Reviews by Lleris

70

Nothing New and Some Disappointments

Lleris | Jan. 26, 2014 | Review of Batman Arkham Origins

To be straight up honest, you're better off with Arkham City. That game has pretty much everything this game does.

In fact, Origins feels more awkward to handle in terms of controls (sneaking feels more difficult than it did in Arkham City, along with stealth takedowns) and also has its fair share of bugs (like the infamous Enigma tower one).

It's not all bad - the game is at least on the playing level of its predecessors, even if it does have its own kinks and bugs. Storyline is fine and workable, nothing special.

But damn, the boss fights are less than spectacular (particularly Deathstroke's fight where you just click a routine set of buttons to defeat him, zzz...) and most are pretty much a retake on boss battles from City and/or Asylum.

Multiplayer is a neat add-on, but really nothing more than just to kill time. Worth playing, but isn't really what makes the game.

Overall a decent game, I guess, but I feel like it was way overhyped and nothing new was really added to the game.

I'm really glad I got it on sale and not full price.

90

Simple Shoot and Kill Chaos!

Lleris | Oct. 24, 2013 | Review of Borderlands

Just pure unadulterated awesomeness!

This amazing graphical style of game, partnered with simple and straightforward shoot&loot style makes for an awesome combination.

Storyline was fairly intriguing as well, though some say the end boss was lacking. I'm not of this opinion. The only reason I don't give this a higher rating is because BL2 needed a higher score for more awesomeness.

80

Revelations

Lleris | Oct. 23, 2013 | Review of Assassin's Creed Revelations

There's not much more added than what was in Brotherhood (which I consider to be the best of the franchise), but there are additions nonetheless which are fun.

It's pretty much everything you loved about Brotherhood but just that bit more... and the fact that you're elsewhere.

The Altair sequences can drag on a little bit, but otherwise a very solid game.

Having said that, I still prefer the Brotherhood setting.

85

Just... Wow.

Lleris | Oct. 23, 2013 | Review of F.E.A.R

This game had me absorbed from the moment I stepped into the game. At times I could feel my heart pumping in my chest. Very few other games give me a thrill as this one does. It's extremely intensive, so not for the light-hearted to play. I often had to take breaks because the game was just that intensive and absorbing.

Graphics are pretty top notch (especially considering when they came out), storyline is compelling. Weapon options are straightforward and understandable, so you can simply get down to what you have guns for: shooting. The weapon options are otherwise limiting, but I've never really found this a problem. Extra weapons are a plus in a game, but if they're not in the game, I'm not too concerned.

Visuals blend quite flawlessly between gameplay and cutscenes, which I really enjoy in games.

Anyway, well worth a buy, even nearly a decade after its release.

95

Ingenious!

Lleris | Oct. 11, 2013 | Review of Dishonored

This is stealth gaming at its best. The storyline is immersive and mechanics are pretty much flawless once you get used to them. It really makes you feel like a real assassin and the possibilities or enacting a mission are extremely flexible.

I also think you should play at the hardest difficulty from the very start, even if you're a beginner. For once, it doesn't make the game ridiculously frustrating, but even more rewarding.

The only downside to this game is that it's an extremely short game, which pretty much precipitates that you have to get the DLC. However, with the release of the GotY edition, this problem is pretty much solved. I would not recommend you buy the original, you MUST get the GotY edition.

80

A Gratifyingly Good Game

Lleris | Oct. 9, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex Human Revolution: Limited Edition

This is basically what should have come out instead of Invisible War.

Storyline was generally good, if predictable, even with all the choices you have to make, I felt the outcomes were generally easy to figure out.

Gameplay is solid with a few amusing glitches and bugs which generally won't really detract from the gaming experience but add a few good laughs instead.

Just a quick note that killing people in the first section of the game does actually count towards your Pacifier achievement!

Anyway, good game. Not perfect or amazing, but certainly well worth a purchase.

95

What a Revival!

Lleris | Oct. 9, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider

Great game indeed! Solid in virtually every aspect, the game brings challenges and puzzles that are satisfying to solve, action and shooting which is more than comparable to other shooters, and a great storyline to tie it all together.

Whilst the plotline was actually quite predictable at parts (which I really don't like in puzzle-based plots and games), the story was still very immersive and the experience was immensely gratifying.

Multiplayer is solid as well, but nothing particularly special and doesn't really bring anything new to the table that other games don't already do (and usually better).

I don't feel it's a must-have game, but certainly a nice one to add to your game lists if you have the money and/or time to spare.

90

Simply Amazing

Lleris | Oct. 9, 2013 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum

Fluid gameplay, solid graphics and a solid storyline that's easily accessible to even newcomers to the DC Universe franchise (but seriously though, really?).

The only thing I felt held Arkham Asylum back is the fact that the gameplay area was just generally quite smaller than most other games. Arkham City which came after it had the right size, but perhaps it was a shortcoming to set it in such a small area of the Batman universe. Perhaps they could have made the Asylum bigger by adding extra floors to it and such.

Otherwise, the game is a solid one with no major floors or bugs or glitches.

50

Disappointment Abounds!

