013 | Review of The Darkness II dns

Unique story, great gameplay, decent graphics. You will really feel connected with Jackie Estacado and all what he does. The plot is well written and executed. It's not so common in shooters anymore. I'll honestly say - The Darkness 2 is one of the most enjoyable FPS i played the last year. It makes you feel powerful, it's bloody as hell, dual-wielding kicks major ass and darkling is pretty funny. Enough of this chaotic mumble, i've got only one serious issue about this game. It's really, really TOO SHORT. I've finished the game on Thug difficulty (guess it's "normal"), then I played it again on the highest difficulty (New Game+ feature). After that, Vendettas Co-op campaign, Vendettas Hit-list missions... There's 15 hours of gameplay on my clock and 50/50 achievements done. So... Nothing else to do. Keep in mind, not everyone will play the whole game two times or finish co-op mode... So, for the of the people, gameplay time will be shorter. Still, great game, 8.5 points well earned.

85

Innovative gameplay

Lekes | Feb. 22, 2013 | Review of The Void

Amazing genre-breaking gameplay experience that will keep you coming back for more. The Void is a journey of constant learning and discovery. It's a bit frustrating until you realize that the game won't hold your hand, that you have to figure out a lot of things yourself. In the end though, you'll feel more free than in any "sandbox" game. Its gameplay is like nothing you've ever seen before and yet it doesn't feel broken or poorly put together. It's a solid experience that will change the way you look at mainstream games.

75

A good arcade rally game

Lekes | Feb. 17, 2013 | Review of WRC 3

Career mode is quite fun and I never got tired of it unlike in previous WRC games, which were a bit too long sometimes. Music is surprisingly great and match the game's atmosphere as well as all the sounds. On the other hand, tracks are pretty bad. First of all they are all pretty much the same length. Second, each country has only 2 original tracks with swapped direction or different sections. Third, there are way too many hairpins and conveniently placed crap around hard corners. Fourth, notepaces could use some work as it's pretty common that a corner is slighty different than you're being told. Sometimes even by 2 degrees. All in all this is a very good game for rally fans and good for the rest.

90

highly recommended

Lekes | Feb. 16, 2013 | Review of Euro Truck Simulator 2

I just can't put my finger on it but something about this game draws me into it like a bee to honey! This is a whole world away from my usual gaming genre which normally includes blowing something up... but I kinda feel ETS2 is putting me back on the straight and narrow. The trucks are very detailed, I like the little touches of using indicators and the use of headlights plus the radio. The environment is realistic, particularly the thunderstorms and of course you'll want to turn on your windscreen wipers! I also like taking the truck onto the ferry, across the channel then remembering to drive on the correct side of the road when coming off it! Like some others It would be nice if the truck sounds were a little louder in the cab. Perhaps the AI vehicles could move more fluidly too, they seem to make handbrake turns around corners! Overall though its a great game to relax too and makes a pleasant change from guns & explosions. I recommend it!

90

A good surprise

Lekes | Feb. 14, 2013 | Review of Giana Sisters: Twisted Dreams

What a pleasant surprise! I was fully expecting a run-of-the-mill, neither-here-or-there indie platformer, but I was absolutely blown away (and I'm a hard one to please too). The controls are incredibly solid, the gameplay is fun, the dual worlds mechanic doesn't become a tiresome gimmick, the difficulty is just right... the bosses will make you gouge your eyes out at times... which makes it so much more fun! All in all, congratulations to the dev team on this gem. The game is especially a treat if you've played the original Giana Sisters in 25 years ago, the musical score will bring you more than a little nostalgia.

75

Fun, fast, short single player...

Lekes | Feb. 13, 2013 | Review of Bang Bang Racing

If you ever played the 'Super Sprint' arcade games of the 80s, you likely enjoy Bang Bang Racing. The game embodies a lot of what made the former racers so addictive (in short bursts, admittedly) and intense. The game features up to 4-player local (split-screen) racing in most modes (championships / cups, where unlockables can be opened), which is a real plus for a PC port--a platform notorious for stripped content / functionality when it comes to local multiplayer. The only negatives can be attributed to the unlockables (cars / skins / tracks) that are a tad onerous to acquire (given their basic nature) and that the player begins the game with only the barest of thus choices. But, overall, this is a very good title for a game of its type and, due to its relentless nature, reasonably challenging, even for adult players.

88

Tropico 3 was good. This is even better.

Lekes | Feb. 11, 2013 | Review of Tropico 4 DNS

Game is definitely a solid upgrade to its predecessor. Tutorial to teach you the basics. Campaign is much more coherent, and from my experience you have a lot more flexibility economically to build up your nation which should make it overall more accessible. That isn't to say you can't screw up. I don't consider myself an expert and have had a few missions where I spiraled into debt, but most of them I have been able to grow my nation as I had planned. Tropico 3 was good. This is even better.

90

A must have for any kart racing fans and Sega fans

Lekes | Feb. 11, 2013 | Review of Sonic and All-Stars Racing Transformed

Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is fantastic. Rights the wrongs of the original in every way. With great characters from Sega's past including characters from the likes of Jet Set Radio, Golden Axe and Space Channel 5, this game is a love letter to the biggest Sega fans. All tracks feel a treat to drive through, with the tracks Transforming after each lap to take you into a different driving experience. With your kart transforming into a boat and plane, the transformation is seamless. Minor complaint is with the flying and boat racing. At times, with all that's going on in the game, it is not always clear where you are supposed to be flying and with driving in a boat, it generally feels as though you have limited to no control of the boat at times, with the waters movement proving to be erratic at times. Other than the aforementioned niggles, the general experience with Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is a great one. A must have for any kart racing fans and Sega fans.

70

A solid tactical game

Lekes | Feb. 11, 2013 | Review of Jagged Alliance: Back in Action

When this game came out, I was not a fan, it was riddled with bugs and game-play errors. These have for the most part been fixed, but there are still some major issues that need to be addressed: The learning curve is extreme, you go from fighting guys with fire axes to heavily armed assault squads with insane accuracy, but I could overlook all of that, IF you could repair armor. In the end this game just doesn't live up to the jagged alliance series we expect ,but the game in-itself is a decent and I do enjoy playing it (For the most part).

88

Welcome to Paradise!

Lekes | Feb. 7, 2013 | Review of Burnout Paradise: Ultimate Box (NA)

Graphically awesome, easy in-game menus, great crash physics and a completely open city to play with! All of this promises a fantastic platform to terrorize the roads and duel with friends on-line in unlimited urban vehicle assault. This game will keep you entertained for quite some time. Be aware that, though it is fun, it does get repetitive fairly quickly. Play this game in sessions, not all at once.

96

Amazing!

Lekes | Feb. 7, 2013 | Review of Dead Space 2 (NA)

Absolutely insane! the first Dead Space was so new and had touched on a new era of sci-fi horror gaming which i personally thought was unbeatable....until Dead Space 2 arrived! Its safe to say that Dead Space is one of the few games that actually makes you jump and makes you weary about what kind of hideous monstrosity will be around the next bend. The plot is full in its entirety and really puts you into the mind frame of the returning lead character Isaac Clarke who along with new tech and weaponry will cut, slice and tear limb from limb the necromorph hordes. Couldn't stop playing at the end and delighted there will be more to come in the future. One of the best series' and games of this generation.

65

Could be better...

Lekes | Feb. 7, 2013 | Review of Ravaged: Zombie Apocalypse

It looks like RAGE meets a scaled-down Battlefield 2, and plays somewhat similarly with exaggerated driving, a neat post-apoc setting, but poor infantry gunplay and overpowered helicopters. The leveling system is rather flat, points aren't very clearly earned or rewarding, the classes are only okay, weapons and animations don't tickle my gun fetish, and the occasional technical glitch might get you into trouble. That said, it looks good, runs smoothly, and adds up to an unrefined game, which would be acceptable for beta, but counts against this non-F2P release.

75

Addictive

Lekes | Feb. 7, 2013 | Review of Uplink DNS

This hollywood style hacking game is a must play for those that have a curiosity for computer espionage. It is quite an old game and the graphics are just plain non-existant, but the Linux command line interface brings old school hacking to the comfort of your home, without the adverse affects. Once you figure out how to do most of the missions, the fun factor wears down pretty quickly, but figuring out everything on your own is not as easy as you might think. It's highly addicting for the first several hours.

82

Highly addicting

Lekes | Jan. 29, 2013 | Review of Sacred 2: Gold Edition DNS

This is an awesome action RPG with an incredibly deep and customizable character creation system. If you're a fan of loot centric games like Diablo or WoW, you'll have a blast with this game. It has tons to do, and loads of enemies to bash and being able to play co-op is another great plus for it. The minor flaws can be overlooked by the massive amount of gameplay and the overall fun of the game.

80

Frenetic gameplay

Lekes | Jan. 29, 2013 | Review of Ace Combat Assault Horizon Enhanced Edition (NA)

While fans of past Ace Combat games will likely turn their nose up at this unique title, it is for the most part fun to play. The controls are tight, the graphics are well done, the air battles are intense, and the story sucks. I love the dogfight mode, it is a refreshing change of pace and adds variety to the battles. If you are looking for a fun aerial combat game, this one will fill the void quite well. The game is not perfect, but then again, few games are. This one is highly recommended for fans of the genre.

80

A solid game

Lekes | Jan. 28, 2013 | Review of Risen (Capsule)

A solid RPG, with a lot of atmosphere. The combat system is at times not so responsive as one might wish for, in a game that requires you to master your keyboard in order to just survive. The upside of that is of course the good old Gothic feel. This game is difficult. The enemies are really dangerous, and your skill and your character's, will determine the outcome of combat. For some, this will be a let down, but for the rest of us, it heightens the feeling of accomplishment. As with any quest-based RPG, there are some glitches with the quests, but all-in-all I feel that it works out very nicely. A negative point is the horribly stereotype view of women, but to be perfectly fair, most role playing games on PC tend to be massively sexist.

80

It's a classic game

Lekes | Jan. 28, 2013 | Review of Painkiller Black Edition DNS

Fast paced, Violent, and above all good mindless fun, I found myself yelling warcries at the enemies as they flew across my monitor like meat filled water balloons. Will not thrill you if you're looking for a story driven game, but it makes up for that by being just plain good. A big surprise, that's how I remembered this game. Stunning graphics, 1st good Havoc physics (remember that hype about that?), nice musics, good designs... Weapons! Weapons! It's a classic game.

60

A simple remake

Lekes | Jan. 28, 2013 | Review of Painkiller: Hell & Damnation

I'm not calling myself a Painkiller fan but I had some fun with it and official add-on back in it's release days. Howevever, Hell & Damnation feels like a let down. Few levels which follows in mostly random sequence, level design stuck in 2004 and visuals have no changes at all exept for updated engine and some texture work. Good-looking weapons, John St. John as voice actor and better textures on enmies are good but they do not outweigh overall dissatisfaction from the game. Also, it's like uber short and single player took me 5 hours on Nighmare to beat with plenty of checkpoint restarts and few secrets found. It feels good at times, but nothing more.

80

Rift is a quite brilliant MMORPG

Lekes | Jan. 27, 2013 | Review of Rift

RIFT is a well polished game that brings many popular aspects of other MMOs together. The random zone events make for some fun times as you team up with your fellow players fend off planar invasions. The "Soul Tree" class system allows for the creation of a unique character though some combinations will ultimatly shine through as the standards. If you are looking for a change of scenary in a MMO then RIFT is worth a try, but it doesn't bring a whole lot new to the table.

85

Couldn't be better value for money!

Lekes | Jan. 27, 2013 | Review of Xpand Rally

A very good rally simulator! Couldn't be better value for money! Everything about this game is incredibly well implemented, from the well structured career mode to the top class replay. If you want a game that has beautiful graphics, realistic physics and a great level of detail this is it. Too bad they couldnt license the cars, which means you will be driving a Sunami instead of a Subaru - of course, modelled after the real thing.

83

A good solid game

Lekes | Jan. 27, 2013 | Review of The Lord of the Rings: War in the North

A great game that plays well on many PC configurations, I am pleasantly surprised by LOTR: WITN. As others have commented, the graphics are excellent and the gameplay is engaging. My one complaint is that the multiplayer is simply the singleplayer campaign with online play. No new maps or co-operative gameplay styles, as I was hoping. Also, the difficulty levels above Normal must be unlocked one at a time, but this disadvantage is also an advantage, in that it gives you a tangible reason to replay the game's single and multi-player adventures. All told, War in the North is a great game. It's light years ahead of most movie-based games, and is great fun to play. The only thing that would make it better in my books, is a more varied multiplayer experience.

85

Amazing destruction!

Lekes | Jan. 24, 2013 | Review of Red Faction Armageddon

Red Faction: Armageddon does exactly what it says on the box. It's fun! Just like its predecessor, Red Faction: Guerrilla, we're given a very destructible world. Even if this one is totally linear compared to the last installment, it's still every bit as fun. The real reason this game hits the spot for me is because the physics and world construction and reconstruction works so well. The magnet gun is gimmicky, gets a bit old later on in the game, but it's certainly useful for mayhem and destruction. Decent story, fun weapons, good animations and graphics, incredible physics, it's certainly above the average. Red Faction: Armageddon gets a 8.5/10 for me, it's nothing spectacular, but it wasn't claiming that it was in the first place. If it weren't for the physics and amazing destruction, this would be just another run of the mill 3rd person shooter.

32

Terrible

Lekes | Jan. 24, 2013 | Review of Postal III

I'm usually not too critical on video games, but Postal III is undoubtedly one of the worst games I have ever played. The main selling point of this game is its humor, but nothing in this game is actually funny. The "humor" in this game is about on-par with an episode of South Park, but with less modernity. Also, the campaign gives you a moral choice system. Seeing how this is a Postal game, you're probably going to want to run around and kill everybody. But no, you can't just do that! It's a game about going postal (hence the title), where you can't go insane. Video games like Postal are games where I should be able to go through and kill anybody without any moral repercussions. Overall, this is a terrible game.

90

Unmatched co-op gameplay

Lekes | Jan. 23, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 DNS

On the surface not much seems to have changed since the original Borderlands. Play this sequel for any length of time however and it soon proves itself to be a superior game. Both the story and script are just that bit sharper and often genuinely funny, the skill system has been expanded (Including a new 'badass rank' which rewards the player with boosts to their stats for completing certain challenges) and there are fewer missions that are nothing but glorified fetch quests. All this and a host of other minor tweaks meant that, while I bored of the first title before seeing it to the end, there was never any danger of me stopping before I saw Borderlands 2 through to its finale. This is co-op gaming at its very best.

75

Good game

Lekes | Jan. 23, 2013 | Review of Age of Fear: The Undead King

Turn-based strategies are quite rare nowadays. Recently we have HOMM6 and King's Bounty series - those are good games, but they do not offer anything new. After few sessions of play - there is nothing that will surprise you and the rest of game becomes tiresome grinding. Age of Fear is an indie title, so do not expect fireworks. Game is kinda short - it takes like a 20 hours to finish plus skirmish, however I found each mission to be interesting and they require some thinking and planning. Devs are also introducing new features in each level (exploding goblins!), The Undead King does not get boring until the end.

100

One of the best games I've ever played

Lekes | Jan. 21, 2013 | Review of Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition (NA)

Dark Souls is simply amazing, an addicting challenge, one the most beautifully made hardcore RPG games ever. It's hard to put Dark Souls down, it sucks you in early on and keeps you grinding through hours and hours of death and rewarding conquest. This game will test your nerves and make your blood boil, you will die and you will die often. I guarantee your adrenaline will surge through the roof and you might even find yourself checking your pulse. Dark Souls is a outstanding game and one hell of a good time. One of the best games I've ever played.

75

A good action RPG

Lekes | Jan. 21, 2013 | Review of ArcaniA DNS

I had avoided the game for all the bad review he got so when i finally decided that i would give it a try anyway i was really surprised to find an action rpg that delivers. Sure it's not gothic as we used to play, but graphics are awesome and fights are more dynamics, even if you have to crank up the difficulty. I appreciated the loot system too, even if i wish we could equip some more, i dont really care for the realism when my backpack is full with weapons or plants or whatever :) Sure the story is far from the best, many npcs looks like they came from an army of clones, but that didn't keep me to enjoy the game. So i'd say, if you are a die hard gothic fan and wont enjoy anything else who wear that name, the game is not for you. But if you are open mind and loolking for a fun action rpg, you should give it a try.

88

Awesome!

Lekes | Jan. 21, 2013 | Review of Euro Truck Simulator 2 CAP

Great work by SCS! The game is perfect for a relaxing day of driving without the going anywhere. With a huge world to play in, you won't be bored quick, and while on a drive, Tune in to a radio station chosen by yourself! Buy and edit your trucks as long as you have the money to do so. The truck-physics could use some improvement, but with upcoming patches, I hope all of this will be fixed. Overall a very nice game (especially compared to ETS1), but it needs a load of patches and I'm happy about all the mod's that are coming up.

70

Great co-op

Lekes | Jan. 20, 2013 | Review of Lost Planet 2

It's hard to recommend this game if you have no friends. However, if you're able to jump online with a few shooter-competent friends, LP2 can be loads of fun. True, the story is impossible to follow and the game does suffer from all the design flaws the critics gripe about, but what it does right, it does very right. The environments are beautiful, the level design is as good or better than anything else out there, and the difficulty curve is such that unless you and your buddies come up with a plan, work together, and take your time working through the levels, this game will be impossible. Personally, I like it when a game forces you to be smart about what your doing which LP2 does well.

70

Its not a bad game

Lekes | Jan. 20, 2013 | Review of Resident Evil Operation Raccoon City

People looking for a Resident Evil game play experience will not get it from this game. Its a straight up squad based shooter. Its feels like a Resident Evil game but doesn't play like one. Raccoon City is rendered very nicely and as you play you will be reminded of RE2 and RE3. Fighting zombies in the streets is great but most of the combat is against other military groups. Co-op was a pretty daring direction for RE but, I feel that it works. As I'm playing through with my friends its got pretty some intense moments. I love the style of the team and I'm having fun playing it. Its not a bad game.

72

Fun, but repetitive

Lekes | Jan. 19, 2013 | Review of Just Cause Capsule

The land is enormous, the graphics are now a bit dated, but absolutely not bad. The best part about this game is the way stunts work. Allowing me to drive off a cliff in a burning car, narrowly escape the explosion by jumping to and commandeer a nearby military helicopter all the while the chasing police cars fly by, both plays and looks great. It really makes you feel like a super secret agent. Unfortunately it's not all good, the main story is somewhat dull, and the side missions get repetitive real quick.