Lleris | Oct. 7, 2013 | Review of Assassins Creed III

To put it simply, I expected more. Having played the entire PC franchise up until that point, I expected it to be much more of the same fun with new extras. Not only did they fail to do this, but they actually took away much of it! Whilst you get woodlands to traverse with your free-running, the buildings have all but disappeared. No more scaling buildings the size of the Pantheon and with most (if not all) of your time spent on the ground, a critical aspect of AC is lost. The storyline felt rushed and forced in some places, and it just felt completely disjointed in some places.

And my dear God, the glitches and bugs. Soldiers with no line of sight to me would frequently spot me, the main character would frequently have trouble climbing over what is otherwise an easy obstacle every other time, soldiers would often never lose alertness of me despite me being hidden (they just end up standing there forever with full alert over their heads telling me to show myself and whatnot). Character-relationship development was next to none, unlike the very charming Ezio and enigmatic Altair.

It's not all doom and gloom - it still retains some nice missions, most of which is reminiscent of its predecessors, some of which are actually more fun. Some of the new tools are pretty neat to work with as well. Navy warfare was amazing, which actually feels a bit silly, since it seems like it has nothing to do with assassinations (although this looks set to change with AC:IV coming out).

Overall, the only real reason to buy AC:III is simply to see the advancement of the AC series. In all due honesty, if you want to have fun playing the game, you're better off with AC:II, Brotherhood and Revelations.

My score is actually elevated, since I know I got extremely frustrated with the amount of nonsense I felt I had to put up with. As a result, I felt that someone who was just coming to buy a stand-alone game might still very well enjoy it had they not played the predecessors, but looking in the long line of AC franchise, AC:III felt unfinished and is just a general failure.

You might as well just read the synopsis on Wikipedia and keep playing AC:II+Extensions in my honest opinion. This game really isn't worth your time.

To phrase it all in a sentence: I found the mini-games inside AC:III (checkers and similar board games) far more entertaining than the actual game itself.

If you're thinking something like that, it doesn't bode well for the game.

100

A Classic

Lleris | Oct. 7, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Game of the Year Edition Deluxe

By this time, Oblivion's reputation is really enough to speak for itself. An amazing game which you can just play again and again and again. If anything sets the benchmark for fantasy RPGs, it's the Elder Scroll series. Time and time again, they create immersing worlds for us to enter and in my humble opinion, Oblivion is the best (or, it certainly is my favourite).

You do not even need a remote interest in RPGs to be recommended this game. This is a game that is easily good for everyone to play (age ratings aside, of course).

Just get the damn game.

100

Don't Leave This Behind!

Lleris | Oct. 7, 2013 | Review of Left 4 Dead 2

A simply amazing game. Although at the time of writing this review, the game may perhaps be a tad bit dated, I still have great fun playing it. The gameplay is simple and straightforward, so you can focus all your efforts on zombie-slayin' or making sure the survivors become extinct. Though campaigns can easily be run through in a day or two, the strength in this game is the replayability and multiplayer. You can also find unofficial downloadable mods which give your more maps, skin designs and weapon designs and more!

The plethora of game modes are sure to keep you occupied.

Simple unadulterated action!

80

Simply a Solid Game

Lleris | Oct. 7, 2013 | Review of Dragon Age 2 (EU)

Now, many will gripe over how it wasn't better than Origins. Having played both, I agree in many senses that Origins was better. However, there was very little in Dragon Age 2 that I didn't enjoy. The storyline was satisfying and left me in great anticipation for DA3. Gameplay was mostly fluid and suffered no major problems for me. There may have been a few bugs and glitches here and there, but even Skyrim and Oblivion had these in their immense worlds.

I think it is due to the fact that I played 2 before Origins which leaves me without the stigma of disappointment.

Is Origins better than 2? Yes. Does this prevent 2 from being an awesome game? By no means.

Perhaps you expected more after playing Origins, but in all due honesty, it's not a bad game if you look at it as a stand-alone game.

100

A Solid 10/10 Game

Lleris | Oct. 7, 2013 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year

There's just not much about it that's bad. Solid and fluid fighting, as well as the fun roaming. To top it all off, the storyline is fantastic. There may be minor frustrations here and there over where your grappling hook actually landed or the mis-timing of a counter-attack, but these things aside, this game is thoroughly enjoyable and is easily one of the best games around.

Replayability also isn't a big issue, since there are lots of collectibles to occupy your time.

90

Ridiculous Fun!

Lleris | Oct. 7, 2013 | Review of Saints Row: The Third

A free roam world with whacky weapons and vehicles! Whilst you are pretty much in god-mode 24/7 and some of the authorities can be quite annoying when you get later into the game, along with the zombie hoards which can be, quite frankly, very annoying, the game is immensely enjoyable. The storyline is amusing to say the least. Customization of your character is numerous and fun with some ridiculous designs!

Replayability is pretty big, since there are a few choices in the game which can affect consequences and endings in the game and it's always fun to see how things can turn out with difference decisions.

Whored mode is a simple run-of-the-mill survival if you feel like a change of pace.

Since I haven't played SR2, I cannot compare the two, but suffice it to say, SR3 was great fun and I'm playing it still.

If you're looking for something a bit more serious, then I would suggest you go for GTA instead, though I really don't understand why you wouldn't want something this over the top!