83

A must for all the zombie lovers

Lekes | Jan. 19, 2013 | Review of Dead Rising 2

This is probably one of the top "zombie" games out there, as it has all of the elements which make an entertaining experience - interesting characters, an action-driven story, varied gameplay and "freedom" to explore and destroy the game world. There is also an online element to the game which adds an additional layer of replayability. As with the previous Dead Rising in the Xbox 360, there are issues regarding the save system, as well as the sometimes-frustrating controls, but neither detract significantly from the experience. Overall the Dead Rising 2 is a significant improvement for the series. It is successfully designed to have significant replay value, and is one of those games you should probably buy rather than rent.

87

Brilliant

Lekes | Jan. 13, 2013 | Review of Thief: Deadly Shadows Capsule

Thief is an interesting game that offers brave new concepts of stealth. It offers it in a sleek and original way that no other game I've played can compare to. The graphics do their job well, they're average but understandable for the age of the game but the real great thing is how many items there are to steal per level and also how many routes you can take through every level which is amazing! The diverse tools of your trade include many different arrows for your bow as well as a blackjack, for knocking people out, and a knife for those life-or-death encounters. The bow works amazingly with it's different arrows whether they water arrows for torches or sound arrows for guards to be fooled by. Overall, a brilliant game that can, however, drag on after a while but still worth the experience of a true stealth game at its best!

75

Interesting ideas

Lekes | Jan. 13, 2013 | Review of Brink Nexway

Spot on game, Great graphics, amazing play, the AI could use a little more updating though its not as bad as when it was first released, levels = new outfits, challenges = new guns and accessory's. Multi-player is very enjoyable and there is a fair amount of maps, there is no death match which would be pretty fun but it gets you away from all the call of duty bull. Brink is very team based requires some skill which is why people do not like it. At first i'll admit i was not at all very good. After 7 in game hours i have become very good, i love the fact that they added in Parkour (free-running) this is a good turn, and makes the game very fun indeed.

78

Good game

Lekes | Jan. 9, 2013 | Review of Inversion (NA)

The press has been too rough on this game. If you enjoy the genre and give Inversion a chance, it will offer an entertaining experience. The setting is interesting, while the zero-g sections and vector shifts are fun and implemented well. Visually, Saber Interactive created a desolate world that suits the storyline and draws you in. I enjoyed using the Gravlink to manipulate objects and eliminate foes. However, the sound effects could have been better and most of the enemies are more comical than intimidating. Inversion has its flaws, but anyone who is fond of third person shooters should be relatively satisfied and I recommend trying it.

97

Best GTA

Lekes | Jan. 9, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas DNS

This game to me is the best out of all of the GTA games, though I've only played GTA IV and GTA III. The only thing I don't like about the game is the graphics, but after awhile, you get used to it. I love being part of a gang and doing drive-by's and that kind of sorts, unlike in the others I have played. I also like how you have to do weight training and running in order to gain muscle and endurance which help with how strong your punches are and how long you can speed along on a bike. I also like the missions and the character personalities. The list keeps going on and on, but I won't drag on. Overall, I would say the game is quite fun.

82

Challenging

Lekes | Jan. 8, 2013 | Review of Hitman 2: Silent Assassin capsule

Huge number of missions, with a great variety in locations and a decent story holding it together combined with very well-designed levels will challenge anyone. The satisfaction in this game comes from thinking out ways to approach each mission like a real assassin. You can just shoot everyone, but the whole point of a stealth game is to be as sneaky as possible. And when your plan works... it is a good feeling.

75

Classic

Lekes | Jan. 8, 2013 | Review of Hitman: Codename 47 Capsule

This game is a classic, even almost 13 years on, the graphics are dated but the gameplay still takes your breath away and leaves you thinking, whats happened to the gameplay today? Why has more effort been put into graphics whilst the gameplay gets left behind? Give me second rate graphics and Codename 47 state gameplay any day.

92

Amazing

Lekes | Jan. 8, 2013 | Review of Dishonored Nexway

Amazing game. If this was made in a shinier engine, the stealth was a little more challenging, and the game had a couple more missions to it... it would be my GOTY for 2012 hands down. Sadly I can only give it a 92 as despite having an amazing art design, brilliant gameplay, high replayability (of at least 2x required to see mostly everything), intriguing story/characters, and a nice atmosphere/sound effects/music, the problem with this game is just that it isn't challenging enough... you start the game and the first few levels feel awe-inspiring, but once you realise the terrible limits of the vision of the AI you really are too overpowered for any mission without getting a single upgrade. (And the upgrades are lots of fun, but they make the game become a theme park rather than the gruesome travesty that the story seems to think you are in). Still I highly recommend it.

80

Black Ops does well...

Lekes | Jan. 7, 2013 | Review of Call of Duty: Black Ops

This game does not do enough new things to earn a very high rating and yet it is not bad enough to be given a shocker. The positives are that the single player storyline is engaging and easy to follow, something which is a big improvement on Modern Warfare. However, the actual play itself remains linear and uninspiring at times. The multiplayer seems to have stagnated. It was done really well in Modern Warfare but I just found things lacking in this respect with Black Ops. Finally, the graphics engine is in major need of an overhaul. Crysis 2 has demonstrated what can be done in this day and age. The CoD series needs to catch up.

70

A good game? Absolutely, but...

Lekes | Jan. 7, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Invisible War Capsule

A huge step down from the original Deus Ex. It's hard to believe that it's even by the same developers. There is still an interesting story, and there is some options. Unfortunately the world is tiny, and the lack of larger hub style, gameplay approach laden levels/worlds makes this less of a Deus Ex game, and more of a Deus Ex spin off. A good game? Absolutely. Holds a candle to Deus Ex and Human Revolution? Not even vaguely.

100

One of the best games of all time

Lekes | Jan. 7, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Game of the Year Edition DNS

This game is as good as a fps game can get in storyline and complex gameplay. I had this game since it came out, and I played through Deus Ex like 4 or 5 times, and yet, no matter how many times I play through this game, I always find something new all the time. This game was a revolutionary piece when it came out, but yet not much praise? It truly deserves so much more. Also playing through the storyline, Deus Ex reacts to every decision you make in gameplay. And you come across major plot twists and for every choice you make, there comes a consequence. Deus Ex is a phenomenal game, I can't think a game with a better storyline than this game, its truly a epic experience. One of the best games of all time, truly.

82

Good sequel

Lekes | Jan. 7, 2013 | Review of F.E.A.R. 2: Project Origin

This game continues the first in a great direction. Instead of the more psycological horror from the first game the scares here are more in your face which isn't a bad thing. The interspersed action sequences are very well done as things crumble and fall around you. Then you get to fight through a destroyed city. You don't play as Point Man this time around but the character you do play as has an important role to the story. The story again is pretty well done, topped off with a messed up (in a good way) ending. In short, if you like FEAR, you will love FEAR 2.

85

Fantastic horror game with great action

Lekes | Jan. 7, 2013 | Review of F.E.A.R -

Great action, incredibly satisfying combat game, with an atmospheric horror adventure game attached. The two aspects of this game seem completely separate to me. On the one hand we have a very polished FPS, one that hits the mark on what makes shooters fun. On the other we have an admittedly derivative, but ultimately appreciable, horror narrative. The two have been mixed together into a disjointed and confused product - one that is most appropriately called a thriller. The game will give you thrills, just not in a coherent manner. It will have you wondering why you should be scared of a few ghouls when you just killed a room full of commandos, or desperately trying to change gear from a creeped out hypnosis to deal with the giant robot that just appeared. It's a fantastic horror game with great action.

65

A good action RPG

Lekes | Jan. 7, 2013 | Review of Dungeon Siege III

I believe this game's biggest crime was naming it Dungeon Siege III. I found the game enjoyable as an action RPG-lite style game in a vein similar to the Overlord series, Dragon Age II, and perhaps Trine. Think Gauntlet and you'll be on the right track. Its a decent bit of cartoonish fantasy fun that works better with a gamepad than the traditional keyboard and mouse setup. The game features a dialogue/choice system similar to Bioware's. It's not quite as fleshed out, but not quite as pointless either. Decisions you make are neither good nor bad, just different, and will effect how things carry forth from the point they are made. With the excellent Treasure of the Sun DLC the entire game clocked in at 20 hours for the first play through including all but a few side quests. The previously mentioned choice system and four character classes lends the game a fair bit of potential replay value. I recommend giving this game a look.

65

Good game

Lekes | Jan. 7, 2013 | Review of Warhammer 40000: Space Marine (THQ)

Space marine is a game where you are a hulking monster of a man who's sole purpose is to rip in half anything that stands in your way. By that standpoint, i believe Relic both reached and surpassed their goal beautifully. Weather in single or multiplayer, the feeling that you are ten feet tall and bad-ass seeps from every aspect of the game. However, this does not change the fact that Relic failed utterly in their goal. They set out to build a single player experience that should have knocked our socks off, but the lackluster cast of characters, mediocre voice acting (WTF happened to Steve Blum?), moderate plot, and incredibly repetitive combat scenarios overall dragged the game's single player experience into the pits. While I am a huge fan of the game's multiplayer and overall combat system, it is difficult to overlook Relic's failure of a campaign.

75

Short but challenging

Lekes | Jan. 6, 2013 | Review of Zeno Clash

The hand to hand combat is excellent, and works flawlessly, or it would do if it weren't hampered by needless and clumsy lock-on system. Fighting over a weapon on the ground becomes a fight with the controls as the button that cycles your targets is the same button that picks up weapons when you're looking at them - making it near impossible to pick up a weapon when an enemy is near it. The shooting, while nothing special, initially detracts from the game, but becomes more fluid as it continues. It still amounts to nothing beyond average in this aspect, though. The game is short but challenging, and left me with an overall sense of enjoyment. I couldn't help but think that the surreal storyline and characters were often weird purely for the sake of weirdness itself. As a first person brawler, it is quietly revolutionary, but this shining aspect is muffled by the storyline, unecessary lock-on system, and mediocre shooting. I suspect that the developers lacked confidence in the brawling aspect, and felt some people may become disoriented by the pace of such close-up action, that would explain why they added so much needless fluff onto anotherwise great game.

95

Masterpiece

Lekes | Jan. 6, 2013 | Review of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

Modern Warfare 2 was a masterpiece. It has incredible graphics, the storyline was gripping, making me play until the very end, my heart racing every time I turn a corner. The multiplayer is by far the best part of the game. You can never get bored as you never face the same person with the same guns every time. This game involves massive amounts of teamwork and coordination, and makes playing it a better experience than any other game I've played before. Infinity Ward has really shown that they can make a FPS equally appealing to anything Bungie, or Valve has.

85

Visually stunning

Lekes | Jan. 6, 2013 | Review of Trine

Immediately charming, visually stunning, and appealing to people of all ages and audiences, Trine really blew me away at the start. I loved doing every single puzzle in a different way each time I faced it, and had an amazing experience doing so. Combat was a very fun and well-executed addition to the game and I found myself loving the dynamic contrast between the three characters for all sorts of tasks. My only regret about the game is that I felt it was extremely short. I was really hoping I'd be able to get an extra few hours out of it. I beat it the day I got it, which disappointed me a little bit. However, Frozenbyte is definitely on the right track.

85

Great coop

Lekes | Jan. 6, 2013 | Review of Lara Croft And The Guardian Of Light

Great game with lots of re-playability. There are tons of weapons to unlock as well as artifacts, relics and even new costumes for Lara. If that isn't enough there are online leaderboards where you can compete with your friends for top score. It's a very polished game and I truly enjoyed playing through it with a friend, the controls works way better with a gamepad though due to the analogue movement, jumping between platforms using WASD is quite hard as you can only move in 8 directions. If you are looking for some good action to play alone or with a friend, you won´t regret buying this one.

90

Brilliant

Lekes | Jan. 6, 2013 | Review of Bastion Cap

Bastion is not one of a kind, but its of a genre of today that everyone loves. It join's up with Braid, Capsized and Limbo in the elite, handcrafted, polished and hand-painted 2D games of this generation. A unique aspect of this game is the highly detailed narration. It engages you like few games can, and adds a totally different look on the story. Immediately, it connects you with the main character giving you a portal into the character of his personal thoughts that you wouldn't otherwise have. It seamlessly creates a story book feel while at the same time it feels like you are writing the narrators lines before your eyes. Even if you find a path that isn't the main one, or you just spam buttons or sit there, the narrator will comment about it. The controls are very straightforward, with an easy-to-grasp tutorial at the beginning. The music is something stellar as well, and it brings you into the mood of the character. I gave it a 9/10 because there is not much replay-ability.

70

Poetic

Lekes | Jan. 6, 2013 | Review of Dear Esther DNS

Dear Esther has a deep atmosphere and unique poetic narrative. The visuals and sound are great, especially for a low budget title, and the environment is as detailed as it is fun to explore. It's only an hour long and gameplay consists of walking forward and looking around, though Dear Esther is obviously meant to be more of an interactive story than an actual video game. It's biggest appeal would be the location of the game itself. The Island feels so lifelike and genuine, It'd probably be an awesome place to visit in real life. I guess it just has a magically feel to it, I don't know. My biggest criticism would be it's price. I couldn't recommend this at full price, but Dear Esther was a nice experience all the same.

50

Very limited

Lekes | Jan. 6, 2013 | Review of Lucius Cap

I enjoyed most of this game, although there was unfortunately no chance to get creative with the way you kill the characters, you just have to do what you're supposed to. This was still pretty fun though, it's just a shame that the characters didn't do what they were supposed to. Some of the pathfinding was dreadful, one character in particular spent ages turning around in circles instead of heading to the room they kept saying they were off to. There's also an encounter later on which is very buggy - your attacks pass straight through your enemies, they get stuck, teleport to right behind you and instantly end the game, you get stuck on furniture, sometimes everyone gets stuck and you have to quit and restart. This encounter is a lot easier when the game switches to first person view, unfortunately this seems to be a bug as there's no option for it anywhere and it happens sporadically at best. And maybe I'm being picky, but if I'm an evil kid I want to at least be able to hit someone when they're down... Also the spelling is pretty poor in places.

65

Disappointed

Lekes | Jan. 5, 2013 | Review of Alan Wake's American Nightmare

A serviceable, but somewhat disappointing, journey into the world of Alan Wake. American Nightmare is more of a fan service than a step forward in the tale of writer Alan Wake. If you haven't played the first game, the story will be somewhat incoherent in this. If you are playing this for simply a game-play standpoint, then you are much better off playing another 3rd person shooter. That's not to say that the game-play is bad in this game, it is actually much improved and more fluid over the original Alan Wake, however it is neither the strong suit nor main attraction of Alan Wake. Story, the main pull of the original game, is not quite up to par in this iteration. It is more of a cannon story versus a sequel. While it is nice to see into the character of Mr. Scratch (the main antagonist), the remaining characters are pretty lackluster and bland compared to the original A. Wake. The other big disappointment with this game is the re-use of levels. There are only 3 levels in this game and you retread them 3 times. All of these levels take place in the desert climate of Arizona, so there's not much diversity in the scenery. I didn't find the atmosphere to be anywhere near as creepy as the original game either. Despite these complaints, it is still more Alan Wake and players of the original will appreciate the details that are squeezed out of the story and provide some extra insight.

80

Visually stunning

Lekes | Jan. 5, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider: Underworld DNS

Overall, a very nice game with beautiful and varied locations. Tomb Raider got back to exploration in exotic locations which was lacking in some recent lackluster releases. The troubling issues are the same old ones though. Camera angles can be worse than frustrating, but that is thankfully a fairly rare occurrence. Controls are not always as sharp as they should be either. All things considered, I still would highly recommend this title to any gamer who has enjoyed Tomb Raider in the past. Crystal Dynamics has done an incredible job with the eye candy. Now if they can just tighten the nuts and bolts, they'll have a surefire winner.

80

Balls Of Steel

Lekes | Jan. 5, 2013 | Review of Duke Nukem Forever

There are a few things you gotta keep in mind when you are playing this game. Duke Nukem...Duke Nukem...and Duke Nukem. Many of the reviews I have read simply don't seem to understand Duke Nukem or the intentions of this game. This game was everything it was supposed to be. Do not expect candy and flowers. Expect Duke Nukem to be Duke Nukem with bad jokes, harsh language, and plenty of explosions. This game follows along the same lines of game play as 3D did. It is pretty linear, another outrageous storyline, plenty of fun gunfights and bossfights that are classic Duke. However, that being said. This is not 3D. This is not the groundbreaking game 3D was. Has its flaws like all new games but that doesn't make it the awful crap most people here are trying to make it seem. If you can take maturity and classic politically incorrect humor than you will like this game. So in summary, if you do not have "Balls Of Steel", you will not like this game as it was not created for an audience like you.

85

Turn off the lights

Lekes | Jan. 5, 2013 | Review of Penumbra Black Plague

Black Plague is the second game in the Penumbra series. Admittedly I have not played the first game (Overture), but Black Plague picked up right away and did not leave me confused. The game's most notable feature perhaps is its incredibly effective spooky atmosphere and suspense. The dark, derelict areas, as well as the ambient music really do manage to absorb the player. Just as with one other game by this developer, Amnesia, there is no combat system, i.e. the player cannot attack the monsters in the game at all. The only means of survival are running and hiding. This greatly adds to the horror element and also makes it more realistic. The monsters themselves are somewhat scary-looking. To compensate for the lack of combat system, the interactivity with the items and environments is very good. The storyline is very interesting, and the main character's alter ego, Clarence, is in my opinion a very nice touch. I personally really enjoyed the puzzles too, in particular the final puzzle. Together with the philosophical message it tried to convey, it had a huge positive impression on me. Really well done. And the ending was simply amazing, perhaps even somewhat unexpected. Despite all these positive points, Black Plague's main con perhaps is that it is very short, and it's not like the game has much of a replay value either. This is pretty much the only reason that stops me from giving this game a 9. Otherwise I'd highly advise any horror fan to try it out, at least once.

85

You'll love it

Lekes | Jan. 5, 2013 | Review of Super Meat Boy

Super Meat Boy is absolutely one of the most enjoyable platformer games that have come out in recent years. The early levels of each stage focus perfectly on teaching the player essential skills in how to interact with the environment to pass future levels. There's a great element of comedy within the game and an 80's nostalgia with all the nods to the great platform games that came before it. This is my favorite genre of video gaming, perhaps because of that very nostalgic feel of running, jumping and avoiding obstacles. Meat Boy is great, and with a ridiculous amount of levels this game provides almost endless fun for it's very low cost. Trust me, you'll love it.

92

Amazing

Lekes | Jan. 4, 2013 | Review of BioShock® 2 DNS

Single player is fun, weapons are a little more varied, tonic system has been improved, hacking is now in real-time (a plus) and is now not a tedious chore, story is good as ever. Multiplayer. Since multiplayer was pretty much a "add-on" feature i wasn't expecting revolutionary gameplay, which it definately isnt. The multiplayer is...generic for lack of a better word, you shoots the enemies and they falls down. Gamemodes are all simply rehashes of other already existing modes. Plasmids are as fun as always and add their "spark" to the playing field, making it a unique experience. Voice acting is surprisingly just as good as the single player and overall I enjoy playing the multiplayer, which is pretty much all you want. I would rate this game a 9.2 if not for the matchmaking problems in multiplayer (e.g. if the host leaves while midgame, everyone is disconnected, ranks are not matched to similar ranks and matchmaking sometimes moves you AWAY from a near full game).

97

Superb!

Lekes | Jan. 4, 2013 | Review of BioShock DNS

One of the best games of all time. It was touted as the spiritual successor to System Shock 2, and while it never quite achieved that, it did manage to become a fantastic game in its own right. I have to say Irrational Games have become my favourite developer due to the care and attention they put into their games. Every moment in BioShock has been polished to a high sheen, the graphics are awesome, the style is unique, the game-play is extremely well balanced and paced between shooting, narrative and other activities like exploration and growing your character. The A.I is some of the best I have ever seen. But most importantly of all for me, is the way you can play the game however you want to. If you like to get in people faces with the shotgun and melee weapon you can do that, or you can stick with rapid fire weapons and high explosives, set traps, go stealthy, use the myriad of plasmids etc. Its just a fantastic and game and so spooky to boot. Without a doubt it is one of my favourite all time video games. If you like intelligent shooters then this is a must play video game.

70

Good game

Lekes | Jan. 4, 2013 | Review of Afterfall: Insanity DNS

The game is definitely low budget but it comes at a low price so I do not see how so many people are complaining. I have spent more money on many games that are not as good as this. The game does start slow and the controls can be a bit clunky. The hacking and puzzles are rather lame as was the boss fights. That being said, once I got a few chapters into the game, things did get better and it kept my interest. The plot and the atmosphere of the game are good. The graphics are not great but they are pretty decent. Just to give you a reference, the graphics are slightly below those of the more recent Call of Duty games. It seems like the graphics got better and more detailed farther into the game. The game was not too short. I would have preferred having more shooting and less beating things over the head with a stick For an initial retail price of $20, it is a good buy. If you got the game for $1 in the pre-order special, you really lucked out.

80

Massive, open and beautiful

Lekes | Jan. 4, 2013 | Review of RAGE: Special Edition (International)

Being one of the lucky few who experienced no technical issues with the game, I can say that I've thoroughly enjoyed Rage. Story and dialog are mediocre, but that's par for the course with id. Graphically, the level of detail is staggering. The megatexturing gives the city scenes and wide vistas a realistic level of detail with none of the immersion-breaking repeating texture artifacts you see in most games, and the character animations and texture details are excellent. Gameplay is not revolutionary, but it is solid and well polished, both in terms of shooting and driving.

85

Addictive

Lekes | Jan. 4, 2013 | Review of Fallout: New Vegas DNS

Fallout: New Vegas is a solid game with intriguing characters and a more vibrant landscape than Fallout 3. The re-use of building material skins and lack of new hairstyles feels lazy, but this is only a disappointment, not a major detriment to game play. Factions provide a new dimension, although the faction system is not as in-depth as players may like. Some have complained about the ability to carry faction armor, but it's enough of a drain on your weight limit you're unlikely to lug it around "just in case The new ammo system feels bulky at times, but offers new avenues of strategy to veteran players. The game has many annoyances that make me wonder how hard Bethesda was trying, especially in regards to invisible walls that make travel unduly difficult, but the writing is top-notch. If you loved Fallout 3 you'll be pleased with New Vegas, although it takes longer to immerse yourself in than it's predecessor

90

Brilliant

Lekes | Jan. 4, 2013 | Review of To The Moon Cap

Well, this little game is a nice change from what I'm used to. It's hard to really call it a game as there is very little interactivity at all, but with a story like this it held my attention. The story is both sad and happy throughout the game play till the very end. The complexity of the story and what happens really made me stand back and consider my values. Not usually being a fan of indie titles I was considering giving this an 8.. but seeing that its probably the best indie game I've played it deserves at least a 9.

85

It's a fun ride

Lekes | Jan. 4, 2013 | Review of Sonic Generations

One of the best Sonic games I've played since Sonic Adventure 2. The soundtrack is as awesome as always, and the game incorporates levels from just about every main-series Sonic game since Sonic 1. The Classic Sonic levels play like the Sonic games of old, while the Modern Sonic levels are all about speed and reactions. It's very fun, and continues the upward momentum begun by Sonic Colors. That said, the game isn't perfect. It's rather short, and has a lot of optional "challenges" that were entirely unnecessary in my opinion. The time spent making those could've been devoted to making more levels instead. Still, short or not, it's a fun ride and very much worth the cost.

82

Great characters

Lekes | Jan. 4, 2013 | Review of Deponia DNS

Well, that was hilarious. Incredible artwork and great characters. The puzzles make no sense at times but that only made them funnier, the bit with the post office cats (cats operating the postage system, you what?) and the bubble wrap was especially hilarious. The main character was interesting enough, the biggest egoist around but strangely likable and with the best stupid grin ever. Only downsides for me were a couple of strange bugs and a massive memory leak (experienced the same with Chains of Satinav) along with the music that felt a little generic, but that all wasn't very bothersome. I really hope to see a sequel as the ending was a little inconclusive. Great game, really enjoyed it.

55

Freaky atmosphere

Lekes | Jan. 4, 2013 | Review of Anna

Anna really frustrates me to death. On one hand, it is exactly the type of game (or more accurately, experience) I love: Great looking environments, freaky atmosphere, chilling story (though nothing extensive at all, but it makes you think a bit about what happened to the characters and to draw your own conclusion), and AWESOME soundtrack. Anna is much like Dear Esther which I actually liked for the same reasons, but Anna is an actual interactive puzzle game. So then on the other hand, the "puzzles" are absolutely frustrating and over-complicated, and most of the stuff you have to do to progress seems simply done to extend the game's playtime (which is more than a few hours without using the help system or cheating with a walk-through online). In the end, Anna is a daring experiment I am glad I experienced but doubt I would visit again.

83

Split screen!

Lekes | Jan. 4, 2013 | Review of Sonic & SEGA All-Stars Racing CAP

This is just an all around fun game. While geared more towards family entertainment an individual can enjoy this as well. The tracks are a blast as well as the overall gameplay. Racing controls and mechanics are spot on also. Reminds me of the old days of N64 when games were just a blast to play. The whole family will love it. Especially happy to see split screen on the pc. So many games lack split screen support on the PC while this retains it. People just don't realize that lots of gamers have there PCs hooked up to actual HD TVs with this new invention called an HDMI cable. PCs also have the ability to use 360 controllers, and PS3 controllers, and tons of other gamepads, both wireless and wired. I appreciate developers retaining all aspects of gameplay in the PC versions of their games.

90

Amazing

Lekes | Jan. 4, 2013 | Review of Condemned: Criminal Origins CAP

This is a great game, really creepy and gritty. While there's only one game mode it is really fun. This and Resident Evil 4 are the only games I've played where I felt uncomfortable, and that is a good testiment to the gameplay. These enemies seem real. They attack with ferocity and your attacks feel like they do a good amount of actual damage to them. The enivornmental weapons are great, no more just finding bullets everywhere, pull down that sign and go to work! A great pick up and absolutely necessary for anyone who likes horror games. A point off for the sort of slow start the game has and the way too-spoon-fed forensic sequences that don't let you figure it out on your own.

88

Nice surprise

Lekes | Jan. 4, 2013 | Review of Binary Domain

I completed the game recently and I don't know if it's just me being weird, but I really liked this game. It has a very interesting story with twists, good characters and dialogue, awesome over-the-top action and really interesting and detailed robot design,the graphics look good (not the best, definitely not the worst, but very good). Now the thing most people here complain about- almost non-working controls has been fixed with the latest patch. The controls are still a bit iffy, but definitely nothing game-breaking, I was able to complete the game without any problems. It's a solid game, give it a try!

75

Short campaigns

Lekes | Jan. 4, 2013 | Review of Aliens vs Predator Pre

Some of the reviews on AvP are a little unfair, but they do have some valid points. Graphics are fairly good, but the campaigns are pretty short and they do replay large sections of the maps. Normally I'm against the latter, but each species' different abilities allow for varying tactics, and makes each playthough fairly unique. What really stands out is the atmosphere and the audio cues, particularly the Club Eden segment for the marine. I'm a little surprised by the rock-paper-scissors approach to melee combat, it's awkward at first and the idea of a human 'beating' a predator or alien in melee is kind of weird, but after a while you get used to it. Multiplayer is pretty fun, it's a little easier to find a match now with dedicated servers, but there is a step learning curve, so don't expect to just jump in as an alien and tear people to shreds.

80

Nice coop

Lekes | Jan. 4, 2013 | Review of Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days

I honestly don't know what is all this bad water surrounding the game. True, it falls short of being a great game, but it certainly doesn't deserve this kind of a witch hunt. Solid gameplay, interesting multiplayer, very decent visuals and a bold new art direction make this a definite 8. Sure, the story isn't what you would expect after playing through the original, but it's there nonetheless. I still think that Kane and Lynch, the characters, sell the franchise alone, despite its game play shortcomings. Still, it is undeniable how the grittiness that was sought by the first game to mixed results is finally captivated in the sequel. I'll wait for the third game.

75

Explosive gameplay

Lekes | Jan. 4, 2013 | Review of Red Faction Guerilla

An amazing premise and fun combat that's only hampered by a lack of polish and mission diversity. The weapons and geo-mod physics are pretty amazing and combine to form some great thrills, such as crashing your dump truck into a jail in order to free a couple of bound prisoners. Plus, this game is a collector's dream with tons of signs to destroy and items to seek out and collect. On the downside, the driving mechanics are maddeningly unresponsive, the world is a bit too spread out and the game's sandbox-style missions can get repetitive as there's only a handful of different types of missions across a largely monochromatic setting. Though, if you enjoy mayhem, destruction and improvisation its easy to overlook these shortcomings and I really hope they add co-op to the next one as this game begs for it.

85

Awesome!

Lekes | Jan. 3, 2013 | Review of Bulletstorm dns

I had a lot of fun playing through the single-player. The humor was actually good in an over-the-top way, the voice acting was some of the best I've heard in a game. The scenery is gorgeous, if people are complaining about the graphics being bad, their computer isn't good enough to handle the higher graphics. Game took me about 7 hours to beat on Normal difficulty, a little too short IMO. Those that say the game got repetitive clearly didn't explore all the ways to kill people, and are used too COD type shooters, there are 200 some different "skillkills". The only thing I can fault the game on (other than being too short) is having a repetitive multiplayer, it is essentially horde mode from Gears of War 2, but with an emphasis on getting good scores.

65

Right balance between action and strategy

Lekes | Jan. 3, 2013 | Review of Battlestations Midway

The most polite way to put it is that I don't dislike this game. The graphics are decent, the cut-scenes are well done, and the first couple of missions really pulled me in and captured my excitement. But as the game story progressed, the excitement quickly wore off leaving me uncommitted to continue. Each battle became frustratingly harder, even with the difficulty setting on easy. There was no ability to save the game mid-mission which left me with a lingering bitterness every time I had to restart (which was quite often). A worthy attempt, but the developers just couldn't close the deal for me making it a tolerable air/sea shooter at best.

60

Poor AI

Lekes | Jan. 3, 2013 | Review of Sniper: Ghost Warrior PRE

Decent FPS if you immerse yourself in the role of trying to be stealthy. If you just run and gun it can be quite disappointing. The enemy AI is really the weak point of the game. They can spot and shoot you from across the map and if you shoot one in a group, the others just seem clueless as to what is going on and just wait for you to shoot them too. Your rifle shots essentially go unheard; enemies don't enter a state of awareness after you shoot from distance. Your own squad immortally absorbs bullets and never die. The bullet-cam is pretty cool feature and the game has respectable graphics. Good bargain bin shooter.

85

Plenty of action

Lekes | Jan. 3, 2013 | Review of Devil May Cry 4 dns

The level design is still terrible, but the combat has been seriously ramped up. The skill cap for playing as Dante has been blasted clear into space with the ability to swap between all four stances and all of your weapons on the fly. I frequently find myself watching amazing Dante players doing incredible things, and wondering how many fingers they have that they can do all these things. If dante is too much to handle, Nero is the perfect second choice. It's much easier to bring Nero to his full potential and still feel awesome about it. There's not as much memorable music in this game (Virgil battle 2, how I miss you) and Dante only spends half the time being crazy, surrendering part of the spotlight so you can see nero being a whiny ** for the other half. But overall, if you're a fan of incredibly complex combat, over the top action, and cheesy satire that's so good it's almost self-aware, I strongly recommend this game.

90

Great remake

Lekes | Jan. 3, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider: Anniversary DNS

I've played this game for a few hours and it's pretty good. However, this game has quite a few minor problems, most notably the camera. It tends to get stuck behind me when I try to look behind my character when about to jump off a ledge. It would be nice to see behind me, but most of the time there's a conveniently placed ledge there. Also, if you want to do well early on, you better pay close attention to the tutorials that flash by the screen as some commands such as dodging are critical later. Although maybe it's just that this is my first Tomb Raider game. Overall, this is a great game. The graphics are still quite nice and the gameplay is fun and challenging. I just wished some of the bugs were fixed. And there isn't much story here so don't buy this game just for that.

90

Fantastic game

Lekes | Dec. 31, 2012 | Review of Mafia II dns

Mafia II is fantastic. The game has so much atmosphere, that it is difficult to not constantly stop whatever you are doing in the game to observe the surroundings. The city is living and especially its winter period is filled with atmosphere. It made me think it was cold outside my window in real life a few times.. The story is great, although not the most original. The voice acting is professional, filled with humour and Italian accents. This was definetly worth waiting many years for. If I could get a few wishes granted, it would be for the game to be longer, and for the cops to be meaner. Comparing to the first Mafia game, you actually felt you were in trouble if cops started chasing you. It seems much easier to run away from them in Mafia II: all you do is drive as fast as you can. I wish this could be something that can be adjusted in the game's difficulty level. However, these are just minor issues. Mafia II in my opinion is a living, beautiful, atmospheric game with great music, awesome old school cars, and entertaining combat.

73

Great story

Lekes | Dec. 31, 2012 | Review of Homefront

Good game but the campaign was over in 6 hours, and since for a shooter that is competing in the same narrative as CoD and MoH, even if they don't want that comparison, it's painfully short. I note that I'm not normally a FPS player, but overall the story was great, very crisp, but again, too short. Hopefully the campaign will be extended via cheap DLC since right now it seems that we're missing half a game. Haven't tried multiplayer yet, but I will later. Pros: Great story Cons: Too short

82

Great shooter

Lekes | Dec. 31, 2012 | Review of Hard Reset

Good graphics and atmosphere. Great shooter, better than most of FPSs in these years, but I wouldn't say that it is 100 % oldschool. The thing i most hated during my playthrough was that after you entered an area, the exit behind you got blocked, so the game was presented to you just by running through closed arenas. The second thing was that there were invisible barriers everywhere. The game was open, but still, very linear. No autoheal was the main reason i bought this game and it showed how the cover system is absolutely not needed for a good FPS. But great gameplay made me to forget about these things and i enjoyed the game extremely. Very simple story, but who cares? This game is about shooting and its a thing this game's good at. Could have been done better, but still : a very good game.

80

A solid game

Lekes | Dec. 31, 2012 | Review of F.E.A.R. 3

Despite the numerous, and not totally unjustified, remarks about the game being consolized, none of them really detract from FEAR 3 still being a solid game. The atmosphere and gameplay from the first two games remains, and this entry basically draws the whole story to a conclusion. The real shine to the game is playing as Paxton Fettel, which brings back memories of Messiah, except without being suck. If I had to say anything negative, it would be the need to unlock Fettel on each level instead of having him playable from the get go, as he is the far more enjoyable character to play

85

Great game

Lekes | Dec. 29, 2012 | Review of Tomb Raider: Legend DNS

Tomb Raider Legend is a game of beautiful graphics, music, and atmosphere, but far too short on content. After the ‘Looking Glass’ sequence I was surprised and more than a little disappointed to find that this was the Finale. I was expecting further adventures in Avalon to which the story seems to imply, but became abruptly cut-out. Either the developers of the game lost interest in their project or they were working on a tight budget. It’s a fast paced game that takes about 10 hours (give or take) to finish. There were a couple of areas on the gameplay I found to be frustrating; mainly due to the character’s grappling hook aim or weak level design. In any case, if you have an afternoon to kill some time, Tomb Raider is worth taking a look at.

65

Worth a shot

Lekes | Dec. 29, 2012 | Review of The First Templar DNS

Good game, fighting system is enjoyable, graphic is nice, animations are smooth, i do not spot any serious bug and no crashes. Some complaints goes to bad voice acting and wrong sound positioning (also bad volume), some scenes has wrong camera setting, the same faces, maybe simple storyline, no physics interaction with barrels, woods, and so, but nevertheless, it is good game for 7. It reminds me some of Blade of Darkness, which was slightly better game. The bad... Were this game made 5-10 years ago, it would be awesome. Unfortunately, there are many aspects of the game that look aged and tired.

65

I expected more...

Lekes | Dec. 29, 2012 | Review of Virtua Tennis 4 DNS

A reasonable game overall. The exhibition mode is good however the World Tour gets monotonous towards the end. The career should have included the opportunity to play with the tennis stars over a calender year (or more) and making them win the tournaments. The drop shot is probably the worst thing in the game, getting a point with the drop shot is very difficult as a drop shot is performed with a lob as opposed to slice. Overall an enjoyable game if you want to play the exhibition mode but not for too long.

72

Nice game

Lekes | Dec. 29, 2012 | Review of SBK 2011

I got this game because the physics in the MotoGP series has been going downhill quickly since '06. The bikes seem to handle in a realistic way (yes, I have a sportbike), and the adjustments make a big difference in the handling. The graphics are not as flashy as the MotoGP games, but the gameplay is solid. It's difficult enough to keep me interested, but I don't have the same interest in the riders or the bikes that I have of the MotoGP series. Maybe the next MotoGP will have more to offer...

90

Simply amazing

Lekes | Dec. 29, 2012 | Review of Syberia 2

One of my all-time favorite adventure games. It improves on the first game with improved graphics and better game mechanics, especially dialogue. The graphics are no longer cutting edge as of 2012, but they are very nice to look at and complement the story well. Like the first game, this is more of an interactive story than a puzzle game. The puzzles are fun, but they are not the focus of the game. Most of the puzzles are solvable without too much difficulty. I used the hints a few times when I got stuck. An adventure game vet will not need hints too often. I can recommend this game to anyone who likes adventure games.

90

Real classic adventure game

Lekes | Dec. 29, 2012 | Review of Syberia

This is one of the real classic adventure games. It borrows a lot of the good from older classics like The Longest Journey, but applies a very unique steampunk style. The graphics are a bit dated by 2012 standards, but they are still very pretty to look at and they complement the story well. This game is an adventure first and a puzzle game second. The puzzles are fun but not very hard and not very numerous. I used hints once or twice, but that should not be necessary for most players. The game is well designed in that there are always cues to let the player know what needs to happen next. I would recommend this to anyone who likes adventure games.

65

A decent adventure game

Lekes | Dec. 29, 2012 | Review of Secret Files Tunguska PRE

Although the story starts off pretty good, it turns into a sack of "what's happening" quite soon halfway into the game. Some of the dialogues made me wonder if the developers even looked / listened to it themselves. Worst part about the game must be some of the puzzles, where there's absolutely no hint, just trial and error and the solution is something rather over-the-top. At some point you even have to go back to the very beginning to pick something up that has never been there before. The ending is a bit "meh" as if they ran out of ideas. Another thing that had me groan a few times is the walking speed which cannot be adjusted. The graphics look pretty decent for its time and there's plenty of original stuff in there as well. All in all, it's a very decent point and click game which has the continue-to-play value, but mostly a one-time-experience.

90

Fun and Fresh

Lekes | Dec. 29, 2012 | Review of L.A. Noire Capsule

It can all really be said in about three words: Fun and Fresh. It is definitely fans for an adventure type game, with some nods to the gun-play of Rockstar games before. I love it and, personally, I feel exhilarated when I nail someone with evidence and despair when my witnesses clam up. Yes it may seem repetitive chasing after crooks and collecting clues, but the fun is more in how you use the information to interrogate people. This is one that is at least worth a try, you may be pleasantly surprised (and if you don't like it I'm sure it will hold its value as a trade-in for a while)

70

Combat can be pretty fun with the glaive

Lekes | Dec. 29, 2012 | Review of Dark Sector

At first, this seemed like a game for me. But after playing for an hour or so, I started to slowly get more and more frustrated with the game play and direction of the game. The Story? hell if I know, there is zero direction in this game. Not to mention no map, radar, or chatty radio friend to lead you along. With no specific mission other that "keep moving forward, kill everything in sight" the game story completely lacks from there. In one section of the game, you meet a lady that is presumably a bad guy, after a brief cut scene a one minute timer starts with you being attacked by zombie/mutants. After killing all the mutants, the timer doesn't stop. I proceed to try and push every button in the room, look for a bomb to defuse, throw my glaive at everything in sight only to just fall over dead after the timer ran out. No explosion, no cut scene, just 3, 2, 1 You're Dead. EXTREMELY frustrating... Outside of that, the game play is good. Combat can be pretty fun with the glaive and guns at your disposal. This on is rent worthy in my book.

85

Amazingly fun game

Lekes | Dec. 29, 2012 | Review of Just Cause 2

With a terrible storyline, God-awful voice acting, and the most cut-and-copy cutscenes ever seen in a video game, it's a wonder that Just Cause still manages to deliver a thrill ride of a time. If this game were judged solely on the aspects listed previously, then I would give it a zero in a heartbeat. However, I have a feeling that Square Enix purposely made it out to be this way. Just Cause isn't a game to be taken seriously, it's a game to mess around with in your enormous sandbox of countless toys. As soon as the first mission's over, you're free to explore the island of Panau to your heart's content. From hijacking airplanes and crashing them into congested areas, to keelhauling an enemy soldier along your speedboat, the possibilities are seemingly endless. You'll have loads of fun simply testing out your grappling hook on unsuspecting enemies, discovering all the ways you can mess with your prey. Once, I tethered my grounded boat to an airliner, which then proceeded to drag me across the runway and lift off, carrying me with it. It's all a bunch of silly nonsense, but it's what makes this game so enjoyable. If you're looking for a giant sandbox to p* around in, you can't do much better than Just Cause 2.

70

Could be better...

Lekes | Dec. 29, 2012 | Review of DiRT Showdown

Departures from the main series games are never good. Is in this case is the same? No, the creators really, put their order to the main series Dirt fans feel at home, just a little different. The game offers us a great atmosphere. Why? Exploding fireworks, great colors, the emotions of people around whom we go, there is nothing, I, I fell into this game really great. For this is a nice solution Demolition derby is really cool and can be great fun with them. In addition to the new things we have here the dirt. He drives great, of course, terribly easy, as befits a series Dirt, but I think the fans like it. It is a pity, that the 3/4 game, the game becomes monotonous (which can be a worry), things start to get bored. Developers need not just at the end we make the usual racing showdown that simply do not fit. I know that many miss this game a wide berth. I, however, started to it and I really liked it. I really recommend it to fans away from the major races in the dirt 3 and briefly caught up in the world of entertainment. My Rating - 7/10

55

Not so good as the original

Lekes | Dec. 29, 2012 | Review of Death Rally

As a big fan of the 1996 PC Death Rally game, I was very disappointed with this iteration. Transitioning from the old title, you will immediately notice: The game plays at a much slower pace, narrower tracks, the camera is far closer to your car than before, hence you'll have trouble seeing upcoming turns, bad car handling even with an upgraded car. Even on a technical level, it won't let you turn, accelerate, shoot your secondary weapon at the same time. Instead you'll just go straight shooting and ram into a wall. Very short races, no more pedestrians to run over, our basic machine gun AUTO-SHOOTS? Now we are being noob friendly/streamlined? I regret buying this on sale and this game has hampered my view of Remedy. However, if you just stumbled upon this title and haven't played the original, drop everything you're doing now and go play it. It really is one of (if not) the best top down racer ever made.

65

Challenging

Lekes | Dec. 29, 2012 | Review of Cities XL 2012

There's definitely some new material in this one, but it still has most of the same problems as always: It's slow, for one thing. My system specs well exceed the recommended specs for this game, but in larger cities I find it necessary to turn the graphical settings down as low as they will go in order to get a decent frame-rate. Trade is buggy and poorly optimized. At the same time, though, the game is actually fun. It's a great way to kill several hours, building unique cities and taking advantage of the new features in this version (which are mostly just new buildings, but it's still a fun addition). The game is consistently challenging, in all the right ways, and this falls well into line with the projected difficulties for each map type, so it's possible to play at exactly the level of difficulty you'd expect. Setting up bus routes and organizing cities to minimize traffic problems and environmental health is a satisfying task. And the difficulty grows organically as your city expands, requiring you to manage an ever-increasing set of variables in order to satisfy your citizens' needs. In short, the game is well-designed, and it is fun to play. It's just a shame that it's not better optimized. Perhaps once they slap next year's number on it, the game will have addressed those details.

75

A huge world

Lekes | Dec. 29, 2012 | Review of Two Worlds II Cap

It's a decent game, good enough to keep me occupied from start to finish. However, the enemy is more stupid than challenging and I was in the final battle on level 39 with mostly level 35 gear (max is 50) and yet I won and it wasn't compelling enough to play through again on hard. It didn't help that the ending isn't all that great either. With melee you can breeze through it, playing as a mage is much harder as in the open you'll kill anything before they even touch you but as usual there are some tight spots where you're surrounded by the enemy or fighting in a small room. There's not much if any scaling so if you run into the wrong enemies you'd better run or die a quick death. I didn't play ranger (there's no actual classes but between strength/accuracy/magic attributes there could just as well be) but I imagine it would be much like the mage, easy on open spaces and bad in close quarters. Also as a mage you have to consider resistances, as a melee fight I just as one weapon with half slashing/bludgeoning damage with crystals for elemental damage, nothing was resistant against everything so I didn't really need any tactics.

92

Well done Rocksteady

Lekes | Dec. 29, 2012 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year -

Fantastic game, excellent story, very atmospheric and lovely graphics which look good even on a moderate PC. Thankfully we don't have to hear Batman's beginnings for the millionth time, the game starts with Joker in chains in Arkham Asylum and all hell lets loose from there. The fights are challenging if a little basic but do develop as you unlock more powers, great that you can tackle each area in your own way, you can glide kick in from a gargoyle in the ceiling and let the fists fly or take the baddies out one by one, picking them off silently and laying explosive gel on an in-mate so you can blow his buddy when he comes investigating or silent inverted takedowns... the choice is yours. The game of the year version can be picked up very cheaply now making this even more of a bargain. It's not a long game if you just follow the story through on easy/normal but play on hard and try to complete it 100% with all the collectibles/riddles and you have a much more substantial game, plus there are lots of extras, surviving wave after wave of baddies Left for Dead style for high scores is great fun and not something I'd usually bother with. Even if you choose not to dabble with these the game is worth it for the main story alone plus seeing one of the best incarnations of Joker... and Scarecrow is frightening good. It does use Games for Windows Live which we all know sucks but after the initial setup has worked flawlessly so far so can't complain. Not only one of the best Batman games of all time but a really polished affair that shows how superhero games can be tackled in a mature way, well done Rocksteady Studios.

70

Loads of fun

Lekes | Dec. 29, 2012 | Review of Sanctum

The field of tower-defense-meets-shooter is beginning to get crowded, with games like "Dungeon Defenders" and "Orcs Must Die" to face off against. Sanctum holds its own in large part because of its style, but the game play isn't as dynamic as those other two games. In Sanctum, the character, Skye, is clearly there in a support role and the towers do most of the work. The weapons are just too weak to take out swarms single-handed. The relatively small amount of character/weapon customization adds to the feeling that Skye s a servant of the big machine and not the main protagonist. This isn't necessarily bad; it's just the choice the developers made as to where to draw the line between tower defense and shooter. Some games draw that line more toward the side of shooters. Sanctum is definitely a tower defense first and a shooter second. But this combination does work well. It's nice to be able to go lend a hand when you find a hole in your defenses, but it's more stressful to have to go to the tower to upgrade it instead of doing it from a bird's eye perspective. The DLCs are really not the big deal that some people have made them out to be. They're cheap on an average day but when they go on sale, as they often do, you can get the lot of all DLCs for less than a cup of coffee at Starbuck's. If you like the tower defense genre, you're doing yourself a disservice by not having this game in your collection. At the very least, put it on your wish list and grab it the next time it goes on sale.

93

Fantastic steam punk world

Lekes | Dec. 29, 2012 | Review of Dishonored Nexway

Ignore all of the people saying it's "just hype" or "nothing new" because I honestly have no idea what these people are talking about. Dishonored offers it's own feel with a taste of cartoony graphics in a gritty steam punk world, with excellent and complex gameplay to compliment it. The story is good and though the missions are linear, the missions themselves are a sort of open area where there are many side missions. If you rush through the game like a lunatic you'll probably finish the game quick like a good number of foolish reviewers...but if you actually take your time and play the game it'll last a fair amount of time, maybe just a tad short. Make sure to note that the "choose your own way to do the mission" holds true throughout the entire game, Dishonored does this extremely well. It's not about making some original amazing breakthrough game that'll make you go insane with astonishment like many seem to think, it's about making a fun game. All in all, no what you say about how original or good it is, it's definitely a very fun game that's worth your time.

96

I am Batman!

Lekes | Dec. 29, 2012 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year -

Greatest comic book to videogame conversion EVER. If you've played Arkham Asylum and you were wondering how it would even be possible to make a better Batman video game given the constraints of today's graphics engines and hardware, well you wouldn't be alone. Somehow, WB have done themselves proud and not only improved the combat mechanics, stealth mechanics and core gameplay mechanics, but they've also come out with a much more thorough and amazing plot. This game has to be experienced. Once I started this game I couldn't stop and had to keep playing for the 20 hours it took me to finish the main storyline and about half of the side missions (took another 6 hours to finish all the riddler missions). You will get sucked in. You will become batman. You will laugh, you will cry, you will even begin to question whether Batman is doing the right thing. Simply put, this is the single must play for 2011 probably only losing to the Witcher 2 in required gaming. Also the catwoman extra missions and change in combat mechanics are great and work seamlessly with the storyline. 9.6/10. Cannot wait for the next iteration.

90

Traditional adventure game with a cinematic feel

Lekes | Dec. 25, 2012 | Review of Lost Horizon DNU

I really enjoyed this game, great and fun to play, good characterisation, nice music, nice graphics, and the puzzles fit very well into the game (as commented by another). It's a point-and-click game, so my score is balanced to that genre. The puzzles are quite easy though, hence the notch down, you will never ever get stuck - but on the plus side, this helped the game story whizz along nicely. This game shows where point-and-click games need to go, better graphics, better characterisation, and puzzles embedded in the game. It's not there yet, but Lost Horizon for me is definitely one the the better games of its genre to be got. If you liked Broken Sword, Syberia or Secret Files, add this to your collection.

75

Chivalry or WOTR

Lekes | Dec. 25, 2012 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare PRE

As someone who stressed over whether to buy Chivalry or WOTR but ended up getting both, here is my review. Melee combat is great, there is a sense of satisfaction that comes with winning a fight, even when you lose you feel like you truly lost against that opponent (unless you've just been ganked which isn't fun), WOTR does however lack this sense of victory and loss when it comes to melee combat. As a game it does lack the polish that I found in WOTR which is a very well rounded game but I hope that future content will rectify this. My only concern is that its price tag is disproportionate to what the game itself offers but as most (if not all) future content is meant to be available for free this should not be an issue. While is do love the melee combat system, at the moment that's pretty much all I like; a part of me wishes if only WOTR had chivalry's combat system, what a game that would be. Chivalry does however have the makings of a great game.

95

Masterpiece

Lekes | Dec. 25, 2012 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution Augmented Edition

I started the Deus Ex series from the beginning, rolled with the punches through the second, and have come to grips with the recently released DX:HR. To say the least, DX:HR is a great addition to the franchise series of Deus Ex, I have not gotten very far, as I am taking my time and learning the games setup, options, intrigue, and story as well as plot built into the games system through ebooks and emails. The writing and acting in the game is incredible, streaming an awesome cast and very neutral to aggressive outlook for the main character Adam Jenson allowing you to come to terms with the main character without feeling like not a part of the action. All aspects of this game is fun, from the hacking, social, combat, and stealth, everything comes together in a great combination. The only thing that seems to match this games integrety, complexity, gameplay, and story has yet to come out for another few months. And given this games capabilities and concepts, it will probably last just that long if not longer in my game collection as I roll through the games this year. I believe this game deserves a extra .5 added to the score, it soars way above my expectations of the game, and provides that little extra umph that I am glad I waited for.

80

Great surprise

Lekes | Dec. 24, 2012 | Review of Binary Domain

I was surprised but this one! Its a game that is just fun to play. True its just the same as on the consoles which is a shame but graphics does not make a game more fun. Story is ok and the dialog between you and you're squad can be funny at times. Story build up a bit slow tho. You can buy upgrades for you or a squad mates weapon with credits earned by killing enemy's and buy perks at a store which has a little lottery at the end. if you are lucky you will get an random item. When you 'die' you can heal yourself with a med kit or let a teammate do it for you...but they have a limited supply of them. The real fun is in killing the robots, they splatter all over you're screen.... robots part going every where. when you shot of there legs the crawl towards you or pick up a gun and continue firing ....very well done imo. I do recommend using a controller for this one and the voice recognition does not work for me at all, not that you need it. Its a solid 8 from me . Very happy that the game made its way to PC. If you like third person shooters you should check this game out or if you hate robots this game is for you! Shooting robots in this game never gets old!

90

Alan, wake up!

Lekes | Dec. 24, 2012 | Review of Alan Wake

This is in my top 20 games of all time easily, the play on not just having to survive madmen but the force of pure darkness is something that has stirred the minds of people all over who have played this game, including myself. The darker nature of this game, delving into nightmares, the atmosphere, the intensity, all of the side stories which tie into the theme of madness and the book pages to collect make the games replay value quite high even though not a true “different every time” game like skyrim with its different races for example. I give it a 9/10 the last point being for the free dlc. The only thing to me that seems odd... why aren't you able to knock someone out with a flashlight or an empty gun? even if just for the sake of being able to defend yourself a little better. unlike other people on my pc it runs fine, my hardware over a year old and in its day top of the line. I've suffered absolutely no lag, the story is a good as ever graphics are better on pc, the only reason I had this on xbox was for the sake of playing a great game, the only reasons I have an xbox, forza motorsport, dante's inferno and alan wake. In short the pc port of this is great, bugless from what I can see so far. the only reason it doesnt get a 10 from me is the fact xbox came first, and pc took so long.

80

Great storyline

Lekes | Dec. 24, 2012 | Review of Spec Ops: The Line dns

Incredible storyline, the Apocalypse Now for the next generation. However, I feel that I've already spoken too much. Gameplay is fantastic and a great story. Do not miss this game. However, one major gripe I had for the whole game was the controls. A game should be fun, the difficulty from the challenge on completing the game and each chapter. A game's challenge should not come from the cumbersome Console controls which Spec Ops The Line is from. Instead of life and death struggles, you'll have controlitis struggles, because your very life depends on whether you double clicked the same key for various commands. I understand Consoles have limited buttons, but PCs do not. Once again, Developers fail to polish what is probably one of the better games released in 2012. And for that, what would have been a perfect 10 is now an 8.